Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1347 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,239
Mixed:
29
Negative:
79
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AlikaW.Apr 26, 2006
This movie is till to this day the best example of Fantasy and Reality combined. True, the movie is pointed toward children, but the essence of Miyazaki's work is what is to be acknowledged. Also, if your saying thats it's bad This movie is till to this day the best example of Fantasy and Reality combined. True, the movie is pointed toward children, but the essence of Miyazaki's work is what is to be acknowledged. Also, if your saying thats it's bad because the movie is too much of a child's story. Grow up, learn to think outside the box and appreciate what's really going on here. This is an anime of legendary proportion. A+ quality, without a doubt. End of story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LornaH.Jan 18, 2007
It made me cry..... the way she's gone into a life changeing world and then leaves just like that. After she falls in love and everything. And then on top of all that Haku tells her not to look back. It makes me mad! I had to watch it It made me cry..... the way she's gone into a life changeing world and then leaves just like that. After she falls in love and everything. And then on top of all that Haku tells her not to look back. It makes me mad! I had to watch it over and over because it was just so amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AiN.May 23, 2007
I thought this was a really good movie. At first I was like "I'm never gonna watch that" but then the commercials caught my eye and I was instantly spellbound. I really liked the artwork and attention to detail in this movie as well as I thought this was a really good movie. At first I was like "I'm never gonna watch that" but then the commercials caught my eye and I was instantly spellbound. I really liked the artwork and attention to detail in this movie as well as the playful and carefree plotline with learning experiences for the main character. ^_^ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GemmaM.May 24, 2007
This movieis one of myfavourites of all time. I must say, when I was about 10 I got a DVD with this on it, and was pretty dismissive of it. But after I sat down and watched it, I had to watch it over and over again. It's so beautiful This movieis one of myfavourites of all time. I must say, when I was about 10 I got a DVD with this on it, and was pretty dismissive of it. But after I sat down and watched it, I had to watch it over and over again. It's so beautiful and evocative in its nature of the story. It's a love story more than anything, and it is beautifully written and acted. The part of Chihiro is so in tune with a 10 year old it is unreal. The film is also about growing up and at the end of the film it seems that she has changed from a silly little girl to a very mature young person. She realises that she has to work in life. I do admit that some aspects could've been improved in the movie, but it is the most wonderful film that I have ever come across and it sold me completely on Japanese anime, especially Studio Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki, who is the ultimate god of anime and one of the most beautiful and gifted directors of our time. 10 out of 10 definitely, go see it, it'll change you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BigglesJul 12, 2007
Simply the best film I have ever seen, imbued with the sense of magic and awe a child feels on his first exploration of the garden. The celluloid equivalent of Okami.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaoloPAug 26, 2007
Louis and Louis's Brother! You two are @55h0les! This is a respected movie in Japan and even in many parts of the world. You two probably did not have money to buy or rent or even download the movie. Fiick the two of you!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NatalieK.Feb 16, 2008
Great film! I am very moved after watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanN.Mar 20, 2008
Incredible. It presents the world in a compact bathhouse with the good people that help thegirl and the bad that coexist peacefully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IxatA.May 11, 2008
Deeply moving. The characters are very likable, I find myself wanting more of No Face in years to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BettyK.Oct 5, 2009
Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be frightened that there really are people who can be so entirely out of touch. What an incredible Looking at the "few and far between" negative reviews, I'm not sure whether to simply be glad that they ARE few and far between or to be frightened that there really are people who can be so entirely out of touch. What an incredible shame they seem to have to have everything pre-digested and spoon fed. How could anyone lack the ability to delight in Miyazaki's incredible sense of fantasy? Astounding....and not in a good way. This film is a total delight. It is intricate and marvelous, touching and intelligent. Miyazaki's lovely characters interact on the stage of his breathtaking landscapes with a little of the sinister, a touch of the bizarre, and a lot of the just plain fascinating. It's a delightful ride from beginning to end. No need to sweat any details, just enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristosMMar 18, 2009
Hayao Miyazaki is a genius!The diversity of the enchanted world he creates is astonishing!It's a fine example of virtuous,untamed fantasy and powerful stoty -telling,a genre defining masterpiece.Breath taking!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickeyR.Jun 23, 2009
This is a masterpiece, a truly timeless epic, a well woven heart wrenching tale of love, trust, compassion, breathtaking animations and elegance. this a must watch for anyone who like serenity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
thuyAug 18, 2009
I've watched this since I was 11. The movie was amazing!!! Watching it literally rejuvenates my mind, makes me feel as if I'm just a small child. No other film has brought me into this mood. Spirited Away has brought me hope in I've watched this since I was 11. The movie was amazing!!! Watching it literally rejuvenates my mind, makes me feel as if I'm just a small child. No other film has brought me into this mood. Spirited Away has brought me hope in life n in magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Enchanting and magnificent, but why can't I shake the feeling that this is a kids movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YaoXuJan 18, 2006
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyM.Mar 21, 2006
wow, I was just blown away. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only problem for me is that so many questions in the end were left unanswered, and I've heard a rumor that a sequel won't be made because Miyazaki wow, I was just blown away. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The only problem for me is that so many questions in the end were left unanswered, and I've heard a rumor that a sequel won't be made because Miyazaki doesn't believe in them. But over all this was one of my favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
shetaMar 23, 2006
My fav besides "Princess Monokoki."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewJun 23, 2007
If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to If you didn't understand the plot you should be embarassed, did you also have trouble following Cinderella, to actually acknowledge you thought it was the worst film ever because of no story and going, huh? keep your opinion to yourself, this is a high-point in animation and storytelling, the film keeps you above the troubles of this world and that's all a movie could hope for of this style, Miyazaki is a legend and will always be one, great movie that will change your outlook on life, amazing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaS.Jul 17, 2007
I thought this movie was lovely and well-written, with beautiful animation. The plot was simple and easy to follow, but the characters were believable and you could actually follow how 10-year-old Chihiro matures throughout the movie, with I thought this movie was lovely and well-written, with beautiful animation. The plot was simple and easy to follow, but the characters were believable and you could actually follow how 10-year-old Chihiro matures throughout the movie, with the help of Haku. I recommend this to anyone; no matter who you are, I believe there's a good chance that you'll like it. And to Louis H., who said that this movie is a Japanese version of Alice in Wonderland: With all due respect, the basis of this movie differs completely from Alice in Wonderland. Alice in Wonderland is a satirical view of Victorian England and it's many irrationalities from the point of view of a logical, unbiased observer, i.e. a child, Alice. Spirited Away deals with an average, somewhat spoiled 10-year-old child, Chihiro, who is forced to mature when faced with a slightly more traditional culture where she has to work to get what she needs, which in this case is her parents. So while at a glance, Spirited Away may look like an Alice in Wonderland rip-off, anyone who has actually taken the time to watch even five minutes Spirited Away and has read Alice in Wonderland can easily tell the difference, and I am truly sorry that you don't have the maturity or even the respect for a work as great as Alice in Wonderland or Spirited Away to try to find something slightly more fitting to compare this movie to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaL.Sep 25, 2007
I think is the best movie I have seen. It involves courage,magic and love all in one fantastic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErichCDec 26, 2008
The personal growth and transformation of Chihiro, (and also Haku and No-face) are central to the film. It is not a 'Disney film' in any sense of the phrase; it's a Studio Ghibli (Japan) film, and it garnered immense The personal growth and transformation of Chihiro, (and also Haku and No-face) are central to the film. It is not a 'Disney film' in any sense of the phrase; it's a Studio Ghibli (Japan) film, and it garnered immense world-wide acclaim before Disney contracted to dub and distribute it in the US. Beautiful artwork, complex and engaging characters, and significance in the details. Those closed to the experience of traditional Japanese mythology/spiritualism may be uncomfortable, but the effort is well worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AimeeD.Jul 24, 2008
The best picture ever! it is about a new world inside our reality, crazy, allucinated and wonderful, the music is incredible. Is a must!l
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerW.Aug 11, 2008
Incredible picture animation very hard work went into this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdityaTDec 23, 2009
Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every Perfect ambiguity is the best way to cast an incandescent shadow over moral polarities. Spirited Away makes a ghastly world, thinking of which sent my pulse racing, feel like a landscape of aberrations one would love to befriend. Every character here is shown in a scale of gray, from the seemingly monstrous Yubaba to even the Slime Monster in the middle who turns out to be a gentle river spirit along with the seemingly gentle at first No-Face, emanating a strict sense of the importance of perception in ones life. I rate this highly as one of the best movies I have ever seen, totally worth its rating here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickR.Aug 26, 2009
I can't even remember how many times I have seen this movie and it never gets old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Nov 11, 2005
Magnificent. A sophisticated fantasy that envelopes you from the first minute. I can't praise it enough. Truly magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamP.Nov 23, 2005
I can't believe some of the comments I'm reading. How can anybody complain about the so called "weirdness" or the fact that there were too many spirits? Hello! It's called Spirited Away, it's a Japanese fantasy - deal I can't believe some of the comments I'm reading. How can anybody complain about the so called "weirdness" or the fact that there were too many spirits? Hello! It's called Spirited Away, it's a Japanese fantasy - deal with it. If you don't like themes like this then why were you watching it in the first place. Secondly, the characters have many layers in this film. They are complex and interesting, so it annoys me when people criticise them for not being black and white. Just because your small minds can't get over the fact that they aren't wholly good or evil doesn't mean they're bad! Zaniba was dangerous but you can be dangerous and kind, no one said she was evil. Yubaba was ruthless but she had a good heart underneath it all. This is a clever reflection on real people for noone is truly good or evil, everyone has a different side to them. For comments on the simplicity of the plot, I would like to remind you that it is essentially a kid's film just like Harry Potter is kid's book, yet critics and adults enjoy themselves with it never the less. As for the animation, it's stunning - the drawings, the graphics and the design all work together to produce a wonderful cartoon that should be enjoyed by all. Also, the little details that are so subtle you barely notice them make this movie watchable again and again, like Chihiros's hair band flashing magically at the end to signify that she will live happily ever after. If don't like anime, fantasy, complex characters or things that "freak you out" then don't watch it and save us all the trouble of listening to you go on about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateDec 26, 2005
This film was absolutley amazing!!! I have seen it loads of times and every time, i still get goosebumps! i dont care how in depth or not some of you go into it (ok i do for those who love it) but those who dont like it, can i just say This film was absolutley amazing!!! I have seen it loads of times and every time, i still get goosebumps! i dont care how in depth or not some of you go into it (ok i do for those who love it) but those who dont like it, can i just say WHAT!!??!!??!! it's class, not only for kids but for adults like me too. i really can't find any other word to describe it other than class!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrenL.Nov 22, 2008
Great movie with great animation. If i was younger when i first saw this is would be one of if not my favorite movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeghanP.Dec 29, 2008
It was an amazing movie that was completely creative and interesting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaxsterOct 17, 2010
Although I don't rate it as highly as critics and users a like I still think it is revolutionary and bold cinema. Its like a Disney Classic with a imaginative Eastern twist. The characters are probably more complex than Disneys although atAlthough I don't rate it as highly as critics and users a like I still think it is revolutionary and bold cinema. Its like a Disney Classic with a imaginative Eastern twist. The characters are probably more complex than Disneys although at times the storyline does not hold up to Toy Story etc. Not that this is really a problem, it is really the dream like quality of all the spirit beings that drives it through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
If "Princess Mononoke" displayed Miyazake's eye for epic scale and "My Neighbor Totoro" showed his charm, "Spirited Away" best represents his innate talent for storytelling and enchantment. The movie literally sweeps the viewer into anotherIf "Princess Mononoke" displayed Miyazake's eye for epic scale and "My Neighbor Totoro" showed his charm, "Spirited Away" best represents his innate talent for storytelling and enchantment. The movie literally sweeps the viewer into another world filled with imagination and absurdity following the misadventures of main character Sen as she tries to understand and adjust to the world around her, a perfect allegory for coming of age. It easily ranks among the best animated features of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Fuschia-SwimSep 20, 2010
May I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' ofMay I say to all those who fail to identify the theme or point of this film - you must be blind, or plain ignorant. I won't hold this against you however, just would hope you could refrain from voicing your opinions as gospel. The 'point' of this gorgeously animated film, is that it is the adventure that is important. Chihiro comes out of it with independence, and a deeper insight into the responsibilities of the adult, preparing her for the difficult period of starting a new life, and what friendship + love mean. In essence, it is a 'coming of age' film of sorts. A preperation for adult life. A learning curve. You may notice that her first bouquet of flowers may be an little allusion to the coming future?

