Miramax Films | Release Date: November 27, 1996
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 84 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
4
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SpangleJun 20, 2015
I reckon this is a fantastic film. Billy Bob Thornton is impeccable in the lead role here and it is truly a performance that makes me sit there and wonder if I had him all wrong all this time. Maybe he is a great actor. He is also quite theI reckon this is a fantastic film. Billy Bob Thornton is impeccable in the lead role here and it is truly a performance that makes me sit there and wonder if I had him all wrong all this time. Maybe he is a great actor. He is also quite the talent as a director and writer as this one is beautifully scripted and paced to perfection. His performance as the mentally slow Karl stands tall though as the best thing about this film, though the performances of everyone else here are also top-of-the-line. The characters are perfectly put together and their relationships feels entirely authentic. The film also feels incredibly Southern, which gives it a great authenticity on that front. A touching, well made, and at times thrilling film, Sling Blade is predictable at times and if you do not figure out how this one will end, you need to rewind and watch it again because you are not paying close enough attention. Yet, in spite of that, it is still a great film featuring an absolutely impeccable performance from Thornton as he proves his ability as an actor, director, and writer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Featuring (quite possibly) Billy Bob Thornton's best performance in a film, "Sling Blade" is a simple, yet emotive drama with as much humor as it has heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticJan 1, 2015
It will probably go down in film history as Thorton's magnum opus. He is immediately convincing and captivating as Karl, one of the most complex characters I've ever seen in a film, which is ironic to the utmost extent. The script is simpleIt will probably go down in film history as Thorton's magnum opus. He is immediately convincing and captivating as Karl, one of the most complex characters I've ever seen in a film, which is ironic to the utmost extent. The script is simple but powerful, nevertheless. And the supporting cast, Lucas Black, John Ritter, and a masterful Dwight Yoakam, is absolutely phenomenal. There are a lack of suitable hyperboles to describe simply the talent in Sling Blade, in acting, writing, and directing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Apr 8, 2014
This film manages to be beautiful and dark all at the same time. Although it's very intense in places and really puts you on edge with heightened emotion and great acting, it leaves you feeling warm and with a refreshed love of humanity.This film manages to be beautiful and dark all at the same time. Although it's very intense in places and really puts you on edge with heightened emotion and great acting, it leaves you feeling warm and with a refreshed love of humanity. Thornton's performance is so hauntingly amazing that you hardly even recognise him as Carl. His entire body and persona becomes transformed, more so than any other actor playing any part I've seen. The young Lucas Black gives a phenomenal performance as Frank as well. He's just so natural. I really can't praise this film enough. Thornton is a genius in my eyes and it's perfectly clear how he managed to bag himself Angelina Jolie at one point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyJan 11, 2013
I had a few little problems with Sling Blade, and I thought there were one or two highly unnecessary scenes and characters. But that is not even close to enough to make me give this a bad review. Billy Bob is movie magic here. His captivatingI had a few little problems with Sling Blade, and I thought there were one or two highly unnecessary scenes and characters. But that is not even close to enough to make me give this a bad review. Billy Bob is movie magic here. His captivating performance of one of the most well-developed characters in movie history is something that I couldn't take my eyes off of. As a kind-spirited, mentally handicapped wanderer with seemingly no emotional response to murdering...Karl is a special feat of film making. I feel like if I said more I would spoil it. So I won't Great movie... although I do feel that it could have been a little more badass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ugisupriatnaMay 4, 2014
Billy Bob Thornton succesfully makes himself a centre of this film : a director, a screenwriter and a leading role, but you will clearly remember one of those, an extraordinary performance. A tagline : "Sometimes a hero comes from the mostBilly Bob Thornton succesfully makes himself a centre of this film : a director, a screenwriter and a leading role, but you will clearly remember one of those, an extraordinary performance. A tagline : "Sometimes a hero comes from the most unlikely place." may has a different point of view, beautiful and dark come up, but it's nothing to do to this film. This film makes Southern storytelling / drama genre more powerful and stronger. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ECantonaDec 23, 2013
This movie made me think about different starting points we have. How we break some chains and how do we act in different circumstances. Movie had it's darker elements and it's up-lifters which were directed plausible. Billy Bob Thornton didThis movie made me think about different starting points we have. How we break some chains and how do we act in different circumstances. Movie had it's darker elements and it's up-lifters which were directed plausible. Billy Bob Thornton did a fantastic job. A very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rmedwayAug 24, 2013
A masterful script. Outstanding acting Thorton is spellbinding in the lead role. His opening scene is without doubt the best I've seen.This is storytelling at its finest and directed with confidence, conviction and ease. Light and shade,A masterful script. Outstanding acting Thorton is spellbinding in the lead role. His opening scene is without doubt the best I've seen.This is storytelling at its finest and directed with confidence, conviction and ease. Light and shade, humour and a fierce undercurrent of tension. To every film fan watch it now! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarcD.Apr 3, 2001
One of the top 3 films of the last 10 years. Billy Bob's acting and direction are phenomenal. The music also makes this film. Daniel Lanois should have been recognized at Oscar time for this beautiful score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WiggyManDec 22, 2005
Amazing performances, great story. Billy Bob is a freak of the highest proportions :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitaP.Jan 30, 2006
Great film. Moving, intelligent and engaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvonneH.Aug 20, 2006
This is a story that while calmly told has you on the edge of your seat because you know it's going to have blast of an ending. Well written, great acting. It is so true to life it seems to be based on a true story. Billy Bob and the This is a story that while calmly told has you on the edge of your seat because you know it's going to have blast of an ending. Well written, great acting. It is so true to life it seems to be based on a true story. Billy Bob and the little boy's acting were amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottWAug 3, 2007
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen in my life, and I am 51! It stirred every single emotion I have. Everything about it was superb! It baffles me that this movie has not made any TOP lists that I have seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Dec 2, 2001
Thornton gives one of the best screen performances of all-time. The film flows like a running stream in the sense it doesn't really start anywhere, and it doesn't really end anywhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachimB.Dec 4, 2002
Terrific: beautiful story, acting, cinematography, score. Everything comes together. Thornton appears to dwell within an artless man whose vision and heart function at the level of the heroic. The supporting cast- all of them, even the guy Terrific: beautiful story, acting, cinematography, score. Everything comes together. Thornton appears to dwell within an artless man whose vision and heart function at the level of the heroic. The supporting cast- all of them, even the guy from F Troop - are unhammily convincing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanR.Jun 12, 2002
One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Thorton's preformance was top notch. It's one of those movie that a person can quote and have fun with. "I like the way you talk boy."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonnieS.Oct 7, 2003
I love this movie, it was one one the best John Ritter films I've seen, next to Skin Deep. I was just stuned by his versatility in a roll of this nature. After seeing this no one can say he's just a comedy gut.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
YoonC.Sep 21, 2003
Fine debut by Thorton. The plot element resembles a dark, dysfuctional reworking of Shane. Especially noteworthy is its offering of finely drawn characters instead of easily dismissible stereotpyes. Many heartfelt moments sidestep Fine debut by Thorton. The plot element resembles a dark, dysfuctional reworking of Shane. Especially noteworthy is its offering of finely drawn characters instead of easily dismissible stereotpyes. Many heartfelt moments sidestep sentimentality and earn our sympathy without tugging our heartstrings. Thorton's performance is tour-de-force and the movie gradually builds up to a shocking, but perhaps, inevitable, climax. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeslieB.Nov 4, 2004
This movie is an all time favorite! I have watched this at least 20 times!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbertK.Jan 28, 2004
Beeeeautiful!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekC.Sep 13, 2004
It's got gully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HawkJan 30, 2005
This movie is one of the best movies ever made it is a real life movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
charliew.Mar 18, 2005
Amazing! I've watched it twice in one week.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VickyJ.Apr 26, 2005
My all time fav cult-following film ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shaarone.May 5, 2005
I just watched for the first time. One of the best films ever! How in the world Tom Hanks won an oscar for Forrest Gump, and Thorton only nominated is beyond me. Outstanding script, storyliine, acting and directing. I didnt even know John I just watched for the first time. One of the best films ever! How in the world Tom Hanks won an oscar for Forrest Gump, and Thorton only nominated is beyond me. Outstanding script, storyliine, acting and directing. I didnt even know John Ritter was in the movie until the close up where Karl is saying goodbye. The person who gave the 6 rating is one of those who rejects a film if it doesnt meet their real life expectations. Just learn to enjoy the movie and not over psycho analyze. Plus you'll live longer! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RoW.Jun 5, 2005
Excellent movie, very gripping, took me a day after watching it to realize the clever way Karl got back to the Instution he wanted to be back to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zachm.Jun 6, 2005
Outstanding movie... every aspect of screen play covered... acting and writing superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MsGDec 24, 2006
As a mental health professional, Billy Bob's portrayal was excellent and moving. This story is all too common and realistic about people in psychiatric hospitals, from Karl's character to the sadistic rapist in the hospital to As a mental health professional, Billy Bob's portrayal was excellent and moving. This story is all too common and realistic about people in psychiatric hospitals, from Karl's character to the sadistic rapist in the hospital to Doyle's drunken abusiveness. Excellent portrayal of too common a life for many. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StivenB.Feb 12, 2007
Awesome and powwerful movie. Billy Bob's portrayal and character is moving and extremely believable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenF.Feb 10, 2008
Absolutely amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GlennG.Dec 3, 2001
It's somewhat unbelievable that a person paid in hard currency to write about film could make some of the media-based comments made in this file...this film offers some small insight into what the concept of redemption is about, in It's somewhat unbelievable that a person paid in hard currency to write about film could make some of the media-based comments made in this file...this film offers some small insight into what the concept of redemption is about, in combination with good character study. The weakest acting performance in the film belongs to Yoakum. sorry to say. Any person who watches this movie must make a decision about the difference between good and evil and how each of us chooses to PERCEIVE that difference. Those not willing to devote the time or mental energy necessary to that enterprise would be better off taking a nap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Apr 16, 2003
Best movie I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
J.RyanG.May 29, 2005
Almost accomplishes on film what the stage version would have done much better. As a stage performance, our eyes would be fixed on the actor's every move, something that is lost in the cinema except with the greatest of performances. Almost accomplishes on film what the stage version would have done much better. As a stage performance, our eyes would be fixed on the actor's every move, something that is lost in the cinema except with the greatest of performances. Watching the stage performance, we become so transfixed by the performances that the part of our brain that quietly works away at what is to come next in the story is shut off. Watching the film version, that part of our brain usually works at full speed. And so, it is easy to see why we are not at all surprised by the turns this movie takes. That doesn't mean that we are not at all delighted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ljSep 23, 2006
i just seen the movie. Awesome, never thought i would get inot a movie like this. Awesome, i just hate i am just now seeing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveWAug 16, 2009
This is an unforgettable movie. The story very engaging and powerful. Thortons performance is just amazing, and the movie is just put together really well. I was still thinking about this movie days after watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffC.Dec 25, 2001
***** One of the best movies of all time, and definitely BB Thornton's best film. Best acting of an anti-intellect since Dustin Hoffman in Rainman. Best 2 hours I've spent in front of the screen, in years! If you haven't seen ***** One of the best movies of all time, and definitely BB Thornton's best film. Best acting of an anti-intellect since Dustin Hoffman in Rainman. Best 2 hours I've spent in front of the screen, in years! If you haven't seen it, buy it.. It's worth more than the rental cost! :-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Bianca-GraceJan 24, 2015
The acting of Billy Bob Thornton was of such a high standard that my only impression was (in the dark room with the journalist) was that Billy Bob was born to act, no other gift was better expressed. The movie had me in tears, it was aThe acting of Billy Bob Thornton was of such a high standard that my only impression was (in the dark room with the journalist) was that Billy Bob was born to act, no other gift was better expressed. The movie had me in tears, it was a subtle performance, it is a sophisticated performance it is a human tale of suffering and just being despite how the world tries to label Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews