Shade

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. R.Pat
    Apr 11, 2004
    9
    I thought it was great! I loved the locations all around LA. Especially the Magic Castle! It has great unexpected turns. That is important to me.
  2. JenniferW.
    Apr 10, 2004
    8
    Had a lot of fun. I love poker and con movies so this was perfect for me. Stuart Townsend and Jamie Foxx are great and it is an all-round entertaining movie. I highly recommend it!
  3. Andy
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    i loved the film. i live in australia and only by chance did i recieve the dvd. i never heard a thing about it or came across much online, which came as a huge shock because it was SO good! plus all the big name actors only made it even better :) the scprit was fantastic and juicy the whole time! everything about Shade was great! :)
  4. AmyN.
    Apr 12, 2004
    10
    A great combination of poker and con with enough twists and turns to keep your interest. Great acting. Jamie Foxx and Stuart Townsend shine. A must see for all cardplayers from kitchen table players to professionals. Quite entertaining.
  5. KyleP.
    Nov 15, 2006
    0
    Move over Ed Wood, this is perhaps the worst movie ever made. Damien Neiman made a movie about poker. Unfortunately for those of us who endured through this film Damien has never played a game of poker in his life. A wonderful ensemble cast waisted on ridiculous dialogue and a story line that made absolutely no sense. A featured aspect of the film is the game of poker, but in the film the Move over Ed Wood, this is perhaps the worst movie ever made. Damien Neiman made a movie about poker. Unfortunately for those of us who endured through this film Damien has never played a game of poker in his life. A wonderful ensemble cast waisted on ridiculous dialogue and a story line that made absolutely no sense. A featured aspect of the film is the game of poker, but in the film the rules of the game do not apply. I would think when someone put the time, money, and energy in to making a film they would research key elements. Expand
  6. JoeB.
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    Great cast great twists. It's what I go to the movies for, some Hollywood fun.
  7. RichardR.
    May 4, 2004
    10
    This movie was very entertaining from beginning to end. Some of the dialogue was slightly cheesey, but still a bit humorus. But that doesn't matter because the story was great, the acting was great, and the film with its sly use of card tequniques was wonderful.
  8. SchichardS.
    Jun 23, 2004
    0
    This movie was not entertaining from beginning to end. But that doesn't matter because the story was great.
  9. JerryB.
    Jul 12, 2004
    8
    A pretty good movie, especially if you like card tricks.
  10. Albert
    Feb 27, 2005
    8
    Great acting by Bo Hopkins.
  11. BradA.
    Apr 16, 2004
    9
    Not every film has to have an enormous budget, car chases and a ton of CG effects to be entertaining. In fact, sometimes it's better if they don't. This is one of those times. Considering the amount of money spent making this film, SHADE is beautifully shot and well written. Character motivation is nearly perfect as the viewer attempts to figure out who?s conning and who?s Not every film has to have an enormous budget, car chases and a ton of CG effects to be entertaining. In fact, sometimes it's better if they don't. This is one of those times. Considering the amount of money spent making this film, SHADE is beautifully shot and well written. Character motivation is nearly perfect as the viewer attempts to figure out who?s conning and who?s getting conned. That?s the true genius of SHADE. Written like a finely honed magic trick, SHADE leads you down the garden path until you finally realize it?s you who?s been had. Expand
  12. ChrisH.
    Apr 24, 2004
    10
    WHAT A NICE SURPRISE! To attend a film that usually does NOT tackle "poker playing" and "L.A. locals" in the same venue--give you exceptional performances from an "on the rise" TOWNSEND/NEWTON--an "underated" Byrne-a "welcoming enduring" GRIFFITH---a "sly" FOXX and the most astonishing...a "scene-stealing-impressibly charming" SYLVESTER STALLONE...totally un-expected. All delivered on a WHAT A NICE SURPRISE! To attend a film that usually does NOT tackle "poker playing" and "L.A. locals" in the same venue--give you exceptional performances from an "on the rise" TOWNSEND/NEWTON--an "underated" Byrne-a "welcoming enduring" GRIFFITH---a "sly" FOXX and the most astonishing...a "scene-stealing-impressibly charming" SYLVESTER STALLONE...totally un-expected. All delivered on a silver platter from well diserving writer-director Damien Neiman. I am glad i didn't wait for video. Think about that yourself. Expand
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. The flashes of warm, human talent that pulse periodically from the ensemble -- Byrne and Foxx, particularly -- only make their presence in this terrifically bad movie all the more baffling.
  2. A dramatic thriller with a large cast playing the hell out of some very juicy roles. Nieman's script shuffles nimbly among an array of colorful characters and offers unexpected twists that keep you off-balance.
  3. A clever and adroit B picture with A virtues, starting with its ensemble cast.