Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 13, 2001
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 66 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
48
Mixed:
7
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PaulM.Mar 20, 2008
Don Logan has to be seen to be believed and that is all there is to it.Kingley gives the performance of his or any other lifetime to lift an otherwise ordinary film to unmissable status.This unbelievable character is sure to be immediately Don Logan has to be seen to be believed and that is all there is to it.Kingley gives the performance of his or any other lifetime to lift an otherwise ordinary film to unmissable status.This unbelievable character is sure to be immediately warranting dvd purchases and etching his name at the top of everybody's favourite bad guy ever list. To say that this man is outstandingly hilarious would be a gross understatement.He's utterly side splitting. Logan's psychotic behaviour is undeniably memorable and is the crown jewel in this surprise package. I would go as far as to say that this film is solely about the impact of Don Logan's dementia and nothing else because after he has blown you away no amount of Ray Winestone acting talent or Don Logan-less dialogue will sway your attention back to his rendered unimportant character Gal. An exceptional performance if ever there was one by Mr Kingsley.Watch it now Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
J.HurstyJan 26, 2006
someone says what is the point of it? The point is its real more real than other ganster movies and if you can't understand accents learn to speak english will ya.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuartW.Dec 9, 2006
An astonishing and entralling movie. Ben Kinsgley's performance is a revelation. Hard to believe that this is the same man who played Gandhi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitaP.Feb 4, 2006
Would've given this film a 7 were it not for Ben Kingsley's amazing performance. Considered by many the finest actor of his time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MargetisM.Jul 3, 2006
A solid gangster picture that consistently entertaining and engrossing. Great performances all around including Ray Winstone and Deadwood's Ian McShane, but the real awe-inspiring performance comes from Ben Kingsley as incredibly evil A solid gangster picture that consistently entertaining and engrossing. Great performances all around including Ray Winstone and Deadwood's Ian McShane, but the real awe-inspiring performance comes from Ben Kingsley as incredibly evil Don Logan who provides us with his best performance ever creating the scariest villian to EVER come out of the movie world. It's also quite funny in some parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidO.Aug 31, 2006
A gangster film with plenty of heart. Gal (Ray Winstone) is done. He's through with his old life, and just wants to be left alone -- but it's never that simple is it? When we do wrong it follows us around for the rest of our lives, A gangster film with plenty of heart. Gal (Ray Winstone) is done. He's through with his old life, and just wants to be left alone -- but it's never that simple is it? When we do wrong it follows us around for the rest of our lives, just like Don Logan follows Gal and won't let him live in peace. Brilliant film-making with terrific acting and a wonderful script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WesMJun 24, 2008
Improves with repeated viewings! Kingsley is alright and I understand the praise, but I actually preferred Winstone's performance, though it was probably because his character was just more likable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelBOct 3, 2009
Ben Kingsley as Logan and Ray Winstone as Gal are actors at the peak of their careers in this film. The menace just oozes. Never has gangsterism been so scarily real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
llSep 23, 2009
An interesting and wonderful take to the life of a ex-gangster who is lured back to his old ways of being a gangster. Wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
mmSep 23, 2009
A thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Though filled with adrenaline pumping action from the very start, has a soft touch that appeals to the sissies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
6969Sep 23, 2009
This film has a delicate touch on today's youth, with the story of an ex-con and gangster who is forced to steal some stuff from some guy, and doesn't get to keep it, because he killed someone really annoying, who was buried under This film has a delicate touch on today's youth, with the story of an ex-con and gangster who is forced to steal some stuff from some guy, and doesn't get to keep it, because he killed someone really annoying, who was buried under his pool, with a humonoid rabbit. WTF???? GTFO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
gooklSep 23, 2009
An astonishing and entralling movie. Ben Kingsley's performance is a revelation. Hard to believe that this is the same man who played Gandhi in real life, that motherf*cker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
emcoffey3May 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge fan of the crime/mob/heist film genre, and my thoughts on Sexy Beast are: I'm not totally sure it falls into that genre. The heist portion of the movie, while somewhat clever, plays out rather quickly and uneventfully. The movie seems to place more emphasis on the chaos and anxiety that Ben Kingsley's character's arrival and (SPOILER ALERT) ultimate demise, which is the absolute highlight of the movie (END SPOILERS), causes the main character (Winstone) and his friends. I must say that Kingsley's performance is brilliant; his sociopathic tirades are rather superb. But, after a while, it's just a crazy guy harassing four people and you're ready for it to end. I didn't dislike Sexy Beast, I just don't think it's a movie I'd ever want to see again, nor is it one I can wholeheartedly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Aug 19, 2010
Retired ex-con, lives in Spain, gets call from London to do one more job, declines, old "friend" comes over to persuade him.
Very under-rated British film from 2000 that stands out in the Brit Gangster dross that was coming out at this time.
Retired ex-con, lives in Spain, gets call from London to do one more job, declines, old "friend" comes over to persuade him.
Very under-rated British film from 2000 that stands out in the Brit Gangster dross that was coming out at this time.
It's a pretty simple story but very well acted out & then of course there's Ben Kingsley.
I remember telling a mate about this and he didn't believe me how nasty Kingsley could be in a film. He's terrifying, funny & fascinating in every single scene in which he features.
Soundtrack isn't bad either.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Ben Kingsley appears to use his role as the psychotic gangster Don Logan purely as an exercise in variety in this crime drama that ends up playing out more like a senseless stage production than a movie. Some suave surrealism and a bitingBen Kingsley appears to use his role as the psychotic gangster Don Logan purely as an exercise in variety in this crime drama that ends up playing out more like a senseless stage production than a movie. Some suave surrealism and a biting humor keep the film interesting, but not enough to save it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperSep 19, 2016
My favorite thing about this movie in the intensity that flares up like a volcano. Even when quiet, it burns and pulls the viewer in so deep, you can't escape. Wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jdicksteihnMay 23, 2012
The closest thing to a perfect movie that I've found. There's too many great things about it to list here. Here's one interesting nuance. If you want to know the key to the power of Ben Kingsley's performance, it is not actually BenThe closest thing to a perfect movie that I've found. There's too many great things about it to list here. Here's one interesting nuance. If you want to know the key to the power of Ben Kingsley's performance, it is not actually Ben Kingsley (though he is wonderful). Watch the movie up until Kingsley's arrival and then turn it off. Tell me then what you would think of Don Logan had he never made an appearance in the movie. Watch everyone's reaction at the table when Jackie says "It was Don Logan" who called for Gal. This director created an unbelievable monster of a character in Don Logan before he entered frame. It is in this way that Jonathan Glazer is largely responsible for the character of Don Logan. And why Ben Kingsley was able to spend most of his performance not raising his voice and seem utterly terrifying. Brilliant example of a director defining a character by the other character's reactions to him. Only one of the trillion great things about this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleMar 18, 2015
Despite the lack of thrills, Sexy Beast still manages to be compelling due to the fact that it is completely unlike every other "gangster" film you have ever seen. While there is some violence, the emphasis is certainly not on it, rather itDespite the lack of thrills, Sexy Beast still manages to be compelling due to the fact that it is completely unlike every other "gangster" film you have ever seen. While there is some violence, the emphasis is certainly not on it, rather it is on the characters here. Featuring great performances from Ray Winstone and Ben Kingsley, this one is quite subtle, but does think it is smarter than it really is at times. In director Jonathan Glazer's latest film, Under the Skin, I had the same complaint I do here in that he tries to make it seem deeper than it really is. His debut feature is far more enjoyable for me, but still features that same problem. Plus, some scenes were a little overdone and could have just been done normally. Glazer tries to outdo himself at times and it winds up hurting the overall product. In spite of that, Winstone and Kingsley were amazing and their chemistry is what made this film. As a whole, Sexy Beast is a good gangster flick that does try too hard at times, but when it stays focused, it is quite compelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwAug 31, 2016
The other day, my lady Tammy and I watched director Glazer's recent 'Under the Skin' and loved its otherworldly wackiness and ambience, and as I had his first two films on DVD, we decided that at the very least, this first one demandedThe other day, my lady Tammy and I watched director Glazer's recent 'Under the Skin' and loved its otherworldly wackiness and ambience, and as I had his first two films on DVD, we decided that at the very least, this first one demanded immediate investigation. I've adored Ray Winstone's work since his early days working in the films of Sir Alan Clarke, and Ben Kingsley's always a treat. Watching the characters brought back such awesome memories of my teenage days, travelling throughout England and continental Europe in December, 1986, as well. We can't wait to hopefully check out 'Birth' later this week...This was definitely one of the best and most original British gangster movies since the likes of 'The Long Good Friday' and 'Mona Lisa' from that era... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews