User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 752 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 752

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! There is a reason I believe that Edgar Wright is THE best film director we have today, and SPvTW adds to it. Wright fully captured the essence of the gamer/gen-Y crowd and the modern teen comedy. Creativity oozes out of it. It's a movie that isn't afraid to not take itself seriously. I can definitely see how a critic or viewer would give it a low score, because they just don't get it. It doesn't interest them. It's ok! It won my heart. I smiled the whole time. If you love games, subtle humor, any of Edgar Wrights past films, teen comedies, or fresh ideas...Go see this film! Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    First things first, it was Not a cut and paste of the books. It was as funny, as innovative, as lovable, as heartfelt, and as humble as the books. My favorite part of the books though, was that they were just really fun. I felt a smile on my face while I read it. The movie version doesn't lose that. This movie acknowledges the Nintendo Generation like no movie ever has. Some characters are far gayer (weird, I expected to see a red line under that word), and some characters are far less.
    Some lost face time and others gained, but I can't think of a single Book-to-Movie edit that was a bad call. (considering they had to cut about 75% of all character development/back stories)

    It feels inappropriate to use the same old words and phrases to praise a movie that was slathered with completely new things I've never seen in a movie or script. I owe Edgar Wright and Brian Lee O'Malley an attempt though.

    -Any one scene from this movie could be viral on YouTube on its own.
    -My 'Love the Movie' to 'Hate the Wait til DVD' Ratio is equal at â
    Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Just amazing. It may not follow the comics perfectly, but SPvTW is truly an epic win. Winning characters, hilarious dialogue, flashy visuals, everything about it is amazing. Thank god they didn't put this in 3D. Otherwise my head would explode.
    To all the haters, it is meant to be ridiculous and over the top. It's meant to be just silly. The world is one big video game. Accept it. Embrace
    it. I can't recommend this any more than I already have. If you love comics, video games, and just having a good time watching a movie, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is the movie for you. K.O.!!!! Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    Best surprise of the summer. This movie rocked, and I'm not even a gamer, comic book guy, or a musician. Plain and simple, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World was cool, awesome, and creative. Maybe a pre-requisite for this movie is to have seen any other Michael Cera movie. Because seeing this scrawny guy fight and kick butt was a blast! Every battle was quite fun and I was well-entertained.
  5. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Fantastic fun. So long as you like to have a good time, you should. Bring some friends, grab some icees, and enjoy the show. Seriously, this is a silly movie. Don't have your head in your ass, just go to have a good time and watch Scott kick some evil ex-boyfriend/girlfriend ass.
  6. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Go watch this, you will not regret it!
    It's a fun, refreshing movie based on a fun, refreshing comic series! Great fun, especially if you're below the age of 25!
  7. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Amazing film. I went to see the midnight showing with about 16 friends and not one of us left the theatre disappointed. It truly is a fun movie, so much so that I don't think there was a single part during which I was not smiling. Granted, there are some minimal things that one should consider. This movie is NOT for everyone. Edgar Wright clearly made this film with a target audience in mind; but that's okay. If you go in with an open mind and expect to have a good time, you should be pleased. I stress the fact that some people may not like this movie; those who are not in sync with their inner geek or are under the age of 25 (it's an incredibly fun movie, you don't necessarily have to be a geek or hipster to enjoy it!) will probably find it best to spend $10 watching something else. As others have said, if you're a fan of Wright's older work this should be up to par if not better. I have no doubts that this film will be a cult hit in the years to come. The actors are great, the music is fun, and the fight scenes are pretty epic. 15/10, can't wait to watch it again. Expand
  8. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Holy crap this was amazing. Completely aimed towards hipsters and comic/video-game nerds, but anyone could watch it and have a great time. The crowd was great opening night... laughed with everything and just fun to be around. If you havent seen this movie yet, read the comics then GO SEE IT NAO.
  9. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    I am about to list words that describe this movie. Amazing, revolutionary, groundbreaking, mind-blowing, creative, original, action-packed and hilarious!! I saw it at a midnight showing, and my entire world was changed!! The tagline's "An epic of epic epicness." I'm here to say that the tagline doesn't lie. The haters may think that its random and stupid!! Well, you people are wrong! Edgar Wright is an amazing director!! From the very beginning with the Universal logo turned 80s video game, to the final battle, this movie is endlessly engaging, extrememly original, and so freaking funny!! Michael Cera usually plays an insecure little nerd. Here, he plays a butt-kicking video game addict!! Mary's is perfect as the mysterious but sexy Ramona Flowers. Kieran Culkin steals every scene he's in as Scott's hilarious gay roommate who always wakes up with one or more dudes in his bed. Ellen Wong's great as Scott's stalking 17 year-old exgirlfriend. The exes, especially Lucas Lee, Matthew Patel, Todd Ingram, and Gideon are great!!Anna Kendrick, the members of Sex-Bob-Omb, and everyone else is pretty good, too. And that was just the cast!! The dialouge is very clever and freaking hilarious!! Also, the film is brilliantly directed by the great Edgar Wright, who showed us with Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz that he could direct some neat scenes, proves with this movie that he should be up there with George Lucas and Zack Synder. The video game battles are exciting and thrilling!! The video game references are cool, too. An honorable mention goes to the choreographer, Bill Pope, who along with the great work he did on this, also did the Matrix movies, the Spiderman movies, and some Jackie Chan movies. The bottom line is, this movie is unlike anything ever made!! Action-packed, hilarious, and with a good heart, you'd be a fool to miss this movie!!! Expand
  10. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    It had a amazing, stylish and unique presentation coupled with a great cast, light-hearted comedy and romance, which is topped off by over-the-top kinetic action sequences. It was a throughly enjoyable experience. A very good and fun movie.
  11. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    So clever. So funny. So perfect. Edgar Wright understood the comic and captured its sweetness, nothingness and meaningfulness in the movie. I loved the mix-in of comic book panels. Michael Cera pulls it off. Kieren Culkan stands out as Wallace.
  12. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! There is a reason I believe that Edgar Wright is THE best film director we have today, and SPvTW adds to it. Wright fully captured the essence of the gamer/gen-Y crowd and the modern teen comedy. Creativity oozes out of it. It's a movie that isn't afraid to not take itself seriously. I can de
  13. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Very original and lots of fun. I've been incredibly disappointed by the movies of 2010; it's been a bad year for movies. This one doesn't redeem the entire year, but it helps a lot.
  14. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    Quite possibly the best comic book to film adaptation made so far. The differences between the comics and the movie are perfect across each medium to the effect that both are similar yet independent experiences of each other. Most characters were well cast, though some supporting characters were not as well performed by the actors as the main cast. This is a movie I will enjoy over and over again.
  15. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    A brilliant film that uses comic book and video-game logic to make even the most tired themes fresh and palatable. Though filled to the brim with obscure video-game references and Canadiana, the movie has enough sight-gags and charming characters to keep all but the most closed-minded from being alienated.
  16. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    As a massive fan of the graphic novel series I couldn't wait to watch Scott Pilgrim. Not to mention I love Edgar Wright as a director however no matter how much i love the film it has its major shortfalls. The biggest problem I found was that all 6 books have been crammed into one 2 hour film meaning a lot of detail has been cut out, some of the story had been changed to fit in with the cutting out of content which I felt was wrong and it was all over too quickly. I could not think of a better Scott than Michael or a better Ramona than Mary, the rest of the cast was excellent and great acting. Unmissable but not as good as the books Expand
  17. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Brilliant movie. I love watching movies with unlikely hero's and creative use of genre's. Had me glued to the plot and dialog the entire time. Highly recommend.
  18. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Movie pretty much was better and much different than i expected. It helps that it doesn't try to be anything more than entertaining and visually-stunning, which it most certainly is
  19. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Seriously, anyone who thinks this movie is **** or anyone who tries to make themselves sound smart 'cause they use really offensive words, or really correct literacy, can go to **** Hell. I hope I speak for more than half the fans that saw this movie the day it came out, like me, when I say this is the best damned movie that I've seen this year with Michael Cera as the main character, since Superbad! Sure, the movie is pretty fake, maybe faker than the Hudsucker Proxy, but that just makes it even funnier, somehow (LOL)! The original comic from the mind of Bryan Lee O'Malley made into a MOVIE?! What in Jesus' name is smarter! Robin D. Cook, Jennifer Euston, and Allison Jones were very careful for their choices for the cast and must be as smart as Steven Hawking or Bill Gates! Metaphorically speaking, of course. But, still, some of the huge fans of Scott Pilgrim vs. the World must be thinking, "What's to hate about this movie?" Thank you for reading! Expand
  20. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    A fantastic adaptation and a great film that can be appreciated outside its painfully indie-comic source material. Brilliant and inventive visuals, well designed sets, an ace script, and impeccable cast makes the manic pop-culture mayhem go down easily for anyone who didn't know that Pac-Man's name was changed from Puck-Man. It's wonderful to see a film that is comfortable in its own skin and then delivers such unique virtuoso entertainment that multiplies upon repeated viewings. Expand
  21. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    one of the best movie I saw in years! very original and fun. But for my suggestion is to read the books before going see the movie. I went with one of my friend that didn't read the book and I think I was more enjoyed than he was , and he was! The only problem is that this movie is not for everyone, you have to be a little geek to understand all the jokes and I'm probably sure that my parents wouldn't like this movie. The visuals effects are amazing and all i have to say is they made a great adaptation. Expand
  22. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    An amazing film with ingenious creativity. This movie simply transcends the videogame/comic genre and creates a utopian vision of cinematic brilliance. It is extremely visceral to watch and is idiosyncratic in its humor. It is like no other film and revolutionizes what a film can consist of. It is somewhat reminiscent of Inception due to it somewhat abstract concepts. Great film.
  23. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    An absolute delight. Visually compelling and though tuned to a particular fan base (that i happen to be apart of) I found to be hysterical. One must have a true love of video games and music diversity to get all the little ins and outs of the movie so even though my parents and the lot are sure to be baffled by this movie, it pulls straight from my childhood and puts it on the screen brilliantly. Directing and acting was superb across the board. Faithful to the graphic novels interpretation by movie standards and will be a must have when released on DVD. Leaving a good movie you want to quote good parts, and this one was so overwhelming it was hard to choose. I'm in lesbians with this movie. Expand
  24. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    The first time I heard about this movie I thought it was a joke. I thought that this movie sucks, but then I realized that I was wrong... very wrong, absolutely totally super wrong, and till this day I thank God for that. To get to the point THIS MOVIE ROCKS, KICKS ASS, DEFEATS BOREDOM, and just like the GREAT MAN SAID (user Billyliar**): "Wright fully captured the essence of the gamer/gen-Y crowd and the modern teen comedy". So if you want to get the whole picture just read Billyliar's review. If you watch this film you wont regret it. Expand
  25. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    Edgar Wright was already one of my favourite directors after being responsible for Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. He has established himself further into the good books with Scott Pilgrim vs The World. I knew as soon as I saw the 8-bit version of the Universal Pictures logo that this would be an awesome film. Michael Cera was the ideal person to cast as Scott Pilgrim in my opinion. He didn't come across as somebody he is not and the dominant side of his personality only came out in the fight scenes and that is how it should have been. The editing and the motion graphics/special effects were amazing and added a lot to the film. The opening titles were representative of what the movie was going to be like and it didn't disappoint. It's original, creative and most importantly humorous. There are many ways you can read into the film in regards to the theme and message it is trying to get across but it is, to me, about the extent an innocent geeky teen male will go to, to get the girl of his dreams. Ramona Flowers was hot too, even if she didn't seem to care too much about Scott throughout.

    Overall, this is a film which blew me away and it will take a lot to top it. Edgar Wright - take a bow.
    Expand
  26. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    I'll admit, I didn't like the idea of Michael Cera in a lead role. He plays the nervous, kinda-wimpy role in each of his films, and thats good as like a sidekick, or a co star, but didn't think he could pull it off. Then came Scott Pilgrim I'll spare any plot explinations, as you probably know of this already, and get straight to the reviewing. The video game references are lined throughtout the film, from the 8-bit Universal logo to the defeated villians turning into coins. This film proudly shows its roots, along with animated sequences that look like they've come straight out of the comic book. The evil exes are quite formidable foes, but Lucas Lee has to be the best one, purely because of Chris Evans' portrayal (can't wait to see his Captain America) its a shame Lee isn't on for longer, cause every sentance that escapes his mouth is a riot, but he wasn't on for much longer in the comic, so it fits perfectly. We gotta give a big hand to the supporting characters. Knives Chau's obsession over Scott doesn't border onto annoying, and she goes to great lengths to win back Scott, even (failingly) dying her hair Ramona blue. Kieran Culkins character has to be my favourite character of the entire film, from his texting of Scotts life to his sister, to his coming onto the sisters boyfriend, he cannot go through an entire scene without brightening it up or spouting a funny comment (especially at Sex Bob-Ombs rival band) Gideon Graves is quite the formidable villain, I won't spoil the evil things he does but they fit when this film is setting him up to be the final boss. The fight scenes are brilliantly done (especially with Swords involved), the character moments are sweet, the humour is pitch-perfect, the characters are fantastic, and the evil exes are quite menacing. Scott and Ramonas romance is so lovely. Here, it seems to be a mere fling of the moment, while in the books its more of a serious relationship, and yes, parts have been sacrificed but i think Edgar Wright chose wisely. Kudos to Scott Pilgrim VS The World, and of course to Michael Cera, a great choice for the lead Expand
  27. Feb 25, 2011
    9
    Creative, witty, and visually striking. Scott Pilgrim is a blast to watch and I picked up even more subtle jokes and pop culture references hiding within scenery in the second viewing. Maybe the best comedy of 2010?
  28. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    Just a charming, funny and quite awesome Movie about a nerdy guy fighting for the girl of his dreams. Transporting an important message about the fight of life.
  29. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    One of the most unique and entertaining visual experiences I have seen. Edgar Wright adds yet another fantastic movie to his ever impressive filmography.
  30. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    I'm pretty new to this series. I just read the comics about 2 weeks before seeing this movie. I must say, this movie does what Watchmen accomplished for me: provide a fantastic representation of the characters and stories while still being able to tweak the experience for regular audiences to understand. Thoroughly hilarious and beautiful. Now why would I not give it a 10? Despite its closeness to the source material, I personally felt that after the defeat of Evil Ex #3, the connectivity to the other Ex's was sped through very quickly, especially the Katayagi Bros scene. The fight scene itself was pretty awesome, considering it was another chance for the audience to get a piece of audio pleasure with the band, but they never really got too in depth into the Ex's. Other than this fact, taking out many of the minor characters was definitely understandable. In the end, I left the theater with a smile on my face which is what I really wanted.

    Also is this not Gen-X anymore? I mean, I'm as old as most of the main characters...and I grew up in the 90's. I'd rather not be Gen-Y >.>
    Expand
  31. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Pleasantly surprised! The cast was great, the video game and pop-culture references were funny and fit the story (and style) well, and overall it was one of the most enjoyable movies of the summer. I haven't seen a movie that quite grasps both video game and comic book aesthetics as well as Scott Pilgrim, and it marks yet another great movie from director Edgar Wright. It may not be a "deep" movie, but it's a hell of a lot more fun than bland comedy remakes and big-budget action movies. Expand
  32. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is FANTASTIC. I love the comics and could not be happier with how this turned out. Now, it must be said that when it comes to retelling the story as it is presented in the comic, it does not directly follow it. However, I had absolutely no issue with the things they changed. When it comes down to it, this movie does the best job staying true to the ATTITUDE and the FEEL of its source material out of every movie I have ever seen where I was also familiar with both the book/video game/graphic novel/comic. Scott Pilgrim is a dream for a male (and many females, I'm sure) in his early twenties who grew up with a Super Nintendo. All the characters are spot on.. from Scott to Knives to Ramona and everyone else. Precisely how I would have envisioned them while reading the comics. The various video game reference are spectacular, and there are even some other great surprise references that I won't mention because it make it all that more exciting when they come up. If you think the idea of demon hipster chicks and vegan police sounds pretty funny to watch, or if the thought of an epic of epic epicness (great tagline that captures it perfectly) sounds pretty wicked, I would say you need to check this out. Expand
  33. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    The stream of consciousness style is done perfectly as to progress through the story with just enough random insanity to be hilarious and endearing, while also keeping the story coherent.
  34. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    A truly fantastic adaption of the comics, Scott Pilgrim is directed and acted almost perfectly. Each character fits their role to a T, and the numerous all feel fresh and interesting. The fact the movie blends comedy, romance, and action without any one feeling weakened by the other two is fantastic. The movie does a masterful job of cutting down the story to a manageable length, which, when looking at the sheer quantity of source material, is more than a little impressive. The movie isn't entirely perfect, as the fights against Roxie and The Twins are both slightly flawed. However, the movie is close enough to perfection to warrant a 10. Brilliant acting, action, comedy, and romance. What else could you possibly want? Expand
  35. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World is easily the best film I have seen this year and probably one of the best I have ever seen. The characters were all engaging and funny, the dialog was witty and charming, and the comic book effects added a nice dose of charm. The movie also scores extra points with gamers for all its references. A must see.
  36. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Other than feeling a little rushed in some areas, Scott Pilgrim proves to be one of the summer's best films and a great ride. Get your butt in that theater!
  37. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    This movie is all kinds of amazing. I was really looking forward to this movie prior to its release, but now i just want to keep going back to watch it. If you spend more than 2 hours a day on the internet chances are you will greatly enjoy this movie.
  38. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    This movie is so much better than The Expendables if you're debating which movie to see, see this especially because it isn't doing so well in the box office and it should. The previews for this movie don't do it justice, its funny, unique, and highly stylistic. the cinematography is reminiscent to that of Speed Racer but unlike Speed Racer its more funny and has a cool story that is anything but ordinary. If you love video games, comic books and good music you'll love this movie if you don't like any of those things i think you'll still like this movies. My only advice to you is that you go in with an open mind this isn't you're average comedy. Expand
  39. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    I've been waiting Michael Cera to play this role ever since Arrested Development.

    I for one praise him for his work in Scott Pilgrim. Doubly so if he did his own martial arts sequences. Personally I loved the movie from the moment it opened (with the mf'ing ZELDA 3 THEME) till the ending where he cashed in his extra life to save the day.

    For me the whole "geek grows a pair" story, video
    game action-y fight sequences and snappy rapid fire sense of humor all just added up to what will probably be my favorite movie of 2010. Expand
  40. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    A great adaption of the graphic novels yet it still manages to be unique and fresh. The movie is full of hilarious moments and I would highly recommend it!
  41. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    The movie stays, for better or for worse, relatively loyal to the comic books, keeping the same sense of humor and references. Most of the more shallow 'lessons' of the comic book along with the insubstantial banter between characters that's typical of the character's demographics are preserved for the movie. A few of the more important lessons of the comic books involving acceptance of the changing nature of life and responsibilities (an especially poignant realization for modern youth between 20 and 30) are unfortunately placed to the wayside for time//market constraints. In a way this movie is just like Watchmen. If you read the comic and loved the comics, you will love this movie. If you haven't read the comic, chances are you will be confused by this movie. If you've read the comic and hated it, you will hate this movie. Expand
  42. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Loved every minute of this movie. It has a great cast of interesting characters, great visual style, great action sequences, is hilarious, and is one of the best movies to come out this year. You shouldn't miss this.
  43. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    A simply stunning movie in both its visuals and over-the-top action scenes. The story is insanely easy to follow, but also completely insane on the same note. If you enjoy your imagination being put to the test and a wonderfully action-packed love story, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is a must-see.
  44. Aug 19, 2010
    9
    I've got to say that this was the most fun I've had at the movies in a long, long time. You often get heavily marketed films telling you that critics say it's an important film, or it's amazing, or any number of snobby film critic words. This was just a great time. I've long since given up on rating films based on how "great" of a film they are and concentrate on how much I am entertained. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is extremely entertaining and the only reason I didn't give it a 10 is that very few films should ever be rated at the extreme ends of the scale.

    This movie was a blast from the opening Universal Pictures (in 8-bit) screen and fanfare, through all the video game and pop culture references all the way to the "boss fight". It's highly enjoyable and even my wife enjoyed it thoroughly.
    Expand
  45. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    This movie was so fun to watch. It's so entertaining and fast-paced, I don't think anyone could ever be bored. I kind of got the feeling from it that people who see it will absolutely love it or absolutely hate it, but you really don't need to love comic books or video games to love it. I'm not really into either, but it was just so clever, entertaining, and funny, that it really doesn't matter. I think it's quite brilliant how the comic book is translated into a movie. I loved how the quick little scenes were just like single comic book frames. It was really well done. The movie is very incredulous, I did find myself asking "Really?" a few times, but you have accept that this movie is far from reality, and enjoy it. Expand
  46. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Amazing! By far one of the best movies i have seen all year! The cast is perfect and the game-style action keeps you active and roaring for more. I was expecting a less than great film but what i got was totally unexpected. It is for a younger crowd (don't take your mother) as it has more modern humour. This is not a usual movie format (videogame) but i believe that Edgar Wright has aced this movie. A must see! Expand
  47. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    First and foremost, if you're not a nerd, don't watch the movie! That being said... You can really tell Director Edgar Wright worked hand in hand with Brian O'Malley on making this movie be as true to the 6 volume graphic novel as humanly possible. Mr. Wright's inherently British style of directing (e.g. Shawn of the Dead etc...) translates wonderfully to an American (read Canadian) movie designed for the Ritalin generation. There is certain something about this movie that gives you the sense that that actors just LOVED doing it. Every Ex battle is brilliantly crafted, visually and aurally stimulating. I know that I personally have seen the movie numerous times and I know I'm not the only person waiting with bated breath for the Blu-Ray release.

    TL;DR - If you like video games, comic books and indie rock music, go see this movie!
    Expand
  48. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to be honest, this movie was way better than I thought it would be, the movie followed the comic book really well, from comics 1-5, Edgar Wright knew how to put this movie together so it would be, AWESOME.
    The characters are well introduced, well showed through the movie. The actors like Michael Cera and Mary Elizabeth Winstead, where perfect for the characters, the supporting characters were well played. The movie will end up taking you through awesome jokes and nice fighting scenes.
    If you disagree with my review, tell me the reason and we'll talk it out.
    Thank You for reading my review
    Expand
  49. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    I went into Scott Pilgrim thinking that I wasn't a nerd. I was wrong. Scott Pilgrim is not only a movie only enjoyed by nerds but it can also be enjoyed by casual gamers - my friend Isabella thought it was hilarious. She doesn't play games. She understood 1-up and other nerd jokes. Its fun for everyone i think.
    Michael Cera plays Scott Pilgrim. He is funny and his acting is ace.
  50. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Not only is this movie fantastic, epic, and awesome, it is everything else you can possibly imagine being a nerd in a generation filled with texters/internet junkies/video gamers, and just nerds in general. Anyone who always wished that movies were more like video games, well here it is folks. In pristine form. Not only is the movie consistently funny and hipster-approved, it is also something that will set the bar for new movies aimed at gamers. Some people didn't like it sure, because they didn't get it or whatever. But who cares about those squares. This movie rocked. Period Expand
  51. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    It's funny, cute, stylish, nerdy, musical (not a musical, but musical as an adjective), and sometimes surprising. My co-watcher and I loved it. I seemed to laugh at some things she didn't find amusing, but these moments were rare and probably due to my solid grounding in video-game subculture. Other than those few instances, video-game knowledge was not necessary. It's a great movie, although not perfect. I'd definitely see it if I were you, to put it plainly xD we both decided on 8.5, and we're generous, so 9. Expand
  52. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    Best video-game movie ever...Amazing visual style...nice story, good characters, great music. For all of you who enjoy video games, comics and that kind of stuff is a must-see movie, satisfaction guaranteed
  53. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    9
    The cast is great, the storyline is ok, the dialogue is clever and funny, and the visual effects are some of the best you'll see this year. I can't recommend this movie enough.
  54. May 28, 2012
    10
    Its got it all whether its humor, action, and randomness, even a sprinkle of romance. It also makes tons of references to video games. This movie lets you unleash your inner nerd!
  55. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    I find the critics handing out low scores in the media are the old, wrinkly, haggard, grumpy types that will sit through reruns of "lost in translation". The boring types basically.. That's why I've stopped reading critic reviews entirely and just stick to public opinion. Looks like the public agrees this film is gold. Not every film has to be serious for you to enjoy it. I loved the video game/pop culture references and the comic book style effects. The story wasn't that bad either, something you'd find in a video game having to defeat a number of bosses before getting your prize in the end - the beautiful girl. Well done Edgar Wright..hope we get a Scott Pilgrim 2! Expand
  56. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Whoever claims that this movie is bad, go back to watching your awful Oscar-winning films that pretend they have a story when they don't. Movies don't need to have action scenes or explosions to be good, but they also don't need to act like they're smarter than the audience and don't need to act like they have a plot when they don't. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World had some of the best writing and directing in film since Tarantino made the Kill Bill movies. And the acting has humanity and actual emotion in it unlike whatever wins best picture at the Academy Awards. As much as people aren't going to want to admit it, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is one of the few movies in recent memory that is relevant, like-able, watchable, and is legitimately hilarious. And that is a testament to how good movies can be! Expand
  57. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    Scott Pilgrim is a good graphic novel series. Normally when books get turned into films, it ends up worse than the book. However in this case, the graphic novels are good and the film is excellent.
  58. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Surprisingly, this movie was amazing! What's not so surprising is how INSANE the movie was. Nearly every second something totally contingent will unfold before your eyes. The storyline is bizarre, but in its abruptness it makes sense and comes together nicely. Everything in this movie fits well and is the shocker of my year.
  59. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    A thrill ride from start to finish. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is an inventive, colorful, wild hybrid of various elements, with rocking performances by literally all its players. It's new and will definitely scare some tight-minded viewers away.
  60. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    like the books, it is imperfect. But it just makes the good bits even better. Kieren Culkin stands out as Wallace Wells, and the cast are perfectly, well, cast as the the characters from the comic
  61. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Directed by a personal favourite and confirmed homeboy of mine, Edgar Wright, Scott Pilgrim is the tale of a sociable and likeable, if not somewhat introverted, Scott Pilgrim as he lovingly falls head over heels for one Ramona Flowers. Of course, as it is in real life, you must defeat a girlâ
  62. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    Just saw this. And it is my favourite film ever. Edgar Wright has done it again, it's fast, funny, and action-ey? It's just a brilliant movie with brilliant characters that do brilliant things, it's the most epic movie i've ever seen. And the video-game nods just add to that!
  63. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    I absolutely love this movie. I was never bored with the action, comedy, and the heart it had. I don't really care about the low scores for this movie but I think it deserved more than a 69 rating. I love playing video games and the classic ones too so this movie was really fun to watch because of the video game style. Michael Cera does seem to repeat his nerdish personality in movies but it works for him and it makes the movie more enjoyable. I also like how Jason Schwartzman acted in this movie along with Kieran Culkin. This movie is awesome. Expand
  64. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    Truly an excellent movie, maybe not so much if you're over/around 40, not that i'm trying to be ageist but the movie just has a very laid back, modern comedic feel to it. SPvTW knows it's place in the world and doesn't pretend to be an oscar contender, which honestly only adds to the charm. Plot is all over the place, visuals/effects are really cool, and the weird thing is that despite all the mad effects, deranged bad guys and all round shininess, i found myself relating to this more than any movie i've seen in a long time.
    RECOMMENDED
    Expand
  65. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    Fantastic move, lots of fun and a great little story. This one fits in perfectly with Edgar Wright's previous catalogue, and really does the comics justice. Excellent use of music in the film as well, with a great score.
  66. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    HOW TO WATCH "SCOTT PILGRIM vs. THE WORLD. Get yourself an over-priced whopper sized soft drink along with a gut buster bucket of fake butter drenched popcorn, find a seat that's not torn in an area where your shoes don't stick to the floor, suspend your disbelief and leave your preconceived notions at the door and settle in for a cinematic rollercoaster ride worth every penny you've spent! Hats off to the best edited film in years. The fun is not knowing where this film is going and the quick cuts and fast pacing will leave you as high as Michael Cera is tall. You don't need to know the books or the back stories. Just sit back and let the magic flow over you. DON'T MISS IT! Expand
  67. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    A great feel good film, all the way through its original style and likeable characters seem to drag you into this wierd and wonderful world where it seems as if, like true to games, the good guy should always win. The way the film makes you want a certain thing to happen at every 'confrontation' and changes your view on the world we live in is great. If you are feeling a bit down, or just want to feel good, go see it because after the end of it all it's pretty much summed up by 'Who cares what people think? Life is too short.' Expand
  68. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    If you're a comic fan who truly appreciates the characteristics of a comic going into a film then you will enjoy this, no doubt about it. With what appears to be Pokemon-style battle scenes and captions, along with character titles and colourful cinematography, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World should have it's own category of awesomeness. It's retro, with a rocking soundtrack and the occasional sound effect you should all know if you were in the Super Mario World generation.

