Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 29, 2012
    88
    I like this movie. More important, I like Mike Birbiglia in it. Whether he has a future in stand-up I cannot say, but he has a future as a monologist and actor.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Aug 23, 2012
    60
    Birbiglia is a great storyteller, but not a natural actor. Matt should really be played by someone with more skill - and by someone in his 20s, rather than a 33-year-old who pretends to be in his 20s by acting as clueless as possible.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Aug 23, 2012
    70
    These episodes, some staged as surreal dream sequences, inject this otherwise prosaic-looking movie with a visual pizazz that makes Sleepwalk With Me more than just a glorified stand-up act.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 22, 2012
    91
    Lauren Ambrose is lovely as the girlfriend he's a fool to lose but seems intent on losing anyhow.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 1, 2012
    88
    A dream for fans of offbeat, well-written, subtly acted projects.
  6. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Aug 30, 2012
    50
    Birbiglia, who's from Shrewsbury, has done some wonderful things with awkwardness. I'm sad to report that Sleepwalk With Me isn't one of them.
  7. 70
    Moment to moment, Sleepwalk With Me is smooth and very entertaining, but it's arrested somewhere between fiction and autobiography.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 1, 2012
    75
    With a refreshing lack of fake glamour, the film captures what it's like to be an initially unpromising comedian on the road.
  9. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Aug 30, 2012
    75
    With warmth, unsparing self-awareness and that ineffable Everyman appeal sometimes called "relatability," Birbiglia proves to be as engaging a presence on the screen as he has been all these years onstage and over the radio waves.
  10. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Aug 11, 2012
    75
    As charming as it is winningly modest, but it's so incredibly slight a stiff wind would knock it into a different hemisphere.
  11. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Aug 27, 2012
    70
    Sleepwalk is oddly soothing, like a cup of camomile tea before bedtime.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Sep 14, 2012
    75
    Notwithstanding its storytelling stumbles, Sleepwalk With Me points in a positive direction for this likable comedian's career.
  13. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Aug 29, 2012
    67
    Sleepwalk With Me is never anything less than awfully likable. But I so wanted it to be more.
  14. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Aug 21, 2012
    80
    It's a comedy about the unchecked id; indeed, there's sleepwalking in it. But will those grunting strolls happen through a second-story window or on the highway? You're left cringing, and that puts Birbiglia in excellent company, alone though he might be in bed.
  15. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 7, 2012
    40
    Sleepwalk With Me is a decent film -- even if its not one that lingers.
  16. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Sep 1, 2012
    70
    Having seen the show on stage, I wondered if Birbiglia could morph the ideas into an equally funny movie. He hasn't quite, but he's come pretty close.
  17. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Aug 11, 2012
    83
    Sleepwalk With Me calls to mind Judd Apatow's "Funny People" for its focus on the eccentric, obsessive nature of the wannabe comic's mind.
  18. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 17, 2012
    100
    I've watched Sleepwalk With Me twice now, each time impressed with Birbiglia's confidence in revealing so much about his craft and himself, and the freely associated style with which he does it.
  19. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Aug 30, 2012
    75
    It all adds up to a fine, funny exercise in disheveled self-deprecation: a self-portrait of a guy who can't control a major portion of his life. Which, when you get right down to it, could describe almost any of us.
  20. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 31, 2012
    70
    Sleepwalk With Me makes the subject palatable, funny and maybe even touching.
  21. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Aug 23, 2012
    75
    Fans of Birbiglia should be easily entertained, and with a little luck, it will only earn this particular loveable neurotic a few more of those.
  22. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Aug 30, 2012
    80
    The perfect movie for fans of "The Daily Show" who actually stick around for the second-half interview. A cinematic memoir based on the one-man show by Mike Birbiglia, it is the aesthetic intersection of Comedy Central and public radio.
  23. Reviewed by: Drew Grant
    Aug 27, 2012
    88
    Laugh-out-loud funny and somewhat melancholic.
  24. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Aug 23, 2012
    75
    It's a tribute to Birbiglia's storytelling chops that the most engaging part of the film is when he's talking directly to the camera. The fleshed-out story, with its first-rate cast, almost feels like gilding the lily.
  25. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Aug 21, 2012
    50
    [Rides] a weird tonal line, maybe aiming to split the difference between comedy and terror but coming off as afraid to really go for it on either.
  26. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 21, 2012
    63
    The funny thing about the movie isn't its failure-to-launch humor, but the weird mess of life that rushes in despite it.
  27. Reviewed by: Duane Byrge
    Aug 11, 2012
    70
    Much of the best comedy derives from personal pain, and comic turned filmmaker Mike Birbiglia deftly transposes his stand-up routine to the big screen.
  28. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Aug 11, 2012
    70
    An endearing indie feature about the day-to-day indecisions and nocturnal perambulations of a commitment-phobic New Yorker.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    1
    Huh? This guy bored me to distraction. Never did get the point of him, or the movie. Just a "story" about a bumbling, mumbling, talentlessHuh? This guy bored me to distraction. Never did get the point of him, or the movie. Just a "story" about a bumbling, mumbling, talentless (at least as a comic) dullard making poor career and life choices. Who cares? Go to any shopping mall, government job site, public school faculty lounge, or bar and you'll be surrounded by similar decrepit, self-absorbed losers. No one wants to see a movie of their lives, for good reason. The only redeeming aspect was the female lead, who finally came to her senses and got out of the relationship. She summed him up nicely at the end by stating (paraphrasing) that she stayed in the relationship for so long only because she felt sorry for him. Pathetic. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    This was so bad I had to walk out. Not funny. I liked Mike Brigligiailiailiailiaa. But now I don't. Awful. His stuttering through stuff was miserable.
  3. Oct 4, 2014
    8
    O filme eh muito bom. E da maneira como foi contada, de um ponto de vista diferente e uma historia bem irreverente, faz com que ele seja aindaO filme eh muito bom. E da maneira como foi contada, de um ponto de vista diferente e uma historia bem irreverente, faz com que ele seja ainda mais surpreendente. Aposto que qualquer um irĂ¡ gostar do filme. Full Review »