Sound of My Voice

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Apr 21, 2012
    90
    Sound of My Voice offers promise and pay off at the same time. Star and writer Brit Marling is having a rare double-whammy of a debut.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    May 3, 2012
    88
    This clever, low-budget film kicks the concept up a few notches to mesmerizing.
  3. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Apr 25, 2012
    83
    Like "Martha Marcy May Marlene," Sound Of My Voice plausibly demonstrates how someone's sense of self and certainty can be eroded, and like "Another Earth," it was co-written by actress Brit Marling, a melancholy, luminous presence as the group's leader.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 25, 2012
    83
    Sound of My Voice doesn't follow through on everything it sets up, yet it has a hushed and revealing psycho-intensity. It also has an oh-wow Twilight Zone ending that truly made me go, ''Oh, wow.''
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 24, 2012
    80
    Open-ended and decidedly un-Hollywood, it is faintly dissatisfying, especially coming on the heels of such as engaging and crisply presented story. But it offers movie-goers a wonderful opportunity to roll it all around in their heads and discuss it, even debate it, as they drive back to that cozy little cult compound they call home.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Jul 28, 2012
    80
    Like "Martha Marcy May Marlene," this lo-fi psychodrama reaps the benefits of a mesmerising female lead, only this time as cult leader not disciple. Marling continues to impress.
  7. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 16, 2012
    80
    Creepy, confounding and more than a little curious. It's also quietly compelling.
  8. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 30, 2012
    80
    Sound of My Voice has such creepy-crawly, brain-tickling energy that I wanted a much bigger payoff out of the final collision of all these people and episodes. Maybe they're saving that for the sequel.
  9. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Apr 21, 2012
    80
    Now Batmanglij and Marling deliver another terrific and engrossing venture into speculative fiction, Sound of My Voice.
  10. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Apr 21, 2012
    80
    Two documentary filmmakers infiltrate a mysterious cult, only to find themselves drawn into the leader's insidious grip, in the taut, compelling low-budget feature Sound of My Voice.
  11. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Denham impressively captures Peter's flintiness, rendering him sympathetic yet not quite likable, and Vicius is just right as the wary Lorna.
  12. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    May 10, 2012
    75
    It's as much a satire as a mystery, a film as much about art as it is about faith.
  13. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 9, 2012
    75
    The Sound of My Voice never precisely declares whether her story is true. Without going into detail, I can say that the film never precisely declares anything to be true.
  14. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    May 3, 2012
    75
    An economical thriller, both narratively and budgetarily, Sound of My Voice serves up moments of extreme dread and discomfort, but works a winning undercurrent of playful absurdity into the material as well.
  15. 75
    The star of Sound of My Voice is co-screenwriter, female lead Brit Marling, who plays Maggie with melancholy, amusement and scorn. Compulsively watchable, she can change who we think she is by simply turning her face. In profile, she's Vanessa Redgrave. Laughing, she becomes Debbie Reynolds. Marling might become a great character actress. Let's hope the movies use her well.
  16. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Apr 27, 2012
    70
    A smart, effectively unsettling movie about the need to believe and the hard, cruel arts of persuasion.
  17. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Apr 27, 2012
    70
    The movie explores the basic debate over faith, the idea that we can feel a sense of relief in cynicism realized and turn around and face the horror of our lack of faith in the next moment.
  18. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Apr 26, 2012
    70
    With storytelling economy and dramatic precision often missing from today's independent films, Batmanglij augments the building blocks for a nifty paranoid thriller with sharp commentary on our faction-centered society and the pitfalls of reinvention.
  19. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 26, 2012
    70
    The film is thin and mannered, even though many of the mannerisms are intrinsic to its shrewd vision of cult behavior. There's no arguing, though - and who would want to? - Ms. Marling's extraordinary gift for taking the camera and weaving a spell.
  20. 70
    Batmanglij keeps the movie even-keeled, full of medium close-ups, underscored by ambient plinks and shimmers, with nothing to break the trance until a last scene that upends everything we thought we knew.
  21. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    May 10, 2012
    67
    The movie is directed with real confidence by Batmanglij. He lets his actors breathe, builds suspense in one group-purge brainwashing scene, and lets the mystery unfold in an immersive way that's probably a bit more compelling than its actual scripted payoff deserves.
  22. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 24, 2012
    63
    This visually engaging, well-acted story held me for an hour as tightly as anything I've seen this year. But as we neared the climax, I realized only a miracle could resolve the contradictions of the tale – and we didn't get one.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    I Love this film! I have done a lot of research about it's meaning and refused to settle for ambiguity". If you want to look deeper researchI Love this film! I have done a lot of research about it's meaning and refused to settle for ambiguity". If you want to look deeper research Greenbaum Cult Manchurian Candidate /CIA Mind control. It will explain a LOT about the confusing scenes the little girl Abigail... the Police Officer searching room for bugs.
    Of course interpret how you will. But this movie is very well informed. Very chilling
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    A very low key movie, but a very good movie. The concept of a cult leader from the future is interesting and the film plays it at a veryA very low key movie, but a very good movie. The concept of a cult leader from the future is interesting and the film plays it at a very serious and somber level. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    The single most overlooked film of the year. Not enough people went out to see it (i saw it 3 times in theaters) and those who saw it, couldThe single most overlooked film of the year. Not enough people went out to see it (i saw it 3 times in theaters) and those who saw it, could not appreciate Brit Marling's performance. After seeing Another Earth and now Sound of My Voice i know Brit Marling is one of the best actresses out there. A must see for any fans of things like twilight zone as well. Full Review »