Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A heroic Crusader and his closest friend return home after decades of fierce fighting, only to find their world destroyed by the Plague. The church elders, convinced that a girl accused of being a witch is responsible for the devastation, command the two to transport the strange girl to a remote monastery where monks will perform an ancient ritual to rid the land of her curse. They embark on a harrowing, action-filled journey that will test their strength and courage as they discover the girl's dark secret and find themselves battling a terrifyingly powerful force that will determine the fate of the world. (Relativity Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 16 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jan 6, 2011
    55
    Season of the Witch is barely even a Nicolas Cage movie. He wanders through the picture, zombified.
  2. 50
    The pretty good stuff comes early, when Nic and Ron, weary of wasting women and children, suffer an attack of conscience and desert the Crusades.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jan 7, 2011
    42
    It would take a lot more than holy water to rescue Season of the Witch from mediocrity.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 7, 2011
    38
    A movie that appears to have been shot entirely on leftover sets from "Monty Python and the Holy Grail."
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jan 6, 2011
    30
    Off the top of my head, I'm guessing that Season of the Witch claims a place in the top five all-time bizarre and pointless homages to art cinema.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jan 10, 2011
    25
    The movie proceeds in near darkness, perhaps to obscure its shoddy special effects, but the pervasive gloom is less discouraging than star Nicolas Cage's indifferent performance.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Mr. Cage's knight ends up playing second banana to a digital devil. Welcome to the January dead zone.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 36
  2. Negative: 7 out of 36
  1. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    Incredibly cliched and incredibly enjoyable. Nic's hair is difficult to get past, as is the appalling script, but it's actually likable, with plenty of attractive locations, a great performance by the female ?witch and a buddy-movie feel between Nic Cage and Ron Perlman. It's undemanding but any film which opens with an old crone of a witch vomiting into a man's face gets my thumbs-up as a good night's mindless entertainment. Collapse
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    If you loved other classic nic cage films as Wicker Man and Ghost Rider then you will love Season of the Witch.. Ron Perlman is awesome as well and honestly if you go to movies to smell your own farts then go watch Black Swan and save some more children. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    7
    My opinion is that this movie has been wrongly rated; The acting is alright, the story line is fairly interesting and the graphics were pretty good. It is a reasonable effort for Nicholas Cage and a fairly good job for Ron Perlman, they are the only reason that the movie was moderately enjoyable; the other actors did a fairly satisfactory job. I enjoyed watching it and I recommend this to anybody who likes either Nicholas Cage or Ron Perlman and probably people who like the knight and armor/ dragon slaying kind of movies, its up to you if its worth to buy, but it is definitely worth renting it. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2011
    5
    Acting isn't all that great, an okay movie but, besides some eye-popping action scenes. There isn't nothing too special about this. Just an action movie with a few good spots. Worth a check once. Expand
  5. May 1, 2012
    4
    Boring and predictable is all I have to say regarding the story. I was expecting way more out of the cast then this snore. I can't even say anything else, it was just that bad. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2011
    4
    Lets get the story straight. I really hate Nicholas Cage. He's let all his fame go to his head and he thinks anything he makes is pure gold when in reality most of it is crap. That being said, I went into this movie with zero expectations. That being said, it wasn't horrible. It kept me entertained. The acting as a whole is decent, nothing special from anyone. The special effects are surprisingly good, the ending fight was very cool to watch. That being said, there are glaring holes in this movie. For instance, some of the acting is just horrible(the supporting characters were just really, really bad. Also, during many parts in this movie, they are just talking, which I'm fine with, but there isn't a point to anything they're saying! If they actually had a point to what they were doing, it would be OK, but they don't. One more thing that was extremely stupid was if what happened was supposed to happen, then this whole journey they take could have been avoided. Overall, Season of the Witch is a movie I probably wont ever see again, but for a one time, popcorn flick its worth a shot I suppose. Expand
  7. May 14, 2011
    0
    Its pretty close to impossible to like this film. Of course i respect all reviews but this film was not the best way to start a new year of trips to the movies. It was overly cliched and dull. And the acting was terrible except for Ron Perlman who in my opinion was the only entertainment i got out of this film Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers