Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 21, 2008
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 194 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
163
Mixed:
12
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
DavidWMar 23, 2008
Easy to predict what's going to happen, this movie had nothing new, lame plot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
HMG-MetaCriticJun 9, 2014
This film Is a shame to the original Shutter made in 2004! Imagine the Thai version but without the scary scenes and without the suspense, add up a famous american actor like Joshua Jackson, few CGI effects and you get a terrible remake.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
RileyG.Mar 21, 2008
Worst film I've seen it a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DDMar 21, 2008
Thai Version would be so much much much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Mar 21, 2008
I can't say I was disappointed because I didn't go to the see the move with very high expectations. You really can't expect much out of horror flicks these days. But anyways, while the movie was maybe even halfway done I had I can't say I was disappointed because I didn't go to the see the move with very high expectations. You really can't expect much out of horror flicks these days. But anyways, while the movie was maybe even halfway done I had the whole thing figured out, the plot has been used a million times and all the scares are, hey look out behind you scares. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DevinMar 22, 2008
Lifeless, scareless, dull, and predictable. The acting, directing, writing, lighting, directing, editing, and sound are ALL poor. This film is a fraud and a shambles from the ground up. Why has hollywood become so useless with regard to Lifeless, scareless, dull, and predictable. The acting, directing, writing, lighting, directing, editing, and sound are ALL poor. This film is a fraud and a shambles from the ground up. Why has hollywood become so useless with regard to horror films? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Mar 22, 2008
She ain't heavy, she's my crazy ex-Japanese girlfriend. Benjamin(Joshua Jackson) has neck pains, and a past. He and his blushing bride aren't exactly the sharpest pencils in the box. Jane(Lisa Whelchel, I mean, Rachael Taylor) She ain't heavy, she's my crazy ex-Japanese girlfriend. Benjamin(Joshua Jackson) has neck pains, and a past. He and his blushing bride aren't exactly the sharpest pencils in the box. Jane(Lisa Whelchel, I mean, Rachael Taylor) looks genuinely surprised that her hubbie's old girlfriend is in the same shape as Norman Bates' mother. That's why they call it spirit photography, honey. Jane is either xenophobic, or stupid, or a stupid xenophobic. She wonders aloud if the Japanese eat ice cream. She also thinks the clothing that the woman she (not "we", Jane, YOU hit that pedestrian, not HE, your husband, who was asleep at the time) ran over was wearing clothing that seemed inappropriate(Jane, you're in JAPAN) at the time. "Shutter" isn't scary, but that's because the film doesn't work very hard. It takes short cuts. At Benjamin's place of employment, Jane shows her ghostly photographs to Benjamin's assistant, whose ex-boyfriend just happens to be the editor of a spiritual photography magazine. When "Shutter" isn't being scary, it's busy not being "Lost in Translation", too. Jane's walking tour of the Tokyo pavement recalls Scarlett Johannson in the Sofia Coppola movie. Scarlett Johannson went to a Shintoist temple. Jane goes to a pachinko parlour, and takes a picture...of HERSELF! You'll shudder at "Shutter" with exasperation, not fright. But this will probably be the only chance you'll ever get to see an ex-cast member of "Dawson's Creek" speak Japanese. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RMMar 23, 2008
This movie made me and all my friends stand up out of our chairs!!!....and get a refund......not a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SeanC.Mar 31, 2008
Pretty cookie cutter with the overacting by all the major players. The films doesn't seem to want to scare. Pretty boring... If you really want to see it, wait till dvd and let your friend buy it, then borrow it. Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChristianD.Mar 31, 2008
Anyone who gives this a good rating is either a plant, or has really low standards when it comes to viewing a film. i'd rather tip my waiter 11more dollars than give it to whoever directed this abortion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TNApr 25, 2008
I saw the original version from Thailand. And I have to say this film disgrace everything the original version owns. It tries to ride on a high of J-horror show which I believe it's now saturated and forgot the real origin of the movie I saw the original version from Thailand. And I have to say this film disgrace everything the original version owns. It tries to ride on a high of J-horror show which I believe it's now saturated and forgot the real origin of the movie which make the matter worse. When I saw the original one, it scare the shite out of me, but for this version, I dosed off. Can't hollywood respect the original material and stick to it? So far, all those Asian horror (or any other Asian film for that matter) movies that I have seen remade by Hollywood are all crap. I have to say this, just import the original and screen as is would be a much better idea. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
tugAug 8, 2008
This movie is ridiculous. Predictable, boring and the exact same imagery and themes as most other Japanese horror remakes. Almost no redeeming qualities. We laughed out loud more than a couple of times watching the awkward attempts to scare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JacobS.Aug 10, 2008
It really is sad the movies that pass for horror these days. Apparently people that give the green light for modern movies like these seem to think horror movie goers have the IQ of a football. Maybe the Hollywood machine is just assuming It really is sad the movies that pass for horror these days. Apparently people that give the green light for modern movies like these seem to think horror movie goers have the IQ of a football. Maybe the Hollywood machine is just assuming that we don't like variety. Whatever the reason, give me a random oldschool Sam Neil flick over this any day. ( I'm of course referring to the In the mouth of madness/Event Horizon days of course ), I've never seen the movie this was based on, so take my feedback as such. As far as American movies go, this movie randomly splices together elements of "The Grudge", "What Lies Beneath" and "The Ring", and it does so pretty badly. It Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful