Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2012
    100
    It's more amusing than you might expect, and ultimately more touching than an eroding society around them deserves.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 20, 2012
    83
    In our summertime-movie world of aliens and superheroes who look all too familiar, Dodge and Penny look all the rarer in their precious humanity.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jun 19, 2012
    80
    A charmingly lo-fi love story.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 19, 2012
    67
    It pitches a tone between comedy and tragedy that holds unique appeal.
  5. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jun 20, 2012
    60
    Combines a deviously tragicomic take on the approaching annihilation of mankind with a irritatingly unconvincing and unnecessary love story.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    Carell's performance is enjoyable but safe, and while he and Knightley play well enough together, there's no genuine chemistry - no zap to convince us these two deserve to be the last lovers on Earth.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jun 18, 2012
    38
    A predictable, drawn-out romantic comedy that happens to be set in the shadow of impending apocalypse.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays in superbly natural but affecting dialog is the growing intimacy of Dodge (hero) and Penny (heroine) in this horrific situation. Most of this is done in subtext, as the picture depicts the various reactions ordinary human beings have to the impending apocalypse. When the picture finally opens up and reveals that its subject all along has been the relationship of these two, the effect is tremendously moving. The final moments are emotionally satisfying to a degree that few love stories never achieve. I am totally at odds with the critics who found this cliched or trite - what the hell do you expect people to say to each other as the world ends?

    Knightly is excellent. Carrell is Oscarworthy. Her character is late 20's, early 30's. His is 40ish. The age discrepancy is not crazy, and in fact works fairly well in the movie. (She has energy, he has a little more wisdom, and is mildly protective.) The picture in my view is a masterpiece. Others will disagree, but you at least have reasons why those in the 'love' camp find the picture so endearing.
    Collapse
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    This is not a happy story, this film will in no way end happily. However that doesn't mean there isn't great humour, joy and warmth in this wonderfully crafted movie by first time director Lorene Scafaria. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is the story of Dodge (Steve Carrell), a man living with regret that his life has had no meaning. This regret is magnified by the fact his wife has left him and he has possibly the worst friends ever. Oh and there's the fact the world is going to end in 3 weeks thanks to a giant asteroid. This puts Dodge in a reflective mood and he thinks of his past love and whether he can see her again. Meanwhile free spirited Penny (Keira Knightley) living underneath him is torn up over the fact she missed the last flight to England and will never see her family again. Through various hijinks the two collide and vow to help each other. It's an unusual film in that the premise is so incredibly depressing and upsetting but the result is down to earth, clever and heartwarming. The film handles some serious themes but never lets them overburden the film as a whole. The discussion of mortality in the film is incredibly moving as Dodge wishes he had made the most of his life but always knew he wouldn't live long where as Penny wants to live if only because she doesn't feel fulfilled. The most surprising thing about the film is that it dares to be risque and crude in its comedy while delivering a finished product that will touch even the most cynical of people. The supporting cast is extensive and there is not a weak link in the bunch, which includes Patton Oswalt and William Petersen to name but a few. However the film wouldn't work without its two leads and both Carrell and Knightley give career high performances, especially the latter who tones down her performance to match the characters quiet yet frantic nature. It's a film that will surprise and impress with every twist and encounter right up to its final conclusion which may or may not have you weeping like a baby. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    The first point to be made here is that I certainly wouldn't choose Betsy Sharkey or A. O. Scott or the previous "users" as my critics of choice for the end of the world (though some would certainly qualify for the role of buzz-kill if I needed one.). This is a surprisingly sweet movie (an observation from someone who usually doesn't like "sweet" movies), and it is precisely the setting of this rather corny but affecting relationship element against the "dark" but never-taken-too-seriously background of the "end of the world" that makes it so effective. (Apparently some people were expecting "Dinner with Schmucks" while others wanted either "On the Beach" or John Paul Sartre.) I don't usually like Steve Carell (too glib) and think that Keira Knightley is somewhat overrated. But here Carell's basic "sweetness" (that word again) and decency shine through his deadpan performance, and Knightley proves to be a surprisingly charming comedienne. (Sorry, I didn't see the Pirates of the Carribbean movies.) The script is admittedly uneven, but there are nevertheless some great moments (esp., the lame boyfriend, but also the cop who insists on giving the tickets despite the impending apocalypse and the employer asking the few remaining employees who wants to be CFO). More importantly, it is the evolving (albeit not entirely believable--though Scott's "copping a cuddle" seems misanthropic in the extreme) relationship between the two opposite "losers in love" and the fact that, once again, the writer never takes herself too seriously (unlike, for example, Lans von Trier) that makes the movie both likable and fairly touching. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    6
    I'm torn about how I feel about this movie. On one hand it's good to see a movie that treats the moviegoer as an adult. On the other, it's a pretty melancholic movie that's not that fun to watch. Serious movies are great but I wasn't ready for it for this movie... Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    As several other users have noted, this is not a rom-com, but a true story of romance. It takes some time to get there, but it's a moving film. Interestingly, the end of the movie reminded me of the end of Melancholia, but it's not nearly as ponderous and heavy as the latter. Steve Carell is terrific as usual in a very earnest role, and Knightly is a good casting choice. There are a bunch of great comedians (Rob Cordry, Amy Schumer) that round out the cast effectively - especially during the free-for-all segments. Finally, a quick note that T.J. Miller steals the show with his role as the host at a TJI Friday's type of restaurant that's still operating amidst the chaos. He's consistently funny in every movie he's a part of (She's Out of My League, etc.) and deserves to be a lead. Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    1. just wanted to mention that I don't understand why this website is not working with mozilla firefox... 2. ok so the movie was pretty decent. I feel like it was sold as a comedy but it defintely isn't. I'm not sure exactly how to describe the genre; perhaps a loveish story. The plot and acting were good. Only thing is that I somehow doubt people would act the way portrayed in the movie if the world was ending in 3 weeks (parties, radio still playing, all power still on, etc), so that takes away a little from the plot. Otherwise the movie is touching and sad at the same time which is an interesing combination of feelings. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    1
    Great idea, cast, story and Steve Carell is an amazing actor! Yet, the whole movie did NOT work. It was slow, boring and not funny. The movie had alot of potential, yet it didnt go anywhere. a very big disappointment for me. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.