Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Sep 13, 2012
    75
    Shut Up is intentionally slapdash, with jumbly hand-held cameras and random bursts of feedback. But there's a beguiling sense of quiet to it, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Sophie Harris
    Jul 28, 2012
    60
    It's a tricky thing to pull off in a movie-equal parts talk and rock-but in a way, this mix of cerebral and kinetic is just what LCD strove for over the course of its ten-year life.
  3. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jul 22, 2012
    50
    James Murphy never says that his music will sound different after LCD Soundsystem disbands, so why fearfully anticipate a change that we don't even know is coming?
  4. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Jul 20, 2012
    79
    In one of the film's most fascinating moments, Klosterman asks Murphy what his biggest failure was. After uncomfortably dodging the question at first, Murphy admits that the only thing he thinks he might regret is quitting.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Hyden
    Jul 18, 2012
    67
    The true magnitude of this band no longer existing is felt most strongly in these moments, when Shut Up is at its most uplifting and danceable. It's a party Shut Up And Play The Hits decides to leave far too often.
  6. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Murphy has never been a typical rock star, and Shut Up is by no means a conventional rock documentary.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jul 17, 2012
    83
    If you've never heard of LCD Soundsystem or cared much for the group's work, Shut Up and Play the Hits still manages to explore the prospects of fame and contemporary rock music's lasting relevance.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Much like the band's self-conscious synth-pop itself, "Shut Up" is initially satiric but ultimately disarming in its emotional resonance.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    If you're a fan of LCD Soundsystem this is an absolute must see. Even if you're just a fan of music in general and are not familiar with the band, you'll likely still enjoy this movie. The editing on this "documentary" is flawless. The film begins the morning after the show. James Murphy (frontman of the band for those that don't know) is waking up, hungover after their final show at MSG. He ends up meeting up with Chuck Klosterman (a brilliant writer) for an interview at a restaraunt/cafe. As the interview begins the movie cuts back and forth from the day after the show, the interview with Klosterman, and the footage of the show itself. Everything transitions as smoothly as it can. The footage from the show is absolutely incredible. LCD Soundsystem is known for their high energy, and emotional performances and the live concert footage couldn't be better. You pretty much feel like you're on stage with James Murphy and the band. LCD fans will love the fact that the songs in the movie are played in their entirety most of the time. Watching them play songs like, "All My Friends", "Us Vs. Them", "Jump Into the Fire", "Losing My Edge" etc. is a somewhat euphoric experience. Beyond the amazing live footage, Klosterman asks Murphy great questions. The final question he asks him is a brilliant question. Before asking the question Klosterman talks about how actors/athletes/musicians are remembered for the successes, but defined by their failure. He comes right out and asks Murphy what his biggest failure was. It's a ballsy question, and Murphy is visibly caught off guard. I won't say what Murphy's answer is, but I found it to be very interesting. Murphy and LCD were in the prime of their music career. They were as succesful as you could possibly be without selling out, had a loyal fan base, yet decided to quit early. It's sad that they quit, but this movie gives you a look into the mind of Murphy and why he decided to walk away from the music that he loved to make. Full Review »
  2. Aug 2, 2012
    5
    Of course this movie is f***in' 10!!! I am a huge fan of LCD Soundsystem ! But why should I give it 5? Well, the problem is that I'm brazilian, and I can't simply travel to the USA to watch this movie on a theatre. I could, but money and time are problems too. WHY JAMES MURPHY? WHY DID YOU PUT YOUR FLAWLESS MOVIE ON NORTH-AMERICAN THEATRES FOR A LIMITED TIME?!? Full Review »