Miramax Films | Release Date: April 11, 2008
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
18
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
AaronF.Apr 21, 2008
It's hard to decide what to make of this one. What it does, it does well. The real lacking part of this movie is the flow. There's very little in the way of actual climax. We almost weren't expecting the credits. It was like It's hard to decide what to make of this one. What it does, it does well. The real lacking part of this movie is the flow. There's very little in the way of actual climax. We almost weren't expecting the credits. It was like you were still sitting there feeling a little unfulfilled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mr.Carrey-Apr 8, 2008
Wonderful !!! Ellen Page is big !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffP.May 5, 2008
What? This is the best American film in years! The acting, directing, writing...it's all brilliant. Ellen Page is at her best, as is Sarah Jessica Parker. Dennis Quaid and Thomas Haden Church are perfect adopted brothers. It's all What? This is the best American film in years! The acting, directing, writing...it's all brilliant. Ellen Page is at her best, as is Sarah Jessica Parker. Dennis Quaid and Thomas Haden Church are perfect adopted brothers. It's all very subtle, which I think might be unappealing to the masses, though everyone I know who has seen it has loved it. This is not a broad comedy. It's a dark, nuanced one. Sophisticated, funny, and poignant. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickyJ.Jul 8, 2008
Loved it. Because of the cast and maybe the marketing, people were expecting something other than the intelligent, thoughtful, and intimate dark comedy that this is. Amazing performances from all the leads, sharp writing, and top-notch Loved it. Because of the cast and maybe the marketing, people were expecting something other than the intelligent, thoughtful, and intimate dark comedy that this is. Amazing performances from all the leads, sharp writing, and top-notch directing make this one of the best films of 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CraigA.Sep 2, 2008
Coming of middle-age drama about a university professor who begins the film as an overgrown infant and ends it as every student's favorite lecturer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomP.Dec 30, 2008
Loved the tone and humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 12, 2008
[***SPOILER***] The young, bedsit girl on the cover of Belle and Sebastian's "If You're Feeling Sinister" has a copy of Franz Kafka's "The Trial" placed on her pillow. Is the girl taking a break to contemplate the absurdity [***SPOILER***] The young, bedsit girl on the cover of Belle and Sebastian's "If You're Feeling Sinister" has a copy of Franz Kafka's "The Trial" placed on her pillow. Is the girl taking a break to contemplate the absurdity of human nature, or is she simply sad? Vanessa Wetherhold(Ellen Page) probably read that book aeons ago. When Chuck(Thomas Haden Church) barges into his niece's room, the Stanford-bound girl is reading Aldous Huxley's "Eyeless in Gaza". We know with some certainity that Vanessa uses literature as an anti-depressant to curb her indescribable grief. Earlier in "Smart People", she asks a girl in a club what it's like to be stupid. This isn't a case of an intellectual being snarky and facetious. It's a cry for help. Those party girls waiting in line for the bathroom are the smart people. Vanessa doesn't need a crazy uncle(Thomas Haden Church), she needs her mom. You can sort of tell that dad's new girlfriend(Sarah Jessica Parker), with a baby of her own on the way, will never be the maternal figure that Vanessa so desperately needs. Janet might complete Lawrence(Dennis Quaid), but his daughter will always be a "stupid" person. When her brother(Ashton Holmes) achieves some literary success, we suspect that Vanessa must feel a little threatened by this academic and familial one-upmanship , but "Smart People" chooses to focus on Lawrence's second chance with the good doctor. We suspect that Vanessa doesn't want the Wetherfords to be "The Royal Tennenbaums", a family of geniuses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KellyB.Apr 22, 2008
Slow start, but the story picks up and ultimately works. Page's character as a Republican is not credible, but has no adverse affects on the plot. Can Republicans be "smart people"? Perhaps, but its been awhile. All said, I enjoyed this Slow start, but the story picks up and ultimately works. Page's character as a Republican is not credible, but has no adverse affects on the plot. Can Republicans be "smart people"? Perhaps, but its been awhile. All said, I enjoyed this film. My 16 year old daughter enjoyed this film, which is surprising. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OgestJul 22, 2008
I really liked this movie, interesting story. Ellen Page did an excellent job in this movie. The jokes really appealed to me, since I like that kind of humor. Everyone who liked "Juno" should watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnA.Apr 11, 2008
It feels to me that it's been awhile since there has been a really intelligent comedy/drama at the theatres. I really thought this was well cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennS.Apr 13, 2008
This is the most intelligent comedy made in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ArendelleawesomMay 31, 2014
I didn't know what to expect from this movie being as dramas aren't really my thing and I'm fairly new to them I enjoyed this movie though I thought it was good the drama was pretty cliche and I found the father tended to keep a single toneI didn't know what to expect from this movie being as dramas aren't really my thing and I'm fairly new to them I enjoyed this movie though I thought it was good the drama was pretty cliche and I found the father tended to keep a single tone of voice throughout the entire movie one thing I did like though was that the characters were meant to be smart and they did appear to be very intelligent individuals except for two who weren't meant to be so I also thought the humor actually funny and found myself laughing throughout the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews