• Studio: A24
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2013
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have neverI've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This film contained visually enticing cinematography with a oddly hypnotic aura. Seeing the neon glows fused with the gritty score of Cliff Martinez and Skrillex's party anthems made Spring Breakers that much better. If that does not hook you on, then James Franco's entertaining performance will.
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I didn't just watch this movie. I experienced it. I did not want it to end. Everybody in this movie was so nice. I just wanted to stay there forever and have fun. All the other movies out there are all the same compared to this music videostory. Nobody could ever figure out how it will unfold. They just know that somebody has to eventually have consequences in a fantasy land whereI didn't just watch this movie. I experienced it. I did not want it to end. Everybody in this movie was so nice. I just wanted to stay there forever and have fun. All the other movies out there are all the same compared to this music videostory. Nobody could ever figure out how it will unfold. They just know that somebody has to eventually have consequences in a fantasy land where responsibility does not exist... The only question is who and how. For that answer you have to watch this alternative treat. Just be sure to leave the kiddos at home this movie should be rated nc-17. Expand
  4. May 16, 2013
    10
    Spring break is getting to be like prom night or Thanksgiving: an alien American institution we've consumed so much in pop culture that it's almost as if we Brits have experienced it in our rainy Brit lives. Anyway, we're expected to be in on the cultural reference in this case, lithe, young college kids partying super hard in sunny Florida during the March vacation. The Glasgow comicSpring break is getting to be like prom night or Thanksgiving: an alien American institution we've consumed so much in pop culture that it's almost as if we Brits have experienced it in our rainy Brit lives. Anyway, we're expected to be in on the cultural reference in this case, lithe, young college kids partying super hard in sunny Florida during the March vacation. The Glasgow comic Kevin Bridges famously took a stand against this Americanisation, dourly recalling watching high school movies with "spring break" scenes: "We didn't have 'spring break'; we had the Easter holidays." Like a Christmas movie in December, this film has actually been released at the correct seasonal time, although it means less in the shivering UK than in the US. James Franco's creepy gangsta character in this film is always intoning the words: "Spring Breeeeaaak in a state of bleary ecstasy, as if invoking, or desecrating, a quasi-religious icon.Harmony Korine has given us a violent pulp true romance that could be renamed A Pre-Summer's Night's Wet Dream. Like the exploitation films by Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez, it's the kind of movie that looks as if it was created to fit the poster. The difference is that those films signalled that they were faux-trash. This is more like the real thing. Spring Breakers is Korine's most technically competent and fluent movie; probably his most commercial, his funniest, perhaps even his least irritating. The plot concerns college students who are bored with their course and their lives: they zone out and pass rude notes to each other during lectures on African-American experiences in the postwar US; this academic subject is a deadpan touch of insolence on Korine's part, considering the overtly racial aspect of what is finally to happen. These badass girls are Brit (Ashley Benson), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens) and Cotty, played by the director's wife, Rachel Korine. From their kindergarten days, they are friendly with Faith (Selena Gomez), a modest Christian girl. Our heroines are desperate to go on spring break, but have no money so with daring, masks and a fake gun, they knock over a fast-food restaurant and gloatingly exult in their cash ("It makes my look bigger!"). Taking Faith with them, they head for party central in the Sunshine State, falling there under the dangerous spell of the drug dealer, rapper and automatic-weapons-enthusiast Alien. He is played with tattoos, metal teeth and cornrows by Franco. Alien conceives a kind of passion for these women, like a non-pimp pimp who doesn't intend them to have sex with anyone but him. All too clearly, Korine is ventriloquising himself with this character. He creates four lissome heroines who appear in their bikinis pretty much all the time. Even in court. After a while, you have to wonder where the heck they are keeping their hotel-room keys, cash and phones etc. Korine became notorious with the script he wrote for Larry Clark's Kids in the 1990s and now, at 40, he has achieved well, not maturity exactly, but a kind of seniority, bordering on the maestro-perviness of the great Clark himself. Like that other spring-break classic, Piranha 3D, Spring Breakers is naturally an excuse to show lots of semi-naked women and men but mostly women with in-your-face/in-their-swimsuit-area shots. Alien is always gasping at how pretty his foursome are: giggling, they pose for the imaginary photo