MGM/UA Home Entertainment | Release Date: September 22, 1995
3.0
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 155 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
16
Negative:
102
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
billrullerFeb 1, 2013
Eh....I don't find this movie so sexy. I'm a dude, and I guess I'm suppose to say this is so erotic and watch it over and over again just to see some seductive garbage. But this was just very disturbing. I'll admit that Elizabeth Berkeley whoEh....I don't find this movie so sexy. I'm a dude, and I guess I'm suppose to say this is so erotic and watch it over and over again just to see some seductive garbage. But this was just very disturbing. I'll admit that Elizabeth Berkeley who was also from "Saved by the Bell" is very attractive, but her acting is like she's trying to be sexy. As gorgeous as she is, it didn't help out a lot. She shows her breasts.....too many times. I'll be honest as a man, I always wanted to see her boobs. But after the 3rd time, it got really tiring very fast. My reaction was, (YES, she has nice t*ts, enough!) Also....the plot was so disturbing. I just don't understand what the plot this is trying to show me, its just bizarre. This was really hard for me to sit through, it's not worth the time....okay, maybe just one sit through the movie if you like bizarre erotic films with lots of stripping, Elizabeth Berkeley's t*ts and lap dance, weird sex and mediocre softcore porn. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
0
oliver1hDec 25, 2012
One of the worst movies. It has decent acting compared to a porn movie. The acting is plain bad. The main character can only express two feelings: anger and lust. The story is really the low end of Hollywood screenplays. It is nothing moreOne of the worst movies. It has decent acting compared to a porn movie. The acting is plain bad. The main character can only express two feelings: anger and lust. The story is really the low end of Hollywood screenplays. It is nothing more than a soft-core porn movie. The girls were looking good. There is no other reason to see this. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
RD.Sep 29, 2007
Not very erotic. I mean some scenes are very sexy like Elizabeth Berkeley's lap dance or her final French kiss with Gina Gershon. But the movie is not well acted and directed. Although, it is not that the movie has no redeeming Not very erotic. I mean some scenes are very sexy like Elizabeth Berkeley's lap dance or her final French kiss with Gina Gershon. But the movie is not well acted and directed. Although, it is not that the movie has no redeeming qualities at all (infact, it is very unintentionally funny at times), but still a very bad movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
PatC.Jan 19, 2004
I've heard that sex sells and that unscrupulous people can exploit human weakness for anything that's sexually titillating. This film proves otherwise. This is what happens to a movie when the costume budget is first to go. One I've heard that sex sells and that unscrupulous people can exploit human weakness for anything that's sexually titillating. This film proves otherwise. This is what happens to a movie when the costume budget is first to go. One point as educational material for explaining lap dancing protocol. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TheGilbertMulroneycakesSmile-TimeVarietyHourDec 3, 2002
Look! There's some naked women! In the nude! With no clothes on! The film underneath's totally and utterly terrible, but it's got naked women in it! With nothing on! They're all naked! They're naked! Naked! Naked!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SamApr 6, 2006
It's gone beyond the well-loved "so bad it's good" bar and gone down to something much, much worse.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RickJ.G.May 18, 2003
The screenplay is a total bomb from beginning to end. Particularly dissapointing was the lack of development of the relationship between Naomi and her roommate. It's looked upon with a boyish facination by the makers of the film, never The screenplay is a total bomb from beginning to end. Particularly dissapointing was the lack of development of the relationship between Naomi and her roommate. It's looked upon with a boyish facination by the makers of the film, never going beyond lame brain girl talk. I guess this is the what to expect when the writing is left to a man. Also, never had so much female flesh been dangled before my eyes with so little impact. It's not an erotic movie at all. I give it a few points because fun can be had laughing at how bad it is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobertS.Aug 11, 2003
Jessie from Saved by the Bell laying every sleezy guy around. *shiver* My childhood is ruined. I demand therapy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
drlowdonJul 15, 2013
Showgirls is a prime example of a movie that doesn't really get anything right with a story-line never really goes anywhere, direction that is all over the place and a terrible central performance from Elizabeth Berkley.

If you're really
Showgirls is a prime example of a movie that doesn't really get anything right with a story-line never really goes anywhere, direction that is all over the place and a terrible central performance from Elizabeth Berkley.

If you're really desperate to see lots of topless women then this might be for you, otherwise just avoid it completely.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
KadeemluvmusicMay 28, 2014
I really watch the movie on TV and it nearly killed Elizabeth Berkley's career for good reason. Sure, Showgirls is a cult classic, but some critics find it obscure why NC-17 films can't even make it to a major wide release unless it's stillI really watch the movie on TV and it nearly killed Elizabeth Berkley's career for good reason. Sure, Showgirls is a cult classic, but some critics find it obscure why NC-17 films can't even make it to a major wide release unless it's still an R-rated raunchfest. I'm definitely agree with the critics including the late Roger Ebert. Showgirls was like the soft-core erotica of the 90's with little known but finds very unsatisfied for horny men wanting to show a little bit of nudity and some rape scenes and finds itself on the VHS bargain bin. I still hate this movie. I hate the acting, I hate the script, I really hate it when they added nudity. Nobody wants to see that mess. How come a RoboCop director directed this stinker, anyway? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
BeauF.Aug 11, 2002
Total soft peter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EpicLadySpongeApr 1, 2016
If I had a dollar to every time some sort of immature adult watch this women-infested movie, I'd earn the exact amount of money this movie earned at the box office. Children, don't watch this. This NC-17 rated movie has been the worst NC-17If I had a dollar to every time some sort of immature adult watch this women-infested movie, I'd earn the exact amount of money this movie earned at the box office. Children, don't watch this. This NC-17 rated movie has been the worst NC-17 movie and one of the worst movies to watch on your movie break. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FuturedirectorMar 17, 2016
Showgirls just uses nudity for win succes and money. So that's why it has a gloomy direction, clumsy interpretations and terrible picture. It is also one of the worst films ever made, just for "make hungry" to the audience, stupidly,Showgirls just uses nudity for win succes and money. So that's why it has a gloomy direction, clumsy interpretations and terrible picture. It is also one of the worst films ever made, just for "make hungry" to the audience, stupidly, Showgilrs is a piece of rubbish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews