Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2007
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 368 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
182
Mixed:
129
Negative:
57
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
FredL.May 27, 2007
This movie is being unfairly panned. All I will say is this: I saw this yesterday with my wife and our four year old and all three of us laughed all the way through. Not sure what standard people are holding this up to. This is a very good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SarahT.May 21, 2007
I don't know what those critics are saying about the movie. There not kids, so how would they know how funny it is. Sometimes I wonder if I'm alone with that opinon, but it's true. How would those paid critics know about how I don't know what those critics are saying about the movie. There not kids, so how would they know how funny it is. Sometimes I wonder if I'm alone with that opinon, but it's true. How would those paid critics know about how good the movie was. Me, I'm twelve and trust me, it was a so-so movie, but still made my friend and my dad laugh. I really don't agree with the critics in red because they're not kids, we are, and you know what?! I loved that movie. Any Shrek movie do for me. I was expecting to laugh more, but I still laughed no matter what those paid people say about a movie. The movie was good and thats all what counts. You just have to trust me. Go watch the movie, then go to the reviews and you'll see how wrong they are about the movie. Go watch it and you won't be sorry. The critics are just embarrassed that it's like Hollywood. Go watch it. Trust me. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
7
gm101Oct 6, 2010
The movie wasn't terrible, it just wasn't anywhere as good as the first two, especially the second movie, which is my favorite in the series. Most of the cons came from Justin Timberlake's character.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
DanCJul 6, 2007
Really, really good. Shrek 1 was a masterpiece. Shrek 2 was somewhat mediocre. This is brilliant. The plot is better than 2, the CGI is just beautiful, and it's really funny. Bring on Shrek 4!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.May 19, 2007
The worst of the Shrek series, but it was still entertaining. Like another reviewer said, the fairy tale magic really was missing here, but the comedy packed into each part really was great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
pedronotfoundMay 19, 2015
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusJan 3, 2013
The third installment in the franchise. I enjoyed this one too. I think mainly because Puss N Boots was introduced to it, without Puss it would have probably just been Shrek 2 all over again. I do remember laughing a lot when I saw this inThe third installment in the franchise. I enjoyed this one too. I think mainly because Puss N Boots was introduced to it, without Puss it would have probably just been Shrek 2 all over again. I do remember laughing a lot when I saw this in the theater and the group of people I was with were all laughing too. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
LarryL.May 15, 2007
What is wrong with the MPAA? PG for "Swashbuckling action". What an immature and disgraceful organization. Anyway, this movie was good. The worst of the three, no doubt. But def. funny and entertaining and cute. Just a bit too short, and What is wrong with the MPAA? PG for "Swashbuckling action". What an immature and disgraceful organization. Anyway, this movie was good. The worst of the three, no doubt. But def. funny and entertaining and cute. Just a bit too short, and often tries to hard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HenryMay 17, 2007
The purpose of writing a review for this movie is to tell you what I think of the movie. From an honest, critizing perspective, taking into account, how much I laughed and enjoyed myself, I give this movie a solid 8.0 out of 10. I think it The purpose of writing a review for this movie is to tell you what I think of the movie. From an honest, critizing perspective, taking into account, how much I laughed and enjoyed myself, I give this movie a solid 8.0 out of 10. I think it was slightly funnier than the second but not as beautifal and classic as the untouchable first film that started for all. It is short, and this is not nessacarily a bad thing because it makes you want more from a possible fourth. It is hard to understand what the critics really think about Shrek 3. They seem to like it, only to a certian extent, however. Reel Views thinks that is is more of the same but that it is tiring out. Those two points clearly contradict eachother in the full review. To stop being so serious for a second, I would like to mention the fact that this movie is hilarious at times. Donkey is possibly funnier than ever and the new princess gang is brilliant to say the least. I loved the ending and loved Pinochio. Prince Charming is an annoying downside to the movie and Fiona is not really in the movie. Justin Timberlake takes a large portion of the movie and does a excellent job in his scenes with shrek. The movie has alot going on, and it really works. I loved it, and was just short of LOVING it. Hope theres a # 4 ! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HenryMay 17, 2007
The purpose of writing a review for this movie is to tell you what I think of the movie. From an honest, critizing perspective, taking into account, how much I laughed and enjoyed myself, I give this movie a solid 8.0 out of 10. I think it The purpose of writing a review for this movie is to tell you what I think of the movie. From an honest, critizing perspective, taking into account, how much I laughed and enjoyed myself, I give this movie a solid 8.0 out of 10. I think it was slightly funnier than the second but not as beautifal and classic as the untouchable first film that started for all. It is short, and this is not nessacarily a bad thing because it makes you want more from a possible fourth. It is hard to understand what the critics really think about Shrek 3. They seem to like it, only to a certian extent, however. Reel Views thinks that is is more of the same but that it is tiring out. Those two points clearly contradict eachother in the full review. To stop being so serious for a second, I would like to mention the fact that this movie is hilarious at times. Donkey is possibly funnier than ever and the new princess gang is brilliant to say the least. I loved the ending and loved Pinochio. Prince Charming is an annoying downside to the movie and Fiona is not really in the movie. Justin Timberlake takes a large portion of the movie and does a excellent job in his scenes with shrek. The movie has alot going on, and it really works. I loved it, and was just short of LOVING it. Hope theres a # 4 ! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KylebMay 20, 2007
Not nearly as bad as people are making out. It's about on par with the second one. The audience I was with was really into it and laughed constantly. The first was the best, but this is still worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaleM.Jun 2, 2007
Though it doesn't have the magic of the first Shrek, it is still good. My major complaint is that it is too short. I wish the jokes could have gone on for another hour. As it was, it seemed intent only in telling its main story, whereas Though it doesn't have the magic of the first Shrek, it is still good. My major complaint is that it is too short. I wish the jokes could have gone on for another hour. As it was, it seemed intent only in telling its main story, whereas it could have meandered more and had more fun with the characters like the Disney princesses. I also noticed the animation of this kind of movie has really improved. You can see the stubble growing on some of the character's faces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeatthebeatJun 22, 2007
What is wrong with you people ? The first Shrek was a masterpiece because it set off a new genre and it was different. The second one sucked and is the one that would deserve this kind of press. But the third Shrek was light and fun... the What is wrong with you people ? The first Shrek was a masterpiece because it set off a new genre and it was different. The second one sucked and is the one that would deserve this kind of press. But the third Shrek was light and fun... the way it should be. Not with a overly long story and a boring déja vu of all that the 2 movies could offer. They couldn't have reinvented the series and people's expectations becomes too high. Some of those jokes are hilarious as hell (is anyone getting those jokes or is it just me?) The -1 of the rating would be for the kid's appeal was a little bit less than the other two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesM.Jun 23, 2007
I really don't understand why this is getting such bad reviews. In my opinion, this movie was better than the 2nd but not as good as the first. My only complaints are that I feel Donkey and Puss weren't as funny as Shrek 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RebeccaB.May 18, 2007
While the plot may have been simple for the younger members of the audience, the jokes sewed into each moment were hysterical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeanneJMay 19, 2007
Classic Movie! There was something in it for everybody. Fast paced movie with adult humor & the story line was easy for the kids to follow. It was the best Shrek yet!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LouisH.May 23, 2007
Not as good as the 2nd or 1st ones, but good nonetheless. What I love about all the Shreks, including this one, is how they make the good fairy tale characters bad, like price charming. Definently the need to see ending of the Shrek sequel Not as good as the 2nd or 1st ones, but good nonetheless. What I love about all the Shreks, including this one, is how they make the good fairy tale characters bad, like price charming. Definently the need to see ending of the Shrek sequel (if this one is the ending). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Guy!May 23, 2007
The Jokes of this sequel are so much funnier than the first two, but there are two problems with the movie: the movie was too fast-paced (-1) and Arthurs' lecture at the end was SOOOOOOOO LAAAAAAAAAMEE!!!!! (-1)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnDoeNov 11, 2008
people(alot) said that shrek3 was horrible. but it was the best of the series!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 28, 2010
wasn't as good as the first two movies, but this one is very entertaining for kids and adults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuJul 28, 2014
Shrek the Third is an enjoyable animated Dreamworks flick and a good addition to the Shrek franchise. A lot of the jokes are funny and it still has Puss-in-Boots in it. What more can I say?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDJan 4, 2011
It was pretty good. I watched it on Christmas and it's pretty good. Kids will definitely love this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 9, 2011
I don't think it is as good as Shrek 1 or Shrek 2. It isn't as good because it recycles the same ideas. I do enjoy it overall though because there is more character development and a good ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 11, 2012
With its loss of heart and some of its charm it can't be good. Although it has just great animation and some moments that can be remembered. I think that first and second Shrec is more interesting but i will give ten for the respect for twoWith its loss of heart and some of its charm it can't be good. Although it has just great animation and some moments that can be remembered. I think that first and second Shrec is more interesting but i will give ten for the respect for two first movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
Coming off of the last one this doesn't really compare. It just didn't have the same magical fairytale feel as the others. I still laughed a lot and love the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pickle-TicklerMar 16, 2014
Worst Shrek movie out of the four in MY opinion, although Shrek would punish me if I gave it a low score so 10/10 it is. Shrek is love, Shrek is life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kiljoy0May 6, 2014
Maybe not my favorite one of the series but I believe in Shrek and all his Shrexual adventures so one must have faith in him no matter what. Things will never be ogre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pauldjeteMar 6, 2015
As fun as the last chapter.I don't really realise how much "hate" is this movie getting cause it is so fun and yet interesting to watch.I prefer this chapter over the last one,still can't top first shrek movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
I liked this movie, but it wasn't fully as good as the first two Shreks. It was still funny though it just lacked the previous charm and humor that made the previous Shrek's so good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Expired_CologneJul 30, 2015
shrek loves to stick his ogre sized c o c k in anything he sees fit, but fiona is just f u c k i n g disgusting. donkey has the mental capacity of a wombat and prince charming has charmed every man in far far away (if you know what i mean)shrek loves to stick his ogre sized c o c k in anything he sees fit, but fiona is just f u c k i n g disgusting. donkey has the mental capacity of a wombat and prince charming has charmed every man in far far away (if you know what i mean) the only good character in this movie is shrek and the gingerbread man that can turn into a f u c k i n g giant whenever he pleases. I just want to love shrek and not worry about all of these other random characters that contribute nothing to shrek and his adventure into the depths of my a n u s. Please dreamworks make a shrek the last stand. I want him to rape every single character in the movie. Including donkey and his donk d i c k. thanks for the onions-yours truly-manny from ice age Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CGULLZJul 30, 2015
To be honest i dont know that to say about this movie i mean shrek is love shrek is life but this movie does have its faults. My first problem with the movie is when they reveal shrek to have gotten fiona pregers like how in the h e l l couldTo be honest i dont know that to say about this movie i mean shrek is love shrek is life but this movie does have its faults. My first problem with the movie is when they reveal shrek to have gotten fiona pregers like how in the h e l l could shrek have gotten his giant eshrekt c o c k up foinas p u s s y, and how did donkey bang a dragon. Well anyway the story is shrek has to go get another king for far far way and while he is gone prince charming atracks what an a s s h o l e. I thought it had a really good story and it is a love letter to shrek fans ever. The conedy is golden and it made my eshrekt w e i n e r stand tall and pround. Long live king shrek. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoSep 19, 2015
The first Shrek was a masterpiece. It was original, funny and charming. The second one was even better. But with the second one, Dreamworks set our expectations so high, it was difficult to meet them. As such, the resulting film is a goodThe first Shrek was a masterpiece. It was original, funny and charming. The second one was even better. But with the second one, Dreamworks set our expectations so high, it was difficult to meet them. As such, the resulting film is a good movie but nowhere near as good as it's predecessors. Eric Idle does a great Merlin and the main cast are as good as ever, but you still can't help feeling that there could have been more to it. I would recommend it but don't expect it to be as great as the first two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bmeyer8Dec 9, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People seem to think Shrek the Third is the worst movie in the franchise, but to me it was just good. There is a strong message about family and stunning animation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews