Snow White and the Huntsman

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 490 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Snow White and the Huntsman is a new take on the classic fairy tale which features an expanded role for the Huntsman. In the fairy tale, he is ordered to take Snow White into the woods and kill her, but instead lets her go. In the new take, the Huntsman is not a love interest but acts moreSnow White and the Huntsman is a new take on the classic fairy tale which features an expanded role for the Huntsman. In the fairy tale, he is ordered to take Snow White into the woods and kill her, but instead lets her go. In the new take, the Huntsman is not a love interest but acts more as a mentor, teaching Snow White to fight and survive. (Universal Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 30, 2012
    88
    Snow White and the Huntsman reinvents the legendary story in a film of astonishing beauty and imagination.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 31, 2012
    75
    Yes, there are many splendid reasons to see Snow White and the Huntsman – enough, maybe, not to care that neither Snow White nor the Huntsman rank high among them.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 31, 2012
    70
    An evil spell nearly does Snow White in, but it's lifted in the nick of time. The strangest spell afflicts Kristen Stewart; she can't seem to imbue Snow White with anything more than a semblance of feeling. That spell never lifts, but it doesn't make much difference in the end because the forces of good manage to work around it.
  4. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 28, 2012
    60
    A strong visual style tussles with flaccid storytelling in this ambitious retelling of Grimm. It won't exactly have Walt Disney spinning in his secret ice chamber, but you may wish they spent more time worrying about what exactly the film is than who it's for.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 1, 2012
    60
    It's Theron who owns this film, imbuing her deliciously depraved Queen with furious pain and deep-seated fear.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 31, 2012
    50
    I spent several minutes not caring what was happening with the story but just observing the patchwork illusion of oversized props, short stunt doubles and computer grafting of big faces on small bodies. Nice work.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    May 31, 2012
    25
    Overlong, overcrowded, overstimulating and with an over-the-top performance by Charlize Theron as the evil queen Ravenna, the movie is a virtual orchard of toxic excess, starting with the unnecessarily sprawling cast of characters.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 187
  2. Negative: 17 out of 187
  1. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Beautifully shot and very convincingly acted! Really enjoyed this take on the tale......so much better than previous attempts at adaptingBeautifully shot and very convincingly acted! Really enjoyed this take on the tale......so much better than previous attempts at adapting fairytales! I highly commend and recommend! Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I just saw this movie and I loved it!!!!! I was not a fan of Kristen Stewarts before but I have to admit I was completely wrong!!! She has aI just saw this movie and I loved it!!!!! I was not a fan of Kristen Stewarts before but I have to admit I was completely wrong!!! She has a lot of acting talent and I was very impressed with her here. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly good! I was expecting a lame story remake but I was so wrong. Loved the story, the characters and the amazing visuals. Very wellSurprisingly good! I was expecting a lame story remake but I was so wrong. Loved the story, the characters and the amazing visuals. Very well done indeed. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There were a few problems in this movie, but I generally liked it. It was definitely a dark story, much closer to the original fairy tale than the Disney version. I'm not really a fan of Kristen Stewart, but I thought she did a fantastic job. All of the actors did, really, but her performance was the one that shocked me. The effects were amazing, and the world was very well put together. I have to admit, there were a few scenes (fairies showing up, and magical animals) that made me groan and say "Ah man, here we go" but they were short-lived and relatively sparse. Overall, if you are able to turn off your realism filter and don't vehemently hate fantasy movies, then you should enjoy this. There are plenty of battles, adult subject-matter, and interesting actors. The movie does feel a little long, though, and they didn't do much to cover why the queen didn't just kill Snow White in the first place. If you pay attention, you'll understand why, but some people might miss it. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    6
    Visually stunning but emotionally vacant, "Snow White and the Huntsman" is a feast for the eyes but a famine for the soul. There is veryVisually stunning but emotionally vacant, "Snow White and the Huntsman" is a feast for the eyes but a famine for the soul. There is very little here to care about. Those familiar with the Disney cartoon will have an idea of what's going to happen and the script offers very few surprises to liven the story. It takes quite a while to rev up after a fairly interesting beginning. The chase through the Dark Forest and an encounter with a village of scarred women and children seems to drag on for quite a long time. The two hour running time could easily have been trimmed by at least 15 minutes and increased the film's energy level. That might have made the well-worn story more interesting. As it is, the audience marvels at the costumes, landscapes and mythical creatures but wonders whether their might be something more interesting happening on the next screen of the multiplex. Theron, Hemsworth and yes, even Stewart do an excellent to adequate job in the acting department and the team of dwarfs steal every scene they're in; but the script is in dire need of one of Ravenna's rejuvenation spells. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    He could come out a good movie because it is technically well done. Too bad that Stewart as Snow White (character who was supposed to carryHe could come out a good movie because it is technically well done. Too bad that Stewart as Snow White (character who was supposed to carry the good, the sweetness, innocence) has almost ruined everything with his expressionless. Thank goodness there was Charlize Theron that saved the movie with his incredible performance at the Queen. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    More of 2 hs missed in this boring crap, also the main character is a skinny ugly one, thumbs down, don't waste your precious time...if youMore of 2 hs missed in this boring crap, also the main character is a skinny ugly one, thumbs down, don't waste your precious time...if you want to see a fantasie movie go to Red Riding Hood Expand

See all 187 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.