Saw III

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 263
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MasonH
    Feb 4, 2007
    0
    This movie is just a whole bunch of people dying in rediculously painful ways with no way of escape. There is no story, there is no way to live. Jigsaw is possibly the dumbest character ever created. He hates murderers yet he puts people in a position where theres a 99% chance of dying. The people in the traps are usually no better. They are aggressive and stupid and can't figure out This movie is just a whole bunch of people dying in rediculously painful ways with no way of escape. There is no story, there is no way to live. Jigsaw is possibly the dumbest character ever created. He hates murderers yet he puts people in a position where theres a 99% chance of dying. The people in the traps are usually no better. They are aggressive and stupid and can't figure out how to get around the most basic traps. This movie is a complete waste of time unless you enjoy bloodlust. Expand
  2. RobinH.
    Oct 28, 2006
    0
    Why would anybody find pleasure in this sick and boring fest of unnessacary gore and unresulting terror. This movie may be grim, but it is not scary. It is simply a brillant load of garbage. Worst flop of 2006. Well of course its #1 in the box office for the first week but so was grudge 2 and that fell apart after three seconds.
  3. LindaO.
    Oct 28, 2006
    1
    Just like the first two, a waste of time and money. Will surley dissapoint horror fans and there craving of gore. If saw 4 wants to get serious, i say go for the NC17.
  4. MattE.
    Oct 27, 2006
    2
    Filth. Rubbish. Muck. Drab. Bad. Pointless. Unnecessary. Redundant. Hollow.
  5. JordanA.
    Mar 8, 2007
    0
    This movie was very disgraceful. I mean, does Mr. Jigsaw over there say anything but "its all a test"? There is no plot what so ever. All it is, is a bunch of people being tortured in contraptions that they have a 0% chance in surviving.
  6. AndrewR
    Oct 26, 2006
    1
    Boring and dumb. Bad acting, bad dialogue, lame deaths. Last ten minutes are the only good scenes.
  7. HughJass
    Oct 27, 2006
    1
    Too much gore, too little scares.
  8. GaborA.
    Jan 25, 2007
    2
    Saw has always been flawed. Jigsaw's "reasoning" is like the Nazis pleading innocent at the Nuremberg Trials based on the fact that some of their prisoners, the ones who actually "tried," survived. Ridiculous, I know. But it isn't until Saw III that it gets really annoying as Jigsaw preaches more than the first two movies combined and the pointless body count just increases. Saw has always been flawed. Jigsaw's "reasoning" is like the Nazis pleading innocent at the Nuremberg Trials based on the fact that some of their prisoners, the ones who actually "tried," survived. Ridiculous, I know. But it isn't until Saw III that it gets really annoying as Jigsaw preaches more than the first two movies combined and the pointless body count just increases. Unlike Saw II, however, which was just gross and boring this second sequel is at least laughably bad. The last fifteen minutes of the movie is literally a flashback montage which ridiculously shows things that literally happened ten seconds ago in the movie. I don't know about other people, but i couldn't stop laughing during this. Expand
  9. Justin
    Jan 27, 2007
    3
    Saw 1 was a good movie with a great ending. Saw 2 was a terrible movie with a decent ending. Saw 3 is just plain terrible. The reasoning behind this movie, in particular, makes me question whether the writers truly had no idea where to go with it. I found the movie tedious and frustrating to watch, and the ending "twist" was laughable. I was so disappointed with this movie after several Saw 1 was a good movie with a great ending. Saw 2 was a terrible movie with a decent ending. Saw 3 is just plain terrible. The reasoning behind this movie, in particular, makes me question whether the writers truly had no idea where to go with it. I found the movie tedious and frustrating to watch, and the ending "twist" was laughable. I was so disappointed with this movie after several people told me it was the best in the series. Expand
  10. BryantK.
    Feb 23, 2007
    0
    There was no point in this movie at all.The first movie was very good, the 2nd movie was just ok. But this one just takes the cake its so BAD!!!! Its like they did this movie with their eyes closed. They should have at least made the ending much better.
  11. BalzacBalzac
    Sep 26, 2007
    0
    Morally repugnant, sadistic and pointless unless you kick your kicks watching people being tortured physically and mentally. If you do then you should probably join Al-Queda.
  12. halb
    Nov 11, 2006
    1
    Awful, awful, awful. Perhaps the worst movie I have ever seen. Are we supposed to care about any of the characters? The plot and dialogue could have been developed by a middle-school drama club. The acting is atrocious, but the script is likely responsible for most of that. And the horror is simply gratuitous torture. I guess I'm giving it a "1" because I'm sure a worse movie Awful, awful, awful. Perhaps the worst movie I have ever seen. Are we supposed to care about any of the characters? The plot and dialogue could have been developed by a middle-school drama club. The acting is atrocious, but the script is likely responsible for most of that. And the horror is simply gratuitous torture. I guess I'm giving it a "1" because I'm sure a worse movie will come out at some point... or perhaps not. Expand
  13. johnnyf.
    Nov 5, 2006
    3
    It's kind of funny, really. The writers have tried to disguise the numerous flaws and inconsistencies of the second movie as a plot point in Saw III. It doesn't work, as it becomes even more clear that the, um, villain I guess, Jigsaw's greatest disconnect from the real world is probably his misconception of himself as some sort of genius. This would be less of a problem if It's kind of funny, really. The writers have tried to disguise the numerous flaws and inconsistencies of the second movie as a plot point in Saw III. It doesn't work, as it becomes even more clear that the, um, villain I guess, Jigsaw's greatest disconnect from the real world is probably his misconception of himself as some sort of genius. This would be less of a problem if the concept of the movie was not the idea of watching a clever, yet sadistic, genius at his diabolical work. When the conclusion explains the "purpose" behind everything, it is even harder not to roll your eyes than in Saw II. The acting leaves quite a bit to be desired, as I often didn't buy the characters' responses, but this might just be bad writing. As far as the gore goes, it is hard to tell if it's lameness lies in that society become inured to blood and guts as a result of increasing violence (in art and real life), or if the disconnect due to overall crappiness of the movie prevented any visceral response to the gore. I recommend this movie only as a reminder of how thankful we should be that some movies, even some horror movies, are good. Expand
  14. DanaS
    Oct 26, 2006
    1
    Terrible! End the franchise now!
  15. ThomY.
    Oct 27, 2006
    3
    The saw III writers took the movie in the wrong direction after the first saw. Poor acting. Poor killing. Poor writing. Equate to a poor movie.
  16. AlexV
    Jan 11, 2007
    0
    Just about the sickest. most sadistic, meaningless load of trash I've ever seen. The ending is just hollow....If you enjoy this movie you simply enjoy watching people suffer and are a little like jigsaw yourself.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Feb 23, 2007
    0
    Remember when American horror was turning out movies like Alien and The Thing? You know, ones that were actually terrifying? Yeah, don't expect that anytime soon. This is what horror has become. Cheap torture movies like this and Hostel. They really want to bother you with their gory contraptions, but really, they're ridiculous. Atleast you get to watch some terrible actors die. Remember when American horror was turning out movies like Alien and The Thing? You know, ones that were actually terrifying? Yeah, don't expect that anytime soon. This is what horror has become. Cheap torture movies like this and Hostel. They really want to bother you with their gory contraptions, but really, they're ridiculous. Atleast you get to watch some terrible actors die. But I can just watch The Departed for that, and actually have fun. Expand
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. 63
    An improvement over the tedious "Saw II" (2005), this second sequel to the surprise 2004 hit still features the series' trademark gruesome "games" but shifts the focus to the relationships among the characters.
  2. While Saw III provides a decent number of new twists, psychological as well as torture-wise, it necessarily lacks the originality of its predecessors.
  3. The most depressing thing about this series is not the creativity of the bloodletting but the bleak view of human nature.