Small Voices

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TilapiaP.
    Oct 9, 2003
    5
    The director should learn when to stop praising his film. So self-serving! Why did they send this mediocre film to the Oscars? Is that the best the Philippines could offer?
  2. RoselleH.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    Well, all I can say is that this movie is created out of the writer's aim to awaken the Filipinos on what was really going on in the country. The poverty, system of education and the death and despair of most Filipinos crying out for a change. I don't know if why some people think of this movie as a dull one. What kind of film they want to showcase, a film full of special Well, all I can say is that this movie is created out of the writer's aim to awaken the Filipinos on what was really going on in the country. The poverty, system of education and the death and despair of most Filipinos crying out for a change. I don't know if why some people think of this movie as a dull one. What kind of film they want to showcase, a film full of special effects depicting extraordinary characters, and film full of lies, showing other countries that the Philippines is rich and "clean", without any corruption and has good governance. Expand
  3. KristineV.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    I love this movie. I think it's the most realistic, touching and inspiring movie. People who find no truth in this movie are so self-centered and who obviously have no idea of other nation's poverty. This movie shows us the real scenario, the REAL life of many filipinos. This is how we are. This movie gives you the truth about our life. Our oppressors are just so good in hidingI love this movie. I think it's the most realistic, touching and inspiring movie. People who find no truth in this movie are so self-centered and who obviously have no idea of other nation's poverty. This movie shows us the real scenario, the REAL life of many filipinos. This is how we are. This movie gives you the truth about our life. Our oppressors are just so good in hiding it and how most of you are refusing to look that's why you don't realize it in this film. The rebels, the abused overseas worker, the poverty of the farmers, the poor school coditions, the stupidity of the teachers, the desperation of the characters, the unloving way the parents treat their children--these are all realities in the Philippines. Expand
  4. Jay-RP.
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    This movie, as far as i am concerned is one of the Philippine's best.. it depicts reality in the Philippine setting. Who says that there is no truth in it? who says that it isn't poignant? it is very degrading to think that foreign critics admire this movie more than some filipinos do. someone who said that it is not poignant, i doubt if you are really a Filipino!!! or if you This movie, as far as i am concerned is one of the Philippine's best.. it depicts reality in the Philippine setting. Who says that there is no truth in it? who says that it isn't poignant? it is very degrading to think that foreign critics admire this movie more than some filipinos do. someone who said that it is not poignant, i doubt if you are really a Filipino!!! or if you really are one, maybe you belong to those bunch of hypocrites! and also to the one who said that there is no truth in the movie, i would say there is also no truth in what you said..because all the events in the film really are happening in the Philippines. Expand
  5. M.M.
    Jan 27, 2004
    8
    I just watched the movie today it was very good in filipino/tagalog but i think the sub title translation was very poor, it was not transalated the way the movie wants to portray.
  6. SheyenneH.
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    I just saw this film. I liked it for many reasons. One, it is atypical of most Filipino movies. It doesn't have too much yelling and almost devoid of melodramatic interludes (that are characteristics of Philippine cinema). It touches many aspects of the Filipino culture. Poverty that makes many Filipino's want to leave the country... fanaticism, high regard for parents, idealism I just saw this film. I liked it for many reasons. One, it is atypical of most Filipino movies. It doesn't have too much yelling and almost devoid of melodramatic interludes (that are characteristics of Philippine cinema). It touches many aspects of the Filipino culture. Poverty that makes many Filipino's want to leave the country... fanaticism, high regard for parents, idealism and hope. I'm not proud of many Filipino movies. But I am of this one. Expand
  7. DonR
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    I think these movie is a very good one, not only that it inflicts our mind for the reality of the movie but also touches our heart in one way or another. this comment is produced because of my admiration to the movie. i hope that other people migth find this movie interesting also. i recommend this movie to everyone who are interested for its meaning and content and can appreciate the I think these movie is a very good one, not only that it inflicts our mind for the reality of the movie but also touches our heart in one way or another. this comment is produced because of my admiration to the movie. i hope that other people migth find this movie interesting also. i recommend this movie to everyone who are interested for its meaning and content and can appreciate the efforts made just to produce this enthusiastic movie. Expand
  8. moammarm.
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    I've seen this movie two years ago, and im so impressed. its a lot different from american movies, in the sense that they didnt invest much on props and stuffs like that, instead, they capitalized on a good plausible story and wonderful casts.
  9. LudyC.
    Oct 24, 2003
    3
    I don't know why some US critics found this dull movie poignant. As a Filipino, I am not proud of it. The movie is numbingly mediocre. Gil Portes thinks that the movie's phony uplift and "positive" message equal a great flick.It isn't.
  10. ChadS.
    Oct 27, 2003
    3
    Raising children in a rural town like the one portrayed in "Small Voices" must be a stressful, almost impossible job. Why present these parents as villians, as roadblocks to their children's dream. They are too shrill and one-dimensional. Zhang Yimou made a film similar to "Small Voices" and it was successful because he didn't get cute. A shift in tone towards the tragic Raising children in a rural town like the one portrayed in "Small Voices" must be a stressful, almost impossible job. Why present these parents as villians, as roadblocks to their children's dream. They are too shrill and one-dimensional. Zhang Yimou made a film similar to "Small Voices" and it was successful because he didn't get cute. A shift in tone towards the tragic doesn't work because the preceeding sitcom-ish one hasn't prepared us to care about anything or anybody. There is no truth here. Expand
  11. OliverL.
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    I, for one, am impressed by this movie. I've been lost in my obstacle of life for quite some time and this movie revived what I was missing- reasons to make my dreams come true. This movie has one message that all things big and small can make an impact. Look past all the negative parts of this movie and focus only on the small message behind it.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Voices overcome some used story conventions to give it a very specific charm of its own.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    50
    Latest pic directed by Gil M. Portes, could be called "To Madam With Love"; vet Filipino helmer is out to open maximum tear ducts with sentimental tale.
  3. 60
    Despite its affinity for whimsy over realism, Small Voices effectively captures the embittered desperation and ragged dedication of its exploited teachers.