I for one, consider it among my Top 5. It is a pure and beautiful take on one girl's experience, that those from all walks of life can relate to. And even if you can't understand the inner-workings, can't you just enjoy a film? Sometimes you can't explain attachment. You can't choose who you love. Yadayada...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JudddyOct 4, 2010
This is the first film that I have seen by Hayao Miyazaki, and I thought that it was beautiful, mysterious and very original. However, it's hard to compare it with Pixar because the differance between anime and computer generated animation isThis is the first film that I have seen by Hayao Miyazaki, and I thought that it was beautiful, mysterious and very original. However, it's hard to compare it with Pixar because the differance between anime and computer generated animation is such that they are almost completely different genres. I found 'Spirited Away' very relaxing and meaningful. The animation was superb, the storyline was unique and heartfelt and the characters were a lot of fun, especially the superbly animated Yubaba. It will go down in history as one of the best animated films of all time, and was a pleasure to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pedrostrikNov 28, 2010
Best animated movie from all times with an original fantasy nice story, a movie for all family , i recommend ''walking castle'' from same director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NKOASNov 17, 2012
The only non-English animated film to win an Oscar, Hayao Miyazaki's modern day fairytale plays like poetry on film, spinning the tale of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who wanders into a world on fanciful creatures. Distributed here in theThe only non-English animated film to win an Oscar, Hayao Miyazaki's modern day fairytale plays like poetry on film, spinning the tale of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who wanders into a world on fanciful creatures. Distributed here in the states by Disney (because it was better than any animated film they'd put out in a while), Spirited Away proved to be a beautiful film for any age, without even being in 3-D. Who woulda thought? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
iusaneimeFeb 20, 2011
Unbelievable movie. The artwork was by far the most beautiful I've ever seen. The story is heart-warming and tear-jerking. Incredibly imaginative and great character development. If you don't like this movie you should kill yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KendylKlownfishApr 22, 2011
Another Miyazaki classic that is both enchanting and innovative. Pros: Visually and imaginatively breathtaking. Cons: It's sure to scare the pants off of its younger demographic with some nightmarish imagery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
I'm not a fan of anime movies but this is something special. The script is very amazing and quite intriguing. Emotionally, I can connect to them and I love the fact that the story gets deeper and deeper and deeper until I get the whole idea.I'm not a fan of anime movies but this is something special. The script is very amazing and quite intriguing. Emotionally, I can connect to them and I love the fact that the story gets deeper and deeper and deeper until I get the whole idea. Hayao Miyazaki once again proved to us that he is the master of Japanese animation........ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BlogDog123Feb 10, 2012
Spirited Away is a fantastic film that deserves all the high ratings and attention it gets. The story sucks you in, and the animation is excellent. Characters are vivid and well thought-out. It's easily one of the best animated films ever toSpirited Away is a fantastic film that deserves all the high ratings and attention it gets. The story sucks you in, and the animation is excellent. Characters are vivid and well thought-out. It's easily one of the best animated films ever to grace the movie industry, let alone the planet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
davenbettridgeSep 5, 2011
Spirited Away is a deep and memorable Japanese masterpiece. The animation is some of the best that has ever come out of Japan, the characters are very original and the story unique. This is a movie that must be watched several times toSpirited Away is a deep and memorable Japanese masterpiece. The animation is some of the best that has ever come out of Japan, the characters are very original and the story unique. This is a movie that must be watched several times to discover its depth and originality. Highly Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
heloheJan 13, 2012
I watched the japanese version which was amazing. Miyazaki is a grand-master of animation. Every detail is nicely done and very beautiful. I would give the disney version 2 points less because I didn't like the english synchronisation at all.I watched the japanese version which was amazing. Miyazaki is a grand-master of animation. Every detail is nicely done and very beautiful. I would give the disney version 2 points less because I didn't like the english synchronisation at all. Much better to watch it in japanese, with subtitles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReaganSmash1994Feb 4, 2012
I have taken the time to read the reviews of users who gave it lower than a '3' and their views baffle me. Spirited Away is the best animated films I have seen since Lion King. It is one of my favorite films from a Studio that always createsI have taken the time to read the reviews of users who gave it lower than a '3' and their views baffle me. Spirited Away is the best animated films I have seen since Lion King. It is one of my favorite films from a Studio that always creates a magical and wonderful experience. The animation is utterly sublime for 2001. The Characters are so complex yet simple that it makes them enthralling to both kids and adults. The voice acting is tremendous, both the Japanese and English dub. The story is beautifully unique, which is rare in a Studio Ghibli film which often re-tell classics. Whoever said it is like Alice in wonderland is wrong. The story is an eloquent and beautiful creation.

There is so much I could say about this film, it is simply one of the greatest animated films to be made. Exactly why it is the only non-american film to win an Oscar for best animated picture. It shows that not only Disney and Pixar can animate, but Japan and Studio Ghibli have been doing it since before Pixar was born.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 9, 2011
Being a fan of Japanese animations since a very young age, I was expecting to be really entertained by "Spirited Away". But Hayao Miyazaki surpassed my highest expectations by leading me into a such breathtaking, exciting and unforgettableBeing a fan of Japanese animations since a very young age, I was expecting to be really entertained by "Spirited Away". But Hayao Miyazaki surpassed my highest expectations by leading me into a such breathtaking, exciting and unforgettable tale of friendship and bravery. Well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky1230Oct 6, 2011
Awesome movie and anyone who says otherwise is either blind, a communist, or hates puppies. No movie has effected me this much since Toy Story. Love it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
reaperff7Nov 10, 2011
this movie got me through both middle and high school. words cannot express how much this film has help me over the years. i must have seen it over 50 times by now lol. +solid visuals
+solid voice acting
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cainscrueltyDec 8, 2011
In the movie Spirited Away, we are transported into one of director Hayao Miyazakiâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZegilgameshMay 25, 2013
In a hacky, derivative, and sequel-filled world, Spirited Away is a stunningly original masterpiece that is rarely seen, and sets new standards for animation as an art form.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nero97Jan 9, 2012
Not much to say. Fantastic movie, the best cartoon movie of all time by far and a masterpiece in cinema's history. Once again Miyazaki made a memorable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IskaaaJan 18, 2012
Probably one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen - everything from the amazingly detailed world to the wonderful characters are perfect. Miyazaki manages to bring out the true potential of anime, establishing an amazing story andProbably one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen - everything from the amazingly detailed world to the wonderful characters are perfect. Miyazaki manages to bring out the true potential of anime, establishing an amazing story and keeping everything in the movie relevant to it. I'm not a hardcore anime or manga fan, I've only read a few books and watched a few shows. When I first heard about this movie from a few friends, I was quite skeptical - till I finally watched it. Even though it was slightly long compared to an average movie, I don't regret a single second of watching it. The only bad part about it was that it ended.

I definitely recommend this movie to any age. If you're not an anime fan or slightly skeptical about the idea of watching the movie, I urge you to do it - you won't be disappointed. Perfect 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sirky004Feb 2, 2012
It's a great movie to watch. I love the scene in the train with no face, that one touches me (really). Others hate it because in their mind anime are like naruto or others, but it's not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ILHMFeb 1, 2013
Prepare yourself for a magical journey in SPIRITED AWAY, the acclaimed Japanese animation by renown director Hayao Miyazaki. Chihiro finds herself lost in the spirit world after her parents are transformed into pigs by a malevolent witch, andPrepare yourself for a magical journey in SPIRITED AWAY, the acclaimed Japanese animation by renown director Hayao Miyazaki. Chihiro finds herself lost in the spirit world after her parents are transformed into pigs by a malevolent witch, and she must gather her strength and courage if she hopes to save them! SPIRITED AWAY transports us to a fantasy world that is filled with strange and magnificent creatures who are brought to life through Miyazaki's captivating animated style. Chihiro's journey is a timeless story of self-discovery and the coming of age, where a young girl first discovers love and compassion by acting outside herself. Miyazaki uses traditional storytelling techniques to paint a unique new fairy tale that children of all ages can relate to, while keeping with its Japanese origins. The sometimes horrifying creatures that Chihiro encounters each represent a stage of childhood that she must overcome, and bring with them valuable lessons that she will use in her budding adolescence. SPIRITED AWAY provides childlike wonder for kids and adults alike, and is a masterpiece of modern animation. -Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
riskyMay 17, 2012
Spirited Away is a mindblowing, genuine and compelling experience. The themes of loss, adolescence, good and evil leaves a certain feeling lingering all the way through the ending credits. What I like most about this movie is that it'sSpirited Away is a mindblowing, genuine and compelling experience. The themes of loss, adolescence, good and evil leaves a certain feeling lingering all the way through the ending credits. What I like most about this movie is that it's genuinely japanese. It's proud in a way that is not **** It incorporates japanese culture, sense for details, scenery and conversation in a way that is very much graspable for westerners unexperienced with japanese culture. The plot contains suggestive elements which makes it a pleasure to watch over, and over again. This is the first Ghibli I experienced and I can't help but compare how close other animes make me feel in contrast to this picture, as if it were the ultimate of animated movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AnnatarYoungSep 11, 2014
A truly beautiful piece of cinema. This film should appeal to people beyond the realms of those who are already a fan of Japanese animation and easily stands alone as a fantastic animated children's film, complete with a beautiful score, aA truly beautiful piece of cinema. This film should appeal to people beyond the realms of those who are already a fan of Japanese animation and easily stands alone as a fantastic animated children's film, complete with a beautiful score, a touching story, a fantastically avant garde artistic direction, a rather obscure look in to Japanese folklore and culture and many strong moral undertones throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarkAngelFeb 11, 2013
"Spirited Away" is the mountain high, the kind of movie we all wish to be able to make. The honest sensibility, gentle and simple storytelling that reincarnates on-the-fly into states of being beyond imagination-all of that supported by"Spirited Away" is the mountain high, the kind of movie we all wish to be able to make. The honest sensibility, gentle and simple storytelling that reincarnates on-the-fly into states of being beyond imagination-all of that supported by amazing yet nostalgic hand-drawn animation constitute one of the most important aesthetic achievements of the 21-th century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lordpainSep 12, 2013
At first I was skeptical about watching a movie with a 10 year old girl as the protagonist, but I'm glad I did watch it, it was truly a great movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moonman1994Nov 20, 2013
Beautifully drawn and beautifully scored. Spirited Away is intriguing and innovative and can definitely stand strong not only in the animated film genre but against all films in general. It's plainly a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
InspectorJApr 7, 2015
The most original film I have ever seen, 'Spirited Away' is a beautiful animation that truly delivers unique and memorable characters, a wondrous animation style and a plethora of themes that are still relevant to this day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky009Jan 2, 2014
O mundo de Chihiro fantásticamente fabuloso, com seus seres exóticas, uma história fascinante e uma trilha sonora de arrancar suspiros, um dos melhores de Miyazaki.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hardkor33Jul 23, 2013
An easy 10/10. Spirited Away is not only my favorite anitmated/anime movie, but is one of my favorite movies of all time. A work of art and simply a masterpiece that makes me smile and happy everytime I watch it. Everything is beautiful aboutAn easy 10/10. Spirited Away is not only my favorite anitmated/anime movie, but is one of my favorite movies of all time. A work of art and simply a masterpiece that makes me smile and happy everytime I watch it. Everything is beautiful about this movie, from the story, to the music, rightdown to the artwork itself. I mean the attention to detail in this movie is quite amazing. Thanks to the wonderful and brilliant mind of Hayao Miyazaki, this beautiful art work of a film will forever hold a special place in my heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Dec 23, 2014
I will give this anime credit for being visually stunning and deeply creative. But, visuals aside the plot is really bland and very bare. Lots of folklore references to keep the geeky entertained, lots of bright colors and weird creatures forI will give this anime credit for being visually stunning and deeply creative. But, visuals aside the plot is really bland and very bare. Lots of folklore references to keep the geeky entertained, lots of bright colors and weird creatures for the kiddies, and a simple enough story for the "mom and dads" to enjoy.

However, the movie is just to overpraised for what it is. A colorful simple folktale.

If it wasn't for the notoriety this movie has in the anime community, I might have been more lenient. But this movie is clearly riding on Studio Ghibli's reputation and doing everything it can to look and act the part. Which is a shame as it clearly could have been allot more if released from Ghibli's formulaic storytelling.

Overall:
Spirited Away is still charming and fun to watch. But don't expect some marvel in storytelling. Just expect a Studio Ghibli film. In that regard it succeeds in every category.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nirishan9Jan 12, 2013
Fantastic movie. Hayao Miyazaki's true masterpiece. Fruitful and exciting from beginning to end. An array of creative characters and beautiful music to accompany it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
A wondrous childhood pleasure for all the senses. The darkness becomes a fever dream that you enjoy in vivid detail. The characters keep the movie going through the unique responses. It is a great coming of age/ adventure movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kevinhooksJan 19, 2013
Words cannot describe the visual designs and art direction of this amazing film. Hayao Miyazaki has made a film with an impressive plot followed by characters who he (unsurprisingly) manages to develop deeply. I would highly recommend thisWords cannot describe the visual designs and art direction of this amazing film. Hayao Miyazaki has made a film with an impressive plot followed by characters who he (unsurprisingly) manages to develop deeply. I would highly recommend this film to any fans of animation, and even to adults out there. This has the making of one of the best animated spectacles of the century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SebastianRRJun 26, 2013
Esta película resalta entre las demás ya que cada minuto que corre es la puerta a una nueva forma de ver la película en si. Entre brujas, monstruos y fantasmas lo que demuestra es que dentro de una caben todas.
Una de las mejores películas
Esta película resalta entre las demás ya que cada minuto que corre es la puerta a una nueva forma de ver la película en si. Entre brujas, monstruos y fantasmas lo que demuestra es que dentro de una caben todas.
Una de las mejores películas animadas, aunque aveces se tornaba confusa, pero siempre salia a una historia brillante que crece a cada paso.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
emalaFeb 18, 2013
This is my favorite one of Hayao Miyazaki's films, and I've seen almost all of them. It's unique and interesting and kept me intrigued throughout the entire thing when I first watched it in elementary school. And I was easily distracted then.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shpreaJun 27, 2013
It's hard to explain why, but Spirited Away is just amazing. There's a certain magic that comes from Miyazaki's creative and thrilling spirit world. Every character has depth, every scene is interesting, and the characters all undergo growthIt's hard to explain why, but Spirited Away is just amazing. There's a certain magic that comes from Miyazaki's creative and thrilling spirit world. Every character has depth, every scene is interesting, and the characters all undergo growth throughout the movie. Really, it is a must see movie.

10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 12, 2013
I was looking for some good anime last week... i found this and when i watched it, i felt the magic in the room. This is the ONLY MOVIE that made me feel relaxed, sad, strange, great, happy at the same time! It just can't be explained if youI was looking for some good anime last week... i found this and when i watched it, i felt the magic in the room. This is the ONLY MOVIE that made me feel relaxed, sad, strange, great, happy at the same time! It just can't be explained if you haven'y seen it. I felt like i'm going through another dimension. I bought the original DVD the next day by accident. So "Spirited Away" gets my full 10/10! Thank you Miyazaki Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KPHooksMar 29, 2013
Hayao Miyazaki has created a film that captures a beautiful world filled with colorful and bizarre creatures. He places a young girl into this world vulnerable to her surroundings who develops into a daring heroine. This film is a masterpieceHayao Miyazaki has created a film that captures a beautiful world filled with colorful and bizarre creatures. He places a young girl into this world vulnerable to her surroundings who develops into a daring heroine. This film is a masterpiece in story and visual imagery. Miyazaki has done it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RBJCApr 7, 2013
Great movie, probably in my top 5 animation movies.
The characters are a little bit weird ("no face", "the putrid spirit", etc), but at the end it is perfect because it contributes to the fantasy world of the movie. This was one of the first
Great movie, probably in my top 5 animation movies.
The characters are a little bit weird ("no face", "the putrid spirit", etc), but at the end it is perfect because it contributes to the fantasy world of the movie. This was one of the first Studio Ghibli movies I watched, and after watching some others (that are all high quality) I can tell this is the best one in my opinion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
uGrooveApr 11, 2013
A soothing yet compelling movie for all age groups. By far I have been most fond of the times in Miyazaki's movies where the pacing was slow, with "Kiki's Delivery Service" as my prime example of a perfect slow-paced movie. "Spirited away"A soothing yet compelling movie for all age groups. By far I have been most fond of the times in Miyazaki's movies where the pacing was slow, with "Kiki's Delivery Service" as my prime example of a perfect slow-paced movie. "Spirited away" did not only accomplish in that, but also did some thrilling action scenes which were "just the right amount", so they didn't distract from the reality which was happening here. The characters were lovable and interesting, the story and the ethics of the movie were simple yet suggestive, the animation was just what you are looking for; the perfect balance of kitche as portrayed "Howl's Moving Castle" and his other movies, which were not as so determined in making us feel blown away, but rather "sucked" into the story, and the movie as a whole was an experience with many memorable moments I'll be sure to be returning to many times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CarlJohnsonJun 8, 2013
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BenjaminCerdaMay 20, 2013
La mejor película de animación,al mismo tiempo que la mejor película de la década y del realizador japones,Hayao Miyazaki.La película consigue muy bien llevarte a ese mundo de magia y fantasía basándose en las tradiciones japonesas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NitishSep 30, 2014
oh dear god, what the man has created..!! i feel high watching this more than i do feel when i smoke weed, it's magical..!! This movie is a whole new world of imagination and still so beautiful and simple ..!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewGuyXOct 12, 2013
LouisH's review sucked. You didn't understand the movie because you are too close-minded to open yourself to any new ideas.

Spirited Away is definitely one of the most commanding pieces of animation I have ever seen. It carefully portrays
LouisH's review sucked. You didn't understand the movie because you are too close-minded to open yourself to any new ideas.

Spirited Away is definitely one of the most commanding pieces of animation I have ever seen. It carefully portrays the transition of Chihiro's maturity through a sequence of dire events and occasions that make this movie enchanting and rather dark too.

I remember this movie was screened to one of my disinterested Japanese classes. Obviously, reception was great because they would of rather watched some dodgy teen movie. What a bunch of LouisH's...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JudgeMathewMar 20, 2014
There's no better way to explain this...the film Spirited Away is absolutely amazing. Being a huge fan of Studio Ghibli, it doesn't mean that their films are perfect. Spirited Away captures your attention and will keep you glued to yourThere's no better way to explain this...the film Spirited Away is absolutely amazing. Being a huge fan of Studio Ghibli, it doesn't mean that their films are perfect. Spirited Away captures your attention and will keep you glued to your screen for the entirety of the session. The characters and story are some of the best I've ever seen. May be a bit scary for young children under five, though definitely great for the whole family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksJan 17, 2016
Probably one of the greatest animated movies ever made. The simple story of a young girl who gets trapped working in the spirit world to free her parents. I loved the touching characters and the appreciation for the simple things in life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JwvJan 9, 2014
For starters, and because the movie is originally Japanese, I have to speak of my admiration for the work of the voice acting department who did a great job in translating the movie for English audiences. I applaud in particular the work ofFor starters, and because the movie is originally Japanese, I have to speak of my admiration for the work of the voice acting department who did a great job in translating the movie for English audiences. I applaud in particular the work of Daveigh Chase who lends her voice to Sin, and performs very convincingly.

The animations in Spirited Away are probably the best I have ever seen. They are simple yet beautiful, and the creators have a real knack for detail. They succeed in making Sin feel very believable and lifelike in her actions as a teen girl.

The world Spirited Away presents is weird, and even after sitting through the whole movie, more questions will remain a mystery than answered. Although this can be seen as a deficiency, I see it as a pro. The world is so magically beautiful and unknown that, having answered no questions, it will stick in your head a long time after watching keeping you wondering.

The story doesn't amount as much to the magnificence of this movie as the animations and fantastical world do, and is a mere classical child narrative. The protagonist heroine gets in trouble because of a mistake, is brought into a prickly situation by an evil character, but the resilience of the good-natured heroine and some good-natured helpers win out over evil. The story is not bad, considering Spirited Away has a child audience, and even add enough nuance in its characters to make them more interesting than black-and-white stereotypes.

The use of the theme of love and it's effect on the story is cliché here and will not surprise anyone in any way, but is not mellow and its subtle enough to be enjoyed by an older audience.

Spirited Away is a top-notch movie for children and can equally be enjoyed by an older audience. It successfully connects with a dual audience and should be applauded for that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieReviewsJun 19, 2014
Spirited Away is just magical. In this magic fest, we fallow the story of Shihiro, a typical nagging 9 year old or so on her move to a new house, while her dad takes a wrong turn and end up lost in an abandoned amusement park, it is all up toSpirited Away is just magical. In this magic fest, we fallow the story of Shihiro, a typical nagging 9 year old or so on her move to a new house, while her dad takes a wrong turn and end up lost in an abandoned amusement park, it is all up to Shihiro to save her family and get out after being sucked into a word where monsters live in a bathing house. If it wasn't for Coraline (2009), this would've been my favorite movie of all time. The movie is most obviously masterfully crafted, it is filled with magical color scheme, powerful characters and just overall this is one of the most strongest/epic/magical and unforgettable movies ever made, I just love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Divine_UchihaMar 17, 2014
My personal favorite film by Miyazaki and probably one of the greatest animated films of all time. The animation is beautiful as well as the storytelling and even the style of the film continues to captivate me even to this very day. I wouldMy personal favorite film by Miyazaki and probably one of the greatest animated films of all time. The animation is beautiful as well as the storytelling and even the style of the film continues to captivate me even to this very day. I would recommend this film to anyone who lives animation, anime, or just great films in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NAQURATORApr 2, 2014
A must watch for every age, every country and every race, everyone should have seen this movie, it's llike no other. Ghibli made a monumental piece of art here. I remember watching this as a kid and being blown away, if you have kids, showA must watch for every age, every country and every race, everyone should have seen this movie, it's llike no other. Ghibli made a monumental piece of art here. I remember watching this as a kid and being blown away, if you have kids, show them this movie!!!!! and as an adult I could watch it a million more times, really fantastic! full of emotions, fantasy warmth and mystery this is probably the best drawn movie I'll ever see. Time and time again it takes me to another world, romantic/art at it's best, total loss of reality for 2 hours. I could go on forever, but really just watch it your self, even if you're 99 years old it won't dissapoin you!!!

Just my opinion
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Zeus99Apr 24, 2014
Magical, creative, fantastical, I just cannot imagine why or how you could dislike this film....It was good when i was a child and it remains my favorite movie as an adult
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Munck96May 12, 2014
I remember seeing this movie as only a kid. It had been around for an enough amount of time for it to be broad-casted on TV, and I remember thinking that this movie was just something I dreamed about.
This film is absolutely one of the best
I remember seeing this movie as only a kid. It had been around for an enough amount of time for it to be broad-casted on TV, and I remember thinking that this movie was just something I dreamed about.
This film is absolutely one of the best I have ever seen. It is a misconception to just call this a film or a movie, this is an actual work of art performed by Hayao Miyazaki. Without a doubt, I will recommend this film to anyone at any age. An easy 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KiaraFNSJul 26, 2015
This movie was my very introduction to anime. Featuring an intricate and lovely plot, great characters and smooth drawing.
That aside, the movie can bring joy and fun to all ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YewSpell8314Jun 26, 2014
"Spirited Away" is simply the greatest animated film my eyes have ever laid on. It flawlessly blends comedy, mystery, fantasy and drama into something unbelievably good and satisfactory. Although it is considered a family film, I love the"Spirited Away" is simply the greatest animated film my eyes have ever laid on. It flawlessly blends comedy, mystery, fantasy and drama into something unbelievably good and satisfactory. Although it is considered a family film, I love the moments of bitter-sweetness and melancholy writer/director Hayao Miyazaki has put into his masterpiece. And the amount of creativity in "Spirited Away" can not be put into words. A flawlessly executed film it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OpinionatedGuyDec 3, 2014
Confession time: I have never seen a Studio Ghibli movie until last week. That first Studio Ghibil movie is the one that made them famous. You guess it right, it’s Spirited Away.

The hype surrounding Spirited Away does not disappoint me.
Confession time: I have never seen a Studio Ghibli movie until last week. That first Studio Ghibil movie is the one that made them famous. You guess it right, it’s Spirited Away.

The hype surrounding Spirited Away does not disappoint me. It’s no wonder why most people love it so much. This is the best animated movie I have ever seen since The Lion King.

The animation style in this movie is so beautiful to watch. This is the beauty of 2D animation that 3D animation cannot capture.

I watched this movie on English dub but I liked how the dubbed voices do not irritate me. The voice actors did a good job dubbing the characters that I believe them as Japanese people speaking English. It does not feel dubbed at all to be honest. I liked how their voices did not go out of sync of the characters speaking.

The plot was great from start to finish. I liked how Chihiro/Sen is used as an audience surrogate as I am confused and curious just like her.

The feel of this movie gave me the Alice in Wonderland vibes, which it’s the best part of the entire movie for me.

The direction from Hayao Miyazaki is brilliant in this movie. He cares about even the littlest of details in this movie. He put all of his huge effort into directing this movie. It’s no wonder why so many people praise him so much.

Spirited Away is the best animation movie since The Lion King thanks to its beautiful animation style, a great plot, a nice Alice in Wonderland vibes and the direction from Hayao Miyazaki.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gus_jahnAug 5, 2014
Simply magical. This has to be one of the most enchanting and nostalgic movies ever made. Spirited away submerges you on a journey which fills you with awe. The journey is filled with wise quotes and characters that you care about. The musicSimply magical. This has to be one of the most enchanting and nostalgic movies ever made. Spirited away submerges you on a journey which fills you with awe. The journey is filled with wise quotes and characters that you care about. The music was fantastic, the animation was superb, the story line, out of this world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
f3l1p3Sep 9, 2014
A Viagem de Chihiro é espetacular. O filme é incrível, o enredo e a história são impecáveis, tem algumas coisas bizarras, o que torna o filme um pouco engraçado, e ainda há valor nesse filme. Uma essência do filme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mgweeksSep 23, 2014
In case I say anything negative, let me start with Amazing! I first saw this movie when my daughter was very young. I didn't buy it for her, I bought it for me! I disagree with anyone who thinks of it as just a movie for children. From theIn case I say anything negative, let me start with Amazing! I first saw this movie when my daughter was very young. I didn't buy it for her, I bought it for me! I disagree with anyone who thinks of it as just a movie for children. From the beginning, I could see my daughter in the character of Chihiro (Sen) so vividly that it tore me apart to feel her terror and confusion. Then to see her coming to terms with her new environment and struggle to regain her identity gave me a sense of pride. I see all this in my daughter as she has grown up and learned to deal with life. I finally let her see the movie and it's one of her favorites as well. I agree with those who talk about how real the characters are and how the emotions and story line are portrayed in such a beautiful fashion. I think this movie is anything but predictable. Perhaps those who don't understand it may be too used to simplistic modern movie fare where everything is handed to you on a platter. Spirited Away can be approached on many levels which, to me, just made it all the more interesting and enjoyable. I'd have to say it is definitely one of my favorite movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BethesdaSep 26, 2014
I love this movie, it is classic and brilliant, I remember watching it all the time as a kid. one of the best movies ever created and will always be so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NerdConsultantDec 12, 2014
this film is a masterpiece and should be on every list of films to see before you die. the animation is gorgeous, the voice actors do an amazing job and the plot is both original, heartfelt and epic. if miyazaki hadn't received the oscar itthis film is a masterpiece and should be on every list of films to see before you die. the animation is gorgeous, the voice actors do an amazing job and the plot is both original, heartfelt and epic. if miyazaki hadn't received the oscar it would have been a travesty and it was this film that made him my favourite director Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
papeadojhonAug 21, 2016
Spirited Away is undeniably eccentric, but, even that way, it's hard to find a flaw in one of the most thoughtful, imaginative, extremely interesting and entertaining movies I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Ali_MarashianNov 20, 2014
a gripping Alice in Wonderland-like movie, Spirited away is by far Hayao Miyazaki's best masterpiece. the movie was so moving and deep that I couldn't stop my mind analysing it all day! about alienation,if Chihiro's name(as a symbol ofa gripping Alice in Wonderland-like movie, Spirited away is by far Hayao Miyazaki's best masterpiece. the movie was so moving and deep that I couldn't stop my mind analysing it all day! about alienation,if Chihiro's name(as a symbol of identity)slips her mind,she won't find the way home.and about Yubaba as a symbol of Capitalism and her twin sister Zeniba in front of her. and my favourite character No face as a symbol of life, which likes those who are not greedy and emotions are relations are more important to them. and a pure love between Chihiro and Hako. There are many other things to think about which are still mysterious and this is how the movie takes you.In my opinion, It's the best animation of all time. Some of you may find this complexity of the story irritating, But believe me, When you realise the purpose of the plot, you can't deny how strong and powerful Hayao Miyazaki is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andrebarrosoJan 3, 2015
The first time I watched Hayao Miyazaki's "Spirited Away", I was 4. I admit that I hated it completely. Couldn't sleep for weeks, and I promised myself that I would never watch an anime ever again. I fulfilled that promise for 11 years, untilThe first time I watched Hayao Miyazaki's "Spirited Away", I was 4. I admit that I hated it completely. Couldn't sleep for weeks, and I promised myself that I would never watch an anime ever again. I fulfilled that promise for 11 years, until my friends convinced me to watch the movie again. It was a complete different experience.
With careful drawings and a marvelous screenplay, Miyazaki teaches us all kinds of social lessons. A movie that should not be ignored. Never.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DokaluJun 30, 2015
Ok, hands down to the best animated movie I have seen in my entire life. This is one of those real gems that is capable of taking you out of this world and transport you to a whole new reality, all through simple drawings. It is beautiful,Ok, hands down to the best animated movie I have seen in my entire life. This is one of those real gems that is capable of taking you out of this world and transport you to a whole new reality, all through simple drawings. It is beautiful, astonishing, very original, wonderful, imaginative, sweet, and a simple perfect masterpiece from one of the best filmmakers of our era. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Arthur_S_PoeFeb 11, 2015
Chihiro was actually my first with Hayao Miyazaki, the great anime director that put us through so much joy with his works. Watching it at a very young age, I was certainly a little confused by the plot, not being to comprehend it fully, asChihiro was actually my first with Hayao Miyazaki, the great anime director that put us through so much joy with his works. Watching it at a very young age, I was certainly a little confused by the plot, not being to comprehend it fully, as it is quite symbolic and profound. But, after re-watching it several years later, I can only say that this certainly is Miyazaki's best work.

It offers everything - a brilliant story, that precise Miyazaki-specific animation we all love, a profoundly magical atmosphere, meaningful symbolism and a an unforgettable experience that will draw you into a magical world where you can enjoy the full potential of human imagination. Miyazaki truly is a master and 'Spirited Away' truly is a master-piece in every aspect.

The topics it analyzes through it's symbolism are practically endless and you can find a series of interesting topics for you to analyze and debate. There is nothing you can actually complain about this magical world, an innocent adventure that defies boundaries in such a manner that could only be narrated through the story of a child. As it is the case with almost all of Miyazaki's characters, they are exceptionally likable and you will certainly grow fond of them as you watch the movie.

To conclude, 'Spirited Away' is sure to amaze you in every aspect and it is certainly a movie that will both bring out that specific nostalgia and make you want to watch it again and again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
itchipodOct 2, 2016
Still one of the best animated movies of all time. Very nostalgic, engaging and not one scene will bore you. I appreciate how Sen solver her problems all the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 19, 2015
A masterpiece a monumental landmark for the fields of animation,

a screen gem, its an amazing tale about the triumph of the human spirit, beautifully well-paced, and perfectly written and carefully animated, its a rare power within the
A masterpiece a monumental landmark for the fields of animation,

a screen gem, its an amazing tale about the triumph of the human spirit, beautifully well-paced, and perfectly written and carefully animated, its a rare power within the screen that is resurrected with these amazing elements that leaves a beautiful feeling with the entire family, a film about courage against the odds through the eyes of a young girl spirited away into a bizarre fantasy world never imagined from the mind of animation pioneer Hayao Miyazaki

An animation that by the time you watch it you will never forget, wonderful work of art and genuinely valuable, I'm glad to have seen this film this one was so imaginative hilarious, suspenseful, and compelling, that I'm sure I will never forget and tend to watch it over and over again maybe one day I'll recommend it to my children.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Epik_NinnjaMay 25, 2015
Spirited Away is an imaginitve movie about a young girl who is separated from her parents and ends up in a mystical world that crosses over with her own. It's one of my favorite animated movies due to its memorable characters and interestingSpirited Away is an imaginitve movie about a young girl who is separated from her parents and ends up in a mystical world that crosses over with her own. It's one of my favorite animated movies due to its memorable characters and interesting story, with themes of loss and finding one's self. It's movies like this that make a Japanese movie producer famous over seas. This is a movie that adults can enjoy as well as kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BoogeeFilmGuyAug 8, 2015
In my opinion, to have a good film, you need the balance of a good story, characters that audiences can relate to and good, strong (acting) performances, as well as all the pretty pictures. Spirited Away has the perfect balance of all of thatIn my opinion, to have a good film, you need the balance of a good story, characters that audiences can relate to and good, strong (acting) performances, as well as all the pretty pictures. Spirited Away has the perfect balance of all of that combined. Its a visually stunning experience that I won't soon forget. I was walking around in a DVD rental store when I saw a strange looking film in the kids section. I picked it up and said, "Hey, why not? If it sucks, I can at least laugh at it!" the word sucks will not be used anymore in this review, just to clarify. Anyway, I slapped it into the DVD player, and clicked play. While the Studio Ghibli logo was running, I looked at the back and saw "One of the greatest animated films ever made."- John Lasseter. This made me even more curious. Anyway, I watched the film, and it all went so fast. When it finished, I was left drooling for more. This is my response every time I watch this film. I feel as though its a film everyone should watch. Miyazaki's magnum opus, in my personal opinion.
Easily gets a 10/10. One of my favourite movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews