Splice

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 191
  2. Negative: 52 out of 191

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KenB
    Jun 12, 2010
    3
    Couldn't believe the series of irrational decisions by the leads. Great effects, though. Outright prolonged laughter at the movie by the audience I saw it with.
  2. MarcoB
    Jun 13, 2010
    3
    I've haven't seen such a fundamentally flawed movie in ages. Brody and Polley have absolutely no screen chemistry together. I didn't believe them as a couple for even a second so when their creation invariably threatens their romance, I could not care less. Moreover, the Brody and Polley characters are supposed to be cutting edge scientists but they seem clueless about the I've haven't seen such a fundamentally flawed movie in ages. Brody and Polley have absolutely no screen chemistry together. I didn't believe them as a couple for even a second so when their creation invariably threatens their romance, I could not care less. Moreover, the Brody and Polley characters are supposed to be cutting edge scientists but they seem clueless about the imminent danger even though the warning signs are so obvious that a 7 yr old in the audience would be able to pick them out. Expand
  3. StellaH.
    Jun 12, 2010
    1
    Adrian Brody should be ashamed of himself. The movie completely falls apart into the ridiculous half way through. It got so bad, people (including me) were laughing, one couple walked out. NPR's Science Friday should also be embarrassed they gave the director credibility by having him on the show.
  4. PhilP
    Jun 4, 2010
    2
    I can't believe that they spent so much money making such a completely terrible movie. I walked out of the theater thinking that I haven't seen a movie this bad since I made the mistake of renting "half cast". The upside, and why I gave it a 2, it was entertaining. It kept my interest, and it had me nearly rolling on the floor laughing - I think this wasn't the I can't believe that they spent so much money making such a completely terrible movie. I walked out of the theater thinking that I haven't seen a movie this bad since I made the mistake of renting "half cast". The upside, and why I gave it a 2, it was entertaining. It kept my interest, and it had me nearly rolling on the floor laughing - I think this wasn't the director's intention however. If you're expecting a good horror/sci fi flick, look elsewhere, if you're looking for some entertainment, and possibly to laugh your ass off, this might be a decent choice. It's just too bad the laughs were all unintentional. Expand
  5. RyanD.
    Jun 5, 2010
    0
    The summary under the raiting section of this movie sums it up best when it says "disturbing" this movie was tasteless and repulsive. If you enjoy watching mythical creatures change sexes and rape women then this movie is for you, but if you enjoy everyday entertainment we today call "movies" then save your money or go see marmaduke
  6. MikeL
    Jun 5, 2010
    1
    The critics got this one TOTALLY wrong. Can't understand how it got good reviews. Dumb, dumb dumb! The audience was howling with laughter at serious scenes (not a good sign....).
  7. DoctorJ
    Jun 12, 2010
    1
    I'm not sure I saw the same movie that all the pro-critics saw. The Splice I saw was terrible. One of the worst films I've seen in a long time. Not scary, not funny, not intelligent. The only reason I stayed in the theatre was that I kept hoping it might improve but it never did. A truly moronic effort.
  8. dang
    Jun 17, 2010
    2
    As i left this movie half-way thru, i'm giving it half the rating i probably would if i'd stuck it out. i figure i left just before the alien smooching scene. i mean, if i want a good alient smooching scene i can always ask the ex to send over vids or her and her shall we say friends. people acting in movies like this, understandably, do it for the bucks (not withstanding that As i left this movie half-way thru, i'm giving it half the rating i probably would if i'd stuck it out. i figure i left just before the alien smooching scene. i mean, if i want a good alient smooching scene i can always ask the ex to send over vids or her and her shall we say friends. people acting in movies like this, understandably, do it for the bucks (not withstanding that there's a harsh name for it). Expand
  9. RickW
    Jun 14, 2010
    3
    Just plain horrible. People were laughing in the movie at some of the more ridiculous moments. God, how could anyone like this move?
  10. Oct 13, 2010
    1
    This movie isn't good. It isn't scary, but it is quite disturbing. Although Dren looks human, she is mostly other animals, so Adrian Brody has sex with an animal. Bestiality isn't something I wish to see, and even when the animal looks human, it just creeps me out.
  11. Oct 13, 2010
    0
    disturbing + boring plot = don't bother Not nearly as good as an hour long episode of outer limits, sorry I watched it. Scifi horror is one of my favorite film genres, and I have watched a lot of disturbing crazy horrible stuff in my days, but this was the only one I wished I had not watched. Nothing high minded here, don't even bother to watch. Especially sad since Adrien Brodydisturbing + boring plot = don't bother Not nearly as good as an hour long episode of outer limits, sorry I watched it. Scifi horror is one of my favorite film genres, and I have watched a lot of disturbing crazy horrible stuff in my days, but this was the only one I wished I had not watched. Nothing high minded here, don't even bother to watch. Especially sad since Adrien Brody usually makes every movie worth watching. Expand
  12. Oct 16, 2010
    3
    whoever thought that adding weird manimal sex scenes to this movie was a a good idea should be ashamed of themselves it was an extremely unpleasant and disturbing way to make a bad movie even worse
  13. Dec 27, 2010
    2
    I haven't seen a movie this bad in awhile. The audience I saw it with was laughing along with me at all the really stupid people on the screen that kept making stupid decisions. One after the other. If this was a typical scary movie that might be acceptable, but these are supposed to be brilliant scientists. There are so many eye-rolling moments in this film you have to see it toI haven't seen a movie this bad in awhile. The audience I saw it with was laughing along with me at all the really stupid people on the screen that kept making stupid decisions. One after the other. If this was a typical scary movie that might be acceptable, but these are supposed to be brilliant scientists. There are so many eye-rolling moments in this film you have to see it to believe it. I was in the mood for a good Sci-Fi movie because I hadn't seen one in awhile, and this was a total disappointment. Expand
  14. Petey
    Jun 4, 2010
    1
    Totally predictable, seems to take forever to tell the predictable story
  15. LloydN.
    Jun 7, 2010
    3
    Found it neither enjoyable nor thought-provoking.
  16. DavidC
    Jun 5, 2010
    0
    Absolute train wreck of a movie. Perhaps the worst I have ever paid to see in a theater. The title "Splice" probably refers to the writers linking scenes from terrible B horror movies and bad sci fi serials into a full-length movie. Not a single redeeming quality to this movie, and I would strongly recommend people avoid at all costs.
  17. RickR
    Jun 6, 2010
    3
    Usually I agree with the metacritic average score, but this 65 is way, way off. The first half of the movie works, but it decays into confused swirl of stupid ideas. It's not consistent, not intelligent, and not entertaining. If you want a similar gross-out, but with intelligence, see The Fly (1986).
  18. MikeyP.
    Jun 9, 2010
    0
    For people calling this a thought provoking film about the politics of genetic splicing, you are wrong. Very little, if any actual science comes even remotely close to what was portrayed in this film. Along with this, the plot was solely based on the poor decisions of a the lead woman to keep a hazardous creature alive because she wanted a child to control. This was supposed to be For people calling this a thought provoking film about the politics of genetic splicing, you are wrong. Very little, if any actual science comes even remotely close to what was portrayed in this film. Along with this, the plot was solely based on the poor decisions of a the lead woman to keep a hazardous creature alive because she wanted a child to control. This was supposed to be explained by events of her childhood, but the movie mentions this issue once, and then forgets it. This movie was made to be oggled at as the freakiest of all freak show movies, but even fails to do that by being tiresome for all but the last 10 minutes. Please, no sequel. Expand
  19. DarleenO
    Jun 12, 2010
    0
    Absolutely nothing works in this movie. It's unredeemably bad, so bad that I am shocked that anyone gave it a good review.
  20. JamesS.
    Jun 18, 2010
    3
    This movie failed on so many levels. It started out faily strong and compelling, but fell apart once the plot started bobbing and weaving. I wanted it to be a good movie. it was like seeing your favourite team get slaughtered. The acting was well done I thought, but the direction and the way the story unfolded failed miserably. Slightly entertaining, but unless you're bored out of This movie failed on so many levels. It started out faily strong and compelling, but fell apart once the plot started bobbing and weaving. I wanted it to be a good movie. it was like seeing your favourite team get slaughtered. The acting was well done I thought, but the direction and the way the story unfolded failed miserably. Slightly entertaining, but unless you're bored out of your mind and have a 20 spot to burn steer clear of this one. Expand
  21. Jun 27, 2011
    3
    its like the movie spieces except not even near as good as that movie was. its basically 90 min of absoulutly nothing going on then in the last 10 min some thing starts to happen but by then you wont care and just want this mindless dribble to end .
  22. Oct 25, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought that this was going to be some type of scary, suspenseful sfi-fi creature flick and was very disappointed to find out that it was just a boring, un-scary, STUPID movie. Believe me a (3) rating is quite generous, the main characters were bland and the majority of the movie was about a couple of rouge scientists raising their pseudo human/kangaroo/bat/fish creature in a barn as their own child. And if you start to feel like this is some type of ET movie halfway through, that will change when they have sex with their man made humanoid, like I said, STUPID. Some of the reviews that I read here said that this movie is funny or hilarious, perhaps, if you are completely baked, don't waste your time or money. Expand
  23. Dec 14, 2010
    3
    A really bad horror movie not one part of this movie will scare you. the plot is very weak and is so so., The climax is built very slow and the ending is very dissapointing dont go see this movie unless its free.
  24. Nov 1, 2010
    3
    One of the worst movies lately. TERRIBLE script, terrible acting, special affects good. Impossible premise and totally stupid. Monster has sex with husband and wife not too upset about it. They argue for two sentences then kiss each other. Later, monster changes into a man and has sex with the wife too!! If you like this at all...either your totally perverted or have no brains or are tooOne of the worst movies lately. TERRIBLE script, terrible acting, special affects good. Impossible premise and totally stupid. Monster has sex with husband and wife not too upset about it. They argue for two sentences then kiss each other. Later, monster changes into a man and has sex with the wife too!! If you like this at all...either your totally perverted or have no brains or are too young to have seen a good movie and mistake this for one of them.
    Total waste of time and money.
    Expand
  25. Aug 22, 2011
    3
    what can i say this is one of the stupidest movies not just in 2010 but in the the 2000s. The movie 100% predictable whitch uasally doesnt not bother me most movies but this just sucks. the story is just simply and dumb as all that happens is a science experiment went wrong, thats it. As for a horror movie, its far from it as i didnt jump once and i sure many other people didnt either.what can i say this is one of the stupidest movies not just in 2010 but in the the 2000s. The movie 100% predictable whitch uasally doesnt not bother me most movies but this just sucks. the story is just simply and dumb as all that happens is a science experiment went wrong, thats it. As for a horror movie, its far from it as i didnt jump once and i sure many other people didnt either. unless its free dont see this one as its one of the worst of 2010 Expand
  26. Oct 9, 2011
    2
    This movie, simply and shortly: didn't make any sense. It's actually pretty funny to watch, that's how silly it is. I get Sci-Fi, I get scientific thrillers, but you know what I don't get? Splice.
  27. Mar 7, 2012
    2
    The failure of this film comes from the rapid-fire and never ending series of embarrassingly awful decisions made by the two main characters and how easily they get away with all of them. Suspension of disbelief is the film makers' responsibility.
  28. Jan 26, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was expecting a sci-fi horror, and that is not what I got. It had the sci-fi,and it had the horror, but the wrong kind of horror. Truly a disturbing flick, with the bisexual screwing/rape from a transgenic... Really nasty. Not enough good stuff at all to make up for it. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Despite Brody and Polley's reasonable efforts, they can't compensate for a script that undermines its curiosity about humanity.
  2. A cheeky, great-looking, thoughtfully loopy creature feature about the lure and dangers of cutting-edge gene splicing.
  3. Writer/director Vincenzo Natali takes his tale in some truly icky directions, not quite making it into Cronenbergland but going far enough to elicit solid 'ewww' laughs from the crowd.