Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 4, 2010
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 193 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
82
Mixed:
59
Negative:
52
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
KenBJun 12, 2010
Couldn't believe the series of irrational decisions by the leads. Great effects, though. Outright prolonged laughter at the movie by the audience I saw it with.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"Spice" is a movie that urges you not to observe the plot, but to observe the maturity and growth of a CGI'd SF creature. The movie's pretty fun to watch like looking at a science experiment.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
MarcoBJun 13, 2010
I've haven't seen such a fundamentally flawed movie in ages. Brody and Polley have absolutely no screen chemistry together. I didn't believe them as a couple for even a second so when their creation invariably threatens their I've haven't seen such a fundamentally flawed movie in ages. Brody and Polley have absolutely no screen chemistry together. I didn't believe them as a couple for even a second so when their creation invariably threatens their romance, I could not care less. Moreover, the Brody and Polley characters are supposed to be cutting edge scientists but they seem clueless about the imminent danger even though the warning signs are so obvious that a 7 yr old in the audience would be able to pick them out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AirOct 8, 2010
Really, don't expect anything stellar here. The biggest fault of the movie is that it tries to blend elements from various genres into one, mediocre package. The premise is intriguing; you are in a reality where gene splicing is already beingReally, don't expect anything stellar here. The biggest fault of the movie is that it tries to blend elements from various genres into one, mediocre package. The premise is intriguing; you are in a reality where gene splicing is already being used to cure many diseases of creatures other than humans (or something along that line). Two scientists who are in a romantic relationship decide to do the bold, and try using human genes in the splicing process. It is from that moment where they create the hybrid creature until the next hour which you must endure what can be called a "child-raising" sequence. However, right as you begin to think this is what the movie is all about, it takes a huge right turn and puts it in more of a horror-movie style setting, but only for a couple of minutes. Literally. It's obvious this was just put in there so they could snag the horror fanatics in their marketing, but if you come into this expecting a deep, compelling, and thought-provoking Sci-Fi film, or a scary and thrilling Horror film, then you may have come to the wrong place. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
StellaH.Jun 12, 2010
Adrian Brody should be ashamed of himself. The movie completely falls apart into the ridiculous half way through. It got so bad, people (including me) were laughing, one couple walked out. NPR's Science Friday should also be embarrassed Adrian Brody should be ashamed of himself. The movie completely falls apart into the ridiculous half way through. It got so bad, people (including me) were laughing, one couple walked out. NPR's Science Friday should also be embarrassed they gave the director credibility by having him on the show. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JasonJun 14, 2010
I really liked this movie. It was a mash-up of a lot of good concepts from previous movies that work well...I see that many of the negative reviews were from people who obviously don't get the idea behind "black humor." Yes, parts of it I really liked this movie. It was a mash-up of a lot of good concepts from previous movies that work well...I see that many of the negative reviews were from people who obviously don't get the idea behind "black humor." Yes, parts of it are supposed to be intentionally funny, and this does not mean it's a bad movie; horror and comedy can mix (intentionally) believe it or not. Save your money on Saw 5 (or whatever they're on now) and see this instead. Thought-provoking with real-world implications on where science is taking us. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PhilPJun 4, 2010
I can't believe that they spent so much money making such a completely terrible movie. I walked out of the theater thinking that I haven't seen a movie this bad since I made the mistake of renting "half cast". The upside, and why I I can't believe that they spent so much money making such a completely terrible movie. I walked out of the theater thinking that I haven't seen a movie this bad since I made the mistake of renting "half cast". The upside, and why I gave it a 2, it was entertaining. It kept my interest, and it had me nearly rolling on the floor laughing - I think this wasn't the director's intention however. If you're expecting a good horror/sci fi flick, look elsewhere, if you're looking for some entertainment, and possibly to laugh your ass off, this might be a decent choice. It's just too bad the laughs were all unintentional. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RyanD.Jun 5, 2010
The summary under the raiting section of this movie sums it up best when it says "disturbing" this movie was tasteless and repulsive. If you enjoy watching mythical creatures change sexes and rape women then this movie is for you, but if you The summary under the raiting section of this movie sums it up best when it says "disturbing" this movie was tasteless and repulsive. If you enjoy watching mythical creatures change sexes and rape women then this movie is for you, but if you enjoy everyday entertainment we today call "movies" then save your money or go see marmaduke Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JohnS.Jun 6, 2010
A fusion of "The Fly" and "Species" with a some disturbing pseudo incestuous sex / rape scenes. All in all, not very scary and predictable. The characters were some what irritating as well. Wait for the DVD. I was surprised to find a few A fusion of "The Fly" and "Species" with a some disturbing pseudo incestuous sex / rape scenes. All in all, not very scary and predictable. The characters were some what irritating as well. Wait for the DVD. I was surprised to find a few families bringing their young children. This movie has very disturbing and graphical sexual content. DO NOT BRING CHILDREN! I guess R-ratings aren't sufficient warning anymore. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NathanB.Jun 5, 2010
This movie owned. I can see why some might not like it. If you are looking for a movie that truly tackles the real life politics of genetic splicing or really explores the morality of it all, then you probably want to look elsewhere. Sure it This movie owned. I can see why some might not like it. If you are looking for a movie that truly tackles the real life politics of genetic splicing or really explores the morality of it all, then you probably want to look elsewhere. Sure it touches those briefly, but what we really have here is a fun, HILARIOUS semi horror movie that leaves you feelling as weird as the content matter. Personally I had a blast, laughed my tail off and was weirded out. I got to the movies for entertainment. And this definitely hit the spot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MikeLJun 5, 2010
The critics got this one TOTALLY wrong. Can't understand how it got good reviews. Dumb, dumb dumb! The audience was howling with laughter at serious scenes (not a good sign....).
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DoctorJJun 12, 2010
I'm not sure I saw the same movie that all the pro-critics saw. The Splice I saw was terrible. One of the worst films I've seen in a long time. Not scary, not funny, not intelligent. The only reason I stayed in the theatre was that I'm not sure I saw the same movie that all the pro-critics saw. The Splice I saw was terrible. One of the worst films I've seen in a long time. Not scary, not funny, not intelligent. The only reason I stayed in the theatre was that I kept hoping it might improve but it never did. A truly moronic effort. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
dangJun 17, 2010
As i left this movie half-way thru, i'm giving it half the rating i probably would if i'd stuck it out. i figure i left just before the alien smooching scene. i mean, if i want a good alient smooching scene i can always ask the ex As i left this movie half-way thru, i'm giving it half the rating i probably would if i'd stuck it out. i figure i left just before the alien smooching scene. i mean, if i want a good alient smooching scene i can always ask the ex to send over vids or her and her shall we say friends. people acting in movies like this, understandably, do it for the bucks (not withstanding that there's a harsh name for it). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
KevyBJun 18, 2010
Yeah, the Metacritic score is so off! While little of this is truly bad (except for the creature-lovin'), it's all truly predictable, so you find yourself glancing at your watch waiting for the scenes you know are coming to finally Yeah, the Metacritic score is so off! While little of this is truly bad (except for the creature-lovin'), it's all truly predictable, so you find yourself glancing at your watch waiting for the scenes you know are coming to finally get here. Which might be forgivable if this horror film had any scares to it. Aren't horror films supposed to be scary AND unpredictable? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JohnQ.Jun 4, 2010
The ending made the whole movie fall flat for me, it was just too grotesque by the end to be the perfect ending. [***SPOILER***] Without giving everything away, the story could have handled Dren better other than "it went crazy and had to be The ending made the whole movie fall flat for me, it was just too grotesque by the end to be the perfect ending. [***SPOILER***] Without giving everything away, the story could have handled Dren better other than "it went crazy and had to be killed". It's too bad, I liked the premise of exploring what creating a human-beast hybrid entails, ethics/morality of dabbling with nature (or creating a monster, depending). It's not an awful movie, just felt like the director forgot where he was going with it somewhere in the middle. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
RickWJun 14, 2010
Just plain horrible. People were laughing in the movie at some of the more ridiculous moments. God, how could anyone like this move?
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
dijavantewowOct 13, 2010
This movie isn't good. It isn't scary, but it is quite disturbing. Although Dren looks human, she is mostly other animals, so Adrian Brody has sex with an animal. Bestiality isn't something I wish to see, and even when the animal looks human,This movie isn't good. It isn't scary, but it is quite disturbing. Although Dren looks human, she is mostly other animals, so Adrian Brody has sex with an animal. Bestiality isn't something I wish to see, and even when the animal looks human, it just creeps me out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Average sci-fi movie. It's worth watching it for free, but I'm not sure I would pay to see in the theater or on DVD. It's a hair better than the made for SyFy movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LilyXAug 15, 2010
A truly disturbing and thought-provoking movie, far better than your average pop-corn scary flick - so I can see why some viewers disliked it. But the creepiest scenes aren't gratuitious at all. What's human? What's a beast? Are ourA truly disturbing and thought-provoking movie, far better than your average pop-corn scary flick - so I can see why some viewers disliked it. But the creepiest scenes aren't gratuitious at all. What's human? What's a beast? Are our behavioral patterns dictated by nature or culture? And most of all... was Sigmund Freud right? These are some of the questions posed by the film which. Good work, Natali, and congrats for casting two real actors and not random bimbos (like other horror movies.) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
lilkillpappyOct 13, 2010
disturbing + boring plot = don't bother Not nearly as good as an hour long episode of outer limits, sorry I watched it. Scifi horror is one of my favorite film genres, and I have watched a lot of disturbing crazy horrible stuff in mydisturbing + boring plot = don't bother Not nearly as good as an hour long episode of outer limits, sorry I watched it. Scifi horror is one of my favorite film genres, and I have watched a lot of disturbing crazy horrible stuff in my days, but this was the only one I wished I had not watched. Nothing high minded here, don't even bother to watch. Especially sad since Adrien Brody usually makes every movie worth watching. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
jthompsonOct 16, 2010
whoever thought that adding weird manimal sex scenes to this movie was a a good idea should be ashamed of themselves it was an extremely unpleasant and disturbing way to make a bad movie even worse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
BikerjamesDec 27, 2010
I haven't seen a movie this bad in awhile. The audience I saw it with was laughing along with me at all the really stupid people on the screen that kept making stupid decisions. One after the other. If this was a typical scary movie thatI haven't seen a movie this bad in awhile. The audience I saw it with was laughing along with me at all the really stupid people on the screen that kept making stupid decisions. One after the other. If this was a typical scary movie that might be acceptable, but these are supposed to be brilliant scientists. There are so many eye-rolling moments in this film you have to see it to believe it. I was in the mood for a good Sci-Fi movie because I hadn't seen one in awhile, and this was a total disappointment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KeatonJ.Jun 7, 2010
When it comes to sci-fi monster movies, Splice offers up something completely different. It is creepy, disturbing, and thought provoking. It follows two scientists who work splicing together animal DNA. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeetuK.Jun 4, 2010
Simply amazing. This movie is smart and entertaining!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeteyJun 4, 2010
Totally predictable, seems to take forever to tell the predictable story
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RandyM.Jun 5, 2010
"Splice" is horror of an almost Raimi-esque level. Like the recent "Drag Me to Hell," "Splice" is damn funny and horribly disgusting at the same time. It's a gross-out freak show with an agenda. It does a great job of criticizing "Splice" is horror of an almost Raimi-esque level. Like the recent "Drag Me to Hell," "Splice" is damn funny and horribly disgusting at the same time. It's a gross-out freak show with an agenda. It does a great job of criticizing genetic experimentation, parenting methods, and all the more disturbingly, human sexuality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LloydN.Jun 7, 2010
Found it neither enjoyable nor thought-provoking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadSJun 9, 2010
From neonate to grown-up, Dren, the flawless handiwork of CGI animators, is never less than convincing as a living thing. When Elsa(Sarah Polley) decks out her genetic deviation that she co-created with Clive(Adrien Brody), a fellow genetic From neonate to grown-up, Dren, the flawless handiwork of CGI animators, is never less than convincing as a living thing. When Elsa(Sarah Polley) decks out her genetic deviation that she co-created with Clive(Adrien Brody), a fellow genetic engineerist and bedmate, Dren stops being a special effect and starts to have a visceral impact on the moviegoer. She's simulacrum like Gollum was simulacrum, a technologically alive being that intergrates itself among the animate and inanimate objects which describe the natural world, instead of announcing its "otherness" through distraction, courtesy of such typical, self-evident pixelated fakery found in so many computer-generated characters(i.e. Jar-Jar Binks, for starters). Dren enchants. As a result, the filmmaker can go anywhere he wants to, and does, with Cronenberg-ian gusto(psycho-sexual politics, check; splatter effects, check), in which "Splice", among other things, works as a Mia Farrow-like revenge fantasy. In "Husbands and Wives", Farrow's last movie with veteran writer/director Woody Allen(her then-lover and collaborative partner), the moviegoer feels privvy to their common-law marital discord, but the auteur stops short of full disclosure, electing not to divulge the root cause. Allen's on-screen nebbish alter-ego, arguably the biggest nerd in all of filmdom, made his debut in Clive Donner's "What's New Pussycat?", and Clive just happens to be the name of the scientist(***SPOILER ALERT***), who initiates a sexual relationship with Dren("nerd" spelled backwards), a creature that Elsa treats like her own daughter. Clive should know better. Hands off. Polley, a risk-taking actress(Hal Hartley's "No Such Thing": the beauty doesn't f*** the beast) and accomplished filmmaker(the elegant "Away From Her"), is probably best-known for her role as a schoolbus crash survivor in Atom Egoyan's "The Sweet Hereafter", seems perfectly suited for the subtext at hand, when you consider the reluctant ingenue's track record for kinky sex(Nicole's consensual affair with her father) and revenge(Nicole's false testimony at the accident deposition after dad calls it quits). Since Dren enchants the moviegoer, it's perfectly plausible that Clive would fall under her spell. They dance. She has the scent of a woman. Soon after, they make love. When it's Elsa's turn, the moviegoer is hard-pressed to get a read on the mother figure's face during this incestuous coital act. The implications are disturbing, to say the least. "Splice" is the most thought-provoking science fiction film since David Cronenberg's "Existenz". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayTJun 9, 2010
If you like Cronenberg-esque body horror then this film is for you. 'Splice' has Great special effects, amazing acting and an intriguing storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
wrytyr0Jun 10, 2010
Definitely worth a rental .. the chimera they breed is [spoiler alert] really a device to encapsulate the 'lifetime" of a family into a few short weeks .. the strongest theme of the film [spoiler alert] is the helplessness of the child Definitely worth a rental .. the chimera they breed is [spoiler alert] really a device to encapsulate the 'lifetime" of a family into a few short weeks .. the strongest theme of the film [spoiler alert] is the helplessness of the child especially at the hands of the parents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful