User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 137
  2. Negative: 8 out of 137
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    I thought I saw this movie two weeks ago when I saw the trailer and knew exactly where it was going. That was true for the first quarter of the movie (where they got most of the trailer) and the next hour was fairly predictable and then the movie takes a turn and it will be a movie you'll think about for a long time. Worth seeing.
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays inThis is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays in superbly natural but affecting dialog is the growing intimacy of Dodge (hero) and Penny (heroine) in this horrific situation. Most of this is done in subtext, as the picture depicts the various reactions ordinary human beings have to the impending apocalypse. When the picture finally opens up and reveals that its subject all along has been the relationship of these two, the effect is tremendously moving. The final moments are emotionally satisfying to a degree that few love stories never achieve. I am totally at odds with the critics who found this cliched or trite - what the hell do you expect people to say to each other as the world ends?

    Knightly is excellent. Carrell is Oscarworthy. Her character is late 20's, early 30's. His is 40ish. The age discrepancy is not crazy, and in fact works fairly well in the movie. (She has energy, he has a little more wisdom, and is mildly protective.) The picture in my view is a masterpiece. Others will disagree, but you at least have reasons why those in the 'love' camp find the picture so endearing.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    What a lovely, quietly moving film. I just got back. I can't help comparing it to Melancholia, which I also loved, and there was certainly things Melancholia got better (cinematography) but Steve Carrell made this one for me. Everyone was great, but Steve Carrell took it into the stratosphere.
  4. Jul 20, 2012
    8
    Since when have people done an end of the world comedy where, ironically, a relationship begins to blossom? The fact that the director manage to tackle a film like this in such a sweet and endearing way has done a fantastic job in setting the mood. It felt quite sad considering the situation they were in, but it was also quietly amusing. It felt much more dry, which you would expect fromSince when have people done an end of the world comedy where, ironically, a relationship begins to blossom? The fact that the director manage to tackle a film like this in such a sweet and endearing way has done a fantastic job in setting the mood. It felt quite sad considering the situation they were in, but it was also quietly amusing. It felt much more dry, which you would expect from these kind of films. Despite the easy predictability of the ending, the director managed to pull it off in a despairing yet happily romantically touched way. What it made me think of is of how we live our lives in order to make us feel we have led a fulfilled one and the actions we go to when we become involved in such a chaotic event. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    I shall not exert much energy in attempting to convince a skeptical American audience that this little masterpiece is worthy of accolades beyond the mundane it has garnered. But in truth it is such and far beyond. This film walks one of those fine lines that require respect for drama, comedy and original thought. If you anticipate a comedy, it inhabits more than its moments of articulateI shall not exert much energy in attempting to convince a skeptical American audience that this little masterpiece is worthy of accolades beyond the mundane it has garnered. But in truth it is such and far beyond. This film walks one of those fine lines that require respect for drama, comedy and original thought. If you anticipate a comedy, it inhabits more than its moments of articulate as well as lower case laughter. If you admire drama, Mr. Carrel and Ms. Knightly combine to alter the consciousness of films such as 'Melancholia' and "Tree of Life'. Only the Ewan McGregor prize "Perfect Sense' comes close to capturing the essence of a humanity in its last breath. This motion picture does it all. Steve Carrel Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    This is one of those films that just works for me. Given the basic story, such as it is, it would be difficult to make this movie work. Yet the handling of the details, the craftsmanship of the writers and actors, etc. do make it work. And it works at different levels as well. It is not a comedy, yet has moments that are very funny. Certainly this film won't be for everybody, but forThis is one of those films that just works for me. Given the basic story, such as it is, it would be difficult to make this movie work. Yet the handling of the details, the craftsmanship of the writers and actors, etc. do make it work. And it works at different levels as well. It is not a comedy, yet has moments that are very funny. Certainly this film won't be for everybody, but for a lot of people, I believe it will. Collapse
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    Touching movie. This is truly for the romantics out there. And if you're not, Steve Carell's performance will make you one. His Oscar worthy performance sells it. Keira is a great support by being the free spirit. Despite the age gap, it works! Simply put, this movie is for the inner romantic in each of us, even if we're cynical of everything else. Didn't know what to expect when ITouching movie. This is truly for the romantics out there. And if you're not, Steve Carell's performance will make you one. His Oscar worthy performance sells it. Keira is a great support by being the free spirit. Despite the age gap, it works! Simply put, this movie is for the inner romantic in each of us, even if we're cynical of everything else. Didn't know what to expect when I walked in the theatre, but came up smiling big and feeling hopeful. Expand
  8. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    The first point to be made here is that I certainly wouldn't choose Betsy Sharkey or A. O. Scott or the previous "users" as my critics of choice for the end of the world (though some would certainly qualify for the role of buzz-kill if I needed one.). This is a surprisingly sweet movie (an observation from someone who usually doesn't like "sweet" movies), and it is precisely the setting ofThe first point to be made here is that I certainly wouldn't choose Betsy Sharkey or A. O. Scott or the previous "users" as my critics of choice for the end of the world (though some would certainly qualify for the role of buzz-kill if I needed one.). This is a surprisingly sweet movie (an observation from someone who usually doesn't like "sweet" movies), and it is precisely the setting of this rather corny but affecting relationship element against the "dark" but never-taken-too-seriously background of the "end of the world" that makes it so effective. (Apparently some people were expecting "Dinner with Schmucks" while others wanted either "On the Beach" or John Paul Sartre.) I don't usually like Steve Carell (too glib) and think that Keira Knightley is somewhat overrated. But here Carell's basic "sweetness" (that word again) and decency shine through his deadpan performance, and Knightley proves to be a surprisingly charming comedienne. (Sorry, I didn't see the Pirates of the Carribbean movies.) The script is admittedly uneven, but there are nevertheless some great moments (esp., the lame boyfriend, but also the cop who insists on giving the tickets despite the impending apocalypse and the employer asking the few remaining employees who wants to be CFO). More importantly, it is the evolving (albeit not entirely believable--though Scott's "copping a cuddle" seems misanthropic in the extreme) relationship between the two opposite "losers in love" and the fact that, once again, the writer never takes herself too seriously (unlike, for example, Lans von Trier) that makes the movie both likable and fairly touching. Expand
  9. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    First off, every romantic movie is predictable, everybody knows that so don't use that as a reason for negativity in this film. Also yes, its a romantic comedy about Dodge (Carell) who meets a friend (Knightely) as he eventually decides to search for the "love of his life". Exciting plot? No of course not, so yes its going to be dull, but what you have to do is watch the film with a heartFirst off, every romantic movie is predictable, everybody knows that so don't use that as a reason for negativity in this film. Also yes, its a romantic comedy about Dodge (Carell) who meets a friend (Knightely) as he eventually decides to search for the "love of his life". Exciting plot? No of course not, so yes its going to be dull, but what you have to do is watch the film with a heart and a brain and put yourself in the characters position. Thats exactly what i did and i enjoyed this film. It was a great plot, great acting, and a good overall feel to the film. Yes the ending is awfully predictable but what ending isn't predictable these days? Unless its a movie like Fight Club with a twist ending, but are we looking for such a thing in a romantic comedy? I think not. This was a very relaxing and enjoyable film filled with good and bad emotions. I give Seeking a Friend for the end of the world an 8/10. The only reason i don't give it a ten is because frankly i expected a little more comedy involved but it was still a great film, and a nice break from blockbuster action films that fill up the summers schedule. Expand
  10. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Curiously, some reviewers were expecting this to be a rip-snorting laughathon. It isn't. The end of the world is not exactly comedy box-office, and this was never going to be "40 year-old virgin meets Deep Impact".

    But nor is it sombre, either. Gentle playing from two engaging leads, some amusing touches, and the question we are all expected to ask ("What should you do if you know the world is going to end next week?") is satisfyingly answered: what you should do for the whole of your life. The answer's in the title, and if that's too romantic for some, that's too bad.
    Expand
  11. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    This is not a happy story, this film will in no way end happily. However that doesn't mean there isn't great humour, joy and warmth in this wonderfully crafted movie by first time director Lorene Scafaria. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is the story of Dodge (Steve Carrell), a man living with regret that his life has had no meaning. This regret is magnified by the fact his wifeThis is not a happy story, this film will in no way end happily. However that doesn't mean there isn't great humour, joy and warmth in this wonderfully crafted movie by first time director Lorene Scafaria. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is the story of Dodge (Steve Carrell), a man living with regret that his life has had no meaning. This regret is magnified by the fact his wife has left him and he has possibly the worst friends ever. Oh and there's the fact the world is going to end in 3 weeks thanks to a giant asteroid. This puts Dodge in a reflective mood and he thinks of his past love and whether he can see her again. Meanwhile free spirited Penny (Keira Knightley) living underneath him is torn up over the fact she missed the last flight to England and will never see her family again. Through various hijinks the two collide and vow to help each other. It's an unusual film in that the premise is so incredibly depressing and upsetting but the result is down to earth, clever and heartwarming. The film handles some serious themes but never lets them overburden the film as a whole. The discussion of mortality in the film is incredibly moving as Dodge wishes he had made the most of his life but always knew he wouldn't live long where as Penny wants to live if only because she doesn't feel fulfilled. The most surprising thing about the film is that it dares to be risque and crude in its comedy while delivering a finished product that will touch even the most cynical of people. The supporting cast is extensive and there is not a weak link in the bunch, which includes Patton Oswalt and William Petersen to name but a few. However the film wouldn't work without its two leads and both Carrell and Knightley give career high performances, especially the latter who tones down her performance to match the characters quiet yet frantic nature. It's a film that will surprise and impress with every twist and encounter right up to its final conclusion which may or may not have you weeping like a baby. Expand
  12. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Think Dan in Real Life combined with Melancholia, except that this film isn't as good as either of those. I liked this movie, but it's not really a comedy. It's more of a apocalyptic romance with the occasional humorous anecdote. Don't expect to be laughing too much. I'm a fan of Carell and Knightly, and they both play their parts well. I was satisfied, though I think it could have beenThink Dan in Real Life combined with Melancholia, except that this film isn't as good as either of those. I liked this movie, but it's not really a comedy. It's more of a apocalyptic romance with the occasional humorous anecdote. Don't expect to be laughing too much. I'm a fan of Carell and Knightly, and they both play their parts well. I was satisfied, though I think it could have been better. 7.5 rounded up to an 8. Expand
  13. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    It's not a perfect movie, it's clunky and drags too long at times, but in the end this is the kind of movies that will stick with me for a long time after seeing it. The funny thing is that the movie is trying to illustrate that all the little things that bother you in life don't matter in the end, that it's all about the people and things you love, that those are the things you'llIt's not a perfect movie, it's clunky and drags too long at times, but in the end this is the kind of movies that will stick with me for a long time after seeing it. The funny thing is that the movie is trying to illustrate that all the little things that bother you in life don't matter in the end, that it's all about the people and things you love, that those are the things you'll remember at the end of it all. And the movie embodies that very idea oh so well by being itself a mixed bag, but just like life it's not the pesky problems that you remember at the end, it's the good times. For this reason "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World" gets exponentially better as time goes by after seeing it, such a beautiful movie. Expand
  14. Aug 29, 2014
    7
    Relevant and fitting for the times we live in. Steve Carell and Keira Knightley are marvelous together in this end of the world number. Critics largely misunderstood it's wit, detail and fascination.
  15. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    Dark and fun.

    Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is a movie that is very different from all the other apocalyptic movies I have seen. This movie is something else…and I like it. Steve Carell stars as Dodge, a lonely insurance agent who really doesn’t know what to do anymore with all the “apocalypse mumbo-jumbo.” At the start of the film, his wife leaves him after hearing the news
    Dark and fun.

    Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is a movie that is very different from all the other apocalyptic movies I have seen. This movie is something else…and I like it. Steve Carell stars as Dodge, a lonely insurance agent who really doesn’t know what to do anymore with all the “apocalypse mumbo-jumbo.” At the start of the film, his wife leaves him after hearing the news that a meteor will be hitting Earth in three days, ending life as everyone knows. Dodge tries to hang out with his friends and party but while everyone is doing drugs and having sex with random people, not caring about the consequences, Dodge just doesn’t feel right about doing anything. The movie is categorized and advertised as a comedy and while I will say I had a few laughs in the movie, I would not call it a comedy but more of a drama with tiny bits of comedy sprinkled here and there. Dodge soon meets Penny (Keira Knightley) one day while she is mourning over wasting her life with all the wrong men instead of more time with her family. Soon, a riot breaks out and causes these two new friends to flee their apartment building. Dodge is on a journey to meet his high school sweet heart or “the one that got away” while Penny just wants to see her family once again. The film is very well acted by everyone, especially the two lead roles and I thought they had very good chemistry together. On the road trip, they encounter many different types of people which makes the movie an interesting ride. Watching the movie and seeing all the chaos going on, it made me wonder what I would do in a situation like this and to be honest, I don’t think I am ready to answer that question. Overall, Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is not your average apocalypse movie. It’s sweet, it’s fun, and it’s thoughtful.
    Expand
  16. Dec 16, 2012
    7
    The occasional humor works really well in what is mostly an incredibly bleak and touching story of romance. The ending is similar to Melancholia, but not nearly as striking.
  17. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    I loved this movie. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is one of the most criminally overlooked films of 2012. The chemistry between Carell and Knightley is really special here; they both give great performances and carry the film wonderfully. Under the direction and writing of Lorene Scafaria, this film manages to make you smile and laugh, but it also breaks your heart. The filmI loved this movie. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is one of the most criminally overlooked films of 2012. The chemistry between Carell and Knightley is really special here; they both give great performances and carry the film wonderfully. Under the direction and writing of Lorene Scafaria, this film manages to make you smile and laugh, but it also breaks your heart. The film builds perfectly to a devastating (abrupt) ending, but it's fully satisfying all the while. I cannot recommend this film enough. Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    This maybe my most surprising movie of 2012. In no way did I believe that a relationship between Steve Carrell and Keira Knightley would work, but I was wrong these two might be the best on screen relationship of the year. I really love Steve Carrell in these more serious dramatic roles like Dan in Real Life and Hope Springs, I hope he does more.
  19. May 29, 2013
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie!!!!! The plot to some people who live under a rock might seem a bit crazy but to me is totally believeable. The relationship(s) storyline ring absurdly true to me, for I know alot of people and have never married but dated/had relationships throughout my life. I thought Steve's dramtic acting was far and above anything he's ever attempted thus far and...heI absolutely loved this movie!!!!! The plot to some people who live under a rock might seem a bit crazy but to me is totally believeable. The relationship(s) storyline ring absurdly true to me, for I know alot of people and have never married but dated/had relationships throughout my life. I thought Steve's dramtic acting was far and above anything he's ever attempted thus far and...he sold me and I'm a definite hard-sell. He's always been a superior comedic actor, normally stealing the movie(s) away from bigger named stars, but I've got to tell you, in this role as 'Dodge', he stole my heart with his talent in this film. Keira has always been a superior dramatic actor and this time around completely sold the bubbly, ditzy, free-spirited 'Penny' who hides her heart very well right up to the end and then just allows herself the gift of freely opening herself up to love. I was sobbing at the end of this 'little funny film', that ended up being placed on my top 15 best films of all time! You've Gotta see this film for yourself...you'll be telling your friends, family and co-workers all about it at the office water-cooler next week! Expand
  20. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is a cult classic waiting to happen. It has elements that look and feel like Garden State, Little Miss Sunshine, and other popular indie films that have premiered over the past ten years. Carell is the best he has been since the above mentioned Little Miss Sunshine, and Knightly is strangely perfect for her role. Don't walk into the film thinkingSeeking a Friend for the End of the World is a cult classic waiting to happen. It has elements that look and feel like Garden State, Little Miss Sunshine, and other popular indie films that have premiered over the past ten years. Carell is the best he has been since the above mentioned Little Miss Sunshine, and Knightly is strangely perfect for her role. Don't walk into the film thinking it is going to be a romantic comedy because of the casting choices. This is a romance, an unorthodox romance, but a romance none the less. This film may not gain immediate acclaim, but as time passes it will grow in popularity. If you like romance Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is a must see. Expand
  21. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World" 10 Scale Rating: 7.0 (Good) ...

    The Good: Solid dark and sarcastic humor throughout, that wasn't overdone or over the top. Well acted with charming leads that you can't help but root for, despite the fact that they only have a few days left to live. Genuinely funny dialogue, with enough touching moments sprinkled in. Some parts of the end were
    "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World" 10 Scale Rating: 7.0 (Good) ...

    The Good: Solid dark and sarcastic humor throughout, that wasn't overdone or over the top. Well acted with charming leads that you can't help but root for, despite the fact that they only have a few days left to live. Genuinely funny dialogue, with enough touching moments sprinkled in. Some parts of the end were a little uneven, but the final minutes were great.

    The Bad: Loses it's way for awhile in the middle. Some of what the doomed pair encounter on their trek across the country wasn't as interesting or as funny as it could have been. The tone shifts back and forth throughout the movie and is a little sloppy.
    Expand
  22. Aug 20, 2015
    7
    Seeking a Friend for the End of the World was a very cute comic-able setting on the ending of mankind's existence. This movie I found to be relaxing, with some really funny parts in it. The acting for the perfect cast it had was superb, Keira Knightley and Steve Carell were the perfect combination to have in such a film. The film style or cinematic in "Seeking a Friend for the End of theSeeking a Friend for the End of the World was a very cute comic-able setting on the ending of mankind's existence. This movie I found to be relaxing, with some really funny parts in it. The acting for the perfect cast it had was superb, Keira Knightley and Steve Carell were the perfect combination to have in such a film. The film style or cinematic in "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World" were nicely done and again comic-able to say the least. I believe for what this film was bringing to the table, it truly set the pace, kept things moving in a perfect sequence, and was a very entertaining film.

    We thoroughly enjoyed "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World" and will surely be adding it to our movie collection.
    Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 25, 2012
    50
    As Seeking a Friend for the End of the World crawls toward its sentimental finale, you're rooting for that asteroid to get here, quick.
  2. 60
    The whole movie is a good try.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 22, 2012
    63
    If the world were really coming to an end, we'd spend it with Knightley and tell her tag-along friend that there's not enough food for a 50-year-old virgin.