New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 18, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 424 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
301
Mixed:
46
Negative:
77
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
EpicLadySpongeJan 25, 2016
Without Samuel L. Jackson, this movie would've been in the negatives due to how boring it is. At least he saved the movie by one line that's memorable to everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
prossnip42Aug 19, 2014
yeah its chesy but that is its charm. the characters are youre basic horror flick run of the mill but what saves this movie is Samuel l. jackson. he is a badass. and come on you all shouted this line: i ve had it whith these mother ****yeah its chesy but that is its charm. the characters are youre basic horror flick run of the mill but what saves this movie is Samuel l. jackson. he is a badass. and come on you all shouted this line: i ve had it whith these mother **** snakes on this mother **** plane Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 15, 2014
The snakes are visually horrible and the actors are not really good either,even Samuel L.Jackson is not good in his cop role.The story is stupid but,the movie is enjoyable and i don't why.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
csw12May 19, 2014
The movie failed to be suspenseful, scary, dramatic and if the point was to make the situation funny, it failed miserably at that as well. Snakes on a Plane is an insulting film on nearly every level that got worst as each minute passed by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarkMusicApr 25, 2013
What can I say the title basically tells you what the movie is, is about, and what's going to happen. Basically someone puts a bunch of snakes on a plane for motives I will not revieal. Honestly I liked it. Originality about 50/50 puttingWhat can I say the title basically tells you what the movie is, is about, and what's going to happen. Basically someone puts a bunch of snakes on a plane for motives I will not revieal. Honestly I liked it. Originality about 50/50 putting them on a trapped plane with dozens of snakes original. Everything else eh not really. Acting was pretty believable. Story wise I guess if you want something simple then this is good. Hell I want to give it a 6 but for some reason I feel it deserves a 7. Now, this film is by no wear means the best of its kind. I mean I never jump at any horror film because well about 80% of them are completely predictable, but I did jump a few times when them snakes jumped out. This film is probably more dark comedy/black comedy (a.k.a. Horror Comedy) if frightended easily you will be scared but you will also find funny moments along with a couple of sad I saw watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
rishab_babjiApr 22, 2013
Possibly one of the worst movies I've ever seen, Snakes on a Plane lacks everything in terms of action, acting, humour and not even in the slightest bit, frightening. The movie is exactly what the title says, a bunch of snakes on a plane,Possibly one of the worst movies I've ever seen, Snakes on a Plane lacks everything in terms of action, acting, humour and not even in the slightest bit, frightening. The movie is exactly what the title says, a bunch of snakes on a plane, this being said, if I were to rate this movie based on how well this movie satisfied what I thought it was going to be, I'd give it a perfect ten. The only good scene was when the guy and the girl, go into the toilets to have a little bit of fun, honestly the t*ts were the best part of the film but it was abruptly ended and ruined by a ferocious snake biting on her breasts. There's only so much of snakes on a plane that you can see before you decide to leave the theatre. The only reason I was kept in my seats was because of Samuel L. Jackson, he was the only part of the film that deserve positive acclaim. This movie will forever be remembered as the most pointless movie ever created. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
What I really like about this film is that FINALLY, the people involved realize how absurd the plot of the movie is, and they completely play into it. They say and do the same things that most of us would do in that situation. They fullyWhat I really like about this film is that FINALLY, the people involved realize how absurd the plot of the movie is, and they completely play into it. They say and do the same things that most of us would do in that situation. They fully understand, that even thou it isn't a comedy, they are in a completely ridiculous film, not meant to be taken seriously by anyone. Samuel L. Jackson is fearless, hysterical, and terrific as FBI Agent Neville Flynn. The supporting cast, of mostly newcomers, is also great, playing off the example set by Jackson and Margulies. Lets also not forget that while many of the attack scenarios were computerized, there were still a few dozen de-fanged venomous snakes with them at all times! I don't know how you can possibly concentrate with cobras and rattlesnakes at your feet, even if they are non-venomous and used to humans. If you're looking for something simple and stupid that you don't have to think about, go for Snakes on a Plane! Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
It's a very entertaining movie, but it's very simple.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Tall_But_ShortJul 25, 2012
Just stupid, with terrible acting except from Samuel L. Jackson who also didn't do a fairly great job either. The story was dumb and pointless but it was entertaining to watch. I've heard so much from this movie and expected a lot more. ThisJust stupid, with terrible acting except from Samuel L. Jackson who also didn't do a fairly great job either. The story was dumb and pointless but it was entertaining to watch. I've heard so much from this movie and expected a lot more. This was just....well, stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
avatar16Nov 10, 2011
Avec Des Serpents dans l'Avion, je ne vais pas tourner autour du pot : c'est scénaristiquement invraisemblable, visuellement laid (en tout cas, pour les effets numériques), joué sans conviction... EnAvec Des Serpents dans l'Avion, je ne vais pas tourner autour du pot : c'est scénaristiquement invraisemblable, visuellement laid (en tout cas, pour les effets numériques), joué sans conviction... En somme, et je pèse mes mots, c'est entièrement con (il n'y a qu'à voir le titre...). Et pourtant, ce nanar se laisse regarder avec un plaisir coupable, parce qu'il est en quelque sorte fun, et notamment grâce à des séquences plutôt désopillantes et énergiques avec les serpents, et surtout que le film ne se prend pas au sérieux. En somme, le film de David R. Ellis (à qui l'on doit Destination Finale 2) arrive à nous livrer un film, certes ridicule, mais qui se révèle être un divertissement de taille si l'on veut s'éclater entre potes avec du grand n'importe quoi. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RyanLopezApr 15, 2011
This movie was really good, frightening and a little bit funny. But it had a lot of flaws- Goddamn it I sound like a real critic. This was a freaking great movie
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
OscarPicks2010Dec 20, 2010
An unfamiliar plot with likable leads, Snakes on a Plane (2006) can almost live up to its original. The story is based on a guy who witnessed a murder by a violence gang member. The witness was suppose to fly to LA to testify against theAn unfamiliar plot with likable leads, Snakes on a Plane (2006) can almost live up to its original. The story is based on a guy who witnessed a murder by a violence gang member. The witness was suppose to fly to LA to testify against the murderer. To prevent the witness from going, the murderer puts hundreds of poisonous snakes in the cargo to kill everyone and bring the plane down. Although this plot isn't anything new to Hollywood, Snakes on a Plane features Samuel Jackson and Julianna Margulies, likable stars, and a lot of snakes on a plane. It's all we wanted. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
phildogSep 10, 2010
One of the worst films I've ever seen in my life. I wish I could get the 40 minutes back that I wasted on this movie, before I just walked out of the theatre.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AJM.Feb 12, 2007
A true popcorn flick. Sometimes it's pretty hilarious (intentionally, even); it's got moments of suspense that work admirably well; Sam Jackson is THE MAN. All of that sounds like a guaranteed winner to me. I honestly don't A true popcorn flick. Sometimes it's pretty hilarious (intentionally, even); it's got moments of suspense that work admirably well; Sam Jackson is THE MAN. All of that sounds like a guaranteed winner to me. I honestly don't get how people could not get this (unless, of course, they hate snakes, planes, or guilty pleasure horror movies), but realistically it's about as critic proof as anything I've ever seen. Bottom line: it's just supposed to be FUN, so have some. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MikeA.Feb 4, 2007
Funny movie, but cheezy at the same time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
This fits under the heading of
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ParkerJan 21, 2007
Watching this movie in theaters on opening night is unlike any experience I've ever had in my life. It was SOOOOOO much fun. Seriously, this film means a lot to me. 10/10
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
GLC.Jan 11, 2007
C'mon, it's Snizzakes on a Pizzay, damnit! That said, I remember seeing this. Not bad for a trashy piece o'crap action film, especially considering the pathetic plot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ColbyCJan 5, 2007
If the internet didn't exist, this movie would be: Snakes on a Plane, an Alan Smithee film. Not campy enough to be fun, too boring to be scary.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AnsonGDec 28, 2006
Boring, pointless, and too long. I cant believe they release this garbage on cinema.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JPPaxtonNov 6, 2006
'Snakes On A Plane' ('SoaP') is without a doubt the most talked about film of the year. It all started last year when many bloggers from MySpace to YouTube began chattering about it. Yes, 'SoaP' was heard far 'Snakes On A Plane' ('SoaP') is without a doubt the most talked about film of the year. It all started last year when many bloggers from MySpace to YouTube began chattering about it. Yes, 'SoaP' was heard far and wide. I myself first found out about the movie whose title explains it all while coming across an article entitled, 'Samuel And Snakes'. I was oddly and instantly intrigued upon finishing it. (Despite finding out Samuel L. Jackson opted to do the film without even reading the script.) Months passed with more and more buzz generating. And by the looks of it, it didn't look as if it were going to stop anytime soon. 'SoaP' was given the title 'Best Worst Movie of the Year' by 'Wired' magazine in their January issue. New Line and TagWorld held a contest that gave artists a chance for their music to be heard in the film. And various spoof trailers were created by fans including ones with the titles, 'Teletubbies on a Plane' and 'Snakes on Claire Danes'. Within the past year 'SoaP' has been seen everywhere imaginable. You're probably wondering why I'm telling you all this since it has nothing to do with what I thought about the film though. Well I'll tell you why. 'SoaP' isn't like other films. It's something completely different. Almost an entity if you will. The buzz and media are both a part of it's ingeniousness. It can't be judged simply by normal standards solely on things like acting and visuals. There's so much more to it. Over the past two days I've read and heard people say how horrible and downright awful 'SoaP' is. Its not either of those things. The fact is those people just don't get it. I even tried to break it down into the usual categories you'd normally judge a film on. But it conflicted with how well I actually liked the film. Yes, there's some bad dialogue in a couple of the early scenes. Yes, the snakes didn't always look real. And yes, at times the movie is far more comedic than horrifying. None of this matters though. I had so much fun watching 'SoaP' I didn't care. The bottom line is 'SoaP' has a greatness that's essentially inexplicable. But not everyone is going to see that. I think Michael Phillips, reviewer for the Chicago Tribune, proves to be a prime example of the ignorance being exhibited when he says in his review, "I liked 'Anaconda' better". All I'll say to that is he needs a new job. Possibly a janitor in some dank office building wasting his life mopping floors, mumbling inaudible things to himself. Nevertheless, I'm not suggesting you see 'Snakes on a Plane'. I'm telling you to go see those mother******* snakes on that mother******* plane! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 27, 2006
Anyone looking for a cinematic masterpiece will be disappointed with this film. However, the film's title is Snakes on a Plane, and the film delivers snakes on a plane. It's pure fun and entertainment, and plenty of snake-on-human Anyone looking for a cinematic masterpiece will be disappointed with this film. However, the film's title is Snakes on a Plane, and the film delivers snakes on a plane. It's pure fun and entertainment, and plenty of snake-on-human action. Two thumbs up! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MauraCOct 25, 2006
Absolutely horrible. Yes, I laughed... in disbelief. I had no idea a movie could sink so low until I saw Snakes on a Plane. But for making me laugh at all, I will award it a 1.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RandomFireOct 15, 2006
Absolutely terrible. So bad that it's just really bad.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
CherBOct 15, 2006
Turn off all your intelligence, and this movie is worth a 9. But, since we are not all Americans, I will not give it that rating. Though for the sheer number of 'oh my god' moments this movie has, it is worth a 7. Cheesy Turn off all your intelligence, and this movie is worth a 9. But, since we are not all Americans, I will not give it that rating. Though for the sheer number of 'oh my god' moments this movie has, it is worth a 7. Cheesy entertainment at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnKOct 7, 2006
This is the worst movie of all time! If it was any worse it wouldn't be called a movie. The acting, the story and the special fx were terrible. I would rather pay money to watch Barbie than watch that horrible movie. It is easily the This is the worst movie of all time! If it was any worse it wouldn't be called a movie. The acting, the story and the special fx were terrible. I would rather pay money to watch Barbie than watch that horrible movie. It is easily the worst movie around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkBayerOct 2, 2006
Despite all the hype, this would-be exploitation/ action/ camp smash wasn't one for two very basic reasons: the plane doesn't fly and the snakes don't bite. The first 25 minutes, in which a mob kingpin, in a literal case of Despite all the hype, this would-be exploitation/ action/ camp smash wasn't one for two very basic reasons: the plane doesn't fly and the snakes don't bite. The first 25 minutes, in which a mob kingpin, in a literal case of overkill, plots to eliminate a damaging witness by loading the plane he's traveling on with cobras, vipers and mambas (and we learn that joining the Mile-High Club can be hazardous to your health) are promising, and it's impossible to completely dismiss an airplane-calamity movie that includes a parody of Legally Blonde's Elle Woods on its passenger list. Ultimately, however, director David R. Ellis (a solid B-movie craftsman who's done far better work with Final Destination 2 and Cellular) can't sustain the balance between gore and satire that Roger Corman, Paul Bartel, Joe Dante and other New World Pictures writers and directors accomplished so effortlessly in such classic 1970s drive-in fare as Death Race 2000 and Piranha. Speaking of the 1970s, part of the problem is this movie's slavish adherence to the blueprints of another of that decade's most notorious genres: you don't have to be afflicted with disaster movie deja vu to know instinctively which of the plane's passengers are either too loathsome or too lovable to live, or that children will be threatened but not totally turned into snake kibble, and that at least one of the three major characters will be involved in at least one false alarm. Worse still, Snakes on a Plane ultimately becomes stagy, contrived and dull because of the behavior of the snakes themselves: due to certain plot contrivances they go on sporadic feeding frenzies and then disappear entirely from the movie for long stretches of time. (What were they doing, reading the in-flight magazine? If so, that explains it--they all fell asleep!) Even though we all know that this movie has about as much chance of actually being shown on a plane as United 93, the airlines might want to reconsider: with all the recent controversy over the latest tightening of security regulations, Snakes on a Plane DOES present the very convincing argument that in the event of on-board snake attacks, too much carry-on luggage will definitely hamper your getaway. And you certainly can't fault Samuel L. Jackson's energetic performance as an FBI agent: not since Jane Fonda in last year's Monster-in-Law has an actor so thoroughly redeemed a completely shallow, one-dimensional part by displaying so much joy in the playing of it. His delivery of the line about being tired of those m***********g snakes on the m***********g plane is already the stuff of legend; it's easy to understand why audiences, seeing through the malarkey and recognizing this mediocrity for what it is, grew equally (and very quickly) tired of seeing these m***********g snakes in their m***********g theaters, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadShiiraSep 21, 2006
To be a true cult film, "Snakes on a Plane" needed Jim Brown in the lead. Samuel L. Jackson should be on a plane full of terrorists, not snakes. The film goes on with its business as if "Airplane" never happened. When Jackson tells his FBI To be a true cult film, "Snakes on a Plane" needed Jim Brown in the lead. Samuel L. Jackson should be on a plane full of terrorists, not snakes. The film goes on with its business as if "Airplane" never happened. When Jackson tells his FBI buddy about scenarios that were never drawn up, he might as well be talking about the scribes who penned the four "Airport" movies. "Snakes on a Plane" is an inspired basic cable network movie, but nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonAriasSep 21, 2006
This was a great movie, I loved it from beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WaisyB.Sep 18, 2006
While its story and premise is really weak, the jokes(if only 5 of them) and Samuel Jackson's great acting were really REALLY entertaining. Snakes on a Plane is the best way to spend a night with your friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
N.LewandowskiSep 3, 2006
I can never remember having so much fun at a movie. The people who say, "stupid and useless," clearly missed the trailers, internet hype, and title sequence. You don't go into this movie expecting Kubrik. You go into this movie to see I can never remember having so much fun at a movie. The people who say, "stupid and useless," clearly missed the trailers, internet hype, and title sequence. You don't go into this movie expecting Kubrik. You go into this movie to see snakes on a plane, with Samuel L. Jackson. It did exactly what should have been done. From over-done violence, to a sex-scene in an airline bathroom, the movie goes all-out to get the snakes on the plane, and keep the audience entertained. It succeded on all fronts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DianeM.Sep 3, 2006
Having read about the hooting, clapping audiences, we tried it for ourselves. I agree with David A.; "guilty pleasure" it is! Relax and have fun! We laughed and clapped. I will be purchasing the DVD!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamF.Sep 2, 2006
Ive seen worse movies but this one did not impress me. The begininng bike scene is more exciting than most of the snakes...we get it already snakes on a plane. but when your 20,000 ft in the air , there is only so far you can go with the Ive seen worse movies but this one did not impress me. The begininng bike scene is more exciting than most of the snakes...we get it already snakes on a plane. but when your 20,000 ft in the air , there is only so far you can go with the movie. Considering how much secruity there is nowadays at airports getting dozens of venomous snakes onboard seems almost silly. Snake-ok lipstick-no way...lol Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FedUpSep 1, 2006
Horrendous from start to finish. Not worthy of your time or hard earned money.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MartinV.Aug 31, 2006
THose of you who hated the movie should've known what you were getting into. If you didn't buy the plot from the beginning, you probably might have leaned into not seeing it. But Samuel L. Jackson is good as his usual self in this THose of you who hated the movie should've known what you were getting into. If you didn't buy the plot from the beginning, you probably might have leaned into not seeing it. But Samuel L. Jackson is good as his usual self in this movie. For Samuel L. fans alike, this is a must-see! if you dont want to see it, don't. but if you do, this is a pretty funny movie. all i have to say Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AaronM.Aug 31, 2006
Not really what I expected...but it is still pretty entertaining. Not quite as good as I thought it would be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EedriAug 30, 2006
haven't had this much fun at the theater in ages! This is such a hilariously silly and fun movie that you just gotta love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanH.Aug 29, 2006
Awesome movie if you shut you brain off and just relax.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AaronAug 29, 2006
This movie is slithering away at the box office as word of mouth is dooming it to where it belongs. Absolutely horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KingC.Aug 28, 2006
So bad that it dropped from number one at the box office to number six in less than five days. This movie is a total bomb sans the hype. It doesn't even qualify for a B movie. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BosGuyAug 28, 2006
totally worthless movie with no value whatsoever. i'd rather have spent the time answering work email. yes, it's that bad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JimS.Aug 27, 2006
People seem to be talking past each other in some of the reviews...I think if you expect a good movie, you're really missing the point. Then I've heard some people walk in expecting it to be terrible, and it ended up not being as People seem to be talking past each other in some of the reviews...I think if you expect a good movie, you're really missing the point. Then I've heard some people walk in expecting it to be terrible, and it ended up not being as bad as they expected. But that's my problem w/ the movie, is that it seems to know it's a joke, but it doesn't really care. Even though I wouldn't rate it as harshly, I think Rolling Stone review of that "it's not so bad that it's good. It's so bland that it's boring." hits the nail on the head, because the movie is extremely medicore in all respects. It's not really bad enough to be hilarious, and it's not really good enough to thrill. A lot of potential comedy never seems to unfold. There are lots of really stereotypic characters which I thought would lead obvious, but great comedy, but most of them never end up doing anything. I guess a great audience could make this movie a lot more fun, but that's true w/ every film. There have already been other big budget stinkers which I've found much more entertaining to watch like last years Alone in the Dark, or maybe the grandaddy of all great terrible movies, Rollerball. This is just a medicore action movie w/ some half assed attempts at comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Aug 27, 2006
As a 50-somethiing father who took his 21 year-old daughter the day before she left for Europe for a junior semester abroad - to get her mind off her anxiety about travel - we howled, clapped, and shouted along with the other audience As a 50-somethiing father who took his 21 year-old daughter the day before she left for Europe for a junior semester abroad - to get her mind off her anxiety about travel - we howled, clapped, and shouted along with the other audience members. What a hoot. Look, no one expects an Acadamy Award here, unless they have a new category called "guilty pleasure." And that it was. It takes so many of the cliches of airplane/reptile/terror movies and plays them to the hilt (retreating to a smaller and smaller safe area, the male steward, the mother with the baby, etc). What a better way to spend 2 hours on an August night than enjoying the camp and overboard nature of an exploitation film that really gets it right. We both came out laughing, quoting the most memorable lines of the movie, and saying "Eleven!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SidiotAug 26, 2006
Samuel Jackson get a one. The rest of this crapola gets a minus ten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
Int3rmissionAug 24, 2006
I was really looking forward to this film. I mean it's SNAKES ON A PLANE !! [***SPOILERS***] However I was pretty disapointed. The film is fairly enjoyable up untill the last 20 minutes where it gets unbleivalbly corny (a guy who plays I was really looking forward to this film. I mean it's SNAKES ON A PLANE !! [***SPOILERS***] However I was pretty disapointed. The film is fairly enjoyable up untill the last 20 minutes where it gets unbleivalbly corny (a guy who plays Playstation lands the plane, and people start swapping phone numbers after they land like nothing had happened....obviously these scenes were meant to be funny but they just plain sucked). It's hard to tell what this movie was trying to achieve and it feels like they were changing their position on the film on the basis of what all the fans wanted. The result is a mish mash of comedy, seriousness and crappy horror elements. By the way, anyone who thought this movie was scary are watching some pretty lame films. The CGI snakes look just that...CGI. And because there CGI, they aren't scary in the least bit. Do yourself a favour, if your going to see this film dont go in beliveing all of that internet hype bullshit. Make up your own mind. In my opinion this film could have been way better if they decided to go in one direction, comedy or horror. Instead it seems like they didnt no what the hell they were going for and the result is something neither purely enjoyable nor insanely terrible....just bland. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jakAug 24, 2006
Over hyped, totally dissapointed. Sam jackson is great but a terrible terrible movie. Not funny, and too long.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GoffyAug 24, 2006
So bad and campy that I laughed at times. But seriously who comes up with crapola like this?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LadyfingerAug 24, 2006
One of the worst movies ever made. It is a below a B movie if you can believe that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Aug 23, 2006
Pure genius, the best and worst film of all time similtaneously. Can never get tired of these ----- snakes on a ------ plane
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AllistairP.Aug 23, 2006
Probably a blast with an awesome audience, but a bore with an empty audience. And we were drunk off our ass so that's saying something. NY and LA enjoy it while you can, everywhere else good luck finding a fun, interactive audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieAug 23, 2006
fantastic. from the parody of multiple stereotypes to the utter ridiculousness of the plot, its just fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatD.Aug 23, 2006
A movie best enjoyed in a packed theatre full of rabid SoaP fans. Wow, great moments in the movie. Lines that got people out of their seats. Everybody goes nuts for that one line. You know the one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidAug 23, 2006
So bad that it is impossible to believe the viewers positive scores given this trash was released? I have heard from a few that their opinions were not published. Makes one wonder it this site is on the up and up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TyeN.Aug 23, 2006
The film on it's own would still receive a recommendation from me, but it's the whole experience in the theater with a group of friends that really sells it. If you haven't seen it yet, you really need to. Please, do yourself The film on it's own would still receive a recommendation from me, but it's the whole experience in the theater with a group of friends that really sells it. If you haven't seen it yet, you really need to. Please, do yourself a favor and grab some friends, some snacks, and your sense of humor and go see 'Snakes On A Plane'. I'm going to gaurantee you right now that you will have fun and come out of the theater with a smile on your face. Me and my friends couldn't stop talking about it all night after we watched it, and even now we still make references to it. In fact, we might go see it again. It's that fun. A masterpiece? Of course not. A cult classic? Definitely, and sometimes that's even better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronO.Aug 22, 2006
The in theatre experience of snakes on a plane just can't be beat. Samuel and the snakes deliver ample amounts of fan service throughout!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeBAug 22, 2006
Pretty silly. Good effects (snakes), but a virtual remake of Poseidon Adventure with snakes instead of water. Yes, some laughs, but not enough to save it. Interesting how some reviewers here give it good marks because it is stupid. I Pretty silly. Good effects (snakes), but a virtual remake of Poseidon Adventure with snakes instead of water. Yes, some laughs, but not enough to save it. Interesting how some reviewers here give it good marks because it is stupid. I deducted because of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkAug 22, 2006
This movie was totally fun. All the fun Dead Man's Chest was missing. Jackson is cool as hell, though his big line should have been delivered more grimly/sternly rather than yelling it. I think that would have worked better. Some This movie was totally fun. All the fun Dead Man's Chest was missing. Jackson is cool as hell, though his big line should have been delivered more grimly/sternly rather than yelling it. I think that would have worked better. Some cheese, like the acting of the guy who played Eddie Kim, but nonetheless a fantastic theater experience. Audience was into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanC.Aug 22, 2006
This is not a film to be watched alone. Take your friends. Your friends' friends, even. Quite simply, this was the best theatre-going experience I've ever had. People were hissing during the movie, moaning on queue, booing This is not a film to be watched alone. Take your friends. Your friends' friends, even. Quite simply, this was the best theatre-going experience I've ever had. People were hissing during the movie, moaning on queue, booing previews, cheering when people got bit and killed in silly ways, and, when the already famous line came, stood, applauding Samuel L. Jackson's bad assery. I wouldn't have liked this movie alone and quiet, but like I said, if you take people with whom you are ready to laugh and cheer and applaud and hiss, and above all, have lots of fun, you'll have a blast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeAug 22, 2006
Wow. This exceeded my expectiations by about a million times, I expected a really brutal movie. Instead I got a movie that was funny and cool. Everybody in the theater was cheering when someone died in a cool way or for a matter of fact, at Wow. This exceeded my expectiations by about a million times, I expected a really brutal movie. Instead I got a movie that was funny and cool. Everybody in the theater was cheering when someone died in a cool way or for a matter of fact, at all. Check this one out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.Aug 21, 2006
If you go into this movie expecting an exhilarating action thriller, you will be severely disapointed. However, if you go into it expecting a crappy movie, with a hilariously stupid screenplay, you will love it. I don't see how it could If you go into this movie expecting an exhilarating action thriller, you will be severely disapointed. However, if you go into it expecting a crappy movie, with a hilariously stupid screenplay, you will love it. I don't see how it could be taken seriously- a girl gets bit on the tit, and there's a snake countdown inside the crate (as if the snakes need to know how long they have to be released). henceforth, if you are too uptight to enjoy this movie, I feel sorry for you, because was one of the best theater experiences I have enjoyed in a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianV.Aug 21, 2006
Outstanding movie-going experience. Clearly not the manifestation of poetic genius, but this is a movie you have to get out and see in the next two weeks while the crowds are rowdy. Easily the best time I've had at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Q.Aug 21, 2006
Quite possibly the worst piece of .... to be released as a major motion picture in the last 10 years. All you people giving this movie good ratings because of the internet buzz surrounding it and the "so bad it's good" effect are fools, Quite possibly the worst piece of .... to be released as a major motion picture in the last 10 years. All you people giving this movie good ratings because of the internet buzz surrounding it and the "so bad it's good" effect are fools, pure and simple. You have been suckered by a handful of bored, clever people, and you really need to start thinking for yourself. You'll be happier. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SarahT.Aug 21, 2006
Good, stupid, over-the-top, popcorn munchin' fun. Sam Jackson's scenery chewing is particularly enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryanAug 20, 2006
Please! A note to all those who took this movie seriously: what don't you get? This movie is not supposed to be serious!!! Get that straight. This movie is a spoof of all things ridiculous in modern horror movies. Yes, this is Please! A note to all those who took this movie seriously: what don't you get? This movie is not supposed to be serious!!! Get that straight. This movie is a spoof of all things ridiculous in modern horror movies. Yes, this is what's wrong with American filmmaking and it's hilarious. It KNOWS what's wrong with filmmaking and certainly uses it to its advantage. If you're taking this movie seriously, of course you'll hate it. If you're taking it as a spoof (which it certainly is) you'll die laughing. After all: a movie cannot be serious if Kenan Thompson saves the day. That's the funniest comedic ending of all time. There's nothing like this and never will be again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobF.Aug 20, 2006
This is the best movie i have seen all year. This might be sthe best movie of all time. The way the audience participation with the movie just makes it more fun. It is so fun to watch. Of course it is it's Snakes on a Plane!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LYAug 20, 2006
By far the funniest movie that I've seen in years. I was laughing for most of the movie. Just seeing an ad for it on tv made me laugh. Snakes on a plane? Such a dumb idea. So dumb, it's funny! The computer-generated snakes look By far the funniest movie that I've seen in years. I was laughing for most of the movie. Just seeing an ad for it on tv made me laugh. Snakes on a plane? Such a dumb idea. So dumb, it's funny! The computer-generated snakes look bad... the Geico gecko looks better than them. But the effects of people getting bitten, like, swollen arms, necks, and blood and gore, were pretty good. See it if you're looking for a good laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaurieV.Aug 20, 2006
Forget the snakes, it's Samuel L Jackson on a plane. He carries this movie from being merely entertaining to being iconically good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LarS.Aug 20, 2006
Should have been name "Idiots in Movie Theatres". It's what's wrong with American film making. Samuel L Jackson must be laughing all the way to the bank and laughing at the idiots who bothered to rate this "C" movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LaurentAug 20, 2006
VERY boring until 10 minutes before the end - as an afterthought - when the real Jules kicks in. Avoid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
GaborA.Aug 20, 2006
Snakes was a decent movie but what the hype is distracting from is this movie really isnt unique at all. Every year we have these creature features like deep blue sea and company. That movie wasnt meant to be taken all that seriously either Snakes was a decent movie but what the hype is distracting from is this movie really isnt unique at all. Every year we have these creature features like deep blue sea and company. That movie wasnt meant to be taken all that seriously either and Sam Jackson made an appearance there as well. Snakes is worse action and funnier than Deep Blue. Its more in the ball park of Lake Placid which i thought was pretty funny as well. Its a good flick but besides the absurd title this movie is doing absolutely nothing that hasnt allready been done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LisaK.Aug 20, 2006
Really, your enjoyment level while watching this film rests partly on the audience, a necessary participant. The well-timed hissing behind us as well as in front of us had me in hysterics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WongitAug 20, 2006
Hands down the funnest movie in a very long time. this summer saw some great flicks, some serious (miami vice) some dumb (talladega nights, but still awesome) but Snakes is just fun, its awsome and honestly i felt like cheering at the very Hands down the funnest movie in a very long time. this summer saw some great flicks, some serious (miami vice) some dumb (talladega nights, but still awesome) but Snakes is just fun, its awsome and honestly i felt like cheering at the very end of the film. Great all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReaperAug 20, 2006
To me, the scariest movie of all-time. I hate f'ing snakes on f'ing planes. The way they jumped, struck, slithered, and I cried like a little girl the entire time with my legs on the seat curled up in a ball. Excellent movie by the To me, the scariest movie of all-time. I hate f'ing snakes on f'ing planes. The way they jumped, struck, slithered, and I cried like a little girl the entire time with my legs on the seat curled up in a ball. Excellent movie by the way. It's weird, I loved it, but I would not buy it and would not watch it again because it was torture. I have never been so scared and so freaked out in my life and to go through that experience again would just plain hissss. I love the sleeper hits. WOW! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimN.Aug 19, 2006
Anyone who took this movie seriously should be shot...this movie was full of cliches, it was stupendously cheesy and dumb, and guess what? It was exactly what I was hoping for, even a bit more! Absolutely hilarious, extremely fun...one of my Anyone who took this movie seriously should be shot...this movie was full of cliches, it was stupendously cheesy and dumb, and guess what? It was exactly what I was hoping for, even a bit more! Absolutely hilarious, extremely fun...one of my favourite movies ever. Long Live "Snakes on a Plane"! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeR.Aug 19, 2006
You get what you paid for and it kicks ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanieAug 19, 2006
Far exceeded even my high expectations. I haven't laughed and screamed so much in years. Everyone with a sense of humor must see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Aug 19, 2006
This generations Rocky Horror Picture Show. Whatever your opinion is of this movie, you can't deny that it is absolutely fun. If you walk into this movie expecting to see Citizen Kane, then you deserve to be disappointed. If you walk in This generations Rocky Horror Picture Show. Whatever your opinion is of this movie, you can't deny that it is absolutely fun. If you walk into this movie expecting to see Citizen Kane, then you deserve to be disappointed. If you walk in expecting to laugh at the ridiculousness of the premise and jump at the creative ways that snakes can kill people trapped in an aluminum tube at 30000 feet, then you will be motherf!#*in' impressed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanAug 19, 2006
Delivers on what its title promises. Probably only worth seeing during the opening weekend while all the people who are really into it are still going. It's extremely rare to have this much fun as a member of a movie audience. Without Delivers on what its title promises. Probably only worth seeing during the opening weekend while all the people who are really into it are still going. It's extremely rare to have this much fun as a member of a movie audience. Without that, I imagine it only being mildly amusing at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnAug 19, 2006
Suspense, hilarity, gore, nudity, & cheesiness. It plays its part perfectly for a exciting evening romp at the theatre. You cant ask for much more. The movies don't get much better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SKAug 19, 2006
Cons - plot, script, cast, acting, directing Pros - less than 2hrs long I was bored through most of the movie. Only laughed couple times. I felt like I was sitting through a plane ride waiting to get off. Yawn!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Aug 19, 2006
The snakes are symbolic of current difficulties being experienced in the air today. Like Sma J said " I am tired of these mother f....ing snakes on this mother f........ing plane."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SeamusAug 19, 2006
The whole enterprise has the sweaty sheen that comes from trying too hard to be cool. Sadly, that's all too true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NatAug 19, 2006
What did you expect? Anyone who expected this movie to be a truly good movie must be out of there mind. It's so bad, it's good, and they knew that when they made it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasparC.Aug 19, 2006
I saw this film at the 10pm showing, and I was surprised that the theatre was not packed to capacity. However, everyone there was there to witness the beauty and genius that is this film. The gratuitous violence on display, added to the I saw this film at the 10pm showing, and I was surprised that the theatre was not packed to capacity. However, everyone there was there to witness the beauty and genius that is this film. The gratuitous violence on display, added to the hilarious audience participation ("Snake Vision!!!"), the dramatic irony ("Let's hope this is an uneventful flight"), the wonderful one-liners, the ridiculous characters (OCD rap star, anyone?) made this a fantastic movie. I highly recommend that everyone sees this film as soon as possible. It's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YamatsukaEyeAug 19, 2006
Instant cult faovourite. Suprisingly funny. Suppassed my hype for the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickAug 19, 2006
Snakes+plane+Samuel L Jackson=Best Film ever. I dont need to say anything else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClayAug 19, 2006
If you're looking to have a good time with this movie, you will. It is everything ANYONE could have wanted it to be, and if you don't like the movie you should have known not to go to begin with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NateAug 19, 2006
I've never seen an audience more involved in a movie before. You know you've done something brilliant, or horribly wrong when someones death is meant to be a dramatic moment and people can't help but laugh at it. If you go to I've never seen an audience more involved in a movie before. You know you've done something brilliant, or horribly wrong when someones death is meant to be a dramatic moment and people can't help but laugh at it. If you go to the movie, you have to go expecting the absurd. Only then will you be able to love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianGAug 19, 2006
What can I say, with all of the hype this movie received coming in, I figured I would be probably get let down to some degree.... but not at all it turns out. This movie is everything the bloggers and all the little myspace kiddies hyped it What can I say, with all of the hype this movie received coming in, I figured I would be probably get let down to some degree.... but not at all it turns out. This movie is everything the bloggers and all the little myspace kiddies hyped it up to be, and a little more imo. Definitely worth paying to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertJ.Aug 19, 2006
Any critics who say it sucks are just trying to be cool, and they need to try harder. This is some of the most fun I've had watching a movie in quite a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanD.Aug 19, 2006
None of this so bad it's good BS. it was the movie of the year, full stop. it was intense, brutal, and INTENTIONALLY hilarious. i can't believe how hard nearly all these critics dropped the ball on something like this so hard.None of this so bad it's good BS. it was the movie of the year, full stop. it was intense, brutal, and INTENTIONALLY hilarious. i can't believe how hard nearly all these critics dropped the ball on something like this so hard. unintentionally hilarious? are you on crack? this is the most wry send-up of its horribly cliched predecessors that loves the BS it grew up on and has absolutely no pretensions of doing anything other than taking its own staples to ludicrous extents. the people behind this movie are effin' brilliant, and i mean that wholeheartedly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdrianH.Aug 19, 2006
Definitely the most fun I've had going to the theater this summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcoPoloAug 19, 2006
Color me surprised. Not only am I impressed that I even liked this movie, but I was amazed that everyone else in the theater was enjoying themselves as much as me and my girlfriend were. First off it takes a stupid premise and just has fun Color me surprised. Not only am I impressed that I even liked this movie, but I was amazed that everyone else in the theater was enjoying themselves as much as me and my girlfriend were. First off it takes a stupid premise and just has fun with it. Sure the special effects are shoddy at best, but really that's not the point. The point is to make the audience jump, laugh, (and boy will you laugh at the stupidity of it all) and sit at the edge of your seat to see what nonsense will occur next. This is really a true throwback to when movies knew to entertain and you could just have fun while chomping on popcorn and sipping on a coke. Kudos have to go to Samuel L Jackson for taking a chance with a dumb premise and going along with it to the point where you just can't help it but go along with it yourself. Trust me, dismiss what the critics may say about this being trash in its lowest form, this is what Hollywood needs to infuse into the movie theaters now and then. If Hollywood churns one or two of these kinds of movies per year, (and I'm not talking about the gore-fests that are meant to be fun, House of Wax, Final Destination 3 I'm looking at you) we'd all be the better for it. I honestly haven't had this much fun in a theater since the hey days of Sam Raimi's Evil Dead films, the original Star Wars trilogy or even John Carpenter's 80's Schlock Fests. This really isn't mindless and pointless drivel (well maybe it is a bit on the cheesy side), but as I watched what was taking place on the silver screen, I could'nt help but think that Ed Wood or William Castle would have smiled in approval of it all. A bona-fide late summer treat! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShayAug 18, 2006
Enough is enough!!! I've had it with these muthaf'n snakes on this muthaf'n plane. That quote alone is PRICELESS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyCAug 18, 2006
Honestly, I didn't expect much. Damn I was wrong. Trust Sammy L Jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlecAug 18, 2006
This is NOT so bad it's good. It's just bad. Awful even. Stupid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NickB.Aug 18, 2006
The meeting of expectations - which were set low - was surprisingly satisfying. And I don't know if I'm embarrassed to say that I was fully engaged and entertained all the while feeling like I should know better. Advice to The meeting of expectations - which were set low - was surprisingly satisfying. And I don't know if I'm embarrassed to say that I was fully engaged and entertained all the while feeling like I should know better. Advice to potential viewers: just enjoy it and don't expect more than the title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Aug 18, 2006
It's no work of art but so what, it doesn't try to be. Best time I've had in at a movie in awhile. Have some fun and check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewB.Aug 18, 2006
You will Laugh, You will Scream, You will HISS! Snakes on a Plane delivers with everything it promised it would... "MotherF-ing Snakes on a MotherF-ing Plane!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Aug 18, 2006
I haven't laughed that hard at a bad movie in a long time!!!! Very entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful