Metascore
11

Overwhelming dislike - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: A couple begin to experience paranormal activity after bringing their newborn son home from the hospital. With the help of surveillance cameras and various experts, they learn they're being stalked by a nefarious demon, but in a funny way. This is the Scary Movie franchise after all.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 16 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Apr 12, 2013
    30
    Marlon Wayans’s satire “A Haunted House” got to “Paranormal” first, and for a much smaller budget delivered bigger laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Apr 12, 2013
    25
    Somehow, it actually looks cheaper than "Paranormal Activity." It's less funny, too.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 15, 2013
    25
    Not that there’s all manner of comedy craftsmanship demanding study here, but the movie does seem to be a funny jumble of contradictory impulses.
  4. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 13, 2013
    20
    Lacking a single honest laugh, this is shoddy by comparison with the other Scary Movie sequels… which throws it in a pit with Transylmania, Breaking Wind and Stan Helsing.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Apr 14, 2013
    10
    If you think three months is an impossible amount of time to write and produce a feature film, well, it is.
  6. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Apr 13, 2013
    5
    Scary Movie 5 is so massively un-enjoyable, a hate crime against cinema, a ringing indictment of the depths commercialism will go to in search of the lowest common denominator.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Apr 13, 2013
    0
    Lazy, boring, vile and tragically unfunny attempt at a horror-film spoof.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 95
  2. Negative: 64 out of 95
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Where's bear grylls?
  2. May 14, 2013
    7
    Personally, this movie was enjoyable and I really had a lot of fun while watching, and while I can "understand" many people saying that it's horrible, I want to start saying that this "movie" isn't like the "OTHERS movie" (aka, disaster movie, epic movie, horror movie, etc), and people should know that at least, because while THOSE were horrible and not even funny, this one had at least a minimal amount of thought behind the scenes and it was actually fun to watch. And really, is this the worst movie ever? Remember that, if you're giving this movie a zero, you're actually saying that the Twilight movies are BETTER! Think about that. But rants aside, I don't think this movie is that awful, and if I had to pick a position, this is probably the third best of the franchise. Although, yes, it has flaws. For instance I didn't like that they removed Anna Faris, which was sooo funny...but oh well I liked the new actress enough and I liked the others too (I missed Brenda though). I didn't like also how the story wasn't focused on just one main scenario, but across two or three all together instead, making a lot confusion to follow the story: sometimes it's Paranormal Activity, sometimes Evil Dead, sometimes another. It's just not focused enough on certain aspects, unlike other Scary Movies (for example, SC3 was focused on The Ring, and SC4 was focused on The War of the Worlds). The jokes also weren't exactly stellar in comparison to the previous movies...but really liked how stupid they were, because while they weren't exactly genius, they were just freaking funny. Immature? Yes. Silly? Yes. Idiotic at best? YES at least it wasn't filled with really bad puns, stupid pop culture references that usually made no sense...and singing jokes? But yes, these jokes aren't as good as the previous Scary Movies, but they are FAR superior than the ones present in the "OTHER" Movies. At least they made me laugh. Honestly, I will never understand how this movie was bashed so hard, and probably never will: it's not horrible, but it's not even great, but it's not worth all that bashing in my opinion because at least it took some planning and some effort. I'm not gonna defend it anyway, mainly because, like I said, it has flaws and maybe it should have more focus on some parts, more funny jokes, and the old actors back, but as it is it's NOT horrible, but still a bit of a disappointment. But is it worth the zero? My answer is no. If you're a fan of the old Scary Movies, you probably won't really like it as much, cause of the stupidity of the jokes and the lack of focus on the parodies; If you hated the "OTHER" movie series, you might like this a bit more, since it has better jokes. Best advice, however, is to see for yourself, and hate/enjoy it for what it is: a parody flick. Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    5
    I mean if you go into it thinking you just want a couple of laughs you may or may not like it, but eh whatever its a Scary Movie film nothing spectacular. Hey a hell of a lot better then Avatar and Hunger Games. Anna Faris really shouldve stayed her Ashley Tisdale was okay. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    2
    A sad excuse for a movie. As far as I am concerned, the series is dead. Except for a couple of ridiculous scenes that actually managed to make me laugh, this is an embarrassment to cinema. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    1
    Why are there five of these stink bombs? I can't believe the same guy who made the very funny Airplane continues to make such horrible decisions. The only positive is that the movie is only an hour. Expand
  6. May 3, 2013
    0
    scary movie 5 is a pathetic exsuse for film making. the first scary movie was lagetly funny but the sequals have been this movie has an old formula that has been used way too mutch and pop culter refrences that aret clever or funny. hounistly this is a lazy pice of crap filmaking. These spoof/satire films are becoming old and not funny at all.The acting, dialoge, direction is tarrable in the film. When i saw the trailer for scarry movie 5, i wosent exspecting much but man this movie sucked more than i entisapated. please stop making these movies hollywod, becouse thay are owfule. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    0
    So many "comedy geniuses" have gotten to "Paranormal" way before this film. Scary Movie stopped being entertaining when they decided to make a 3rd one, then a 4th one. And now with this 5th one, I'm sitting here literally saying Eff this. I can't believe I wasted money on this. Anybody who thought this was even remotely entertaining, have terrible taste in movies. Only C-List and below were in this movie. And fan boys, sorry to break it to you, Lindsey Lohan and Charlie Sheen don't even approach the B-List. Sucks. That's all I have to say. It sucks terribly. Collapse

See all 95 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.