Spring Breakers

  • Studio: A24
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2013
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 390 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have neverI've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    I don't know why so many negative reviews for this incredible movie. Spring Breakers is a beautiful movie, but unfortunately very few people understand the real meaning of it. The direction and the story are magnificent, the film isn't tiring, it has sad and happy scenes but the both fit together. I have no words to describe it. People should stop focusing on the **** and start focusing onI don't know why so many negative reviews for this incredible movie. Spring Breakers is a beautiful movie, but unfortunately very few people understand the real meaning of it. The direction and the story are magnificent, the film isn't tiring, it has sad and happy scenes but the both fit together. I have no words to describe it. People should stop focusing on the **** and start focusing on the film. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    Spring Breakers is a pleasant surprise despite being uneven, in some parts silly and outrageous, but most of Spring Breakers being first rate art-direction with charming performances especially coming from James Franco, it isn't everyone's cup of tea, but still it is worth checking out.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. According to Merritt, a WASP-wanna-be from the Midwest, Angie possesses "a criminal mind"(a subtle dig at her friend's Italian heritage), and indeed, all her talk about "cutting corners" to save money on their Florida trip in Where the Boys Are, does evoke Goodfellas, when Henry Hill gives us the nuts and bolts of mafia life. Far from hijacking trucks, the caper that Angie proposes is a "steak-out", described by the brunette as follows: you order the meat, you eat half, and then you bring the other half back to the $22/a night motel room that they share with two other girls. Thoroughly modern Merritt, despite being the class spokesperson for "playing house before marriage", antagonizing her professor in the process after a lecture on "random dating among college freshmen", is in actuality, a virgin, but the blond is progressive, therefore corruptible, so the girl goes "wild", allowing herself to be Angie's partner-in-crime. At a local hangout, we see the Italian on her latest job(with Merritt in-tow), masquerading as paying customers, in which the broke girls nurse complimentary cups of hot water flavored with contraband teabags, while nibbling on bring-your-own-saltines that they shuttle to and fro below the diner countertop in their attempt to escape detection from the greasy spoon's proprietor. For this, hijinks which seem tame compared to, say, armed robbery and first-degree murder, Merritt half-jokingly tells Angie that her scheme will land them in San Quentin. For its era, they were loose, because good girls, as portrayed in the movies, thought about going steady, not going all the way, or "backseat bingo" as Merritt puts it. Whereas Tuggle asks a male hitchhiker, "How big are your feet?" Candy, in Spring Breakers, is less coy, holding up a sign for Brit in a darkened lecture hall that reads: I want penis. More than no guilt sex, or to borrow the professor's formal terminology: premature emotional involvement on a first date, what Brit and her friends really lust after is money. No cutting corners for these toxic princesses; this is a new breed of "kids". To procure a bankroll for their booze-and-drug fueled vacation, they rob a chicken shack, intimidating the customers with squirt guns, hammers, and 'tude. Safe to say, when Brit, sensing apprehension from her partners concerning their felonious plot, tells them to "act like you're in a movie," that movie isn't Where the Boys Are. Although the girls are no angels; they drink and smoke(Tuggle shows a fake I.D. to the barkeep, while Merritt and Melanie puff on cigarettes), and have sex(Melanie has multiple partners, the last one ending in date rape), their debauchery is no match for all the bong hits and alcohol that find passage through the half-naked bodies of these libertine sociopaths. Quite pointedly, the girls in Where the Boys Are dig jazz, dialectic jazz, played by white musicians, akin to Spring Breakers, where Alien, a rapper/drug kingpin, plays hip hop to the sunburnt party people; a white rapper, whose antecedent, Basil, the white leader of a bebop trio, are homologous entities in their appropriation of what is considered to be a black music form. Given the seamless diversity among Larry Clark's Kids, the fluidity in which the contravening cultural group manipulates the expropriated genre on the beachfront stage would seem to be an intentional ploy on the filmmaker's part, since the diegetic music performed by the co-opting musicians in Spring Breakers, accentuates the unexpressed but readily apparent segregation laws that keeps the Ft. Lauderdale of Where the Boys Are uniform with one single skin color. At the outset of the 1960 film, the university campus that the girls attend is inundated with snow, and more importantly, a strong gust; an unintentional, but nevertheless, pointed metaphor about a change in the wind that would beget the Civil Rights Movement. Faced with a remodeling of the social stratum, the girls, conspicuously, head south. Back at the aforementioned diner, a male patron seated next to Merritt, spreads ketchup over a slice of white bread. Contextually speaking, the innocuous act now reads as her indifference to shed blood, the fallout from racial strife. Although Brit and Candy gun down numerous young black men at Alien's arch-rival's compound, their skin color, arguably, is a matter of sheer happenstance. They're post-colonial. The victims could easily have been white. Granted, at a seminar, the BFFs ignore a murder scene photograph of Emmitt Till, the 14-year-old boy whose death spearheaded an activism for social change. And yet, the same girls seem at ease with Alien's crowd, primarily black, at a run-down pool hall. It's Faith, the innocent and sheltered one, cut more from the same cloth as Merritt and her pals, who feels anxious and uneasy in mixed company. Faith is a proxy, a throwback, the good girl interested only in where the white boys are. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, withI recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, with special mention for James Franco, he really gave it his all and it shows. Despite all these positive feelings I still feel like its a Marmite film and will disappoint allot of people, for me though the story went in a direction I wasn't expecting and kept me interested throughout. Expand
  6. May 16, 2013
    10
    Spring break is getting to be like prom night or Thanksgiving: an alien American institution we've consumed so much in pop culture that it's almost as if we Brits have experienced it in our rainy Brit lives. Anyway, we're expected to be in on the cultural reference in this case, lithe, young college kids partying super hard in sunny Florida during the March vacation. The Glasgow comicSpring break is getting to be like prom night or Thanksgiving: an alien American institution we've consumed so much in pop culture that it's almost as if we Brits have experienced it in our rainy Brit lives. Anyway, we're expected to be in on the cultural reference in this case, lithe, young college kids partying super hard in sunny Florida during the March vacation. The Glasgow comic Kevin Bridges famously took a stand against this Americanisation, dourly recalling watching high school movies with "spring break" scenes: "We didn't have 'spring break'; we had the Easter holidays." Like a Christmas movie in December, this film has actually been released at the correct seasonal time, although it means less in the shivering UK than in the US. James Franco's creepy gangsta character in this film is always intoning the words: "Spring Breeeeaaak in a state of bleary ecstasy, as if invoking, or desecrating, a quasi-religious icon.Harmony Korine has given us a violent pulp true romance that could be renamed A Pre-Summer's Night's Wet Dream. Like the exploitation films by Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez, it's the kind of movie that looks as if it was created to fit the poster. The difference is that those films signalled that they were faux-trash. This is more like the real thing. Spring Breakers is Korine's most technically competent and fluent movie; probably his most commercial, his funniest, perhaps even his least irritating. The plot concerns college students who are bored with their course and their lives: they zone out and pass rude notes to each other during lectures on African-American experiences in the postwar US; this academic subject is a deadpan touch of insolence on Korine's part, considering the overtly racial aspect of what is finally to happen. These badass girls are Brit (Ashley Benson), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens) and Cotty, played by the director's wife, Rachel Korine. From their kindergarten days, they are friendly with Faith (Selena Gomez), a modest Christian girl. Our heroines are desperate to go on spring break, but have no money so with daring, masks and a fake gun, they knock over a fast-food restaurant and gloatingly exult in their cash ("It makes my look bigger!"). Taking Faith with them, they head for party central in the Sunshine State, falling there under the dangerous spell of the drug dealer, rapper and automatic-weapons-enthusiast Alien. He is played with tattoos, metal teeth and cornrows by Franco. Alien conceives a kind of passion for these women, like a non-pimp pimp who doesn't intend them to have sex with anyone but him. All too clearly, Korine is ventriloquising himself with this character. He creates four lissome heroines who appear in their bikinis pretty much all the time. Even in court. After a while, you have to wonder where the heck they are keeping their hotel-room keys, cash and phones etc. Korine became notorious with the script he wrote for Larry Clark's Kids in the 1990s and now, at 40, he has achieved well, not maturity exactly, but a kind of seniority, bordering on the maestro-perviness of the great Clark himself. Like that other spring-break classic, Piranha 3D, Spring Breakers is naturally an excuse to show lots of semi-naked women and men but mostly women with in-your-face/in-their-swimsuit-area shots. Alien is always gasping at how pretty his foursome are: giggling, they pose for the imaginary photo he frames with his fingers and yet all the women and indeed men on camera are pretty. Korine is giving us a preselected, pre-auditioned representation of youth and beauty. For all its absurdity and voyeurism, Korine brings to it a real authorial style. He shapes the pulp. He leches over the women, but he is also on their side. It is a world away from his (interesting) experimental piece Trash Humpers, and also, thankfully, from his excruciatingly annoying drama Mister Lonely. The colossal party scenes in the pool, on the beach, in the hotel room, on the balcony are coolly choreographed in montage, and the more desolate "reportage" shots outside all-night convenience stores look good. There is an undeniable directorial strut in Spring Breakers. Where, precisely, he is strutting to is another question. As for Faith, the good girl, her role is unexpected. Much is made of her attendance in Christian prayer groups, which sometimes convene in front of a huge stained-glass window. Given Faith's background, I wondered if there would be some reference, ironic or otherwise, to Good Friday or Easter Sunday the events that license the holiday. But no. I suspect the idea never occurred to Harmony Korine for a moment. It is an entirely pagan entertainment. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This film contained visually enticing cinematography with a oddly hypnotic aura. Seeing the neon glows fused with the gritty score of Cliff Martinez and Skrillex's party anthems made Spring Breakers that much better. If that does not hook you on, then James Franco's entertaining performance will.
  8. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I didn't just watch this movie. I experienced it. I did not want it to end. Everybody in this movie was so nice. I just wanted to stay there forever and have fun. All the other movies out there are all the same compared to this music videostory. Nobody could ever figure out how it will unfold. They just know that somebody has to eventually have consequences in a fantasy land whereI didn't just watch this movie. I experienced it. I did not want it to end. Everybody in this movie was so nice. I just wanted to stay there forever and have fun. All the other movies out there are all the same compared to this music videostory. Nobody could ever figure out how it will unfold. They just know that somebody has to eventually have consequences in a fantasy land where responsibility does not exist... The only question is who and how. For that answer you have to watch this alternative treat. Just be sure to leave the kiddos at home this movie should be rated nc-17. Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My friends and I saw this movie at a film festival and that was extremely grateful for us. But I must say this film shocked me. I've never seen a film by Harmony but after this I must check out his work. Selena sheds her good girl image and gets a little bad in her sadly SPOILER ALERT, she left when things got real bad so she was only in a very small amount of the film. Other then that she really stepped up in this. Vanessa since her movie Bandslam, Beastly, and Sucker Punch I have no longer looked at her as the cheesy High School Musical character I see her as a young, beautiful, and talented actress. In this she got really down and dirty, and some might think its slutty. But there all playing college girls on Spring Break they wont sit around and watch TV they will party there asses off. The pairing of Ashley and Vanessa was a good combo. Rachel the directors wife I believe I think made her acting debut superb. James eh. Just James a good actor came in on his A-Game. Skrillex scored the amazing soundtrack. And when I say amazing I mean it. The film is stylish from pink-blue-neon-glow in the dark everything colorful. To the fans who write comments like 'This is slutty or bad for them', you are one of the main reasons they do it. If I were on Disney what 4-6 years and Im 24 I wouldn't want people saying stop your a Disney Robot go back to HSM. No I want to be seen as more then that an actress (Baby V Shines). This is a movie ment for the 16-29 year old target.
    Amazing film only thing missing was a few more scenes to show more Selena.
    If you love movies with great parties, music, entertaining, takes you on a ride, dark, little comedy, good acting, near-exceptional writing, Xceptional FILMING. Then this is a must see.
    Expand
  10. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    If your a Harmony Korine fan you will not be disappointed. Spring Breakers brings performances that are out of this world by actresses you would have never of guessed be so good. James Franco in my opinion had an oscar-worthy performance. The beauty of this will was how fun the party is and how amazing the violence can get. SPRING BREAK!
  11. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Don't be skeptical of Spring Breakers simply because you find its subject matter unworthy. Instead, let Harmony Korine's breathtaking, surreal, and confounding work of art wash over you. This is not a film. It's an experience. Spring Breakers is unlike any movie you've ever seen. It's electric, vibrant, artistic, beautiful, and, most importantly, it has something to say.
  12. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    It's a polarizing film, but it's also brilliant. A new age Taxi Driver on drugs, with multitudes of themes, original cinematography and a commanding performance from James Franco. Don't miss this.

    If you hate this film you're missing the point.
  13. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Spring Breakers is a 2012 film directed by Harmony Korine. Film politically incorrect, Spring Breakers can send us a biting social commentary about young people and what they are becoming. The cast was very good but among all the absolute best is definitely James Franco. The only flaw was the ending that was supposed to be different.
  14. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    For a full review go to: http://youngthespian42films.blogspot.com/2013/03/spring-breakers.html I highly recommend this movie to anyone passionate about gender politics. This movie is somewhat cerebral in its technique and the meaning and message are both up to interpretation. If you are looking for the next Miami Vice or Fast and the Furious this is not the movie for you. This movieFor a full review go to: http://youngthespian42films.blogspot.com/2013/03/spring-breakers.html I highly recommend this movie to anyone passionate about gender politics. This movie is somewhat cerebral in its technique and the meaning and message are both up to interpretation. If you are looking for the next Miami Vice or Fast and the Furious this is not the movie for you. This movie uses so many art house techniques to tell this story that I never had the space to discuss. This movie is just another strong signifier in my mind that we are entering a new New Hollywood era. I can't wait to keep having new and exciting experiences at the cinema. No matter what you think about this movie it is definitely a unique experience and something really different than usual Hollywood schlock. Expand
  15. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It could have been literally no better than garbage, but it's artfully told and James Franco gives an Oscar-worthy performance. The ending rings a little false, but the film contains the greatest use of a Britney Spears song, so all is forgiven.
  16. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    "Spring Breakers" is in many way a revelation. Harmony Korine has decided to turn away from the pretentious "shock" of earlier films and has created a moody, hypnotic treatise on youth. It evokes Soderbergh's brilliant "The Limey" in structure and tone, and the acting is terrific. The less you know the better, but there is a scene that is as uncomfortable and riveting as "Cape Fear"'s"Spring Breakers" is in many way a revelation. Harmony Korine has decided to turn away from the pretentious "shock" of earlier films and has created a moody, hypnotic treatise on youth. It evokes Soderbergh's brilliant "The Limey" in structure and tone, and the acting is terrific. The less you know the better, but there is a scene that is as uncomfortable and riveting as "Cape Fear"'s scene with Robert DeNiro and Juliette Lewis. In fact, Franco could be channeling DeNiro's performance, but he is uniquely original as well. Expand
  17. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    Springbreakers starts like an MTV pop video complete with quick cutting and busy visuals and my first reactions were in the negative. The film is full of unlikeable characters and, along with prison, spring break seems like an activity that most rational people would wish to avoid. The voice over narration from the girls' point of view presents it as a kind of utopia that the accompanyingSpringbreakers starts like an MTV pop video complete with quick cutting and busy visuals and my first reactions were in the negative. The film is full of unlikeable characters and, along with prison, spring break seems like an activity that most rational people would wish to avoid. The voice over narration from the girls' point of view presents it as a kind of utopia that the accompanying visuals deny. There is no denying the technical package, though. Stylised direction, eye catching cinematography and skillful editing help to ensure that the film looks slick and professional and yes, after abandoning my initial misgivings, the film does become hypnotically compelling. James Franco, in another 'out there' performance, is just great as the rapper/gangster Alien and the music by Cliff Martinez adds a whole other dimension to the proceedings. One of the best scenes has James Franco playing piano and the three remaining girls singing a sweet Britney Spears song whilst inter cuts show the violence they have perpetrated. Surprisingly good! Expand
  18. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    This was a hard film to rate for me mainly because the first half was getting repetitive and boring, but the second half of this film after they introduce James Franco's character was really interesting. Franco is the best part of this film putting on a really strange and funny performance. I was stuck between a 7 and an 8, but the style and the fact that there are some very memorableThis was a hard film to rate for me mainly because the first half was getting repetitive and boring, but the second half of this film after they introduce James Franco's character was really interesting. Franco is the best part of this film putting on a really strange and funny performance. I was stuck between a 7 and an 8, but the style and the fact that there are some very memorable scenes give this film a very low 8. Expand
  19. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    the thing about Springbreakers against any prediction of how the cast make it bad in a harmony korine movie is that actually the cast gives to it a whole new level. For one, James Franco is amazing, is not just his transformation is the whole sense he gives to it, he actually is so mesmerizing there that he can convince you of everything, and then Vanessa and Ashley are so badass that youthe thing about Springbreakers against any prediction of how the cast make it bad in a harmony korine movie is that actually the cast gives to it a whole new level. For one, James Franco is amazing, is not just his transformation is the whole sense he gives to it, he actually is so mesmerizing there that he can convince you of everything, and then Vanessa and Ashley are so badass that you do get some kind of empathy, you do empathize with them and the whole free sense, empowering sense, isnt just about craziness, is about the sense that you can eat the world, that nothing is gonna stop you, but at the end there is smth that stops you, being it your self consciousness but at the end they also are self contradictory and that shows what this age is about, ok we arent gonna go rob a shop or kill someone but we go under a stage where we believe we can do whatever and its not, at the end we all are tamed, and even if that means we are hypocrite because we go back to society rules, this is a sort of analogy that needs to be read with open mind, enjoy the art and enjoy the act. Expand
  20. MPB
    Mar 26, 2013
    10
    To be honest, I think, that it should be played in every school to show young teenagers, what can happen at simple spring break. This movie is revolutionary, visionary... and I can't wait to see it again.
  21. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    Tl;dr Debunking "the grass is always greener" myth with the help of sex, drugs, money, and violence. It's awesome.

    Let's start with the bad: This movie is a fantasy, or a narrative if that's your preference, but in either case it is not a story as it clearly has no thoughtful ending. I tried justifying this lack of a true story ark as "stream of consciousness" but the movie has no idea
    Tl;dr Debunking "the grass is always greener" myth with the help of sex, drugs, money, and violence. It's awesome.

    Let's start with the bad: This movie is a fantasy, or a narrative if that's your preference, but in either case it is not a story as it clearly has no thoughtful ending. I tried justifying this lack of a true story ark as "stream of consciousness" but the movie has no idea who the real narrator is. Additionally, no single actor gives a great performance, not even James Franco. However, that is largely a product of the difficulties that accompany former Disney stardom. Instead of envisioning Vanessa and Selena as "average college girls," the movie posits the two as a couple of Catholic schoolgirls recently released from Our Lady of Disney Academy. That is to say it is impossible to divorce their former roles as emissaries of all things chaste and tasteful from their outrageous portrayals in this movie.

    Now for the good:

    The soundtrack. With the heavy electronic and dubstep influences, the soundtrack denotes this movie as the first outrageous party movie to be firmly, inextricably grounded in the 2010-2019 decade (and yes, I have seen Project X). The soundtrack perfectly mirrors the movie, its highs are outrageous and its lows are hallowing. Next, the editing. People can bash the repetition of lines and shots all they want, but the cinematography in this movie was damn good. The devotion to an "artistic" vibe made the beginning a little dizzying and difficult to comprehend, but it was justified by moments of intense clarity later on in the movie. Finally, the girls in this movie are just plain gorgeous, there's no way around it. If as a girl that makes you feel threatened, I must advise you to see something else. Disclaimer: I love outrageous movies, because I see them for what they are: movies. If you hated Django Unchained for its unrealistic depictions of violence and red-eyed fantasies of revenge, then you won't like this movie either. If you do go see this movie, I urge you to give the director the benefit of the doubt that underneath tantalizing images and violent fantasies lies a very real, accessible message.
    Expand
  22. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Spring Breakers is a must see flick, it reminds me and almost playbacks "Thirteen" which is a masterpiece, it is not only "party till dawn" type of movie (Project X & 21 and Over) no, it is way more than that. The acting, I thought was good, especially coming from these types of actors (Disney Princesses) and as always, James Franco gives an outstanding performance, the plot is clever andSpring Breakers is a must see flick, it reminds me and almost playbacks "Thirteen" which is a masterpiece, it is not only "party till dawn" type of movie (Project X & 21 and Over) no, it is way more than that. The acting, I thought was good, especially coming from these types of actors (Disney Princesses) and as always, James Franco gives an outstanding performance, the plot is clever and twisty, some fight scenes are chilling, but dialogue is somewhat repetitive in one point, but still, Spring Breakers is a BLAST! Collapse
  23. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    This thing swings from totally brilliant to uneven, sometimes in the same scene. At the end, I can't wrap my brain around it completely. I appreciate the visual artistry but the story telling suffers from the flash and never fully takes off. I actually think there is an iconic movie in there somewhere that either got lost in the edit(s) or just died along the way during the writing process.
  24. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    When I first saw this back in March, I didn't like it. I never found it to be terrible, per se, but due to the trailers, buzz, and reviews, I was expecting something that was darkly funny and satirical and I left the theater saying, "Wow, that was a waste of potential." While it is both of those things some times (but very rarely), it's very bleak and kind of disturbing, with its greatWhen I first saw this back in March, I didn't like it. I never found it to be terrible, per se, but due to the trailers, buzz, and reviews, I was expecting something that was darkly funny and satirical and I left the theater saying, "Wow, that was a waste of potential." While it is both of those things some times (but very rarely), it's very bleak and kind of disturbing, with its great hypnotic and dreamlike filmmaking, dim tone, and welcome repetitiveness that showcases the hedonism of spring break activities and the youth of America. The social commentary is there with the ironic and contradictory voiceover work as well as the continual downward spiral of these four girls when their temptations are maximized and succumbed to and when their love for easy entertainment gets the best of them. The portrayal of the girls was realistic with the voiceovers talking about how "spiritual" their break is while showing the girls having sex and doing cocaine, and the shots intercut of Selena Gomez at her church spliced with her smoking pot. The casting was all very good; I loved how Harmony Korine decided to cast innocent-looking girls previously known for their adorable Disney work to show how innocence can be lost so easily. The acting was solid on everyone's parts, conveying the awfulness of these people. 8.4/10, great, one thumb up, above average, etc. Expand
  25. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Spring Breakers might be my favorite film of the year. Never before has a film made me tear up because of how masterfully beautiful it was done. A haunting and moving experience.
  26. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Spring Breakers plays out like a music video, using dialog second to action. But whether it's action or dialog it's always going to have some kind of impact which is why I can appreciate Harmony Korine. A nice change from the norm. Not exactly for cuddling up with your sweetheart but if your girlfriend likes movies like this she's more awesome than most.
  27. Dec 21, 2013
    7
    There is more to this movie than meets the eye. I was expecting a dumb and voyeuristic flick, but it is more a commentary on the hedonistic lifestyles of some of today's youth with some excellent cinematography and a great score with a great performance by James Franco. Kudos to director Harmony Korine for creating a work of art. (I didn't mind looking at all the hot bods either.) CriticsThere is more to this movie than meets the eye. I was expecting a dumb and voyeuristic flick, but it is more a commentary on the hedonistic lifestyles of some of today's youth with some excellent cinematography and a great score with a great performance by James Franco. Kudos to director Harmony Korine for creating a work of art. (I didn't mind looking at all the hot bods either.) Critics liked this film better than did surveyed audience, because the former are on average more intelligent. therefore, I'm not surprised at reading all the audience comments panning it. Expand
  28. May 4, 2013
    7
    This movie is definitelly one of a kind, but not in a good way. I did like James Franco's performance, and I loved the cinematography. That being said, the rest of this movie is just a bunch of ex disney girls being converted into whores by none other than Harmony Korrine. Honestly, this movie was so bad, it was good. Still, I walked out of the theater with a headache.
  29. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Enjoyable movie I really liked most of it, I would be interested to see a follow up maybe with Miley Cyrus. James Franco made the experience that much greater it really shows how diverse his acting skills are.
  30. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    In my opinion Spring Breakers was an average movie. It had some WTF moments but it also had great moments. James Franco's character really brings the Drug Kingpin-Rapper character to life. With Gucci Mane's appearance as Franco's enemy makes the movie more intense and makes you wonder where will the bad blood take the movie. Overall this movie was unique and it made waiting for it worth it.
  31. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Oh my, what a movie. This dark thriller is definitely something that we haven't seen in quite some time. James Franco's portrayal of Alien and those teen darlings (Gomez, Hudgens, Benson, and Korine) really gave that dark vibe that makes the audience want to stay and watch how it will all turn out, especially for the girls. There were too many sexual contents, but aside from that, it was aOh my, what a movie. This dark thriller is definitely something that we haven't seen in quite some time. James Franco's portrayal of Alien and those teen darlings (Gomez, Hudgens, Benson, and Korine) really gave that dark vibe that makes the audience want to stay and watch how it will all turn out, especially for the girls. There were too many sexual contents, but aside from that, it was a good movie. Expand
  32. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Spring Breakers is a unique experience featuring lots of depth and style. Harmony Korine is a great artist. That might be where to start, because everyone seems to diss this film and its director, and I'm here to disagree. He kept his style, and that's why I loved it! Most people who went to see this probably didn't know anything about him and also probably didn't care about who he was orSpring Breakers is a unique experience featuring lots of depth and style. Harmony Korine is a great artist. That might be where to start, because everyone seems to diss this film and its director, and I'm here to disagree. He kept his style, and that's why I loved it! Most people who went to see this probably didn't know anything about him and also probably didn't care about who he was or what he had done before... Expand
  33. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    Perfect actresses, perfect story, perfect direction, for this, that's all **** perfect hahaha! I really miss movies like that in theaters.. the only problem is that doesn't came to brazilian theaters :/
  34. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    this film is magnificent, life magic.The END is MAGIC !!! it is perfect and innocent side..because of faith. innocence, evil, drugs... we have little innocence in the world and it shows in the film. evil..
  35. May 31, 2015
    10
    this film is so well done, so real, so exciting, one of my favorite movies, the performance of selena, james franco, the nteiro cast are impeccable, incredible, one of the best films of 2013
  36. Aug 17, 2015
    9
    Spring Breakers a very disturbing look at today's youth and how some over indulge themselves in the party life to the point where it becomes self destructive, i think this movie was very intriguing and stylistic with many stand out moments i think many audience members expected a party film like project x or 21 and over but its much more art house than that i think that's why theSpring Breakers a very disturbing look at today's youth and how some over indulge themselves in the party life to the point where it becomes self destructive, i think this movie was very intriguing and stylistic with many stand out moments i think many audience members expected a party film like project x or 21 and over but its much more art house than that i think that's why the audience had a mixed reaction i don't blame them though the trailers marketed it as such. Expand
  37. May 4, 2015
    10
    the contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and enter
  38. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento merecido.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Apr 1, 2013
    80
    A lurid, luminous teen-bender movie, as ludicrous as it is stylish, and Harmony Korine’s best film in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 28, 2013
    75
    Whether the film is uniquely brilliant or dismissively dumb is not the issue here. Either choice can (and will) be offered – it’s the choosing that counts.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 26, 2013
    91
    Atmospherically, Spring Breakers is an elegant evocation of noir storytelling, littered with misdeeds with girls and guns at every turn.