Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 14 out of 32
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 6, 2015
    63
    By-the-numbers, generic plots no longer work and that, unfortunately, is what Seventh Son delivers. Impressive set design and visuals, excessive CGI, and a loud score from Marco Beltrami can't fully compensate for bland character development and a predictable narrative that rushes along on a linear trajectory.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Feb 6, 2015
    63
    Surprise! One doesn’t want to damn the movie with faint praise by saying “it’s not that bad,” but that’s kind of the most objectively accurate description of it, in all honesty.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Feb 12, 2015
    50
    To its credit, despite a rough start (witch burning and all that), Seventh Son does not succumb to misogyny.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Feb 6, 2015
    50
    Seventh Son is brisk and unpretentious, though the fact that these two qualities can be considered remarkable probably says more about the state of modern genre filmmaking than it does about the movie itself.
  5. Reviewed by: Thomas Lee
    Feb 5, 2015
    50
    The result is a movie that serves as little more than an excuse for Moore and Bridges to camp it up.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Feb 5, 2015
    50
    It’s a thoroughly incoherent, generally inane and surprisingly entertaining tale of witches and monsters and what legendary film critic Joe Bob Briggs calls “beast fu,” all set in a sub-Tolkien, sub-“Game of Thrones” pseudo-medieval universe.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 5, 2015
    50
    Seventh Son is not a good movie, but it’s also not a pretentious one, and I call that a fair trade.
  8. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Feb 5, 2015
    50
    The film is overstuffed, but it’s swift and unpretentious, barreling through a non-stop series of action setpieces without pausing too long to take a breath. The busyness doesn’t eradicate the clichés, much less enrich the film emotionally or thematically, but there’s no time to think about them when Bodrov and his screenwriters, Charles Leavitt and Steven Knight, are moving along to the next sensation. It’s transporting in that sense, and that sense alone.
  9. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 7, 2015
    42
    Though the film sat in drydock for a year, partly so technicians could convert it to 3-D, it looks as dull as it sounds.
  10. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Feb 5, 2015
    42
    (Bridges) has a tendency to make mistakes, especially when it comes to science fiction and fantasy titles. He has followed up the minor disasters that were "R.I.P.D." and "The Giver" with Seventh Son.
  11. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Mar 23, 2015
    40
    A swollen budget, a mini-Big Lewbowski reunion, and top-notch digital effects fail to enliven proceedings in yet another ho-hum dragon chaser based on a YA novel.
  12. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Mar 23, 2015
    40
    This swords-and-sorcery throwback has little imagination on display, instead doubling down on computer-generated flair to pass the time.
  13. Reviewed by: Julia Alexander
    Feb 18, 2015
    40
    Seventh Son is indescribably disappointing because it could have been a refreshing treat for genre fans. After spending years in development, the final product is laughably abysmal, and perhaps worst of all, utterly forgettable upon viewing.
  14. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Feb 11, 2015
    40
    This rambunctious swords ’n’ sorcerers fantasy flick has grubby, pseudo-medieval CGI style to burn, but precious little in the way of anything new to add to this sort of genre storytelling.
  15. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Feb 6, 2015
    40
    Seventh Son tells a story of dragons, witches, ghosts and ogres, but the most fantastic thing about it is the idea that someone thought this lumpy, bumpy and swollen sack of tired tropes and cluttered CGI would attract audiences.
  16. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Feb 5, 2015
    40
    Seventh Son is recommended only for the most far-gone of fantasy addicts, for whom it will serve as a sort of methadone. It won't exactly satisfy, but it will tide you over until the next season of "Game of Thrones."
  17. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 4, 2015
    40
    Director Sergei Bodrov’s movie is based on a kids’ book in which Tom was a 12-year-old, and the actors wisely pitch their performances to a young crowd.
  18. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Dec 17, 2014
    40
    If anything, the movie offers up the guilty pleasure of seeing Bridges and Moore duel it out in front of countless green screens and a few stunning Canadian backdrops – two great actors clawing at each other with magic staffs and fake fire, trying to survive in the netherworld of heroic kitsch.
  19. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Feb 6, 2015
    38
    If the Brothers Grimm had devoted themselves to farce rather than scary fairy tales, they might have produced something like Seventh Son, a whacko sword-and-sorcery exercise.
  20. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 5, 2015
    38
    Moore goes into operatic mode as Mother Malkin, a nasty witch who morphs into a menacing winged dragon. The worst performance, however, belongs to Jeff Bridges as a marble-mouthed, curmudgeonly knight named Master Gregory.
  21. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Feb 4, 2015
    38
    The only question that’s worth considering in Seventh Son is whether this all-star B-movie is bad enough to cost Julianne Moore her “Still Alice” Oscar. And the answer to that is, “Not really.”
  22. 30
    Seventh Son not only offers no new spin on its bland, by-the-numbers story, it also fails to deliver any generic pleasures; I’m not sure this movie could even keep a young child engaged.
  23. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Feb 5, 2015
    30
    If nothing else, it’s amusing to imagine what [Mr. Bridges] and Ms. Moore chatted about between takes and how each managed to keep from cracking up, more or less.
  24. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Dec 17, 2014
    30
    Given the fine past work of its many parents, there was clearly potential here, but as delivered, Seventh Son amounts to nothing short of a creative miscarriage.
  25. 25
    Torching “witches” is the one part of the story that has some historical basis, and adds an uncomfortable edge of misogyny to this otherwise empty fantasy.
  26. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 5, 2015
    25
    Seventh Son moves at a fairly quick pace and has a sense of humor about itself. That doesn’t mean it’s thrilling, or funny. Just that it’s a quickly forgotten pile of junk.
  27. Reviewed by: Elise Nakhnikian
    Feb 4, 2015
    25
    As is often the case in films like this, Seventh Son is at its weakest when it tries to leaven its brink-of-disaster gravity with a little nerdy humor.
  28. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Mar 26, 2015
    20
    Seventh Son would hardly be the first film to use "strong female characters" as a means of waving its misogyny under the radar, but it’s seldom carried off as depressingly as this.
  29. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Feb 6, 2015
    20
    Jeff Bridges's abysmally campy performance may be the worst thing about disposable sword-and-sorcery fantasy Seventh Son, but it's also the only memorable thing.
  30. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Feb 5, 2015
    10
    I know it's early, but Seventh Son may actually be the worst movie of the year. It will most certainly be a contender. The medieval/fantasy/action/drama/romance hits pretty close to a perfect 10 on the egregious scale.
  31. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Feb 6, 2015
    0
    It is a staggeringly bad film, made up of lots of faulty pieces.
  32. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Feb 6, 2015
    0
    Nothing in Seventh Son is compelling, interesting or noteworthy, though you can feel the strain of the filmmakers attempting to set up a potential franchise.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. Feb 11, 2015
    9
    i loved this movie. i have no excuse, maybe it was Jeff Bridges voice which i cannot replicate but it worked for me. i usually trust thei loved this movie. i have no excuse, maybe it was Jeff Bridges voice which i cannot replicate but it worked for me. i usually trust the viewer reviews more than the critics for some reason. still, i thought this was better than Jupiter ascending, which i forgot the next day. i love scifi and fantasy and special effects. i cant say this was the greatest movie but i did just like it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 6, 2015
    3
    This movie is one of the most clichéd, unoriginal stories ever made in the history of cinema. An evil is going to destroy the world, but itThis movie is one of the most clichéd, unoriginal stories ever made in the history of cinema. An evil is going to destroy the world, but it has to wait for certain weather event to happen for its powers to be fully loaded; and there’s only one person that, for some stupid reason, can destroy it and save everything, but he needs a master because he is not yet ready to fight that evil. How many times have we seen that before? It’s just so dumb, anything you can predict that is going to happen based on previous similar films, happens; there’s no one single unexpected twist, and there’s absolutely nothing new. The script is very laughable at. They don’t even bother in explaining why the main character is so special. The only reason they give to us is because he is the seventh son of a seventh son (and another stupid reason that I don’t want to spoil), and that’s it. I don’t even know what Jeff Bridges, Julianne Moore and Djimon Hounsou were doing there, but it’s definitively bad for their curriculum.
    Until now, one of the worst movies of 2015. The only thing I can rescue from it is a very occasional sense of humor, and some cool action scenes (some were cool, another were really stupid). Nevertheless, don’t even bother watching this film, it’s a waste of time and money.
    Real score: 3.5
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2015
    8
    I went to see this with my two daughters, one of whom read "The Spook's Apprentice," which was the basis for the movie. All of us liked itI went to see this with my two daughters, one of whom read "The Spook's Apprentice," which was the basis for the movie. All of us liked it very much, including the daughter who read the book. In fact, she said it was the best movie she's seen in months, much better than the last two, where we made the mistake of trusting the "professional" critics, who rated them quite high. I simply do not understand the bad user ratings, unless there is some attempt to appear sophisticated by aping the critics, who don't review movies with the same approach us average users do. I make my judgements based on whether the movie justified my admission fees. This movie did so. The special effects were, as is so common now, flawless. The acting was good, and the plotline explained what this user needed to know of the backstory. I give it a solid 8 out of 10 as a good action adventure romp that provides a good release from the cares and stress of daily life. I recommend keeping an open mind and giving this one a try. It's sure better than "Black Sea," which left me wanting to ask for a refund. Full Review »