Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 17, 2004
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 107 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
13
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ScottW.Jun 25, 2010
This movie loves all its characters, each with their own foibles and hardships. The script bubbles with whimsy and intelligence. There are many laugh out loud moments, but the humor always emerges from characters naturally, and advances This movie loves all its characters, each with their own foibles and hardships. The script bubbles with whimsy and intelligence. There are many laugh out loud moments, but the humor always emerges from characters naturally, and advances their development. Two families converge, a Mexican immigrant turned au pair and her pubescent daughter, and a successful chef, his wife, their son and daughter and her alcoholic mother. Nearly every adult family member hurts the others incidentally--most sadly their children--as they pursue their own, not unworthy goals. But through the grace of a platonic romance between the chef and au pair, the convergent families nudge each into mindful repair of their relationships and a healthier view of themselves. Wonderful acting, especially a superlative Tea Leoni. This movie inspires and delights so, you won't walk away from it, you'll float. And your feet won't have to touch the ground, for a little while at least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TanyaSep 18, 2005
I really liked this movie. Mainly because I am Mexican-American and can relate to a lot of it. The spanish didn't pose a problem for me because duh! I understand it. I really would recommend this movie. It was awesome. ^.^
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CelsoJul 15, 2008
It's pretty understandable that some women dislike this movie, it leaves the average American women naked sex and emotionalwise. Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AraH.Dec 5, 2005
I don't know why so many critics panned the film. I suppose if hypersensitive far left liberals may be offended by some character depictions or question the motives of the director. But I do believe that fair-minded intellectuals will I don't know why so many critics panned the film. I suppose if hypersensitive far left liberals may be offended by some character depictions or question the motives of the director. But I do believe that fair-minded intellectuals will appreciate the superb performances and the comedic tragedy of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeraldSep 18, 2005
Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheQuietGamerAug 8, 2012
I don't typically watch movies like this, so I'm not sure exactly how to review it. The only reason I picked it up is because I'm a huge Adam Sandler fan. The characters are well acted and the script is well written. It's funny, sweet, and atI don't typically watch movies like this, so I'm not sure exactly how to review it. The only reason I picked it up is because I'm a huge Adam Sandler fan. The characters are well acted and the script is well written. It's funny, sweet, and at the same time heartbreaking. I really enjoyed this movie, but I do have some complaints, like I wish they had focused more on the clasky's kids. The son character is practically nonexistent in the movie, and I would have enjoyed more scenes so that we could learn more about how the daughter character is dealing with the rejection by her mother. But maybe it's best that they didn't as even without them the movie still manages to be great. And while the final product still pleases, I'm still left wondering what this movie would have been like if they had included them more. Still it's a great movie and one I do recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sammieteeApr 11, 2013
I have always enjoyed this movie. I enjoy the premiss and the plot is for the most part pretty good. The mom in this movie does bug me but her character is very important and you're not meant to like her all that much. I have watched thisI have always enjoyed this movie. I enjoy the premiss and the plot is for the most part pretty good. The mom in this movie does bug me but her character is very important and you're not meant to like her all that much. I have watched this movie more than once and it's still a good time to watch a second or third time. I also like to see Adam Sandler in a more serious movie that's not always like his bad comedies. Spanglish is worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bladeagentMar 1, 2014
I am not Mexican-American nor am I a huge fan of Adam Sandler, but I found this film to be surprisingly well-made and effective. I found Paz Vega in particular very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews