Paramount Pictures | Release Date: February 19, 2010
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1180 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,033
Mixed:
88
Negative:
59
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
AttmfkSep 24, 2010
This movie had to be one of the worst films of the year. The most disappointing of all is that it was put together by one of the greatest film directors and an A-list actor. Please make sure you don't waste your time checking this film out!
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
2
AdamLFeb 28, 2010
Horrible Cliche Garbage. Even Scorsese couldn't save this hack story. Terrible.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
VincentDSMar 1, 2010
This movie was absolutely ridiculous. I just couldn't believe I had paid for this one to watch. That it was directed by Scorsese. If you're expecting a movie of the same caliber as The Departed please stay away. In fact, just stay This movie was absolutely ridiculous. I just couldn't believe I had paid for this one to watch. That it was directed by Scorsese. If you're expecting a movie of the same caliber as The Departed please stay away. In fact, just stay away. Go watch Instinct again or something. I predicted the plot, was annoyed by the intense music (that was there for absolutely no reason) wasn't pulled in by it. The only justification I can give for sitting through it and not falling asleep was the brilliant performance by DiCaprio. Giving it a 3 since all this movie has over a 1-star movie is excellent acting & good visuals. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
ZeusJun 12, 2010
Boring...predictable...Not worth watching for the last line.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
3
spackleSep 3, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thoroughly unimpressed. From the opening scene with the poor attempt at realism via crappy CGI (the sea and sky were so fake), the one dimensional acting and predictable and unrealplot with that awful, awful music direction. Well, that killed it all for me. The fact that those parts are integral to the film means that of course I switched it off half way through (through one of those ridiculous dream sequences) Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
DirtypoatoesSep 27, 2010
I worked it out after 20 minutes and fell asleep 10 minutes to the end and had to rewind to find out it I was right. Scorsese got carried away with the wind machine and an over blown score. Can't believe most of the critics loved it.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
PaulZ.Mar 5, 2010
Started great, cinematography beautiful, but poorly paced and B O R I N G. Wanted to leave 2/3rds of the way through.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KimmyVMar 6, 2010
Don't even waste your precious time on this movie. Boring at best. What was Scorsese thinking? Too bad, since you can usually count on a great film with the featured actors and director.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
1
TonyRFeb 20, 2010
Absolutely Terrible. Too long, too predictable, soundtrack was just ridiculous. Very disappointed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
denimb.May 20, 2010
Shutter island is the worst movie of the year. it has a plot like a shit. the movie is boring and stupid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
OrsonMar 21, 2010
Deeply disappointing, becaase WAAAY overploted, and waaaay too long. As many reviewers noted, this length is its chief embarrassment: it allows you to think it through, they fail to explain. I gave up on it between the cemetary scene with Deeply disappointing, becaase WAAAY overploted, and waaaay too long. As many reviewers noted, this length is its chief embarrassment: it allows you to think it through, they fail to explain. I gave up on it between the cemetary scene with dialog sounding like an outake from "A Beautiful Mind" and the meeting with Noyce. Thereafter, it just became annoying. Would that Scorsese learned that there is a reason why Hitchcock - the master of suspense - strove to put ordinary characters into extraordinary situations. That way, we can identify with our protagonist, allowing suspense to build. I shudder to say that this balloon sailed into the ether far too soon. A waste of great talent, writing and set potential. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Justinavery7074Mar 30, 2011
There is so much goddamn talent wasted in this pice of **** It's incredible that all this went to **** There was good acting and good editing but that's all you can say about this heaping, steaming, and terrible **** ****
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
[Anonymous]Feb 20, 2010
So boring. Terrible expository scenes. A miserable filmgoing experience
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TerryF.Feb 20, 2010
It redeemed itself quite well in the final 30 minutes but really, who wants to watch 105 minutes of crap just for 30 minutes of entertainment?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillMar 29, 2010
I wanted my money back half way through this movie. Love Scorsese and Leo but question their reason for doing this loser of a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JasonLApr 15, 2010
I was bored by this film. The dialogue sounded unnatural and the plot seem ridiculous until it reached the final moments when they revealed the 'twist' to the story. By then, i had almost wanted to leave the room.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
gregApr 16, 2010
Walked out of the movie after 35min, never done that before. it felt like the director was taking all elements of horror and just throwing them together, stuck in the holocaust for good measure too. crap movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MrWolfJun 5, 2010
[***Spoilers***] do not read if you are going to watch this*** This was a pathetic movie. The ending is SOO telegraphed its unreal. The movie opens with him going on and on about hating water for some reason - then you find out that they are [***Spoilers***] do not read if you are going to watch this*** This was a pathetic movie. The ending is SOO telegraphed its unreal. The movie opens with him going on and on about hating water for some reason - then you find out that they are looking for someone who drowned her kids. hmmm. the "brand new partner" thing. When they interview the patients and the patients make a point of glancing over at the "new partner" when the missing doctor is mentioned. and this is in the first half. The last half is a long plodding walk to be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasonHJun 8, 2010
Awful movie. Now it clearly doesn't deserve a 0, but this was the worst POS movie by a good director and a good crew I've ever seen. There was only one twist in the plot, and it was hugely predictable. I came in expecting to be Awful movie. Now it clearly doesn't deserve a 0, but this was the worst POS movie by a good director and a good crew I've ever seen. There was only one twist in the plot, and it was hugely predictable. I came in expecting to be scared, or at least thrilled, none of which happened. This movie sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobmFeb 21, 2010
[***SPOILERS***]I really don't see what others are getting from this movie. Yes Leo did do as great job acting in this movie and to its credit all of the characters were acted out well. The problem falls on the movie itself. To all of [***SPOILERS***]I really don't see what others are getting from this movie. Yes Leo did do as great job acting in this movie and to its credit all of the characters were acted out well. The problem falls on the movie itself. To all of you who say that there was a "twist". Are you serious how could you not see whats coming a mile away? The guy even says..point blank...YOU ARE THE 67TH PATIENT. And with all of his visions and flashbacks..did you really think this was a sane individual? See it if you want but i for one wish i could get my money back. Like i said in the opening the acting was great but the story is just awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulDFeb 21, 2010
Slow and predictable. The book is far better than the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AgnosticConservativeW.Feb 20, 2010
[***SPOILERS***] Pretentious, frequently vacuous nonsense. Usual liberal arty farty bollux. The final "twist" is utterly absurd. And factually grates (being very polite) with the actual plotting. Funny how the sea, during a supposed [***SPOILERS***] Pretentious, frequently vacuous nonsense. Usual liberal arty farty bollux. The final "twist" is utterly absurd. And factually grates (being very polite) with the actual plotting. Funny how the sea, during a supposed hurricane is virtually calm. Funny how someone who has NOT been off the island for TWO YEARS initially appears on a ferry coming from the mainland to the island. The plot is full of holes, with ludicrous contrived waffling that attempts to fill it in. The actual "truth" at the end is as about as mundane as it gets. A man has killed his wife when he discovers she's insanely killed his kids. "The Village" kind of twist at the end and the notion that EVERY SINGLE person, (including unhinged psychotic patients) on the loony bin hospital island was cheerily "in on it" is beyond pathetically stupid. Scorcese needs to stick to his violent mafia films. Liberals will doubtless fawn and slobber all over this crap because of who directed it. Bet if Bruce or Clint or Arnie had been the lead with a different no-name director the plaudits would be rather less forthcoming. Where do I get my refund? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
OliverH.Feb 24, 2010
As a character development piece, sure, it's a decent film. Nice cinematography. Good directing, as well. Too bad the story is boring hogwash. Remember that movie, The Village? Same kind of stupidity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JonW.Mar 16, 2010
Marty, Marty, why did you waste two hours of my life? I'm almost incredulous that a director of his caliber could make something so laughably bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Qy.Mar 16, 2010
I was very disappointed by the story and the sound/music effect, it became very annoying to watch. There is absolutely no twist what so ever, the story just dread on and on. I give it a 2 for the good acting of DiCaprio and some good visual effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
danhMar 7, 2010
This is one of the worst movies I have ever had to endure. Totally unbelievable, music is horrible, story is dull and tiring. Leo, should have stayed on any island but this one. Save yourself from this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
michelelApr 5, 2010
I seriously thought about leaving 20 minutes in but I still had popcorn. I thought, okay.... let me give it a chance. It had bits and pieces that were actually pretty good, but all of those pieces just didn't fit together. I felt like I seriously thought about leaving 20 minutes in but I still had popcorn. I thought, okay.... let me give it a chance. It had bits and pieces that were actually pretty good, but all of those pieces just didn't fit together. I felt like I'd been broken up with at the end and wasn't allowed closure. If the wife was shot, why was she burning up in the apartment scene? Who actually thinks that ANY insane asylum for the CRIMINALLY insane would allow a patient free reign to interview other patients? Really??? My suspension of disbelief was suspended after the children were all bloody. I leaned to my movie partner and said... didn't they drown? Why the blood??? None of it made sense. If this was a close to the book as it gets, I don't want to read the book either. It was horrible! The popcorn was great though! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MargaretD.Feb 19, 2010
So, disappointed, could not wait till it was over, I wanted to walk out but I fell asleep instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TimothyK.Feb 19, 2010
Pretentious, long, and most of all predictable. The movie has a great set up with plenty foreshadowing. The ambiance of the movie is chilling like some sort of survival horror video game. You feel like you are a part of the investigation. Pretentious, long, and most of all predictable. The movie has a great set up with plenty foreshadowing. The ambiance of the movie is chilling like some sort of survival horror video game. You feel like you are a part of the investigation. More a part of the detective work than just sitting along for the ride, however once DiCaprio starts finding out the truth or what he considers to be the truth, the movie starts unraveling to be nothing but a giant middle finger pointed at your face. You know those cheesy movies/TV shows dramas where you find out the whole thing was nothing more than a dream, well thats not the "twist" for this movie however it's a little close. You want to believe DiCaprio's character, however you realize any suspicion you had early on in the film are true. The acting is great and everyone delivers. However the story isn't fresh and this movie has already been made (figuratively speaking). You realize later that some scenes were completely unnecessary and were only meant to confuse and not offer anything to the plot. The first half of this movie had a nice steady pace like a Harley cruising down a lone highway but then this hog hits rush hour traffic halfway through and has to slug along. Every movie needs conflict and resolution, the conflict is the staff at asylum seem to be up to something (bad, horrible, evil) and the resolution is Nope, everything is good! Again a big giant middle finger at your face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SeanismynameFeb 21, 2010
There was an abundance of weather in this film. I remember lightning and rain. Lots of rain. Also waves smashing against rocks. Numerous matches were lit as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JuliusJFeb 22, 2010
This is clap-trap of the highest order; a thick slab of Gothic nonsense that was hard to watch and even harder to sit through. I did like the photography, and the music was carefully chosen. I'll say it. This is Martin Scorsese's This is clap-trap of the highest order; a thick slab of Gothic nonsense that was hard to watch and even harder to sit through. I did like the photography, and the music was carefully chosen. I'll say it. This is Martin Scorsese's worst movie ever. One person clapped; another booed. The theatre was packed but I saw more people checking their cell phones than I am used to. Don't believe the hype (and don't even bother trying to work through the logic--or lack thereof--of the dramatic action). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GREW50MEJul 15, 2012
With extremely loud non-sensical music, a very predictable plot, and some extremely seroous over-acting, this is the worst suspense fulm I have ever seen. Everybody involed with this disaster needs to go back to film school.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BradySmithNov 15, 2013
An infuriating movie. One which uses expert direction to tell a story with no solid ground. It's weird and twisty and atmospheric but never in any way which is remotely good. It will keep you guessing, sure, but it pulls such a non-ending,An infuriating movie. One which uses expert direction to tell a story with no solid ground. It's weird and twisty and atmospheric but never in any way which is remotely good. It will keep you guessing, sure, but it pulls such a non-ending, such a copout that you could never really be sure to what exactly just happened. Other movies have pulled off the ambiguous ending without it becoming a copout, but this one doesn't know how. Inception did it. In fact it did it in a way which was significant and beautiful, but Shutter Island is just a loopy trip into insanity which goes nowhere truly scary but everywhere and anywhere disturbing just to put a bad taste in your mouth when it's over. Do yourself a favor and avoid this expensive piece of garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews