User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 725 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 725

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    The movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you an eerie feeling. The music was excellent and was played at the right moments. There were parts in the movie that made me think what the hell am I watching. In my personal opinion I thought the movie was perfect. Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    this has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradicted itself and it didn't have enough pyramid head in it! but overall, this film is a small step forward in the ongoing war to actually make good video to game movies. Expand
  3. May 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill it starts to get interesting the psychological horror is is amazing with flashbacks and hallucinations and with few but huge scares this movie will keep you guessing and want more Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to you and you will appreciate the awesomeness of the film.
  5. ALF
    Apr 3, 2011
    10
    I am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from Patrick Tatapoulos who with Stan Winston have probably created some of the best creatures seen in film. In essence it is a film about revenge on religious zealots who "kill" a child. The young actress who plays three parts I last saw playing a ghost in Kingdom Hospital and clearly has no problem playing highly variable roles from a sweet child to the manifestation of evil.. This film is hauntingl beautiful with great incidentatl music and the ending, well try it. Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This movie is downright scary, it made me crawl within my seat, i played some games and there also really scary thought the games are better than the movie but it was a cool movie
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the best movie based on a video game. Silent Hill is a 2006 horror film directed by Christophe Gens. The plot is about Rose De Silve scared that the attacks of sleepwalking daughter decides to take her to the city that this city always in his dreams. While you are heading to the city, have a car accident and wake up Rose can no longer find his daughter in the car and goes to look for her in Silent Hill. The film shows the typical atmosphere of Silent Hill thanks to a very accurate picture, the scenery breathtaking and the famous monsters that I can put the viewer concern and represent Alessa's nightmares. Also good plot and actors. Expand
  8. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I saw this movie again recently. This is a great horror movie: the acting, direction and storyline are all very convincing, and the flawless blend of make-up effects and CGI helps drag you right into the hell that is Silent Hill. The ending is ambiguous; after watching this movie several times since it was released, I still am not sure whether the main characters are dead and in Hell, or alive, and trapped in an alternate dimension somewhere between here and the Devil's realm. I like that it is not explained, so it makes you think, and wonder.... A dark, beautiful, horrifying vision of what can happen when hatred and true Evil meet. Expand
  9. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    silent hill es un deleite visual pero el guion no es tan fuerte como esperábamos sin embargo tiene actuaciones fuertes y una dirección increíble silent hill va a hacer el éxito del verano
  10. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    The only reason I do not give this film a perfect 10 is for things they changed which didn't make any sense to. (Why change the little girl's name from Cheryl to Sharon? Why not have Sean Bean just be Harry Mason? LoL just minor things though.)

    Overall this is truly a great film. I watched it in the theater, bought it on DVD when it came out and now have it on bluray. As a long term fan
    of the games, I felt the film captured the atmosphere of the games perfectly, and truly had some terrifying moments. The cast is unbelievable, the sets are gorgeous, and, as always, Akira Yamaoka's music drives and supports the terror beautifully. MUST SEE. Expand
  11. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Loved this movie, You could tell that the director was a fan of the original game because it stays true to the story as much as possible. Was vague but that is a good thing, it doesn't treat you like you're retarded. The only bad remark I can give to the movie is the writing is comparable to modern pop music. Very unoriginal and grammatically wrong. Overall a very good movie that deserved better praise from the press. Expand
  12. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Seriously! the critics reviews are negative? camon, seriously? - the movie has a good message (ignorance of the people and their blindness to the unknown and all that is different) - the plot is good - the CGI are not bad to 2006 - this movie is one of the few who has that touch of horror - this movie is one of the few who make me cry! - and camon! the crew are good too! Sean Bean doesn't die! Expand
  13. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    All right, I'm getting really surprised around here, and disappointed - very disappointed - how can the critics don't like the movie? I mean, are they blind? Or they just like to act stupid? Silent Hill is THE movie, one of the movies that is pure horror. And they show the reason everything started. The movie also criticizes the society, how people are so horrible. This movie is something more than awesome! The storyline makes sense, the cast is too good, the effects are really good. There are some really intense scenes that are totally worth it! And the creatures? It's just the best movie ever! And it is really emotional too, at least for me. It made me cry.. not only because of Cybil, but because the world we live in is too sad... Thank God the users see this movie with the potential that it really has. But the critics? sad. Expand
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Witless, soulless and joyless, it displays its video game origins throughout.
  2. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    60
    A step in the right direction for console-to-screen transitions and a twisted masterpiece of set design. Ultimately, though, it's a little too much like watching someone else play the game.
  3. 38
    Although I did not understand the story, I would have appreciated a great deal less explanation. All through the movie, characters are pausing in order to offer arcane back-stories and historical perspectives and metaphysical insights and occult orientations. They talk and talk and somehow their words do not light up any synapses in my brain.