he frames with his fingers and yet all the women and indeed men on camera are pretty. Korine is giving us a preselected, pre-auditioned representation of youth and beauty. For all its absurdity and voyeurism, Korine brings to it a real authorial style. He shapes the pulp. He leches over the women, but he is also on their side. It is a world away from his (interesting) experimental piece Trash Humpers, and also, thankfully, from his excruciatingly annoying drama Mister Lonely. The colossal party scenes in the pool, on the beach, in the hotel room, on the balcony are coolly choreographed in montage, and the more desolate "reportage" shots outside all-night convenience stores look good. There is an undeniable directorial strut in Spring Breakers. Where, precisely, he is strutting to is another question. As for Faith, the good girl, her role is unexpected. Much is made of her attendance in Christian prayer groups, which sometimes convene in front of a huge stained-glass window. Given Faith's background, I wondered if there would be some reference, ironic or otherwise, to Good Friday or Easter Sunday the events that license the holiday. But no. I suspect the idea never occurred to Harmony Korine for a moment. It is an entirely pagan entertainment. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My friends and I saw this movie at a film festival and that was extremely grateful for us. But I must say this film shocked me. I've never seen a film by Harmony but after this I must check out his work. Selena sheds her good girl image and gets a little bad in her sadly SPOILER ALERT, she left when things got real bad so she was only in a very small amount of the film. Other then that she really stepped up in this. Vanessa since her movie Bandslam, Beastly, and Sucker Punch I have no longer looked at her as the cheesy High School Musical character I see her as a young, beautiful, and talented actress. In this she got really down and dirty, and some might think its slutty. But there all playing college girls on Spring Break they wont sit around and watch TV they will party there asses off. The pairing of Ashley and Vanessa was a good combo. Rachel the directors wife I believe I think made her acting debut superb. James eh. Just James a good actor came in on his A-Game. Skrillex scored the amazing soundtrack. And when I say amazing I mean it. The film is stylish from pink-blue-neon-glow in the dark everything colorful. To the fans who write comments like 'This is slutty or bad for them', you are one of the main reasons they do it. If I were on Disney what 4-6 years and Im 24 I wouldn't want people saying stop your a Disney Robot go back to HSM. No I want to be seen as more then that an actress (Baby V Shines). This is a movie ment for the 16-29 year old target.
    Amazing film only thing missing was a few more scenes to show more Selena.
    If you love movies with great parties, music, entertaining, takes you on a ride, dark, little comedy, good acting, near-exceptional writing, Xceptional FILMING. Then this is a must see.
    Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. According to Merritt, a WASP-wanna-be from the Midwest, Angie possesses "a criminal mind"(a subtle dig at her friend's Italian heritage), and indeed, all her talk about "cutting corners" to save money on their Florida trip in Where the Boys Are, does evoke Goodfellas, when Henry Hill gives us the nuts and bolts of mafia life. Far from hijacking trucks, the caper that Angie proposes is a "steak-out", described by the brunette as follows: you order the meat, you eat half, and then you bring the other half back to the $22/a night motel room that they share with two other girls. Thoroughly modern Merritt, despite being the class spokesperson for "playing house before marriage", antagonizing her professor in the process after a lecture on "random dating among college freshmen", is in actuality, a virgin, but the blond is progressive, therefore corruptible, so the girl goes "wild", allowing herself to be Angie's partner-in-crime. At a local hangout, we see the Italian on her latest job(with Merritt in-tow), masquerading as paying customers, in which the broke girls nurse complimentary cups of hot water flavored with contraband teabags, while nibbling on bring-your-own-saltines that they shuttle to and fro below the diner countertop in their attempt to escape detection from the greasy spoon's proprietor. For this, hijinks which seem tame compared to, say, armed robbery and first-degree murder, Merritt half-jokingly tells Angie that her scheme will land them in San Quentin. For its era, they were loose, because good girls, as portrayed in the movies, thought about going steady, not going all the way, or "backseat bingo" as Merritt puts it. Whereas Tuggle asks a male hitchhiker, "How big are your feet?" Candy, in Spring Breakers, is less coy, holding up a sign for Brit in a darkened lecture hall that reads: I want penis. More than no guilt sex, or to borrow the professor's formal terminology: premature emotional involvement on a first date, what Brit and her friends really lust after is money. No cutting corners for these toxic princesses; this is a new breed of "kids". To procure a bankroll for their booze-and-drug fueled vacation, they rob a chicken shack, intimidating the customers with squirt guns, hammers, and 'tude. Safe to say, when Brit, sensing apprehension from her partners concerning their felonious plot, tells them to "act like you're in a movie," that movie isn't Where the Boys Are. Although the girls are no angels; they drink and smoke(Tuggle shows a fake I.D. to the barkeep, while Merritt and Melanie puff on cigarettes), and have sex(Melanie has multiple partners, the last one ending in date rape), their debauchery is no match for all the bong hits and alcohol that find passage through the half-naked bodies of these libertine sociopaths. Quite pointedly, the girls in Where the Boys Are dig jazz, dialectic jazz, played by white musicians, akin to Spring Breakers, where Alien, a rapper/drug kingpin, plays hip hop to the sunburnt party people; a white rapper, whose antecedent, Basil, the white leader of a bebop trio, are homologous entities in their appropriation of what is considered to be a black music form. Given the seamless diversity among Larry Clark's Kids, the fluidity in which the contravening cultural group manipulates the expropriated genre on the beachfront stage would seem to be an intentional ploy on the filmmaker's part, since the diegetic music performed by the co-opting musicians in Spring Breakers, accentuates the unexpressed but readily apparent segregation laws that keeps the Ft. Lauderdale of Where the Boys Are uniform with one single skin color. At the outset of the 1960 film, the university campus that the girls attend is inundated with snow, and more importantly, a strong gust; an unintentional, but nevertheless, pointed metaphor about a change in the wind that would beget the Civil Rights Movement. Faced with a remodeling of the social stratum, the girls, conspicuously, head south. Back at the aforementioned diner, a male patron seated next to Merritt, spreads ketchup over a slice of white bread. Contextually speaking, the innocuous act now reads as her indifference to shed blood, the fallout from racial strife. Although Brit and Candy gun down numerous young black men at Alien's arch-rival's compound, their skin color, arguably, is a matter of sheer happenstance. They're post-colonial. The victims could easily have been white. Granted, at a seminar, the BFFs ignore a murder scene photograph of Emmitt Till, the 14-year-old boy whose death spearheaded an activism for social change. And yet, the same girls seem at ease with Alien's crowd, primarily black, at a run-down pool hall. It's Faith, the innocent and sheltered one, cut more from the same cloth as Merritt and her pals, who feels anxious and uneasy in mixed company. Faith is a proxy, a throwback, the good girl interested only in where the white boys are. Collapse
  7. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Don't be skeptical of Spring Breakers simply because you find its subject matter unworthy. Instead, let Harmony Korine's breathtaking, surreal, and confounding work of art wash over you. This is not a film. It's an experience. Spring Breakers is unlike any movie you've ever seen. It's electric, vibrant, artistic, beautiful, and, most importantly, it has something to say.
  8. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, withI recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, with special mention for James Franco, he really gave it his all and it shows. Despite all these positive feelings I still feel like its a Marmite film and will disappoint allot of people, for me though the story went in a direction I wasn't expecting and kept me interested throughout. Expand
  9. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    I don't know why so many negative reviews for this incredible movie. Spring Breakers is a beautiful movie, but unfortunately very few people understand the real meaning of it. The direction and the story are magnificent, the film isn't tiring, it has sad and happy scenes but the both fit together. I have no words to describe it. People should stop focusing on the **** and start focusing onI don't know why so many negative reviews for this incredible movie. Spring Breakers is a beautiful movie, but unfortunately very few people understand the real meaning of it. The direction and the story are magnificent, the film isn't tiring, it has sad and happy scenes but the both fit together. I have no words to describe it. People should stop focusing on the **** and start focusing on the film. Expand
  10. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    It's a polarizing film, but it's also brilliant. A new age Taxi Driver on drugs, with multitudes of themes, original cinematography and a commanding performance from James Franco. Don't miss this.

    If you hate this film you're missing the point.
  11. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Spring Breakers is a 2012 film directed by Harmony Korine. Film politically incorrect, Spring Breakers can send us a biting social commentary about young people and what they are becoming. The cast was very good but among all the absolute best is definitely James Franco. The only flaw was the ending that was supposed to be different.
  12. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It could have been literally no better than garbage, but it's artfully told and James Franco gives an Oscar-worthy performance. The ending rings a little false, but the film contains the greatest use of a Britney Spears song, so all is forgiven.
  13. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    "Spring Breakers" is in many way a revelation. Harmony Korine has decided to turn away from the pretentious "shock" of earlier films and has created a moody, hypnotic treatise on youth. It evokes Soderbergh's brilliant "The Limey" in structure and tone, and the acting is terrific. The less you know the better, but there is a scene that is as uncomfortable and riveting as "Cape Fear"'s"Spring Breakers" is in many way a revelation. Harmony Korine has decided to turn away from the pretentious "shock" of earlier films and has created a moody, hypnotic treatise on youth. It evokes Soderbergh's brilliant "The Limey" in structure and tone, and the acting is terrific. The less you know the better, but there is a scene that is as uncomfortable and riveting as "Cape Fear"'s scene with Robert DeNiro and Juliette Lewis. In fact, Franco could be channeling DeNiro's performance, but he is uniquely original as well. Expand
  14. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    Springbreakers starts like an MTV pop video complete with quick cutting and busy visuals and my first reactions were in the negative. The film is full of unlikeable characters and, along with prison, spring break seems like an activity that most rational people would wish to avoid. The voice over narration from the girls' point of view presents it as a kind of utopia that the accompanyingSpringbreakers starts like an MTV pop video complete with quick cutting and busy visuals and my first reactions were in the negative. The film is full of unlikeable characters and, along with prison, spring break seems like an activity that most rational people would wish to avoid. The voice over narration from the girls' point of view presents it as a kind of utopia that the accompanying visuals deny. There is no denying the technical package, though. Stylised direction, eye catching cinematography and skillful editing help to ensure that the film looks slick and professional and yes, after abandoning my initial misgivings, the film does become hypnotically compelling. James Franco, in another 'out there' performance, is just great as the rapper/gangster Alien and the music by Cliff Martinez adds a whole other dimension to the proceedings. One of the best scenes has James Franco playing piano and the three remaining girls singing a sweet Britney Spears song whilst inter cuts show the violence they have perpetrated. Surprisingly good! Expand
  15. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    the thing about Springbreakers against any prediction of how the cast make it bad in a harmony korine movie is that actually the cast gives to it a whole new level. For one, James Franco is amazing, is not just his transformation is the whole sense he gives to it, he actually is so mesmerizing there that he can convince you of everything, and then Vanessa and Ashley are so badass that youthe thing about Springbreakers against any prediction of how the cast make it bad in a harmony korine movie is that actually the cast gives to it a whole new level. For one, James Franco is amazing, is not just his transformation is the whole sense he gives to it, he actually is so mesmerizing there that he can convince you of everything, and then Vanessa and Ashley are so badass that you do get some kind of empathy, you do empathize with them and the whole free sense, empowering sense, isnt just about craziness, is about the sense that you can eat the world, that nothing is gonna stop you, but at the end there is smth that stops you, being it your self consciousness but at the end they also are self contradictory and that shows what this age is about, ok we arent gonna go rob a shop or kill someone but we go under a stage where we believe we can do whatever and its not, at the end we all are tamed, and even if that means we are hypocrite because we go back to society rules, this is a sort of analogy that needs to be read with open mind, enjoy the art and enjoy the act. Expand
  16. MPB
    Mar 26, 2013
    10
    To be honest, I think, that it should be played in every school to show young teenagers, what can happen at simple spring break. This movie is revolutionary, visionary... and I can't wait to see it again.
  17. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Spring Breakers is a must see flick, it reminds me and almost playbacks "Thirteen" which is a masterpiece, it is not only "party till dawn" type of movie (Project X & 21 and Over) no, it is way more than that. The acting, I thought was good, especially coming from these types of actors (Disney Princesses) and as always, James Franco gives an outstanding performance, the plot is clever andSpring Breakers is a must see flick, it reminds me and almost playbacks "Thirteen" which is a masterpiece, it is not only "party till dawn" type of movie (Project X & 21 and Over) no, it is way more than that. The acting, I thought was good, especially coming from these types of actors (Disney Princesses) and as always, James Franco gives an outstanding performance, the plot is clever and twisty, some fight scenes are chilling, but dialogue is somewhat repetitive in one point, but still, Spring Breakers is a BLAST! Expand
  18. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Enjoyable movie I really liked most of it, I would be interested to see a follow up maybe with Miley Cyrus. James Franco made the experience that much greater it really shows how diverse his acting skills are.
  19. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Spring Breakers might be my favorite film of the year. Never before has a film made me tear up because of how masterfully beautiful it was done. A haunting and moving experience.
  20. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Spring Breakers is a unique experience featuring lots of depth and style. Harmony Korine is a great artist. That might be where to start, because everyone seems to diss this film and its director, and I'm here to disagree. He kept his style, and that's why I loved it! Most people who went to see this probably didn't know anything about him and also probably didn't care about who he was orSpring Breakers is a unique experience featuring lots of depth and style. Harmony Korine is a great artist. That might be where to start, because everyone seems to diss this film and its director, and I'm here to disagree. He kept his style, and that's why I loved it! Most people who went to see this probably didn't know anything about him and also probably didn't care about who he was or what he had done before... Expand
  21. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    Perfect actresses, perfect story, perfect direction, for this, that's all **** perfect hahaha! I really miss movies like that in theaters.. the only problem is that doesn't came to brazilian theaters :/
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Apr 1, 2013
    80
    A lurid, luminous teen-bender movie, as ludicrous as it is stylish, and Harmony Korine’s best film in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 28, 2013
    75
    Whether the film is uniquely brilliant or dismissively dumb is not the issue here. Either choice can (and will) be offered – it’s the choosing that counts.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 26, 2013
    91
    Atmospherically, Spring Breakers is an elegant evocation of noir storytelling, littered with misdeeds with girls and guns at every turn.