Columbia Pictures | Release Date: May 4, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1343 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
763
Mixed:
340
Negative:
240
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
SteveK.May 6, 2007
[***SPOILERS***] This movie is bad. It is not good. I repeat, it is bad. However, I must add that I am 29 years old. I saw this movie with a group of 26 people, ranging from 9-35. Everyone over the age of 18 hated it. And most of the people[***SPOILERS***] This movie is bad. It is not good. I repeat, it is bad. However, I must add that I am 29 years old. I saw this movie with a group of 26 people, ranging from 9-35. Everyone over the age of 18 hated it. And most of the people under the age of 18 liked it. So where do we begin? First off, as many have noted, there are too many villains. They all contriibute to the themes of the movie but none are fully fleshed out. And I am sick of movies using predictable coincedences to move the plot along. [**SPOILERS***] Seriously, the one guy who happens to fall into a pit where scientists are changing the molecular properties of sand just happens to be the guy who killed Peter's uncle? And the one person on earth that happens to stumble upon the alien symbiote just happens to be Spider-Man? When Peter and MJ are fighting, Gwen Stacy just happens to be eating in the same restaurant? When Spider-Man gets the alien suit off, Eddie Brock just happens to be in the same church? You can not be serious! Most movies rely on one or two coincidences to move the plot along, but this is just absurd. The fights just seem to drag on as does this movie. Peter's dark side is portrayed so comically, it's laughable. Sand Man's power is so ill-defined that it is not clear at all what this guy can do. Overall, this movie is the biggest movie disappointment since Matrix Revolutions. It gets an A for special effects, and Venom is nicely done (for the whole 10 minutes he appears in this movie), but the movie is a mess. And did I mention how bad this film is? I know you're going to watch it anyways. But you were warned. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EncylopediaBrownMay 4, 2007
This is what it looks like when a franchise turns a gun on itself.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EricCotterMay 10, 2007
Easily the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. Not fun at all, way too cheesy for a Spidey flick (seriously, the whole teaming up part at the end, and then the shamefully ridiculous dance scene). Bad guys don't seem like they Easily the most disappointing movie I've ever seen. Not fun at all, way too cheesy for a Spidey flick (seriously, the whole teaming up part at the end, and then the shamefully ridiculous dance scene). Bad guys don't seem like they should be bad. All the characters are emotionally distant. The fight scenes are all right, but nothing like those in the previous movies. Clearly wanted to take the Batman aproach and be more dark and sinister, but failed so bad. Sam Raimi can do better, but now he'll probably never get the chance to redeem himself with the series. There have been talks of going on without him, and now it's obvious why. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MaxMooneyMay 2, 2007
Definitely the weakest of the three (what is it with Marvel #3's? X-Men 3 reaked as well). The audience I was with seemed bored throughout and laughed only once. And that was the Jonah Jameson pill scene. Not a good sign. I sayDefinitely the weakest of the three (what is it with Marvel #3's? X-Men 3 reaked as well). The audience I was with seemed bored throughout and laughed only once. And that was the Jonah Jameson pill scene. Not a good sign. I say let's leave it alone at 3 and NOT suit up for any more. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
2
WaylandMcAwesomeMay 5, 2007
Spiderman, my good sirs, is a fighter, not a sissy weiner that spends most of the movie crying. I wanted to see him fight. I fought more than he did; I fought boredom. Once upon a time, as a kid, I had dreams that Spiderman could be turnedSpiderman, my good sirs, is a fighter, not a sissy weiner that spends most of the movie crying. I wanted to see him fight. I fought more than he did; I fought boredom. Once upon a time, as a kid, I had dreams that Spiderman could be turned into a great trilogy. My dreams were shattered tonight. Mr. Raimi, I hope you are happy, because you have killed the dreams of little Wayland. For your sake, I hope your next project is to invent a time machine, go back in time, and save little Wayland. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ChrisboMay 6, 2007
, I'm a HUGE fan of Spiderman...Liked the first movie, LOVED the second flick and was dying to see the third one. And since I live in Korea, I was able to see the movie tonight (SM3 opened in Asia 3 days before it opens in North, I'm a HUGE fan of Spiderman...Liked the first movie, LOVED the second flick and was dying to see the third one. And since I live in Korea, I was able to see the movie tonight (SM3 opened in Asia 3 days before it opens in North America). I'm sad to say, I was let down by the third film.

The biggest issue by far is the fact that there are FAR too many story lines going on at once. The movie feels very bogged down and not nearly enough time is given for proper character development.

In this movie, there is Spiderman, Mary Jane, Gwen Stacey, "New" Goblin Venom and Sandman. Each character is given the bare amount of time for development.

I'm assuming that since most of the cast is non-committal to returning for a fourth movie, the filmmakers decided to throw as many stories into this movie in case it was the end. It really takes away from the movie as a whole.

The other big issue I have is the very forced sense of humor the movie tries to take. From a very lame riff on John Travolta's walk from "Saturday night fever" to watching Peter Parker dance to jazz music, a lot of the humor feels like it's was written for a SNL sketch.

There is a very poor ending involving Spiderman and Sandman that defies logic.

I sincerely hope this is NOT the last Spiderman film, because if it is, it's certainly not the best way for the series to end. None of the magic and originality of the second film are here. I hope that a decision is made to do a fourth film and I hope if a fourth film is made, the filmmakers decide to go back to what made the second film so special.

** out of *****
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
eeganracMay 8, 2007
the movie was terrible. to have to sit and watch two music numbers.........give me a f*ckin break! to have harry's butler come out of nowhere and talk sense in to harry, thats just piss poor lazy writing. venom is just an f*cking joke.the movie was terrible. to have to sit and watch two music numbers.........give me a f*ckin break! to have harry's butler come out of nowhere and talk sense in to harry, thats just piss poor lazy writing. venom is just an f*cking joke. the syboite (don't know how it is spelled) comes from a meteor, omfg this is 2007, not 1967! I liked the first spider-man, the second was just stolen from superman II. i would advise anyone to just wait until this movie is on dvd, cause it is an abomination! Nothing like at the end of the movie having sandman, and spider-man crying, wtf! please do not make another spider-man movie. if you go and see this movie than you are part of the problem. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
asoykeMay 5, 2007
This was not a good movie. Shame on you Sam Raimi. You should change your name to Shlong Raimi, because that's how bad this movie was. Please don't cry about it. I got enough of that out of every single scene in the movie. WayThis was not a good movie. Shame on you Sam Raimi. You should change your name to Shlong Raimi, because that's how bad this movie was. Please don't cry about it. I got enough of that out of every single scene in the movie. Way to mess up a trilogy. Next time someone wants to pay you to direct a movie, please have them give my balls a call, because they could make a better movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
2
LaGuertaFeb 27, 2013
You can only assume that Raimi intended to make a comedy but changed his mind at the last minute. Peter Parker dances away his credibility and the potential for a sequel.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
PaulDaviesMay 15, 2007
i didnt rate this movie number one cause i think i would be cool to be like yea its number 1. i think that anyone who liked this movie should should be hit over the head with a very heavy object and shunned in society aka eddie. but i thinki didnt rate this movie number one cause i think i would be cool to be like yea its number 1. i think that anyone who liked this movie should should be hit over the head with a very heavy object and shunned in society aka eddie. but i think also that u might see some action if u ended up in the wrong movie but thats the only way. Ben ur right this movie sucked hard then paris hilton! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
giancarlobMay 18, 2007
this movie was a peace of shit i saw it online and im glad i did cuz i wouldnt have spent a dime to see hollywood take such a taribble story and make it into this movie ......... it was people that give it a 10 u guys r mentallythis movie was a peace of shit i saw it online and im glad i did cuz i wouldnt have spent a dime to see hollywood take such a taribble story and make it into this movie ......... it was people that give it a 10 u guys r mentally retarted.............. i thought that for being a sequel it sucked .......... if ur going to give spiderman the black suit the movie has to be dark............ really dark not just kinda dark with a nerd thinking hes cool for one scene........... i hated this movie so much i just wana say it like 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 times !!!!!!!! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! i hated this movie! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
phildoughertyMay 28, 2007
i feel bad for sam rammie and all of the actors.
