Lions Gate Films | Release Date: October 28, 2005
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 342 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
212
Mixed:
82
Negative:
48
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RonaldOVOXOFeb 1, 2012
I love this movie the plot and the traps are so original the creators gave horror movies hope. I thought this was going to be the worst horror movie but its actually the best
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MichMartMar 3, 2014
Saw II has a very interesting talk with meanings and a good plot. The acting is really good and the twists are amazing and nearly better than in the first Saw-movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LelandskellDec 23, 2013
Saw I was very good, and Saw II is a very good sequel, that has a lot more to offer, such as better deaths, better story and more characters and settings. Good movie, 7/10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TylerDurden900Jul 16, 2014
Saw 2 isn't as good as the first but the movie is a decent sequel. The movie has some new actors and there
are cool effects once again. The story is weaker in this one and the first story was much more effective.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MarshallM.Nov 1, 2005
It was an amazingly twisted horror film. i kept thinking about it after i had already seen it, the twist were NOT unbeleivable at all. the whole movie was well with-in the "possibility" of a serial killer. it made sense, as farfetched as it It was an amazingly twisted horror film. i kept thinking about it after i had already seen it, the twist were NOT unbeleivable at all. the whole movie was well with-in the "possibility" of a serial killer. it made sense, as farfetched as it may sound. P.S. the acting was waaaay better in this one then the first, that's what really pushed it up a notch for me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
seankAug 7, 2009
It borrows a lot from the first one but it still is nearly as good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JodyT.Nov 10, 2005
Fabulous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlynnHNov 9, 2005
[***SPOILERS***] If you pay attention to the film, JOE B, you would know that it was not Jigsaw who set this all up, it was the girl from the first movie. Since he had nothing to do with the setup, he is then not responsible for anyone who [***SPOILERS***] If you pay attention to the film, JOE B, you would know that it was not Jigsaw who set this all up, it was the girl from the first movie. Since he had nothing to do with the setup, he is then not responsible for anyone who died. This is also what he does in the first movie, enlists someone else to set everything up so his hands are clean of any deaths. END OF SPOILER This movie was awesome. Kept my eyes glued to the screen from beginning to end. Let's just say that the syringes are alone enough reason to go see this. It rocked and I am hooked for whatever else they have to throw at us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToynaP.Dec 7, 2005
Awsome movie I compleatly recomend this movie to anyone!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimiM.Oct 30, 2005
Better than the first!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Geacag.Oct 30, 2005
This is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TristanL.Mar 31, 2006
Fantastic film, gorier than Saw, and utilising some lovely set pieces. The point is not the gore but the intricacy and the actual plot - listen and obey the rules and you win.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexZ.Mar 7, 2006
I give it an 8. There were some scenes which did not make sence at all. Who can lock a door with a club to hold back somebody or other little details. Apart from those, undisturbing, flaws the movie is great. The acting was good, especially I give it an 8. There were some scenes which did not make sence at all. Who can lock a door with a club to hold back somebody or other little details. Apart from those, undisturbing, flaws the movie is great. The acting was good, especially by Tobin Bell ( playing Jigsaw ). The plot twist was hard to get but once you got it, it's a brilliant and very good one. Could've been more scary though! That's why only an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FloSep 2, 2006
Great twists, great traps, just what you need. Can't wait for number 3. You know the rules to make it work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcB.Nov 19, 2005
I don't know why you all thought this was a disaster. I loved the movie it could have been a bit more gruesome but overall such a good movie. Loved the catch at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanI.Nov 21, 2005
This movie was better in many ways then the first one. What I liked about the first movie was how clever the twist and turns the movie took the viewer until the final surprise. What I didn't like was the poor acting and a few This movie was better in many ways then the first one. What I liked about the first movie was how clever the twist and turns the movie took the viewer until the final surprise. What I didn't like was the poor acting and a few unrealistic kill scenes . In Saw 2 the acting was way better. What I didn't like was how they rushedbrushed past some of the individual histories of some players ( why include them). Still all in all the story kept you guessing until the final twist. As in the first movie these final scenes flashed so quickly, it was hard to grasp the full implication of the story. I am a little suprised by some of the writers who seemed to have hated the first movie, but then went ahead anyway and spent their hard earned money to see the second- why? I wouldn't have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mamucNov 22, 2005
Very genialitic is this film director:))
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeNov 3, 2005
" There is no way to get past the unbelievable, gaping plot gap" A- great sentence form (that is sarcasm. B- what was the 'gaping plot gap'? Because I missed it. The movie is great- makes you think. From the first scene. Here is a " There is no way to get past the unbelievable, gaping plot gap" A- great sentence form (that is sarcasm. B- what was the 'gaping plot gap'? Because I missed it. The movie is great- makes you think. From the first scene. Here is a exercise. The whole movie, from the first scene, put yourself in the shoes of the people in the game. Try to ignore the dramatic irony when you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
anthonyv.Nov 6, 2005
Movie Critic Spin 101: focus on the one thing about a movie that you hated, amplify it in your review, and brush aside everything else. This movie was nowhere near as bad as the critics said it was. Yeah, parts of it are unusually cruel and Movie Critic Spin 101: focus on the one thing about a movie that you hated, amplify it in your review, and brush aside everything else. This movie was nowhere near as bad as the critics said it was. Yeah, parts of it are unusually cruel and inhumane, and Jigsaw's claim that he never killed any of his victims is questionable (did the ricin find its way through the vents by itself, Jigsaw? nice try). But overall I thought it was great. The acting, dialogue, and plot are nowhere near as bad as J.R. Jones and Wesley Morris claim they are Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GerronKDec 15, 2005
Saw II is a well done horror flick, in an era where horror flicks are rarely well-done. I remember thinking how the hell could they make a sequel to "Saw", but they did, and it's a complete legitimate sequel. Those who did not see the Saw II is a well done horror flick, in an era where horror flicks are rarely well-done. I remember thinking how the hell could they make a sequel to "Saw", but they did, and it's a complete legitimate sequel. Those who did not see the first will need to see it to totall appreciate the second movie. It was pretty well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jimp.Oct 24, 2005
Go see this movie.... more gruesom then the first kicks more ass then the first and more iintense then the first A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeM.Oct 25, 2005
A great film I loved it can't wait for it to come on DVD!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricH.Oct 26, 2005
Just saw the movie and loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AMovieCriticOct 28, 2005
Let me start by saying that I HATED Saw. It was boring, it was (at times) annoying to follow, and the twist ending that everyone was talking about was really no big deal at all. So I wasn't expecting much when I went into Saw II, but Let me start by saying that I HATED Saw. It was boring, it was (at times) annoying to follow, and the twist ending that everyone was talking about was really no big deal at all. So I wasn't expecting much when I went into Saw II, but this movie is great! It starts off kind of dull, and takes a few minutes to really get good, but as the movie approaches the end, it's really edge-of-your-seat action. Really a cool, fun, suspense thriller with plenty of violence. And a twist ending, of course. It was a little confusing, but if someone explains it to you after seeing the movie, you'll likely get it. I didn't find either Saw or Saw II scary, but one thing I have to give the first movie credit for was that it was a bit more scary than this sequel. The death scenes in the first movie were much more scary and unsettling (IMO) than Saw II's. BUT, that's really the only advantage. I liked Saw II a lot better than the first one. It was more action packed and suspenseful, there were a lot less "flashbacks" (which I found annoying in the first Saw,) and the plot twist ending actually had something to do with the movie's story. Don't expect anything really scary, though. Just expect a violent suspense thriller. If you loved Saw, you'll probably end up not liking this sequel as much, but if you just liked Saw, or even didn't like it, this sequel's much more exciting (although maybe not as scary) which makes it more entertaining. I am taking a couple points away for the ending, though. It is really great, and was revealed in a very cool way. but it was confusing. If someone who DID get it explains it to you, it suddenly clicks, but it's never fun to leave a movie with a "huge twist ending" and to have not gotten it. Still, Saw II is a great movie. Recommended. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JesseM.Oct 28, 2005
Good movie. Although the first one was better, this was still an awesome movie. Nice ending just like the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KainS.Oct 29, 2005
Awesome...if you didnt like it you jus didnt understand it fully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeBOct 29, 2005
Despite what some people missed, this was easily the most gripping, nerve shredding, edge -of-seat horror/thriller to appear this year. Admittedly, after liking the first one so much I thought this was just going to be a cash in, but Leigh Despite what some people missed, this was easily the most gripping, nerve shredding, edge -of-seat horror/thriller to appear this year. Admittedly, after liking the first one so much I thought this was just going to be a cash in, but Leigh Wannell and his new co writer/director have managed to surpass the twists ans shocks of the first installment. To those who argue it's not clever or shocking - a) did you guess how, where, and why? I er.... doubt it. And b)could you come up with a smarter twist. Yes, it's a little implausible, but not impossible, and there are many more sillier movies around. If you like raw and fresh horror movies, this is for you, no doubt about it. At the end of the day, it's entertaining in the way it promises to be. Rather this than Open Water 2... there's a scary thought.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EthanP.Oct 30, 2005
I can understand why people would hate this movie, but I'm surprised to see people react to it with indifference. The combination of both movies is a visceral experience superior to any other horror movie/franchise of this decade. The I can understand why people would hate this movie, but I'm surprised to see people react to it with indifference. The combination of both movies is a visceral experience superior to any other horror movie/franchise of this decade. The writing is outstanding--not so much in terms of eloquent one-liners--but in telling a story with incredible intensity, irony, and subtle reflections of American complacency. I mean, if this movie is so bad, why is it a jillion times more riveting than the slasher crap films (which are still fun in their own way) and more shocking than the "thoughtful" mystery ghost stories being imported from Japan that're really no more than stories about the little boy or girl who drowned last week and suddenly turned evil. Saw II is sadistic, horrific, and more creative than any movie since Saw I, and more enthralling than anything M. Night Shyamalan is brooding over at the moment. And it's all the more rare in that its a sequal that builds upon everything that worked in the first movie as though the writer knows that we know that the exploration of this story line didn't end a year ago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
10SPROOct 31, 2005
This was better than SAW. I took those things which worked well in the original and made them better. If you want to be scared and understand that there will be blood shed, you will like SAW 2. Plus, in response to someone who says they saw This was better than SAW. I took those things which worked well in the original and made them better. If you want to be scared and understand that there will be blood shed, you will like SAW 2. Plus, in response to someone who says they saw SAW 2, you can say, "I saw SAW 2, too." An excellent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianC.Oct 30, 2005
This movie was just as good as the original. The plot twist was amazing, and so was the story. Saw 2 is a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MicahA.Oct 31, 2005
Not bad, not great. My main problem is that the movie plays out like a television show...(one main plot, one subplot)...but it can't seem to decide which is which. Plus, maybe it's just me being overcritical, but if the Jigsaw Not bad, not great. My main problem is that the movie plays out like a television show...(one main plot, one subplot)...but it can't seem to decide which is which. Plus, maybe it's just me being overcritical, but if the Jigsaw killer is so clever, why does he leave OBVIOUS clues like "The numbers to the safe are in the back of your mind," and what's more, why don't the people realize immediately what that means? The ending wasn't as shocking as the end of the first movie, but I gotta give respect to Tobin Bell...he played a great character. All in all, the movie drags in some areas, but if you liked the first one, you'll probably like this one as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanG.Nov 4, 2006
Though the first one has a better plot and more imaginitive scenes this Saw still is a great movie. Those you say this is just disgusting gore didn't pay attention and didn't see the first movie or didn't pay attention their Though the first one has a better plot and more imaginitive scenes this Saw still is a great movie. Those you say this is just disgusting gore didn't pay attention and didn't see the first movie or didn't pay attention their either. The twists and turns in this series are sick and amazing. The first one i find better but still this is a great movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrittneyB.Feb 16, 2006
Saw 2 has an excellent story line, the terrifying scenes and the twisted ending, gives the movie a brilliant feel to it. I rated it a 9 because it was rather gorey but it was still a clever film. I give it two fingers up! !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanD.Feb 19, 2006
one of my favorite suspense movies... if your looking to be scared dont turn here its not scary just freaky... people dont pop out around corners people dont chase eachother for the most part its just a movie that you wont fully understand one of my favorite suspense movies... if your looking to be scared dont turn here its not scary just freaky... people dont pop out around corners people dont chase eachother for the most part its just a movie that you wont fully understand untill the end which makes it great. and tony b if you payed attention to the movie SPOILER(you would know that jigsaw didnt kill those people the lady did) i wish that before people said bad things about a movie they would understand the movie first. its really a good movie for those of you who want to be freaked out or like suspence movies and its a great movie if you liked the first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaraS.Nov 1, 2005
Provocative & gory, yeah, but... Where are the film threat reviews in on the metascore?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LindseyW.Nov 14, 2005
I was pleased by the ending and liked how the movies were so connected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KellyWNov 18, 2005
The plot is again stellar, and the tension is even more gripping than in the last film!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KharaghNov 2, 2005
Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrentT.Nov 7, 2005
This movie grasped my attention as much as the first one did; playing Jigsaws game is something that the audience can even enjoy. I found myself trying to figure out the ending so it wouldn't catch me off guard, but to no avail. It got This movie grasped my attention as much as the first one did; playing Jigsaws game is something that the audience can even enjoy. I found myself trying to figure out the ending so it wouldn't catch me off guard, but to no avail. It got me good. As for the idiot writing for the Boston Globe, go get a pair and realize that watching others suffer isn't the basis of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lukeg.Nov 9, 2005
Heaps good mvie and must see
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
gregd.Oct 27, 2005
I really loved this movie.... if you liked the first then you will definetley love this one. and if you love gore and guts then your are definetley going to like this movie. A+++
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
Dissapointing, considering the original movie was sensacional, but this sequel lacks the good plot of the original, and the characters here are highly superficial, played by actors horribly and directed with no inspiration. What saves the Dissapointing, considering the original movie was sensacional, but this sequel lacks the good plot of the original, and the characters here are highly superficial, played by actors horribly and directed with no inspiration. What saves the movie are the stong and gory scenes that to me looked very cool, but otherwise it is a completly trash film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyROct 28, 2005
Saw in my opinion was one of the most thought provoking unique horror films of my generation (I'm 21) I was scared that the second one wouldn't live up to the first but after the movie ended I know I loved it just as much if not Saw in my opinion was one of the most thought provoking unique horror films of my generation (I'm 21) I was scared that the second one wouldn't live up to the first but after the movie ended I know I loved it just as much if not more than the first. This movie did have some flaws...but the good definitely dominated the bad. I even felt as though the acting was good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamOct 31, 2005
Good stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoelT.Jan 12, 2006
Good horror flick. Slightly better then the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryOct 15, 2006
Just as great as the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleL.Feb 13, 2006
Ha! Honestly, it scared the crap out of me....i always put myself in the characters situation, and this wasnt a good situation. Very 'intelligent' movie. Really gets you to think about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewF.Feb 19, 2006
Surprisingly solid sequel. The way they tie up loose-ends from the first film is very neat. Nice twists, too. I was stunned by how much i liked this. Will be adding it to my collection (alongside the original).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ABAug 26, 2007
By placing more of an emphasis on the villain and his motives, "Saw II" creates a more interesting story than that of the first film. Sadly, however, because of the mediocre dialogue, the film itself is far less captivating than the By placing more of an emphasis on the villain and his motives, "Saw II" creates a more interesting story than that of the first film. Sadly, however, because of the mediocre dialogue, the film itself is far less captivating than the original. Still, "Saw II" is great by modern horror movie standards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanFJan 26, 2009
I don't understand why so many people believe the saw movies have no plot. I have only seen the first three and I thought the first was boring and not as gorey as the hype. But the second was a happy surprise, and I believed the plot I don't understand why so many people believe the saw movies have no plot. I have only seen the first three and I thought the first was boring and not as gorey as the hype. But the second was a happy surprise, and I believed the plot kept me glued to the screen much more effectively. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BoboP.Nov 17, 2005
Great movie, loved the beginning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
More fun & games with Mr. Jigsaw but this time with the "tough" one from New Kids on the Block.
At one point it turns into a sinister version of The Crystal Maze but without Richard O'Brien with his leopard skin jacket.
Clever & entertaining
More fun & games with Mr. Jigsaw but this time with the "tough" one from New Kids on the Block.
At one point it turns into a sinister version of The Crystal Maze but without Richard O'Brien with his leopard skin jacket.
Clever & entertaining as was the first.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
XtremeNov 25, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Saw movie I've seen. I can't say that is the best of all, because I didn't saw the last one (Saw 3D).
The whole Saw saga is totally underrated, no one can predict the ending of this sequel. That's one of the most unpredictable movies I've ever seen. Is quite clever.
I really liked the first one, but Saw II is so much better. When it ended I was really impressed. Can't wait to see the last one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMay 18, 2011
Saw II fixes just about every flaw of the first movie, the acting is better, it's set up better, and has another shocking conclusion, if you liked the first movie this is a must watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
VRossiNov 9, 2011
Wickedly fun. Not as enjoyable as the first fun in every way possible. But that's acceptable judging by the inventive deaths that make the whole things worth watching. The plot is just a little less complex to my liking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
vini1904Aug 14, 2012
A good horror movie with a good strain on the environment and engaging characters. The scenes can be electrifying excitement and pass to anyone who is watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homicidalfuryDec 23, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not as good as the followers but better than the original, but it has a **** up plot, father loses his son to some **** who traps him up in a room filled with gas, thats really **** up Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jamez45545Jan 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best of the Saw movies. This is probably because of the character development of Jigsaw, Eric Matthews, Amanda Young and and Daniel Matthews. What I always loved about the movies were the character development, and the story. The traps don't matter in this movie, it's all about Eric Matthews trying to find his son and doing everything he can to find him. Tobin Bell gives a great performance as Jigsaw/John Kramer. The movie may have flaws with the characters in the Nerve Gas House and some of the traps but over all it's a great detective movie & a good thriller check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscMar 30, 2015
Saw II is not my favorite film in the series, but the film gets gory and fun. Director Darren Lynn Bousman replaces James Wan, which why this movie sucks.The problem with "Saw" is characters are half-baked. with no proper direction like WanSaw II is not my favorite film in the series, but the film gets gory and fun. Director Darren Lynn Bousman replaces James Wan, which why this movie sucks.The problem with "Saw" is characters are half-baked. with no proper direction like Wan did in the first "saw" fails on every level. Grade C+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJul 22, 2017
Definitely not as good and memorable as the first one, but it doesn't mean that the movie is all that bad. The acting was okay, the movie was still intense and the final twist was very surprising. While it may not be that good of a movie andDefinitely not as good and memorable as the first one, but it doesn't mean that the movie is all that bad. The acting was okay, the movie was still intense and the final twist was very surprising. While it may not be that good of a movie and it falls flat in comparison with it's predecessor, it's still not a bad movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Sep 4, 2014
"Saw II" is one of the rare sequels that is just as good, if not better, than the original. It's slower than the first film, but it's still very interesting and intense. Another great thing about this sequel is that it's a lot different than"Saw II" is one of the rare sequels that is just as good, if not better, than the original. It's slower than the first film, but it's still very interesting and intense. Another great thing about this sequel is that it's a lot different than its predecessor, and it's not just a rehash with more blood. If you're a fan of the first one, I highly recommend this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GamecubeLoverSep 3, 2016
Still flawed but the movie is still good. In metascore I would give this 70/100 but still being flawed but still scary and kinda improved but the series will be milked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews