Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 12 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Nov 12, 2010
    38
    Their (The Brothers Strause) effects are pretty good, on a fairly limited budget. And that's about all you can say for Skyline.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Nov 17, 2010
    30
    Visual-effects wizards Greg and Colin Strause directed, showing more affinity for the city's steel and glass than for any of the characters.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Nov 12, 2010
    30
    Some obvious comparables for Skyline are "Independence Day" and Steven Spielberg's "War of the Worlds," but there is nothing here that even approaches the comic-book verve of the first or the churning dread of the second.
  4. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    Nov 12, 2010
    30
    Beyond the dazzling "first contact" sequences seen in the trailers, Skyline is a spasmodic and incoherent shambles hampered by an astoundingly stupid screenplay.
  5. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Nov 13, 2010
    25
    The Strauses don't care about how to keep an audience. Their movie has no sense of suspense or dread - Skyline is an apocalypse movie that plods like one of Romero's zombies.
  6. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Nov 12, 2010
    25
    So intent are the Strausses on showing off their visual chops, they leave the film's story, dialogue and acting in shambles.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Nov 12, 2010
    25
    Skyline plays like an effects guru's resume reel, not a movie.
  8. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Nov 12, 2010
    20
    Skyline is a piece of junk, even in a movie climate littered with expensive - though sometimes fun - junkiness.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Nov 12, 2010
    20
    It's finally here: The most boring alien-invasion movie ever.
  10. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Nov 12, 2010
    20
    So bland it's easy to forget the title only minutes after exiting, this Emmerich-by-numbers invasion movie exists only to offer you the cutting edge in unconvincing special effects.
  11. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 15, 2010
    12
    Just plain bad. Boring. Unwatchable.
  12. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Nov 17, 2010
    11
    I'd use the term science fiction to describe Skyline but the movie decidedly lacks both science and fiction.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 116
  2. Negative: 70 out of 116
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    3
    A big disappointment, yet I think some are taking this too harsh. I agree with fbcking stating the first trailer had no relevance to the film. This is a cliched sci fi film with a terrible plot, and terrible acting to put the cherry on top. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    5
    Random, boring at times, poor casting, and poor screenplay. Basically it was just special effects that made the movie even bearable until the end. The ending if anything was the only thing to actually grab my attention. The movie does not deserve a '1' nor does it deserve anything higher than a '5'. If they had played the movie out like it was in the end from the beginning it may have been good...Somewhat 'District 9'-ish with 'War Of The Worlds'. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2011
    4
    What can I say, 9 for the trailer and 4 for the movie. I have to give the intriguing trailer a big round of applause. If you have seen the trailer before, I can guarantee you will be so bloody curious to watch the movie itself (exactly what happened to CLASH OF THE TITANS earlier thiz year). They were editing the trailer so well. But the fact is: Something so wrong is going on. Next Thing I can say, A-Class Special Effects collide with C-Class Actors. The movie directed by Special Effects experts, Colin and Greg Strause, who also directed AVPR: ALIENS VS. PREDATOR-REQUIEM: (2007). The premise is mysterious at the beginning, one night at 4:27 A.M. strange blue beams appear on the City of Los Angeles. It is the first initial of the extraterrestrial invasion. The storyline only follows one point of view (just like CLOVERFIELD, 2008), the movie focuses on a group of certain people and what happens next to them. They are Eric Balfour, Scottie Thompson, Donald Faison, David Zayas and others. There is a scene that I think it is a rip-off from WAR OF THE WORLDS (2005), when Terry meets a stranger and the alien is sneaking around to hunt them furtively with its long and creepy tentacles. The last thing I can say, The Sky is wreck and The Line is flat. Approaching the end of the movie, the story-telling is getting more and more poignantly absurd. For example (Spoiler Alert!), the octopus look-alike alien which could chase and destroy jet aircraft and even sophisticated Stealth fighter jet, can be defeated by bare-hand and an axe. Strause brothers are really getting on my nerves, while they underestimate our intelligence with their absurd story. There are several of them. However there is something that maybe you wont realize. Everyone and most critics thought that thiz movie was a monstrous failure, but what you did not realize that thiz movie made with budget of ONLY $10 million (estimated). To be certain, they made up some real money here. The tagline on thiz movie is: Do not look up, well, do not even look at the film itself. Next time if aliens invade the theaters like thiz again, I would rather go home and sleep on my bed. Do not waste 92 minutes of your life.



    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Full Review »