Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: December 2, 2011
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 276 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
225
Mixed:
41
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
BKMJun 10, 2012
Despite a go-for-broke performance by Michael Fassbender, Shame never really digs deeply enough into the the guilt and self-loathing that the central character has obviously intertwined with sex as a result of his Irish upbringing. TheDespite a go-for-broke performance by Michael Fassbender, Shame never really digs deeply enough into the the guilt and self-loathing that the central character has obviously intertwined with sex as a result of his Irish upbringing. The resulting movie is neither emotionally raw or sexually explicit enough (despite the dreaded NC-17 rating) to leave much of an impression. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
mariopingDec 30, 2011
Shame: I thought it started off well, studying the main character's sexual addiction. However, as the movie went on, it lost steam. Carey Mulligan's character was distracting and I thought it hurt the movie overall. Michael Fassbender andShame: I thought it started off well, studying the main character's sexual addiction. However, as the movie went on, it lost steam. Carey Mulligan's character was distracting and I thought it hurt the movie overall. Michael Fassbender and Carey Mulligen did give very daring performance. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
halfarsedJan 30, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Never really delivers and over long for it's content; this is act 1 of the film this could have been. The mood and atmosphere are great , and there are some powerful cinematic moments, but this lacks plot and/or enough depth to it's back story (dysfunctional family / siblings) to really engage with. We just get an emotionally dysfunctional bloke who cant quite get it together; all moody and existential. In the end I did n't really care that much for him or what happened to him and, here's the spoiler, he ends up out in the rain, all sad and crying. boo hoo. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarkAngelApr 17, 2013
I like dark movies. But saying that "Shame" is dark doesn't make justice to it. I loved "Shame" because it's poetically dark and not just that. It is poetically dark in the right way, the Baudelaire way. And Sissy is "La fleur du mal" with aI like dark movies. But saying that "Shame" is dark doesn't make justice to it. I loved "Shame" because it's poetically dark and not just that. It is poetically dark in the right way, the Baudelaire way. And Sissy is "La fleur du mal" with a scent too strong for Brandon. After all, she is his sister. It can't get simpler than that. And that is just disturbing! Intimate, personal and hopeless decent into the deep darkness of men's weak hearth. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBAug 6, 2014
Shame is the mixture of melancholy and human spirit; it gives a strong statement on how human emotions malfunction sometimes which could lead to self destruction.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jrb06eeDec 3, 2011
One of the most thought provoking films regarding a subject not often talked about. Fassbender gives a truly tortured performance worthy of at least an Oscar nomination.
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
vicbarryJan 13, 2012
From time to time a movie arrives in cinemas that will leave such an impression that no matter what you do, itâ
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrJun 22, 2012
Hunger is an uncompromising drama in which Fassbender bears body and soul in film difficult to watch yet impossible to turn away from. It is only the second collaboration with McQueen, but considering the first one (Hunger) was also equallyHunger is an uncompromising drama in which Fassbender bears body and soul in film difficult to watch yet impossible to turn away from. It is only the second collaboration with McQueen, but considering the first one (Hunger) was also equally harrowing, I suspect and hope of more to come. But, it would wrong not to mention Mulligan who delivers yet another unflinching performance, and a mesmerizing rendition of "New York, New York". As it would be wrong to neglect the impact of the music from Bach. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
wishmasterApr 23, 2012
extraordinary film, Steve McQueen played with history as it had to be, every angle, every detail perfect. I imprisoned in his beauty from the first scene, nude natural, wild, exciting. Fassbender brother, you ought to be nominated for anextraordinary film, Steve McQueen played with history as it had to be, every angle, every detail perfect. I imprisoned in his beauty from the first scene, nude natural, wild, exciting. Fassbender brother, you ought to be nominated for an Oscar; Mulligan majestic, spectacular entire cast. Installation, spectacular music! amazing photography. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
roscoeswaffleDec 4, 2011
Shame summarizes its own fundamental problem in Carey Mulligan's line, "We're not bad, we just come from a bad place." The bad place that Sissy and Brandon come from is where others have moved on to more au courant dysfunctions, while BrandonShame summarizes its own fundamental problem in Carey Mulligan's line, "We're not bad, we just come from a bad place." The bad place that Sissy and Brandon come from is where others have moved on to more au courant dysfunctions, while Brandon got left behind with a circa-1995 sex addiction and Sissy got left behind with the depression fostered by having a brother with a circa-1995 sex addiction. It's remotely possible that the movie might have made something interesting of this notion of being left behind - the unsexy out-of-dateness of Brandon's sex addiction - but Shame evinces a nearly absolute lack of self-awareness of the difficulties it brings upon itself by attempting to engage a topic that no longer has much cultural currency. There's a glimmer of promise when Brandon, on a date with his co-worker Marianne, asks her to feel a bump on the back of his head and explains, playfully, that he's a Neanderthal (and then goes on to describe the childhood mishap that actually produced the bump). It's worth noting that the exchange of dialogue in this scene is practically the only passage in the movie that doesn't feel oppressively contrived. A viewer who hasn't yet given up might suppose that Shame is finally pushing through to a recognition of Brandon as belonging to the wrong era: he has the misfortune to be the Neanderthal who survived the extinction of the culture's interest in sex addiction. All he's survived, though, in the constricted view that the movie is willing to allow itself, is a vaguely dysfunctional childhood in New Jersey. Curiously, the movie alludes ambiguously to a different (the same?) childhood in Ireland. The Irish childhood is another glimmer of promise; it suggests a whole other larger context, in which Brandon's struggles with himself derive from and are justified by a formative guilt-laden Irish Catholic upbringing (in Ireland, so much more guilt-laden than New Jersey can ever be). In this context, Brandon fits plausibly into the movie's frame because his origin is from outside the movie's setting. As a New Yorker with a sex addiction, he's an anachronism, but as an Irish immigrant, he's an outsider grappling with a plausible burden. But to make the Irish-immigrant narrative plausible, the movie would need to allow itself room to explore the larger context, and this is exactly what the movie rigorously declines to do. Expand
7 of 16 users found this helpful79
All this user's reviews
5
JamesLJan 26, 2012
To be honest, I do not get enough sex any more to qualify as an expert on sexual addiction. I found the film to be rather boring and quite predictable. I knew some one was going to end up dead or close to it. I also found the route that theTo be honest, I do not get enough sex any more to qualify as an expert on sexual addiction. I found the film to be rather boring and quite predictable. I knew some one was going to end up dead or close to it. I also found the route that the film took to be more of the cheap thrill mixed in with something out of the old film "Wolfen". Why did he change into an animal when having sex, why was he masturbating all of the time, when did he sleep, how did he manage to get to work, why was the gay scene so much sleazier? The whole NC-17 rating is a joke. The film got that because I saw a penis? A boring film that lost my attention early on. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
georgeblommeJan 8, 2012
I wish I could give this movie a good rating. Its starts with a fairly handsome guy, nicely built in all proportions, who is a sex addict. Sometimes he gets what he wants (always friendly; this guy does not rape), but on other occasions heI wish I could give this movie a good rating. Its starts with a fairly handsome guy, nicely built in all proportions, who is a sex addict. Sometimes he gets what he wants (always friendly; this guy does not rape), but on other occasions he cannot produce. His sister lives with him, and she appears to be on the verge of suicide from Day One, making this film complicated and dark. The guy, who suddenly seems to have lost interest and or ability to perform sex, plus put up with the antics of his sister, walks endlessly through the night streets of Manhattan, or jogs and jogs, or rides half-filled, old newspaper-littered subway trains endlessly. These scenes where he's losing himself, or possibly trying to find a way out of sexual addiction go on and on -- making this 1-hour, 45-minute film seem like a 5-hour ride on a dirty subway train. There are good street shots of Manhattan, but at the now-famous Standard hotel on the High Line, they miss the opportunity to have the woman bracing herself against the picture glass picture windows while being pumped from behind - something that supposedly happens regularly in real life every night - much to the delight of High Line voyeurs. Why does the film shy away from the big window scenes - maybe a nod to hotel management's requests? Go see, but I think you may be disappointed too. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
InFAMOUSDexterDec 4, 2011
I will not say that this is the best movie I ever seen, but damn, it's pretty close. Amazing acting, directing, am sure that it will be strong contender at the Academy Awards, at least for acting.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
BelmsherJan 20, 2012
If Michael Fassbender is not winning an Oscar for his mezmerizing and pitch perfect act in Shame, then everyone's going blind. Ebery psychiatrist should watch this before retirement.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
NJWolfgangApr 17, 2012
If you're going to push the envelope then push it don't just move it around on the coffee table and then pretend you've opened it and read the contents. Had the writer explored just a bit more the relationship between Brandon and Sissy.If you're going to push the envelope then push it don't just move it around on the coffee table and then pretend you've opened it and read the contents. Had the writer explored just a bit more the relationship between Brandon and Sissy. There's more too these two than meets the eye. Siblings with that type of comfort level with each other's nudity wreaks of some behavior that is truly the cause of where these two have found themselves. The direction by Steve Mc Queen is taut and taunt. He's not revealed a lot about his two protoganists that would let us understand how they got here but he has explored and revealed how they've ended up. The final scene leaves more questions than it answers. Mulligan is satisfying in the role of Sissy but she's not given a great deal to work with. The winner here is Fassbender who is amazing but at times painful to watch. The sex addiction is truly explored and even though it's a bit difficult to relate too you empathize a bit with Brandon because he just seems better than what he's become and he knows it. Not a great film because there are holes in this screenplay. The music was appropriate and the cinematography underscored the total concept. Gritty and worth watching Fassbender. The expression of emotions that paint his face during scenes are some of the best language not spoken in cinema. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Tazmania32Dec 24, 2011
Probably one of the best films I've seen this year. What can I say that most already know; Fassbender is having a really awesome year and this year shows it. This is actually the first I've heard of Steve McQueen the director and I gottaProbably one of the best films I've seen this year. What can I say that most already know; Fassbender is having a really awesome year and this year shows it. This is actually the first I've heard of Steve McQueen the director and I gotta say he's given me a good first impression. The shots and acting overall (along with Mulligan) were great, but the only gripe I had was that some shots dragged on too long, but still looked great nontheless. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaFeb 25, 2012
A truly powerful film that succeeds with it's dramatic effect because of two outstanding areas. These areas are the acting of Michael Fassbender and the audio visual experience Steve Mcquean creates. If the direction wasnt so good the filmA truly powerful film that succeeds with it's dramatic effect because of two outstanding areas. These areas are the acting of Michael Fassbender and the audio visual experience Steve Mcquean creates. If the direction wasnt so good the film would be boring and a drag. If the acting werent so good there would have been the same problem. Overall a powerhouse dramatic effect that is difficult to watch but you just cant stop watching it. Just like Ebert I don't believe I could see it twice. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LuhaDec 14, 2011
Fassbander and Mulligan are raw and naked and bare - both physically and emotionally - in this movie and it makes for a compelling experience:

Full review:

http://luhathoughts.blogspot.com/2011/12/its-shame.html
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DiegoSanRoblesDec 15, 2011
Clinical in its core, Shame is an aestheticized rendering of a case-study of the sex addiction of a generic corporate-type (played by the ungeneric Fassbender). But all of its supposed ugly reality of a not-much-talked-about affliction is aClinical in its core, Shame is an aestheticized rendering of a case-study of the sex addiction of a generic corporate-type (played by the ungeneric Fassbender). But all of its supposed ugly reality of a not-much-talked-about affliction is a bit misplaced by the directorâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DieguinDec 30, 2011
Brilliantly and beautifully filmed. Perfect cinematography for the subject --- capturing its essence. the acting is superb and the directing is seamless and close to perfection.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
lasttimeisawJun 6, 2012
Finally a film could knock down HUGO (2011) and a leading male performance could overcome THE ARTISTâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 29, 2012
Strong film really, Shame hit me. The story is can be simple but the direction is amazing, have much interesting ideas, and the development is amazing, the cast is really awesome, Michael Fassbender and Carey Mulligan wow, awesome cast. IStrong film really, Shame hit me. The story is can be simple but the direction is amazing, have much interesting ideas, and the development is amazing, the cast is really awesome, Michael Fassbender and Carey Mulligan wow, awesome cast. I don't have most words to say, Shame is fantastic and strong. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Jan 25, 2016
Shame is an empty pointless film. Steve McQueen draws out certain scenes way beyond their breaking point. At times the movie felt like it might start to take off, but in a blink of an eye, falls back into a bottomless pit of pretentious trash.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JohnnydoedoeApr 22, 2012
Very good story. Many guys have a private dark side that no one knows about and this movie cleverly brings that to the big screen. Its a little hard core for some but it is well directed and Michael Fassbender is excellent in it. DefinitelyVery good story. Many guys have a private dark side that no one knows about and this movie cleverly brings that to the big screen. Its a little hard core for some but it is well directed and Michael Fassbender is excellent in it. Definitely worth the watch. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
riskyMay 17, 2012
Shame is brutally honest. It doesn't leave out anything essential yet leaves an unsaid fog around the characters. It's graphically obvious yet highly suggestive. The characters are simple yet complex, and when watching the movie it seems asShame is brutally honest. It doesn't leave out anything essential yet leaves an unsaid fog around the characters. It's graphically obvious yet highly suggestive. The characters are simple yet complex, and when watching the movie it seems as if Fassbender and Mulligan couldn't have portrayed their dark sibling relationship and shaky family chemistry better. I relate to both, and they keep on lingering, even the morning after watching the movie. Somehow, the soundtrack also had a great impact on me. For me, it created an instant sentimentality to the characters of the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
EmptyFilmStockMay 25, 2012
The plot, Fassbender and Mulliganâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Although it is bracing and does a decent job of showcasing the dark side of man, the film, Shame, is not as good as Fassbender is here, which is too say it is not great.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
ParmesanoApr 6, 2014
It's not offensive, it's not particularly interesting, it's mainly just boring, and extremely overrated.

The guy's problem is uninteresting and 90% of the male population has the same urges/done worse. Personally I felt that some of the
It's not offensive, it's not particularly interesting, it's mainly just boring, and extremely overrated.

The guy's problem is uninteresting and 90% of the male population has the same urges/done worse. Personally I felt that some of the behaviour/dialogue felt wrong to, perhaps due to the choice of actor (European), e.g. the bar scene and some others. I was not surprised to find out later on that McQueen is a black guy as it would suit a black actor much better.

I sat through it until the end so I guess it wasn't completely terrible but I sure did feel as if I had wasted my time.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
phillyjeffJun 23, 2012
The sex and nudity are the best parts of this movie. Not sure about the whole gay episode of the movie. I thought he was going to have sex with his sister, but I guess not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJan 21, 2012
Director Steve McQueen started as a cinema artist and that shows in his commercial work. There are extended takes & minimal dialogue (hence, slow pacing) and episodes that add up to an impression (as opposed to a storyline). MichaelDirector Steve McQueen started as a cinema artist and that shows in his commercial work. There are extended takes & minimal dialogue (hence, slow pacing) and episodes that add up to an impression (as opposed to a storyline). Michael Fassbinder plays a New York stud, who's obsessed with sex and afraid of intimacy. As a result, there two primary types of scenes: sex (including random pickups, masturbation & full-frontal nudity) and struggle (rueful staring and disaffected relationships). It's compelling on several levels, but too cerebral to be powerful. The most shameful thing is that the distributors had the conviction to release it in NC-17 (with all the attendant barriers) and it's not worth the risk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews