User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 408 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 408
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Reaper
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    To me, the scariest movie of all-time. I hate f'ing snakes on f'ing planes. The way they jumped, struck, slithered, and I cried like a little girl the entire time with my legs on the seat curled up in a ball. Excellent movie by the way. It's weird, I loved it, but I would not buy it and would not watch it again because it was torture. I have never been so scared and so To me, the scariest movie of all-time. I hate f'ing snakes on f'ing planes. The way they jumped, struck, slithered, and I cried like a little girl the entire time with my legs on the seat curled up in a ball. Excellent movie by the way. It's weird, I loved it, but I would not buy it and would not watch it again because it was torture. I have never been so scared and so freaked out in my life and to go through that experience again would just plain hissss. I love the sleeper hits. WOW! Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Oct 27, 2006
    10
    Anyone looking for a cinematic masterpiece will be disappointed with this film. However, the film's title is Snakes on a Plane, and the film delivers snakes on a plane. It's pure fun and entertainment, and plenty of snake-on-human action. Two thumbs up!
  3. JPPaxton
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    'Snakes On A Plane' ('SoaP') is without a doubt the most talked about film of the year. It all started last year when many bloggers from MySpace to YouTube began chattering about it. Yes, 'SoaP' was heard far and wide. I myself first found out about the movie whose title explains it all while coming across an article entitled, 'Samuel And Snakes'. I 'Snakes On A Plane' ('SoaP') is without a doubt the most talked about film of the year. It all started last year when many bloggers from MySpace to YouTube began chattering about it. Yes, 'SoaP' was heard far and wide. I myself first found out about the movie whose title explains it all while coming across an article entitled, 'Samuel And Snakes'. I was oddly and instantly intrigued upon finishing it. (Despite finding out Samuel L. Jackson opted to do the film without even reading the script.) Months passed with more and more buzz generating. And by the looks of it, it didn't look as if it were going to stop anytime soon. 'SoaP' was given the title 'Best Worst Movie of the Year' by 'Wired' magazine in their January issue. New Line and TagWorld held a contest that gave artists a chance for their music to be heard in the film. And various spoof trailers were created by fans including ones with the titles, 'Teletubbies on a Plane' and 'Snakes on Claire Danes'. Within the past year 'SoaP' has been seen everywhere imaginable. You're probably wondering why I'm telling you all this since it has nothing to do with what I thought about the film though. Well I'll tell you why. 'SoaP' isn't like other films. It's something completely different. Almost an entity if you will. The buzz and media are both a part of it's ingeniousness. It can't be judged simply by normal standards solely on things like acting and visuals. There's so much more to it. Over the past two days I've read and heard people say how horrible and downright awful 'SoaP' is. Its not either of those things. The fact is those people just don't get it. I even tried to break it down into the usual categories you'd normally judge a film on. But it conflicted with how well I actually liked the film. Yes, there's some bad dialogue in a couple of the early scenes. Yes, the snakes didn't always look real. And yes, at times the movie is far more comedic than horrifying. None of this matters though. I had so much fun watching 'SoaP' I didn't care. The bottom line is 'SoaP' has a greatness that's essentially inexplicable. But not everyone is going to see that. I think Michael Phillips, reviewer for the Chicago Tribune, proves to be a prime example of the ignorance being exhibited when he says in his review, "I liked 'Anaconda' better". All I'll say to that is he needs a new job. Possibly a janitor in some dank office building wasting his life mopping floors, mumbling inaudible things to himself. Nevertheless, I'm not suggesting you see 'Snakes on a Plane'. I'm telling you to go see those mother******* snakes on that mother******* plane! Expand
  4. Parker
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Watching this movie in theaters on opening night is unlike any experience I've ever had in my life. It was SOOOOOO much fun. Seriously, this film means a lot to me. 10/10
  5. AJM.
    Feb 12, 2007
    9
    A true popcorn flick. Sometimes it's pretty hilarious (intentionally, even); it's got moments of suspense that work admirably well; Sam Jackson is THE MAN. All of that sounds like a guaranteed winner to me. I honestly don't get how people could not get this (unless, of course, they hate snakes, planes, or guilty pleasure horror movies), but realistically it's about as A true popcorn flick. Sometimes it's pretty hilarious (intentionally, even); it's got moments of suspense that work admirably well; Sam Jackson is THE MAN. All of that sounds like a guaranteed winner to me. I honestly don't get how people could not get this (unless, of course, they hate snakes, planes, or guilty pleasure horror movies), but realistically it's about as critic proof as anything I've ever seen. Bottom line: it's just supposed to be FUN, so have some. Expand
  6. AndrewE.
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    I dare anyone not to have fun at this movie.
  7. ChantzE.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    Non stop greatness, partially great cause opening night, the whole crowd was so into it
  8. YourMother
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    Best Motherf....ing movie, EVER!
  9. Brysonic
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Much better than I thought it would... some truly funny moments.
  10. RobertJ.
    Aug 19, 2006
    9
    Any critics who say it sucks are just trying to be cool, and they need to try harder. This is some of the most fun I've had watching a movie in quite a long time.
  11. DianeM.
    Sep 3, 2006
    9
    Having read about the hooting, clapping audiences, we tried it for ourselves. I agree with David A.; "guilty pleasure" it is! Relax and have fun! We laughed and clapped. I will be purchasing the DVD!!
  12. SamJackson
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Hell yes!
  13. TonyD.
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Probably the best movie of the summer. Its greatness comes with its subtleties. This character driven drama shows how we all have horrible snakes inside of us.
  14. ChrisB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    I expected this to go down as fast as a Thai hooker, but instead it sailed beyond my muthaf-ckin expectations. some truly shocking and entertaining scenes and some very memorable and hilarious lines make it an epic in the category of awesomely bad and hilariously outrageous
  15. Raidy
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Sssssssssssss! This was the constant sound heard in the audience I was in, amidst flying plastic snakes and general cheering and brouhaha. Snakes on a Plane was one of those fun, must see in theaters type movies that sparked massive chuckles, boos, cheers, and plenty of audience participation. The movie itself was one of absurdness, both on the story and acting front (for the most part), Sssssssssssss! This was the constant sound heard in the audience I was in, amidst flying plastic snakes and general cheering and brouhaha. Snakes on a Plane was one of those fun, must see in theaters type movies that sparked massive chuckles, boos, cheers, and plenty of audience participation. The movie itself was one of absurdness, both on the story and acting front (for the most part), but it knew as much and therefore was able to pull it off with great success. And while it started off a bit slow and lame story wise, the first few snake bite attacks were so over-the-top, you had to wonder how they could possibly continue the insanity - yet somehow they managed. The movie stayed entertaining from beginning to end, though the middle section was probably the best part of the film. Whether this movie stands the test of time is yet to be seen, but the experience was one that will not soon be forgotten. Expand
  16. KimC.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    One of the best theater experiences I've ever had. It really helps to go in a packed theater so see this film while its hot and don't be afraid to yell "SNAKES ON A PLANE!" once in a while, good times.
  17. ChrisK.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    One note, I'm never using the airplane lavatory ever! Sam was the man and that's all that anyone can ask for!
  18. TroyB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    This is what going to movies is all about. Excitement, energy, escpaism, the howl of the crowd, and a movie with the sole aim of giving the audience what it wants and what it paid for: no nonsense entertainment. A true rollacoaster experience. It truly was the people's movie.
  19. Bri
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    This is what movie-going is all about! With all of the hype leading up to it, the 10:00PM screening was PACKED full of hardcore fans, and everyone just had a freakin' blast from start to finish (yes, some people brought in rubber snakes, sure enough). Plus, it was even funnier than I expected it to be (both intentionally AND unintentionally) and could almost justify being a comedy as This is what movie-going is all about! With all of the hype leading up to it, the 10:00PM screening was PACKED full of hardcore fans, and everyone just had a freakin' blast from start to finish (yes, some people brought in rubber snakes, sure enough). Plus, it was even funnier than I expected it to be (both intentionally AND unintentionally) and could almost justify being a comedy as much as an action/thriller/horror. I don't think the 2nd half of the movie quite lived up to the 1st half of the movie, but that's not so much of a complaint. I'd have to say this flick just about lived up to the tremendous hype! GO SEE IT! Expand
  20. NickyB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    It's amazing what a man can do with one hand. greatest motion picture ever made
  21. BlancoA.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    No, it's not the next Citizen Kane, but if you're looking for a really fun, end-of-the-summer thriller, this fits the bill perfectly. Next to Pulp Fiction, this is likely Sam Jackson's best role. He's got style to spare, and his lines are funny as hell. I was at the first showing (Thursday 10PM) with at least 100 SOaP fanatics, which made the experience all the more No, it's not the next Citizen Kane, but if you're looking for a really fun, end-of-the-summer thriller, this fits the bill perfectly. Next to Pulp Fiction, this is likely Sam Jackson's best role. He's got style to spare, and his lines are funny as hell. I was at the first showing (Thursday 10PM) with at least 100 SOaP fanatics, which made the experience all the more fun, but there are plenty of "scream" scenes," and probably just as many bust-out-laughing moments. The critics might find some obscure ways to dislike the film, but just about everybody I saw leave the theater tonight had huge smiles on their faces. Don't over-analyze the thing. Just go and laugh and scream with it. I wouldn't call it a horror film so much as a thriller/disaster flick. Definitely recommended. Expand
  22. DanB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    Sometimes you just want to have a good time. Look for the stuffy, pretentious critics to pan the hell out of this one. All I know is that myself, and the entire audience I saw this with was laughing uncontrollably and bursting into spurts of spontaneous applause. If you're even slighly intrigued by the concept, you'll love this movie.
  23. JasparC.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    I saw this film at the 10pm showing, and I was surprised that the theatre was not packed to capacity. However, everyone there was there to witness the beauty and genius that is this film. The gratuitous violence on display, added to the hilarious audience participation ("Snake Vision!!!"), the dramatic irony ("Let's hope this is an uneventful flight"), the wonderful one-liners, the I saw this film at the 10pm showing, and I was surprised that the theatre was not packed to capacity. However, everyone there was there to witness the beauty and genius that is this film. The gratuitous violence on display, added to the hilarious audience participation ("Snake Vision!!!"), the dramatic irony ("Let's hope this is an uneventful flight"), the wonderful one-liners, the ridiculous characters (OCD rap star, anyone?) made this a fantastic movie. I highly recommend that everyone sees this film as soon as possible. It's that good. Expand
  24. MichaelM.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    This generations Rocky Horror Picture Show. Whatever your opinion is of this movie, you can't deny that it is absolutely fun. If you walk into this movie expecting to see Citizen Kane, then you deserve to be disappointed. If you walk in expecting to laugh at the ridiculousness of the premise and jump at the creative ways that snakes can kill people trapped in an aluminum tube at This generations Rocky Horror Picture Show. Whatever your opinion is of this movie, you can't deny that it is absolutely fun. If you walk into this movie expecting to see Citizen Kane, then you deserve to be disappointed. If you walk in expecting to laugh at the ridiculousness of the premise and jump at the creative ways that snakes can kill people trapped in an aluminum tube at 30000 feet, then you will be motherf!#*in' impressed. Expand
  25. Lanie
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    Far exceeded even my high expectations. I haven't laughed and screamed so much in years. Everyone with a sense of humor must see this movie.
  26. AlanD.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    None of this so bad it's good BS. it was the movie of the year, full stop. it was intense, brutal, and INTENTIONALLY hilarious. i can't believe how hard nearly all these critics dropped the ball on something like this so hard. unintentionally hilarious? are you on crack? this is the most wry send-up of its horribly cliched predecessors that loves the BS it grew up on and hasNone of this so bad it's good BS. it was the movie of the year, full stop. it was intense, brutal, and INTENTIONALLY hilarious. i can't believe how hard nearly all these critics dropped the ball on something like this so hard. unintentionally hilarious? are you on crack? this is the most wry send-up of its horribly cliched predecessors that loves the BS it grew up on and has absolutely no pretensions of doing anything other than taking its own staples to ludicrous extents. the people behind this movie are effin' brilliant, and i mean that wholeheartedly. Expand
  27. BrianV.
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    Outstanding movie-going experience. Clearly not the manifestation of poetic genius, but this is a movie you have to get out and see in the next two weeks while the crowds are rowdy. Easily the best time I've had at the movies.
  28. Wongit
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    Hands down the funnest movie in a very long time. this summer saw some great flicks, some serious (miami vice) some dumb (talladega nights, but still awesome) but Snakes is just fun, its awsome and honestly i felt like cheering at the very end of the film. Great all around.
  29. JacobF.
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    This is the best movie i have seen all year. This might be sthe best movie of all time. The way the audience participation with the movie just makes it more fun. It is so fun to watch. Of course it is it's Snakes on a Plane!!!
  30. MikeD.
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    Pure genius, the best and worst film of all time similtaneously. Can never get tired of these ----- snakes on a ------ plane
  31. LisaK.
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    Really, your enjoyment level while watching this film rests partly on the audience, a necessary participant. The well-timed hissing behind us as well as in front of us had me in hysterics.
  32. DavidA.
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    As a 50-somethiing father who took his 21 year-old daughter the day before she left for Europe for a junior semester abroad - to get her mind off her anxiety about travel - we howled, clapped, and shouted along with the other audience members. What a hoot. Look, no one expects an Acadamy Award here, unless they have a new category called "guilty pleasure." And that it was. It takes so As a 50-somethiing father who took his 21 year-old daughter the day before she left for Europe for a junior semester abroad - to get her mind off her anxiety about travel - we howled, clapped, and shouted along with the other audience members. What a hoot. Look, no one expects an Acadamy Award here, unless they have a new category called "guilty pleasure." And that it was. It takes so many of the cliches of airplane/reptile/terror movies and plays them to the hilt (retreating to a smaller and smaller safe area, the male steward, the mother with the baby, etc). What a better way to spend 2 hours on an August night than enjoying the camp and overboard nature of an exploitation film that really gets it right. We both came out laughing, quoting the most memorable lines of the movie, and saying "Eleven!" Collapse
  33. MarioP.
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    snakes! plane! promise kept. thanks.
  34. Vzadestroyer
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    If only the rating system went to infinty...
  35. Rob
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    If you're thinking about seeing this, GO NOW! The absolute best part of this was the crazy early-comer audience who are totally stoked about seeing it. People were clapping and rooting every time some silly movie cliche was played out on screen, and everytime Sam Jackson worked his crazy badass-magic. The filmmakers knew they had a cheeseball on their hands, and they spun it into If you're thinking about seeing this, GO NOW! The absolute best part of this was the crazy early-comer audience who are totally stoked about seeing it. People were clapping and rooting every time some silly movie cliche was played out on screen, and everytime Sam Jackson worked his crazy badass-magic. The filmmakers knew they had a cheeseball on their hands, and they spun it into pure gold. But if you see this a month from now with a bunch of people who don't know what this is all about, you'll wonder why you wasted your time. Hurry! Expand
  36. GregK.
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    I honestly didn't think it would live up to the hype. The intro is cheesy as hell, the acting is brutal but damn are those snakes freightning. A must see movie of the year, not for the faint of heart, but an entertaining thrill ride of emotions.
  37. ChrisM.
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Best movie ever.
  38. R.C.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    One of the best Dark Comidies ever made.
  39. JustinB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Wow. I was truly scared to see this movie. Not because I have ophidiophobia, but because it was so over-hyped, and had such great potential to be a really really bad movie. To my astonishment, I enjoyed the movie through and through. Sure, it was "hilariously bad," but the sad thing is it's actually a better movie than Miami Vice or any of the Final Destinations. They had fun making Wow. I was truly scared to see this movie. Not because I have ophidiophobia, but because it was so over-hyped, and had such great potential to be a really really bad movie. To my astonishment, I enjoyed the movie through and through. Sure, it was "hilariously bad," but the sad thing is it's actually a better movie than Miami Vice or any of the Final Destinations. They had fun making it, and I sure as hell had fun watching it. Go ahead, yell at the screen. It will only enhance the experience. Expand
  40. JPK.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    I thought it would be fun, but it was much more. I wish all bad movies were this good.
  41. JohnK.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    It's no work of art but so what, it doesn't try to be. Best time I've had in at a movie in awhile. Have some fun and check it out.
  42. JoeyC
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Honestly, I didn't expect much. Damn I was wrong. Trust Sammy L Jackson.
  43. RobertB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    I haven't laughed that hard at a bad movie in a long time!!!! Very entertaining
  44. MatthewB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    You will Laugh, You will Scream, You will HISS! Snakes on a Plane delivers with everything it promised it would... "MotherF-ing Snakes on a MotherF-ing Plane!"
  45. MarkB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    This is the best time I've had at the movies ever. It is an experience. As a parody, it worked wondrous magic over me and the entire audience I saw it with.
  46. ZachF.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    It turned out to be exactly what I had expected for a movie about snakes on a plane vs. sam jackson. Fantastic!
  47. DarkSynapse
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    Go see it. Really. It's better than you would expect...a perfect end to the summer movie season.
  48. KathleenO.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    This isn't Citizen Kane, nor was it intended to be. It was hysterical and the audience reaction was awesome. I can't recall ever having so much fun at a movie.
  49. EricG
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Perhaps the most upbeat film of the summer. It's hard not to have fun--there were many moments of spontaneous applause in my showing.
  50. Jeremy
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    Easily the most fun in a theatre. Ever. Someone said this was the perfect movie to end the summer. I am in total agreement. I really hope this movie does well, it absolutely deserves it.
  51. Max
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    I saw this movie on the premier night and from start to finish people were applauding and laughing at how ridiculous the movie was...if you go into the theater expecting a scary thriller you will be disappointed...but if you go in expecting to have a fun time and see Samuel L. Jackson kill some snakes in insanely amazing ways then you will enjoy yourself.
  52. JohnB.
    Aug 19, 2006
    9
    The snakes are symbolic of current difficulties being experienced in the air today. Like Sma J said " I am tired of these mother f....ing snakes on this mother f........ing plane."
  53. MikeR.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    You get what you paid for and it kicks ass.
  54. AdrianH.
    Aug 19, 2006
    9
    Definitely the most fun I've had going to the theater this summer.
  55. BrianG
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    What can I say, with all of the hype this movie received coming in, I figured I would be probably get let down to some degree.... but not at all it turns out. This movie is everything the bloggers and all the little myspace kiddies hyped it up to be, and a little more imo. Definitely worth paying to watch.
  56. Nate
    Aug 19, 2006
    9
    I've never seen an audience more involved in a movie before. You know you've done something brilliant, or horribly wrong when someones death is meant to be a dramatic moment and people can't help but laugh at it. If you go to the movie, you have to go expecting the absurd. Only then will you be able to love this movie.
  57. Clay
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    If you're looking to have a good time with this movie, you will. It is everything ANYONE could have wanted it to be, and if you don't like the movie you should have known not to go to begin with.
  58. Patrick
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    Snakes+plane+Samuel L Jackson=Best Film ever. I dont need to say anything else.
  59. YamatsukaEye
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    Instant cult faovourite. Suprisingly funny. Suppassed my hype for the movie.
  60. Ryencoke
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    Wow. This exceeded my expectiations by about a million times, I expected a really brutal movie. Instead I got a movie that was funny and cool. Everybody in the theater was cheering when someone died in a cool way or for a matter of fact, at all. Check this one out.
  61. AaronO.
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    The in theatre experience of snakes on a plane just can't be beat. Samuel and the snakes deliver ample amounts of fan service throughout!
  62. Mark
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    This movie was totally fun. All the fun Dead Man's Chest was missing. Jackson is cool as hell, though his big line should have been delivered more grimly/sternly rather than yelling it. I think that would have worked better. Some cheese, like the acting of the guy who played Eddie Kim, but nonetheless a fantastic theater experience. Audience was into it.
  63. PatD.
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    A movie best enjoyed in a packed theatre full of rabid SoaP fans. Wow, great moments in the movie. Lines that got people out of their seats. Everybody goes nuts for that one line. You know the one.
  64. DanH.
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    Awesome movie if you shut you brain off and just relax.
  65. Eedri
    Aug 30, 2006
    9
    haven't had this much fun at the theater in ages! This is such a hilariously silly and fun movie that you just gotta love.
  66. N.Lewandowski
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    I can never remember having so much fun at a movie. The people who say, "stupid and useless," clearly missed the trailers, internet hype, and title sequence. You don't go into this movie expecting Kubrik. You go into this movie to see snakes on a plane, with Samuel L. Jackson. It did exactly what should have been done. From over-done violence, to a sex-scene in an airline bathroom, I can never remember having so much fun at a movie. The people who say, "stupid and useless," clearly missed the trailers, internet hype, and title sequence. You don't go into this movie expecting Kubrik. You go into this movie to see snakes on a plane, with Samuel L. Jackson. It did exactly what should have been done. From over-done violence, to a sex-scene in an airline bathroom, the movie goes all-out to get the snakes on the plane, and keep the audience entertained. It succeded on all fronts. Expand
  67. NickC.
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    My Friends... I have seen the light. I have seen the wonder. I have seen the answer to all of life's questions, miseries, and woes. And it was good. What is this phenomena, this holy grail of life and glory, if you will, I speak of? Four words, my fellow humans: Snakes. On. A. Plane. For me to attempt to explain it would be like a pious man attempting to explain the will of God and My Friends... I have seen the light. I have seen the wonder. I have seen the answer to all of life's questions, miseries, and woes. And it was good. What is this phenomena, this holy grail of life and glory, if you will, I speak of? Four words, my fellow humans: Snakes. On. A. Plane. For me to attempt to explain it would be like a pious man attempting to explain the will of God and His ultimate plan for mankind. So go, fly my children! Fly to the nearest movie theater and witness the most important piece of cinema of the year, nay, of this century thus far. I am a changed man because of it. Expand
  68. NickO.
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    Mutha****ing snakes. Mutha****ing Planes. Instant win.
  69. KendallP.
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    Easily the second best movie I've seen all summer, its comes in at a close second to Talladega Nights. This movie is funny, gruesome, and it has snakes on a mutha@#%*ing plane.
  70. Gavin
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    A classic in the making, seeing the very first showing nationwide of Snakes on a Plane at 10 pm last night was one of the most memborable and enjoyable experiences I have ever had in a movie theater. From the moment I entered the premises, I could tell I was in for a wild ride. Everyone was incessantly shouting the title, and making bad puns on it relating to whatever ads were being shown A classic in the making, seeing the very first showing nationwide of Snakes on a Plane at 10 pm last night was one of the most memborable and enjoyable experiences I have ever had in a movie theater. From the moment I entered the premises, I could tell I was in for a wild ride. Everyone was incessantly shouting the title, and making bad puns on it relating to whatever ads were being shown on screen before the film. Case in point: Three Moons Over Milford provoked the response, "Snakes on the Moon!!!" From the moment the *SPOILER THAT IF YOU COULDN'T FIGURE OUT YOU HAD NO BUSINESS SEEING THIS MOVIE* snakes are released on the plane until the end of the film, there was hardly a moment when I was not completely entertained. A glorious sendup of B-Movie Horror conventions and a flawless cast make this...well...they all come together to make a movie experience that could be called nothing other than "Snakes on a Plane." Expand
  71. EddieB.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    I never doubted Sam Jackson, and neither should you. He called me personally to let me know that Snakes on a Plane would be one of the best mothereffin movies of the summer. He was right! Don't pay attention to all the hype and the snake-plane-movie-haters; just listen to Sam. Samuel L. Jackson. Not convinced? Well, you already know from chosen title that the movie is going to have I never doubted Sam Jackson, and neither should you. He called me personally to let me know that Snakes on a Plane would be one of the best mothereffin movies of the summer. He was right! Don't pay attention to all the hype and the snake-plane-movie-haters; just listen to Sam. Samuel L. Jackson. Not convinced? Well, you already know from chosen title that the movie is going to have fun with this ridiculous premise. After the movie, I had a hard time thinking of ways one can die to a snake that wasn't covered in the film. Sure, the special effects were a little fake-looking and cheesy at times, but who cares. There were memorable characters, funny one-liners and situations, and some genuine scares that make you jump. The story moved along at a nice pace. And damn it, it has Sam Jackson, anchoring the film with his strong screen presence and unique mix of suavity, seriousness, and anger. Good career move, Sam. If you have a good sense of humor (regarding both the film's content and SoaP crowd), then you will love Snakes on a Plane. Seriously. Trust me. Trust Sam. I can't wait for the DVD. Expand
  72. Trusi
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    OMG, this movie was priceless. I respect SLJ so much for stepping aside from his normal movies to do a chessy B-movie like this. The movie is awesome, you gotta go see it!
  73. MattA.
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    Im giving it a Nine. That is being generous, only to the fact that the movie was EXACTLY what it set out to be. Exactly... You walk into the theatre expecting to see snakes on a plane, and that's what you get. Some nice violence, nudity, and swearing... and that's what the movie wanted to be. For a Bad Movie, it was Phenominal... There were some parts that i didn't like and Im giving it a Nine. That is being generous, only to the fact that the movie was EXACTLY what it set out to be. Exactly... You walk into the theatre expecting to see snakes on a plane, and that's what you get. Some nice violence, nudity, and swearing... and that's what the movie wanted to be. For a Bad Movie, it was Phenominal... There were some parts that i didn't like and found to be hokey... but other than that... SNAKES ON A PLANE BITCHES!!! Expand
  74. MikeW.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    Everything I hoped for and more.
  75. CheesusC.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    The greatest surreal comedy/thriller of the last 20 years. then title alone taps into the Jungian collective unconsciousness - of snakes, planes, and motherf...ing Samuel L Jackson. 10 stars.
  76. John
    Aug 19, 2006
    9
    Suspense, hilarity, gore, nudity, & cheesiness. It plays its part perfectly for a exciting evening romp at the theatre. You cant ask for much more. The movies don't get much better than this.
  77. TimN.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    Anyone who took this movie seriously should be shot...this movie was full of cliches, it was stupendously cheesy and dumb, and guess what? It was exactly what I was hoping for, even a bit more! Absolutely hilarious, extremely fun...one of my favourite movies ever. Long Live "Snakes on a Plane"!
  78. D.
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    If you go into this movie expecting an exhilarating action thriller, you will be severely disapointed. However, if you go into it expecting a crappy movie, with a hilariously stupid screenplay, you will love it. I don't see how it could be taken seriously- a girl gets bit on the tit, and there's a snake countdown inside the crate (as if the snakes need to know how long they have If you go into this movie expecting an exhilarating action thriller, you will be severely disapointed. However, if you go into it expecting a crappy movie, with a hilariously stupid screenplay, you will love it. I don't see how it could be taken seriously- a girl gets bit on the tit, and there's a snake countdown inside the crate (as if the snakes need to know how long they have to be released). henceforth, if you are too uptight to enjoy this movie, I feel sorry for you, because was one of the best theater experiences I have enjoyed in a while. Expand
  79. Katie
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    fantastic. from the parody of multiple stereotypes to the utter ridiculousness of the plot, its just fantastic.
  80. JasonArias
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    This was a great movie, I loved it from beginning to end.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. 38
    Neither as good nor as bad as you'd hoped it would be: It's just a mediocre exploitation picture with an inspired premise (succinctly spelled out by its title), loads of gratuitous gore, a dash of equally gratuitous nudity and enough inanities to make you wonder if Ed Wood rose from the grave to serve as a creative consultant on the project.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    75
    The film failed to be frightening, suspenseful or dramatic but accidentally succeeded in being absolutely hilarious.
  3. Looming large over all this is Jackson, who glowers and growls and acts the hero better than any actor out there.