this movie was rushed the whole time, just to have mindless action, with to many characters. also i love how the black spiderman outfit is every where in advertisments but only 2 seconds in
i feel bad for sam rammie and all of the actors.
this movie was rushed the whole time, just to have mindless action, with to many characters. also i love how the black spiderman outfit is every where in advertisments but only 2 seconds in the movie. oh and one more thing sam rammie didnt even want to put venium in the movie!!!!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EnriqueMay 4, 2007
A big, resounding bomb!
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
JMay 11, 2007
This movie was... BAD. Atrocious dialogue. Good special effects. Terrible fight scenes in terms of scripted action - very mediocre. Blah.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChrisMay 12, 2007
This was a painful experience. They used every superhero cliche in the book. It was manipulative, ignorant, and just plain stupid. Every time I see a good review on here, I shudder, because it supports my belief that our culture is utterly This was a painful experience. They used every superhero cliche in the book. It was manipulative, ignorant, and just plain stupid. Every time I see a good review on here, I shudder, because it supports my belief that our culture is utterly brain dead. What a waste of film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MoviebuffreviewJul 9, 2013
Disappointingly, Spider-Man 3 puts the bad back into third films. While the film had some stunning visual effects and solid performances, the script was an absolute mess, the tone was confused, and the movie simply had too much going on toDisappointingly, Spider-Man 3 puts the bad back into third films. While the film had some stunning visual effects and solid performances, the script was an absolute mess, the tone was confused, and the movie simply had too much going on to focus its sights on one thing. Additionally, the unnecessary cheese and goofiness made the story difficult to take seriously, making for a film that equaled the death of a series. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeJan 29, 2011
i was so excited for this movie i liked the first 2 spider-man movies . i thought for sure sam rami would get it right in the 3rd especially when i heard venom was gonna finnaly be in it. let me say right off the bat im a HUGE Venom fan . hei was so excited for this movie i liked the first 2 spider-man movies . i thought for sure sam rami would get it right in the 3rd especially when i heard venom was gonna finnaly be in it. let me say right off the bat im a HUGE Venom fan . he is my favorite comic book hero/villian . even when i heard topher grace was gona be eddie brock i still stayed positive . not like i have any thing against topher i like him in that 70s show but really!? topher grace .... as eddie brock ... yeeaaaah... not the right choice on that casting call. they just destroyed him in this film and after hearing rami's excuse of venom was to much of a 1 demensional charicter and not intresting enough to star as the villian just proved that rami was not the spider-man fan he said he was and had no buisness in hell touching this film. there was to much going on and not enough devolpment on really any thing and yes the dance seen with parker was rancid dog ass. the action was great but thats the only thing in this movie that was great. the plot of this should have started out with spider-man fighting scorpion in the first half of the film and gettin the black suite and needing it to beat him then focused on venom second half . then having spidy beating Venom and NOT for the love of god killing him and then bringing in Venom and Carnage tag teaming spider man in the next movie. that would have been awsome and i would have praised sam rami as a freekin genous and true spider-man fan . i wana say he's a giant douchebag... but he still mad Army of darkness which is a freekin awsome movie .so ill just call him a dumb ass for now. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
Gamer44Dec 5, 2012
oh my but this movie sucks 100 times more than spider-man 1 and 2.The acting is even worse,the story is the worst ever.and sorry tobey maguire but your acting still sucks it is so terrible I never want to see another Tobey Maguire movie in myoh my but this movie sucks 100 times more than spider-man 1 and 2.The acting is even worse,the story is the worst ever.and sorry tobey maguire but your acting still sucks it is so terrible I never want to see another Tobey Maguire movie in my lifetime.And it is all thanks to spider-man.Can't believe they decided to actually make a third instalment they should not have never made spider-man from the beginning they would have saved lots of money and would have saved us from utter bordem.Again this goes straight into the worst movies in history list. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
SwatiFeb 12, 2013
I wish I had never seen it. The plot was so contrived and the length longer without offering anything of worth. It's like they knew this was the last one in the series and they had to use all the villains. With nothing to offer, they evenI wish I had never seen it. The plot was so contrived and the length longer without offering anything of worth. It's like they knew this was the last one in the series and they had to use all the villains. With nothing to offer, they even tried to make us concerned that this might be the end of Spidey, but it looked so sappy I wanted him to die and be done with. There were a few good scenes when Spidey turns dark, but nothing can really redeem this piece of garbage. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
This is what happens when you have too many story lines, to many villains, and to many things to juggle. Spider-Man 3 sucks. Spider-Man 3 is a visually stunning movie and has a great score...that being said theres nothing else to it. TheThis is what happens when you have too many story lines, to many villains, and to many things to juggle. Spider-Man 3 sucks. Spider-Man 3 is a visually stunning movie and has a great score...that being said theres nothing else to it. The acting is clunky, the story is so tangled (no pun intended) and character motivations are constantly questions. things happen by coincidence...good call sony to get rid of Spidey 4 and bring in the new ones. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
HISHEhebJul 9, 2014
סרט הספיידרמן הכי גורע שראינו, לא כדאי לראות. סרט שהרס לא מעט דמויות מהקומיקס של ספיידרמן. יש כמה סצינות שממש פדיחה בכלל לראות אותם. סרט שכל המעריצים של ספיידרמן התאכזבו ממנו, בעיקר בגלל שבו נהרסה הדמות של ונוםסרט הספיידרמן הכי גורע שראינו, לא כדאי לראות. סרט שהרס לא מעט דמויות מהקומיקס של ספיידרמן. יש כמה סצינות שממש פדיחה בכלל לראות אותם. סרט שכל המעריצים של ספיידרמן התאכזבו ממנו, בעיקר בגלל שבו נהרסה הדמות של ונום
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
BuckNov 24, 2007
As a big Sam Rami fan I cant believe what a big pile of manure Spiderman 3 is.I can understand going away from the books on the origin fo the symbiont suit, explaining the secret wars to people theat don't read comic books would beAs a big Sam Rami fan I cant believe what a big pile of manure Spiderman 3 is.I can understand going away from the books on the origin fo the symbiont suit, explaining the secret wars to people theat don't read comic books would be pretty tough.I could even understand putting the sandman in the film.I might even have been ae to accept harry becoming goblin Jr. but when he canged the single greatest spiderman villain from a middle aged reporter to a whiney little Emo kid Venom also always referred to itself as us and we thats where he really lost me. In fact the only redeeming thing in the movie is Bruce Campbell playing the French Maitre'De.Sam couldn't have made this movie any worse if he tried which makes me believe that idiotic studio executives had more to do with making this huge pile of elephant dung than Sam Rami did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JeffG.Dec 7, 2007
Whining, complaining, and soap opera cliches fill up a movie with two good fight scenes. Compared to the comics, my favorite character, Venom, is castrated. Something happens with some guy that turns into sand, and the Green Goblin boresWhining, complaining, and soap opera cliches fill up a movie with two good fight scenes. Compared to the comics, my favorite character, Venom, is castrated. Something happens with some guy that turns into sand, and the Green Goblin bores everyone to death. All that in over two hours. I got this movie for free, and I regret it dearly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JesseRakusinDec 8, 2007
sucks.. what a waste of 300 million dollars.. Sam Rami went ego insane. A movie full of cliche's but in no way a spiderman movie. Horrible. The action scene at the begining with parker and goblin2 was cool besided that it'ssucks.. what a waste of 300 million dollars.. Sam Rami went ego insane. A movie full of cliche's but in no way a spiderman movie. Horrible. The action scene at the begining with parker and goblin2 was cool besided that it's horrible. i mean eric from the 70's show is a fine actor but he's not f'n Venom. Venom is supposed to be a bad ass. This was almost as bad as giving superman a kid. Complete crap worse than I expected and I was was expecting bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrandonCavnarDec 14, 2007
Has Spidey gone EMO with his new do and black ensemble? They dilligently attempted to screw this movie royally. All cliches aside, why so many characters and no development? It's dizzying with everyone crying and pissing aboutHas Spidey gone EMO with his new do and black ensemble? They dilligently attempted to screw this movie royally. All cliches aside, why so many characters and no development? It's dizzying with everyone crying and pissing about self-empowerment. This sequel should put spidey out of his sensitive misunderstood misery. I want my money back! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CraigGNov 9, 2007
This movie was absolutely awful, the comedy in the middle just completely disjointed the film, and it was soooo long. Utter dross.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AcidM.Nov 16, 2007
Wow. After seeing the villains in this one, I propose, that in "Spider-Man 4," they have Spider-Man fight a T-Rex with a laser beam, a flying shark with a tiger's head, a 90-foot tall Hitler, and the 4 Horsemen of the Apocalypse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
dudeNov 20, 2007
WHY DOES HE TURN EMO IN THE MIDDLE OF THE MOVIE? He even does the hair thing! And that stupid jazz dance scene, what the fuck was that?? The graphics were great, the dialogue, I'm sorry, just can't be taken seriously. Why was he WHY DOES HE TURN EMO IN THE MIDDLE OF THE MOVIE? He even does the hair thing! And that stupid jazz dance scene, what the fuck was that?? The graphics were great, the dialogue, I'm sorry, just can't be taken seriously. Why was he dancing in the streets and giving the thumbs up like a jackass? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KoryN.Nov 23, 2007
This movie is a joke. It made me wish that movies had commercial interruptions. I liked the part where there was some swinging around and punching and kicking and stuff up in the sky and some kid goes "Awesome!" and another kid goes "Wicked This movie is a joke. It made me wish that movies had commercial interruptions. I liked the part where there was some swinging around and punching and kicking and stuff up in the sky and some kid goes "Awesome!" and another kid goes "Wicked cool!!!" That part was totally rad! This movie made me want to stick some of those orange circus peanut candies up my nose and fire/blow them at the television screen so that they would stick to spider-man's face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
UncleDougBigelowNov 26, 2007
Sandman killed this movie. The only reason it doesn't get a zero is because Parker smacked M.J.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JesseS.Feb 18, 2008
Cramming over twenty years of comic history into a single hour of a movie won't help with storyline or plot, but it'll definitely help sales. One of the main problems of the movie is that the storyline rushes and moves too fast. Cramming over twenty years of comic history into a single hour of a movie won't help with storyline or plot, but it'll definitely help sales. One of the main problems of the movie is that the storyline rushes and moves too fast. Scenes skip around to the point where you have to be paying close attention to what's going on, or you'll miss important plot points. Having said that, I'll talk about individual processes. Topher Grace's performance of Venom is less-than-spectacular. Venom is a character who's the pure essence of evil. He originally had a distorted, screech-like voice, but now it's only slightly deepened by Grace's. The abundance of bad lines that Grace has don't help his performance, either. "I like being bad. It makes me happy." That was one of the lines that made the movie feel like a big, unimportant joke. I did like the special effects of the Sandman and Thomas Hayden Church's performance. The parts of Venom could've been cut out to save for another movie and this would've been great. Weak subplots and overly-fast pacing put the third film as bad as Fantastic 4 : Rise of the Silver Surfer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamGMay 8, 2008
Abysmal.Overly-long, terrible acting all-round (with the possible exception of Hayden-Church), Parker dancing, giving kirsten dunst TWO songs, awful dialogue, messy fight-scenes and worst of all, a shot of spiderman posing in front of the Abysmal.Overly-long, terrible acting all-round (with the possible exception of Hayden-Church), Parker dancing, giving kirsten dunst TWO songs, awful dialogue, messy fight-scenes and worst of all, a shot of spiderman posing in front of the American flag. Don't get me wrong I've got nothing against America or patriotism, but that made me feel nauseous. Utterly rubbish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JPJun 8, 2008
Words cannot adequately describe how bad this movie is. Flat acting performances, cringe-inducing and often pointless dialogue, ridiculous action scenes, an plot that's both overstuffed and riddled with holes, and don't get me Words cannot adequately describe how bad this movie is. Flat acting performances, cringe-inducing and often pointless dialogue, ridiculous action scenes, an plot that's both overstuffed and riddled with holes, and don't get me started on the Spiderman 'dance' scenes. I'm also still trying to figure out who was behind a couple of the casting decisions (Topher Grace as Eddie Brock? Really guys?) and the handling of the Peter Parker/MJ 'relationship' (if that's what you can call what went on in this movie). Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeSJul 22, 2008
Horrible compared to the first two, this was more of a chick flick
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChristopherP.Dec 24, 2008
Insensible, hollow, soulless crap, even moreso if compared to the previous chapter. Nothing about it works like it should. There are plot illogicalities that will make absolutely anyone ask themselves, "Huh?" For starters, why did Parker Insensible, hollow, soulless crap, even moreso if compared to the previous chapter. Nothing about it works like it should. There are plot illogicalities that will make absolutely anyone ask themselves, "Huh?" For starters, why did Parker think it was a good idea to make out with that new girl in front of everyone, then follow up with a planned proposal to his official girlfriend? Was he oblivious that she just might be there watching the whole time? Then, when the girl shows up out of nowhere and talks about how she kissed Spider-Man, it never seems to register in him that something's not right then. So then, after it's proven that Parker's a douche, we immediately are given a sad scene with Parker crying as we learn Sandman was his uncle's killer. Uh, okay, I thought the movie wanted me to feel resentment for Parker's overt arrogance for a second there, but this sad music wants me to feel sympathetic for something else? Also, I know a romantic subplot is necessary, and I expected it completely, but most of this movie was a soap opera, one for which I wasn't rooting for the main angst figure that is Parker. Parker does stupid, insensitive things the entire film. When he's not making us hate him by hurting everyone's emotions (and, in Harry's case, detonating a grenade next to his face), he's trying to do it by being a whiny little bitch who doesn't seem to understand why any of it's happening. The soap opera factor reaches critical mass, though, when Harry tells Parker he's "the other guy" that MJ is after, right after MJ tells him in tears that it's over while he pulls out his engagement ring, also in tears. I understand some amount of drama is to be expected in this movie, but we're so relentlessly bombarded with histrionic drivel and sad piano music it's impossible not to get sick of it long before it's over. I mean, for Christ's sake, we get an -AMNESIA- plot device, one that's become a parody for TV dramas in itself. Further, one of my main reasons for going into the theater was to see Venom kick some ass. Unfortunately, while the romantic subplot was unfolding, and something which I guess is supposed to resemble comic relief in the infamous "emo-Parker" sequences, I spent the first two-thirds of the movie asking myself, "Where the Hell is Venom?" When he finally got on, we get nothing at all worth watching. Also, referring back to the grenade exploding a few inches by Harry's face, if anyone didn't notice, that same grenade that managed to cause just a burn completely obliterated Venom. Nothing else really comes together to redeem it. The dialogue is unbelievably stupid and trite, the special effects are overproduced to oblivion and silliness, and the best parts involved the news station comedy bits. Don't even get me started on the emo-Parker comic relief scene, which could not possibly have been more over-the-top inappropriate. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to be laughing, or if it was some kind of message about Parker still being a spiteful jerk. I saw no good reason to feel bad for him while he cold-heartedly caused every event of his own miserable luck. Crushingly disappointing after the ridiculously awesome previous entry. Just abysmal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SSAug 19, 2009
The worst sequel I've ever seen to a good movie. What was Raimi on when he made this piece of crap?! Its like all the actors forgot how to act, all the writers forgot how to write! This travesty reduces the glory of Spider-Man, one of The worst sequel I've ever seen to a good movie. What was Raimi on when he made this piece of crap?! Its like all the actors forgot how to act, all the writers forgot how to write! This travesty reduces the glory of Spider-Man, one of the greatest superheroes of all time, to a streaming pile of dog droppings. When you see Tobey, fresh from his emo stupor sway dancing through the crowds midway through the picture, that should be a good indication to leave the theater, if you haven't done so already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AdrianWillsMay 3, 2007
Unfortunately, something just went completely wrong with this movie - despite the first two being really well made. There's not nearly enough action for the movie it is (or could've been) and most of it is interrupted by dreary and Unfortunately, something just went completely wrong with this movie - despite the first two being really well made. There's not nearly enough action for the movie it is (or could've been) and most of it is interrupted by dreary and tiresome sappy sequences between characters. And the entire sequence before, after and including the jazz bar scene is both too long and possibly one of the most unnecessary and cheesy pieces of cinema I've seen in a few years. I was [emphasis on the word was] a huge fan of this series, I'm not a comic book freak and I just thought this movie completely missed the plot. And all respect for Stan Lee in his original writing, but what his he doing with a pointless speaking role, give the cameo but make it interesting and enjoyable. Any action sequences and Spiderman-isms there are in this movie is what's made it a 2/10 rather than less. Disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RyencokeMay 4, 2007
Where do I begin? This movie was possibly one of the worst sequels to a marvel movie. It was horrible. If you want to watch a love story for 2 hours of the movie, go see it. This movie wasn't Spider-man, it was "The Notebook" + Where do I begin? This movie was possibly one of the worst sequels to a marvel movie. It was horrible. If you want to watch a love story for 2 hours of the movie, go see it. This movie wasn't Spider-man, it was "The Notebook" + "Fantastic 4". I am so furious on how horribly done this movie was. I was looking so forward to Venom, and they couldn't even do his character right. He's the same size as Spider-man if not smaller. And shoots the webs from the top of his hand. Sam Raimi you seriously screwed this one up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KarlB.May 4, 2007
Honestly TMNT was better, if you can imagine. This film is horrifying. The dialogue is trite, the acting wooden, the "plot" splintered, and boring. Even with 3 villians there isn't enough action. I laughed at the tender moments and Honestly TMNT was better, if you can imagine. This film is horrifying. The dialogue is trite, the acting wooden, the "plot" splintered, and boring. Even with 3 villians there isn't enough action. I laughed at the tender moments and cried at funny ones. I feel like I get Sam Raimi, but his work just doesn't play when spun out into a Summer Blockbuster. I know everyone will go see this movie anyway, but I'm glad to be on the record saying, don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JimB.May 4, 2007
Was great until the second half, when Raimi decided to barrage us with every single cliche that exists in superhero movies, as well as a self-important fight between spider-man, a non-canon venom, and an enemy that to me resembled the Was great until the second half, when Raimi decided to barrage us with every single cliche that exists in superhero movies, as well as a self-important fight between spider-man, a non-canon venom, and an enemy that to me resembled the stay-puft marshmallow man from Ghostbusters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoshuaS.May 4, 2007
It's so bad one wonders if Raimi didn't sabotage it on purpose. We're talking Batman & Robin bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EthneeMay 4, 2007
TOTALLY NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!! I think the sneak peeks and trailors gave away the bulk of the movie, and left you wondering...but there was nothing left to wonder. You've seen the previews, you've seen the base of the show, minus TOTALLY NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!! I think the sneak peeks and trailors gave away the bulk of the movie, and left you wondering...but there was nothing left to wonder. You've seen the previews, you've seen the base of the show, minus the quiet and trite addition of "The Notebook" yes! It seems like they can never be satisfied. Spiderman 1&2 definately hit the spot, but 3...just makes you wish it would have ended at 2! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChrisB.May 4, 2007
Spider-Man 3 should have been incredible. It should have been an epic wrap up to, what would have been, a great trilogy. However, it falls into the same pitfalls as "X3: The Last Stand." There are too many characters that are poorly Spider-Man 3 should have been incredible. It should have been an epic wrap up to, what would have been, a great trilogy. However, it falls into the same pitfalls as "X3: The Last Stand." There are too many characters that are poorly developed and the performances, for the most part, were sub-par. The voice acting for Venom was awful and Sandman just was not that interesting of a villan. The showdown between Spider-Man and Harry was underwhelming and the action was just really corny. The dialogue left alot to be desired, particularly the chessey lines used by Peter Parker when he turns to the darkside. It was pure camp and a true testament to style over substance. No moment particularly thrilled me and the ending was an enourmous cop-out. Even if you are a die-hard fan of the serious, avoid this film. Just pretend it doesn't exist and go believe that some day there will be a competant director to take on Spider-Man; one who gives us the truly epic conclusion that we all wanted in this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MartinL.May 4, 2007
M. Lee--What are you talking about? Spiderman 2 was infinitely better than 1. And why do you think people even care about the first 2 films? It is simply because of the character development, not the boring CGI crap/action that can be seen M. Lee--What are you talking about? Spiderman 2 was infinitely better than 1. And why do you think people even care about the first 2 films? It is simply because of the character development, not the boring CGI crap/action that can be seen in Power Rangers. Please, you sound like an idiot. This film was awful and unoriginal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
A.StuartMay 4, 2007
This just wasn't good. It seemed like Raimi took numerous short films centered around Spiderman and decided to mash them together. Because he tried to squeeze everything into one movie, Raimi wasn't able to focus enough on a This just wasn't good. It seemed like Raimi took numerous short films centered around Spiderman and decided to mash them together. Because he tried to squeeze everything into one movie, Raimi wasn't able to focus enough on a coherent story or any character development. There wasn't even enough room for the good old web slinging through the streets of New York. For such a long movie, nothing was accomplished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CaptainmarvelMay 4, 2007
Film students all over earth, go see this film to learn how to mess up an otherwise good film, ten minutes before it all ends. sam raimi, who seems to have absoulte control of everything somehow looses focus towards the end, making all theFilm students all over earth, go see this film to learn how to mess up an otherwise good film, ten minutes before it all ends. sam raimi, who seems to have absoulte control of everything somehow looses focus towards the end, making all the vilians kind of apologise to spidey and spidey forgiving and crying while doing so...who is going to apologise to us? for believing this movie and paying the ticket price? how are we suppose to leave the theater wanting to be a superhero and humming the tune when at the end, they make spidey seem like a girly man? they didnt even have a hardcore spidey tune when the credits started to roll at the end...oh what a crime this is!...it started so well...but ended in a manner even a superhero cant save. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattD.May 4, 2007
Long, dull, boring, full of cliches. CGI was great, but not near worth it. Do NOT recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GregB.May 4, 2007
This movie has "Blockbuster" written all over it, but in this case that is a BAD thing. What I mean is that this was certainly CALCULATED to be a mega-blockbuster, and it looks like all anybody cared about was making a lot of money. I used This movie has "Blockbuster" written all over it, but in this case that is a BAD thing. What I mean is that this was certainly CALCULATED to be a mega-blockbuster, and it looks like all anybody cared about was making a lot of money. I used to be a big Marvel comicbook fan. I am giddy with joy on the all-to-rare occasions when they get a super-hero movie right. The 1st 2 Superman's did it, the X-Men's got it very right, but there has been precious little besides those. I didn't care much for the 1st Spiderman. I appreciated that it was trying to be character driven, but a lot of the plot points used a bludgeon instead of a scalpal. So I didn't expect much from a continued series. But amazingly Spiderman 2 was a lot of fun. Alfred Molina really elevated the film as Doc Oc and there were other good things. But Spidey 3 was mostly painful to watch. I'd already read a lot of mixed reviews and I expected there would be problems, but I just wanted something that would be at least mildly fun. Some of the action MIGHT have been fun, in an otherwise decent film. But I was cringing at too many other factors. I WANTED very badly to find the redeeming qualities of this movie, but it was a useless hope. I am really baffled at all of the positive reviews. I really makes me question a lot of the sophmoric values that seem to be more and more prevalent in the society. It seems that people are losing track of what good film is about. On the other side it seems that lately there's been a lot of Nic Cage bashing in films that may not have been classics but that I found entertaining. National Treasure was a prime example of that. Sure, it wasn't the DaVinci Code (the book) but neither was the film version of that. And I found Nic Cage's new action sci-fi flick to be good fun. Those who didn't love the comics, please understand, if there are any good ideas in Spidey 3 they are Marvel's NOT Sam Raimi's. This film is just calculated to take in a lot of money. And for a time it may just succeed. When critics pick their worst films of the year they rarely really choose the absolute trash. They usually choose the films that had a lot of hype and were supposed to be major box office draws. In other words, the films that disappointed heightened expectations the most. Within that criteria, I would have the say that Spidey 3 is one of the worst movies of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndyS.May 4, 2007
I wanted it to be good. I almost willed it to be good. Alas, it was not good and, sadly, It wasn't even mediocre. The pacing was off, the dialog was off, the humor was off, and even the CGI just didn't seem that interesting. Even I wanted it to be good. I almost willed it to be good. Alas, it was not good and, sadly, It wasn't even mediocre. The pacing was off, the dialog was off, the humor was off, and even the CGI just didn't seem that interesting. Even the best CGI can't save a bad script. Slight of hand is generally more appreciated than a slap in the face; I had red cheeks by the time the credits rolled. Am I naive to hope for a better Spider-man than part 2? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BenS.May 4, 2007
A train wreck of a film. The super-generic misunderstanding that leads to a rift between Peter and MJ seems like something out of the worst episode of the worst soap opera ever. The overdone action scenes made up less than 10% of the film, A train wreck of a film. The super-generic misunderstanding that leads to a rift between Peter and MJ seems like something out of the worst episode of the worst soap opera ever. The overdone action scenes made up less than 10% of the film, and were terribly paced. The only thing that held me from walking out was the in-theater response. I normally burn with rage when people even whisper in a theater, but my theater seemed like one of the better episodes of Mystery Science Theater 3000. I laughed harder at this movie than I do for most comedies. Dialog wise, this movie should go down in history next to Plan Nine From Outer Space. I wouldn't recommend this movie to my worst enemy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AnnW.May 4, 2007
A very boring movie. The thin characters were totally overwhelmed by the desperately clever, but uninspiring special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DoubtingThomasMay 4, 2007
Completely disappointing. The only good parts are the ones that are unintentionally funny. Cliche-o-rama script, canned dialogue, contrived plot twists. Wouldn't have even been good as a comic book. Any action fantasy film starts out Completely disappointing. The only good parts are the ones that are unintentionally funny. Cliche-o-rama script, canned dialogue, contrived plot twists. Wouldn't have even been good as a comic book. Any action fantasy film starts out with a character as Broadway chanteuse - you know it's all downhill from there. Save the $10, and watch #1 or #2 again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RonP.May 4, 2007
One of the worst films I have seen. Truly awful in literally every respect. If one more actor cried onscreen, I would have vomited on the row in front of me. Too convoluted, too unintentionally funny. I can't believe I won't get One of the worst films I have seen. Truly awful in literally every respect. If one more actor cried onscreen, I would have vomited on the row in front of me. Too convoluted, too unintentionally funny. I can't believe I won't get these 2.5 hours back. I can't even get my money back. I adored the first two films, but Raimi became too self-indulgent. Avoid at all costs, and make up a resolution for yourself in your head. I guarantee it'll be better than this Hollywood tripe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NormaS.May 4, 2007
Boring, Boring, Boring. I thought it would never end. The story was weak, the filming was awful and the special effects were amateur. In addition to this I had to sit there for over 2 hours. The only thing that saved this movie is that it Boring, Boring, Boring. I thought it would never end. The story was weak, the filming was awful and the special effects were amateur. In addition to this I had to sit there for over 2 hours. The only thing that saved this movie is that it appealed to my 10 year old son, though he despised the kissing scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrianA.May 4, 2007
A real mess of a film, at least compared to the first two movies. I think things started going downhill towards the tail end of the second movie, and here, we see the Spider-Man franchise nose dive. The story is clunky and boring (episodes A real mess of a film, at least compared to the first two movies. I think things started going downhill towards the tail end of the second movie, and here, we see the Spider-Man franchise nose dive. The story is clunky and boring (episodes of "Days of Their Lives" have more interesting story arcs), and even the action sequences aren't that amazing. And as Parker turns into the black Spider-Man, the movie almost turns into some sort of strange slapstick. Really should be a disappointment to anyone - and a huge disappointment to franchise fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DavidR.May 5, 2007
I was generous with this high of a rating. The movie was awful!! I went to see an action film not a stupid comedy. Putting a huge american flag behind spider man is ridiculous!! Venom is a beast in the comics but he is merely a witty Topher I was generous with this high of a rating. The movie was awful!! I went to see an action film not a stupid comedy. Putting a huge american flag behind spider man is ridiculous!! Venom is a beast in the comics but he is merely a witty Topher Grace in this one. DO NOT see this movie if you like the first 2. Like X-Men they ruined the whole serious in one shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JustinS.May 5, 2007
A few good action sequences can't make up for the woeful and overstuffed plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatrickMay 5, 2007
Awful movie from start to finish. It included every horrible movie cliche, and was far more chick flick than action film. The special effects were completely overdone and added nothing to terrible acting, dialogue, plot, etc. DO NOT SEE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AnsonG.May 5, 2007
This movie lost all the fun and interest about it.That's how they're ending the Spider-Man series? The acting is poor. The writing is predictable and cheesy. The action, which the Spider-Man series has been so good at portraying, This movie lost all the fun and interest about it.That's how they're ending the Spider-Man series? The acting is poor. The writing is predictable and cheesy. The action, which the Spider-Man series has been so good at portraying, was jumpy and short-lived. I couldn't believe that the plot had to go in so many directions. It was a bit hard to follow at times and did not lend itself to character development. Although the same writers and directors were employed for this installment, it seemed like they were grasping at air. Take everything that you liked from the previous movies and make it completely over-done. They should have stuck to a single villain because there is not a lot of development of the Sandman character. It also suffers from the success and critical acclaim of the first two movies in that the movie tries to include every good thing but fails miserably in the amalgamation. The previews make it look great and totally appealing but you can really show an extremely lacking plot in a 30 second TV spot. Yes it will make a boatload of money but that can't overrule how utterly disappointing this first summer blockbuster is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MooMay 5, 2007
The worst superhero movie I have seen so far. Even ELEKTRA and the 1st FF movie was better than this one. Stupid dialogue (nearly as crap as in STAR WARS), lame actors (or rather flat characters), too exaggerated fighting scences, boring The worst superhero movie I have seen so far. Even ELEKTRA and the 1st FF movie was better than this one. Stupid dialogue (nearly as crap as in STAR WARS), lame actors (or rather flat characters), too exaggerated fighting scences, boring script (Uncle Ben RIP!?).The only things I liked were the supporting actors like Bruce Campbell and the very aesthetic "birth sequence" of Sandman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TaylorP.May 5, 2007
Quite possibly one of the worst movies of the year- and I enjoyed the first two (more the first one). I simply thought that this film is a product of too much money, and too much greed for more money. The characters are shallow, especially Quite possibly one of the worst movies of the year- and I enjoyed the first two (more the first one). I simply thought that this film is a product of too much money, and too much greed for more money. The characters are shallow, especially in my mind Flint Marko one who is characterized as relatively bad throughout the film only to drastically change in the last ten minutes of the film with no warning. In addition to this some of the "dramatic" fight scenes were simply laughable. Overall very disappointing movie, and yes, I would like my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoanG.May 5, 2007
Dreadful. Characters, plotlines, and completely different tones are mashed together incoherently. My audience laughed at parts that were supposed to be heartfelt, and squirmed at what was supposed to be funny. And I loved the first two Dreadful. Characters, plotlines, and completely different tones are mashed together incoherently. My audience laughed at parts that were supposed to be heartfelt, and squirmed at what was supposed to be funny. And I loved the first two movies. How did Sam Rami go so wrong? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianMay 5, 2007
Quite simply, the most boring movie I really wanted to like. Topher Grace is a Horrible !!!! Edie Brock and an even worse Venom. Venom being my favorite Marvel character I refuse to watch this Abomination ever again if I can help it. This is Quite simply, the most boring movie I really wanted to like. Topher Grace is a Horrible !!!! Edie Brock and an even worse Venom. Venom being my favorite Marvel character I refuse to watch this Abomination ever again if I can help it. This is such a disappointment and too long! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
I.RociterMay 5, 2007
This movie will do well only because Spider-Man 2 was one of the best superhero movies of all time movie goers and fans have come to love the franchise. Spider-Man 3, in contrast, is one of the worst superhero movies and could kill the This movie will do well only because Spider-Man 2 was one of the best superhero movies of all time movie goers and fans have come to love the franchise. Spider-Man 3, in contrast, is one of the worst superhero movies and could kill the franchise in much the same way Batman & Robin did to the caped crusader. Too many villains, poor dialog, bad plot device, terrible pacing, bad editing, a really emo Peter Parker. I could fill the screen with problems and you won't believe me until you see it yourself, but I beg you, if you want to hold that dear memory of Spider-Man and Spider-Man 2 in your memory, do not see this third installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AtomK.May 5, 2007
God this movie sucked, I was checking my watch 1/3 the way through, and at the 3/4 mark I'm wondering if there is going to be any plot showing up. The first fight scene is some really great adrenalin filled action. The movie looks good God this movie sucked, I was checking my watch 1/3 the way through, and at the 3/4 mark I'm wondering if there is going to be any plot showing up. The first fight scene is some really great adrenalin filled action. The movie looks good and that's about it. I don't want an EMO spidy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChuckB.May 5, 2007
Predicable story and film school dialogue
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SnortchMay 5, 2007
This movie has about as appealing as freshly mowed over dog poop. I love SM and I enjoyed the first 2, but this one was really a waste. My eyes about rolled to the back of my head in several scenes...especially the contrived spidey swinging This movie has about as appealing as freshly mowed over dog poop. I love SM and I enjoyed the first 2, but this one was really a waste. My eyes about rolled to the back of my head in several scenes...especially the contrived spidey swinging in slow motion in front of the American flag...as if to say that Venom and Sandman are the terrorists...was surprised that the Proud to be American song didnt make it in there. Guhhh...what a waste! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BeauMay 5, 2007
There is a good movie that could have been made of Spider-Man vs Venom, New Goblin or Sandman, but putting all of them together in the same film means that each of them gets the barest of characterization and the action sequences become a There is a good movie that could have been made of Spider-Man vs Venom, New Goblin or Sandman, but putting all of them together in the same film means that each of them gets the barest of characterization and the action sequences become a mess. Kirsten Dunst has little to do but be mistreated throughout the film. Tobey Maguire is simply not believable as a bad boy. Skip this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JosephG.May 5, 2007
My wife and I stared at each other in disbelief during Peter's dance scene. The film's tone is completely inconsistent. Special effects are underwhelming. Spidey's costume still looks too glossy and doesn't look like My wife and I stared at each other in disbelief during Peter's dance scene. The film's tone is completely inconsistent. Special effects are underwhelming. Spidey's costume still looks too glossy and doesn't look like Tobey M.'s figure. Scenes seem to repeat themselves. Other scenes feel like outtakes from SM2. The first time Venom spoke, I laughed. He's supposed to have a fearsome, rough, grumbly voice, not sound just like Eric Forman. The film is so long, but it feels as if nothing happens. What a waste! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MelvinG.May 5, 2007
That was awful. Very poor acting, story and editing. This franchise is done... "Spiderman Begins" anyone?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
StevenS.May 5, 2007
Really bad. All the themes and ideas are fine, but the execution lacks any sense of emotional reality. The action sequences are predictable in their pacing by the end and the story itself is a flimsy skeleton to hang them on. I loved Really bad. All the themes and ideas are fine, but the execution lacks any sense of emotional reality. The action sequences are predictable in their pacing by the end and the story itself is a flimsy skeleton to hang them on. I loved Spiderman 2, so to me, they really screwed this one up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WillyMay 5, 2007
Sorry, but this movie is insulting. Is it suppose to be okay that there is no character consistency and any old damn thing can happen as long as a fancy video game demo is thrown at us every forty minutes? To name only a few... he does the Sorry, but this movie is insulting. Is it suppose to be okay that there is no character consistency and any old damn thing can happen as long as a fancy video game demo is thrown at us every forty minutes? To name only a few... he does the upsidedown kiss with the blond girl full on the mouth in front of MJ when he's getting along great with her, the neighbor girl who had a crush on him is thrilled that he and MJ are getting back together, Sandman robs banks violently and brutally tries to kill him, but says he was badgered into doing it (huh?), so he's really a nice guy; of all the people on earth that walking goo could have stuck to it happened to be Spiderman. Please. Let me know when you get back to filmmaking, Sam. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NelsonS.May 6, 2007
Too many villains with no depth...too long which is one of the best marvel characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisM.May 6, 2007
It's really pretty bad. I love Spiderman and I wanted it to be good, but it was really bad. The story lacks any kind of depth, there are many scenes that didn't need to be in the movie at all and were just plain stupid. (Like the It's really pretty bad. I love Spiderman and I wanted it to be good, but it was really bad. The story lacks any kind of depth, there are many scenes that didn't need to be in the movie at all and were just plain stupid. (Like the dance scene in the Cafe). They need to go back to the drawing board with the fanchise, because it's become indulgent, bloated and really disappointing. Don't waste your money on this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidP.May 6, 2007
I REALLY wanted to like this movie more. I have been a fan of the last 2 movies and have had some exposure of the Spiderman franchise (in the earlier years). But although there was a need to fulfill the fanboy wishes the movie falls flat on I REALLY wanted to like this movie more. I have been a fan of the last 2 movies and have had some exposure of the Spiderman franchise (in the earlier years). But although there was a need to fulfill the fanboy wishes the movie falls flat on its face for pretty much all reasons. Visual effects although I'm sure they were pushing boundaries with the sandman 'particle' effects there were some hideous compositing in that movie. Script suffered from really corny one liners. Look, I KNOW these actors can act but goddam the dialogue was so bad they really couldn't. And the story and themes and not to mention some really subpar editing and music. The pacing was too slow and then suddenly rushed in the last 15minutes to set up the final battle. And then, some more dialogue about forgiveness and everyone is ok. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveS.May 6, 2007
It fell into all the traps of previous comic book films, particularly the third and fourth "Batman" movies -- too many villains and not enough development of the characters. The "bad" Peter Parker sequence was dreadful and by the end, when It fell into all the traps of previous comic book films, particularly the third and fourth "Batman" movies -- too many villains and not enough development of the characters. The "bad" Peter Parker sequence was dreadful and by the end, when Spider-Man was taking on a 40-foot Sandman, I felt like I was watching the Stay-Puft Marshmallow Man from "Ghostbusters." Don't bother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanO.May 6, 2007
Well, this movie sucks, It deserves 0 out of 10 but what Can I do? Spider-Man 1 and 2 were indeed great movies, the second one far better than the first one and I only expected the films to climb higher, the ladder broke in some point and Well, this movie sucks, It deserves 0 out of 10 but what Can I do? Spider-Man 1 and 2 were indeed great movies, the second one far better than the first one and I only expected the films to climb higher, the ladder broke in some point and Sam Raimi decided to release a cheesy film about a hero who thinks an EMO hairdo will make him hostile and powerful. The whole movie falls down from the beginning, there's no character development at all because the director tossed a bunch of new villains and focused and the weak one, plus he never lined towards anything, on the contrary, you can easily forgot characters in the middle of the film and suddenly (after almost an hour or so) you'll say "oh yeah, that dude was in the movie right?) to me Spider-Man 3 never existed, download the restaurant sequence and that's it....the whole movie worths only for this SNL sketch :( Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CJawfulMay 6, 2007
The following is just my opinion. I'm utterly correct, but it's just my opinion. I wanted to like this film, but I didn't. It is extremely shallow and disjointed. The dialog is atrocious. The action sequences are pretty good. The following is just my opinion. I'm utterly correct, but it's just my opinion. I wanted to like this film, but I didn't. It is extremely shallow and disjointed. The dialog is atrocious. The action sequences are pretty good. I wish someone had given me the time codes for when the action sequences occur and I would have sat in the hallway until the times came up. I felt embarrassed for Topher Grace. I think he succeeded in making the best out of an extremely poorly written role. James Cromwell. Tobey did fine, but the director needs to remember that less (weeping) is more. (Future directors of Claire Danes, I'm talking to you.) Some of the emotion that Tobey was forced to create from thin air (due to the lousy script) also made me feel embarrassed for him. I fear that some of the odd choices he appeared to make were actually the fault of the editor or director, because several times I found myself asking, "Why did his eyes just widen like crazy? Why is he making that face?" James Franco did fine with poorly written dialog. Kirsten Dunst obviously knows where a body is buried. She emits zero honest emotion in her performance. I defy you to watch a scene from the first movie with your hand over her eyes and then distinguish any difference in the emotional output of her face. I WANT to like her. It's as if she's never gotten out of the line delivery from "Interview with a Vampire." Also, I'm sick of movies preaching to me. Desiring justice and being filled with revenge are NOT the same thing. Reacting to a violent attack with violence does not ALWAYS make the attacker and victim equally guilty of wrongdoing. Did you notice "James Cromwell" earlier in this paragraph? "Why was he stuck in there?" you might ask yourself. That's the same question you'll ask if you see this movie. Thank God for J.K. Simmons. He brought actual acting and comedy to the film. The audience I saw this film with seemed relieved and appreciative to be watching a performance finally. Bruce Campbell also did a good job. Other comedy in Spider-man 3 feels so contrived that it cheapens the entire film. I'm not saying it's not funny, but...well, you'll see. You'll see when you no doubt pay to go see this film and you, like me, will probably have to look at your shoes during the scenes with some of the worst dialog since Jar Jar Binks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TigsJ.May 6, 2007
It gets 3 for the only 3 good parts of it. 1. sandman looked cool 2.bruce campbell 3. venom look midly cool venom got 5 mins screentime all up 5 MINS and he is more famous than sandman. this movie was a chick flick also it wasnt spiderman itIt gets 3 for the only 3 good parts of it. 1. sandman looked cool 2.bruce campbell 3. venom look midly cool venom got 5 mins screentime all up 5 MINS and he is more famous than sandman. this movie was a chick flick also it wasnt spiderman it was peter parker and mary jane. lamest of the series. i went in with high expectations i left demanding my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CzarMay 6, 2007
Complete crap, the story was beyond stupid, the fight sequences were so lame. I know its a comic and everything but make the things that are happening at least slightly believable or in line with the laws of physics. Way too much animation Complete crap, the story was beyond stupid, the fight sequences were so lame. I know its a comic and everything but make the things that are happening at least slightly believable or in line with the laws of physics. Way too much animation and it was way too obvious. 45 minutes into the movie I was looking at my watch waiting to get out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeR.May 6, 2007
Spiderman 3 is a movie that is incredibly formulaic, with the only break from past convention is a decrease in action, with the empty spots filled by angry coming-of-age conversation. The movie gets a 2/10 for the plot, gains a point for the Spiderman 3 is a movie that is incredibly formulaic, with the only break from past convention is a decrease in action, with the empty spots filled by angry coming-of-age conversation. The movie gets a 2/10 for the plot, gains a point for the wonderful (as usual) performance of James Franco, gains another for the surprisingly brilliant work of Thomas Haden Church, and ultimately falls back to 3/10 due to the cinematography, which consistently finds some way to make Kirsten Dunst look unattractive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JudyTMay 6, 2007
Pitiful movie. Never did like Tobey as Spidey. In the comic he wasn't so nerdy, that Clark Kent not Peter Parker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KrisMay 6, 2007
Topher Grace as "Venom" is like Jack Black as "The Crow", totally miscast! Guess I'll have to wait for the next "Batman" in order to se a great hero film. So long, Spidey, it was good while it lasted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrendanO.May 6, 2007
Very disappointing. Cheesy dialogue, ridiculous musical scenes. You could tell the actors didn't buy into the script. People in the audience were actually laughing out loud during serious emotional scenes. I guess it wasn't a Very disappointing. Cheesy dialogue, ridiculous musical scenes. You could tell the actors didn't buy into the script. People in the audience were actually laughing out loud during serious emotional scenes. I guess it wasn't a horrible film, just really really bad, and considering that it followed two brilliant predecessors with Spiderman 1 and 2, that made it all the more disappointing. I did actually like Topher Grace as Venom and Bruce Campbell's short scene was very funny. I really hope they don't make a fourth. Batman & Robin anyone? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TomMay 7, 2007
By turns ridiculous and tedious, a piece of garbage. No pacing, no build-up, no suspense, no excitement, nothing holding it all together, just alternating between cartoonish action sequences, and unbelievably tedious and tiresome By turns ridiculous and tedious, a piece of garbage. No pacing, no build-up, no suspense, no excitement, nothing holding it all together, just alternating between cartoonish action sequences, and unbelievably tedious and tiresome pseudo-sentimental conversations. I don't know what happened to the director who made Spiderman 2. Maybe a little black glob of guck came from outer space and took him over. There was one excellent scene, the one where Flint Marko becomes Sandman, which had me saying "Cool!". Too bad there weren't more like it in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MelissaB.May 7, 2007
It was terrible. There was very little entertainment value. Special effects were bad, script was terrible. Bruce Campbell was the only entertaining bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NadieT.May 7, 2007
Loooooooong and boring. Tobey can't play a bad guy, looks like a parody of himself. Great effects but what's new. Please stop here and don't make us suffer thru a 4th one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamC.May 7, 2007
One of the worst movies I have ever seen. The emotional peaks and valleys the director tries to convey are overly dramatic and cheesy. Half of the movie is nothing but choppy conversations and awkward pauses; the other half is special One of the worst movies I have ever seen. The emotional peaks and valleys the director tries to convey are overly dramatic and cheesy. Half of the movie is nothing but choppy conversations and awkward pauses; the other half is special effects that vault so far into the realm of impossibility that one is soon bored with the straining tedium of it all. The only reason I gave it anything out of ten was Aunt May. Rosemary Harris is a gifted actress that has been surrounded by mediocrity throughout the trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KyleB.May 8, 2007
Most often dull. They waited to long to gte to Venom, a character who could fill an entire movie on his own
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrianK.May 9, 2007
Awful! Terrible sequel, just plain bad The acting was terrible, the writing so bad it was laughable, similar to Batman and Robin in terms of franchise ruining stupidity. [***SPOILER ALERT***] Topher Grace as VENOM??? are you kidding me??? Awful! Terrible sequel, just plain bad The acting was terrible, the writing so bad it was laughable, similar to Batman and Robin in terms of franchise ruining stupidity. [***SPOILER ALERT***] Topher Grace as VENOM??? are you kidding me??? The Baddest, most vile and coolest Spidey villain played by that wimp from that 70's show!? Venom is hardcore, he was portrayed as a one dimensional, wimp in this movie. The ending too was just plain stupid, and sappy. Please Mr. Raimi don't go the way of Lucas and ruin your brilliant Superhero franchise! I implore you, but you may have with this stinker! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaveK.May 9, 2007
Well this is definitely the worst of the 3. The movie seemed to drag on and on and on, about half hour too long. And 3/4 of the scenes had Peter parker crying....too much romance, not enough action, and just awful. thank god its over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinN.May 9, 2007
Overall, this movie is an unsatisfying, sad mess. I mean really sad: there are multiple scenes with nearly every major character tearing up. A blubbering, baby-faced Tobey Maguire sealed the doom of this film which turned out not to be Overall, this movie is an unsatisfying, sad mess. I mean really sad: there are multiple scenes with nearly every major character tearing up. A blubbering, baby-faced Tobey Maguire sealed the doom of this film which turned out not to be escapist entertainment of any sort. Because of the spectacular arial special effects, the darkness of the film feels stilted. There are character and plot continuity problems which distract, also. I didn't connect with the characters: none were particularly sympathetic. What made Venom a spider versus some other type of villian is puzzling. Why Sandman grows to a 200-300 feet size is also unexplained. It also felt long--it was at least one hour before Spiderman even started to turn into the evil, black version. Tobey Maquire as a cocky, bad boy is so unbelievable, it's laughable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattH.May 9, 2007
WOW! You can really tell sam doesnt like venom!. lazy story, did he and the writers forget that john jameson is an astronaut? rushed gwen stacey in and out, and its almost like a love story between mr rami and the sandman!?. big action WOW! You can really tell sam doesnt like venom!. lazy story, did he and the writers forget that john jameson is an astronaut? rushed gwen stacey in and out, and its almost like a love story between mr rami and the sandman!?. big action sequences spoiled by nonsensical plot twists! anyone care to answer why the hobgoblin wasnt good enough for harry osborne in this film? but on the upper hand my girlfriend who doesnt follow comics or tv shows loved it! so a 3 it gets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KyleW.May 9, 2007
Not nearly enough action, dragged on too long with scenes full of dull sappy scenes. and the whole movie was ruined with the stupid display of peter parker trying to act cool and "badass".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
IanH.May 10, 2007
The writing was horrible, and the action was mediocre -- not nearly good enough to make up for the unrealistic characters and dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FrankF.May 10, 2007
How difficult is it to find a cast that has talent? Quite difficult apparently. My favorite parts were when I had trouble distinguishing between Toby Maguire's happy face and his angry face. And I think I have a cardboard box in my How difficult is it to find a cast that has talent? Quite difficult apparently. My favorite parts were when I had trouble distinguishing between Toby Maguire's happy face and his angry face. And I think I have a cardboard box in my basement that has more talent than Kirsten Dunst could ever muster. Two thirds of the way through I almost got up and walked out, but I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt, thinking it might get better yet. I could not have been more wrong. It just dragged on into oblivion. I was horribly disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CoryB.May 12, 2007
I think deep down I knew this movie was going to suck the moment I saw the costume they had James Franko (harry osborne) wear. What a pile of trash Spidey 3 is. I agree with my local paper that says J.K. Simmons and Bruce Campbell should I think deep down I knew this movie was going to suck the moment I saw the costume they had James Franko (harry osborne) wear. What a pile of trash Spidey 3 is. I agree with my local paper that says J.K. Simmons and Bruce Campbell should make a movie. My biggest complaint is killing off Venom and lack of script. I'm so disappointed, Mr. Raimi.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChandlerW.May 12, 2007
This movie is good for one thing: Uncontrollable laughter at the bizzare and perpetual non-sequiturs and atrocious acting and script-writng. But as far this movie being a coherent, decent, and mildly convincing film in its intended fashion, This movie is good for one thing: Uncontrollable laughter at the bizzare and perpetual non-sequiturs and atrocious acting and script-writng. But as far this movie being a coherent, decent, and mildly convincing film in its intended fashion, it get a 0. No, less than 0. The quality of this film-making is so poor that it will have you wondering if you are dreaming, or if Sam Raimi decided that the American Movie-watching public was too inattentive and sedate to notice the difference between a good movie and a poorly edited, acted, and written montage of complete sh... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DuncanI.May 13, 2007
This is a shocker I went to see it today and I was so disapointed! It is a cross between Battle Field Earth & Days of Our Lives. Don't bother yourself in seeing it just tell your Kids Spiderman was hit by a truck and died straight after This is a shocker I went to see it today and I was so disapointed! It is a cross between Battle Field Earth & Days of Our Lives. Don't bother yourself in seeing it just tell your Kids Spiderman was hit by a truck and died straight after the better Spiderman 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SpideyThreeMay 13, 2007
Awful in every way. Please, I beg you not to waste your money!The villian apologizes at the end. 'Nuff said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful