Snow Dogs

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StupidAlien
    Sep 30, 2006
    8
    Excellent comedy! Those dogs are quite realistic [nice computer work, Demon winks???]
  2. BradB.
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Give me a break... this film wasn't intended to be The English Patient. It's a cute "feel good" family movie. The scenery was amazing.... the characters were meant to be larger than life- as well as the dogs (fine with me). It had just enough comedy and romance to keep the adults engaged. My daughter loved it and I certainly enjoyed it - not a common scenario!
  3. MichelleP.
    Jan 5, 2003
    10
    Yes, I'm aware that this movie has a rather silly plot. But I don't think it was absurd enough to deserve a 20. I mean, we don't get these kind of feel-good, fun, movies, other than "My Big Fat Greek Wedding". This film has 3 things that not too many films have 1. A beautiful scenery. I haven't seen any beautiful sceneries since "The Fellowship of the Ring", but this Yes, I'm aware that this movie has a rather silly plot. But I don't think it was absurd enough to deserve a 20. I mean, we don't get these kind of feel-good, fun, movies, other than "My Big Fat Greek Wedding". This film has 3 things that not too many films have 1. A beautiful scenery. I haven't seen any beautiful sceneries since "The Fellowship of the Ring", but this film contained such a beautiful Alaska scenery that you just wanted to move there right away. 2. Animals get respected. I haven't seen this happening since "Princess Mononoke". The dogs in this film are beautiful, cute, clever, brave, mischievious, lovable, and even get their name in the title. So far, films have been taking such helpful animals that have saved the lives of humans for many centuries for granted. But this film shows how important they are. 3. No sensuality. There is romance sprinkled in this film, but no boy sleeping with a girl when they're not married. Nowadays, romance or comedies seem to always have that, to "spice up" the movie. Nice try. I think critics these days are a little too picky about certain films and take them for granted when they could be a stress relief. See this one, whether you're a kid, teen, or an adult. But especially if you're a dog-lover (like me ^_^) Expand
  4. RellS.
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    Both my wife and I loved this movie - we have watched it several times and plan on watching it again.
  5. AngelD.
    Dec 21, 2002
    10
    I give this movie a 10. And I am speaking from it's target point of view: the kids and those ones not asking too much philosophy out of a children's movie. Probably the gentlemen and ladies at the New Times (L.A.) and other so-called-raters are more fond of the "Die Another Day" and other "action" movies that "warm their souls" and are expecting crappy gun-shots and fighting on I give this movie a 10. And I am speaking from it's target point of view: the kids and those ones not asking too much philosophy out of a children's movie. Probably the gentlemen and ladies at the New Times (L.A.) and other so-called-raters are more fond of the "Die Another Day" and other "action" movies that "warm their souls" and are expecting crappy gun-shots and fighting on the screen, especially when they are taking their kids to a Disney movie. Well, they get what they want, as "peaceful" and funny movies like SnowDogs are not welcome anymore by the new generation of "critique"-ers. Too bad... Expand
  6. KellyT.
    Sep 9, 2002
    7
    It was good.
  7. SintiK.
    Jun 29, 2002
    10
    I loved this film.
  8. MarkD.
    May 17, 2002
    9
    I'm surprised by the ratings others have given this movie. You have to take it in the spirit in which it is intended. It is a Disney film focused on children and families. From that point of view, it hits the mark! My kids loved it (not to mention it kept the attention of both my wife and I throughout). Is it the second coming of Citizen Kane? No...but it was not intended to be. It I'm surprised by the ratings others have given this movie. You have to take it in the spirit in which it is intended. It is a Disney film focused on children and families. From that point of view, it hits the mark! My kids loved it (not to mention it kept the attention of both my wife and I throughout). Is it the second coming of Citizen Kane? No...but it was not intended to be. It rating this movie, listen to the kids around you laughing and cheering...you'll soon realize that Snow Dogs is a winner. It's fun, it's funny, and most importantly, it's good family entertainment. Sometimes you just have to suspend your need to be sophisticated...it's a lot easier to have fun that way... Expand
  9. E.S.
    Mar 6, 2002
    7
    Good, fun for little kids, but a bit boring for anyone older.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 14 out of 26
  1. Amiable Gooding still smiles through it all, weathering the cold, physical abuse and implied racism, doing his best to make his audience believe that Snow Dogs isn't offensive mush. But he can't bring it off.
  2. Snow Dogs isn't subtle, to say the least, but it's a serviceable city-slicker-in-the-frozen-sticks comedy for kids and undemanding adults.
  3. The vocal canines appear for about 30 humorous seconds, in a dream sequence, and are then never seen again. Unfortunately, the same can't be said about the rest of the film, which runs an additional 98.5 excruciating minutes.