User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 802 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 802
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. UlrichD.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Slow-paces, non-scaring, but very disturbing and beautiful... the best video game movie ever.
  2. Evy
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people realised, and fans of the game knows this. The people behind this movie are fans and they did the best they could to explain what happen. This is the best Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people realised, and fans of the game knows this. The people behind this movie are fans and they did the best they could to explain what happen. This is the best Video game to movie I have seen in a very long time. Dont miss it! Expand
  3. JoséS.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    best movie ever.
  4. HamiltonR.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in front of you.
  5. DifferentTake
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the past (e.g. Street Fighter, Resident Evil) The writers from these took a decent storyline and turned it into garbage. There's nothing wrong with Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the past (e.g. Street Fighter, Resident Evil) The writers from these took a decent storyline and turned it into garbage. There's nothing wrong with staying true to game plot, that what some of us want. Almost all book adaptation regurgitate the whole novel and receive good reviews but vdieo games' movies that does the same get stepped on. Maybe the critics that wrote these terrible review should actually play the game FIRST before writing up a review about the movie. If they say the acting is bad, than maybe they should rewatch Harry Potter and look at the "OVERACTING' and reconsider the high ratings that they gave the film. Silent Hill was enjoyable, it is a good piece of entertainment for the weekend and for those of us that played the game you will appreciate the efforts that were put into this movie. The Critic's are obviously narrow minded and only believe films "inspired" by true events are worthy of good reviews........making money on a tragedy that happen in 2001 on flight 93 sure make the families of the victims very happy. Oh, and maybe Hollywood writters and directors should come up with original ideas and stop making bad movies from adaptations. Before they do that, they should take back their bias opinions and reconsidered bashing a game adaptation movie that is saving their butts in the box office. Expand
  6. AndrewG.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and don't think deep into it, or just can't make sense of it because you have to actually *gasp* think! Some of the best cinematography is here, Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and don't think deep into it, or just can't make sense of it because you have to actually *gasp* think! Some of the best cinematography is here, as well as the best atmosphere in any recent movie that I can remember. The story, by no means stupid or nonsensical, requires you to think about every character and pay attention to little details, and eventually it all falls into place. I found myself more than confused at some parts, but then it clicked and everything made sense. So, in conclusion, this is a movie that people who are actually normal will appreciate. It has breathtaking cinematography, a suspensful, deep, and frightening storyline that deal with religious fanatics, condemnation, judgement, retribution, and revenge. Oh, and to all the people who think the creatures are CGI and look fake, most of them are actors in latex suits and costumes, with little touches of CGI here and there. What, humans in latex don't look real? Expand
  7. StephanP.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for the monsters was brilliant-- Acting: I actually think the Rhada Mitchell, Laurie Holden and Alice Krige were really good. The rest were okay. This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for the monsters was brilliant-- Acting: I actually think the Rhada Mitchell, Laurie Holden and Alice Krige were really good. The rest were okay. Confusing Storyline: The movie has a story...and it isn't nearly as confusing as a David Lynch film. But the thing about horror is that over-explainations often ruin things. Generally, I think Silent Hill is working a certain type of Horror...it is a type that we don't see a lot--but I also think the film brilliantly misdirects what sort of horror it is. This is not a slasher flick, it is not a ironic take on the horror genre. It also isn't exactly a gore-fest. Like Lovecraft, this is a film about isolation, about helplessness, about madness, about obsessions, about religion...it is about disorientation. The horrors are there, but sometimes they are grainy and hard to see...and then sometimes they are right up in your face. The film also has a European style horror pacing (which tends to be a bit slower than American), and works Twilight-Zone/David Lynch style ambiguity. And the film is scary. I think it should be seen in the theatre with a great sound system. I know that the film has gotten lots of negative reviews...but I dont' think the reviewers are watching it in the right spirit. Silent Hill is not about realism, but about surrealism. And that is pretty cool. Expand
  8. VinceK.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of these critics have probably never even touched a videogame in their life. Most of the gripes about the movie has been about the confusing ending, Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of these critics have probably never even touched a videogame in their life. Most of the gripes about the movie has been about the confusing ending, 'bad' acting, and the overall corniness of the dialogue. I'm not making excuses or alibis here, but personally I loved the script of the movie simply because it stayed amazingly true to the games. The acting in the games were 'bad', the dialogue was 'bad', but thats the point. This movie is extremely stylized, and stayed true to its roots. Fans may complain about some plot changes but damn't, its a good thing cause it means theres gonna be sequal with the way it ended. I personally can't wait. Collapse
  9. May 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill itThis is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill it starts to get interesting the psychological horror is is amazing with flashbacks and hallucinations and with few but huge scares this movie will keep you guessing and want more Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to you and you will appreciate the awesomeness of the film.
  11. JamesT.
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people who say it not a good movie are complete morons, same goes for the critics, idiots! If your a fan of Silent Hill (best game saga ever made )then This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people who say it not a good movie are complete morons, same goes for the critics, idiots! If your a fan of Silent Hill (best game saga ever made )then you'll love this movie! Expand
  12. GS
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    This is the best Video game adaption to Cinema that I ever seen. AMAZING MOVIE that stupid critics don´t undestand....To the critics : LEARN about Silent hill before write a non sense article.
  13. Nutella
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina thing, explaining the rationale of the whole thing in a few sentences. nonetheless, if not for anything, should be appreciated for stating faith of any I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina thing, explaining the rationale of the whole thing in a few sentences. nonetheless, if not for anything, should be appreciated for stating faith of any kind has no de facto morality guarantee, and closer to deviation and perversion even from faithlessness itself. Perfect for watching, but not consuming. Ignore critic rating. Expand
  14. GonzaloP.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the same... if you never played any game of silent hill, even worst... I saw this movie with a smile and tears in my eyes because it was everything that I Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the same... if you never played any game of silent hill, even worst... I saw this movie with a smile and tears in my eyes because it was everything that I imagined when I finished Silent Hill several years ago... ALL is just perfect; I read that some Critics and User reviews said that the movie has no reality that it's too fantastic... Those who said that didn't understand the idea of the movie, that it's just the same of the game. The story has to be twisted, unreal, and for those who said that "It's a bad horror movie"... you're wrong from the beginning... The best of silent hill is that is not a horror movie, it may appeared but it isn't, it's not a suspense film, it' may have some points but... it isn't, the best of silent hill it's that to "mark" this film in some genre, we need to install a new genre, because silent hill is unique... play the first video game then watch the movie again, This movie doesn't care critics of those who don't played the game, It's just a tribute for the game and those who enjoy it!!! Resident Evil film doesn Expand
  15. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    this has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradictedthis has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradicted itself and it didn't have enough pyramid head in it! but overall, this film is a small step forward in the ongoing war to actually make good video to game movies. Expand
  16. DreH
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    One of the best horror movies ever produced and definitely one of the better games-> movie. I was confused that one character was in both the past and present and looked exactly the same, but then researched the issue and saw, if you look, you can tell he does age. Coulda did a better job at that, otherwise, this movie hits the mark. Loved the resolution and Outcome
  17. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    The movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you anThe movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you an eerie feeling. The music was excellent and was played at the right moments. There were parts in the movie that made me think what the hell am I watching. In my personal opinion I thought the movie was perfect. Expand
  18. Lhorkan
    May 9, 2006
    10
    This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll had put his own "touch" on the genre - and do not realize that video-games, or, as people who are not shortsighted call it: interactive entertainment This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll had put his own "touch" on the genre - and do not realize that video-games, or, as people who are not shortsighted call it: interactive entertainment is a form of art! When they heard that it was a film adaptation of a "video-game", they immediately thought that the storyline was bad (which was not!) or that the film bases its strength on raw violence and gory effects (the film has its gory climaxes, but surely does not rely upon them to make fans!). Maybe people should play the game before seeing the film, to see that it's not about monsters and blood, but it's about a beautiful and intriguing nightmare drama, based upon emotions. Expand
  19. Kamikun
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack consisting entirely of tracks composed by Akira Yamaoka for the original game series. A must see for any fan of the games!
  20. JamesD
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    Amazing movie, it gets confusing at the end, but in every other way its amazing!
  21. Justin
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Forget the critics on this one and see it for yourself. I love horror movies and this is one of the best, most original efforts in a long tme.
  22. GrantZ
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    For the critics, i'm guessing they haven't played the games. To truly understand the plot, you need to have played the games. The film relies on them. It captures the atmosphere well.... but does miss out on the physchological horror in favour for gore. Still.... it's very good. And Pyramid Head's appearance was justified too. He was there as an object of the guilt of For the critics, i'm guessing they haven't played the games. To truly understand the plot, you need to have played the games. The film relies on them. It captures the atmosphere well.... but does miss out on the physchological horror in favour for gore. Still.... it's very good. And Pyramid Head's appearance was justified too. He was there as an object of the guilt of the towns people. A good movie, so good in fact they're making a sequel. Expand
  23. ALF
    Apr 3, 2011
    10
    I am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from PatrickI am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from Patrick Tatapoulos who with Stan Winston have probably created some of the best creatures seen in film. In essence it is a film about revenge on religious zealots who "kill" a child. The young actress who plays three parts I last saw playing a ghost in Kingdom Hospital and clearly has no problem playing highly variable roles from a sweet child to the manifestation of evil.. This film is hauntingl beautiful with great incidentatl music and the ending, well try it. Expand
  24. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This movie is downright scary, it made me crawl within my seat, i played some games and there also really scary thought the games are better than the movie but it was a cool movie
  25. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    silent hill es un deleite visual pero el guion no es tan fuerte como esperábamos sin embargo tiene actuaciones fuertes y una dirección increíble silent hill va a hacer el éxito del verano
  26. StefanD.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Awesome... PH is the best.
  27. AndyG.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, although it certainly helps if you are familiar with the story of the games. I can GUARANTEE that if Silent Hill was a book and not a game, it would be I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, although it certainly helps if you are familiar with the story of the games. I can GUARANTEE that if Silent Hill was a book and not a game, it would be getting much better reviews. Critics are nothing more than elitists with a pen who are too in love with themselves to be credible when reviewing a movie. Please don't let the negative reviews sway you from seeing this movie, because it's a damn fine movie, whether it's a "game movie" or not. Expand
  28. WillW.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    Not quite perfect in select dialogue-heavy scenes, but it was a very effective horror film that respected it's source material. It's truly the best of its kind. Film critics are unfairly biased towards anything remotely to do with video games, so the low rating is not much of a surprise. Do yourself a favor and see it for yourself!
  29. FrankH.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I think i just got really confused at the end, if someone can please email me how it was supposed to be represented/explain the end to me again maybe?. If I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I think i just got really confused at the end, if someone can please email me how it was supposed to be represented/explain the end to me again maybe?. If i had a choice to re-see the movie with friends, i would say yes just because its a decent movie :-) Expand
  30. TomyJ.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    This is the greatest Game Movie that I ever See! And it is complete like Silent Hill, the Monsters, the Story, and and and. The Actors are great, i dont know what the most critics dont like on the movie...
  31. JeffC.
    Apr 25, 2006
    9
    A very well set horror movie. certainly one of the best video game to movie transitions done ever. an interesting story and really, how much character development or drama do you expect in a horror movie anyway?
  32. MrS.
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    just look at the user reviews, for every 15 positive reviews there is 1 negative. and it looks like in my opinion that the critics got this one wrong as they do from time to time.
  33. AlistairD.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Speaking as a massive fan of the games. Awsome. Some people might not like this as there isn't much in the way of definitive plot and it is uncomprimisingly loud.
  34. JamesB.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I wish Pyramid Head had showed up again at the end. I loved this movie.
  35. KeeganB.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost every way and also is an entertaining movie to people that know nothing about the game love horror genre. The only downside of this movie is that the For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost every way and also is an entertaining movie to people that know nothing about the game love horror genre. The only downside of this movie is that the very very end didn't make much sence. Expand
  36. SamM.
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    This movie is the best movie i have ever seen in a loooong time. If the critics knew anything about the game, the director & the fact it originated in japan, i beleive they might turn their toffee-noses towards it. Roger Avary, Nicolas Boukhrief & Christophe Gans. on the slight chance you come on this website and read this review. well done.
  37. JonP.
    Apr 30, 2006
    9
    A very pleasent surprise i was sure this would be no good im so used to being let down by these things (cash in on fans of games movie's) would recomend this fine film to one and all.
  38. CraigP.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Excellent film adaption of a fab game..far better than other game ports in tha past. The film is like watching someone play the game but isnt that the idea, it is a game port at the end of the day. Cant wait for part 2. Seen it seven times now. Top film
  39. JamesR.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Silent Hill is a film that relies on experiencing the video game before viewing the movie. Fans of the game will be taken through a visually stunning movie and see some of their favorite moments of the game play out. The acting is mediocre but despite the long dialogs the movie builds tension very well and provides a gripping and intriguing conclusion.
  40. Lydia
    May 7, 2006
    9
    How much do you want to bet NONE of these professional critics have played...or even seen the video game? You can't judge it till then, sorry. Just because you critics are too stupid to understand a plot that was not that confusing doesn't mean you have to give the movie a bad review. You just need to get smarter. Oh, and a note to the reviewer who complained that the mother How much do you want to bet NONE of these professional critics have played...or even seen the video game? You can't judge it till then, sorry. Just because you critics are too stupid to understand a plot that was not that confusing doesn't mean you have to give the movie a bad review. You just need to get smarter. Oh, and a note to the reviewer who complained that the mother didn't use her cell phone to call for help...she tried, it didn't work. The whole movie was worth it just to see that super Christian leader woman get ripped apart. Expand
  41. DmitriyP.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    best one horror game movie.
  42. AlexeyP.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Silent Hill was been my first game on PlayStation one. Seven years ago it become my personal portal from small town of Izhevsk (Ural region, Russia) to the alternative reality - world of computer and console games. And "Silent Hill the movie" is a best film adaptation of computer game I ever seen.
  43. AnshulJ.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    excellent atmosphere / set design.. deserves a 10 for that alone.. some great imagery.. an ending which leaves the movie open to interpretations which is not a bad thing at all.. head over to imdb for some discussion on the ending.. if you like the game you will most likely end up liking this movie.. best videogame to movie adaptation to date.. no question.
  44. NicoleV.
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    I played Silent Hill 2-4 and loved the game. The previews didn't look all that spectacular, so i nwaied until video. After watching it, the movie exceeded my expewctations and I was very pleased with the way they turned the game into a movie. I don't know how some who claim to have played the game didn't think it was true to the story; they must have skipped through the cut I played Silent Hill 2-4 and loved the game. The previews didn't look all that spectacular, so i nwaied until video. After watching it, the movie exceeded my expewctations and I was very pleased with the way they turned the game into a movie. I don't know how some who claim to have played the game didn't think it was true to the story; they must have skipped through the cut scenes. It wasn't *exactly* like the story-line, but then there were 4 different storylines- a different one for each game. However, the game is a game, with just a bit of story-line to keep the game interesting. In a movie, story-lines *should* become the forefront, and that is what the creators did, so they added a bit more background to make more of a story. If you actually listened to what was being said and took in the visuals, you would understand the story-line. I had no problem. Some people might have missed that janitor in the bathroom... Its kind of important. Expand
  45. Mobius
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    just goes to show you how much critics know about movies. I have played the game and found this a very good adaptation of the game, considering that the movie is not following any of the previous game plots i feel that this story is a good addition to the Silent hill franchise. If you have played the game and enjoyed it then your gonna like the movie. I was expecting some tacky crap when just goes to show you how much critics know about movies. I have played the game and found this a very good adaptation of the game, considering that the movie is not following any of the previous game plots i feel that this story is a good addition to the Silent hill franchise. If you have played the game and enjoyed it then your gonna like the movie. I was expecting some tacky crap when i brought the DVD but ended up plesanlty surprised. Expand
  46. Michelle
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    Chris, I don't care what you say; this movie is b-e-a-utiful.
  47. NotTelling
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that they didn't even care to look at what they were reviewing before choosing a score. After all, when the plot (while it was still a game) is The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that they didn't even care to look at what they were reviewing before choosing a score. After all, when the plot (while it was still a game) is critically acclaimed by a majority of game reviewers, it doesn't make sense for it to only achieve a 30 from movie reviewers. Expand
  48. EdwardW.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Never even knew it was a game . . . blown away by the imagery, tone and numerous dark themes ringing true. The criticisms of the exposition in the storyline were understandable, but the rest of the movie more than makes up for it.
  49. RyanC.
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    Pretty much all the other people said what needs to be said about this movie. The acting in the movie isn't great, but it is one of the best game to movie adapations made. It's worth the ticket cost if you are a fan of the games. It's even worth it if you aren't.
  50. JoséS.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    best movie ever.
  51. LukeS.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Don't believe the bad reviews. These critics haven't a clue what they are on about. This film is amazing.
  52. AlexG.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I loved this film. The way music played into the onscreen plight was art. Im a gamer so the way the movie stuck to the true plot was perfect. I looked so good. They spent time on this piece. All of the CGI is phenominal.
  53. ShaunM.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    PROS - The fact that critics gave Brokeback Mountain such high ratings and this not is reason enough to stop listening to them. This movie is ten times deeper than the afforementioned without even trying, and the only reason I'm comparing the two is to show how much money talks when talking about critics reviews. All the critics got pissed off when Sony wouldn't allow any PROS - The fact that critics gave Brokeback Mountain such high ratings and this not is reason enough to stop listening to them. This movie is ten times deeper than the afforementioned without even trying, and the only reason I'm comparing the two is to show how much money talks when talking about critics reviews. All the critics got pissed off when Sony wouldn't allow any pre-screenings, and that made them think that is was going to be bad from the get-go. Their preconceived notions ruined the movie for them. This is an atmospherically terrifying movie. CONS - Spotty acting (in some of the minor characters). Most people need to do further research in order to understand the plot fully, but I do not think it's incomprehensible by any means to anyone who hasn't played the game, because, I have not. Oh, and the end is very gory. That could be a pro or a con depending on who you're talking to. Expand
  54. GabrielM.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    I thought the movie was amazing. I am not too picky on storyline, so it that part of the film did not bother me. The acting or dialogue seemed forced in some parts, but in my case not enough to cause a dislike of the film. The visuals alone made it worth attending, and that is what I wanted to experience. The atmosphere was incredible. You can really just sit back and immerse yourself in I thought the movie was amazing. I am not too picky on storyline, so it that part of the film did not bother me. The acting or dialogue seemed forced in some parts, but in my case not enough to cause a dislike of the film. The visuals alone made it worth attending, and that is what I wanted to experience. The atmosphere was incredible. You can really just sit back and immerse yourself in the visuals. Even better, was that it looked very much like the games. The gore was nauseating in some parts which was very satisfying for this type of film. A horror movie that can gross me out or give me chills down my spine, I love it Expand
  55. TomR.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    GREAT! Finally a REAL videogame adaption. I'm a so big fan of the videogame. Thank you Christophe.
  56. BradfordL.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Fantastic
  57. Clank182
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Played the games loved the movie if you have not played the games you might not like it but if you like the game you will like the movie.
  58. Adrian
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    I can't understand the critics... what's up with those guys?? Maybe there are some points of the film that may disgust... but!! The music, the ambientation, the characters and mainly,,... the cinematography, are delicious!!! Silent Hill has one of the best cinematographies I can remember, and this movie is an example that critics are unable to say something good about a movie I can't understand the critics... what's up with those guys?? Maybe there are some points of the film that may disgust... but!! The music, the ambientation, the characters and mainly,,... the cinematography, are delicious!!! Silent Hill has one of the best cinematographies I can remember, and this movie is an example that critics are unable to say something good about a movie basep upon a videogame. Of course if the movie where based on a book the things will change, but... it's not that case. Critics should learn something about the game before write them reviews, because it's sad that a film like that, with a lot of good qualities, had a 29/100. UNFORGIVENESS!!!!! Expand
  59. TroyH.
    Apr 23, 2006
    9
    Well I can't rate it a 10 because no movie is perfect but it was really great. The acting for the little girl was not that great, she played a better Reapier not a sweet innocent girl. Some of the dialouge could have been a little better but only in a couple of scenes. It goes true with the game Pyramid Head, the air raid sirens, and other parts that looked exactly like the game (I Well I can't rate it a 10 because no movie is perfect but it was really great. The acting for the little girl was not that great, she played a better Reapier not a sweet innocent girl. Some of the dialouge could have been a little better but only in a couple of scenes. It goes true with the game Pyramid Head, the air raid sirens, and other parts that looked exactly like the game (I must include the camera angles look the same as the game when she was running) Anyways this movie was really, really good. A confusing ending but I hope they make a sequel. If you haven't played the game you might not get it but worth a watch due to its confusing but good story. Some sick and gruesome parts, but thats what makes a awesome horror movie. Expand
  60. Dave_darko
    Apr 23, 2006
    9
    The best horror film of the year, with "the hills have eyes". Indispensable.
  61. Ryencoke
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    Wow. I am still amazed at this movie. It completely breaks the "Game to Movie" curse. It was brilliant, everything about it was just superb. Acting at some parts were fairly bad, in fact it was just one character who did all the 'bad acting'. Aside from that the movie stayed just like the game is, it stayed with the storyline from the game, it didn't wander off to random Wow. I am still amazed at this movie. It completely breaks the "Game to Movie" curse. It was brilliant, everything about it was just superb. Acting at some parts were fairly bad, in fact it was just one character who did all the 'bad acting'. Aside from that the movie stayed just like the game is, it stayed with the storyline from the game, it didn't wander off to random stupid parts. As most of the other people have said, you should be a fan of the game to enjoy it. And to also get some of the twists. And regarding the critics from what i've seen so far, they're all morons. Never again will I go with what they say with a movie, ever again. This movie was brilliant, go see it as soon as you can. Expand
  62. Jonathan
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    Best horror movie in a long time. Or currently the best when compare to movies like: The Fog, The Game... What next "The Mud"
  63. JoséS.
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    best movie ever.
  64. JamesM.
    Apr 24, 2006
    9
    Let me start with saying I've never played any of the games, and am unfamiliar with the silent hill world. But I am in my late 20's, a casual gamer, and understand where it comes from. That being said I really enjoyed the movie. Not knowing the games let me be surprised at parts, and I really got into it. Visually outstanding, creepy and gory. Yes, some acting wasn't top Let me start with saying I've never played any of the games, and am unfamiliar with the silent hill world. But I am in my late 20's, a casual gamer, and understand where it comes from. That being said I really enjoyed the movie. Not knowing the games let me be surprised at parts, and I really got into it. Visually outstanding, creepy and gory. Yes, some acting wasn't top notch, but this is a horror movie after all. However, Laurie Holden's "Cybil" was great, in a sexy baton-wielding lady-cop way. I highly recommend you see this if you are a fan of horror or just popcorn flicks in general. I'm writing this review in hope to balance out all the negative "professional" critics that slammed this movie. Let's face it, it wasn't made for them, it was made for us. Expand
  65. MilesG.
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    I don't understand how this is getting such terrible reviews from professional critics, but it seems to me that many of their opinions boil down to critiquing this movie as a "videogame movie." Don't listen to a word they have to say about silent hill because it's the best movie I've seen this year. Christophe Gans has done some of the best directing I've ever I don't understand how this is getting such terrible reviews from professional critics, but it seems to me that many of their opinions boil down to critiquing this movie as a "videogame movie." Don't listen to a word they have to say about silent hill because it's the best movie I've seen this year. Christophe Gans has done some of the best directing I've ever seen by adding such a thick schmearing of surrealism that it's hard to see how critics got so confused when everything is explained within the movie. From what I can tell most of the bad reviews from this movie seem to attack the poor writing, perhaps representing some enemies that Roger Avery has made over the years, but the writing itself is far better than I've seen with critically acclaimed movies like Cache which tend to ignore it's function as an entertainment medium and insted look to have their backs rubbed by art-house fans and critics. Expand
  66. TravisK.
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    I don't understand how people cannot like this film... It is creepy as hell and the story is pretty well explained in the end scenes. I was very pleased with the movie and hope to see more horror movies with balls like this one in the future - critic's be damned!
  67. TroyM.
    Apr 25, 2006
    9
    Incredible. Anyone who's played the games oughta appreciate the level of detail that went into the world of Silent Hill. They took the best of the first and second games, and perfectly re-created the game's feel. I really don't udnerstand why some people found the plot to be "complex" when everything is explained perfectly except the final few moments of the movie
  68. JamesH>
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    Best horror movie ever!
  69. AlexanderP.
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    I can't understand journalistes that gave so terrible marks. Film's story is difficult, but it is not the reason to critic the film so hard!
  70. Nick
    Apr 25, 2006
    9
    I loved this movie! If you've played the game you will understand why it can be so scary. This movie does a great job of making the transition from game to movie. Most of the elements from the game are captured well in this movie. My only gripe about it tho was the acting. It wasn't great but it wasnt terrible either.
  71. GabrielR.
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    Simply an incredible film. I really hope that Christophe Gans makes more video-game based movies. We need more films like Silent Hill to recover from the atrocious films by Uwe Boll.
  72. XanderB.
    Apr 26, 2006
    9
    I don't know why some critics thought this movie was bad. There was a lot of work put into this film and it shows. I enjoyed the film a lot and think it is one of the only video game to movie transitions that actually makes it right. The movies that make you think about the story, aren't neccessarily bad ones. In the game, the story had to be put together as you played on. In I don't know why some critics thought this movie was bad. There was a lot of work put into this film and it shows. I enjoyed the film a lot and think it is one of the only video game to movie transitions that actually makes it right. The movies that make you think about the story, aren't neccessarily bad ones. In the game, the story had to be put together as you played on. In the movie, the same thing happened, but in a much broader sense. It was a bit long, I admit and you could tell easily but this was to sort of explain why the town was the way it was. David Lynch would probably be proud of this film, see "Twin Peaks". Expand
  73. JamesS.
    Apr 28, 2006
    9
    I absolutly loved the movie, true it has some exceedingly slow and cheesy momments, [***SPOILERS***] and strays from the game's principal plot (main character is female, where as in the game it was male, also in the true story, silent hill has become a conduit for another plane of existance to merge with ours, the diabolical leader being sameal {sam-i-el}) but the whole point of I absolutly loved the movie, true it has some exceedingly slow and cheesy momments, [***SPOILERS***] and strays from the game's principal plot (main character is female, where as in the game it was male, also in the true story, silent hill has become a conduit for another plane of existance to merge with ours, the diabolical leader being sameal {sam-i-el}) but the whole point of silent hill has not been to try and survive the horror, like all other games and movies of the genere, but it has been a psycological trip that truly shows how emotion, ones perspective of reality and outside influence can REALLY disturb the mind. Expand
  74. RobertS.
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    Greatest video game adaption ever, if you understood the story. I did.
  75. Slim_d0g
    May 11, 2006
    9
    I really liked this film! Only one problem, plot differs from Silent Hill games.
  76. ThomC.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    I'm a fan of this video game and this mivie was almost perfect. Not a no-brainer but an intelligent and with unusual characters and athmosfera. It was great!
  77. D.Franck
    May 2, 2006
    9
    I really don't know why this movie got such negative reviews from the so called "expert critics". This proves again that their opinion is there to ignore. This is a very good movie and the best game related movie ever made. I'm a gamer and Silent Hill fan and I can tell that anyone played the game(s) will be very pleased with the results. It was a long time I came out of the I really don't know why this movie got such negative reviews from the so called "expert critics". This proves again that their opinion is there to ignore. This is a very good movie and the best game related movie ever made. I'm a gamer and Silent Hill fan and I can tell that anyone played the game(s) will be very pleased with the results. It was a long time I came out of the theater having the feeling I watched a very good movie and didn't wasted my time. Don't believe all the negative reviews and just read the comments of the people who go to the movies as a form of entertainment and not because they have to for their job. Expand
  78. J.Reb
    May 21, 2006
    9
    The best VG to movie adaptation ever! The whole movie felt like a new Silent Hill game with amazing atmosphere, monsters, and deep plot to think about well after the movie is over. The problem is that the movie will leave many non fans very confused due certain things learned only from the games.
  79. MiguelA.
    May 4, 2006
    10
    This is a movie for the fans, and fans will be glad to see the game come to life, the real town, the monsters, the fog, everything is amaizing, the leght is 2 hours long, as a Silent Hill fan, 2 hours is short to explore the town. This movie is visualy incredible, and also the story, the only thing that has SH on the rocks (critics anyone?) is that the diologues are kind of so-so you This is a movie for the fans, and fans will be glad to see the game come to life, the real town, the monsters, the fog, everything is amaizing, the leght is 2 hours long, as a Silent Hill fan, 2 hours is short to explore the town. This movie is visualy incredible, and also the story, the only thing that has SH on the rocks (critics anyone?) is that the diologues are kind of so-so you don't care much what they're saying and at the end you get a quick explication of all the plot, but as I said before, this movie is for the fans and the plot will be easily decoded and enjoyoble. Expand
  80. AlanD.
    May 6, 2006
    9
    First, there may be hints of spoilers. second, i'm going to start by saying the dialogue was barely functional, but it did what it needed. there were only three instances that were head-smackingly awful. but it doesnt matter much, really. onward. critics either inadvertenly say exactly what's so appealing about this movie, ("Structured around a series of blackouts and gross-outs,First, there may be hints of spoilers. second, i'm going to start by saying the dialogue was barely functional, but it did what it needed. there were only three instances that were head-smackingly awful. but it doesnt matter much, really. onward. critics either inadvertenly say exactly what's so appealing about this movie, ("Structured around a series of blackouts and gross-outs, it is one long free fall through icky surrealism and underlighted nightmares." "souless and joyless") or bizaarely attempt to connect any element of this movie to reality. this is a horrible escapism of hate, of evil that isnt dignified enough to make sense to anyone. these are creatures of a child's hateful nightmare that dont need any motivation except to be not just viscerally frightening, but instinctively repulsive. it's horrifying not especially for the gore, but for the violence coming from creations so crude and senseless and... alien to our (or should i say my) sensibilities. "pyramid head" sounds like a completely ridiculous name, but the being itself is exhilaratingly demonic. i believed they were surprisingly sucessful in tapping that primal, reflexive fear of being left completely alone in a confusing and hellish place. also their ability for suspense went criminally undernoticed here. there was genuine dread when those sirens went of as a series of escalating horrors happened after each time it did. these people did not have weapons of any sort (except a knife, which was dropped, and a gun that soon proved useless). horror movies have their own aesthetic, and i suppose this one just went with how i think they should be done, because it's been a few YEARS since i was scared that badly. Expand
  81. Paz
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Criticos estupidos... no entienden.
  82. XerosA.
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Well, all i can really say is Christophe Gans actually made a wonderful adaptation. The fact that almost no CGI effects were used is doubly impressive. Having played Silent Hill 2,3 and 4 I really appreciated how close to the games the film was (considering KONAMI wouldn't let Mr.Gans use the story from the games). Unlike most horror films the setting wasn't piled to the rafters Well, all i can really say is Christophe Gans actually made a wonderful adaptation. The fact that almost no CGI effects were used is doubly impressive. Having played Silent Hill 2,3 and 4 I really appreciated how close to the games the film was (considering KONAMI wouldn't let Mr.Gans use the story from the games). Unlike most horror films the setting wasn't piled to the rafters with weapons for the characters to run around bashing monsters with (which is very refreshing). Also Silent Hill did not rely on "cheap" scares such as having scary faces pop up screeching like banshees. The intereaction between characters seemed natural and very true to life (or as close as it could be considering the situation) which made it easy, nay enjoyable to watch (unlike so many horror films today). It was good to hear and see the music and creatures from the games, they made the whole experience that much more. And finally it wasn't too long like a lot of movies these days (I'm talking to you Peter Jackson!) ending at two hours and five minutes, just as there was no more plot to be divulged and no more sinners to be clensed. Total viewings so far: 3 Total viewings in the future: endless. Expand
  83. LucasR.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    One of the best videogame adaptations ever. Silent Hill makes you feel like being in the town itself. If you play(and like) the game, you must see this movie.If you don´t, it´s a superb horror-thriller movie.
  84. FeliciaM.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    I find this movie thrilling and breath taking. Two thumbs up all the way!
  85. GeorgeM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Best thriller movie!!! a perfect blend of horror and drama. Emotional and yet scary. They should make more movies like this!
  86. AceT
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Probably the best film adaption of a game to date. Its obvious the reviewers have never played the game otherwise they would know how much the film realtes to the game.
  87. AndrewL
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    So I watched this movie for the 2nd time (after 3 years), and I was entertained again. I don't understand why professional critics are rating this movie so low. Movie versions of videogames are difficult to do, but Silent Hill did a good job of it. Good pacing, incredible special effects, good acting, a nice new take on the original story... I was solidly entertained. Fans of the So I watched this movie for the 2nd time (after 3 years), and I was entertained again. I don't understand why professional critics are rating this movie so low. Movie versions of videogames are difficult to do, but Silent Hill did a good job of it. Good pacing, incredible special effects, good acting, a nice new take on the original story... I was solidly entertained. Fans of the games will notice and appreciate many things. Expand
  88. xyzface
    May 18, 2009
    9
    One the most intense enthralling films iv seen .. very surprised by the critics reviews, it shows that they haven't played or have any interest in the original subject matter that is the silent hill games.
  89. ChrisG.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Beautifully done. It captures the scary, glued to your seat, heart pounding desperation that the game is. Awesome job.
  90. Ajay
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    FINALLY a game to movie adaptation worthy to watch! Tomb raider was a mess, resident evil was a disater on all means nad lets not think about the rest! Anyway Silent Hill is one of those sick, twised, generally creepy films that grabs you, and refuses to let go. Its sick horrifying, grotesque images of Hell, do more than just scare, they kick the breaths clean out, its that scary. Some FINALLY a game to movie adaptation worthy to watch! Tomb raider was a mess, resident evil was a disater on all means nad lets not think about the rest! Anyway Silent Hill is one of those sick, twised, generally creepy films that grabs you, and refuses to let go. Its sick horrifying, grotesque images of Hell, do more than just scare, they kick the breaths clean out, its that scary. Some scenes ar taken straight out of the game and this just makes th whole thing more satisfying. I can agree that th story was very confusing, and left not much of an impression, but the whole film proves just how goos game adaptations could be. It has all the right elements in a horror pic, but instead of following the predictible elements that a BAD movie would do it creates all new rules. Never has a horror been so intense than this. Silent Hill is a joy to watch and think that only Fans will truly appeciate the direction of the film. It ends just like the games do, confusing and downright weird, but thats the beauty of this film, it doesnt stick to the coventional methods. Christopher Gans has succeeded, and the reviews form all critics are wrong, and if any of them had actually played any of the games they would know how to take to this movie. Its the best horror of this year and probably the best movie of 2006 too. Any Fans MUST see this film! Expand
  91. Steve
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    Do not worry about the low scores by the professional critics, one does not need to be a Silent Hill fan or even a video game fan to appreciate this piece of work. The visuals in the movie are just too good to look at, not to mention the soundtrack that fits perfectly, complete with a thrilling but not "hollywood" thrilling storyline (unfortunately upsetting Mr Roger Ebert). However I do Do not worry about the low scores by the professional critics, one does not need to be a Silent Hill fan or even a video game fan to appreciate this piece of work. The visuals in the movie are just too good to look at, not to mention the soundtrack that fits perfectly, complete with a thrilling but not "hollywood" thrilling storyline (unfortunately upsetting Mr Roger Ebert). However I do believe that in order to criticize this movie properly, one should at least have a brief glance at the story plots and history of the video game itself. Sadly all the professional film critics have failed to do so and blamed their own ignorance on the movie by saying "wah wah mommy i'm so confused, me not likey". Accept it folks, video games have been a culture a long time ago. Expand
  92. StuartC.
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    Damn the critics and their lazy herd mentality. "It's a video game movie so everyone will expect it to suck so let's just say it sucks and no-one will know we've got no clue what we're talking about." Silent Hill is far and away the greatest big-screen videogame adaption ever seen. One day, maybe they'll all be this good. Christopher Gans shows he's one Damn the critics and their lazy herd mentality. "It's a video game movie so everyone will expect it to suck so let's just say it sucks and no-one will know we've got no clue what we're talking about." Silent Hill is far and away the greatest big-screen videogame adaption ever seen. One day, maybe they'll all be this good. Christopher Gans shows he's one massive fan of the games (as opposed to some know-nothing who hasn't played a game in his life, as is apparent from most game movies), pays lip service where it's due, and even throws in his own twists and turns to surprise even the biggest Silent Hill fan. Just when you think you're watching the original game scene-for-scene, there's something to mix it up a little. If there's a criticism to be made, it's towards the rather hammy acting, even from the generally decent Sean Bean. Not as bad as the voice acting in any of the games, of course, but it's quite stiff and occasionally a little silly. The movie's atmosphere, visuals, and ESPECIALLY it's fantastic audio track, however, are way up there. Don't listen to the so-called 'experts', take it from someone a little less jaded - Silent Hill is a movie worth paying to see whether you're a game fan or even just a fan of the freakish. 9 thumbs up. Expand
  93. CharlesH.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Screw all the critics talking about how the movie is like videogames and that it is lifeless. Im sorry but all the reviews from normal people have loved this film. And I for one thought it was amazing. I think the critics are just scared and here is why. They are scared that the movies are being out done by another form of entertainment VIDEOGAMES. I have one thing to say to the critics Screw all the critics talking about how the movie is like videogames and that it is lifeless. Im sorry but all the reviews from normal people have loved this film. And I for one thought it was amazing. I think the critics are just scared and here is why. They are scared that the movies are being out done by another form of entertainment VIDEOGAMES. I have one thing to say to the critics "We don't give a flying F**K what you think so deal with it." Expand
  94. dd
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    The most bizarre movie I have ever seen. Fantastic visuals, stupid story (just like the games) And, just the games I loved it.
  95. AndrewB.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    I'll begin by saying this: I've never played the games, so I'm not a Silent Hill fanboy. That being said, don't listen to the negative reviews, this movie is well done. The environments and music come together to create a truly eerie atmosphere. I thought that the direction was great, it was deliberate in leading your eyes to a certain point in the image. It is not I'll begin by saying this: I've never played the games, so I'm not a Silent Hill fanboy. That being said, don't listen to the negative reviews, this movie is well done. The environments and music come together to create a truly eerie atmosphere. I thought that the direction was great, it was deliberate in leading your eyes to a certain point in the image. It is not without its flaws. There are some pacing issues within the first third of the movie (could've been about 10-15 minutes shorter). Some poorly written dialogue is evident along with some poor acting. Thankfully, the bad acting jobs are exclusive to minor characters. The story comes together in the end, and for me it was a bit difficult to fully grasp what was going on. But when it finally came to me I had a greater appreciation for the movie. Do yourself a favour; see this movie for yourself and let yourself by the judge. Otherwise, you may be missing a good one. Expand
  96. NeilF.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    If you are a fan of the videogame series, you owe it to yourself to see this movie. It really is the best video game to screen adaptation thus far. Christophe Gans once again delvers with his over the top, but beautifully choreographed vision of Silent Hill. I really did love ths movie, there are SO many scenes ripped straight from the videogame, there were many times where I felt like I If you are a fan of the videogame series, you owe it to yourself to see this movie. It really is the best video game to screen adaptation thus far. Christophe Gans once again delvers with his over the top, but beautifully choreographed vision of Silent Hill. I really did love ths movie, there are SO many scenes ripped straight from the videogame, there were many times where I felt like I was playing the videogame but had no control where the story would lead, which made it that much more frightening. For the cinematography and set pieces alone, this is a must see but I would recommend to any horror fans that enjoy not only gore but meaningful story as well. Expand
  97. DO
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Bottom line, if you believe in God and like to bitch at people who don't then you'll give this movie a low score. Go see the movie and you might get what I mean.
  98. MalachiasJ.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    The best movie horror ever made.
  99. SeanP.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    NOTE: This is a gamer's review who has ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME. This movie was absolutely the best. I don't understand how it got such horrible reviews. The only thing I can come up with is that the reviewers have not played the game to appriciate it enough. Anyways, the movie stays very true to the game. I honestly don't think they could have done this adaptation of the NOTE: This is a gamer's review who has ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME. This movie was absolutely the best. I don't understand how it got such horrible reviews. The only thing I can come up with is that the reviewers have not played the game to appriciate it enough. Anyways, the movie stays very true to the game. I honestly don't think they could have done this adaptation of the game any better. One thing I would like to point out though is that the movie quickly jumps into the storyline leaving many questions unanswered. Like, to why they need to go to Silent Hill. There are one or two bad acting scenes/bad line scenes but every movie has one of those. (Yes, i'm looking at you Star Wars Episode three) Conclution: If you have played and liked the game, you should have no reason to hate this movie and should love it. If you have not touched the game, there probably will be a chance you will not like it too much. Expand
  100. RyanM.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    This movie was fantastic. The sets were amazing, the cinematgraphy phenomenal. Everything was in place to set the mood and really suck you in to the world of Silent Hill, including the musical score. There were brief moments of bad acting ( only a couple and they didn't last long ) and, like the game, you actually have to think to understand it. Too bad the critics like their movies This movie was fantastic. The sets were amazing, the cinematgraphy phenomenal. Everything was in place to set the mood and really suck you in to the world of Silent Hill, including the musical score. There were brief moments of bad acting ( only a couple and they didn't last long ) and, like the game, you actually have to think to understand it. Too bad the critics like their movies done according to formula because this movie is so undeserving of the reviews it's been getting. I can only hope there is a director's cut dvd with about an hour more of Pyramid Head. He is the new horror icon of this generation. If you like a good, fun horror movie with tons of gore go and see Silent Hill. It does not disappoint! Expand
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Witless, soulless and joyless, it displays its video game origins throughout.
  2. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    60
    A step in the right direction for console-to-screen transitions and a twisted masterpiece of set design. Ultimately, though, it's a little too much like watching someone else play the game.
  3. 38
    Although I did not understand the story, I would have appreciated a great deal less explanation. All through the movie, characters are pausing in order to offer arcane back-stories and historical perspectives and metaphysical insights and occult orientations. They talk and talk and somehow their words do not light up any synapses in my brain.