User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 374
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Lyell
    May 9, 2008
    1
    Sneek preview was awful. Can they fix it before wide release. Almost comically bad. Lots to make fun of. You might want to go high.
  2. USG
    Nov 21, 2011
    3
    This is a disservice to even fans of the original Speed Racer cartoon and any references (which are too many) to the original are painful. The effects are weird and unfitting and don't suit the original series.
  3. PB
    Jun 20, 2008
    0
    A dizzying mess of colours. A film with nothing in it - no heart, no soul, no cinema. A film which really should not appeal to true anime fans as it fundamentally and obnoxiously misunderstands the genre. Hard to follow. Basic rules of what the eye can follow on screen are forgotten. Headache inducing and pointless. Incompetent. Will infuriate adults, and the patience of children will be A dizzying mess of colours. A film with nothing in it - no heart, no soul, no cinema. A film which really should not appeal to true anime fans as it fundamentally and obnoxiously misunderstands the genre. Hard to follow. Basic rules of what the eye can follow on screen are forgotten. Headache inducing and pointless. Incompetent. Will infuriate adults, and the patience of children will be tested through the pointless and overcomplicated lectures about stock-prices and economic forces. A talented cast are wasted, and are evidently as bemused by this film as most of the audience will be. In short, why? Expand
  4. RyanP
    May 12, 2008
    0
    Another Hollywood CGI-filled piece of CRAP.
  5. JavierF.
    May 16, 2008
    0
    Bad film. Bored. Bad history. Xtremely confused action. too much colors to enjoy the action. is a pity that the original comic was destroyed for Wach brothers..... I spect some better from they. I hate you, wachosky brothers!
  6. ChaseW
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I really do not understand the critics on this one. So many critics refer to the jaded nature of the film, when it appears, they are in fact the jaded ones. I was dragged to this movie by my 3 boys, aged 7, 5, & 4. They all loved it and never have they all sat through a 2 hour long movie without once becoming bored. I went in expected what the critics said, and was completely surprised I really do not understand the critics on this one. So many critics refer to the jaded nature of the film, when it appears, they are in fact the jaded ones. I was dragged to this movie by my 3 boys, aged 7, 5, & 4. They all loved it and never have they all sat through a 2 hour long movie without once becoming bored. I went in expected what the critics said, and was completely surprised and blown away by the movie's entertainment and quality. It wasn't until after I saw the movie that I checked out my own local paper, The Dallas Morning News, which awarded this movie an A. This movie was top notch, and I highly recommend everyone to ignore the critics on this one. Expand
  7. MarekS.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Like all progressive movies, Speed Racer has very bad reviews and critic. Maybe because it´s critic of capitalistic system of America directed by two brothers for major studio. Speed Racer is played anime or manga, with over-playng actors and narrative complexity - flashbacks with flashfords, change of point of view in one race! Little editing, maximum use of 36O° place Like all progressive movies, Speed Racer has very bad reviews and critic. Maybe because it´s critic of capitalistic system of America directed by two brothers for major studio. Speed Racer is played anime or manga, with over-playng actors and narrative complexity - flashbacks with flashfords, change of point of view in one race! Little editing, maximum use of 36O° place orientation and combination of 2D and 3D. It´s masterpiece! Expand
  8. MattB.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Speed Racer is visually groundbreaking and yet still hits all the right buttons emotionally...very good movie!
  9. PaulS.
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent family fare. Great message. A winner.
  10. MichaelD.
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Not sure what movie the 'critics' saw but this was a great story which brought to life the cartoon while improving the visuals and offering pure heros in a difficult environment. Shockingly, even my wife liked it!
  11. MiguelM.
    May 10, 2008
    0
    Most definitely the worst drivel I have ever seen on the silver-screen.
  12. JoselC.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    This is an excellent adaptation of the original series. In fact, it not only draws from the original but improves upon it, featuring amazing car combat scenes and some of the most exhilarating racing visuals ever done. It takes the best from the original and condenses it into a modern, hyper-real action flick that's like nothing else Hollywood has ever done. My biggest concern was This is an excellent adaptation of the original series. In fact, it not only draws from the original but improves upon it, featuring amazing car combat scenes and some of the most exhilarating racing visuals ever done. It takes the best from the original and condenses it into a modern, hyper-real action flick that's like nothing else Hollywood has ever done. My biggest concern was the length of the movie, but I was relieved to find out that there's hardly any filler dialogue in this movie: there are plenty of action sequences, and the races take a good portion of the movie. It's crammed with the stuff that matters. There's a plot in there too; a seemingly thin veil that pulls all the action sequences together. What surprised me is that it not only treats the source material respectfully, but it adds just enough to give it a new, engaging twist. Yes, you know the hero probably triumphs: the fun part lies in watching how the good guys manage to win. Don't go watch it expecting a live-action movie: look at it as a psychedelic racing animé that's fun for everyone, and certainly out of the ordinary. Expand
  13. JustinM.
    May 13, 2008
    10
    The best movie I've seen in a while. It was like an orgasm in my eyes.
  14. KeithJ.
    May 19, 2008
    9
    I loved it, great story, funny, and best of all the racing was crazy.
  15. MattR.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    LOVED THIS MOVIE. CRITICS SUCK! This is a movie with truly great writing and a great new style of computer graphics and live action combined. I realize that you have to suspend your disbelief and buy into the storyline to appreciate it. There were some great monologues in that movie done beautifully cinematographic-ally and acting wise.
  16. MatiasL.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Excellent movie! Wachowski brothers really know how to take risks to produce the best entertainment movies ever seen !!
  17. AlanP.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Great graphics and action. Best so far in 2008. Worth watching, don't listen to people who don't know squat.
  18. FrancisW.
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    The Wachowski brothers see the world with laser eyes, they are able to cut through all the bullSh** and question the driving force of this world, which is MONEY. This movie is about breaking chains and beating down the MAN, it has a pro family, anti capitalist message that many critics and corporations obviously did not want a younger audience observing. I am 21, i thought it was an The Wachowski brothers see the world with laser eyes, they are able to cut through all the bullSh** and question the driving force of this world, which is MONEY. This movie is about breaking chains and beating down the MAN, it has a pro family, anti capitalist message that many critics and corporations obviously did not want a younger audience observing. I am 21, i thought it was an amazing movie with an amazing message, backed by visuals never before conceived by filmmakers. dont let the slander campaign led by the Wall Street Journal fool you, this movie was made for the people, not the man. Expand
  19. BenC.
    Dec 31, 2008
    10
    I went in thinking "Well everyone hated this but I might still enjoying it." I came out thinking "WHY DOES EVERYONE HATE THIS?" I can't really describe what it was that I really liked about this, as a whole it just came across really well. Entertaining, genuinely funny and family friendly (GASP!). The World needs more films like this.
  20. VincentA.
    May 16, 2008
    10
    Speed Racer is a movie about who owns who. Before you see this picture, read all those scathing pile-on critical reviews. The, do yourself a favor and watch this very hip movie. You'll be glad to have seen it on the big screen. If you're an old fart and your yarbles haven't shriveled up, remember eating three bowls of sugar cereal and watching the early-morning cartoon, and Speed Racer is a movie about who owns who. Before you see this picture, read all those scathing pile-on critical reviews. The, do yourself a favor and watch this very hip movie. You'll be glad to have seen it on the big screen. If you're an old fart and your yarbles haven't shriveled up, remember eating three bowls of sugar cereal and watching the early-morning cartoon, and then running around the yard singing the addictive theme song. 'Cause it just nails that. When it's over, think of the Wonder that is Hollywood Distribution. And who owns who. Expand
  21. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    This Christmas, my brother and sister-in-law gave me a $35 gift card to Target. To date, I've spent $2.75 of it. Speed Racer on Blu-Ray at clearance price. Honestly, I saw the previews several years back and thought it looked, for lack of a better word, stupid. That's why I never bothered to see it. But after having bought it at bargain basement price and watching it, I am pleasantlyThis Christmas, my brother and sister-in-law gave me a $35 gift card to Target. To date, I've spent $2.75 of it. Speed Racer on Blu-Ray at clearance price. Honestly, I saw the previews several years back and thought it looked, for lack of a better word, stupid. That's why I never bothered to see it. But after having bought it at bargain basement price and watching it, I am pleasantly surprised. My review score is 8 out of 10 simply because of length. I agree with reviewers who claim it is too long. It is. But that's the only flaw I could spot. I sit back and let myself enjoy this film for all it set out to be. From the opening sequence of brilliantly blending Speed's present with older brother Rex's past to the psychedelic special effects and standout color scheme that added to the quirkiness and hilarity of the film to the heart of the story raising family and virtues above greed and power, I loved this film. I often do not understand comparing new to old, revamp to original, which is usually where a lot of negativity creeps into reviews for films like this one. Taking the film as a standalone, it is original and full of heart, and if one allows oneself the pleasure, they can have a lot of fun watching. I thought the cast was picked well, and all played they're roles perfectly. Do yourself a favor, and go rent or buy this film for your own viewing enjoyment, or sit and watch it with the whole family. It's a crowd-pleaser for any age. Expand
  22. Jul 24, 2013
    5
    The films suffers a lot from its feelings of fake like elements and advance technology that distinctly feels different from its television show; similar to the Star Wars prequel franchise, but despite the slightly weak and dark plot, the film works okay. The narrative and acting was subpar, but I couldn't help to admit that the racing scenes were good. Though it takes a darker turn to aThe films suffers a lot from its feelings of fake like elements and advance technology that distinctly feels different from its television show; similar to the Star Wars prequel franchise, but despite the slightly weak and dark plot, the film works okay. The narrative and acting was subpar, but I couldn't help to admit that the racing scenes were good. Though it takes a darker turn to a cartoon that is more lighthearted, it works a little in its favor, but also works worse in its favor as well. "Speed Racer" may suffer from its narrative and usage of technology, the film has dark twists and a nice racing sequence. Expand
  23. DaveN
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    It's more than a year after this movie was released. Few even knew there was a Speed Racer movie it seems, and even fewer cared to see it. I was one of those people and oh boy, am I ever sorry. A trailer means NOTHING for this type of movie. While one their own, certain scenes might appear unwatchable and the dialogue too sappy for most, as a whole this movie has escalated to the top It's more than a year after this movie was released. Few even knew there was a Speed Racer movie it seems, and even fewer cared to see it. I was one of those people and oh boy, am I ever sorry. A trailer means NOTHING for this type of movie. While one their own, certain scenes might appear unwatchable and the dialogue too sappy for most, as a whole this movie has escalated to the top of my list of favorite movies in the past couple years. I can't get it out of my head. The shmaltz, the eye-ravaging colours, the exhilarating soundtrack, the heart pounding races, and the comic genius --- When you become obsessed with everything related to a movie, you know it was something special. If you're gut tells you to avoid this movie, it's probably just gas. Expand
  24. Hugh
    May 7, 2008
    9
    A gas! Beaufiul, manic and just a wee bit too long.
  25. andyandy
    May 12, 2008
    10
    This movie was unbelievable. the attention to detail was uncanny and the story was done very well. It took the original anime and really transformed it.
  26. TylerD.
    May 12, 2008
    9
    Considering the source material for the movie, I don't think the Wachowski's could have crafted a better film. I was prepared for the worst, and came out of the film with the biggest, stupidest grin on my face since...well...I don't remember. I normally follow the general critical consensus when deciding what movies to see, but I noticed that there is a definite divide Considering the source material for the movie, I don't think the Wachowski's could have crafted a better film. I was prepared for the worst, and came out of the film with the biggest, stupidest grin on my face since...well...I don't remember. I normally follow the general critical consensus when deciding what movies to see, but I noticed that there is a definite divide between the critical consensus and the moviegoer's consensus on this movie. It's not deep, meaningful, moving, or thought-provoking. It's not an angsty re-envisioning of the story. It does EXACTLY what the original Speed Racer anime set out to do, and that is mindlessly entertain you. On that note, I haven't seen a movie as mindlessly entertaining in Speed Racer in years. Don't listen to the critics. I think they're waiting for the second coming, when Speed Racer already lapped them at 750 kilometers per hour. Expand
  27. Joseph
    May 22, 2008
    10
    this movie was amazing. Its inspirational, the message is great, the storyline and characters are awesome... Its like one of my favorite movies now. The style they did it in was absolutely amazing too.
  28. May 18, 2011
    10
    It's a (master)piece of art. Futurist art: cars, speed, 'intuition' (Bergson)...
    And it could be a perfect 'prequel' of 'The Matrix' trilogy: from the problem of Choice... to the problem of Motivation...
  29. [Anonymous]
    May 10, 2008
    8
    Completely stunning. The critics are right in that the narrative was simple and the acting nothing to write home about, but they aren't bad. The whole film feels anime, the black and white story line, the typical characters. It hit what it's supposed to be right on the nose. Incredibly fun and beautiful, a summer film.
  30. Aug 27, 2010
    7
    A pure, technicolor spectacle that, despite its flaws, is pretty much impossible to resist. The Wachowski brothers might have their shortcomings as writers, but they always know how to make a movie that is fun to behold.
  31. StephenK
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I've been a huge fan of the Speed Racer series ever since I was a little kid and I am almost certain that that is why I absolutely loved this film. The movie knows that it is an homage to the anime that's why it doesn't mind throwing a few conventions out the window in spite of a few people not getting it. The cast fits almost perfectly, the races are really well done. I've been a huge fan of the Speed Racer series ever since I was a little kid and I am almost certain that that is why I absolutely loved this film. The movie knows that it is an homage to the anime that's why it doesn't mind throwing a few conventions out the window in spite of a few people not getting it. The cast fits almost perfectly, the races are really well done. Everything fits a live representation of the anime. However, I believe that the creators knew that their target audience would be fans of the series who hadn't really watched the show since they were 10 or 12 and didn't change that target throwing in lot's of kid-friendly plot and slapstick humor. Overall though, the only thing missing out of the show was a speed crank up for the dialog. Expand
  32. D.C.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    A fun ride what eles did you expect!!!!!!!!
  33. ShivianB.
    May 9, 2008
    9
    SO GAUDY!!!
  34. AnthonyS.
    May 11, 2008
    9
    Flat out amazing. All the reviewers that said it was stupid and childish are too stuck up to realize its not a serious movie. All it sets out to do is create creative and lovable characters and dynamic and pulse pounding action. The final ten minutes are literally breath taking and I think it finishes better than most movies I have seen lately. It creates lavish environments and over the Flat out amazing. All the reviewers that said it was stupid and childish are too stuck up to realize its not a serious movie. All it sets out to do is create creative and lovable characters and dynamic and pulse pounding action. The final ten minutes are literally breath taking and I think it finishes better than most movies I have seen lately. It creates lavish environments and over the top action to make one of the Wachowski brothers best films. Expand
  35. JD
    May 10, 2008
    7
    I agree with the Onion reviewer...experimental, tests the limits of visual perception. It's insane, wacky, oftentimes really bizarre, sometimes eye-rollingly corny, but audacious and worth a look at the theater (as long as you're not an epileptic or you aren't prone to severe motion-related sickness).
  36. AlexanderS.
    May 13, 2008
    9
    Speed Racer. The film is full of heart, vivid imagination and some of the most exciting action sequences I've seen in years. It presents a visual onslaught as unique as it is unrelenting. How the Wachowski's convinced studio execs to get this movie made I will never know but I commend them for making this film, and this is coming from someone who wasn't particularly a fan Speed Racer. The film is full of heart, vivid imagination and some of the most exciting action sequences I've seen in years. It presents a visual onslaught as unique as it is unrelenting. How the Wachowski's convinced studio execs to get this movie made I will never know but I commend them for making this film, and this is coming from someone who wasn't particularly a fan of the Brothers last 2 films. The story and characters are literally straight out of the original cartoon, thanks to the excellent cast. Of course, the visual effects are in a league of their own and the Wachowski's show that they understand not only the source material but the anime medium as well. This is as faithful an adaptation as you could expect, you can tell that this is a film made by people who truly appreciate what they are adapting. This film will apeal to kids, it will appeal to long time fans of the original series, and it will appeal to adults who still haven't completely buried that kid deep down inside of them. Without a doubt the most unique movie you will see this summer. Please go out and see this film as it merits for audiences to experience it and make up their own mind about it. Expand
  37. DavidM.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    I am starting to think that critics are using their emotions when they write about any movie. I saw the other day at tvguide a massive negative critic about speed racer that shock me, because she wasn
  38. JimP
    May 10, 2008
    10
    The critics do not know what they are talking about. This is a great movie and lots of fun. You don't have to be a product of the 70's to like this film. I took my whole family and the general consensus was "Totally Awesome" and "Wonderful". It has everything you would put into a "Speed Racer Movie" and more. I remember the critics said the same type of crap when they reviewed The critics do not know what they are talking about. This is a great movie and lots of fun. You don't have to be a product of the 70's to like this film. I took my whole family and the general consensus was "Totally Awesome" and "Wonderful". It has everything you would put into a "Speed Racer Movie" and more. I remember the critics said the same type of crap when they reviewed Star Wars, and we all know how well that series did. I hope the Wachowski's make a sequel to this Masterpiece. "Go Speed Go" Expand
  39. LamL.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    I have not seen this movie yet!!! I watched the original cartoon on reruns as a teenager in the 80s, and loved it. I was dressed as Speed Racer this past Haloween, walking around the Las Vegas strip with my wife and son. I can't wait to see the movie!!! It's not that movie critics are arthouse or whatever. Art poses the question to the audience of placing creativity and I have not seen this movie yet!!! I watched the original cartoon on reruns as a teenager in the 80s, and loved it. I was dressed as Speed Racer this past Haloween, walking around the Las Vegas strip with my wife and son. I can't wait to see the movie!!! It's not that movie critics are arthouse or whatever. Art poses the question to the audience of placing creativity and wonderment in things that have happened. Just as I am doing in this critique of the critics. Like the general criticism of formulaic movies, a reviewer's review can be not art. Expand
  40. NicolasO.
    May 10, 2008
    8
    Great movie. Like nothing else I've seen, and refreshing.
  41. AsherV.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    The writing in this movie is at worst redundant and, at best, ridiculous. But that's really not what it's about. It's all about the amazing spectacle and the absurdity of how over-the-top it is. If you go into this movie expecting to take something serious away from it, you are going to be sorely disappointed.
  42. Camille
    May 30, 2008
    10
    I have a difficult time comprehending how someone could hate this movie so much. If you want to see a serious, deep, or meaningful film, you don't go and watch a movie based on the cheesiest, corniest cartoon that has ever entered pop culture. This movie is visually breathtaking and a wholly entertaining piece of film; by far the most exciting film I've seen all year.
  43. ChrisL.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    The critics will pan this, but most of those critics probably didn't like the cartoon (or perhaps, based on the few reviews I've read, they've never even watched it). The movie is very true to the spirit of the cartoon -- it's got shallow intrigue, crazy races with crazy obstacles and impossible physics, tommy guns, Chim Chim and Spridle saving the day, and staccato The critics will pan this, but most of those critics probably didn't like the cartoon (or perhaps, based on the few reviews I've read, they've never even watched it). The movie is very true to the spirit of the cartoon -- it's got shallow intrigue, crazy races with crazy obstacles and impossible physics, tommy guns, Chim Chim and Spridle saving the day, and staccato dialog. There was no attempt to modernize the characters or make them edgy or "extreme." There was no darkening of the mood or story. This is a fun movie with a light, goofy spirit -- much like, I don't know -- THE CARTOON IT WAS BASED ON. If you appreciated the cartoon as much as I did, you'll more than likely enjoy the hell out of this. If you're looking for "The English Patient," then don't go to see a movie based on a cartoon. Critics may pan this, but it will stand the test of time and I guarantee, if nothing else, it will be a cult classic. Expand
  44. AhmedA.
    May 8, 2008
    9
    It might be kiddish, it might be something out of this world, but anyone who has lived in the 70s and saw the anime when he was still a kid, will love to see something he used to watch on a Tube Tv. The Wachowskis Brothers outdid themselves in this new Masterpiece.
  45. RolandB.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    I thought with the exception of a few lengthy monologues this film was perfect! It went beyond fulfilling its own purpose and created an amazing movie going experience.
  46. ArilL.
    May 9, 2008
    8
    A visual movie unlike anything before it. The story of a small independent company up against the big conglomerate that tries at every moment would surely get a thumbs down rating from the Rupert Murdoch owned Wall Street Journal. A great family movie that shows with pure intention and sound will there is nothing stopping you!
  47. AaronC.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This movie was amazing. I loved it. No reason not to. AMAZING movie to bring your kids to. Great values, fun ride. I do not understand why people hated it.
  48. BrentB.
    May 9, 2008
    9
    I find it a little discouraging that the 'professional' movie critics are too bedazzled and too stubborn to see a breakthrough when it smacks them in the face. Speed Racer is new... It is fantastic... It is a PG film that is a spectacle and a wonderful example of a new generation... Just because it moves too quickly for the critics to keep up doesn't mean that the target I find it a little discouraging that the 'professional' movie critics are too bedazzled and too stubborn to see a breakthrough when it smacks them in the face. Speed Racer is new... It is fantastic... It is a PG film that is a spectacle and a wonderful example of a new generation... Just because it moves too quickly for the critics to keep up doesn't mean that the target market (kids) won't get a better understanding... Expand
  49. ChrisG.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    I'm genuinely sorry to see such low reviews by the critics for this movie. I would hope that most people who are familiar with the Speed Racer series would be able to appreciate that this is one of the sincerest, most carefully done, and true to the original big screen adaptations of a cartoon / comic book series that has been done in the past few years. The casting for each of the I'm genuinely sorry to see such low reviews by the critics for this movie. I would hope that most people who are familiar with the Speed Racer series would be able to appreciate that this is one of the sincerest, most carefully done, and true to the original big screen adaptations of a cartoon / comic book series that has been done in the past few years. The casting for each of the roles (Trixie, Racer X, John Goodman as Speed's Father) is near perfect, quite authentic, and definitely amusing. I don't see what more you could ask for from a movie adaptation of Speed Racer: perhaps the critics would appreciate something more heavy-handed and less tongue-in-cheek. Expand
  50. GarrettW.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    This is absolutely shameful that the critics have killed this beautiful film. These brothers have made history with this cinematic marvel. On what backwards planet would somebody rate this movie low? Are you expecting a Brokeback Mountain or a La Vien Rose? I have great taste in film ranging from Murials wedding to Fay Grim. Take my word for it. All though this is a movie that would This is absolutely shameful that the critics have killed this beautiful film. These brothers have made history with this cinematic marvel. On what backwards planet would somebody rate this movie low? Are you expecting a Brokeback Mountain or a La Vien Rose? I have great taste in film ranging from Murials wedding to Fay Grim. Take my word for it. All though this is a movie that would entertain anybody with a soul, this is a kids movie. It should be rated as a kids movie. in fact... no. This is not a kids movie. Its a movie for anyone who appreciates perfection. I cant say enough about this wonderful film. It is solidified imagination. Perfection. Expand
  51. DrewT.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Pure fun and whimsy, backed by technological excellence. This movie had amazing production design, incredible color processing and effects, a wild melange of influences from Japanese/American/European culture, and terrific cartoony performances from the actors. And on top of all that, it's full of things a boy can't help but love - stuff blowing up at a thousand miles an hour. Pure fun and whimsy, backed by technological excellence. This movie had amazing production design, incredible color processing and effects, a wild melange of influences from Japanese/American/European culture, and terrific cartoony performances from the actors. And on top of all that, it's full of things a boy can't help but love - stuff blowing up at a thousand miles an hour. The critics just didn't get it; don't let that stop you. Expand
  52. OssianB.
    Jun 9, 2008
    9
    Aside from one single joke at the end of the movie, this is one lovable film. It's not recommended for people who don't like childish movies, or children who likes childish movies. It's somewhere in between, and I guess that's why critics don't like it. They don't get it, but if it hits the right spot, and it does to many people still, It's a film that Aside from one single joke at the end of the movie, this is one lovable film. It's not recommended for people who don't like childish movies, or children who likes childish movies. It's somewhere in between, and I guess that's why critics don't like it. They don't get it, but if it hits the right spot, and it does to many people still, It's a film that will go down into history as a classic. Expand
  53. ErickYep
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    People don't have heart anymore... This movie was anything else but inspiring. This is the movie of the Summer... Only thing that can bring this piece of art down is Dark Knight... and they are both WB movies! (Take that 20th Century Fox!).
  54. DannyH
    May 3, 2009
    9
    To preface this review, while I have time upon time watched the Speed Racer anime, I was never a religious fan of the series. However, this was a genuinely enjoyable family movie. It had some pretty funny comedy, fight scenes that you wouldn't expect to be this good, car races (of course), and big explosions. And who doesn't enjoy all that? The characters were instantly likeable To preface this review, while I have time upon time watched the Speed Racer anime, I was never a religious fan of the series. However, this was a genuinely enjoyable family movie. It had some pretty funny comedy, fight scenes that you wouldn't expect to be this good, car races (of course), and big explosions. And who doesn't enjoy all that? The characters were instantly likeable and the flashbacks, while kitchy, were both fun to watch and gave insight into the lives of the characters. For a movie that seems all flash at first glance, there is a LOT of substance. But, there is still flash, for better or for worse. The environments look beautiful but in the first and final races, the colors tend to blend together, even on a decent sized HD TV. So, the colors may hurt your eyes a bit. The only other problem I had was that the track races themselves were kind of boring. However, with the flashbacks and banter overtop the speeding cars, they still managed to be entertaining. In short, if you have kids, are a kid, or are a kid at heart, watch this movie. You'll be glad that you did. If you yell at the youngsters to get off your lawn, this may not be for you. Expand
  55. MBarrow
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    One of the best movies of the year, right along side The Dark Knight and Wall-E. Full of some wonderful action, spot-on acting, fitting dialogue and a neat story to bring it all together. May be too fast and colorful for those raised on black and white television but a real treat for anyone else. Pure family entertainment at its best.
  56. equality7-2521
    May 11, 2008
    9
    As a children's movie, it gets a grade A. As entertainment for adults who know HOW to watch a movie, how to suspend disbelief, and appreciate art in all mediums and genres, it gets a grade B. Going into this movie, I was aware of the mixed reviews from reputable critics. But it's sad that many of them already have preconceived notions of how movies should BE. They want As a children's movie, it gets a grade A. As entertainment for adults who know HOW to watch a movie, how to suspend disbelief, and appreciate art in all mediums and genres, it gets a grade B. Going into this movie, I was aware of the mixed reviews from reputable critics. But it's sad that many of them already have preconceived notions of how movies should BE. They want conventional and linear storytelling (although they whine about formulaic scripts and lack of imagination), they want Syriana meets Le Mans? Who the F knows what they want. All I know is that I went in knowing this was a Wachowski Brothers flick. And from the unimpressive trailers, I knew what to expect visually - which definitely took me a while to get used to. I EXPECTED some extremely EXPERIMENTAL filmmaking. And it was definitely that. The races definitely aren't as good as McQueen in Bullitt. or the Pod Race in Star Wars Phantom Menace. or the mega monster crane scene in Terminator III. etc etc. But in spite of that, there is a swelling heart at the core of this movie. If you can't appreciate that, I feel sad for you. This isn't mere eye-candy or escapism. It took me about 40 minutes or so to get myself fully immersed, but it won me over. Pretty cool. I recommend this for people who care... And know what an imagination is. BTW, Racer X is almost as cool as Christian Bales' Batman. Expand
  57. StivB
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This film was a fantastic rush. It was fun, heart warming and involving. Its the most entertaining I have seen in years. After the movie was over I walked out of the theatre satisfied. It did it's job. Like many here, I'm really questioning the criteria for judging this film by the major media. It was refreshing, innovative and I'll be seeing it again.
  58. ChristopherF.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    I could sit down and pretend that stringing together multisyllabic adjectives that just happen to wreck into a noun constitutes a professional opinion or I could just tell you it's a fun movie provided you're not over the age of 40 and write film reviews for a living.
  59. WinonaN.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    It took everything that made the cartoon so fun - even the camp and the cheesiness and the ridiculous names and low frame-rate fighting that amounted to a series of poses and crazy Japanese flavor, and amplified it all to heroic proportion. The *only* thing I didn't like was the kid who played Young Speed - but holy crap, the rest of this movie was spectacular.
  60. KristinP.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Most definitely one of the most free thinking and audacious movies I've ever seen. I got the feeling that the Wachowskis wanted a visual marvel and by all counts they achieved it and set the mark for what I hope is an entirely new range of what it means to be a popcorn flick. If you're looking for something with substance other then to be the movie it is, then I think Most definitely one of the most free thinking and audacious movies I've ever seen. I got the feeling that the Wachowskis wanted a visual marvel and by all counts they achieved it and set the mark for what I hope is an entirely new range of what it means to be a popcorn flick. If you're looking for something with substance other then to be the movie it is, then I think you'll find by other's negative reviews you're not going to find anything in this movie. If on the other hand you want two hours of visually shattering, heart pounding, hold onto the seat of your pants thrills, then I can't think of any movie I'd point you to before this one. Collapse
  61. BrianS.
    May 10, 2008
    8
    Really enjoyable. Really captured some of the quirkiness of the animated series. As noted by everyone else, visuals that are occasionally confusing but usually dazzling. And all this stuff about no plot? It really had all the plot it needed. Plus, I thought they did a great job with Spritle and ChimChim, who came across as more amusing and much less annoying than in the series. Saw this Really enjoyable. Really captured some of the quirkiness of the animated series. As noted by everyone else, visuals that are occasionally confusing but usually dazzling. And all this stuff about no plot? It really had all the plot it needed. Plus, I thought they did a great job with Spritle and ChimChim, who came across as more amusing and much less annoying than in the series. Saw this with my wife and 10-year-old son, and we all really liked it. Expand
  62. RobB.
    May 11, 2008
    9
    A very fun movie that is easy to get lost in. One of my favorite movies of the year. I have seen some reviews criticize the movie for being targeted to a limited audience. I found it to be the opposite; it has a genuine appeal to most non-jaded people looking for something less 'serious' but still engading. It is a shame that the critics ignore how fun or exhilarating a movie is A very fun movie that is easy to get lost in. One of my favorite movies of the year. I have seen some reviews criticize the movie for being targeted to a limited audience. I found it to be the opposite; it has a genuine appeal to most non-jaded people looking for something less 'serious' but still engading. It is a shame that the critics ignore how fun or exhilarating a movie is if the style is unconventional. Expand
  63. KitF.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Easily everything it should be. If the narrative or story was stronger, it wouldn't be Speed Racer anymore. It is by far the closest representation of a licensed-property-made-movie since Batman Begins. It uses the most subliminal mix of color and sound to evoke emotion, leaving behind the speedy exposition of the original show. Some of the humor is hit-or-miss, hitting as often as Easily everything it should be. If the narrative or story was stronger, it wouldn't be Speed Racer anymore. It is by far the closest representation of a licensed-property-made-movie since Batman Begins. It uses the most subliminal mix of color and sound to evoke emotion, leaving behind the speedy exposition of the original show. Some of the humor is hit-or-miss, hitting as often as it misses, but the action is absolutely enthralling. This is definitely not a movie to be missed in theaters, and is going to make a spectacular Blu-ray. Expand
  64. ScottD.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    What the critics are obviously and blatantly ignoring is the amount of heart and imagination in this movie. Sure, the acting isn't very good and there are some kiddy elements to it. But the action, visuals, and most of all the aforementioned heart and imagination inherent in it makes it a refreshing thing to see on the big screen. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
  65. ChuckC.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Solid Gold. The best movie I have seen this year. Having just seen Iron Man the week before I would have to say that this was better.
  66. MarcD.
    May 10, 2008
    7
    I'm sure I'll take heat for this, but this movie is a lot of fun. Full disclosure: I was, indeed, a young kid in the early 70's when the cartoon was on constantly, and I'm a WipEout loyalist, so I had a natural affinity for the personality and the visuals in this film. I enjoyed the over-the-top feel to the whole thing, and the innocent, old-fashioned story that it I'm sure I'll take heat for this, but this movie is a lot of fun. Full disclosure: I was, indeed, a young kid in the early 70's when the cartoon was on constantly, and I'm a WipEout loyalist, so I had a natural affinity for the personality and the visuals in this film. I enjoyed the over-the-top feel to the whole thing, and the innocent, old-fashioned story that it tells. John Goodman and Matthew Fox are both excellent in their roles, and Ricci/Srandon/Hirsch are far from bad. I was pleasantly surprised by the chubby younger brother - I thought he might be too annoying to bear based on the trailer, but he's got some acting chops. SO.... if you never watched the cartoon and don't play videogames, don't see this film based on my qualified endorsement, but again, I enjoyed it. Expand
  67. BobT.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    This film is sad proof of how little critics seem to be in touch with viewers. Most of the critiques I have read have gone on and on about how the movie is just to long. It's sad that they don't even have the attention span to even give the film a chance. I would recommend that anyone going to this movie to go to it with an open mind and take it in for yourself and form your own This film is sad proof of how little critics seem to be in touch with viewers. Most of the critiques I have read have gone on and on about how the movie is just to long. It's sad that they don't even have the attention span to even give the film a chance. I would recommend that anyone going to this movie to go to it with an open mind and take it in for yourself and form your own judgement. Personally I loved the visual package and the story pulled me in a lot further then most family type films seem capable of. Expand
  68. StephenW
    May 13, 2008
    9
    I can count on one hand the last time a movie had me laughing out loud in a theater. This movie had me laughing throughout. If you're a video gamer and liked the original series as a kid, get ready for an amazing gift of a movie. For people who don't play the cutting edge video games, I don't think they'll have advanced enough visual training to handle this film. This I can count on one hand the last time a movie had me laughing out loud in a theater. This movie had me laughing throughout. If you're a video gamer and liked the original series as a kid, get ready for an amazing gift of a movie. For people who don't play the cutting edge video games, I don't think they'll have advanced enough visual training to handle this film. This film is for the young of mind and young at heart. The critics are way off base. Expand
  69. HarlanK.
    May 14, 2008
    9
    This movie is dazzling. It is so bight and saturated that the real world will look incredibly dull and gray after you step out of the theatre. It really does overwhelm the senses and provides enough stimulation to power a medium sized city. Seriously, if you want to see just how extreme film making can be, see this movie. And of course the story is weak, it's based on a cartoon ffs. This movie is dazzling. It is so bight and saturated that the real world will look incredibly dull and gray after you step out of the theatre. It really does overwhelm the senses and provides enough stimulation to power a medium sized city. Seriously, if you want to see just how extreme film making can be, see this movie. And of course the story is weak, it's based on a cartoon ffs. You have to suspend disbelief of this movie won't be able to work it's magic. And if you're lucky enough to live near an IMAX theater that is showing this, you've GOT to go. It's brilliant. Expand
  70. RyanM.
    May 14, 2008
    8
    The film was really visually stunning. While the plot may have been weak it was really fun to watch.
  71. JosephA.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    I wasn't a fan of any previous Speed Racer cartoons, but this flick grabbed me from the very start and would not let go until the final credit roll. The movie was a joy to watch, plenty of heart pounding suspense, humor, drama, I am just amazed with the superb job that was done. I had relatively high expectations going in and they were blown away. Even my gf who is typically into I wasn't a fan of any previous Speed Racer cartoons, but this flick grabbed me from the very start and would not let go until the final credit roll. The movie was a joy to watch, plenty of heart pounding suspense, humor, drama, I am just amazed with the superb job that was done. I had relatively high expectations going in and they were blown away. Even my gf who is typically into chick flicks enjoyed the movie. Expand
  72. ChandraP.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    The racing sequences give you an adrenaline rush. it is a fun ride. go watch it.
  73. MattK
    May 12, 2008
    5
    Not up to par with their previous efforts. Extremely pretty to look at, acted well enough, but the script is terrible---not what I expected out of the Wachowskis. Sometimes, especially in the first twenty minutes, the storytelling seems like it'd be pretty hard to follow for the target audience: children.
  74. AlJ.
    May 13, 2008
    0
    This is absolutely disgusting. A complete waste of time.
  75. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    Do not understand why this film has been criticized so badly ... In general it is good to spend a very good time. This movie has special effects very acceptable. I recommend it.
  76. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    Poor effects and bad acting.
  77. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This movie is Number 9 on my Top Ten and the only reason it is not in the Number One spot is that my tastes skew much darker--but this is just a testament to how great Speed really is. That it can warm my heart so and make me say it is my 9th best-loved film of all time, over all the movies I love--including Avatar at Number 10--is plenty of evidence of its greatness alone. None of theThis movie is Number 9 on my Top Ten and the only reason it is not in the Number One spot is that my tastes skew much darker--but this is just a testament to how great Speed really is. That it can warm my heart so and make me say it is my 9th best-loved film of all time, over all the movies I love--including Avatar at Number 10--is plenty of evidence of its greatness alone. None of the reasons trolls come up with to explain why this movie bombed make sense--EVERYTHING about this movie rocks! Most of all, what makes this movie great--more than the visuals and excitement--is the SUPERB writing and acting. Even people who like it will say, "Don't go to this movie expecting good writing and plot." Well, I couldn't disagree more. If you have any appreciation for good writing and a deep, satisfying story then you owe it to yourself to see this grand masterpiece! Expand
  78. sYZYGY
    May 11, 2008
    4
    A loud, endlessly pulsating thud of a movie. Even dead, this baby would've kept kicking. Psychedelic art has nothing on the frenetic color scheme found here, minus any charm or interest. To think that after all that numbing noise and color, all of which prevents you from forming any attachments to the story or characters, the film would end with cheap emotional theatrics.
  79. MomTucker
    May 16, 2008
    8
    Have a 5yr and 8 yr old they loved the movie, never got bored. The youngest did mention little long. There were about 3-4 bad words and young child giving the finger, I as a mom wonder if the film makers have kids. They showed some perona's eating meat, then made it look like the fish were eating someones finger. The kids did not like that part. Other then those parts we enjoyed the Have a 5yr and 8 yr old they loved the movie, never got bored. The youngest did mention little long. There were about 3-4 bad words and young child giving the finger, I as a mom wonder if the film makers have kids. They showed some perona's eating meat, then made it look like the fish were eating someones finger. The kids did not like that part. Other then those parts we enjoyed the movie. Everyone has their own opinion and interest when it comes to entertainment. Iam not a movie fanatic, and this one kept my interest. Lots of color and did have some good laughs for all of us. Just wish filmmaker could keep the bad words, farting , and burpping all the rudeness out of the film. Another parent I know, wished the bad jestures we not in the film as well. Enjoy! Expand
  80. BenG.
    May 10, 2008
    8
    I was surprised when I went to see this movie. This is not as bad as the critics make it out to be. Just don't go in expecting some sort of philosophical discussion or an amazing;y written storyline and you will be pleasantly surprised.
  81. Stu
    May 10, 2008
    8
    This is a true example of critics falling all over themselves to sneer at a film that they consider below their lofty perch. The film is nothing but enjoyable - pure saccharine, full of riotous colors and deliberately cardboard performances that hit the right notes. Maybe a little too long, but the kid in you (and with you) won't care...
  82. YuwantoJ.
    May 18, 2008
    8
    yes, the special effects was sucks at some point, but the movie has some fresh idea of how to visualize the world of anime... i love the first race where he race with his big brother record and then backing up to honor his hero... the story is not some typical superhero story which ALWAYS start from ordinary human to superhero (spiderman, ironman, hulk, batman, younameit!), this film, yes, the special effects was sucks at some point, but the movie has some fresh idea of how to visualize the world of anime... i love the first race where he race with his big brother record and then backing up to honor his hero... the story is not some typical superhero story which ALWAYS start from ordinary human to superhero (spiderman, ironman, hulk, batman, younameit!), this film, speed already a champion, till the end! no one can match this guy!!! Expand
  83. BrandonDuckett
    May 18, 2008
    10
    I felt like a kid again. I'm a playful 21 year old, but I haven't "felt" like a kid in a long time. This movie is a wormhole to childhood.
  84. Raeldor
    May 10, 2008
    8
    The critics are completely off-base on this one. I thought it was hugely entertaining and thoroughly enjoyed it. The parts were played excellently by the actors, the racing scenes were superbly eye-popping, and the story had a great over-the-top comic book feel to it. Do yourself a favor. Ignore the critics and go see this one. You won't regret it.
  85. DeaconR.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    One of the best visual effects movies I have seen EVER. If you were a fan of the old show or a fan of crazy over the top special effects master pieces you owe it to yourself to see this movie. Nothing like I expected it to be and for that it made the whole experience more enjoyable.
  86. JohnK.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    amazing movie. such an incredible adaptation to such a corny anime. Amazing movie! a must SEE !!!
  87. AndresH.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why this movie has such bad reviews. It's an awesome adaptation of the cartoon and it has incredible effects. There was not a lot to do with the story and still it is interesting. I'm giving it a 10 out of 10.
  88. LoJ.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    This film will be remembered for to be the precursor of a new movie style. has accion, comedy, little drama and more more fun, I can't belive the note of metacritic, but I know than in fewyeras many people talk about it.
  89. JohnP.
    May 27, 2008
    8
    Critics didn't get this movie. I was very entertaining...i took my kids and we had a ball! Spritles wasn't as good as he should have been, but the rest was just crazy fun!
  90. ManuelV.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    This is going to be a difficult pill to swallow for many. The young and the young at heart will be able to suspend disbelief and enjoy the visually stunning stylistic direction of the Wachowski's.
  91. ArisT.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    I believe some people are taking this movie WAY too seriously. It's based on an anime and it should be celebrated for being a wonderful homage. Based on the traliers alone I feel the Wachowski brothers have a winner in their hands :)
  92. MartinC.
    May 8, 2008
    3
    Big dissapointment. Great cast, but the Wachowski Bros couldn't decide wether this was a film for grownups or kids. Too cheese for adults, too complicated for children (a stock market plot?)
  93. AntonD.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    I think the movie was great. There was a lot of talking at some of the points. But the action makes up for it. When there was non-stop action, it kept going and going until I thought the movie was over.... but it keeps going for another hour. I enjoyed this movie a lot, I give props to the Wachowski's.
  94. RexD.
    May 9, 2008
    8
    Basically this movie is visual crack. It's not too deep, not too smart, not remotely plausible... but a hell of a lot of fun. Be careful when you drive away from the theater, as you'll be putting the gas pedal to the floor. Don't listen to the haters. This movie is FUN!!!
  95. SpryI.
    May 9, 2008
    8
    Okay, here is my problem with movie critics. The go to every movie expecting greatness. It is this point that forces them to give movies the horrible scores and ratings that they give. The truth is if your like fun movies and don't care if they are are a bit cheesy then you will like this movie. Let me put it this way. Sit down and watch a few episodes of the source material aka the Okay, here is my problem with movie critics. The go to every movie expecting greatness. It is this point that forces them to give movies the horrible scores and ratings that they give. The truth is if your like fun movies and don't care if they are are a bit cheesy then you will like this movie. Let me put it this way. Sit down and watch a few episodes of the source material aka the Speed Racer cartoons and you will see some of the most over the top and cheesy cartoons and stories ever created. With that said, I have to say I am only 22 years old, but I remember sitting and loving this cartoon as a kid for some unknown reason. So I was compelled to watch the movie. The movie shares a bit better story telling aspect than the cartoon ever did. The visual effects are quite stunning once you get used to the over the top colors the are every where. They stayed true to the story while keeping it original. I am not saying this is a great movie, but it is an enjoyable aspect that is worth a watch. Just remember the cardinal rule for watching movies nine times out of ten if you don't have an expectation, you won't be let down. Expand
  96. StevenM.
    May 9, 2008
    8
    Despite the absolutely horrible reviews that this movie has been receiving, I was very impressed with it. It was a wondrous spectrum of visuals, characters, and fun. Despite the cliches that plague this movie and every other movie nowadays, it was a very fun ride all the way to the end. Mind you, this ride was a little slow to start but it caught up quickly and finished with a bang. My Despite the absolutely horrible reviews that this movie has been receiving, I was very impressed with it. It was a wondrous spectrum of visuals, characters, and fun. Despite the cliches that plague this movie and every other movie nowadays, it was a very fun ride all the way to the end. Mind you, this ride was a little slow to start but it caught up quickly and finished with a bang. My only other complaint is the supposed "comic relief" from Spritle and Chimchim. In small portions they would have been fine, but they went a little too far with these characters at times and it sort of through my attention span off of the rest of the movie. Overall, one heck of a ride into the abstract world of Speed Racer brought to you by the Wachowski Bros. (Oh, I'm not a big Speed Racer fan at all if you're wondering) Expand
  97. MikeM.
    May 9, 2008
    8
    This movie ROCKS. Ignore the reviews. Very unconventional but a delight.
  98. BradleyH.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Who are these people reviewing movies? I mean why would we listen to anyone we did not know telling us what is cool or not. Speed Racer was off the hook and Mr. Wachowski will definitely be wearing a dress to the Oscars this year with Susan Sarandon on his arm , nominated for best supporting actress...right?
  99. JackG.
    Jun 2, 2008
    9
    Fantastic movie. In fact, I saw it for my second time today because I kept bugging my friends about it. True, Speed does have its boring parts, but when it's good, it's GOOD. It's just so ridiculous, so over-the-top, it's hard not to love it.
  100. BrandonN.
    Jun 23, 2008
    0
    It sucks its for gay people take my advice and don't watch it.
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 37
  2. Negative: 15 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    75
    This is not a film occurring in an alternate or imaginary reality; rather, it is a film of NO reality, that is, a picture that changes the rules of its universe strictly according to its creators' whims.
  2. Unlike a Pixar cartoon that embraces as wide an audience as possible, Speed Racer proudly denies entry into its ultra-bright world to all but gamers, fanboys and anime enthusiasts. Story and character are tossed aside to focus obsessively on PG-rated action and milk-guzzling heroes.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Aimed squarely at family audiences, the Wachowski Brothers' return behind the camera for the first time since the "Matrix" trilogy is a blur of video action painting and very loud sounds notable solely for its technical wizardry. In every other respect, it's pure cotton candy -- entirely non-nutritious but too sweet and pretty for young people to resist.