User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 428 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 428
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DamienA.
    Jun 17, 2005
    3
    Some people have said the ending is the best thing about this film. No, the best thing about this film is it's central horrifying idea that people are forced into killing other people in order to save themselves. The ending merely surprises because it is absurd and unbelievable; it's no revelation. The acting is attrocious, plot convoluted, it's edited like a cheap MTV Some people have said the ending is the best thing about this film. No, the best thing about this film is it's central horrifying idea that people are forced into killing other people in order to save themselves. The ending merely surprises because it is absurd and unbelievable; it's no revelation. The acting is attrocious, plot convoluted, it's edited like a cheap MTV video clip and the direction is disappointing. Expand
  2. SpiderA.
    Jan 21, 2008
    7
    A well made thriller, good for horror fans. A bit overacted at times, but a good waste of an hour and a half. People should check out the superior sequels as well.
  3. EddieD
    Sep 21, 2008
    5
    No Saw movie can be a Saw movie unless you include the rest of the series. Very clever movie, but many weak spots and bad acting. But I will admit that I was into this series for a while. But one day I opened my eyes, and said "What the fcuk am I doing??"
  4. ElVidalF.
    Oct 28, 2009
    1
    Gross, stupid, sadistic, dumb, boring, sick, disgusting. It truly deserves at least a "36".
  5. maxj
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    I got so gripped and so excited and intrested and scared and spooked and grossed out and that's good. Amanda is easily the best character design ever. and it's so flippin scary
  6. JamesK
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    The only movie in the series worth a touch, but even then there are better horror movies out there.
  7. RicardoP.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Best Thriller ever... This movie puts the Ring and Identity to sleep...
  8. MarcD.
    Nov 11, 2004
    8
    A strong horror movie with a fascinating killer. The best slasher movie to come along in a while. My fave new serial killer since Dr Lecter.
  9. MarshallT.
    Nov 14, 2004
    2
    Cary & Danny have jumped the shark while trapped in one of the worst movies I've seen in some time. Often laughably bad acting (inconceivable? no Elwes' Lawrence: MUST ... SAVE ... MY FAMILY makes Star Trek Shatner's Kirk--I ... HAVE HAD ... ENOUGH ... OF YOU-u-u-u--look like Oscar-worthy material). Awkward dialogue. Poor pacing & irrelevant plot developments drawn out, Cary & Danny have jumped the shark while trapped in one of the worst movies I've seen in some time. Often laughably bad acting (inconceivable? no Elwes' Lawrence: MUST ... SAVE ... MY FAMILY makes Star Trek Shatner's Kirk--I ... HAVE HAD ... ENOUGH ... OF YOU-u-u-u--look like Oscar-worthy material). Awkward dialogue. Poor pacing & irrelevant plot developments drawn out, while development of character motivation nixed (no punch, for example, to the taking-life-for-granted motif since the script skips revealing the lives at all!). Way-y-y-y too many moments demanding suspension of disbelief. I also thought the gore aspect was less than most have said (but, then maybe my laughter had my gore sensors in a lockbox). END TAPE: Live your life & cut this one from your movie going line-up. Expand
  10. ZacharyT.
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Much much better than seven, just because of the fact that it is much much more creative, the affects are amazing, and for such a low low budget it was made extremaly well i loved it it was a great movie im sure alot wont agree but i frankly dont give a s... about what they think, i liked it.
  11. MichaelC.
    Nov 6, 2004
    7
    I thought this one was pretty good, but could've been a lot better. The main problem was continuity; the events unravel in an odd manor...
  12. NickB.
    Nov 13, 2005
    7
    I saw Saw 2 before i saw this one...still understood the story without seeing the first one...but even with Saw 1's crappy acting and bad dialouge it still has its scary moments and really sets the movie up for the much better sequel.
  13. tonyb.
    Oct 21, 2005
    2
    I did not find this movie to be the that good. the acting was horrible the twist wasnt even that great or big i dont see why everyones so blown away by it and i have a feeling that the second one is going to be even worse then this piece of junk. i havent seen a good horror movie since the sixth sense that was a good horror movie with a good twist nothing worth seeing here not even the I did not find this movie to be the that good. the acting was horrible the twist wasnt even that great or big i dont see why everyones so blown away by it and i have a feeling that the second one is going to be even worse then this piece of junk. i havent seen a good horror movie since the sixth sense that was a good horror movie with a good twist nothing worth seeing here not even the twist but i will give it a 2 because i think it had a good concept wish they just did more with it, it could have been a great movie. Expand
  14. kharagh
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    The best thriller for quite a long time, wonderful twist.
  15. ThomL.
    Oct 29, 2005
    3
    If you haven't seen the movie, and have read previous comments like the one linking this film on the same level as fight club, and then watch the film with that comment in mind, you will be bitterly dissapionted, it was bollocks.
  16. Ryencoke
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    The best Horror/Thriller flick i've ever seen.
  17. JunoO.
    Nov 2, 2006
    4
    Despite appearances from some high noted actors (Danny Glover, Cary Elwes) and some well placed blood and splatter for gore-hounds, Saw falters in the field of a coherent script, typical numetal-esque guitar riff soundtrack, and simple lapse in reason which will leave viewers shaking their head. Not to mention the "twist-ending" that doesn't really change anything really per-say Despite appearances from some high noted actors (Danny Glover, Cary Elwes) and some well placed blood and splatter for gore-hounds, Saw falters in the field of a coherent script, typical numetal-esque guitar riff soundtrack, and simple lapse in reason which will leave viewers shaking their head. Not to mention the "twist-ending" that doesn't really change anything really per-say throughout the film. I don't mind watching silly horror films and enjoying them, but films with a wee bit of logic for what's going on helps! Expand
  18. DonnaS.
    Jul 21, 2006
    1
    I looked forward to watching this movie after hearing the positive feedback from friends. However, I came to my own realization that this movie was just a seriously overrated, over-hyped movie that didn't deserve any good reviews. It is devoid of horror and puts actors such as Cary Elwes and Danny Glover in a bad light. I am so glad I waited until this movie came out on cable before I looked forward to watching this movie after hearing the positive feedback from friends. However, I came to my own realization that this movie was just a seriously overrated, over-hyped movie that didn't deserve any good reviews. It is devoid of horror and puts actors such as Cary Elwes and Danny Glover in a bad light. I am so glad I waited until this movie came out on cable before I watched it. Expand
  19. Del
    Feb 16, 2007
    2
    Great ideas, good story, lame actors. Could have been more if the cast could act. Watch it if you're a fan of "funny" horror movies.
  20. ApocalypseBrown
    Feb 22, 2007
    4
    I really hate unintelligent horror flicks and this is a prime example of one. To be honest the story is quite engaging, despite the lacking element of surprise and real tension. But the conclusion is Sunday market standard and by then, you are passed caring. Sixth Sense it ain't!
  21. zach
    Oct 19, 2009
    0
    Stupid pointless and sickening eben though all th Saw movies have awesome endings.
  22. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    One of the most original horror films to come out in a long time and its actually good. Saw gives us something no horror film has ever given us before and I loved it. While the acting is solid and far from perfect, It is still an enjoyable film.
  23. May 16, 2011
    6
    While the plot is a unique idea, it's hampered by bad acting, and poor execution, it could have been great but the way they set it up just makes this movie mediocre, the ending however was fantastic, another complaint is that it's not scary, it just has a tense atmosphere at times, all in all if your looking for an ok gory movie for a rental this is a ok choice just come expecting mediocrity.
  24. Jun 24, 2012
    7
    Criticised for being morally bereft and for starting the "torture porn" horror movie craze though the Saw series is, this first instalment has far more to it than you might immediately realise. While it's notorious for extreme gore, in Saw you actually see relatively little, and it rarely feels like the two protagonists (Leigh Whannell and Cary Elwes) are being put through extreme tormentCriticised for being morally bereft and for starting the "torture porn" horror movie craze though the Saw series is, this first instalment has far more to it than you might immediately realise. While it's notorious for extreme gore, in Saw you actually see relatively little, and it rarely feels like the two protagonists (Leigh Whannell and Cary Elwes) are being put through extreme torment for the sake of it - everything that happens to them is necessary for moving the plot along. Unlike the sequels, Saw really isn't a gruesome horror film, but is actually closer to an incredibly dark crime thriller. The Jigsaw Killer (Tobin Bell) rightly deserves his place in the movie villain hall of fame - he has a terrifying screen presence despite being only a disembodied voice for the majority of the film, and his character, a psychotic vigilante driven by a twisted moral code is far more layered and entertaining than the average film murderer. James Wan and Leigh Whannell's story is deceptively simple, but through several clever and unexpected plot twist and some fairly explicit political subtext, the narrative becomes memorable. Saw also offers you one of the most brilliant and shocking final scenes in film history, something none of the inferior sequels even came close to replicating. The set pieces are also far more effective and terrifying than any we see in subsequent instalments, chiefly due to the fact that they are kept strikingly simple, and the schizophrenic editing hides the goriest visuals, allowing your own imagination to fill in the blanks, which is always a reliable tool to fall back on in horror. The first act of the film is a little slow, and I will concede that the film's underlying message, if there really is one, about the failures of the American justice system and worldwide moral decline, is approached in a rather heavy-handed manner by the filmmakers. The biggest crime the film commits, though, is that it spawned so many underwhelming sequels. Still, in this first chapter of an increasingly tired and formulaic franchise packs a real punch thanks to some good writing, taught and tense plotting and an abundance of energy. Many compare the film unfavourably to Seven, but despite the undeniable similarities in plot, I'd take the stripped-back, far less pretentious Saw over David Fincher's over-compensatory effort any day. Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2011
    8
    Solid cast, Very interesting, and it ends in a way that you never see coming. Saw is easily the best horror film in the 2000s so far and is one of the greatest of all time. Only problem is it didnt look as good as it could have (yes I know it was made on a small budget)
  26. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    I truly don't care that the metacritic score is 46, this movie will go down as a classic in the horror genre. It was a breath of fresh air in a genre that relies on remakes of it's heyday. The twists and turns at the end make for a truly amazing thriller/horror/torture flick.
  27. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Saw is a great thriller about Jigsaw who is a person who puts some missions to some people to show them the meaning of life. The first saw is a disturbing thriller about two people who are locked in a bathroom and they try to get out. It has mystery and suspense and an ending that thrills the audience. It has some scary moments but saw doesn't want to scare the audience with Boo moments.Saw is a great thriller about Jigsaw who is a person who puts some missions to some people to show them the meaning of life. The first saw is a disturbing thriller about two people who are locked in a bathroom and they try to get out. It has mystery and suspense and an ending that thrills the audience. It has some scary moments but saw doesn't want to scare the audience with Boo moments. It wants to put the audience in the position of that two people who are locked in the bathroom The result is successful. A quality thriller which deserves the attention. And for the bad reviews? Screw them! Expand
  28. Sep 4, 2014
    8
    "Saw" is a very grisly, brutal, intense, and unpredictable film. It's a lot more psychologically terrifying than physical. This film is said to be insanely gory, but it's really not. There's very little gore in comparison to other films like "High Tension" or "Martyrs", but "Saw" is still a very morbid and gritty little movie. The acting isn't the best, but the cinematography is great."Saw" is a very grisly, brutal, intense, and unpredictable film. It's a lot more psychologically terrifying than physical. This film is said to be insanely gory, but it's really not. There's very little gore in comparison to other films like "High Tension" or "Martyrs", but "Saw" is still a very morbid and gritty little movie. The acting isn't the best, but the cinematography is great. "Saw" is a lot more like a crime-thriller than a horror film, so if you like crime-style movies, I definitely recommend this. Expand
  29. Ted
    Nov 2, 2004
    4
    Okay, first I failed to see why they put danny glover in this movie. Can someone please explain to me again why he was in this film? Acting was below standard. The shock value was the only thing keeping this movie from being a 0. It did have some scary moments I'll give it that. But that's all. Certain parts of the movie didn't add up. And some scenes need to be seriously Okay, first I failed to see why they put danny glover in this movie. Can someone please explain to me again why he was in this film? Acting was below standard. The shock value was the only thing keeping this movie from being a 0. It did have some scary moments I'll give it that. But that's all. Certain parts of the movie didn't add up. And some scenes need to be seriously re-written. Even some characters should have been re-written. You will laugh at the acting of the most serious scenes. Why couldn't the guy take his own advice from earlier in the movie? Use the shirt? Like duh. I guess I can't blame the actors, but I do blame the writers for giving them scenes in which they made obvious stupid mistakes and turned a possibly great movie and turned it into a disaster. Expand
  30. ParmsS
    Nov 5, 2004
    5
    Very entertaining to watch for the first time. Then you walk away and think about it and realise the number of flaws with it. They pitted a master serial killer against the worst cop in the world, Danny Glover was useless. Could have been much better but to many flaws. No where near as good as SEVEN and does not have the watch again appeal like SEVEN.
  31. BubbaFresh
    Oct 30, 2004
    4
    Good idea for a movie, butchered by everyone who made it. This movie is set in the director's reality rather than actual reality. eg. two cops go into a killer's hideout and find the killer, but at no point bother to call for backup or at least shoot the killer. A series of these stupid unbelievable plot holes along with mediocre acting i.e. fake death scene make this movie Good idea for a movie, butchered by everyone who made it. This movie is set in the director's reality rather than actual reality. eg. two cops go into a killer's hideout and find the killer, but at no point bother to call for backup or at least shoot the killer. A series of these stupid unbelievable plot holes along with mediocre acting i.e. fake death scene make this movie which looked good in previews turn out to be crap. Wanna see a good movie see team america. wanna see a good horror see grudge. Expand
  32. Billy
    Feb 17, 2005
    5
    The ending was a complete shock. I thought i knew it but i was way off. The acting is what killed this for me. so cheesy is was ridiculous. great story, but it just fell apart late. good rental, not worth buying
  33. CleatusT
    Mar 13, 2005
    8
    I'm gonna tell all you haters why i think this is one of the best horror movies to come out since the ring. and first of all i'll give you a disclaimer at why horror moives should get a pass on plot loopholes. first of all the only movie of the genre that i can ever remember not having any rediculous plot loopholes is the exorcist. which i admit to this day is still the crowningI'm gonna tell all you haters why i think this is one of the best horror movies to come out since the ring. and first of all i'll give you a disclaimer at why horror moives should get a pass on plot loopholes. first of all the only movie of the genre that i can ever remember not having any rediculous plot loopholes is the exorcist. which i admit to this day is still the crowning jewel of the horror genre. but besides that movie and maybe a handful of others that i have admittedly most likely not seen. there are NOT very many horror movies that have points in the plot that can be logically explained. however, this movie i believe has 3 outstanding aspects that make it a very good horror movie. 1. The atmosphere in this movie rival anything i've seen since probably panic room, which wasnt technically a horror movie. 2. Discarding the last 20-30 minutes of the movie where i admit there are some of the worst acted moments of 2004 the scenes with cary elwes and that other dude in the bathroom are among the most captavating that i've seen this year. 3. The ending. i havent seen a movie this year that has left me wondering how the situation would be resolved more than in this movie. while some may consider this to be a ploy just to wet peoples appetites for the sequel , i see it as a break from the convential mold of horror movies ending on a clear note. theres no reason for a horror movie to end on a resolving note, why should a movie of an atypical event that nearly everyone believes could never happen to them end on a note that allows everyone to live happily ever after. like life it isnt perfect but in a time of nearly nausating horror movies i believe this is a fantastic breath of fresh air. Expand
  34. PamB.
    Nov 1, 2004
    5
    [***SPOILER***] To poster Richard G., many newspaper critics considered the extended scenes where the daugher is psychologically tortured a big 'no-no' by any movie standards. Like many of the scenes which fell flat on delivery -- every movie patron I sat by grumbled about wasted money and time they spent watching "Saw." I have to agree because even network television does a [***SPOILER***] To poster Richard G., many newspaper critics considered the extended scenes where the daugher is psychologically tortured a big 'no-no' by any movie standards. Like many of the scenes which fell flat on delivery -- every movie patron I sat by grumbled about wasted money and time they spent watching "Saw." I have to agree because even network television does a better job at creating creepy psycho serial killer stories. Expand
  35. JoeA.
    Nov 12, 2004
    4
    A disappointment. I expected a little more from this movie, and got very little in return. The trailers are mighty enticing. Then again, when the main actor draw is Glover, I shoulda known.
  36. MichaelM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    4
    "Saw" takes a really great and original idea, and turns it into something average and mediocre. I was expecting to see a deeply layered and thought out thriller, but what I got was a poorly acted piece of Indie fluff. The directing in "Saw" isn't half bad, and the story is very much intriguing. But, the dialogue is very banal and embarrasing to listen to, and the acting is nothing "Saw" takes a really great and original idea, and turns it into something average and mediocre. I was expecting to see a deeply layered and thought out thriller, but what I got was a poorly acted piece of Indie fluff. The directing in "Saw" isn't half bad, and the story is very much intriguing. But, the dialogue is very banal and embarrasing to listen to, and the acting is nothing short of atrocious. Although the cast rounds out some very talented performers like Danny Glover and Cary Elwes, they give quite possibly the worst performances of their lives. I always loved Cary Elwes acting, and I was excited to hear he was the main character in this. I wasn't too enthralled half way through the movie though. It's as if Elwes for some reason forgot all the acting skills he was ever taught for an hour and forty minutes (the runtime of "Saw"). Danny Glover phones in his performance as a creepy police detective to the point of actual embarrasment. The film uses gratitous gore and blood to somehow distract the viewers from the poor acting and dialogue, which is pretty lame if you ask me. The gore in "Saw" isn't as graphic or disgusting as most critics are saying. The only scene where I felt like I really couldn't take it, was when Cary Elwes saws through his own foot (and the camera doesn't pan away during the carnage.) The ending of "Saw" is about as confusing as it is ill-conceived. I almost let out a laugh at the end over how ridiculous it was. In conclusion, "Saw" is a second-rate average thriller that is definetly not worth the price of admission. Wait for DVD. Grade: C. Expand
  37. ichithekiller
    Feb 18, 2005
    8
    This film is seriously f...ed up. thats why i like ti. the film is pretty basic but the plot succeds in making direct links to jigsaw and his abductees. the movie stirs your mind but at points can lose it at times. the ending was brilliant an not at all expected. the best horror movie of last year along with dawn of the dead and switchblade romance. the only thing that let it down was the This film is seriously f...ed up. thats why i like ti. the film is pretty basic but the plot succeds in making direct links to jigsaw and his abductees. the movie stirs your mind but at points can lose it at times. the ending was brilliant an not at all expected. the best horror movie of last year along with dawn of the dead and switchblade romance. the only thing that let it down was the acting. it makes keanu reeves performance in matrix reloaded/revolutions oscar-worthy. but all i nall, a solid horror movie that will not fail to please. Expand
  38. BeverlyB.
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    I Loved It. One of the best i have seen in a long time.
  39. NicoleB.
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Excellent!! that movie kicks some serious ass!!! Leigh whannel did an great job at the acting...cary did too but the castinf director could have had someone way better but the movie rocks! its soo f**ked up!! whoa im buying that movie! Leigh Whannel is HoTT
  40. ilianam.
    May 15, 2005
    10
    This movie was the best movie of all time! nothing compares!
  41. AMovieCritic
    May 22, 2005
    5
    This movie really didn't impress me. The whole thing felt way too set up....it just didn't feel real for a second. There were some intense moments, (mostly flashbacks of this killer's past murders or attempted murders,) but the movie was never very scarry. Things like clowns riding bicycles just don't really scare me in movies. Overall, it was only an OK movie. The This movie really didn't impress me. The whole thing felt way too set up....it just didn't feel real for a second. There were some intense moments, (mostly flashbacks of this killer's past murders or attempted murders,) but the movie was never very scarry. Things like clowns riding bicycles just don't really scare me in movies. Overall, it was only an OK movie. The twist at the end was cool, although it, like the rest of the movie, feels staged, and not believable for a second. Saw is a decent way to spend time if there's "nothing else to watch," but I didn't find the film to be something you should go out of your way to see. Expand
  42. StephenW.
    Jun 21, 2005
    6
    It had it's moments, but the trailers mislead you. Does have some shocking scenes. I expected much better, woldn't have been hard to make it better and more thrilling.
  43. Terry
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Would you like a slice of genius? Watch Saw.
  44. AB
    Aug 26, 2007
    8
    "Saw" is not one of the greatest achievements in the history of film, but it is one of the most intriguing horror movies produced in years. Its interesting story and surprising twists produce an engaging, though not scary, experience that is found all to rarely in modern film.
  45. EricK
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    A film that wraps up so perfectly that you may feel a shiver run down your back as the ending unfolds.
  46. DM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    Considering the limited resources for this film (and the fact that it was supposed to be a low-budget straight-to-DVD movie), they really showed that a decent story can pull any bad film out of the water. Of course, there are the bad sides. The best actor doesn't really "act" for the whole movie, and the gore jumps the limit between scary and funny/annoying. But horror is a dying Considering the limited resources for this film (and the fact that it was supposed to be a low-budget straight-to-DVD movie), they really showed that a decent story can pull any bad film out of the water. Of course, there are the bad sides. The best actor doesn't really "act" for the whole movie, and the gore jumps the limit between scary and funny/annoying. But horror is a dying genre, and it's been a while since there has a film with such a neat thriller ending. Expand
  47. RickyM.
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    A modern horror classic a "cut" above the rest.
  48. BobbyJ.
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    This movie was one of the better movies I've seen in awhile, it does have a few dissapointing parts, but the the ending is excellent. Unfortunatly its not really a movie your gonna wanna watch over and over again, but if you enjoy psycho games and blood, than this movie is one you will certainly enjoy.
  49. MariusS.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Whoa, this really impressed me. A bit rough, but just right for a horror movie. One of the best ever.
  50. GeorgeN.
    Nov 22, 2004
    7
    I thought everything had already been done in this genre until I saw this one. This is one of those rare movies that attempts (and largely succeeds) in putting it's viewers though a similar experience as it's charactors. Somewhat like Memento in this way. Yes it's derivative (7even) and implausable (The Game) but also offers a fairly unique experience if you can handle the gore.
  51. NoahF.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    The best horror movie in YEARS.
  52. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Two men wake up to find they're chained to pipes either side of a room without really knowing why. Clues are slowly revealed as they are part of some sadistic "game".
    Second time I've seen it & it's still a decent horror film. Clever in parts but some of the acting is pretty bad.
    And Cary Elwes will always be Wesley in the Princess Bride for me.
  53. Oct 19, 2010
    7
    its a good they didn't use the word *torture porn*. as a matter of fact, this movie may not be excellent, but its just so perfect. a killer that doesn't kill people so he just create some traps and watches people die when they go into them. thats pretty clever. thats why this movie is a phenomenal.
  54. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I think its easily one of the greatest and original horror films of all time. It features a very interesting plot, the acting is good, and the horror is great. This is a must see horror film.
  55. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Saw is a thriller at its finest...sort of. Though the film is essentially a horror film it has nothing to scare you with unless you have a fear of blood and manky bathrooms. The story of saw is simple, 2 men wake in a small dilapidated bathroom chained to the wall with a dead man in between them. One must kill the other before time runs out or both them and their families die. ThroughoutSaw is a thriller at its finest...sort of. Though the film is essentially a horror film it has nothing to scare you with unless you have a fear of blood and manky bathrooms. The story of saw is simple, 2 men wake in a small dilapidated bathroom chained to the wall with a dead man in between them. One must kill the other before time runs out or both them and their families die. Throughout the film you learn about how the two men are connected more than they thought, about their home lives and about the person who put them in that room to begin with, the Jigsaw killer.
    The story and considering how well shot the film is are the only thing to save it as the acting is pretty bad at the best of times but considering this was a fairly low budget film I can forgive. Saw is a must see for thriller/horror fans.
    Expand
  56. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Not sure how this one gets such a low rating. It was the best out of the Saw movies and a thriller-especially in this genre. I liked the fact I didn't know what was going to happen next and the original content of the horror (sort of speak). Kinda corny though at times, I can admit. But I can still watch this flick to this day and be entertained.
  57. Dec 23, 2012
    7
    This movie is **** gross!, it is **** bloody and all that **** I mean it is a great movie with a good plot and if you hate on it then your a **** I LOVE THIS **** MOVIE!
  58. May 3, 2013
    8
    This film is definite to beat any upcoming torture films. This film has the depth of most movies and is really compelling making you want to watch it even if their is about 1 hr 32 minutes of brutal gore. But this movie still beats the Blair Witch Project without a question.
  59. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    A very good horror/psychological thriller. There were a few bits and pieces which didn't make a lot of sense. What happened to Lawrence?? As a whole an enjoyable film, with some really intense scenes. Don't watch before you go to sleep!`
  60. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    Let me start off by saying that I am not at all a fan of horror movies. But, "Saw" however, manaGed to convince me thAt it's different in a good way. FroM start to finish, the movie is about two people being locked up in an abandonEd bathroom together, no clue where they are Or how they got there. Ofcourse, in decent moVie fashion, that is explained, and the closer you get to the end, theLet me start off by saying that I am not at all a fan of horror movies. But, "Saw" however, manaGed to convince me thAt it's different in a good way. FroM start to finish, the movie is about two people being locked up in an abandonEd bathroom together, no clue where they are Or how they got there. Ofcourse, in decent moVie fashion, that is explained, and the closer you get to the end, the morE it'll surprise you. It pleasantly suRprised me, and as someone who is terrified by disgusting horror, I must say, this one felt quite unique. Expand
  61. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    i do not understand why critics are hating saw , its fun a film its a classic with blood , crime and suspense. Its awesome saw is the top horror movie of the century thats why Saw needed a sequel the franchise needed to keep the franchise going without writer leigh whannell and director James Wan there would be No saw. Grade
  62. Feb 11, 2015
    9
    Saw is a 2004 American independent horror film directed by James Wan. This film is very interesting in my opinion. It is a classic style that brings many rhetorical questions over you.
  63. Oct 26, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film seems kind of underrated. If you're sceptical about watching it because you think it'll be a slasher movie, think again. Admittedly, it's a little violent, but not unnecessarily so like the rest of the instalments. It's a very well-acted production, with clever twists - one of which was completely unforeseen. The story is kind of all over the place sometimes - we start off in Jigsaw's bathroom challenge, then constantly go back and forth between flashbacks. But it works most of the time.
    I have no such hope for the rest of the series - and I hope it's not continued. Maybe one, two, or three Saw films is OK, but no more than that.
    7/10
    Expand
  64. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    The 2004 motion picture directed by James Wan and written by his friend Leigh Whannel. The films stars Cary Elwes, Danny glover, Monica Porter and Leigh Whannel. The music is by Charlie clouser and the cinematography is by David A Armstrong. The film is about two men (Adam and Dr Lawrence Gordon)who are stuck in a old bathroom chained to a pipe by their foot, there only way to escape is toThe 2004 motion picture directed by James Wan and written by his friend Leigh Whannel. The films stars Cary Elwes, Danny glover, Monica Porter and Leigh Whannel. The music is by Charlie clouser and the cinematography is by David A Armstrong. The film is about two men (Adam and Dr Lawrence Gordon)who are stuck in a old bathroom chained to a pipe by their foot, there only way to escape is to cut their foot off. Detective Tapp (Danny Glover) is on the case of the jigsaw killer who has put people in grisly traps where they must shed blood to save their life. The film has great tension from the opening shot and to the shocking twist at the end which will leave you wanting more. The music by Charlie Clouser is amazing and the cinematography is brilliant with the many wide shots and close up shots. The dialogue is good but the actor of Adam (Leigh Whannel) can be bad in some parts and sometimes the story has its plot holes which some if the sequels clear up. The film had a budget of 1.2 million dollars and made 103 million dollars. The production design by Julie Berghoff is superb because the grisly traps look brilliant especially the reverse bear trap. The traps are good and the misconception of the first film is that it is gory but it isn't you will see a shot of something gory it will cut straight to the persons face and gives more tension. The film is one of my favourite films because even though it has plot holes, it has a special place in my heart. I give this film 9/10. Expand
  65. May 27, 2015
    8
    O drama dos personagens e o terror sanguinário foram muito bem aplicados, a criatividade em cada momento foi incrível, a história do filme é relevante, e poderia ser melhor se focasse mais na história de cada "vítima".
  66. Apr 25, 2015
    7
    Saw is for hard-gore horror aficionados only. To appreciate Saw in its full gory, you have to have a penchant for productions that bask in the traditions of the Grand Guignol. While most of the film relies more on psychological tension and terror, there's plenty of gut-churning, visceral violence, especially during the final 15 minutes. That's the time period when James Wan's otherwiseSaw is for hard-gore horror aficionados only. To appreciate Saw in its full gory, you have to have a penchant for productions that bask in the traditions of the Grand Guignol. While most of the film relies more on psychological tension and terror, there's plenty of gut-churning, visceral violence, especially during the final 15 minutes. That's the time period when James Wan's otherwise compelling feature goes a little too far over the top, veering out of its David Fincher-inspired darkness into the realm of self-parody. There's lots of blood, plenty of hysteria, and perhaps one twist too many. On the strength of a grippingly original concept and 90 strong minutes of building action, Saw gets a recommendation, but only if you like this kind of thing.

    Although Wan's primary aim is to build suspense through uncertainty, he doesn't skimp when it comes to showing gruesome images. Although Wan would probably relish the comparison, this isn't a Psycho or Halloween - films that rely upon the imagination of the viewer to conjure up unthinkable images. The original cut of Saw received an NC-17 rating from the MPAA for its unrelenting gore. Some of the most graphic moments were eliminated, but what remains is still about as hard an R as can be found. Sensitive viewers may find themselves momentarily turning away from the screen during one especially harrowing sequence.

    The horror genre has become a minefield of clichés and recycled plots, making it difficult to generate enthusiasm about any new release. New hooks are a premium commodity, so when someone like Wan finds one, it's easy to overlook freshman mistakes. With its freshness and energy, Saw bucks the horror trend towards formula story-telling and proves that enough qualities in the "plus column" can overcome a weak ending. Those who see this movie during its North American opening weekend of October 29-31 will be in for an unsettling Halloween.
    Expand
  67. May 26, 2015
    6
    The Saw Series are good movies. But this one I think is the worse nothing really happened unlike the others they actually moved around. That is why it is a 6/10.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Wan's tense, grisly cinematic morsel won't go down easy. But once it hits bottom, Saw is oddly satisfying, though the gag reflex never entirely goes away.
  2. Reviewed by: Heidi Martinuzzi
    90
    May be the best independent horror film to have come out since "The Blair Witch Project." It's certainly better than "Blair Witch", and more fun, more gruesome, and more macabre. In a very delightful way.
  3. 30
    Though dumber than a box of rocks, Saw forges ahead with the kind of conviction and energy that will keep bad-cinema junkies sitting bolt upright.