Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Famous scientists around the world have mysteriously disappeared, and reporter Polly Perkins (Paltrow) along with ace aviator Sky Captain (Law) are on the investigation. Risking their lives as they travel to exotic places around the world, can the fearless duo stop Dr. Totenkopf, the evilFamous scientists around the world have mysteriously disappeared, and reporter Polly Perkins (Paltrow) along with ace aviator Sky Captain (Law) are on the investigation. Risking their lives as they travel to exotic places around the world, can the fearless duo stop Dr. Totenkopf, the evil mastermind behind a plot to destroy the earth? Aided by Frankie Cook (Jolie), commander of an all-female amphibious squadron, and technical genius Dex (Ribisi), Polly and Sky Captain may be our planet's only hope. (Paramount) Expand
  • Director: Kerry Conran
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Mystery, Thriller
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 106 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. 100
    In its heedless energy and joy, it reminded me of how I felt the first time I saw "Raiders of the Lost Ark." It's like a film that escaped from the imagination directly onto the screen, without having to pass through reality along the way.
  2. 89
    Everything here from costuming and production design to the note-perfect score from Edward Shearmur works in tandem to create not so much a film as a singular and joyous tribute to a vanished age when wonder only cost a nickel and played three time daily at the Bijou.
  3. Gloriously retro, unashamedly celebratory of the joy of moviemaking and the love of old-fashioned heroism.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Park
    70
    Conran takes the ghosts in his machine seriously, and the results appear at once meltingly lovely and intriguingly inhuman.
  5. Missing beneath its fabulous surface, however, is anything like a beating heart.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    50
    Worse, the story is so thin and clichéd, it seems as if a computer wrote the screenplay and a robot directed it.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 93
  2. Negative: 38 out of 93
  1. Alistair
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    I love this movie. I have to admit it's main appeal is visual with the wonderful sci-fi deco retro design. The opening sequences with I love this movie. I have to admit it's main appeal is visual with the wonderful sci-fi deco retro design. The opening sequences with the berthing of the Hindenberg in the snow are beautiful. The scatter-gun plot captures the feel of classic 30s/40s movie serials (the same ground that Star Wars mined so successfully) well. Sure its a bit silly but it's a great achievement. This is the way of the futrure: marries the capabilities of CGI with human actors. Collapse
  2. DonH.
    Nov 21, 2005
    8
    A wonderful tribute to the early sci-fi serials and movies. It
  3. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow: 8/10: It was King Kong that made me fall in love with the movie. He doesn't appear himself (unlike ringSky Captain and the World of Tomorrow: 8/10: It was King Kong that made me fall in love with the movie. He doesn't appear himself (unlike ring mate Godzilla who cameos in silhouette in a Japanese newspaper.) but his ship and friends are there and his tree is there. You know the moss covered tree that covers the impossibly deep chasm. To one he uses to fling helpless sailors to there death like some kind of lumberjack games blood sport. There the tree is in glorious color just as I left it in the imagination of my seven-year old self.

    I was enjoying myself up to that point mind you I had for one thing decided that this was an Anime rather than a regular film. (The giant robots make this illusion much more palatable as did an annoying performance by Miss Paltrow. In anime the female characters are almost always whining up a storm.) This allowed all the plot holes creative use of color and scientific flubs to fall by the wayside. I just sat back and enjoyed the ride.

    Of note much has been made of the use of CGI but lets face it. It is simply easier to put CGI effects on an artificial background rather than place them in photo-realistic settings like the snakes of Anaconda: The Hunt for the Blood Orchid or the wolves in Day after Tomorrow have proved most recently.

    Sure Sky Captain is far from perfect (an actual villain would have helped and been more in line with the serials it was emulating), but try telling that to the seven year old in me that kept saying "cool what's next".
    Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    5
    There's plenty to applaud Sky Captain for; the visual design is unique and it doesn't feel as though it's been put through a rigorous testThere's plenty to applaud Sky Captain for; the visual design is unique and it doesn't feel as though it's been put through a rigorous test audience mill but it's incredibly dull. Best taken for what it is: an ode to pre-war serials. Expand
  5. Abby
    Jul 1, 2007
    3
    When I saw this movie I almost died of bordem. If you have insomnia I would recommend this movie to cure it.
  6. LedleyK.
    Sep 27, 2004
    3
    Thank you guys for giving this movie a 3. It was an abination yes, not not a total abomination. But I cant get pass the abomination part. Thank you guys for giving this movie a 3. It was an abination yes, not not a total abomination. But I cant get pass the abomination part. Paltrow was sooooooo annoying. I just hated every single word that came out of her mouth, and the Movie is sooo Generic and so lifeless, you never care about the characters, you never wonder if they are in danger or not. In the first scene when they were being chased by the bat planes, they were having a good time and making a joke of it. Those guys arent even afraid of Giant robots. When Jude law ran over to that robot and pushed it down after shooting it in the leg. I spit out my sprite. I mean, how the hell could he do that. It was so fricken comical it wasnt even funny. Anyway, Somebody here mentioned to see the Indiana Jones movies again. Please do that instead of watching this. Expand
  7. LomaxHunter
    Mar 6, 2006
    0
    May be the single worst entertainment product I have ever witnessed. Shame on everyone involved.

See all 93 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Angelina Jolie: All Films Considered

    Angelina Jolie: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 21, 2010
    While the star of this week's "Salt" might be one of Hollywood's best-known actors, her filmography is surprisingly short on quality movies. We look at the best and worst films of her career so far.