    It's geek-chic appeal means that the women going to watch this film will be falling at Michael Cera's feet. Cera always pulls off the role of an indie geek boy well, but in this film he has almost matured a little, as he has move away from home and has his own band, but the way he acts around girls brings out that hesitant and clumsy character we all love. His ability to fight was amazing (even if he runs a bit funny); he isn't your typical superhero, he's just trying to win the thing he wants the most, in this case Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead). You may not think you've seen her in the acting world much, but she played Lucy McClane in Die Hard 4, and I think she has some strong potential to take up more female leads in the future.

    Her hard-to-get but charming personality makes her all the more appealing, and you can begin to understand why she has seven ex's. The only thing I felt that could have gone wrong in this film is the fact we as an audience know Pilgrim must defeat seven people, and then what? A happy ending? I am pleased to say it wasn't that straight forward. There are a mixture of characters, such as Scott's obsessive girlfriend Knives Chau (Ellen Wong) and his gay house mate Wallace Wells (Kieran Culkin) who are full of witty one liners. It was even easy to connect with non-enthusiast Kim (Alison Pill).

    By the end of the film there is a lesson learned and underneath is just your typical story of a heartbreaking boy just trying not to hurt anyone. He could easily be your best friend, because the relationship problems he goes through is something we can all relate to. Director Edgar Wright has made this film genuinely funny, but we shouldn't expect any less from the man who also directed Shaun of the Dead (2004). I would say this film is aimed at the teenage generation more than anyone else, it's not something I can imagine my parents going to see because you really have to appreciate the comic elements they've integrated.
    Expand
  69. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    Thee Day i watched this was not a good day. and this movie completely turned it around. I was pretty pissed off that day, and from the start i had this big grin on my face that never died. i loved it. I was laughing so hard and the action was awesome. The video game-style editing made it even more epic. And Michael Cera was cool for once and Ramona Flowers... i can see why he fell for her (she's hot). Expand
  70. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    One of the most enjoyable films i've seen since i can remember! I could not believe how cleverly it has been edited and the music was off the hook. Hilarious in literally each scene.
  71. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    A half hour into SPvTW, I took a breath. "Spectacular." That's what I thought of this film by the 30-minute mark. However, by the end credits, I was fully aware that the cinematic masterpiece that I had just witnessed was something more than a spectacle for temporary enjoyment- it was a creative tour de force that will (if we're lucky) shape films to come for years. I was completely engrossed in this wonderfully artistic journey from start to finish- and this is coming from a card-carrying member of the Anti-Michael Cera Club. No more. If there's any justice in the film world, SPvTW is the first step on the road to inspired, multisensory storytelling. Expand
  72. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    I loved how this movie was filmed as if it was a video game which added to the fantasy feel of the whole thing. The plot was basic but it worked really well in telling the story of 'Scott Pligrim' and his love for 'Ramona Flower'. The unrealistic fighting really worked in adding a great deal of comedy to the story.
    The characters themselves were loveable and each one added a great deal to
    the film. It even had a moral to the story which was to be true to your heart, fight for love for yourself and you'll be far more respected and never forget the true meaning of life. Which is to date someone who makes you happy because in the end being happy is all that matters in this world. Expand
  73. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    I didn't know what to expect going into this movie. It turned out to be the most enjoyable movie of the year for me. It might be too fast paced for some but I loved it. One of the things that suprised me was how well special effects were used throughout the movie. Also, whoever did the casting deserves an award.
  74. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    This movie was pretty awesome and funny. It followed most of the comic book and had so many video game, movie, and comic references. I enjoyed watching it and would recommend to anyone. (I saw some negative reviews too, I don't understand why either, the movie made me laugh and it's been a while since a good movie has come out)
  75. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Director Edgar Wright's first feature film without his cohorts Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, proves that not only is Wright a master of his craft, but he can also make a great film with a fresh cast.
    The 22-year-old Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera) is average enough at first glance. He's in a band, dating a 17-year-old Asian high school girl (complete with school girl uniform), and has a gay
    roommate. Well, maybe he's not exactly average, but things take a 180° turn from average when Scott sees Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) at a party, a girl he had seen in a dream. Turns out that while Ramona is closer to Scott's age, she comes with baggage, seven evil exes worth of baggage that is, all of which intend to kick Scott's ass. At this point we suspend disbelief and simply enjoy the fact that everything we see on screen is a Generation Xer's wet dream, where characters are flung through brick walls, with little more than a scratch to show for it, and defeating opponents is rewarded with points and coins.
    Those who spent a majority of their free time in the 1980s playing Nintendo, Sega, or even Atari, will have an appreciation of the style and concepts presented in Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. From the 8-bit reproduction of the Universal logo, to the animated character after the closing credit roll, Wright proves understands the material and how to present it to an audience.
    After the brilliant collaborations of Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg, and Nick Frost in Shaun of the Dead (2004), Hot Fuzz (2007), and the lesser known TV series, Spaced (1999-2001), the absence of Pegg and Frost is a legitimate concern going into Pilgrim, but Wright and crew hold their own and show that they can branch out from the successful formula and still succeed. Although, as an avid fan of the trio, I hope to see these three amigos working together again soon.
    There are only a handful of directors who excite me as much (if not more so) with their filming style as with the story, characters, and actors. With Spaced, Shaun, and Fuzz leading the way, after watching Pilgrim, Wright has become the first director on my list to achieve this level of style while working mainly in the realm of comedy.
    On the heels of films such as Avatar (2009) and Inception (2010), Wright delivers a unique vision (although on a smaller scale) incorporating many seemingly random ideals which blend together perfectly in the finished product. Everything from the Pee Meter to the Vegan Police (yes, there is Vegan Police) is a welcome addition to Scott Pilgrim's universe.
    If there is something more to be said of Edgar Wright as a director, it's that he understands music, and its role in film. His use and placement of music in his films is always spot on. I've been a fan of the unsung bass guitar for many years, but watching Pilgrim makes me want to actually play it. Anyone up for a bass battle?
    Now that I've gushed quite enough about Edgar Wright, I should mention the actors. Apart from Superbad (2007), there has never been a better use of Michael Cera's acting strengths. (here I go, back to Wright again) Wright pulls out the best aspects of Cera's abilities, then stretches them a little farther to bring Cera to top performance. And although the rest of the cast are all great in their roles (I could write a 1,000 word essay on the actors alone), I was most impressed with relative newcomer Ellen Wong, who, in her feature film debut, provides a great performance as Pilgrim's insanely jealous, but loyal, high school girlfriend, Knives Chau. Look for her to go on to great things. Although there have been complaints about Mary Elizabeth Winstead's seemingly drab performance as Ramona, it should be noted that her character is the centerpiece to what is happening around her. Much like Zooey Deschenal and Lizzy Caplan, Winstead's subdued style has been misinterpreted as bland and unmotivated. The list of great characters and actors goes on, but I'll let you enjoy them as they show up on screen, just know that you'll be saying to yourself "It's that guy (or girl)!" several times during the film.
    With a strong cast, a fun story, and a great visual director who truly understands the medium, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World stands as the overachieving underdog that will find an audience with Generation Xers, who will keep it alive for many years to come.
    Expand
  76. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/scott-pilgrim-vs-world.html

    Here I am reviewing another largely talked about movie recently, and one that also has mixed opinions. I know I saw this the day in came out over the summer and can still remember all the talk about it. Lots of comic lovers wanted to see it, but you also had loads of people who thought the premise was stupid, or
    worse...didn't want to see it due to Micheal Cera. Let me talk for a moment on Cera. I know all the critism surrounding him, he is a static actor blah blah blah. Well, that may be true somewhat but he plays that type of character quite well and personally I love him as an actor, think he's great. Anyway, moving on to the actual movie. I really liked the whole idea of this movie. It was one of the most unique film experiences I can safely say I've ever had. Everything was unique and put towards a video game or just general nerd basis. And that's not to say that you needed to know all the references to enjoy this movie. My girlfriend who never plays video games or reads comic books or anything loved the humor and style of this movie as well. So guess what I'm saying is that if you haven't seen this movie for whatever reason I say give it a chance. It did poorly in theaters but I don't think that's fair, it was just ignorance of people. I give it a 4.5 out of 5. Expand
  77. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fantastic from start to finish. The only downside to the movie is that it may not resonate with everyone, leading to very hit or miss opinions.
  78. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    An epic of epic epicness, certainly. Best film of the year, Edgar Wright has done it again. Look out for my full review at http://www.youtube.com/PulpVideos in November.
  79. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    I loved this movie, it was very entertaining and such an action packed yet funny and cute love story. Not straight from the graphic novels but I The ending although different from the graphic novels was excellent. It was well done and the casting was fantastic, the characters actually looked straight out of the graphic novels. Such a modern comedy for teens today. I defs recommend it. LOVED IT.!
  80. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best films I've managed to watch all year! On the front of it an Adventure, Romance, Action, Comedy, Fantasy film sounds like its trying to be too much too all things, but this is not the case, its a clever witty film which is classy slick and a very polished comic book to movie transition probably one of the best in that genre. It has the subtle British comedy which is becoming a trademark of all of Edgar Wright's films and he must be one of the best current modern directors. The subtle nuance's and all the links to other films just add to it and it never seems to be ripping anyone off. Its also a great bow in Cera's filmography as its a slightly different role to what he seems to be getting typecast into.

    In short if you like glitzy, glamourous gaming films which are also clever and witty bringing something which hollywood normally cannot deliver then this is for you
    Expand
  81. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    Unique fresh and all around enjoyable movie. Don't expect to be moved but it's a movie you'll enjoy the living crap out from start to finish. It's a breath of fresh air that anyone can enjoy
  82. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    This movie was the **** I loved it from beginning to end... Probably kinda weird for most people but perfect for me cuz I was born in 82' and was totally into nintendo when it first came out.... gamer for life. Can't wait till it comes out on blu ray!
  83. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Original, funny, great plot, well acted, awesome cinematography. You get the point.

    Something that's not been done before, I really enjoyed this film, and can't wait until it's released on Blu-Ray.
  84. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    At last! Found a movie that entertains perfectly. Loved the way they presented comic and games mixture story. If you are a non-gamer or one who just likes adult comedy or emotionally unbalanced or just some sarcastic critic then this movie might not be for you.
  85. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the most imaginative movies to ever exist in history. I knew before watching that I was in for something different, but my mind was completely blown away. Anyone actually trashing this movie is clearly an idiot. This is an experience you need to have, I can't believe I waited this long to see it myself, I should of had this taken care of a long time ago when it first came out. Because its now one of my all time favorite movies. You watch a movie and get something out of it, but that is usually the same thing... and what Scott Pilgrim gives is truly unique, So I urge you to see this film. Expand
  86. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Great movie indeed, it was everything I was hoping for and then some. Anyone that does not like this movie simply does not get it at all, either because they were born a generation too early or because they were born without a sence of humour. Seriously how can anyone not like the awesome mindless fun that is SCVTW. It is well acted, very funny and never boring. Sure the actual story is not great but that is not the point of the movie at all, the movie is about the comedy and the action. I recomend this movie to anyone born in the last 30 years and with a good sence of humour Expand
  87. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Scott Pilgrim is an awesome invention in film making it's fast ,it's cool,it's funny.
    Michael Cera is excellent. Edgar Wright Strikes the chord again.
  88. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    This movie was without a doubt one of the best movies of the summer. Who knew Michael Cera still had it in him to crack jokes that can still make the audience laugh. I was able to attend a sneak preview with a packed crowd. One of my friends that went with me was expecting the movie to be a complete waste of time, but after he was blown away and wanted to see it again. Everyone in the theater was cracking up and even making those "OHHHH" sounds whenever Cera would land a great punch or a (surprisingly awesome) fight scene would occur.
    Edgar Wright still owns the gift of making amazing movies. I think he could make a Care Bears movie and it would not disappoint whatsoever. See this movie.
    PS- The only reason I gave it a 9 was because I wished the monster fight scene would've lasted just a few minutes longer, because that scene will just blow you away.
    Expand
  89. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    What makes the movie really enertaining is the fact that the story is told like a comic book. With every scene suddenly changing with barely any sense of a crescendo that moves the film from a boring start to a "Laugh Out Loud" purely entertaining romantic/action comedy. With Scott Pilgrim having to defeat Ramona's seven evil ex's before they can date, which in the movie we only see him fight 3 or 4, and Michael Cera's always playing the same role which is a shy person and never says what's really on his mind, fits the role quite perfectly. It definitely is super light on the romance, which in way makes the movie even better. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is definitely one of the funniest comedies in a long time, or as in the tagline "An epic of epic epicness". Expand
  90. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This movie is not for everyone, but it's perfect for who it is for. If you went to the movie you're either really into Comics/Games/Music or you went with somebody who is. The former who really respond to the goofy male protagonist with a passion for hanging out and kicking exaggerated butt for a cute girl are few, but this movie is made for them. Us.
  91. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    This is a AWESOME movie and definately a watch for REAL gamers out there. This movie is really funny in my opinion and a great homage to the novels, BUT, I hate the deleted scenes they took out and REALLY should have kept in, also how much of the story they took out kills alot of story. Even though this, this movie is great and would get anyone into Scott Pilgrim! P.S. This movie is SUPPOST to be silly ppl...we seriously need more movies like this released. Expand
  92. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Scott Pilgrim boasts a slick, gamer/comic influenced style that really flows well with the story. The soundtrack is amazing and feels so right with the material, and the actors are top notch. This one is worth the watch, heck the buy!
  93. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    The whole thing is like a video game brought to life. It has a good premise hilarious jokes and the acting is marvellous. Video game fanatics will dig the hell out of this.
  94. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Scott Pilgrim vs. the World blends video games, comic books and rock music into a unique generational classic. Comedy, love, heartache, catharsis and epic fight sequences are all deftly handled by director and cast. That's a lot of balls to juggle but Scott Pilgrim vs. the World makes it look effortless. Basically speaking, if you grew up playing NES, reading comics or listening to indie-rock (as I did) then this movie is absolutely unmissable. Expand
  95. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    This movie was freaking awesome. FREAKING AWESOME. There hasn't been one movie ever made that affects gaming references like this one and also follows along with how we act at the same time ever!! There's so much more to this review that I could put but I don't have time so that's about it. It's Awesome.
  96. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Great movie, people bashing it really aren't looking at the right spot (as a hint its not about character development). its a great topical comedy and it flowed seamlessly from semi-realistic into full on video game mode.
  97. Jan 24, 2011
    9
    After seeing the trailers for this film I initially thought it looked like one of the worst movies made... then after seeing so many good reviews for it I finally convinced myself to rent the dvd.. and thank god I did, I can't believe I almost missed out on watching such a fun crazy film.. remember it is based on a comic so it's not the most realistic movie made but damn I probably never enjoyed a film so much, it's kind of a crazy movie actually, everything was excellent, from the soundtrack to the visuals, from the directing to the acting. A must see for anyone who likes to have a good time! Expand
  98. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite movie of all time.The books are better but thats only because they are longer.Its funny, romantic, and it has action.I also love that it has alot to do with Nintendo especially Legend of Zelda.
  99. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Most original movie ever made. Incredibly entertaining and hilarious. I wish more than anything that more people would have gone to see it, because I want a sequel!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    80
    A package of cinematic Pop Rocks, a neon-hued, defiantly non-nutritive confection that nonetheless makes you laugh at its sheer bold novelty.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    The movie is of this precise moment and you should probably see it now, since it will be dated by next Tuesday.
  3. Put simply: Scott Pilgrim is a blast! The total package is a wildly comic journey into the head of a true original. If you are under 25 you will find all of it really, really funny.