Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 13, 2010
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1054 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
912
Mixed:
76
Negative:
66
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Tss5078Dec 6, 2015
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a film adaptation of one of the most successful teen novels of all time. The story and film have gained an almost cult like following, and I had to see what all the fuse was about. The truth is, that thisScott Pilgrim vs. The World is a film adaptation of one of the most successful teen novels of all time. The story and film have gained an almost cult like following, and I had to see what all the fuse was about. The truth is, that this particular films represents everything that is wrong with our society and youth culture in general. Scott Pilgrim is the kind of guy who likes to label everyone and everything, but worse than that, he rants in circles, using constant innuendos, that only a fourteen year old would understand. The story isn't even that unique or special, as the film moves at lightning speed, which is slightly slower than the speed at which it's star, Michael Cera, delivers his lines. I really felt as though my head was spinning, with a mix of slang and new terminology, that simply didn't make any sense to me. As far as the story goes, it's just another modern love story, featuring a lovable loser in love, which was completely unbelievable. The reason is Michael Cera, who seemingly plays the exact same role in every film. He's this nerdy, uncomfortable guy, trying all these awkward ways to get girls to fall for him, and it never works, possibly because he is one of the most feminine and closeted actors out there today. I generously gave this film 1 star, because I actually did enjoy Scott Pilgrim's band, but aside from that, this film is a complete waste of time. It's star is unbelievable, it's story is overly complicated, and the dialogue is arguably the worst I have ever heard. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World may be your teenage daughters favorite movie, but if you're older than sixteen, you're going to want to skip this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
A7sus4Aug 22, 2010
Outside of the razzle-dazzle effects, which grow old by battle #3 (Brandon Routh), the movie has no substance. I never cared one iota about any of the characters and by #4 couldn't wait for it to end. There were a few laughs here and thereOutside of the razzle-dazzle effects, which grow old by battle #3 (Brandon Routh), the movie has no substance. I never cared one iota about any of the characters and by #4 couldn't wait for it to end. There were a few laughs here and there but over all this is a stinker with sprinkles on top. Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
1
DorrbeckerJan 24, 2011
Terrible unfunny movie for hipsters and closet nerds. Cant believe this hype on this trash. The only people who would think this movie is funny are 5 year old's.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
Alex6Dec 28, 2010
Where to begin. How do films like this actually succeed in this day and age? The acting makes you cringe. It follows a simple hollywood layout. It's predictable. And i ask you, what is this modern day obsession with a geeky persona being soWhere to begin. How do films like this actually succeed in this day and age? The acting makes you cringe. It follows a simple hollywood layout. It's predictable. And i ask you, what is this modern day obsession with a geeky persona being so 'cool'. It's mindnumming. Such a typical American film - designed for plebs and half-wits. Expand
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
0
BrosmanMar 29, 2014
An absolutely terrible adaption of the comics. They pretty much got evertyhing wrong about what made the source material so great. Michael Cera is a terrible choice for Scott.
1 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
3
Leinad177Aug 22, 2010
Jesus Christ! When will you people learn... This movie is rubbish.
The plot is awful (see Biodome), the style of the movie is unoriginal (see Blur (PC Game)), the acting was obviously as bad as it will always be with Michael Cera (see
Jesus Christ! When will you people learn... This movie is rubbish.
The plot is awful (see Biodome), the style of the movie is unoriginal (see Blur (PC Game)), the acting was obviously as bad as it will always be with Michael Cera (see Arrested Development). This movie does not succeed in any genre whether it be romantic comedy, drama or action. Scott Tobias has a habit of overrating movies, but he gives a good review with "So why, given its moment-to-moment surplus of visual imagination, does the film feel so hollow and unsatisfying?". Also to other amateur reviewers out there who say "I can definitely see how a critic or viewer would give it a low score, because they just don't get it. It doesn't interest them. It's ok! It won my heart". That's exactly what Twilight fans say on Metacritic. I went into this movie expecting something different and amazing like something from Charlie Kaufman, but instead i find a movie with no real plot just doing something random to keep the idiots watching from becoming bored. Oh and in case any of you are ageists, I'm 18 and i love playing video games.
Expand
12 of 61 users found this helpful1249
All this user's reviews
3
IqbalJan 27, 2011
If you check my account you will see that im a bit of a gamer. That being said, this movie is a stinker. The whole video games sketch as special effects just looks lame. If you dislike cheesiness like in the Twillight series then you willIf you check my account you will see that im a bit of a gamer. That being said, this movie is a stinker. The whole video games sketch as special effects just looks lame. If you dislike cheesiness like in the Twillight series then you will sure as hell dislike this. This ones a stinker folks. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
DoyouvoodooJul 13, 2011
This is a pure unadulterated CRINGE FEST from start to finish. It is a pretentious arty/farty emo annoying musical pile of poop. My toes curled throughout and we had to admit defeat and switch it off half way through. DO NOT WATCH! This is myThis is a pure unadulterated CRINGE FEST from start to finish. It is a pretentious arty/farty emo annoying musical pile of poop. My toes curled throughout and we had to admit defeat and switch it off half way through. DO NOT WATCH! This is my number one most hated film with LOVE ACTUALLY a close second. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
InsaneSamuraiOct 18, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. I have no idea how so many people like this movie as it's mediocre at best. Yes I'm a nerd too. Yes its neat that they referenced some video game stuff. Is that really supposed to be enough for me to root for a total ass of a main character? From the start, this guy has a girlfriend who really loves him, and he ditches her all the sudden cause he likes some other girl more from having a short conversation with her. We also learn that he was dating the drummer of his band and ditched her too for some reason. Not to mention he learns that the new girl he wants is a whore. Doesn't matter, he really likes how she looks or something so he sticks with her. Seriously? Random video game references are enough for everyone to ignore the fact that the main character of this movie is a total jerk who doesn't care about any of the women who have miraculously cared about him?

News flash. Us nerds do not get attention from females like that. Not even close. Making the main character the focus of so much female attention and having him basically ignore them and treat them like crap is reprehensible. But apparently the +7 million points at the end made up for it? *sigh*
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
Kalasanty11Apr 12, 2016
Basically, Twilight for boys. Completely average and ugly teenager being loved by two awesome girls and having fantastic adventures with a lot of action. Well, at least it has some kind of humour going for it. That's something, I guess...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
pwnage332Jan 4, 2011
Terrible, just, terrible movie. Sorry but not my type of movie and I don't see why anyone would like it... There are like no funny scenes and the plot was retarded as it was unrealistic as hell and wasn't funny
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
leonskAug 13, 2010
First off, I love comics, videogames, music, and action movies, which everyone says is a prerequiste for seeing this movie. Just because I like those things doesn't mean I'm going to like them trivialized and thrown into a Gen-Y blender. ItFirst off, I love comics, videogames, music, and action movies, which everyone says is a prerequiste for seeing this movie. Just because I like those things doesn't mean I'm going to like them trivialized and thrown into a Gen-Y blender. It was a romantic comedy with annoying, eye straining visual effects. Also, it's some of Michael Cera's worst acting to date. He's still playing the same part he's been playing since Arrested Development. Don't believe the previews! This IS NOT a kung fu/action movie. It's a romantic comedy that makes a few trite references to videogames. As a big fan of Mr. Wright, but not of the source material, I was a bit apprehensive, and I can see why. It just came across as a jumbled mess.

Yeah, that's what I want in my movies, 8 million pop culture references but no original humor of it's own. Also, the Batman-era "KAPOWs!" and "WHAMMOs! were the most annoying trend I've ever seen return to the screen. Batman did that to cover up the fact that there was no action happening on screen
Expand
8 of 40 users found this helpful832
All this user's reviews
0
zebertasAug 16, 2010
Are you kidding me? This movie is a commentary on what most individuals see the young generation in the United States as; whiny, hopped up on video games, and way too involved with themselves. Wright decides to alienate movie goers notAre you kidding me? This movie is a commentary on what most individuals see the young generation in the United States as; whiny, hopped up on video games, and way too involved with themselves. Wright decides to alienate movie goers not familiar with the graphic novel by bombarding the screen with bright lights and colors, while forgetting to develop characters and story into something the average movie goer can connect with. Unless you left your house playing video games to go see this movie, and then immediately after the movie went back to your Zelda game to see if you could complete it before your Mom came downstairs to tell you it was bedtime, even though you are in your 30's, this movie is not for you. The one redeeming quality was the soundtrack was pretty enjoyable. The Sex Bom-Ombs were a quirky ode to punk and alternative rock, while the theme of underground "independent" music played a nice backdrop of normality and reality to Scott's world of self absorbed nerds and cliches. Seriously, what was this movie about? The only thing I took away from it was that if this is the "game changer" that so many reviewers think it is, we have a bleak future of movies ahead of us. Expand
7 of 28 users found this helpful721
All this user's reviews
1
AMT6400Nov 20, 2010
Just like others before me, I am a gamer. I enjoy manga, comics, reading up on the game industry, etc. Obviously I could be categorized as a person who would enjoyed this film, but this film was horrible. It was not due to the gamingJust like others before me, I am a gamer. I enjoy manga, comics, reading up on the game industry, etc. Obviously I could be categorized as a person who would enjoyed this film, but this film was horrible. It was not due to the gaming references or the corny one liners littered throughout the movie, but rather, the love story itself that was carelessly woven for Scott and Ramona. It's not the emotionally moving, heart felt, passionate sort of love that would move anyone. In fact, it felt selfish and obnoxious. I really felt bad for Knives who seemed more likeable than Ramona, and better fit for Scott. The other characters were barely worth mentioning aside from Scott's gay room-mate who, at-least, brought some comic relief. Either way, the main character himself, Scott, is flat and uninspiring. And the story only got worse whenever the 7 ex-boyfriends were thrown in for good old mindless showdowns that have absolutely nothing to do with what this movie really is: a romantic comedy. Let me repeat this: This is not an action movie. It's for Twilight-look alike, wannabe gamers that give the rest of us a new reason to be ashamed. Maybe one day, someone can make a gamer inspired movie that doesn't make us all look like selfish, unappealing, attention deficient pre-teens. Expand
7 of 16 users found this helpful79
All this user's reviews
3
Hectic3006May 27, 2011
Side characters more interesting than main, Cera playing as same as always, stupid and rushed plot - all dragging this movie down; Nothing new or special in this movie.
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
0
CodyCoyote64Nov 27, 2016
It has been several years since I last sat through the slog that was Scott Pilgrim vs the World. And to this day I still hear 'fans' of the movie talk about how it's the greatest video game movie ever made. This isn't true. And if you chooseIt has been several years since I last sat through the slog that was Scott Pilgrim vs the World. And to this day I still hear 'fans' of the movie talk about how it's the greatest video game movie ever made. This isn't true. And if you choose to watch the movie, you will see that nothing is good about it. It's awkward, stilted, not funny, and offers nothing of value. It can't even be considered so bad it's good. It's just bad. Although I am primarily a video game critic, and an exceedingly popular, well known, and respected one at that, I feel as if I step forward to call this movie's fans for what they are: Hipsters are who are trying to pretend to be nerds. Let me give you an example of what this terrible film does. So Scott is hanging out with his bros and his lesbian girlfriend or whatever and his psycho high school girlfriend pops in up in the window. The Zelda item theme plays. This is supposed to be a bad thing, why is that jingle playing now? It makes absolutely no sense and was clearly only thrown in because hipsters love Zelda, even though they don't play the games. A better video game movie? Probably Wreck it Ralph. Or maybe even the Super Mario Brothers movie. Even that film had Bob-ombs who did what they supposed to do. Scott Pilgrim is not worth anyone's time. It's an unfocused mess that doesn't really have anything going for it. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews