Spider-Man 2

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1094 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JamailS.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    Amazing spiderman proved to be more than amazing. it was not the effects that made it great (for the record: "it was superb") but the humanity of it all. sam raimi gave us a rendition of a spiderman which eclipse the stereo-typical definition of a superhero. peter parker was human after all; confusion and indecision gets him, hurt affects him, and most he feels. most of the timeAmazing spiderman proved to be more than amazing. it was not the effects that made it great (for the record: "it was superb") but the humanity of it all. sam raimi gave us a rendition of a spiderman which eclipse the stereo-typical definition of a superhero. peter parker was human after all; confusion and indecision gets him, hurt affects him, and most he feels. most of the time superheroes are portrayed as strong and can never be broken by psychological troubles. here we see a superhero who is confused, still the hero in him reigned. "I will never die a monster" Dr. Octavius said and not his villain side for it was a realization that no matter how good or bad a person or someone is, always the greater "good" reigns. thumbs-up to the actors and everybody involve in these movie. Expand
  2. KenM.
    Jul 20, 2004
    9
    Somehow Doc Ock didn't seem as difficult an opponent for Spidey to defeat, and yes, there's a bit of melodrama between Peter and Mary Jane that could have used one more rewrite. But everything else is dynamite. Aside from the special effects, there's actually some character development! Isn't it great when Hollywood does that?
  3. VinceH.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such literate dramas as "Ordinary People" & "Julia", which mostly seems to explain why the dialogue & emotional scenes work so well (which they usually The reason why "Spiderman 2" is the best Hollywood movie of the year thus far is because it has a perfect mix of drama, emotion, action, visual effects and narrative drive. The screenplay was written by Alvin Sargent, who also wrote such literate dramas as "Ordinary People" & "Julia", which mostly seems to explain why the dialogue & emotional scenes work so well (which they usually don't in action movies). The acting is excellent (esp. from Tobey Maguire, who just gets better and better) and Sam Raimi's direction is terse, well-paced, and inventive while staying true to the mythic & comic qualities without going overboard into psychic mumbojumbo & pretentiouness (are you reading this Ang Lee?). Since we actually care about these characters and become so personally involved with them throughout, that when the action scenes come around they almost seem a distraction to the much more captivating story of Mary Jane & Peter's relationship, which actually feels real and not fake like most comic book moves. Expand
  4. LiamS.
    Jul 9, 2004
    6
    This movie has good elements and awful elements. The good: Alfred Molina. He is a wonderful villain in every respect as Doc Ock. Leaps and bounds (if you pardon the expression) better than Willem Dafoe from the first film. Molina saves the picture - he is a complex character, tortured and noble at the same time. A wonderful performance. The bad: the horrible, forced interplay between Mary This movie has good elements and awful elements. The good: Alfred Molina. He is a wonderful villain in every respect as Doc Ock. Leaps and bounds (if you pardon the expression) better than Willem Dafoe from the first film. Molina saves the picture - he is a complex character, tortured and noble at the same time. A wonderful performance. The bad: the horrible, forced interplay between Mary Jane and Peter. The lines are terrible and the actors (Dunst and Maguire) need brain transplants. The lines were ridiculous and unbelievable. In this respect, I agree with some of the other reviewers on this subject. I realize that the romantic subplot is necessary to ensnare the teen girls who see this film, but seriously now. At least the storyline needs to be realistic. (And don't even get me started on the ugly performance given by James Franco. James: go to acting school. Please!) Expand
  5. PeterP.
    Jul 9, 2004
    6
    Anyone who's read the comics for years: remember the infamous (and tedious) issues that began with the cover showing Peter in the background walking away from a garbage can in the foreground, containing the last thing you'd ever think he'd throw out? THAT'S the subplot that has fans complaining about the flick and professional critics raving. Just as that months-long Anyone who's read the comics for years: remember the infamous (and tedious) issues that began with the cover showing Peter in the background walking away from a garbage can in the foreground, containing the last thing you'd ever think he'd throw out? THAT'S the subplot that has fans complaining about the flick and professional critics raving. Just as that months-long drama was tedious in the books, so is the second act of the film. BUT everyone involved in the movie did exceptionally well, and once the action finally kicks in again, it's worth the price of admission... it's just tough to get through the middle and early final third of the film without glancing at your watch at least once. I'd say New York Magazine and ReelViews' critiques hit the nail right on the head. Expand
  6. GerronK
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    A wonderful sequel to the first Spider-man film! This film is emotionally affecting, visually stunning and is an artistic achievement in the super hero genre. Maguire and Dunst both give enthralling performances. One of the top films of 2004.
  7. ZacharyW.
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    The movie was very good. There was too much talk, and not enough action scenes. I give it an A-.
  8. MattP.
    Jun 30, 2004
    2
    Tedious and repetitive, CGI that makes the building-to-building leaps look like a bad videogame, lousy acting, lazy and uninspired direction of non-action scenes. Saved by an Evil Dead homage.
  9. RobertA.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    ^_^ fantastic! ^_^ inspirational ^_^ I thank them for making it! ^_^
  10. Heirloom
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    There is a good balance between the action, special effects scene and the small, intimate, emotional moments that delve deeper into the characters. highly entertaining.
  11. ChickenM.
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    Crazy awesome.
  12. Amiee
    Jul 1, 2004
    8
    Great movie. If you are looking for just another action no character development movie this is not for you. This is actually a film not just a movie.
  13. RachelK.
    Jul 21, 2004
    9
    Better than the original.
  14. JeffR
    Jul 2, 2004
    6
    Wow, everyone seems to have loved this one - i personally thought it was pretty mediocre, as i wasnt really all that excited through much of it and they could have cut a half hour off it, namely out of the mushy lovey dovey staring-at-each-other-with -puppy-dog-eyes scenes. i dont hate romance, but it felt forced at times and i go to spider man movies to have fun and see webslinging, notWow, everyone seems to have loved this one - i personally thought it was pretty mediocre, as i wasnt really all that excited through much of it and they could have cut a half hour off it, namely out of the mushy lovey dovey staring-at-each-other-with -puppy-dog-eyes scenes. i dont hate romance, but it felt forced at times and i go to spider man movies to have fun and see webslinging, not to stare into kirsten dunst's eyes for an hour at a time (i'm not even going to go into how bad she was for the part, and how unattractive she really is in this movie, since it's really an issue with the first flick that has carried over). the action was good when it came, and doc ock was a pretty good villain even if the whole two-personalities-in-one-head thing was already done in the last movie. the last 45 minutes really earned this one 3 of the points i gave it, but it was disappointing that it took soooo long to find it's groove. Expand
  15. AkhilK.
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    An incredible movie! You have to see it. It is one of those movies that will blow your mind no matter how high your expectations are.
  16. Quiet
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    Having just seen this... wow. This is how a comic book movie should always be made. The various story arcs were tight, well filmed, well acted, etc. I am curious how they are going to make movies 3-6 (from what I hear they have 6 movies planned out). If they are close to as good as this... wow.
  17. MonicaT.
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    Cool, good special effects, perfect and talented cast, good storyline, good ending.
  18. a.k.aMattT.
    Jul 7, 2004
    9
    This ia a supurb sequel this movie has to offer.the movie has a blend of excellent corougraph action scenes, romance and comical events. Overall this movie is a money worth.
  19. StephB.
    Jul 7, 2004
    9
    ~Spiderman was wickedly Awesome! but I think it does come as close as the first one. Though I think people say it was better , I say the Original is always the one and only.(R.I.P.)+
  20. FerandoT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    3
    Nothing special... history is a little boring... only a few FX are interesting.
  21. BillB.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    amazing from start to finish. spider-man is without a doubt the best comic character to be translated to the big screen.
  22. TheRealness
    Jul 4, 2006
    0
    [***SPOILERS***] Where to begin? The plot of this film is incoherent. Doctor Octopus needs those tentacles to...do what exactly? All he does with them in the lab scene (his lab in a residential space) is press a button. Later on, the villian robs a bank for...money that he will use to...do what? Buy lab equipment? Does anyone see the stupidity here? Why not just take what you want? The [***SPOILERS***] Where to begin? The plot of this film is incoherent. Doctor Octopus needs those tentacles to...do what exactly? All he does with them in the lab scene (his lab in a residential space) is press a button. Later on, the villian robs a bank for...money that he will use to...do what? Buy lab equipment? Does anyone see the stupidity here? Why not just take what you want? The best of all: Doc Ock goes to James Franco and demands the precious McGuffin of 'tridium.' Rather than just ransack Franco's home and take it, or torture him and take it, Ock makes an unncessary deal to risk his life and hunt down Spider-Man for it. Smart. Onto the dialogue. What young people talk as Tobey and that hideous actress do in this film? 'Go get'em tiger?' Seriously? This is what happens when 50 year old Hollywood hacks write for allegedly cool young people. That the actors did not speak up proves they were out to cash a check. The public, inc. the critics, is brainwashed by an assault of hype into liking this dreck. People so desperately want to like it, that they overlook wack, weak plot and dialogue. 'It's just a summer movie,' is no excuse. Just because I am in a movie theater doesn't mean I have to check logic and common sense at the door. But in a culture where people are content eating fast food day in and day out while listening to Ashlee Simpson and reading US Weekly, why should anyone be suprised this movie is a hit? Kirsten Dunst is another issue altogether. Apparently just because someone is on a big screen or magazine covers, they become pretty. This girl's face in those ECU shots is downright scary. She belongs in an old Raimi zombie flick. But again, if you luck into a big role because you've been chasing fame since you were a child actress, then you just become pretty. Become famous in our society and suddenly you also become physically attractive? Finally, Raimi's cheese shots of people screaming is just wack camp. Much preferred Nolan's Batman. Expand
  23. Anthonyl.
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    I just caught this movie on hbo again the other day and damn do i love this movie. it really does have everything mixed into one movie. it captures the spirit of the comic book perfectly, while also translating to mainstream audiences. i can not wait for the next one.
  24. rico
    Dec 7, 2004
    6
    I agree with GMDK. There's only so much "poor, poor Peter" one can take.
  25. KevinF.
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    This movie is really something else. i always liked the first one, it was my favorite comic book movie. daredevil was ass, hulk wasnt great. i liked x-men, but those two films lacked something that spiderman had. this second movie is at times beautiful, and you really feel like this is all happening, you can sympathize with the characters in a way that you wouldnt think possible. i wouldThis movie is really something else. i always liked the first one, it was my favorite comic book movie. daredevil was ass, hulk wasnt great. i liked x-men, but those two films lacked something that spiderman had. this second movie is at times beautiful, and you really feel like this is all happening, you can sympathize with the characters in a way that you wouldnt think possible. i would recommend this movie to anyone, because it goes beyond just being a comic book movie. Collapse
  26. TroyM.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Spider-Man 2 was fantastic!!! It has everything: humor, romance, excellent action scenes, and great special effects. Even if you are not a comic book fan, you will love this movie.
  27. MichaelG.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Excellent film. Much better than the first film. The first part of the film is funny and sad at the same time. Raimi really makes you feel how hard it is to be Peter Parker/Spider-Man. The mid point drags a little bit but the action is top notch-especially the train sequence. Excellent, one of the top films of 2004 (so far)
  28. Fantasy
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Stupendous. Better than the original. Don't miss it.
  29. CameronS.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Excellent Movie, Better acting, Better Special effects and it was just down right great! I really really hope that Spiderman 3 is going to be good as this one. I think this one is better than the first! Go see this movie!
  30. MaxwellS.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Amazing. So great to see a fun comic book action movie with such complex and real characters instead of focusing on one character with a bunch of supporting cardboard cutouts. Look forward to the third one very, very much.
  31. PhilT.
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    It was a great movie! Compared to the 1st one, it has more drama and emotion than the first one, but the action in the first was better. The CGI was a bit noticable when spidy was swinging around. It is a great movie for all ages and can get very sciency. I loved the scene where Doc Oct throws the bags of money at spidy.... its really goofy and unrealistic if u think about it, but i liked It was a great movie! Compared to the 1st one, it has more drama and emotion than the first one, but the action in the first was better. The CGI was a bit noticable when spidy was swinging around. It is a great movie for all ages and can get very sciency. I loved the scene where Doc Oct throws the bags of money at spidy.... its really goofy and unrealistic if u think about it, but i liked it anyways... Expand
  32. BoyWonder
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    An absolute MUST SEE for anyone. You dont have to be a dedicated spiderman comic fan to truly appreciate this masterpiece of cinematic engineering :)
  33. JonathanM.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    This movie is so good it made me want to crap my pants. It totally blew my mind.
  34. RickG.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    This is one of those rare films of the comic book genre that I would actually recommend to people who have never read comics. Spider Man 2 picks up where the last one left off and the character development is better here than in the previous film. This one has more laughs than the first one and it's not just laughter at JK Simmons playing J Johan Jameson. Great Summer entertainment. This is one of those rare films of the comic book genre that I would actually recommend to people who have never read comics. Spider Man 2 picks up where the last one left off and the character development is better here than in the previous film. This one has more laughs than the first one and it's not just laughter at JK Simmons playing J Johan Jameson. Great Summer entertainment. Go see it and enjoy yourself. Expand
  35. DonnieP.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Not just a great super hero movie, but simply a great movie. Characters you care about in a story that take you all over the place emotionally. CGI is unreal and the acting is as good as anything you'll see this year. I doubt I'll see anything this good for a long time.
  36. JohnS.
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    This movie blows the first movie out of the water with its special effects, depth, drama and better CGI. Spidey looks more real, instead of the cartoon spot swinging through the model skyscrapers of the previous movie. Even New York City looks gritty and authentic this time around. Best of all, this movie succeeds where every previous superhero movie fails: It makes the out-of-costume This movie blows the first movie out of the water with its special effects, depth, drama and better CGI. Spidey looks more real, instead of the cartoon spot swinging through the model skyscrapers of the previous movie. Even New York City looks gritty and authentic this time around. Best of all, this movie succeeds where every previous superhero movie fails: It makes the out-of-costume hero believable and watchable. More than half of the movie is Peter Parker, and the audience doesn't mind since he's a three-dimensional sad-sack sort of guy you want to root for. There are good surprises and many moments you shouldn't read in a review. But let me say that this is what a big budget summer film should be -- exciting, heroic, involving, and funny. This is truly my childhood hero translated to the screen with style, energy, and depth. In fact, it triumphs so much in all of these aspects that you never notice there isn't much of a plot at all. Expand
  37. MaltBeer
    Jul 12, 2004
    5
    Descent. A little borring at points. The actor who played Doc. Oct needed more screen time, both for the understanding of his humanity, and to see more carnage when he went pyscho! The articulation of the arms was amazing, but the acting and content of the movie was pretty lame.
  38. RobertH.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Absolutely first rate. Starts out a bit slow but picks up steam quickly. The only negative is the operating room scene which reminds one of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (may be too intense for small children,) but other than that, Spidey really delivers. Better than the original. Should do $100,000,000 the first weekend as the theaters were packed with a new showing every thirty minutes. Absolutely first rate. Starts out a bit slow but picks up steam quickly. The only negative is the operating room scene which reminds one of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (may be too intense for small children,) but other than that, Spidey really delivers. Better than the original. Should do $100,000,000 the first weekend as the theaters were packed with a new showing every thirty minutes. Don't miss it. Expand
  39. Carmen
    Jul 1, 2004
    3
    I cannot believe this movie has gotten such high reviews. It's a terrible film. The first one was pretty good, without being great or anything but this is just as if someone had been paid to screw it up on purpose, starting by the script. Was the movie intended for a five year old audience? All that inner conflict of the characters was so shallow and laughable, not even the action I cannot believe this movie has gotten such high reviews. It's a terrible film. The first one was pretty good, without being great or anything but this is just as if someone had been paid to screw it up on purpose, starting by the script. Was the movie intended for a five year old audience? All that inner conflict of the characters was so shallow and laughable, not even the action scenes saved this movie. Expand
  40. VernG.
    Jul 16, 2004
    4
    This movie went way too far with its theme of the internal struggle between being a superhero and living a normal life. Way too angsty for my taste, and the movie seemed to beg too much pity out of me (No free toaster, not able to use the bathroom, living in a tiny apartment) than I was willing to give... I'm not going to say that I was mad because there wasn't enough action in This movie went way too far with its theme of the internal struggle between being a superhero and living a normal life. Way too angsty for my taste, and the movie seemed to beg too much pity out of me (No free toaster, not able to use the bathroom, living in a tiny apartment) than I was willing to give... I'm not going to say that I was mad because there wasn't enough action in the movie, but I was dissapointed that his internal struggle was focused on, and EVERYONE had a lesson to teach him. (Aunt May's speech made me want to rip out my hair) A few scenes made me laugh, (of course, not due to their comedy roots) such as the constant 'Zoom in on person screaming' effect and 'Metal arms bury through crowd of people to grab old lady'... In conclusion, besides the fact that it was not what I expected it to be at all, the ending really makes me wonder how in the world they're going to compile a Spiderman 3. Expand
  41. Kris
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    Possibly the best comic book movie I've ever seen. Yes, I enjoyed much more than the first 2 Batmans, and the first two Supermans.
  42. PatrickH.
    Jul 10, 2004
    9
    Incredible!!!
  43. Starfox
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Fantastic. Easily the best comic book / super hero movie ever made.
  44. DaveO.
    Jul 19, 2004
    2
    This movie was a screamingly dull, pointless, contrived, hackneyed disappointment. Truly a waste of time, except for the very hardcore, who will be particularly offended by the gross liberties taken by a overly-self-indulgent Raimi. I have no idea how Chabon could allow writing like this to go under his credit. A genuinely bad film. Worse than MIB2, ..which at least attempted to entertain This movie was a screamingly dull, pointless, contrived, hackneyed disappointment. Truly a waste of time, except for the very hardcore, who will be particularly offended by the gross liberties taken by a overly-self-indulgent Raimi. I have no idea how Chabon could allow writing like this to go under his credit. A genuinely bad film. Worse than MIB2, ..which at least attempted to entertain unlike this schlock. Expand
  45. TerryW.
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    What an awesome movie! Easily the best of the year!
  46. GaborA.
    Jul 2, 2004
    5
    Utterly overrated but not mind bogglingly so like people say it is. Of course everyones going to like this movie. "it has action and heart." yeah thats great. Plot is attempted to be substituted by concept. This concept ofcourse is the typical responsibilites and sacrifices of the hero stuff so im confussed as to why everyone takes this as an original move. The biggest flaw of the movie Utterly overrated but not mind bogglingly so like people say it is. Of course everyones going to like this movie. "it has action and heart." yeah thats great. Plot is attempted to be substituted by concept. This concept ofcourse is the typical responsibilites and sacrifices of the hero stuff so im confussed as to why everyone takes this as an original move. The biggest flaw of the movie is that it opens the box on all the great should be kept secrects like spiderman's identity. Meanwhile things that are illogically concealed wont be made evident for the purpose of continuing the series. When Harry looks you in the face and says you killed my father im going to kill you. Do you a.) dodge the issue once again and say "theres bigger thing going on than me an you right now." or B.) do the obvious and say a couple of simple words "your dad was the green goblin you morron thats why i had to kill him." Part three will be the Hobgoblin vs. Spiderman meaning once again it will be scitsophranic-esque villian versus super hero with "human qualities." It never was original but now its getting flat out annoying. Expand
  47. RosB.
    Jul 2, 2004
    8
    This movie is worth seeing. I recommend you sit close, and see it on a big screen. Here are the flaws: 1) Danny Elfman's Score sounds too much like diet Batman. His main theme could have been much stronger. Those violin runs are great though, very spidery. 2) The movie is over-lit. It looks plasticky and that sucks. I wish it had more grit. It sometimes looks like a magazine shoot. This movie is worth seeing. I recommend you sit close, and see it on a big screen. Here are the flaws: 1) Danny Elfman's Score sounds too much like diet Batman. His main theme could have been much stronger. Those violin runs are great though, very spidery. 2) The movie is over-lit. It looks plasticky and that sucks. I wish it had more grit. It sometimes looks like a magazine shoot. 3) Maguire could have had some one-liners, his character seems constantly stressed out. How about some levity? 4)I wanted more at the end! But that's a good thing. Hopefully number 3 will involve outer space and venom (that would be cool). See this movie though, it's pretty fun all around. Expand
  48. AlwYzzle
    Jul 2, 2004
    6
    The First One was better than this load of self-indulgment of special effects. I give it this rating mostly to the cheesiness (and thats the generic cheese) the director added into this movie, such as the "crowd surfing" scene of Spiderman, and the how the hands of DOC OCT were given personalities. Watch it again and tell me i'm not telling the TRUTH. Cut it when it needs to be cut!
  49. RS
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    This movie is awsome. Packed with action, drama, super-hero action, this movie is a MUST-SEE!!!
  50. MarkR.
    Jul 22, 2004
    3
    2 hours for an action movie, please! Found it hard to sit through the entire thing. & really subtle introduction to the next movie too...
  51. O.W.
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    Truly the best movie uv the year. its action packed and exciig through the whole movie. in my top ten mos fav movies uv all time. its truly amazing. if i could i would rate it 15/10. Amazing.
  52. MichaelR.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    If you liked the first movie at all, you'll definatley like this one as well. Sam Raimi and crew did not pussyfoot around with this movie.
  53. AdamR.
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    This movie is truely amazing, and it is worth seeing. This is the best and my most anticipated MARVEL production to date. It is a great action film and it also has a good story.
  54. JenniferK.
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    The action was so awesome. I was so drawn into the emotional issues. Spiderman was funnier in this movie than in the first one.
  55. MarcW.
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    The finest movie of the year and quite possibly, the most touching love story I have ever seen on the silver screen.
  56. EfeB.
    Jul 30, 2004
    9
    The trouble with ranking follow-back films such as rocky and indiana jones films is that, the ranker...in this case me...have to look at the film as a compete product rather than just a new number in the series. this is the case with spiderman 2. i will do my best to review the film AS IS, and not as a folow up to the great first spiderman film. it's wild!...phew!. yes, now that i The trouble with ranking follow-back films such as rocky and indiana jones films is that, the ranker...in this case me...have to look at the film as a compete product rather than just a new number in the series. this is the case with spiderman 2. i will do my best to review the film AS IS, and not as a folow up to the great first spiderman film. it's wild!...phew!. yes, now that i said it lets gut it's insides. tobey is a good spider, quite good casting. i would have prefered a taller, skinnier spiderman, but he does pretty well even though he is not very elegant looking. his success comes from his humble looks and voice, he always sounds like either he doesn't give a damn about life or he just woke up, pick one. pick two if you wanna trick me. doctor octavious is played very well by molina, it's fantasy films like these that handle "attitude" very well. like han solo in star wars...look at star wars with no han solo (new ones)....see my point? as for mary jane, she could have been alot worldly, rather than a generic american chick who talks about wedings and boyfriends and looking for a man to comlete her constantly. sam raimi does a great job, this guy...people were bashing him even before the release of spiderman 1, they said he had no clue and no control over the ambitious project....he shows us not only he has control, but he can dance around it in classy fashion. the story dips down ever so often and demands more action, there are too many "where have you been?" and "who am i" kind of un-answerable idiotic questioneres handed out in the cast that gets in the nerves and eyes. you are spiderman 2, does that make you feel better? the fella who plays harry, green goblin's heir is a pretty good actor, i am glad we are gona see him more in the next one. he might give us more of that "attitude"we are in need of. Expand
  57. BenZ.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    This is a phenomanal movie. I would say it ranks up there with "superman", "batman" and "batman returns" as one of the best comic book movies of all time. What makes this movie truly great are not the scenes with spider-man, oddly enough, but the ones with peter parker where we see him going through his day to day struggles being a super-hero. This movie combines different elements which This is a phenomanal movie. I would say it ranks up there with "superman", "batman" and "batman returns" as one of the best comic book movies of all time. What makes this movie truly great are not the scenes with spider-man, oddly enough, but the ones with peter parker where we see him going through his day to day struggles being a super-hero. This movie combines different elements which are rarely so effective in a film: witty humor, exciting action, and some truly effective, emotion drenched drama. So... if this movie is so great, then why a 9 and not a 10? Well... there is one flaw that still ate at me while i watched this movie. This concerns the way spider-man, as a character, is animated throughout the majority of the movie. While it didn't bother me so much as the first film, (the effects were greatly improved for this sequal) I still think it would have been much more effective to take the extra time and preperation to incorporate more human-like spiderman stunts into the mix, you gotta admit that spiderman outfit looks cool as hell. Expand
  58. Lumiere
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    This movie was outstanding and by far the best movie this year since you can't count animated movies :p. Well if you liked the first Spider-Man you will love this one the feel is even better now as it blends in very nice. Even if you didn't you should give this a chance because it is a better film then the first one. In this one everything doesn't go Spider-man's way. This movie was outstanding and by far the best movie this year since you can't count animated movies :p. Well if you liked the first Spider-Man you will love this one the feel is even better now as it blends in very nice. Even if you didn't you should give this a chance because it is a better film then the first one. In this one everything doesn't go Spider-man's way. He does terrible in school, loses his superpowers and almost loses Mary Jane for good. Then he decides to quit being Spider-Man for awhile and to make his life with Mary Jane back to normal. He finally goes and sees her opera performance and things look a bit better for spider-man. In this one the main villian is Dr. Octopus. He is the mad scientist gone wild as the arms gain control of him and he gives Spider-Man hell. Tobey Mcguire (Peter Parker) and Kirsten Dunst (Mary Jane Watson) do an excellent job acting and their characters are very believable. Other notable characters are Rosemarry Harris and Harry Osbourne (who should be a big part in the 3rd movie) The Action in this movie is a great bonus to an already excellent piece of work. As I said, I came out of the theater at 12:20 AM. happy last night knowing I had seen the best big budget movie of the year so far. What is a shame though is here in Lake Jackson, TX we really only have one good theater. This theater has 10 screens but some films even as big as Fahrenheit 911 don't get shown here. I have to drive to Houston in order to see any limited release movies also which is not conveniant. I also recommend the soundtrack to this film as well. It may not have a song that stands out as much as Chad Kroeger's Hero did on the first Spider-Man but overall this is still a good soundtrack. My picks from the soundtrack are Dashboard Confessional - Vindicated and Jet - Hold On. I like the Maroon 5 song its just that it doesn't go with the movie really. Rating: A Soundtrack Rating: 4/5 Stars. Expand
  59. DonaldN.
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    OMFG!! If I could give a 20 to this movie, I would!! This is by far the greatest movie I've ever seen. The Special effects are totally believable and the story line is supreme. This movie will gp down in history as one of the most triumphant action movie. It is not possible for there to be a better movie.
  60. ScottAKASokaar
    Jul 3, 2004
    10
    Ok I consider my self one of those people that does not get hyped over how good a film looks, but Spiderman was one of my most anticipated films ever, having gone to see the first one so many times I lost count and I can honestly say my score has nothing to do with how much I was anticipating it, the film truely rocks. Ok I do not know where to begin but i shall try at the beggining, I Ok I consider my self one of those people that does not get hyped over how good a film looks, but Spiderman was one of my most anticipated films ever, having gone to see the first one so many times I lost count and I can honestly say my score has nothing to do with how much I was anticipating it, the film truely rocks. Ok I do not know where to begin but i shall try at the beggining, I must say that I will not mention any of the major points in the film. I personaly liked the way the film begins with a nice little series of tableaux to descibe pretty much the entire script and these are done as an artistic drawn screen shot from the previous film and it explains what happened in the first film for those that had not seen it (yeah i know what rock were they living under but it works well). It then jumps right into the film with parker late for work. The film looks at the strugle between leading an everyday life and leading a life of presure for a superhero, the problems like always having to rescue a person in distress but also the problems of hatred from the people he is trying to save due to bad press. NYC is split into those that love him and those that hate him (kind of like marmite). The film is fast pased to so your not waiting 30 minuets to catch your first glimpse of spiderman. The plot of the story is well written in my oppinion, having never read a spiderman comic in my entire life I can tell you it was enjoyable to watch, however the film does bring in some things that happens to spiderman in the cartoon which pretty much copies the comics i am told. The film has many morals hidden in with the script like finding your way when your lost, the value of being truthful ect and these are sensed on a subconscious level. The film has been given the PG certificate which i think in another film they would not have done this, yes the film contains no blood, but the violence if pretty frequent. I sense they decided on the PG rating because of the frowns about the first film being 12 but whatever. I am not saying that the film should be higher rated but I just thought I would point out there is quiet alot of violence in there. and on that note the fighting is absolutley brilliant it leaves you on the edge of your seat anticipating what could possibly happen next. and it all looks very realistic, I mean as realistic as fist fighting with someone while falling to your death looks anyway. the film also has mind blowing special effects they have made spidermans acrobatics and motions while flying through the air looks so beautiful. and the ending i find interesting too, i left the cinema with a feeling that there is going to be a third film because of the scene where harry realises was at first sight a sequel begging ending but after thinking about it you realise it is not sequel begging it leaves the door open to a sequel because the closure comes from the "go get 'em tiger" scene i ?Know that is a little cryptic but once you have seen the film you will understand what i mean (i hope i have not given anything away to the hardcore spidey fans) so on to my final thought on the film. It is a perfect balance between action and drama and perfectly portrays how it must be to lead a double life and have to give up your dreams for the good of others, amazing visual and sound effects make this an all around perfect film. Sokaar gives it a huge 10 Expand
  61. EliotR.
    Jul 3, 2004
    8
    Strong performances all around. Great movie. A much better film than the first. Less action, more plot. Good work Spidey!
  62. AdamM.
    Jul 6, 2004
    2
    Like most sequels, this movie failed and took what could have been a truly good summer blockbuster and transformed it into a cliche ridden piece of garbage that made me laugh throughout. Action films should entertain without being cheesy and without redoing the same pathetic scenes that have been repeated for ages. I humorously recall laughing histerically as the crowd carries the now Like most sequels, this movie failed and took what could have been a truly good summer blockbuster and transformed it into a cliche ridden piece of garbage that made me laugh throughout. Action films should entertain without being cheesy and without redoing the same pathetic scenes that have been repeated for ages. I humorously recall laughing histerically as the crowd carries the now weakened Spiderman as if crowd surfing. This is one (of many) scenes that easily made this the worst film I have seen this summer. Expand
  63. MikeT.
    Jul 6, 2004
    3
    Half of the time Spidy is running around in the movie without cap - which is weird - then he is paranoid, full of self doubt, and there is just too much zap. It's more a children's book movie then superhero movie. Movie is boring I don't know what the hype is all about.
  64. TomD.
    Jul 6, 2004
    1
    WASTE of Money, and Time. More Soapopera then anything else
  65. Luthorx
    Jul 7, 2004
    9
    I can aggree with those who think this is more of a soap opera, but the plot was close to the comics, the fights were awesome and the rest was well done. 9 out of 10
  66. MeakaScorp
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    Such an awesome movie. no words to say, im speechless.
  67. RobinF.
    Jul 8, 2004
    9
    Great movie with an Interesting villian!
  68. PeterM.
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Even better than the first and a happy ending too. Dont hesitate. Go see it right now. (its playing every half hour at most theaters so you shouldn't have trouble finding a convenient showtime)
  69. RayRay
    Jul 9, 2004
    2
    I have to agree with Andrew M. (below), but don't just limit your criticism to the Metacritic users. Look at the praise from the professional Meta-Critics!! They loved the damned thing. I was bored out of my freakin' skull! I mean, both X-Men movies buried this sucker. I'd say Spider-Man 2 is about on the level with the "Hulk" movie. Don't be fooled people, this movie sucks.
  70. /\/\\/\/
    Jul 9, 2004
    2
    The 2 is for nice FX and Raimi's direction, the rest I could do without. The hero dilemma is waaaaaay overplayed in this film, it's the Groundhog Day of love stories. The longing looks and suggestive dialogue followed by the invetiable rejection of MJ by Peter ad nauseam. This tired passion play seriously detracts from any semblance of pacing in this film, and is not The 2 is for nice FX and Raimi's direction, the rest I could do without. The hero dilemma is waaaaaay overplayed in this film, it's the Groundhog Day of love stories. The longing looks and suggestive dialogue followed by the invetiable rejection of MJ by Peter ad nauseam. This tired passion play seriously detracts from any semblance of pacing in this film, and is not representative of what most fans want to see from their superhero flicks imo. I don't resent love stories, I just resent them not going anywhere over a 2+ hour period. Guess I'm in the minority here, but I found the first film better paced, and altogether more satisfying than this sequel. By the way, where the heck was the villian in this film? You hardly see him show up at all! Expand
  71. LexeH.
    Aug 10, 2004
    9
    Over-all great movie. Really well written, a definite award winner.
  72. Sungus
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    If you get past the obvious flaws in the logic (cmon its a comic book movie for chrissake), the presentation is quite good. As a fan of the strip and the animated series, the movie is good about being loyal to the spirit of the comic but also building on that. It appears that this series is able to stay seemless over time, unlike Batman, which just became too bad to watch. Hopefully, the If you get past the obvious flaws in the logic (cmon its a comic book movie for chrissake), the presentation is quite good. As a fan of the strip and the animated series, the movie is good about being loyal to the spirit of the comic but also building on that. It appears that this series is able to stay seemless over time, unlike Batman, which just became too bad to watch. Hopefully, the cast will continue to do these for a few more flicks. Expand
  73. A.T.
    Aug 5, 2004
    7
    This was a good movie, and probably better than the first one. Great, creative action sequences, good plot, good characters. My main objection to this movie is that the second act is pretty slow and weak. We get not one, not two, not three, but four purely expository set pieces (the uncle Ben dream, the long Aunt may speech, the voice-over monologue, and the Doctor's speech). If you This was a good movie, and probably better than the first one. Great, creative action sequences, good plot, good characters. My main objection to this movie is that the second act is pretty slow and weak. We get not one, not two, not three, but four purely expository set pieces (the uncle Ben dream, the long Aunt may speech, the voice-over monologue, and the Doctor's speech). If you want me to know what Pete is struggling with, then show me, don't tell me. And for the love of god, don't tell me four times. Frankly, given the very high praise it's gotten, I was a little disappointed with this picture. But that was just due to my high expectations. It's a good movie, go see it. Expand
  74. BrianW.
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    Definitely a top notch hollywood product. I found myself caring more about what was happening with Peter Parker, than what villan Spider Man was hanging from a web somewhere. You become truly attatched to the struggle he faces. Balancing his life's responsibility, with the responsibility of being a superhero. A high-wire act to say the least. Some actually touching moments at the Definitely a top notch hollywood product. I found myself caring more about what was happening with Peter Parker, than what villan Spider Man was hanging from a web somewhere. You become truly attatched to the struggle he faces. Balancing his life's responsibility, with the responsibility of being a superhero. A high-wire act to say the least. Some actually touching moments at the end, seamless special effects, GREAT MOVIE? Could Spidey become the first superhero film to be nominated come Oscar time? I think so. When all is said and done, I have to say my favorite line in the movie is "Hi". If you've seen it you know. Expand
  75. GauravHirlekar
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    It is an ultimate movie worth seeing.
  76. crit-i-kal
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    Forget the rest of the movie. The train scene is, hand's down, the most intense action sequence ever burned to celluloid. If you haven't seen it yet (unlikely) you need to see it just for that.
  77. DavidG.
    Jan 16, 2005
    5
    "The greatest comic book movie of all time". I think that everyone is forgetting how much this movie rips off Superman 2. He wants to tell the woman he loves he's a hero, but he can't. He gives up his powers in order to be with her. Coincidently he's also fighting his greatest enemy. His girlfriend is kidnapped. He has to get his powers back and fight. He realizes there "The greatest comic book movie of all time". I think that everyone is forgetting how much this movie rips off Superman 2. He wants to tell the woman he loves he's a hero, but he can't. He gives up his powers in order to be with her. Coincidently he's also fighting his greatest enemy. His girlfriend is kidnapped. He has to get his powers back and fight. He realizes there will always be a need for the hero, but he is somehow going to have to balance it with his love life. The only thing original in this movie is Doc Ock, and they had to get him from a comic book. Expand
  78. Sam+Pat:Nowpartnersincritics
    May 15, 2005
    10
    This is one of the most excellent, entertainig, and awesome film of all time. The acting is great, the plot is very good and one of the top 5 films ever/ now to my friend pat's opinion. I'd give it a 9, it was pretty dang good. Overall, it will get a 9.5 since Sam gave it a 10 and pat gave it a 9, but do to mathmatical rounding, we must put a 10 on the score.
  79. Riren
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Quite possibly the best superhero movie of all time. You have all the high-powered action scenes, a great sense of humor, and ritual symbolism that would even get Joseph Campbell's mind stirring. It's long, but well-paced, and never forgets its sense of humility. By the end, Spider-Man's world is ripe for further installments, and anyone who ever walked through a toy aisle Quite possibly the best superhero movie of all time. You have all the high-powered action scenes, a great sense of humor, and ritual symbolism that would even get Joseph Campbell's mind stirring. It's long, but well-paced, and never forgets its sense of humility. By the end, Spider-Man's world is ripe for further installments, and anyone who ever walked through a toy aisle or played recess will want to see them. Expand
  80. Hayden
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    A very strong, intelligent and emotional movie. Most likely one of the greatest movies ever. Anonymous needs to seek therapy.
  81. LewisB.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    Spider-Man 3 is the Lawrence Of Arabia of the superhero movies world. It is epic, sprawling, magnificent, meaningful, beautiful. Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be a pretty spoilt brat or a cynical old misery. For near on three hours it envelops you in its world and makes you CARE about the characters. How's that for a special effects laden blockbuster, a movie with Spider-Man 3 is the Lawrence Of Arabia of the superhero movies world. It is epic, sprawling, magnificent, meaningful, beautiful. Anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be a pretty spoilt brat or a cynical old misery. For near on three hours it envelops you in its world and makes you CARE about the characters. How's that for a special effects laden blockbuster, a movie with characters that matter? The comedy works, the emotion works, the action works. Everything Raimi tries comes off. The set pieces are particularly astounding, ranging from an out of control crane to Spidey's numerous battles with the meaty villains on show. Like others, I think this is by far the best of the three (though I loved the first two as well). It's a modern-day classic, an enrapturing fantasy that exhibits all that's best in modern movie making. An experience not to be missed. Expand
  82. JoeD.
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This film is a masterpiece. If you don't believe it, ask these critics and IMDB fans alike. The division is what creates brilliance. Heck, there was even division among Bobby and Babel, and even among Queen. This film is certainly better than the first two (with Babel being like "Crash" the lite version), and is on a par with Queen. This film is a masterpiece. Just go ask IMDB fans.
  83. MarkW.
    May 4, 2007
    1
    This was possibly the worst movie I have ever seen.
  84. SteveO
    May 7, 2008
    9
    It was a good movie. Not a classic like the original and not atrocious like its successor.
  85. JimmyW
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    Great action movie but it showed tremendous emotion. Great story, great movie, end of story.
  86. JoeM
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    This film has everything going for it. Freat special effects and action sequences, craking dialogue, a terrific performance from Maguire and Molina. Just like a Spider-man comic brought to the big screen with all the heart, fun and excitement. If you so much as like superhero movies, you should love this.
  87. JonathanS.
    Feb 26, 2009
    9
    Having re-watched this recently--and perhaps this partially a nostalgic bias--this is undoubtedly the greatest comic book film ever made. Hands down. Just the sheer level of enjoyment that it evokes, without sacrificing intelligence, acting, direction, any of that--it's literally one of the few movies that contains the pure entertainment that has been lost more and more since the Having re-watched this recently--and perhaps this partially a nostalgic bias--this is undoubtedly the greatest comic book film ever made. Hands down. Just the sheer level of enjoyment that it evokes, without sacrificing intelligence, acting, direction, any of that--it's literally one of the few movies that contains the pure entertainment that has been lost more and more since the golden days of adventure back in the 70s. The Dark Knight had it's own post-humous/intense hype awe factor, but in terms of how many times you can just sit back and watch the film, while being consistently entertained--the only film that comes close is Iron Man. But nothing holds a candle to Spidey 2.Nothing. Expand
  88. melissame
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    An instant Classic! What a wonderful movie! One that doens't take itself too seriously, yet delivers in a serious way.
  89. IlzeS.
    Dec 18, 2004
    8
    Pretty movie, But I liked part one much better than this one.Tobby McGuire& Kirsten Dunst was so great. Will be expecting new part!
  90. G.M.D.K.
    Dec 3, 2004
    6
    This movie shouldnt be called "spiderman 2", it should be called "the unfortunate life of Peter Parker".
  91. GregT.
    Dec 6, 2004
    8
    This is a very good action movie, lots of spider webs and lots of breathtaking flying through the air from building to building. We all want to be able to do that, don't we? (grin). Tobby is every man's ideal for a son - a very decent quasi-nerd who is a true hero at heart and every woman's ideal - a cute young dude with muscles and morals and loads of sensitivity. What This is a very good action movie, lots of spider webs and lots of breathtaking flying through the air from building to building. We all want to be able to do that, don't we? (grin). Tobby is every man's ideal for a son - a very decent quasi-nerd who is a true hero at heart and every woman's ideal - a cute young dude with muscles and morals and loads of sensitivity. What more do ya want in a Superhero? Eh? Expand
  92. McgowanM.
    Jun 29, 2004
    0
    This movie is horrible. They should have ended it after the first one. Anyone who likes this movie is just plain stupid and is jumping on the bandwagon. daredevil rules!!!
  93. JStone
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    Mcgowan needs to realize the Daredevil was the worst super hero movie made in the past decade, its only competitor being The Punisher. Please hesitate from bringing down an outstanding movie deserves a 90 or above, by randomly throwing in a '0'. Spiderman 2 almost surpasses Spiderman, much like Shrek 2 was to Shrek. Must see of '04.
  94. JohnH.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    This movie is amazing. The perfect blend of action, romance, humor, and human drama. Other comic movies beware, the bar has been raised.
  95. ChrisG.
    Jun 30, 2004
    6
    I really wanted to like this movie, but I failed to. Sam Raimi couldn't take any scene seriously without going overboard and causing laughter in the theatre. The plot felt like it was just way too coincedental. The movie is way too long for what it is.
  96. Azri
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    This movie full of emotion and action as grown up student want to make right decision eventhough he his SPIDERMAN.
  97. RJ
    Jun 30, 2004
    8
    Exceptional action movie, one of the best I have seen in a while. While its not something like Raiders of the Lost Ark, it's certainly among the best comic book movies I have ever seen. For once, an action movie that is not braindead.
  98. CharlieH.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    I loved this movie i was amazed at how good it was....but what can ya do. cantwait for the third one...even tho its coming out in 2007....
  99. RyanF.
    Jun 30, 2004
    8
    It's an entertaining flick. Great action sequences and touchy dramatic scenes. The story is intact and consistent. However, the performances of the actors are still a little shaky and there are loads of continuity problems. BUT, it's still an entertaining film that is worth your money.
  100. MarkM.
    Jun 30, 2004
    4
    It really fell short of my expectations, since the hype and the reviews were soaring high. The movie is like a soap opera that uses the superhero concept as its main theme. The plot is too obvious and too shallow. It was the cheesiest movie that I've seen in years without the intention of becoming one. The action was ok, but I expected more. It was just all flying and swinging. And It really fell short of my expectations, since the hype and the reviews were soaring high. The movie is like a soap opera that uses the superhero concept as its main theme. The plot is too obvious and too shallow. It was the cheesiest movie that I've seen in years without the intention of becoming one. The action was ok, but I expected more. It was just all flying and swinging. And the acting was just like it came from a 60's movie, with extras screaming like they're in a Godzilla set. It was really disappointing. Nevertheless, it's still Spiderman and everyone will still watch it. Defintely, the first one for me is better. At least, it was not trying hard so much to be the movie event of the year. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Raimi doesn't make the mistake of over-thinking the flimsy psychology of the genre. All this conflicted-hero stuff isn't meant to be profound; instead, it's there for the same reason as everything else -- to give the action (the interior action in this case) a healthy shot of pop energy.
  2. Spider-Man 2 succeeds in pretty much the same way "Superman II" did -- only more so.
  3. This movie, directed with precision and an appreciation for (relatively) rich character texture by Sam Raimi, remembers all the fine elements of the original film (and the comic book story). It reprises them perfectly, including wonderfully choreographed, skyscraper-hanging fights.