TriStar Pictures | Release Date: April 21, 2006
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 910 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
722
Mixed:
87
Negative:
101
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GeorgeM.Mar 23, 2008
Best thriller movie!!! a perfect blend of horror and drama. Emotional and yet scary. They should make more movies like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CharlesJApr 30, 2008
It was the fewest video game-based movies that had the basic formula right. However, this was one of the movies that never received a chance to popular demand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AceTMar 11, 2009
Probably the best film adaption of a game to date. Its obvious the reviewers have never played the game otherwise they would know how much the film realtes to the game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewLMar 18, 2009
So I watched this movie for the 2nd time (after 3 years), and I was entertained again. I don't understand why professional critics are rating this movie so low. Movie versions of videogames are difficult to do, but Silent Hill did a So I watched this movie for the 2nd time (after 3 years), and I was entertained again. I don't understand why professional critics are rating this movie so low. Movie versions of videogames are difficult to do, but Silent Hill did a good job of it. Good pacing, incredible special effects, good acting, a nice new take on the original story... I was solidly entertained. Fans of the games will notice and appreciate many things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
cecilepMar 29, 2009
The nightmarish aspect of silent hill puts up and above any other horror movie I've watched, and the ending though confusing was a nice touch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
xyzfaceMay 18, 2009
One the most intense enthralling films iv seen .. very surprised by the critics reviews, it shows that they haven't played or have any interest in the original subject matter that is the silent hill games.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewMMay 31, 2009
I think its fair to say that this movie wasn't made that well. it has plenty of directorial and acting flaws but you know what? its fun. its an enjoyable movie to watch for fans of both horror movies in general and fans of the game I think its fair to say that this movie wasn't made that well. it has plenty of directorial and acting flaws but you know what? its fun. its an enjoyable movie to watch for fans of both horror movies in general and fans of the game particularly. Like many have said, the atmosphere is great. A lot of its shots are done quite well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SalvadorV.Oct 23, 2006
I don't know why people rate this movie very low. Silent Hill basically gave almost all its story away by the end, where there was an explanation going on. Either they didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Apr 21, 2006
Beautifully done. It captures the scary, glued to your seat, heart pounding desperation that the game is. Awesome job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WinterApr 21, 2006
For the fans, Silent Hill is better than anyone had any right to hope it would be. From the music, to the sets, to the characters, to the creatures - everything smacks of a distinct respect for the source material. If, however, you are For the fans, Silent Hill is better than anyone had any right to hope it would be. From the music, to the sets, to the characters, to the creatures - everything smacks of a distinct respect for the source material. If, however, you are coming to the film from the point of having no prior knowledge then things get a little more complex and not so satisfactory: acting is patchy, script can be very weak in places and the lengthy exposition at a certain point is completely insulting. However, having said that - and this next point can't be stressed enough - if you enjoy films where the visuals are the main star (think Suspiria) then this is a complete masterclass in set design, creature effects, atmosphere, cinematography, the whole lot. The confidence displayed within really does conjure up some completely iconic images. Overall, it's a bold, confident, patchy effort that will divide those who see it. The best video game adaptation yet? Easily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AjayApr 21, 2006
FINALLY a game to movie adaptation worthy to watch! Tomb raider was a mess, resident evil was a disater on all means nad lets not think about the rest! Anyway Silent Hill is one of those sick, twised, generally creepy films that grabs you, FINALLY a game to movie adaptation worthy to watch! Tomb raider was a mess, resident evil was a disater on all means nad lets not think about the rest! Anyway Silent Hill is one of those sick, twised, generally creepy films that grabs you, and refuses to let go. Its sick horrifying, grotesque images of Hell, do more than just scare, they kick the breaths clean out, its that scary. Some scenes ar taken straight out of the game and this just makes th whole thing more satisfying. I can agree that th story was very confusing, and left not much of an impression, but the whole film proves just how goos game adaptations could be. It has all the right elements in a horror pic, but instead of following the predictible elements that a BAD movie would do it creates all new rules. Never has a horror been so intense than this. Silent Hill is a joy to watch and think that only Fans will truly appeciate the direction of the film. It ends just like the games do, confusing and downright weird, but thats the beauty of this film, it doesnt stick to the coventional methods. Christopher Gans has succeeded, and the reviews form all critics are wrong, and if any of them had actually played any of the games they would know how to take to this movie. Its the best horror of this year and probably the best movie of 2006 too. Any Fans MUST see this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AramisG.Apr 21, 2006
Not knowing what is going on and why is one of the most enjoyable things about the games.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveApr 21, 2006
Do not worry about the low scores by the professional critics, one does not need to be a Silent Hill fan or even a video game fan to appreciate this piece of work. The visuals in the movie are just too good to look at, not to mention the Do not worry about the low scores by the professional critics, one does not need to be a Silent Hill fan or even a video game fan to appreciate this piece of work. The visuals in the movie are just too good to look at, not to mention the soundtrack that fits perfectly, complete with a thrilling but not "hollywood" thrilling storyline (unfortunately upsetting Mr Roger Ebert). However I do believe that in order to criticize this movie properly, one should at least have a brief glance at the story plots and history of the video game itself. Sadly all the professional film critics have failed to do so and blamed their own ignorance on the movie by saying "wah wah mommy i'm so confused, me not likey". Accept it folks, video games have been a culture a long time ago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaryM.Apr 21, 2006
Not a great movie, but it is the best videogame to movie adapation I have ever seen. Deserves to be seen, nonetheless. i know that Ebert does not play videogames, but I still understood what the movie is about. Ebert, if you want to know, e-mail me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StuartC.Apr 21, 2006
Damn the critics and their lazy herd mentality. "It's a video game movie so everyone will expect it to suck so let's just say it sucks and no-one will know we've got no clue what we're talking about." Silent Hill is far Damn the critics and their lazy herd mentality. "It's a video game movie so everyone will expect it to suck so let's just say it sucks and no-one will know we've got no clue what we're talking about." Silent Hill is far and away the greatest big-screen videogame adaption ever seen. One day, maybe they'll all be this good. Christopher Gans shows he's one massive fan of the games (as opposed to some know-nothing who hasn't played a game in his life, as is apparent from most game movies), pays lip service where it's due, and even throws in his own twists and turns to surprise even the biggest Silent Hill fan. Just when you think you're watching the original game scene-for-scene, there's something to mix it up a little. If there's a criticism to be made, it's towards the rather hammy acting, even from the generally decent Sean Bean. Not as bad as the voice acting in any of the games, of course, but it's quite stiff and occasionally a little silly. The movie's atmosphere, visuals, and ESPECIALLY it's fantastic audio track, however, are way up there. Don't listen to the so-called 'experts', take it from someone a little less jaded - Silent Hill is a movie worth paying to see whether you're a game fan or even just a fan of the freakish. 9 thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesH.Apr 21, 2006
Screw all the critics talking about how the movie is like videogames and that it is lifeless. Im sorry but all the reviews from normal people have loved this film. And I for one thought it was amazing. I think the critics are just scared and Screw all the critics talking about how the movie is like videogames and that it is lifeless. Im sorry but all the reviews from normal people have loved this film. And I for one thought it was amazing. I think the critics are just scared and here is why. They are scared that the movies are being out done by another form of entertainment VIDEOGAMES. I have one thing to say to the critics "We don't give a flying F**K what you think so deal with it." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ddApr 21, 2006
The most bizarre movie I have ever seen. Fantastic visuals, stupid story (just like the games) And, just the games I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Apr 22, 2006
I was looking foward to seeing this movie. I love horror movies, but this was terrible. Terrible plot, random dialogue. They bring up random information and don't develop it into the plot. The actors were bad, really bad. Why did the I was looking foward to seeing this movie. I love horror movies, but this was terrible. Terrible plot, random dialogue. They bring up random information and don't develop it into the plot. The actors were bad, really bad. Why did the cop wear such a tight uniform? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewB.Apr 22, 2006
I'll begin by saying this: I've never played the games, so I'm not a Silent Hill fanboy. That being said, don't listen to the negative reviews, this movie is well done. The environments and music come together to create a I'll begin by saying this: I've never played the games, so I'm not a Silent Hill fanboy. That being said, don't listen to the negative reviews, this movie is well done. The environments and music come together to create a truly eerie atmosphere. I thought that the direction was great, it was deliberate in leading your eyes to a certain point in the image. It is not without its flaws. There are some pacing issues within the first third of the movie (could've been about 10-15 minutes shorter). Some poorly written dialogue is evident along with some poor acting. Thankfully, the bad acting jobs are exclusive to minor characters. The story comes together in the end, and for me it was a bit difficult to fully grasp what was going on. But when it finally came to me I had a greater appreciation for the movie. Do yourself a favour; see this movie for yourself and let yourself by the judge. Otherwise, you may be missing a good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilF.Apr 22, 2006
If you are a fan of the videogame series, you owe it to yourself to see this movie. It really is the best video game to screen adaptation thus far. Christophe Gans once again delvers with his over the top, but beautifully choreographed If you are a fan of the videogame series, you owe it to yourself to see this movie. It really is the best video game to screen adaptation thus far. Christophe Gans once again delvers with his over the top, but beautifully choreographed vision of Silent Hill. I really did love ths movie, there are SO many scenes ripped straight from the videogame, there were many times where I felt like I was playing the videogame but had no control where the story would lead, which made it that much more frightening. For the cinematography and set pieces alone, this is a must see but I would recommend to any horror fans that enjoy not only gore but meaningful story as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AJLoomanApr 22, 2006
The critics Trashed this movie. What they dont understand is it comes from a videogame subculture and i bet the reviewers that tore it apart didnt do there homework and at least attempt to power on a PlayStation to see what the game was The critics Trashed this movie. What they dont understand is it comes from a videogame subculture and i bet the reviewers that tore it apart didnt do there homework and at least attempt to power on a PlayStation to see what the game was about. As a fan of the game series i feel the movie did the game justice and was very good. However there where a few things that could have been better.The movie wasent perfect but few movies today are. Silent Hill deserved more credit than its givin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SpookyOtakuApr 22, 2006
1st movie that I've walked out of in a great while. The original PSX game was a masterpiece...this was just a piece. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DOApr 22, 2006
Bottom line, if you believe in God and like to bitch at people who don't then you'll give this movie a low score. Go see the movie and you might get what I mean.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MalachiasJ.Apr 22, 2006
The best movie horror ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanP.Apr 22, 2006
NOTE: This is a gamer's review who has ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME. This movie was absolutely the best. I don't understand how it got such horrible reviews. The only thing I can come up with is that the reviewers have not played the NOTE: This is a gamer's review who has ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME. This movie was absolutely the best. I don't understand how it got such horrible reviews. The only thing I can come up with is that the reviewers have not played the game to appriciate it enough. Anyways, the movie stays very true to the game. I honestly don't think they could have done this adaptation of the game any better. One thing I would like to point out though is that the movie quickly jumps into the storyline leaving many questions unanswered. Like, to why they need to go to Silent Hill. There are one or two bad acting scenes/bad line scenes but every movie has one of those. (Yes, i'm looking at you Star Wars Episode three) Conclution: If you have played and liked the game, you should have no reason to hate this movie and should love it. If you have not touched the game, there probably will be a chance you will not like it too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Apr 22, 2006
This movie was fantastic. The sets were amazing, the cinematgraphy phenomenal. Everything was in place to set the mood and really suck you in to the world of Silent Hill, including the musical score. There were brief moments of bad acting ( This movie was fantastic. The sets were amazing, the cinematgraphy phenomenal. Everything was in place to set the mood and really suck you in to the world of Silent Hill, including the musical score. There were brief moments of bad acting ( only a couple and they didn't last long ) and, like the game, you actually have to think to understand it. Too bad the critics like their movies done according to formula because this movie is so undeserving of the reviews it's been getting. I can only hope there is a director's cut dvd with about an hour more of Pyramid Head. He is the new horror icon of this generation. If you like a good, fun horror movie with tons of gore go and see Silent Hill. It does not disappoint! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElmocoApr 22, 2006
Great freaking movie. from the set design to the creepy found footage look, the atmosphere in the film is excellent. don't believe the stuffy critic's reviews. most have probably never even heard of the game, much less played it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanL.Apr 22, 2006
The movie was visually stunning, and enough so that it should receive its fair share of credit for that alone. Beyond that though, the dialogue was humorous at best and somehow a director that did everything right aesthetically managed to The movie was visually stunning, and enough so that it should receive its fair share of credit for that alone. Beyond that though, the dialogue was humorous at best and somehow a director that did everything right aesthetically managed to neglect every other detail. Shots of actresses that have been fair in the past looked like they were done in one rehearsal take (hasn't Alice Krige won awards?). The movie's worth a chance, but only one, even if you're a fan of the game series. At least it did that justice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinA.Apr 22, 2006
Almost completely free of cliche. Visually stunning. Some of the acting could be better, but the overall effect is definitely worthwhile. Overall, a powerful execution of a unique concept and some very interesting commentary of the nature of Almost completely free of cliche. Visually stunning. Some of the acting could be better, but the overall effect is definitely worthwhile. Overall, a powerful execution of a unique concept and some very interesting commentary of the nature of faith, religion and metaphysics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenB.Apr 22, 2006
I honestly thought this movie was great. I went into it already knowing what a majority of critics thought but I decided I would find out for myself. The thing is with these kinds of movies, the audience needs to relax and stretch out their I honestly thought this movie was great. I went into it already knowing what a majority of critics thought but I decided I would find out for myself. The thing is with these kinds of movies, the audience needs to relax and stretch out their levels of believability. At the very core of this movie, it is a ghost story and like any ghost story, the ideas of reality can be stretched. The things that happen in this movie border on the incredibly confusing and some of the events that occur will also make you stare bug-eyed wondering if you really saw what you thought you saw. Just keep the following things in mind when you see this movie and you will most likely enjoy it: 1) Two worlds exist in this movie, the real world and Silent Hill's world (the movie switches back and forth between them and once you figure this out, the rest falls into place), 2) like any scary/horror movie, the main character will do some pretty ridiculous things (just have yourself a chuckle and enjoy the results), 3) keep your mind open and let the ideas in the movie soak into your head...don't try to analyze everything you see....things will be explained later on. I really did like this movie and I feel its biggest problem is that not too many are understanding it. Watch it, enjoy it and watch out for the Pyramid Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricM.Apr 22, 2006
I played the video games, since the first one released on PS1. If they could've put the town of Silent Hill into reality...this would be it. I don't think that I could know how to rate this if I did not play the games because I can I played the video games, since the first one released on PS1. If they could've put the town of Silent Hill into reality...this would be it. I don't think that I could know how to rate this if I did not play the games because I can imagine some confusion coming from those people. For me, it was clear, it was excellent, and the atmosphere was astonishing. If all horror movies could capture the eerie atmosphere and horrific sounds of silent hill, it could make a whole lot of movies better. Like others have said, the dialogue and acting could've beena little better but all in all, a great movie. I have to say, I have yet to like a video game to movie adaptation but this is how they should make them. I wonder if the critics even saw the movie or just decided to rate it horribly because its based on a video game. This just goes to show you can't always judge a movie based on a critics review. This is great, go see it for yourselves, you won't be disappointed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SyzygyApr 23, 2006
Plot was confusing. There is a lot in the story that is not explained and you, the viewer, need to act as a crutch for the anemic dialogue and plot vagaries. They, the direcor and writer, expect such help because thefilm itself is extremely Plot was confusing. There is a lot in the story that is not explained and you, the viewer, need to act as a crutch for the anemic dialogue and plot vagaries. They, the direcor and writer, expect such help because thefilm itself is extremely faithful to the source material (video game). If you have no familiarity with the game, then you will not understand some of the turns and decisions and aspects of its internal logic. the writing, acting, and directing are all uninspired. set design is excellent but you don't pay admission to a movie for a slide show of CGI scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricB.Apr 23, 2006
Phenomenally well-made film. Movie critics are resentful of video games in the same way literary critics were resentful of movies 80 years ago. Ignore them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonW.Apr 23, 2006
Clearly what the critics don't understand is that 50 year old fat guys who wrote a script for Russ Meyer aren't the movies target audience. It was written, shot and crafted for the under 25 crowd and for fans of the series. Sillent Clearly what the critics don't understand is that 50 year old fat guys who wrote a script for Russ Meyer aren't the movies target audience. It was written, shot and crafted for the under 25 crowd and for fans of the series. Sillent Hill captures every aspect of the game perfectly and aside from a weak ending and poor acting, is the most faithful Game-to-Movie translation to date. Everything down the the radio making a nose when enemies are near and the siren to warn when the town is changing is included in this delieghtful fan-oriented film. Acting is weak, but the atmoshpere is strong. If you're looking for some fun this is it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattL.Apr 24, 2006
Silent Hill is a perfect recreation of the videogame. It brings fans to the series what they finally have been waiting for: a good videogame movie. Critics obviously haven't played the games, and it doesn't matter what they have to Silent Hill is a perfect recreation of the videogame. It brings fans to the series what they finally have been waiting for: a good videogame movie. Critics obviously haven't played the games, and it doesn't matter what they have to say because the movie wasn't made for them. Fans will love this movie, and if you are not a fan of the series, become one first before watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendenC.Apr 24, 2006
I think the problem with this movie for the writers/producers/director is that they needed to have that FIRST intro movie. Get everyone acquainted with what Silent Hill is all about. Get everyone up to speed with how things happen, and why I think the problem with this movie for the writers/producers/director is that they needed to have that FIRST intro movie. Get everyone acquainted with what Silent Hill is all about. Get everyone up to speed with how things happen, and why they happen. (ie. the transformation to the 'bad place') This in turn makes the critics think that this movie is bad, and that the script sucks. Truth be told, they complained about the script of the first X-men movie as well. I will guarantee that anyone that has played (not someone just now playing for the idea of) Silent hill, will love this movie. It was scary enough to have my girlfriend sheilding her eyes, and wishing they'd stop sounding the alarm. : ) If you've seen the movie you'll know what i mean. Anticipation is a killer. For that's that love scary movies, you just cannot stop looking, because you're more afraid that you'll miss the gory details. Literally. They deserve awards for the special effects in this movie. The best i've seen EVER. And an even bigger award for making the best video game to movie transition ever. Right on down to the monsters. Including your favorite paramid man. As far as being disappointed with this movie, the only faults i see are two. One being that the final scenes leading up to the big revelation seemed a bit too easy. And paramid man's role in the whole thing while looking cool, and definetely giving off the unstoppable force attitude, i wish he were used alot more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NateB.Apr 24, 2006
A flawed movie, to be sure. But one that captures the spirit of the games much more faithfully than any game adaptation to date. I rarely tell people that " they didn't get it", but I don't think the critics are really seeing the A flawed movie, to be sure. But one that captures the spirit of the games much more faithfully than any game adaptation to date. I rarely tell people that " they didn't get it", but I don't think the critics are really seeing the amount of depth to the story and the symbolic nature of all of the monsters and environments. They're not just scary looking for the sake of being freaky, they've got a purpose. And while the movie may not be a masterpiece (bad writing, uneven acting), people should be excited just because a game adaptation actually had the balls to tacke intelligent themes, even if it didn't do so perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ScottB.Apr 24, 2006
For over a year probably I waited for this movie; I read the filmaker's diary as Avarey and Gans struggled to complete a script seemingly against the wishes of the production company. I checked out the trailer and the images before the For over a year probably I waited for this movie; I read the filmaker's diary as Avarey and Gans struggled to complete a script seemingly against the wishes of the production company. I checked out the trailer and the images before the release, so its safe to say that I was looking forward to this and had rather high expectations. In the case of this movie having high expectations would be a non factor as nothing could validate the movie's quality as a horror movie. The art direction and soundtrack (taken straight from the game) where excellent and that's two thirds to achieving atmosphere and ultimately horror. Mediocre directing and awful editing sucked the life out of those chances. The movie had no atmosphere and wasn't scary at all. There seemed to be no tension when the monsters appeared. How could Gans screw that up? As far as the story is concerned a lot of it wasn't in the games, which I have played, enjoyed and consider to be master pieces of art. This is; however, one of the best efforts to adapt a video game, but that's not a lot considering the field. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnV.Apr 24, 2006
The best video game to film adaptation that, unfortunately, suffers from a distrust of its audience, an unnecessary exposition, and poor dialogue. Great special effects, disturbing imagery and an excellent sound track take this film miles The best video game to film adaptation that, unfortunately, suffers from a distrust of its audience, an unnecessary exposition, and poor dialogue. Great special effects, disturbing imagery and an excellent sound track take this film miles farther than its script could possibly go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseQ.Apr 24, 2006
Silent Hill is certainly going to be a better experience to fans of the game than to other casual movie goers. I am a huge fan of the games(esp #3), and so I certainly appreciated the movie and the people who made it for staying as close to Silent Hill is certainly going to be a better experience to fans of the game than to other casual movie goers. I am a huge fan of the games(esp #3), and so I certainly appreciated the movie and the people who made it for staying as close to the source material as possible, unlike the great majority of the video game to movie adaptations, which are manipulated to fit hollywood mentality and end up being bad movies. The movie obviously is not perfect, bad writing promotes some scenes that showcase less than stellar acting, and the pacing of the movie could have been better. I do forgive the movie for its length, since I blame it on having to explain the story to people who are not fans of the game, and who need more info. on the subject to understand it better. It is certainly a step on the right direction as far as adapting games to movies goes, since the atmosphere, the scenery, the main story, and many other of the characteristics that make the games so great were well portrayed. I also thank the powers that be in not toning the movie down to get the desired pg-13 rating, because it would have certainly been for the worst. It gives me hope for a good sequel and a good Halo adaption in summer 2007!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Apr 24, 2006
Absolutly amazing. If you're a fan of the game, like i am, you should have no problem enjoying this. I was really worried they'd screw it up, just like Resident Evil was totally screwed up, but i was pleased to see that Silent Hill Absolutly amazing. If you're a fan of the game, like i am, you should have no problem enjoying this. I was really worried they'd screw it up, just like Resident Evil was totally screwed up, but i was pleased to see that Silent Hill was done total justice. The atmosphere was perfect, the visuals were perfect, the soundtrack (taken 90% from the game) was used to it's full potential, and i found myself really caring about the characters. Another worry i had before entering the Cinema, was the inclusion of Sean Bean's character. I wasn't sure how he'd fit, but i really liked the fact he was part of it. I liked his character, and felt sympathy for him in the end. All in all, the movie was brilliant. I can't believe it's gotten bad reviews. It's easily the best video-game adaption, by miles....and i could have sat there and watched it forever. I was sad to leave the Cinema by the end. I don't remember a time when i enjoy a film as much as i did Silent Hill. I can't wait for another one. Full Marks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickB.Apr 24, 2006
Easily the best video game adaption I have yet seen, and probably destined to be the most misunderstood and blasted for the same reason. Unlike some other jaded souls, this movie actually freaked me out, much as the games did (played all Easily the best video game adaption I have yet seen, and probably destined to be the most misunderstood and blasted for the same reason. Unlike some other jaded souls, this movie actually freaked me out, much as the games did (played all four of them to completion), and as anyone who has played the games should be able to tell you, this movie's main fault was trying desperately to provide some coherence to the plot for the average plebian audience.....and not just running with the subject matter in surreal fashion ala David Lynch like it should have. That said, I saw nothing in this movie that especially violated the backstory and canon of Silent Hill's franchise...and it even helped to get some vague understanding of how such a town could exist in reality, overlapping in to the weird dreamworlds and limbos like it does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Mike4Apr 24, 2006
"This is the best movie since Resident Evil 2!!" ...^That person has been revoked of all voting priviledges... This film was a mess rooted in the fact that it had a terrible script where nothing is resolved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JustinH.Apr 24, 2006
Above average! Long, yes. Poorly acted, yes. But honestly. Critics. What's up? You don't 'get' the plot? Isn't that your job? It's simple, I'll spell it out for you. Good v. Evil, Heaven v. Hell, Order v. Above average! Long, yes. Poorly acted, yes. But honestly. Critics. What's up? You don't 'get' the plot? Isn't that your job? It's simple, I'll spell it out for you. Good v. Evil, Heaven v. Hell, Order v. Chaos, ad infinitum. Isn't this the most basic story in history? Satisfyiing, and chilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobG.Apr 24, 2006
This movie was one of the best. even better than resident evil even if im a big fan of both movies i think silent hill was better than any other movies made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronF.Apr 24, 2006
Simply an amazing movie! I've never played the games and had no real prior knowledge of the story, but I got every bit of it. I really have know clue what the critics are talking about. The acting wasn't the absolute best by any Simply an amazing movie! I've never played the games and had no real prior knowledge of the story, but I got every bit of it. I really have know clue what the critics are talking about. The acting wasn't the absolute best by any means, but overall I didn't feel like it took away from the movie as how it was directed. I loved it! If I was a person who invested much time in videogames, I'd definitely pick this game up to see what this movie was based on! Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GordonJ.Apr 25, 2006
Critics can't decide what's wrong with the film. It's not gory enough, it's too gory. It's just like the game, it rips the game to pieces. Another critic described this film as "back-of-brain." I would agree with Critics can't decide what's wrong with the film. It's not gory enough, it's too gory. It's just like the game, it rips the game to pieces. Another critic described this film as "back-of-brain." I would agree with that. It seems that the imaginations of many people have been "linearized" by watching too many films. The West has a long history of spurning the unconscious mind, and then subjecting its entertainment to the rigid, "logical" constraints formulated by the conscious. Freud, or at least his compatriots in America during the '50s, helped America become the global gem of pathological consumption it is nowadays by touting a theory of a "uniform unconscious" and using it to create advertising as we know it. Not to mention (Freud was dead by this time) they justified its commercial use as a method of manipulating "the dangerously illogical masses" to become pacifists. Curiously, surrealism never took hold in the U.S. and is now considered "dead." If we look at the Supreme Court case involving "the satanic evil of comics" that was playing out at this time (the '50s), we may appreciate further the previous statement. It seems the public internalized the paranoia and symbolism (and imagery restrictions) of society's "therapists" as their dogma and motivator; postmodernism, with its glorification of mass consumption, crawled onto the art scene in the '50s and has dominated the thinking of academics ever since. This story, though set in America, is taken from the East. The East, where the majority of fiction is printed comics, and where comics are not, nor have ever been ('ukiyo-e' are the 4-centuries-old woodblock equivalent of those trashy Western romance novels), looked down upon as entertainment. Akira Yamaoka, a prominent member of the 'Silent Hill' video game series's production team, has said that Japanese horror focuses on "unseeable enemies, a sense of vengeance, and...a sad storyline" rather than "shocking visuals and evil spirits." The game has the last two things, and was inspired by such contemporary Western artists as Francis Bacon, but it eschews their origins. For example, the first game has bucket-loads of blood, but you may or may not see the victim's body and/or its attacker. And sometimes, like in the movie 'Phantoms', you'll see what could only be a planned spectacle, by what seems to be a malevolent spirit (i.e. a severed head underneath a basketball hoop)...But you find out later thst whatever violence there is, it's justified, and that the story is quite sad. And Yamaoka has something to say about the story -- "Silent Hill focuses very much on storyline" but it's "unclear" so that it can "provoke a sense of fear." So I was very much interested to see what Gans had cooked up. Having tried to make a comic in the same vein as 'Silent Hill', I wanted to see what Gans had changed. As it turns out, he changed quite a lot. The film is absolutely two-faced, and it's almost as difficult to reconcile its two halves as it was to eke the story out of the first game. The first half is deliciously surreal. Absolutely fantastic. The second half...Not quite the same beast. In the first half, like in the game, it's hard not to feel the floor fall out from under your feet when the world turns dark and swallows you up. It's hard not to feel like YOU'RE NEXT when the chum of human wets the ground. It's hard not to feel like you're in hell when the Lovecraftian, Boschian nasties turn up, threatening you. However, the second half reveals what's really going on -- revenge. No one dies by the appendages, instruments, or machinations of the monsters but those who deserve it. It becomes clear when the only human accompaniment worth speaking of dies at the cruel hands of those who would think they were "cleansing sin" and keeping evil at bay. These people, the film makes clear, are staving off the vengeance of another by not acknowledging what they have done; they deny their sins and prevent justice. They fall one by one to the Red Pyramid, but still their numbers run strong. Essentially, Rose joins the devil to bring about her revenge and justice, and she succeeds. The film during the climax reminded me of the anime 'Elfen Lied' in that it demands the viewer indulge, or at least recognize this indulgence. It also reminds me of a mishmash of Japanese porn. It's a slightly uncomfortable feeling. The ending is absolutely joyous. Rejoined Alessa (it's unimportant if Dark Alessa, Alessa, or the both of them fused with Sharon, they're alike in every aspect) cannot leave Purgatory, Rose has given up on the notion of Sharon belonging to her (she /was/ adopted, remember), Dark Alessa/Aless has no reason to condemn Rose to Hell, Sharon is no longer functioning as an entity in and of itself, people may leave Silent Hill but not Purgatory (remember SH3, the game was outside of the town; also, no characters have ever been shown actually leaving Purgatory in the games), and Dark Alessa wanted to join with Sharon all along. Either may have had their soul sold; however, this is actually unimportant. Like in real life, there's never any indication of a God. Also, it's unlikely they're dead (think of Officer Gucci saying that no bodies were found. Also, a number of scenes with Rose and Christopher call to mind a 'Poltergeist' movie where one of the main characters was stranded in an alternate reality.) This film is the best piece of postmodern cinema I have ever seen. It's even better than analyzing FLCL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HassanW.Apr 26, 2006
stop hating critics. you guys dont know what a good movie is. this movie was amazing. best scary movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OliverW.Apr 27, 2006
This is the best video game movie there has been. It's very good for fans of the game. It may not be quite as good for newcomers, but I'm sick of people saying this film is pants because they think video games are for kids. This is the best video game movie there has been. It's very good for fans of the game. It may not be quite as good for newcomers, but I'm sick of people saying this film is pants because they think video games are for kids. You're clueless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayH.Apr 27, 2006
True to the game.this movie hit its target audience.good job to the writers and special effects guys.If you liked resident evil you should like this too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HostilioApr 27, 2006
Great movie, yeah is like see some one play the game but i love see play people some games a example is FEAR, seeing is expetacular. I like RE and i like this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkB.Apr 28, 2006
I will give this film a whole point more than it deserves because of some very inventive special effects. Other than that-- despite the protestations of other reviewers-- this is, in fact, "mindless teen fodder." And I'd really like to I will give this film a whole point more than it deserves because of some very inventive special effects. Other than that-- despite the protestations of other reviewers-- this is, in fact, "mindless teen fodder." And I'd really like to know what the hell Sean Bean was thinking before he decided to go slumming it in this incomprehensible dreck. But, I suppose we all have to pay the bills sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanG.Apr 29, 2006
I have an idea, Silent Hill: dialougue tracks taken out. Ambient Masterpeice?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Has a lot of style and good scenes of gore, but it has a bad script and it eventually makes no sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlueFalconMay 18, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised with how true this movie was to the video game (contrary to what a few others might say). Other game based movies often fail at that. Silent Hill doesn't copy the story from the games, but has the same themes. I was pleasantly surprised with how true this movie was to the video game (contrary to what a few others might say). Other game based movies often fail at that. Silent Hill doesn't copy the story from the games, but has the same themes. The main character is helpless, and must bravely face fears in order to help a loved one. There are many mysterious characters whose motives are initially unclear. In the end the story is actually quite involved, if a little far fetched. The movie exceeded my expectations for sure. People familiar with the game will likely appreciate this movie the most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChazG.May 22, 2006
(Positive) Great cinematography & outstanding special effects. (Negative) The storyline was basic and the lead character "Rose" was constantly making decisions in a foolish manner rather than intelligent. Overall the movie was entertaining (Positive) Great cinematography & outstanding special effects. (Negative) The storyline was basic and the lead character "Rose" was constantly making decisions in a foolish manner rather than intelligent. Overall the movie was entertaining and SCARY! Worth the movie ticket if EXTREME violence is not offensive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaymanB.Aug 31, 2006
First off, I can't beleive this movie has up to 432 votes(comments). Is this a record??? I was there first night in the theatres when Silent Hill was released. Big fan of the games, loved the trailer. I liked the movie up to the point First off, I can't beleive this movie has up to 432 votes(comments). Is this a record??? I was there first night in the theatres when Silent Hill was released. Big fan of the games, loved the trailer. I liked the movie up to the point of [***SPOILERS***] the cult scenes. Wasn't expecting that crap to end up in such a spooky movie. I'll buy a used copy of the DVD when avail....I just wish they could cut that crap out. Anyway...good spooky ending...and I hope they re-visit Silent Hill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyT.Feb 16, 2007
Great imagery, great atmosphere, and good acting. . . I think the critics thought "video game adaption=crappy movie" and skipped out on actually watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Special_bFeb 18, 2007
This movie was different and that's why I liked it so much. It had some extremely odd and corny dialogue ("They used to say this town was haunted"), but I didn't feel bored once and even if the basis for the story has been used This movie was different and that's why I liked it so much. It had some extremely odd and corny dialogue ("They used to say this town was haunted"), but I didn't feel bored once and even if the basis for the story has been used several times, I can't recall it ever being handled the way it was in this film. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenR.Mar 23, 2007
I just finished watching this movie, and I have just one question: WTF? I mean, what the heck was that? But I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind sitting with thier eyebrows raised for 2 hours. You know, if David I just finished watching this movie, and I have just one question: WTF? I mean, what the heck was that? But I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind sitting with thier eyebrows raised for 2 hours. You know, if David Lynch had directed this, all the critics would be falling over themselves at how brilliant and atmospheric it is. I totally enjoyed every single scene in this movie, even though I have no idea what most of it means. And usually I hate gory movies, but there was something so stunning and crazy about the violence that I couldn't even hide my eyes. The movie is a visual feast and a visual poem. I am going to buy the DVD tomorrow to see it widescreen and with subtitles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StefanK.Apr 25, 2008
Kafkaesque... There is nothing more you have to say!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MangoP.May 29, 2008
Yet another film that is so brilliant as to expose how utterly irrelevant it's critic's are. The plot is not "confusing", it simply forces you to THINK and not have it spoon fed to you. Bad acting? What bad acting? Are you kidding Yet another film that is so brilliant as to expose how utterly irrelevant it's critic's are. The plot is not "confusing", it simply forces you to THINK and not have it spoon fed to you. Bad acting? What bad acting? Are you kidding me? Look, Enjoy this if you have a mind and an eye for aesthetics. Everyone else, leave this work of brilliance alone. The music, atmosphere, art direction, and acting are peerless, and the plot is excellent with an ending that is at once sad and cathartic. Silent Hill is A Film that is not to be missed by those who can understand how to appreciate it. Minus one point for not being QUITE as scary as it could have been, but still succeeding otherwise on all fronts. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeenanSJun 15, 2009
This is one of my favorite films of all time. When I was the film, I didn't even know it was based on a game franchise. This film was absolutely amazing with its frightening atmosphere, fantastic music, great actors, a good storyline, This is one of my favorite films of all time. When I was the film, I didn't even know it was based on a game franchise. This film was absolutely amazing with its frightening atmosphere, fantastic music, great actors, a good storyline, and just about everything else. Forget what the critics said about this film, it's practically perfect! This film was amazing and is a must-see for any horror fanatics, you'll be blown away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelLDec 22, 2008
The movie didn't stay too accurate to the game, but it did maintain the game's feel. When I first saw the movie I had not played any of the game and it got me to. Movie critics are all idiots. This was a good movie, the only flaw The movie didn't stay too accurate to the game, but it did maintain the game's feel. When I first saw the movie I had not played any of the game and it got me to. Movie critics are all idiots. This was a good movie, the only flaw was the very ending, but it didn't ruin it like the ending of the mist. I was embarrassed to be a king fan when i went to that movie. This definitely is better that the Resident Evil movies. Not disappointing in the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
drlowdonApr 23, 2014
Rose travels to the abandoned town of Silent Hill in search of answers to her daughter's mysterious sleepwalking and, following a traffic accident, the pair are separated resulting in a desperate search through the deserted streets of theRose travels to the abandoned town of Silent Hill in search of answers to her daughter's mysterious sleepwalking and, following a traffic accident, the pair are separated resulting in a desperate search through the deserted streets of the town.

The special effects and CGI are suitably creepy and really evoke the mood of the video games and overall everything is well directed making for some fairly interesting scenes.. Unfortunately however, despite far too much exposition and explaining of back stories, the plot doesn't make much sense and isn't particularly interesting anyway (something which is even more frustrating since the second video game in the series has a pretty decent storyline) meaning parts of Silent Hill can be a bit of a chore to sit through.

Some horror fans may enjoy it but In the end this is yet another example of a video game license being mis-used.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ilovegames32Feb 24, 2013
Wow I'm seven years late for this review but after watching silent hill revelation I must defend this classic by showing(or more accurately)writing this review of the one that started the movies version of this once great video game series.Wow I'm seven years late for this review but after watching silent hill revelation I must defend this classic by showing(or more accurately)writing this review of the one that started the movies version of this once great video game series. First the good: if you love..wait let me re-write this so I'm clear....IF YOU LOVE SILENT HILL(game)YOU.WILL.LOVE.THIS.MOVIE.PERIOD!! Silent hill almost perfectly resembles the first game with the exception of the lead characters gender.While I don't have a problem with this change,some hardcore fans of the series will be disappointed but Rachel(aka rose)does great job as she ventures into purgatory(hell?)to save her daughter the adopted sherry.What this movie does correctly(& better)then silent hill revelation is really helping the audience understand the nature of silent hill,characters and what there willing to go through to save their daughter! Rose(rahda) is commanding as she searches relentlessly for sharin will being relentlessly tormented by the evil that lurks around every corner while her husband(played by sean bean) searches for rose.silent hill makes anyone who ventures there suffer until they are killed or worse..become trapped in the eternal nightmare that is silent hill..this is evident when rose reaches the school and when it changes she runs toward the camera pulling on a gate while screaming her lungs out while looking for an exit or when she see's pyramid head any his legion of killer bugs....an exhausted rose gives in waits for her impending fate only to be saved by cebil! This is silent hill in its entirety....to torment you to the point of submission which revelation had neither. Pyramid head in silent hill is much more menacing in the first movie because he's powerful meant to be feared as he rips the skin off a poor soul throws her still warm flesh into the church but is reduced to a mere body guard in revelation...oh god...silent hill also has good pacing. It took its time with each character even if they were expendable which keep the spirit of the games has a MUCH better version of the occult that lived in silent hill vs revelation as the occult seemed like an unimportant afterthought used as filler to extend the movie.The bad:since i played the first games almost everyday the movie was kinda predictable but thats as bad as it was for me. The ending of silent hill,unlike revelation,was a nightmare come true for the damned soul in silent hill as alessa her evil half gruesomely kills the occult zealots inside the church!!The story,pacing,camera angles,sound most importantly...THE ESSENCE OF THE SILENT HILL GAMES ARE DONE PERFECTLY IN THIS DEFINITIVE VERSION OF SILENT HILL FOR THE BIG SCREEN! Skip revelation not only because this one is better but for the fact that at the end of silent hill the good part of alessa was no longer needed was either returned to alessa or killed by the evil that gave alessa the power to create hell that kept the occult rose in silent hill. End of story 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Mar 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the best movie based on a video game. Silent Hill is a 2006 horror film directed by Christophe Gens. The plot is about Rose De Silve scared that the attacks of sleepwalking daughter decides to take her to the city that this city always in his dreams. While you are heading to the city, have a car accident and wake up Rose can no longer find his daughter in the car and goes to look for her in Silent Hill. The film shows the typical atmosphere of Silent Hill thanks to a very accurate picture, the scenery breathtaking and the famous monsters that I can put the viewer concern and represent Alessa's nightmares. Also good plot and actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TyrionMar 8, 2012
I saw this movie again recently. This is a great horror movie: the acting, direction and storyline are all very convincing, and the flawless blend of make-up effects and CGI helps drag you right into the hell that is Silent Hill. The endingI saw this movie again recently. This is a great horror movie: the acting, direction and storyline are all very convincing, and the flawless blend of make-up effects and CGI helps drag you right into the hell that is Silent Hill. The ending is ambiguous; after watching this movie several times since it was released, I still am not sure whether the main characters are dead and in Hell, or alive, and trapped in an alternate dimension somewhere between here and the Devil's realm. I like that it is not explained, so it makes you think, and wonder.... A dark, beautiful, horrifying vision of what can happen when hatred and true Evil meet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
potatoes351Aug 29, 2012
Silent Hill is the film adaptation of the hit Japanese psychological horror games that spawned the survival horror game phenomena back in the late 90's. Sharon Da Silva sleepwalks and dreams of a place named Silent Hill, her mother Rose isSilent Hill is the film adaptation of the hit Japanese psychological horror games that spawned the survival horror game phenomena back in the late 90's. Sharon Da Silva sleepwalks and dreams of a place named Silent Hill, her mother Rose is determined to find out why this is so decides to take her daughter to the abandoned mining town which was destroyed by a fire many years before. On arrival to the town Rose and a female police officer have a road collision and are now stranded in Silent Hill after the roads that lead to the towns exit are now mysteriously gone. With Sharon gone and the two women trapped in the remains of the most haunted town in America they must uncover the past to both the town and Sharon as well as expose an ancient evil that is slowly regaining power over the town. The film is by no means a great adaptation but it does live up to the Silent Hill name and worthy of a look if you enjoy the games. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeNov 3, 2012
Great game to movie adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ghostface97Mar 10, 2013
Trasposizione cinematografica della celebre saga di survival horror inventata da Konami nel 1999, Silent Hill un film dai moltissimi lati positivi e pochi negativi. Iniziando da questi ultimi si può evidenziare la storia, lunga, articolata,Trasposizione cinematografica della celebre saga di survival horror inventata da Konami nel 1999, Silent Hill un film dai moltissimi lati positivi e pochi negativi. Iniziando da questi ultimi si può evidenziare la storia, lunga, articolata, ricca di false piste, e troppo ingarbugliata che verrà risolta da un lungo monologo finale. Per quanto riguarda gli aspetti positivi se ne possono elencare molti, prima di tutto la fotografia molto bella e adattissima a questo tipo di film, i personaggi: la mamma Rose che fa di tutto per salvare la figlia Sharon legata in modo sinistro alla cittadina della collina silente, Il padre interpretato da un bravo Sean Bean. intento a riportare a casa la moglie e la figlia dalla città maledetta nella quale però lui non riuscirà mai ad accedere dato che rimarrà bloccato nella Silent Hill reale quella dove il sole splende e dove i mostri non esistono. Infine un complimento alla poliziotta che finisce per aiutare pure lei Rose nel suo intento.
La fine poco risolutiva a portato naturalmente a un seguito "Silent hill revelation".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AReviewsJun 19, 2013
Silent Hill is really shocking and disturbing, with lots of scary scenes and cool ideas, the visual effects are astonishing, and the acting is great. Where on earth can this go bad? The plot, the story is original and great but unexplained,Silent Hill is really shocking and disturbing, with lots of scary scenes and cool ideas, the visual effects are astonishing, and the acting is great. Where on earth can this go bad? The plot, the story is original and great but unexplained, it leaves you with a lot of questions that you can't find answers for them anywhere, but does this weak point destroys the movie? No, of coarse not! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DrewbeastNov 15, 2013
The only reason I do not give this film a perfect 10 is for things they changed which didn't make any sense to. (Why change the little girl's name from Cheryl to Sharon? Why not have Sean Bean just be Harry Mason? LoL just minor thingsThe only reason I do not give this film a perfect 10 is for things they changed which didn't make any sense to. (Why change the little girl's name from Cheryl to Sharon? Why not have Sean Bean just be Harry Mason? LoL just minor things though.)

Overall this is truly a great film. I watched it in the theater, bought it on DVD when it came out and now have it on bluray. As a long term fan of the games, I felt the film captured the atmosphere of the games perfectly, and truly had some terrifying moments. The cast is unbelievable, the sets are gorgeous, and, as always, Akira Yamaoka's music drives and supports the terror beautifully. MUST SEE.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
petrolhead1991Jan 20, 2014
Loved this movie, You could tell that the director was a fan of the original game because it stays true to the story as much as possible. Was vague but that is a good thing, it doesn't treat you like you're retarded. The only bad remark I canLoved this movie, You could tell that the director was a fan of the original game because it stays true to the story as much as possible. Was vague but that is a good thing, it doesn't treat you like you're retarded. The only bad remark I can give to the movie is the writing is comparable to modern pop music. Very unoriginal and grammatically wrong. Overall a very good movie that deserved better praise from the press. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
renumathewFeb 12, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1. Of course, its always a good idea to take your child to a place she
has nightmares about.
2. Of course, you should always make a beeline for it wen a cop stops
you from going to said nightmary place (she could've saved you a hell
of a lot of trouble than u cud imagine, but nooo, you have to save your
child by taking her to spooktown....which you have read about in detail
in websites!!)
3. Of course, its a marvelous idea to have a chat with one of the three
witches from Macbeth who looks beyond dead and rotting.
4. Of course, Macwitch has a penchant for quoting inane biblical
phrases.
5. Of course, bust out the chesty lady cop to appeal to the male
demographic.
6. Of course, you should put your hand inside an impossibly twisted
rotting corpse. Ooh, nothing can go wrong there. NOT! (Gosh, leave the
dead and their belongings alone. Its bad enough that they are dead)
7. Of course, the husband gets help from the most unhelpful cop in town
(from the way the cop talks, it looks like he loves puzzles and must
moonlight as a puzzle maker.. And a lousy one at that! Or maybe he's
constipated. Yep, that's it...that's why he talks like that.)
8. At this point, its safe to assume that the mother and daughter are
dead what with the father sniffing out mommy's dang perfume and not
seeing her.
Fun fact= Ideas that the producers thought would make this movie
screwy...er..scary- disabled zombies, paint peeling, mutated bugs
9. Of course, the grim reaper (or whoever that guy who has a short self
esteem and carries a ridiculously big sword to compensate)...yeah, of
course, he has a Toblerone for a head.
10. Of course, by all means let the basket case of a lady accompany
you. She won't be irritating at all, its especially endearing to be
preached at (Hey, newsflash ms.nutty, Moses called, he wanted his lingo
back!)
11. Of course, I fell asleep. (sigh...rewind)
12. Of course,
being holed up with a bunch of Bible thumping freaks who looks as if
they haven't bathed in over a 100 years is always a great idea (I'd go
with Mr.Tobleronehead. At least, that death will b quick)
13. Of course, undertake a quest as proposed by Lady Creeptastic. She must
mean well and care about you.
14. Whoa... McBusty cop dead? (Right at this point, the male
demographic must've left the theater)
15. Of course, more dreary and boring rusty decor (What is this style
called? Urban evil chic?)
16. They've busted out chesty nurse zombies. Of course, the male
demographic are back.
17. Of course, unoriginal flashback bla bla bla shown on old film reels
(You'd think that the dark forces, with all the power they've got
going, would have better quality film reels for flashbacks)
18. Of course, I fell asleep.....again. (Gee, i wonder why?)
19. Of course, the movie's going downhill, so why not add a bucket more of gruesome to
it. Burning a small girl sounds just about right. 20. Whoa! Busty cop's alive? Of course, she is. I mean who wouldn't be, after being whacked on the head with iron pipes. 21. Of course, she's alive only to be burned in the next shot. (Note to producer- stop yo-yoing, **** and make a decision) 22. God, this movie's laaaaame. Kill me now. 23. Dayyum... Mother got sucker punched. Niiice. Of course, she needed that, what with all the bloody useless running around and putting hands in dead ppl and **** 24. Of course, trying to talk sense into a group of fanatics is always a good idea. Sure, they'll listen to u and change their beliefs. 25. This evil entity likes to peel paint. 26. Of course, kill Lady Creeptastic with an unoriginal rectal cleaving and the others with fence wires. 27. Of course, the mother and daughter were dead. U gave that away in the first part itself, moron.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Iluvatar21Apr 22, 2014
The director doesn't know **** about horror, I am afraid. The movie was a disaster & shamed the SH franchise. True horror is not about scaring you but masterfully messing with you - something you can appreciate than being throw waves ofThe director doesn't know **** about horror, I am afraid. The movie was a disaster & shamed the SH franchise. True horror is not about scaring you but masterfully messing with you - something you can appreciate than being throw waves of monsters and expecting to have a good time. Said very simply: true horror deals with human nature, not the monsters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeOct 26, 2014
The movie is full of good special effects and he's pretty much like the .I can honestly say i enjoyed from the first minute to the last and that's probably because of the amazing actors performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BernanHandeiroApr 20, 2014
Seriously! the critics reviews are negative? camon, seriously?
- the movie has a good message (ignorance of the people and their blindness to the unknown and all that is different)
- the plot is good - the CGI are not bad to 2006 - this
Seriously! the critics reviews are negative? camon, seriously?
- the movie has a good message (ignorance of the people and their blindness to the unknown and all that is different)
- the plot is good
- the CGI are not bad to 2006
- this movie is one of the few who has that touch of horror
- this movie is one of the few who make me cry!
- and camon! the crew are good too! Sean Bean doesn't die!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
All right, I'm getting really surprised around here, and disappointed - very disappointed - how can the critics don't like the movie? I mean, are they blind? Or they just like to act stupid? Silent Hill is THE movie, one of the movies that isAll right, I'm getting really surprised around here, and disappointed - very disappointed - how can the critics don't like the movie? I mean, are they blind? Or they just like to act stupid? Silent Hill is THE movie, one of the movies that is pure horror. And they show the reason everything started. The movie also criticizes the society, how people are so horrible. This movie is something more than awesome! The storyline makes sense, the cast is too good, the effects are really good. There are some really intense scenes that are totally worth it! And the creatures? It's just the best movie ever! And it is really emotional too, at least for me. It made me cry.. not only because of Cybil, but because the world we live in is too sad... Thank God the users see this movie with the potential that it really has. But the critics? sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
HaithamBSep 8, 2014
Silent Hill is a very atmospheric movie that does not entirely live up to the epic video games. It is disturbing, it is frightening at times but it is dull and an overlong experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CPD98Nov 27, 2014
Aburrida y sin tensión, otra película floja sobre videojuegos que, no se como, logra gustar a algunos. Todo es una sucesión de chorradas que no asustan nunca, es una pérdida de tiempo, pese que la atmósfera se parezca a la del juego.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Feb 17, 2015
I've never played the games, and I probably won't, but I was surprised by how much I liked the movie. It was kinda episodic because it's based on a video game, but I thought the movie was really scary and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlejoSierraNov 25, 2014
This is a good horror movie, the tension of this movie is very impressive, i don't have any jump scare, but it have a scary and macabre parts that makes this a good horror movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JonNajemNov 3, 2017
An admittedly slow build, becomes some of the most intriguing movies I have ever seen. An Intense Psychological Horror - Thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat without insulting your intelligence by explaining everything to death inAn admittedly slow build, becomes some of the most intriguing movies I have ever seen. An Intense Psychological Horror - Thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat without insulting your intelligence by explaining everything to death in the first half of the movie. It's simply one of, if not the best, video game adaptation to film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rehmedies97Oct 7, 2016
Out of all the films based on videogames, this film to me ranks as the absolute best so far. The film manages to fully emulate atmosphere and visuals of the games absolutely flawlessly. Not to mention the fact that it utilizes the majority ofOut of all the films based on videogames, this film to me ranks as the absolute best so far. The film manages to fully emulate atmosphere and visuals of the games absolutely flawlessly. Not to mention the fact that it utilizes the majority of the music from the first four games as well, which works extraordinarily well in film's favor. The story may be difficult to follow for some unfamiliar with plot of the first game (which it suprising follows very faithfully), but I was able to fully comprehend it. The runtime was perfectly reasonable. Not all horror films require a runtime of only ninety minutes so, nor do they require jumpscares. The acting was good, and the dialogue while slighly stilted, did not significantally impede on the film's quality for me. However this film is not for the faint of heart, for it's nightmarish imagery and brutal violence may be a bit too much for some viewers. But all things considered, this not only favorite videogame movie but also quite possibly my favorite horror movie of the 2000's. Overall 84/100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WeeverManJun 23, 2015
I don't understand all of the negative criticism. This movie was surprisingly well done and followed silent hill ALMOST TO THE MARK. There were some changes that may turn some people off but they were so minuscule that it's not entirelyI don't understand all of the negative criticism. This movie was surprisingly well done and followed silent hill ALMOST TO THE MARK. There were some changes that may turn some people off but they were so minuscule that it's not entirely understandable. The Special effects were good and the movie was a scary and impressive adaption. Id give this movie a look if you're either a fan of silent hill or horror movies in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoDec 24, 2015
"Silent Hill " was a very scary movie , but almost unexciting , but do not say anything to others, projects at least in script and chilling soundtrack was almost in the attempt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xAndrewxOct 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great,its not really based in the games but it still great,good dark and scary ambient,and awesome monsters look and the pyramid head appearances are really awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DvdGOct 31, 2015
The atmosphere is what Silent Hill is about, which they nailed with this movie. I love this movie for what it is and seeing all of these ''Critic Reviews'' giving this movie **** for what it is not is very depressing. Silent Hill isn't aboutThe atmosphere is what Silent Hill is about, which they nailed with this movie. I love this movie for what it is and seeing all of these ''Critic Reviews'' giving this movie **** for what it is not is very depressing. Silent Hill isn't about jump scares or an incredibly fleshed out story, so why give it an awful score because it lacks those things? I.E. the ''Critic Reviews'' are useless in this particular case, if you are a fan of Silent Hill, you'll at the very least enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
The problem with "Silent Hill" is that it lacks balance. Some parts of the film are over-explained while others leave you in a constant "What the f***". Some parts are just too creepy and shocking, while others get a little boring. Some partsThe problem with "Silent Hill" is that it lacks balance. Some parts of the film are over-explained while others leave you in a constant "What the f***". Some parts are just too creepy and shocking, while others get a little boring. Some parts are taken right out of the film, while others seemed added for no good reason. Some acting is very good, while other is very questionable.

This lack of balance is enough to make many people disinterested in the film. Either they think it's too confusing, too gory, too different from the game, too slow, etc.

Although IMO his "Brotherhood of the Wolf" was most definitely a better film, Gans definitely managed to provide something the Silver Screen hasn't seen in a long time : a dark and genuinely creepy Gothic environment with a Clive Barker sense of aesthetics. Too bad the "darkness" had only so little presence in this film, although I guess they had to make it fairly short to make it even remotely possible to survive in there.

In spite of its many flaws, however, I can say I really loved seeing "Silent Hill". It's definitely refreshing after seeing all those cliché American horror films or typical Japanese gore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
perkjlJan 8, 2016
Fans of the games will notice some major plot differences, but out of all the video game-to movie adaptions I'd say Silent Hill is the only film that heavily borrows elements from the games. Primarily from Silent Hill1-3 on Sony's PlayStationFans of the games will notice some major plot differences, but out of all the video game-to movie adaptions I'd say Silent Hill is the only film that heavily borrows elements from the games. Primarily from Silent Hill1-3 on Sony's PlayStation & PS2. To be honest, this is probably better than the film adaptions of Resident Evil and Tomb Raider. Whereas the Resident Evil film felt a bit more sci-fi- Silent Hill really relies on horror. Also, the music was very well done. Sometimes the acting is pretty bad, but overall better than the Resident Evil film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YurchikFeb 21, 2017
I like this film. This is the first horror movie that really kept me in suspense the whole visual inspection! I'll watch it a few times. And the second part I did not like!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SilentHillJamesJun 13, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm gonna be harsh on this because I love the first 3 games, and people are saying this movie follows the story of the game. Well I'm an expert on Silent Hil, and I'm telling you right now, this movie doesn't even come close to the story of the game. It's not even interesting. There's a few interesting visuals and like half of the movie is boring. The story of Silent Hill in the game is about a cult that lives in Silent Hill and they are trying to birth a demon god through one of the members psychic daughter, Alessa. The movie has nothing to do with this. Alessa is good and in the movie they made her the villain? What? They also made Alessa an evil girl who just wants to torture people and kill them. Trust me, if you want to see this movie because you like the games, you will be very disappointed. If you want to see this movie because you think it's good, it's not. Ignoring the source material for this movie, it's just boring and uninteresting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
voxottoAug 15, 2016
silent hill, It's the film where the plot is scarier than the movie itself. The cgi fell a little short and it all looked like a ps2/3 game. Especially when there is a lot of gore, that is really hard to fake with cgi and just made me laughsilent hill, It's the film where the plot is scarier than the movie itself. The cgi fell a little short and it all looked like a ps2/3 game. Especially when there is a lot of gore, that is really hard to fake with cgi and just made me laugh rather than be scared! Also there is no reason the movie had to be 2 hours long, it could have been wrapped up in 1 h 30 min,
In the end, if you liked the game then you are probably going to like the movie, if you haven't played the game or didn't like it, then the movie is meh, it really needs your imagination to help with the movie, it isn't naturally that terrifying.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DenathornDec 22, 2016
My favorite horror movie of all time. Critics don't know **** from their own asses when it comes to good horror. With Silent hill, it's not about amazing acting, or a killer story. It's about the world - the chilling atmosphere theMy favorite horror movie of all time. Critics don't know **** from their own asses when it comes to good horror. With Silent hill, it's not about amazing acting, or a killer story. It's about the world - the chilling atmosphere the director is able to create. The critics need to stop judging the movies because of the origination of a video game. This is an amazing movie, definitely worth watching, buying, and keeping on your "favorites" shelf! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
weskergamerApr 17, 2017
Es una buena pelicula. No es una pelicula de grandes sustos pero si de una atmosfera q asusta solo con verla. Uno de sus principales problemas es q es muy lenta y dura 2 horas q parecen una eternidad. Igual la pelicula esta vagamente basadoEs una buena pelicula. No es una pelicula de grandes sustos pero si de una atmosfera q asusta solo con verla. Uno de sus principales problemas es q es muy lenta y dura 2 horas q parecen una eternidad. Igual la pelicula esta vagamente basado en el videojuego original pero mantiene algunas cosas especiales q lo hacen buena Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ByYuxiSsMar 13, 2017
We users if we know appreciate a good movie of a great saga of video games as can be silent hill.
For my opinion is very well based on video games with many scares and an atmosphere more than gloomy and not to mention the music is great and
We users if we know appreciate a good movie of a great saga of video games as can be silent hill.
For my opinion is very well based on video games with many scares and an atmosphere more than gloomy and not to mention the music is great and excellent.

For my opinion is the best horror movies ever created 9/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KelvinSelimorNov 11, 2017
Silent Hill. A horror film based on the famous Silent Hill series, which I did not play. The film itself is not to say that terrible, but look at one go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews