Miramax Films | Release Date: October 24, 2003
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 179 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
107
Mixed:
48
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
There is just too many funny moments to count. I loved it then, and it still has me laughing my butt off today. This was seriously pretty brilliant to come up with this.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
HalfwelshmanSep 24, 2012
With the third film in the Scary Movie franchise, David Zucker adds a certain level of competence to proceedings, the addition of Leslie Nielsen is always a positive, and Charlie Sheen playing Mel Gibson's character from Signs is a stroke ofWith the third film in the Scary Movie franchise, David Zucker adds a certain level of competence to proceedings, the addition of Leslie Nielsen is always a positive, and Charlie Sheen playing Mel Gibson's character from Signs is a stroke of comedy genius. The film just about hits the good joke quota, and Anna Farris is still mildly amusing and gets the job done reprising her ditsy lead role. The best film parody is 8 Mile (which incorporates a certain egotistical British talent judge playing himself) which is a bit odd considering the film is a "Scary Movie". All the film spoofs are pretty well executed, probably slicker than they ever have been in this series, and in much of Zucker's own career, though it's a bit odd that so few of the parodies relate directly to the horror genre. The whole film still never quite comes together - some of the gags fall flat, and some of it is just plain embarrassing, and not in an intentionally hilarious way. While the vast majority of the jokes and parodies will at least raise a smile, Scary Movie 3's main achievement is unfortunately reminding you how good David Zucker used to be, but no longer is. His current work can still loosely be classed as comedy, so at least he's doing a bit better than his early writing partners, brother Jerry and Jim Abrahams, but David must still be pining for the good old days of Airplane!, Naked Gun and even BASEketball. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Jun 9, 2013
Good to see the series get back to actually being funny and that's thanks to a few things. Both Cindy & Brenda are back but this time joined by a new crop of actors, most of which are very funny and perfect for the series. The writersGood to see the series get back to actually being funny and that's thanks to a few things. Both Cindy & Brenda are back but this time joined by a new crop of actors, most of which are very funny and perfect for the series. The writers cleverly merge together the likes of Signs, The Ring and even movies that aren't Horror but in a way that still really works. There are also some hilarious LOL moments that weren't as evident in the others. Overall funny stuff and good for a laugh! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGAug 18, 2013
I was a pretty interested in the scary movie films before I saw one. I knew number 1 was an all time favourite but I little worried when I wanted to watch number 3 as I heard people where giving it some pretty mediocre reviews. So a coupleI was a pretty interested in the scary movie films before I saw one. I knew number 1 was an all time favourite but I little worried when I wanted to watch number 3 as I heard people where giving it some pretty mediocre reviews. So a couple easters ago I decided to watch it with my friend. Needless to say....we liked the film a bunch! I loved the comedy and how everything was just so random in the film. I love when people can make horror funny, it turns a frown upside down. The choice of actors was ok, the only person I really recognised was Charlie Sheen. I don't like how people criticise this film for having a childish plot. It's a spoof movie!!! It's not supposed to be serious!!! Go watch batman or inception or something if you wanna look for drama. So, I enjoyed watching scary movie and I had myself a good laugh too! Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
MarickFeb 1, 2015
Scary Movie 3 is a 2003 American science fiction horror comedy parody film, which parodies the horror, sci-fi, and mystery genres, directed by David Zucker. It is the third film of the Scary Movie franchise, as well as the first to have noScary Movie 3 is a 2003 American science fiction horror comedy parody film, which parodies the horror, sci-fi, and mystery genres, directed by David Zucker. It is the third film of the Scary Movie franchise, as well as the first to have no involvement from the Wayans family. The film's plot significantly parodies the films The Ring, Signs, The Matrix, The Matrix Reloaded and 8 Mile. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sydneyo.Aug 5, 2008
This was a pure genius comedy! all the jokes were funny and the humor in it was outstanding!
6 of 7 users found this helpful
2
heyitsmegrif4Jan 5, 2012
I am sorry Anna Faris you are way too good for this awful franchise that can't seem to go back to form from the original. Scary movie 3 is silly, stupid humor with absolutely no heart at all which this franchise really, really needs dearly. II am sorry Anna Faris you are way too good for this awful franchise that can't seem to go back to form from the original. Scary movie 3 is silly, stupid humor with absolutely no heart at all which this franchise really, really needs dearly. I give this movie 16%. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ThomasNov 6, 2003
Yeah, okay the movie is aptly named. It's so freakin scary unbelievable that if you pay to see it, you won't believe it was even made. Disjointed from beginning to end and possibly the worst movie ever made. Now that is scary. Yeah, okay the movie is aptly named. It's so freakin scary unbelievable that if you pay to see it, you won't believe it was even made. Disjointed from beginning to end and possibly the worst movie ever made. Now that is scary. Sucked big time. But if you don't believe me and still want to see, make sure you wear a paper bag over your head because the management at your local theater will be laughing at you coming out of the show? You want to die from embarrassment when you walk out. You have been warned. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
The first 2 prequels had something I could at least laugh at. Now, the tables have been turned. "Scary Movie 3" is what you call "A **** up sex-satirizing gross out movie". Nothing is funny or scary.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
JDFeb 16, 2010
The movie is fantastic, has no real plot, but the humor is spot on, never a dull moment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TheGeographer52Jan 6, 2013
This film is a piece of crap. Worst sequel ever. I F**king Hate It.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMay 4, 2014
David Zucker takes over the spoof series in this third entry and he manages to keep the laughs coming. It can be laugh-out-loud hilarious, but there are other times when the humor fails to connect. Thankfully the majority of the humor does,David Zucker takes over the spoof series in this third entry and he manages to keep the laughs coming. It can be laugh-out-loud hilarious, but there are other times when the humor fails to connect. Thankfully the majority of the humor does, and Zucker manages to capture what made the previous two movies so funny. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AlexG.Apr 11, 2008
I did not particularly like the first two as i thought the Wayans Brothers can't grasp this kind of comedy but when i found out that David Zucker would be taking over i was itrigued to see what he would do to make these movies funny, he I did not particularly like the first two as i thought the Wayans Brothers can't grasp this kind of comedy but when i found out that David Zucker would be taking over i was itrigued to see what he would do to make these movies funny, he bought in spoof acting veteran Leslie Nielson to play a brilliant and rather accurate president of the United States and spoof a bad movie, Signs, Charlie Sheen And Simon Rex were good additions to the cast as well as the two new black guys who are very funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GavinCJul 27, 2009
Less foul-mouthed jokes and more original jokes make this film more appealing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CclaudioM.Feb 17, 2006
I have seen all scary movie films and this one is defiently the worst. not saying i didn't like it just it ain't nowhere near as good as the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarkeverJul 15, 2006
Probably the best Scary Movie ever (followed directly by Scary Movie 1), it's full of funny moments, good laughts and crazy characters. Too bad, there are a few excessive scenes (like the one in the white house with the handicaps) that Probably the best Scary Movie ever (followed directly by Scary Movie 1), it's full of funny moments, good laughts and crazy characters. Too bad, there are a few excessive scenes (like the one in the white house with the handicaps) that ruin the general atmosphere. WARNING: this is not a serious movie! Watch this only if you want to have some casual fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatherineJul 24, 2006
I think it's the best of all the Scary Movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 4, 2006
Hilarious, brilliant, comedy classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
why deal with it? it beats the second movie in just one shot. so, its not that big of a deal. the funny material was terrific though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PevMasterJul 8, 2011
The plot is nonsensical, the jokes offensive and over-the-top and the acting ridiculous...this is one of the best comedies ever written! I love the way that the Scary Movie franchise has to parody everything, however I raised my eyebrows whenThe plot is nonsensical, the jokes offensive and over-the-top and the acting ridiculous...this is one of the best comedies ever written! I love the way that the Scary Movie franchise has to parody everything, however I raised my eyebrows when I saw the Michael Jackson-y scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Sep 2, 2012
All the scary movie's are pretty stupid but this one seem to have more of a cohesive story and the comedy will make you laugh so hard you might not stop laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeJan 3, 2013
Very well made movie. I expected less and I found lots of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SEROJMar 12, 2013
Easily one of the worst movies i've ever seen in my life. It's stupid and with no sense! I give it the bare minimum, because i just hate this movie. The worst choice you can make if you choose to watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
drlowdonJun 15, 2013
Scary Movie 3 lazily spoofs films ranging from The Ring to Signs and adds in a few scenes that involve people being hit in the crouch or falling over. If that’s your idea of comedy then you’ll love this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SilentINUJun 20, 2013
Maybe my favorite Scary Movie of the 5. The plot made some sense, it wasn't scary at all but the funny sceens where cool. The Ring is a good movie also (part of the parody in this movie) so it was funny as i expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Aug 16, 2013
Much better than the second Scary Movie and actually quite surprising. The humour of David Zucker (Airplane) is much better than the Wayans brothers. I mainly enjoyed this because of Leslie Nielsen who is always hilarious and played Dr RumackMuch better than the second Scary Movie and actually quite surprising. The humour of David Zucker (Airplane) is much better than the Wayans brothers. I mainly enjoyed this because of Leslie Nielsen who is always hilarious and played Dr Rumack himself in Airplane (the Don't Call Me Shirley guy). Scary Movie 3 may not be the most intellectual comedy ever but it is enjoyable overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 11, 2014
i love regina hall she is funny in this movie . i also love anna faris in this as well but i cant wait to see . marlon wayan's haunted house 2 if some of you hate this see your up next or paraonormal : marked ones movie instead
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeApr 20, 2014
The 2 first were really better than this **** ass movie.Well at least there is 1 or 2 funny jokes but the rest it's just crap.I do not recommend this movie only because the first were way much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iCronicJul 12, 2014
i liked it very much. got some hilarious Scenes in here. great comedy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PachekoviskMar 16, 2016
MEDIOCRE, but guilty pleasure
This movie and the 1st one in the series are two of my all time guilty pleasures.
I admit is not a great film but I'll admit I found it really funny. And I still think this one is better than the first. For
MEDIOCRE, but guilty pleasure
This movie and the 1st one in the series are two of my all time guilty pleasures.
I admit is not a great film but I'll admit I found it really funny.
And I still think this one is better than the first.
For god sake what other movie can make fun of the ring and signs at the same time?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverOct 8, 2016
This movie is funny as hell. Brenda is funny as hell and almost everything else. This is my favorite scary movie in the series, I love it so much. It is very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
reviewfrom19842Jan 8, 2017
Scary Movie 3 I laughed one time during the movie that's about it. It fails as a comedy. This is the only scary movie parody film I have seen and man it's bad. These movie are the death of parodies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews