Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2004
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 450 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
295
Mixed:
69
Negative:
86
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JackOOct 10, 2009
Can't describe how real and awesome this movie is. absolute perfection in every sense of the word.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TroyP.Oct 17, 2008
This movie is excellent! An amazing script with great acting. It touches on so many real life issues and does so in such a sutly humorous way. I feel that many people will not understand the greatness of this movie, but it is a masterpiece!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimmySep 8, 2005
Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the point, I guess that's your loss. Go watch American Pie or something. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SchmidtFeb 7, 2011
Absolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest characterAbsolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest character performance I've seen from a consistently great character actor, Paul Giamatti. He captures Miles with precision - reading the novel, which is narrated by Miles, you obviously gain great insight into his character, but with every twitch, half-smile, lame comment, heartbreaking expression, he truly becomes Pickett's character, and brings him to life like no other could. Haden Church as Jack is a fantastic antithesis to Miles, and gives the surprise performance of the century, and Madsen offers a strong but scarred woman, who ultimately breathes life into Miles' body. I'm only really talking about performances here, but really, you have to see this movie yourself. For some fantastic camera work look out for the scene in Los Olivos, with a drunken Miles on the phone to his ex-wife, for a beautiful piece of music from Rolfe Kent, listen out for the scene at Mrs Raymond's, where Miles is looked down upon by his family (metaphorically, of course - they are in photographs), and for the best example of just how strong Giamatti is here, watch his stomach turn as Victoria gives him the news after the wedding. He painfully holds onto a smile, and we can see in his hurt, tormented eyes that he just wants to let go. Movie magic until the last second, and after that. Mature filmmaking at its best - as 'Jimmy' says, "an instant classic... an honest film and as real as a movie can be." Couldn't have put it better myself. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
J-ShapAug 29, 2011
Mastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just howMastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just how something managed to end up the way it is, and the director and cast can handle the shifts between these in a way that feels so natural it's almost frightening. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperDec 28, 2011
Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it.Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actors are believable. I was able to want to believe them, right or wrong, for better or worse. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
HorlanMay 8, 2012
Sideways makes you believe that the story written by Alexander Payne is true. It is fresh, smart and as sophisticated as a good, old wine. All four actors are full of emotions, especially Paul Giamatti gives an unforgettable performance.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MackeyJan 5, 2013
"Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more"Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more pleasent that it sounds. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
jcarMay 10, 2011
This movie is phenomenal. It's humor is incredibly consistent and contains a performance from Paul Giamatti that won't be topped for ages. I loved this movie and would recommend it to anyone
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
SImonMJan 11, 2009
Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice some terrible spelling, and inarticulate submissions. I think that says it all. For those who didn't enjoy the movie, perhapsMr Bean is more your style?? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Although I enjoyed the movie, I'm not sure why the critics fawned over it as much as they did. It's solid, but not spectacular. The characters and plot were entertaining and unique.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Christopher_G2Jan 16, 2011
This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny,This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny, entertaining, and made wine country a fascinating topic for someone like me who had no interest on the subject. It's purely about life and the choices we make. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
pedrostrikNov 28, 2010
Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on
Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on actual society, for some people to hard to understand the movie's message.
i watch it 2 times already and there's always something new on the plot ...
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyJun 10, 2012
I really like Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church, I think Thomas should won that oscar this movie is really entertaining, pretty good in my opinion, i specially liked it by the acting but still good
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsJun 10, 2012
I love the acting in this movie, i also like the drama and it has comedy too, that is great, i do not get why people doesnt like it much its of my favorite ones
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
john24Jun 25, 2012
I loved it .
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 18, 2012
Payne directs the film so meticulously that you can't help but be intrigued by what he's showing you. He and Giamatti create and character with vast depth and sneakily subtle idiosyncrasies.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
A special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fullyA special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fully realized, well developed, and perfectly portrayed by an amazing cast. Payne's direction is brilliant, this is easily his best film he's ever done. And the script is fun, charming, interesting, real, and resonant. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pHrfoFeb 17, 2013
A movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendshipA movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendship and life is fascinating. The direction is outstanding: it allow us to enter the story in so many layers that we feel on a road trip, drinking wine. A real masterpiece. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Halo_InsiderNov 16, 2013
The central quartet is fantastic to behold, and this remains one of Alexander Payne's best films. It's a fantastic piece of work aided by an engaging and bittersweet script.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
niaspeedMar 29, 2014
One of my all time favorite movies, and for some people on here to say it was the worst movie ever, watch Lost in space, or the Black Hole. People are so ridiculous. Sideways is a classic.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
OrlandoCuculizaJun 2, 2005
Ok, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laughOk, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laugh out loud of the circumstances.
It's just an over-the-average dromedy, which you could watch just to watch when you're bored.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreasCOct 19, 2005
Fantastic film. Paul Giamatti is amazing and so is everything from story to soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamS.Oct 30, 2005
The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this one up. Otherwise, you've been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisSep 11, 2005
One of the best comedies i have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FRANKJJan 19, 2006
YEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIEYEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIE PLEASE DONT GO TO THE MOVIES YOUR NOT A FAN Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickRJan 4, 2006
Ok. Some intelligent dialogue and emotion, good performances but really not that special. To rate in top 10 alltime is ridiculous, top 10 of year fine. Realistic in some ways, very unrealistic in others is normal in movies but keeps it from Ok. Some intelligent dialogue and emotion, good performances but really not that special. To rate in top 10 alltime is ridiculous, top 10 of year fine. Realistic in some ways, very unrealistic in others is normal in movies but keeps it from rating higher. The sadness is done pretty well, the laughs didnt make me laugh that much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankieA.Feb 9, 2006
Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but for me, it was great. Acting, storyline, film techniques, all great. Whatever the movie is, it is not a waste of your time. See this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonaldH.Apr 14, 2006
The 94 score on here says it all. If you didn't like it then you didn't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielC.Jul 11, 2006
I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low scores are Silly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, although this is set apart from others in the genre, just doesn't grab the niche and own it. If a movie is going to go for the quirk, then it must do so all-in, no apologies and jump. This felt like someone, somewhere was holding back in the production of this film, be it writer, director, actor or producer. But over-all, better than many, if not most, in it's category. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Mar 28, 2008
One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great shooting, great acting, great directing...everything is perfection. Only American Beauty and a select other few films rate above Sideways in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RagnarJ.Mar 3, 2008
very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions and case-studies. Fabulous wit and clever as f*ck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianWApr 3, 2009
this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who didn't get it ought to consider staying home to watch something really stimulating, like American Idol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveJSep 11, 2009
A good film especially due to the fact that there are not any really big name actors. I wouldn't say that its a comedy though nor should it be in the top 100 films of all time list! Still worth a seeing though!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonathanShalfiMar 26, 2005
This is very typical of slow, adult oriented "sophisticated " films which get huge reviews from the papers.. There are very few scenes that'll actually make you smile, and everything seems to follow an "Oscar-formula". Other than that,This is very typical of slow, adult oriented "sophisticated " films which get huge reviews from the papers.. There are very few scenes that'll actually make you smile, and everything seems to follow an "Oscar-formula". Other than that, its a fairly interesting movie, as long as you have some patience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonySJun 6, 2005
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Sep 12, 2005
Good movie, entertaining, but not great. Exceptionally well written, with some genuinely funny and whimsical scenes. The humor is not always obvious, though some people that reviewed this might expect that. Some cheesy scenes but overall Good movie, entertaining, but not great. Exceptionally well written, with some genuinely funny and whimsical scenes. The humor is not always obvious, though some people that reviewed this might expect that. Some cheesy scenes but overall entertaining and odd sometimes. Giamatti is great and the cinemetography makes you want to move to Napa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ECNov 5, 2006
Possibly one of the smartest comedies thus far in this millenium. Anyone who doesn't like this movie is obviously too retarded to understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielM.Feb 26, 2006
The through and through cinemaphotography, the few moments of very humorous dialogue and facial expressions by the characters, and some intense subtlties and blatant follies make for a nice and amusing film. It may be over-rated indeed, but The through and through cinemaphotography, the few moments of very humorous dialogue and facial expressions by the characters, and some intense subtlties and blatant follies make for a nice and amusing film. It may be over-rated indeed, but it attempts to speak to a person who cannot possibly appreciate it if he/she has not quite ammassed 30 years on this earth. P.S. don't read the "novel" that this film was based on...unless you live in S.B. County there will be nothing for you to recognize or appreciate. Bad stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.May 30, 2006
i loved this movie i didnt see one thing wrong with it. I dont understand why people cant except realizm in movies this has excellent dialouge it was had some very funny moments i am glad i didnt listen to anybody when they told me this i loved this movie i didnt see one thing wrong with it. I dont understand why people cant except realizm in movies this has excellent dialouge it was had some very funny moments i am glad i didnt listen to anybody when they told me this movie was bad, i enjoyed it greatly, deffinatly recommend for a viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MWJul 31, 2006
I really enjoyed this film. I found my sympathies switching between all the characters sometimes loathing, laughing at or even finding them slightly lovable. The whole film felt so realistic and it was nice to see relationships that I really enjoyed this film. I found my sympathies switching between all the characters sometimes loathing, laughing at or even finding them slightly lovable. The whole film felt so realistic and it was nice to see relationships that aren't sugar coated between beautiful people in the normal hollywood style. I didn't know that films this good and subtle were made outside of the EU and when I watched it got a buzz to know that not all films from the US have to be big budget, plotless romps. I plan now to see other Payne films and hope that I see more like this coming to the cinema soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanT.Aug 12, 2006
"Sideways" is inarguably the best film of our decade; a classic that can stand up to any great film from any era in cinema. [***SPOILERS***] This is film at its most intoxicating, its most poignant, and funniest. Paul Giamatti was screwed "Sideways" is inarguably the best film of our decade; a classic that can stand up to any great film from any era in cinema. [***SPOILERS***] This is film at its most intoxicating, its most poignant, and funniest. Paul Giamatti was screwed out of even being nominated for Best Actor, while Thomas Hayden Church and Virginia Madsen were justly nominated for their parts, even if they didn't win. The real genius of "Sideways" is that director Alexander Payne creates empathy for two guys that when you think about it, aren't really that sympathetic. Miles (Giamatti) is a grump, and usually drunk on wine from the night before. Jack is an aging sex addict. Not a lot of wiggle room to like these characters. But Payne makes us care and by the end of it they've both been through so many experiences that we can only hope they've learned. And the knock that ends the movie is pure bliss. Raise your glasses and treat yourself to a classic that is guaranteed to age better than "Memento" ever will. This is one that you savor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FreddieL.Dec 1, 2007
To begin, this was a delightfully written and acted film. How anyone could not connect and feel for Paul Giametti's character astounds me. It saddens me how egotistical twerps attack this film, rating it badly simply on the grounds that To begin, this was a delightfully written and acted film. How anyone could not connect and feel for Paul Giametti's character astounds me. It saddens me how egotistical twerps attack this film, rating it badly simply on the grounds that it was rated highly by critics, though a films quality must always be percieved without the presence of a review, in my opinion. Therefore, I am slightly surpirsed by those who didnt enjoy the film for what it was; an intimate, warming tale of a man, whose life it seems can only genuinely be related to and understood by those with a conscious, and those who don't take life for granted. In conclusion, Sideways is a truly uplifting film which i recommend highly, regardless of the critics' reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexM.Feb 11, 2007
One of the cleverest and funniest films that I have had a pleasure watching. A real delight, how all comedy should be - clever and edgy. All those who did not like this film are obviously lacking in intelligence and sense of humour!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngusS.Apr 11, 2007
Superb comedy. Excellent characters. So much more to offer than the average 21st Century comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigP.Apr 30, 2007
Extremely funny movie about wine tasting!! Actually it's about alot more than that....wonderful performances as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SvenS.May 16, 2007
One of the best movies I have ever seen...it's so fucking good!!! I don't understand why people dislike this movie... It made me feel very good!! And the humor isn't big like Naked Gun, but it's funny!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilFOct 19, 2009
Life-affirming. Anyone who doesn't get it has a black hole where their heart should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TrinimanNov 20, 2004
Sideways is receiving a lot of critical praise and it is one of the better films of the year, so far. Two friends head out to California's wine country, to spend a week together before one of, Jack, gets married. Jack is a former TV Sideways is receiving a lot of critical praise and it is one of the better films of the year, so far. Two friends head out to California's wine country, to spend a week together before one of, Jack, gets married. Jack is a former TV actor, still handsome in his forties, but now relegated to voice overs. He's intellectually lacking but also charming and fun in an immature, carefree way. Miles is a divorced English teacher who is obviously full of hang-ups, not the least of which relate to his divorce. He is a wine connoisseur and becomes even more driven to drink, when, on the trip, he discovers that his ex-wife remarried and will be bringing her new husband to the wedding. Jack's main mission for the week, though, is to get laid before he gets hitched. Along the way, they meet two ladies who appear to fit the bill for each of them. Stephanie (Sandra Oh) is a wild and free spirit, like Jack, while Maya (Virgina Madsen) is more laid back and happens to be another wine connoisseur. Madsen's character is also an intellectual like Miles and the two have an obvious but somewhat tentative attraction to each other. The camera loves Virginia Madsen. Seeing her through Miles' eyes, you can't help but be intrigued and captivated by her. In one scene, they both explain their attraction for some specific wine and through her explanation, she cleverly reveals how she's attracted to Miles. You can pretty much guess who the awkward Miles responds. What makes this film work is the realistic tension exhibited by Miles. He's tired of his job and is a hoping to be picked up by a publisher as a first time author. Paul Giamatti's performance is never dull because we can relate to his bruised self- esteem and he doesn't conveniently end up in unrealistic happy situations. The scenery in the valley was attractive enough to have some of the audience comment on how they would like to go there on a wine-tasting tour. This is another film where you're not positive what will happen next but you watch because the film stays within realistic parameters. There's nothing outrageously far-fetched about it, save for the wallet retrieval scene, which is really funny. Sideways isn't as funny as the trailers tried to suggest but it brings up bittersweet emotions without gratuitous "crutches" that most films rely on, in the absence of a quality script or direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMNov 19, 2005
It's hard to believe that films such as Sideways exist: films that make the viewer laugh and cry, be shocked and be out of breath, and make them horrified and simultaneously unable to control their laughter. It's a film that takes It's hard to believe that films such as Sideways exist: films that make the viewer laugh and cry, be shocked and be out of breath, and make them horrified and simultaneously unable to control their laughter. It's a film that takes the viewer in for two hours and drains them of energy as the events that befall the characters become increasingly unpredictable, severe, and often hilarious. Sideways is a film that should be seen by everyone. Regardless of the fact that it was made merely a year ago, it is one of the greatest films ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RileyB.Oct 19, 2005
The problem with 'Sideways' is not the acting, story, direction, or production. But it's all the positive reviews that it's getting. Traditionally, when a movie gets a great review - regardless of the topic - John Q runs The problem with 'Sideways' is not the acting, story, direction, or production. But it's all the positive reviews that it's getting. Traditionally, when a movie gets a great review - regardless of the topic - John Q runs out to see it. Then John Q hates it because it (the film), even though it was great, was not his sort of movie. Feeling let down by the critics - and having wasting so much money - John Q rips the movie to shreds in his own mind, badmouthing it whenever he gets the chance. This happened to 'Sideways'. I have many friends who went out saw, rented, or bought this movie - based on Metacritic and other review sites. They aren't exactly ones to sit through a movie like this, and I told them that. But no, they didn't want to read up on the plot or anything else about the movie. They went and watched it, and hated it. Now they rant about how "ghey" it was. I saw this film and loved it. Why? Because I like movies like this. This was a grade 'A' film with a great story. What I'm trying to say is read up on a movie before you see it, if you've never sat through a movie like this before - just because it gets good reviews doesn't mean you can sit through this one. It a matter of education, that's the only reason this movie has a 6:9 (+/-) ratio with critics to readers. A matter of education. Oh, and Richards - hate to bother you and all but I'm not a natural borne "American" nor do I follow "American" humor (I despise films like 'Eurotrip', childish s...). But, I loved this film. So go ahead and ostracize me from your chic-Euro-click. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipJ.Dec 11, 2005
Original and entertaining, i can't see why people give this film below 6.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesE.Oct 12, 2006
Fantastic. Alexander Payne is one of the best filmmakers alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanM.May 15, 2006
Very good movie...but not great. Users giving this film low scores are probably only impressed by cutting edge special effects or a constant stream of pyrotechnics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricG.Aug 27, 2006
This movie brings out the emotion of the everyman. The ups and the downs of life crashing and rising one day to the next.To understand this movie would take nothing more than knowing the compassion of mankind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenW.May 23, 2007
Its totally unfair to complain about this movie. I loved it!!!!! it was just so great all the way through. Im only 16 so i dont know if that has anything tgo do with it but its really fantastic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PlanRJun 25, 2008
I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it so i didnt really know what to expect... This is one great little movie. This is a buddy- road trip movie that works on many levels. Not that unlike Midnight Run (minus the action) or I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it so i didnt really know what to expect... This is one great little movie. This is a buddy- road trip movie that works on many levels. Not that unlike Midnight Run (minus the action) or Y Tu Mama Tambien (minus the subtitles). I've never understood the need to have likable characters in a movie like this, this isn't Spiderman. All the characters need to be is interesting, and these guys are nothing if not interesting. The humor here is mostly subtle but there are several laugh out loud moments. If you have any sort of attention span and can appereciate a well acted, smart, grown-up script, then this might become one of your favorite movies, it certainly is one of mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBDec 22, 2005
This is what movies should be: well-acted, well-directed, and with great pacing. Though not laugh-out-loud funny, it had subtle humor for the real thinker. Not the 'every man's movie,' but the best movies never are. Certainly This is what movies should be: well-acted, well-directed, and with great pacing. Though not laugh-out-loud funny, it had subtle humor for the real thinker. Not the 'every man's movie,' but the best movies never are. Certainly worthy of its reviews. An excellent character study. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SpangleAug 19, 2016
A journey of discovery, Sideways is a slice of life film from Alexander Payne that does not quite reach the heights of his other works due to some iffy pacing at times, but is still funny, romantic, touching, and thoroughly depressing. PaulA journey of discovery, Sideways is a slice of life film from Alexander Payne that does not quite reach the heights of his other works due to some iffy pacing at times, but is still funny, romantic, touching, and thoroughly depressing. Paul Giammati and Thomas Haden Church are terrific in this wine-obsessed film that uses wine and literature as expertly hidden exposition as to who these two characters are. Truly brilliant writing on the part of Payne brings these men to life, along with all of their hidden motivations and baggage without a series of monologues to accomplish the same thing. As mentioned, however, the film does slack at times and can be slightly off-putting by focusing on some detestable main characters. Due to this, Sideways is held back a bit and not as good as Payne's other works. That said, nobody captures the true essence of his characters like Payne and Sideways is entirely character driven. Overall, it packs a lot of emotion and will really hit hard if you let it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleJun 4, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The way I see Miles and Jack is as Sideways in their own lives. At a point where it's kind of a midlife crisis, but they're both at completely different relationship places, with an impending wedding and a semi-recent divorce. Their story is told in such a way that they both seem pretty screwed up. This is Payne's way – telling the most screwed-up story possible with it still being funny and he definitely succeeds once again this time around.

One of the most striking relationships to me was that of Miles and his mother. He only went to visit her to steal her money and she was more interested in his washed-out actor friend than her own son. Mutual disinterest? Anyway, Miles seems to use wine as a crutch in his friendships, his relationships, and he's so obsessed that this is the way Payne shows the humor. Jack's humorous side is the constant desire to ruin the real relationship in his life by multiple different affairs right before his wedding. They're screwed up and we all know it. Miles's "relationship" with Maya is so odd because neither of them is straightforward to talk about anything other than wine, yet they both want it. This transpires throughout.
Miles is so into his wine, that we kind of see this parallel between life and wine (or Pinot) because there is a peak, a certain complexity to each bottle, and an eventual decline. It reminds me of Miles's life, but everyone else's as well. There's really only one thing that Miles wants other than Pinot. That's to get published. But it ends up that it doesn't work out and "The world doesn't give a **** what I have to say. I'm unnecessary." Same. And what else should we expect with Alexander Payne – everything that can go wrong will go wrong. Stephanie finds out about the wedding, Jack gets his face busted up, Miles has a mental breakdown. They're just trying to survive and get their consolation prizes. A wedding (built on lies) and a call from Maya, yet the ending is uncertain, just like the end of his book.

I think Sideways was impeccably executed, the cinematography was gaudy and accurate, and the characters were unique and intriguing. As always, intelligently funny & exactly my sense of humor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 25, 2016
Some people don't know real comedy when they actually see one lying just right there on their faces. Don't get away with giving this a negative rating, users. I know this is actually the best comedy I've ever seen in 2004.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
night4Apr 5, 2016
If you need lots of action, you shouldn't watch this movie.

If you want to see a real, believable human story, then maybe you should. I imagine if you like "Better Call Saul", where each scene is simply bursting with non-verbal
If you need lots of action, you shouldn't watch this movie.

If you want to see a real, believable human story, then maybe you should. I imagine if you like "Better Call Saul", where each scene is simply bursting with non-verbal communication and subtext, you'll like this movie. Or vice versa.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews