Sphere

Sphere Image
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. 60
    Levinson is terrific at claustrophobia. In fact, this doesn't resemble any of his previous films so much as it does his gripping TV series, "Homicide."
  2. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Kehr
    50
    A choppy, incoherent science-fiction thriller that does no credit to its expensive cast. [13 February 1998, p. 57]
  3. The result is a run-of-the-mill fantasy, competently produced but disappointingly familiar, from its "Forbidden Planet" premise to the digital-clock countdown near the end.
  4. 38
    By trying to satisfy every kind of viewer, it's possible that Sphere may end up pleasing no one.
  5. 38
    A watered-down take on the sci-fi classic "Solaris," by Stanislaw Lem, which was made into an immeasurably better film by Andrei Tarkovsky.
  6. 30
    With the talent involved in Sphere -- director Barry Levinson, novelist Michael Crichton and actors Dustin Hoffman, Samuel L. Jackson and Sharon Stone--how could it fail? Somehow, it does.
  7. Stripped of the pleasures of terror, flattened of grandeur (with a tacked-on coda that fairly groans with storytelling defeat), the movie sinks from the weight of its own heavyhandedness.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    I created a metacritic account when I saw the low score this movie received. This movie is great. Dustin Hoffman does a great job. SheronI created a metacritic account when I saw the low score this movie received. This movie is great. Dustin Hoffman does a great job. Sheron Stone great job. Liv Schreiber great job. And Samuel L. better job. Oh, and Queen Latifah's has a small part that's just there for icing on the cake. Its also pretty terrifying. This movie touches our deepest fears about the deepest portions of our oceans and our minds. Expand
  2. Justin
    Jul 25, 2006
    9
    Very well done. I read the book after watching the movie, and then I watched the movie again. The only reason I'm not giving this a 10 Very well done. I read the book after watching the movie, and then I watched the movie again. The only reason I'm not giving this a 10 is because the movie was not very accurate with the book. Other than that, it was good. Expand
  3. StewartC.
    Mar 11, 2006
    8
    at times the acting is poor but the rest of the time this is an intense thriller which is easily one of the cleverest and best sci-fi's.
  4. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2006
    7
    A very intriguing thriller with a great premise, even thought he execution doesn't always live up to it. It deserves much better respect A very intriguing thriller with a great premise, even thought he execution doesn't always live up to it. It deserves much better respect than what the critics here have been giving it. It makes you wonder...is mankind ready to take on extraordinary gifts and discoveries like the sphere? Judging from world events, my answer...sadly, no. Whatever you think, though, prepare to be intrigued. Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    Strange that this movie is so down rated on IMDB and metacritic. It's really good for _my_ taste. This also shows that people have differentStrange that this movie is so down rated on IMDB and metacritic. It's really good for _my_ taste. This also shows that people have different taste in movies and taking the average of their rating is perhaps not the best measure to assess the quality of the movie. In other words, it would be a better measure to see which other movies were liked by people who liked a given movie. In technical (machine learning/statistical) terms, some kind of a clustering of movies based on an empirical similarity matrix (created by asking people's opinion) would be a more useful characterization of a given movie than just simply assigning a score to a movie. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    I expected a lot from this movie considering how much I loved the novel. I would've given this a 10, if I watched half of the movie only. TheyI expected a lot from this movie considering how much I loved the novel. I would've given this a 10, if I watched half of the movie only. They altered the way the ending happened. I'm not gonna spoil it but they changed it in a way that viewers who have read the novel would obviously hate the ending. A good movie nevertheless, but I'm just a little bit annoyed with the ending. Collapse

See all 7 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.