Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1584 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,453
Mixed:
39
Negative:
92
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
LeoB.Feb 12, 2003
Too bad, boring and disgusting.
1 of 13 users found this helpful
3
ElvisS.Oct 6, 2002
Unbelievable animation... unfortunately, I hated this movie... I give this movie the finger cuz it weirded me out and freaked me out. I don't know about these weird freaking movies. 99? These critics are all jumping on some Disney Unbelievable animation... unfortunately, I hated this movie... I give this movie the finger cuz it weirded me out and freaked me out. I don't know about these weird freaking movies. 99? These critics are all jumping on some Disney bandwagon... just like all those Angels fans in Anaheim. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful
3
AndyE.Oct 26, 2003
I dont know who could rate this movie above a 60. The whole thing was S-T-U-P-I-D.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
1
LeoB.Feb 12, 2003
Too bad, boring and disgusting.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
0
DeathJan 16, 2004
I love and I mean LOVE animes, but this one just sucked. I fell asleep.....twice. If you want to see a great anime watch Akira. May Death find you quickly.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
NotPaidOffMay 3, 2004
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. It's a hodge podge of incoherent babble justified by all these so called comparisons by so-called reviewers. I gave it 1 star only cause it had Disney on it. I guess hell has frozen over.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LineaK.Jun 10, 2005
It was the worst movie I have ever seen. Terrible animation combined with a senseless plot made it hard to sit through to the end.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
2
KJHJun 22, 2010
When I saw the movie, it was way too scary. It was more of a nightmare than a movie.
0 of 13 users found this helpful
0
MaurícioG.Apr 30, 2003
What the f*** is the matter with you. The movie is good and inovative, but seems to me like you've never seen any other anime in your lives. I would've given a higher score, but since you're apparently all on dope, I had to What the f*** is the matter with you. The movie is good and inovative, but seems to me like you've never seen any other anime in your lives. I would've given a higher score, but since you're apparently all on dope, I had to give it a 0 just to counterbalance. There are many flaws in logic in this film, and many forced up stuff. But check where is Matrix compared to this one here in metacritic. You guys are so sheepish. Expand
3 of 21 users found this helpful
0
JezabellD.Jan 3, 2004
FOR ALL YOU FREAKS OUT THERE!!! This movie was very good and also very weird. I found myself staring off and thinking about the movie 20 minutes after the movie was done. I do have one question though, why did Haku (in the dragon form) snap FOR ALL YOU FREAKS OUT THERE!!! This movie was very good and also very weird. I found myself staring off and thinking about the movie 20 minutes after the movie was done. I do have one question though, why did Haku (in the dragon form) snap at the little girl and also he wasnt acting like he knew her..?? OH! and whats the deal with the titanic slam? Titanic really happend, there is a huge F**** difference between real and fake...get it right B****! People acctually died, no one died in "spirited away!" Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TrentY.May 20, 2004
Boring, dull, and almost incomprehensible. This film is "joyous" only for those who can sit throught the inane dialogue and pokemon-esque cartooning.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JohnnnieP.Jun 21, 2006
I have not seen one review that addresses the exact themes that are woven into the film, throughout. remember the wolf in little red riding hood. all dressed up with nowhere to go, waiting for a free meal in grandmas bed well.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
Louis'sbrotherMar 21, 2007
With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story With all due respect to those who liked it, WORST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!, and I mean ever! I don't know what the creators of this movie were on when they made this movie. Had the minimum not been 0, I'd give it -100,000,000! The story makes absolutely no sense, the characters are just stupid, and the acting is terrible. DO not watch it at all! Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful
0
LouisH.Mar 22, 2007
I can't believe how anyone could possibly like this movie. It's just like a Japanese anime version of "Alice in Wonderland", but 100X worse! I had no clue what this scrap-on-screen was even about, and I am glad, because I would I can't believe how anyone could possibly like this movie. It's just like a Japanese anime version of "Alice in Wonderland", but 100X worse! I had no clue what this scrap-on-screen was even about, and I am glad, because I would have fried my brain if I knew! Absoulute 0. Expand
2 of 28 users found this helpful
3
jennys.Feb 17, 2005
Hey, it was alright. But the thing was most of the stuff weren't necessary and the spirit stuff was way too much. i was dissapointed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LeventeS.Jun 25, 2009
Despite impressive visuals and halfway decent characters Spirited Away suffers tremendously from a plot so hair-brained and juvenile that it undermines everything good about the movie. Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once Despite impressive visuals and halfway decent characters Spirited Away suffers tremendously from a plot so hair-brained and juvenile that it undermines everything good about the movie. Why is it, in Miyazaki films, that evil characters, once neutralized will suddenly join the hero's side and become all helpful? Why is there no treachery? No deceit? Does nobody in this crazy fantasy world have principles? Why does the villain's twin wear identical clothes? Why are stairs no longer a reliable method of vertical transport? Why does the villain give a final test before honouring her word, rather than be, say, villainous and betray someone? These are all massive problems, and though there are probably more, I hate them so much I can't even remember them. This movie is terrible and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone older than five (though said five year old may wet his pants and have nightmares about it). Expand
6 of 53 users found this helpful
0
ReadThisNov 24, 2004
It was terrible and needs work on the characters, Haku and Sen saw each other 3 times and were ready to make out near the end!!!!!!! Noface needed help with his 'uh uh' sounds, what are they trying to teach kids?
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
night4Apr 5, 2016
I appreciate the monumental effort that went into this movie. It's the kind of movie where, after watching it, you spend the next afternoon reading everything you can possibly get your hands on to better understand each and every detail.I appreciate the monumental effort that went into this movie. It's the kind of movie where, after watching it, you spend the next afternoon reading everything you can possibly get your hands on to better understand each and every detail.

However, it so blatantly and bluntly denounces "greed" that it loses all credibility. I know, it's meant for children. But the message seems to be if you have, want, or somehow acquire ANY money, ever, you're evil.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
An over the top, messy, crazy, incoherent, poorly structured, japanese take on ''Alice in Wonderland''
Except the beautiful animation (like with every Miyazaki film) there really is nothing here for me to like
1 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews