User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 392 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 392

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2010
    1
    One of the worst films I've ever seen in my life. I wish I could get the 40 minutes back that I wasted on this movie, before I just walked out of the theatre.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Avec Des Serpents dans l'Avion, je ne vais pas tourner autour du pot : c'est scénaristiquement invraisemblable, visuellement laid (en tout cas, pour les effets numériques), joué sans conviction... En somme, et je pèse mes mots, c'est entièrement con (il n'y a qu'à voir le titre...). Et pourtant, ce nanar se laisse regarder avec un plaisir coupable, parce qu'il est en quelque sorte fun, et notamment grâce à des séquences plutôt désopillantes et énergiques avec les serpents, et surtout que le film ne se prend pas au sérieux. En somme, le film de David R. Ellis (à qui l'on doit Destination Finale 2) arrive à nous livrer un film, certes ridicule, mais qui se révèle être un divertissement de taille si l'on veut s'éclater entre potes avec du grand n'importe quoi. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    8
    This movie was really good, frightening and a little bit funny. But it had a lot of flaws- Goddamn it I sound like a real critic. This was a freaking great movie
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    6
    An unfamiliar plot with likable leads, Snakes on a Plane (2006) can almost live up to its original. The story is based on a guy who witnessed a murder by a violence gang member. The witness was suppose to fly to LA to testify against the murderer. To prevent the witness from going, the murderer puts hundreds of poisonous snakes in the cargo to kill everyone and bring the plane down. Although this plot isn't anything new to Hollywood, Snakes on a Plane features Samuel Jackson and Julianna Margulies, likable stars, and a lot of snakes on a plane. It's all we wanted. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    What I really like about this film is that FINALLY, the people involved realize how absurd the plot of the movie is, and they completely play into it. They say and do the same things that most of us would do in that situation. They fully understand, that even thou it isn't a comedy, they are in a completely ridiculous film, not meant to be taken seriously by anyone. Samuel L. Jackson is fearless, hysterical, and terrific as FBI Agent Neville Flynn. The supporting cast, of mostly newcomers, is also great, playing off the example set by Jackson and Margulies. Lets also not forget that while many of the attack scenarios were computerized, there were still a few dozen de-fanged venomous snakes with them at all times! I don't know how you can possibly concentrate with cobras and rattlesnakes at your feet, even if they are non-venomous and used to humans. If you're looking for something simple and stupid that you don't have to think about, go for Snakes on a Plane! Expand
  6. May 19, 2014
    2
    The movie failed to be suspenseful, scary, dramatic and if the point was to make the situation funny, it failed miserably at that as well. Snakes on a Plane is an insulting film on nearly every level that got worst as each minute passed by.
  7. Jul 25, 2012
    4
    Just stupid, with terrible acting except from Samuel L. Jackson who also didn't do a fairly great job either. The story was dumb and pointless but it was entertaining to watch. I've heard so much from this movie and expected a lot more. This was just....well, stupid.
  8. Apr 22, 2013
    1
    Possibly one of the worst movies I've ever seen, Snakes on a Plane lacks everything in terms of action, acting, humour and not even in the slightest bit, frightening. The movie is exactly what the title says, a bunch of snakes on a plane, this being said, if I were to rate this movie based on how well this movie satisfied what I thought it was going to be, I'd give it a perfect ten. The only good scene was when the guy and the girl, go into the toilets to have a little bit of fun, honestly the t*ts were the best part of the film but it was abruptly ended and ruined by a ferocious snake biting on her breasts. There's only so much of snakes on a plane that you can see before you decide to leave the theatre. The only reason I was kept in my seats was because of Samuel L. Jackson, he was the only part of the film that deserve positive acclaim. This movie will forever be remembered as the most pointless movie ever created. Expand
  9. Jan 24, 2013
    6
    It's a very entertaining movie, but it's very simple.
  10. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    What can I say the title basically tells you what the movie is, is about, and what's going to happen. Basically someone puts a bunch of snakes on a plane for motives I will not revieal. Honestly I liked it. Originality about 50/50 putting them on a trapped plane with dozens of snakes original. Everything else eh not really. Acting was pretty believable. Story wise I guess if you want something simple then this is good. Hell I want to give it a 6 but for some reason I feel it deserves a 7. Now, this film is by no wear means the best of its kind. I mean I never jump at any horror film because well about 80% of them are completely predictable, but I did jump a few times when them snakes jumped out. This film is probably more dark comedy/black comedy (a.k.a. Horror Comedy) if frightended easily you will be scared but you will also find funny moments along with a couple of sad I saw watch it. Expand
  11. Aug 19, 2014
    7
    yeah its chesy but that is its charm. the characters are youre basic horror flick run of the mill but what saves this movie is Samuel l. jackson. he is a badass. and come on you all shouted this line: i ve had it whith these mother **** snakes on this mother **** plane
  12. Aug 15, 2014
    7
    The snakes are visually horrible and the actors are not really good either,even Samuel L.Jackson is not good in his cop role.The story is stupid but,the movie is enjoyable and i don't why.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. 38
    Neither as good nor as bad as you'd hoped it would be: It's just a mediocre exploitation picture with an inspired premise (succinctly spelled out by its title), loads of gratuitous gore, a dash of equally gratuitous nudity and enough inanities to make you wonder if Ed Wood rose from the grave to serve as a creative consultant on the project.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    75
    The film failed to be frightening, suspenseful or dramatic but accidentally succeeded in being absolutely hilarious.
  3. Looming large over all this is Jackson, who glowers and growls and acts the hero better than any actor out there.