Black Diamond Pictures | Release Date: August 24, 2007
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 39 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
1
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
RWAug 24, 2007
Variety
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RDW.Aug 24, 2007
The worst episode of "Gunsmoke" is far better than this. Stinks as a drama. Laughable effort. Not even worth to be call a propaganda film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JayN.Aug 25, 2007
Anyone involved in the making of this movie should be ashamed for making such a misrepresentation of history. Anyone who knows anything about the Mountain Meadows Massacre or the Mormon religion should realize this is a blatant attempt to Anyone involved in the making of this movie should be ashamed for making such a misrepresentation of history. Anyone who knows anything about the Mountain Meadows Massacre or the Mormon religion should realize this is a blatant attempt to mar one of the world's fastest growing religions and one of the nations most renowned religious leaders. It is a sad fact that the Mountain Meadows Massacre did occur and was perpetrated by members of the Mormon religion, but to link this horrid incident to the whole religion is a gross error. It is historically documented that Brigham Young had no knowledge that a group of settlers was under threat until September 10, 1857, and on that day mailed a letter to those people plotting to kill the settlers telling them not to harm them and let them pass. The idea that this incident has Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnTAug 27, 2007
This movie completely blew away my previous beliefs--I didn't think cinema could sink lower than Howard the Duck. I was excited when I first heard about this film. The history surrounding the events is fascinating, if ambiguous. The sad This movie completely blew away my previous beliefs--I didn't think cinema could sink lower than Howard the Duck. I was excited when I first heard about this film. The history surrounding the events is fascinating, if ambiguous. The sad thing about this film is that even if it had got the history basically right, the meaning it tries to attach to what happened would still be confused. I suspect that detainees at Guantanamo Bay will be seeing a lot of this movie as part of the "enhanced interrogation tactics" that go on there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MS.Sep 1, 2007
Theological porn for evangelical Christians who have been taught to regard the Mormon church as a cult. The movie lacks both substance and style. General Zod made me laugh, so this gets 2 points.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Sep 1, 2007
I don't feed tripe like this to my dog. Acting, cinematography, writing, historicity... the movie could not have failed on more cylinders if it tried
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredCSep 3, 2007
Gross. Jon Voight was absolutely yuk in this poor low budget film. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
matta.Aug 23, 2007
really, this movie is hilarious it's so bad. Mormons have had a weird history, but this is just poorly acted and poorly written. The 40 scores both seem overly generous considering both reviewers clearly hated the film. I would say they really, this movie is hilarious it's so bad. Mormons have had a weird history, but this is just poorly acted and poorly written. The 40 scores both seem overly generous considering both reviewers clearly hated the film. I would say they both gave it about a 30 at best. See only to be entertained by the poor execution. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
C.BestAug 26, 2007
From the comments here alone, it is clear what this film was meant to do - rally Christian anti-Mormons and anti-religionists alike. For both those groups it will give further credence to things they already believe and for Mormons I suppose From the comments here alone, it is clear what this film was meant to do - rally Christian anti-Mormons and anti-religionists alike. For both those groups it will give further credence to things they already believe and for Mormons I suppose it will feel like an attack and put them on the defensive. And those can be the only objectives of the movie's creators. As a film it is heavy handed and poorly written, as an historical exploration of religion it must be assumed that it is biased and objective-driven. As a political tool it will ultimately be a failure too as it is to ghastly to reach beyond the people who seek out evidence to heap up against the door of their already closed minds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdamRAug 29, 2007
This movie will take its much deserved place in the movie world. At the bottom of the 5 for 5$ bin at Walmart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandyD.Aug 30, 2007
Worst movie of the last 20 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AdamD.Aug 30, 2007
Lol@all of the positive user reviews which were obviously done by the same person. Anyway, this movie was the worst I've seen this year, nay, for the last 6 (not as bad Babygeniuses 2). I can't give this a zero because it made me Lol@all of the positive user reviews which were obviously done by the same person. Anyway, this movie was the worst I've seen this year, nay, for the last 6 (not as bad Babygeniuses 2). I can't give this a zero because it made me laugh so hard, especially at the fake looking testicles nailed to a board. This movie was obviously made to get people to hate mormons. It depicts the christians the mormons slaughter as perfect rays of fucking sunshine, and the mormons as demonic cultists. The acting is horrendous, not to mention the camera work. Anyway just do yourself a favor and avoid this...unless you feel like laughing your ass off at a mess of filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DrMorrisMay 3, 2008
Slander in its most blatant form. Cain, Voigt and the crew are not historical authorities, and less, objective. This is a hateful, slanted, untamed, and utterly worthless. The romance trivializes the situation, the shoddy history attacks Slander in its most blatant form. Cain, Voigt and the crew are not historical authorities, and less, objective. This is a hateful, slanted, untamed, and utterly worthless. The romance trivializes the situation, the shoddy history attacks Mormons, the sappy writing makes one gnash their teeth. The worst movie ever. (and why are the reasons that it was given an 8 or 10? Because "Voigt said" or "Mormons won't like it" or "it's not attacking Mormons". Please. How stupid can they be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
bradbJul 2, 2009
This movie might have been pretty good if it had been written and directed by atheists.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
chrisnielsenAug 24, 2007
Worst movie of the year
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DavidB.Aug 24, 2007
You know, Jon Voight was pretty awesome, but I think his masterful performance in Transformers outshines it by a long shot. Oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BBAug 25, 2007
Scott F. is one of those conspiracy theorists who accuse the Mormon leadership of knowing it all, and keeping all their secrets from the 12,000,000 Mormons worldwide, but somehow, Scott F is so smart he figured it all out by himself. Only HE Scott F. is one of those conspiracy theorists who accuse the Mormon leadership of knowing it all, and keeping all their secrets from the 12,000,000 Mormons worldwide, but somehow, Scott F is so smart he figured it all out by himself. Only HE knows the REAL history and what the Mormons REALLY believe. I think he should be careful, lest Jon Voight come in the dark of night and seek VENGEANCE! This movie reminds me of the anti-Jew posters of Nazi Germany with the huge noses and ears, dripping the blood of Germany children from their Semitic fangs, and the anti-Japanese posters of WW II America, with their huge mouths and teeth and their squinty eyes, which gave a pretext for rounding up all those "nasty Japs" and putting them in domestic prison camps. If director Christopher Cain had his evangelistic way, all the Mormons would be denied the right to speak, practice their religion and hold public office. He is no different than the fanatics he seeks to portray in his own movie. It is rare to such a self parody. Hat's off, to you Mr. Cain! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GagaForGhibliJun 2, 2012
One Of The Worst Movies Of All Time!
Why Is The User Score Mixed (As Of Now)
It's A Really Bad Movie.. REALLY BAD...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews