• Studio: A24
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2013
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 286 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 286

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Harmony Korine is a troll. The "social commentary" in the movie arent there, it's just some made up **** from a fan who are a hipster. The plot didn't dwelve into anything I didn't expect. The movie has no structure. It would show the same scene multiple times and repeat the same dialogue.
    I didn't really have an interest in the characters. They weren't charismatic nor interesting
    themselves. The whole film lacked direction in my opinion. It felt like it didn't know where to go. Don't be fooled, this movie sucks. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2014
    1
    Wow this was just pure unadulterated trash. Not one character, aside from maybe Selena Gomez' character and James Franco's to some degree were likable. The film was essentially an incoherant mess with a random assortment of scenes that really lead nowhere. In fact, I found myself trying to figure out what the movie was about after it finished. The acting was ok, I would be hard pressed to think of another positive. I mean, the film did a good job making the ending intense, but even then, it felt sort of pointless and random. Intense, sure, but useful? Not at all. That is how Spring Breakers is defined for me, really. A bunch of scenes and situations that were dragged out for far too long. For me, this one felt like a horrible music video that was an hour and a half long rather than just 3-5 minutes long. Hell, even if this one was just a music video, I would still hate it. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    0
    how can anybody like this movie? I saw it twice, once in theaters with several friends and once in class and everybody around agreed that it was terrible. the "action" scenes in it are just horrendous, and the rest of the movie is boring. This is the worst movie i have ever seen
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Spring Breakers is a unique experience featuring lots of depth and style. Harmony Korine is a great artist. That might be where to start, because everyone seems to diss this film and its director, and I'm here to disagree. He kept his style, and that's why I loved it! Most people who went to see this probably didn't know anything about him and also probably didn't care about who he was or what he had done before... Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    I went to this movie admittedly with low expectations and what I got was a slightly pleasent surprise. The film had a deeper meaning that it hinted at that I never thought would be there. The Flimmaking had far more art to it than I thought it would and the ting that made the movie a great experience was the overpowering performance by James Franco as Alien. A tattoo loving and gun carrying drug dealer/ Rapper that steals the show everytime he is on screen. Franco's Character hinted at someting far deeper and his range surprised me so much His peromance turned this movie form an unsatisfying artistic fail into a slightly above average pleasent film. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    In my opinion Spring Breakers was an average movie. It had some WTF moments but it also had great moments. James Franco's character really brings the Drug Kingpin-Rapper character to life. With Gucci Mane's appearance as Franco's enemy makes the movie more intense and makes you wonder where will the bad blood take the movie. Overall this movie was unique and it made waiting for it worth it.
  7. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    this movie is nothing but a disappointment. besides being a superfiacial movie the performances are terrible. not all that glitters is gold and this movie is proof of that.
  8. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Oh my, what a movie. This dark thriller is definitely something that we haven't seen in quite some time. James Franco's portrayal of Alien and those teen darlings (Gomez, Hudgens, Benson, and Korine) really gave that dark vibe that makes the audience want to stay and watch how it will all turn out, especially for the girls. There were too many sexual contents, but aside from that, it was a good movie. Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    This film is so ridiculously awful, I wonder why its getting so many good reviews. It was a total waste of my time and i would not recommend this garbage to any one. With such a good ensemble of cast members, I thought that this film would rock!! but It left me depressed just like its mediocre storyline. It was extremely unbearable to watch but I continued, hoping that it would surprise me but it didn't. Watch at your own risk. Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2013
    7
    There is more to this movie than meets the eye. I was expecting a dumb and voyeuristic flick, but it is more a commentary on the hedonistic lifestyles of some of today's youth with some excellent cinematography and a great score with a great performance by James Franco. Kudos to director Harmony Korine for creating a work of art. (I didn't mind looking at all the hot bods either.) Critics liked this film better than did surveyed audience, because the former are on average more intelligent. therefore, I'm not surprised at reading all the audience comments panning it. Expand
  11. Dec 16, 2013
    5
    Competent film making that could benefit from more focus on message and content. There is wisdom to be found in the world, so the movie could have taken some of that and used it to contrast the other stuff. My favorite sequence was a rendition of a Britney Spears song. And that's what the movie is good at: taking stuff that few expect to have higher qualities and then making that stuff poetic. If there were more films like it, I would have rated it more harshly (2-3 out of 10)... recommended for people who find beauty everywhere... Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Spring Breakers might be my favorite film of the year. Never before has a film made me tear up because of how masterfully beautiful it was done. A haunting and moving experience.
  13. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    I recently bought this on Blu-Ray because I missed it in the cinemas. After watching it I can say I truly enjoyed it, the direction was amazing, I feel like the story fell apart at the end and became less believable but I enjoyed it non the less. The soundtrack was great and the use of the songs was appropriate and with intent. I think all the main cast did a great job acting wise, with special mention for James Franco, he really gave it his all and it shows. Despite all these positive feelings I still feel like its a Marmite film and will disappoint allot of people, for me though the story went in a direction I wasn't expecting and kept me interested throughout. Expand
  14. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One word describes this film. Pretentious. One of the main characters is a church going Christian, and her name... Faith (Selena Gomez). Halfway through the film, she jumps on a coach and leaves. That's it? She's the only character that gets any real character development and before you know it she's gone. This film is utter garbage. It's also infuriatingly repetitive, some scenes play out 3-4 different times as flash backs or flash forwards. The film is padded out big time, and only just makes it to 94 minutes. You could probably edit this film down to under an hour without losing any main plot points. Expand
  15. Oct 7, 2013
    5
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene.
    The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major
    point in the movie.
    But, I like how the movie was realistic. You see the movie that you already know that they are people like that in the world.
    I also like James Franco's performance, but I am not sure whether to laugh or be amazed because it's true.
    Despite showing its consequences of having 'spring break', being involved in gangster fights and the realistic performance from the cast, the movie is the total 'WTF' fest.
    Expand
  16. Oct 6, 2013
    2
    I couldn't even sit through this entire movie, and I never give up on a movie. I couldn't connect with the characters at all and I felt like I was watching from a distance. I got bored and really didn't care what happened. I found the plot jumpy and difficult to follow but maybe that was because I stopped paying attention or caring. I did like the artsy look to it but the characters and the plot were crap and a half. Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Spring Breakers plays out like a music video, using dialog second to action. But whether it's action or dialog it's always going to have some kind of impact which is why I can appreciate Harmony Korine. A nice change from the norm. Not exactly for cuddling up with your sweetheart but if your girlfriend likes movies like this she's more awesome than most.
  18. Sep 17, 2013
    1
    Not much of a story line, it wasn't exciting and thrilling like they said it would be... I also think the actors could have been chosen better, something to spice it up a little, Bland
  19. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Enjoyable movie I really liked most of it, I would be interested to see a follow up maybe with Miley Cyrus. James Franco made the experience that much greater it really shows how diverse his acting skills are.
  20. Aug 21, 2013
    2
    Schlechtester Film, welchen ich diesen Monat gesehen hab.
    Zuerst handelt er von erotisch präsentierten Frauen bis die Handlung zu einer Freundschaft mit einem Gangster führt. Das Ende ist zudem noch miserabel.
  21. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    A shallow, uninteresting and self-indulgent film. The story didn't make sense. The cast was weak. Nothing about this movie was worth talking about. I had to force myself to finish it for the sake of being fair.
  22. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    A 4/10 is the score I'm giving this movie as a placeholder. I'm not sure if I really liked it or found it ridiculous. The soundtrack was really excellent, the opening montage was really sick, but everything else... we'll see.
  23. Aug 8, 2013
    4
    A movie about crazy college girls who want to party hard starring former Disney-stars.

    Spring Breakers is one of the movies I saw a trailer of and I thought to myself, this honestly could be good…if done right. After reading all the reviews of the film, it seemed I was right and it made it to my list of movies I had to see. So that said, when I started watching this movie I had fair
    expectations that this would be at least a pretty good movie. I was wrong. The film stars Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson, and Rachel Korine as four college girls who just want to go to Florida to party all day and all night during spring break. Faith (Selena Gomez) seems like the only one with a little moral value because she doesn’t go with the others to rob a chain of stores for money to get to Florida. When the girls get to Florida, they all go crazy doing hard drugs and recklessly partying. The girls soon meet Alien (James Franco) who is basically just a gangster, “hustling” to get his money. The movie focuses quite a lot on Faith in the beginning of the movie and I felt she was the main character but after everything gets out of hand, she takes the bus and goes back to her home town around halfway through the movie. Now the only ones left are Cotty (Rachel Korine), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens), and Brit (Ashley Benson) and they all decide to take upon the life of crime with Alien for no apparent reason and after Faith leaves, there really isn’t a main character any more but the movie starts to focus more on Alien than the girls. The movie tries to be very stylish but ends up getting annoying since it just starts to repeat the same lines over and over again four or five times while they show what the girls and Alien are up to. This happens several times in the movie. The movie honestly has no substance and I felt the story can be condensed into one sentence: “A bunch of college girls go to Florida for Spring Break and then they meet a random gangster and start doing crimes.” It just sounds ridiculous. None of the girls have any moral values whatsoever and they all feel the same, other than Faith but the writers decided to get rid of her for some reason. The only actor I can commend here is Franco who actually does a great job of portraying this crazy hustler who doesn’t care what he does as long as he gets his money. The movie is already just a blur to me and it really isn’t anything now that I actually think about it. There are scenes of nudity and strong sexual content in the film and I think the only reason this movie was made was for all these former Disney-stars prove that they aren’t little babies anymore. I understand that but there are so many ways of doing that than making a crappy movie. Expand
  24. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    The worst movie of the year. James Franco has officially gotten on my last nerve. Does Slena Gomze think she can act. It made me want to puke it was so vile and gross.
  25. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    4 bad girls rob a store to go on spring break (they REALY wanna go u know). There are lots of nice scenes where scantily clad (or not) girls get drunk or do drugs. It's all good fun till they get their bikini asses thrown in the slammer only to get bailed out by a white rastafarian rapper (Franco) with whom they happily descend into a more criminal existence. It all sounds more exiting than it realy is. The film feels like a trancy video commercial for T&A spring breaks. Best watched intoxicated to better relate to the characters. Expand
  26. Jul 28, 2013
    5
    nice bobbies, nice booties, but horrible story line, confusing, in all honestly this was a waste of time. would not recommend to see this. VERY disappointing!
  27. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    I don't get the appeal of this movie and i never well. For starters they did a few things well... Cinematography was good and Jame's Franco's characters was well played and interesting. On the flip side the movie was oddly paced and had a bunch of unnecessary scenes with awkward dialogue. It just followed no formula at all that makes a movie good.. Character development was pretty bad and the ending was completely ridiculous. Expand
  28. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    I don't know how many times I would have to hear James Franco's character and his accent say "Spraaaang Breaaaak." I felt like I had been drugged and asked to sit through a movie with really no plot. This movie was a lead up to a pretty cool action sequence at the end, but the real stars were the slutty girls. They were downright sluts, which is kind of unrealistic, and they really had zero depth. Needless to say, I wish I had two hours back. Expand
  29. Jul 22, 2013
    1
    Just plain bad. I get it, you made an "artsy" film. But artsy hues, creative shots, and choppy editing do not automatically equal artsy. It seems like a lot of people hear that a movie is artsy and deep and immediately decide it's good. Maybe they're afraid people will think they didn't get it. If that's the case then call me ignorant, but this movie had 0 substance. Its as big a pile of trash as the characters it displays. I would say about 15 minutes of this whole movie advanced some sort of plot. The rest is useless flash forwards, flash backs, and just plain flashes. I suppose there was some attempt at social commentary, but it was poorly developed. The worst part is that the acting wasn't bad and it was shot in a way that had it actually had a good story, it could have been a phenomenal film. Expand
  30. Jul 19, 2013
    2
    The critics hate almost every movie made but somehow actually liked this film? Wow, I can't say I'm surprised, those morons will give any artsy fartsy movie a good rating. The reality is that Harmony Korine made a terrible movie that has no actual point other than to show an unnecessary amount of nudity and tell a 45 minute story in 92 minutes because the movie repeats itself the entire time. The acting was actually fairly decent but beyond that why bother even watching? If you want to watch a handful of stupid girls make exaggeratedly stupid decisions in a film that drags and has no point, this is the movie for you. If you want to be entertained, don't bother. Expand
  31. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    When I first saw this back in March, I didn't like it. I never found it to be terrible, per se, but due to the trailers, buzz, and reviews, I was expecting something that was darkly funny and satirical and I left the theater saying, "Wow, that was a waste of potential." While it is both of those things some times (but very rarely), it's very bleak and kind of disturbing, with its great hypnotic and dreamlike filmmaking, dim tone, and welcome repetitiveness that showcases the hedonism of spring break activities and the youth of America. The social commentary is there with the ironic and contradictory voiceover work as well as the continual downward spiral of these four girls when their temptations are maximized and succumbed to and when their love for easy entertainment gets the best of them. The portrayal of the girls was realistic with the voiceovers talking about how "spiritual" their break is while showing the girls having sex and doing cocaine, and the shots intercut of Selena Gomez at her church spliced with her smoking pot. The casting was all very good; I loved how Harmony Korine decided to cast innocent-looking girls previously known for their adorable Disney work to show how innocence can be lost so easily. The acting was solid on everyone's parts, conveying the awfulness of these people. 8.4/10, great, one thumb up, above average, etc. Expand
  32. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    You just have to wonder at anyone who liked this piece of garbage. Sure, there was lots of T&A and some really stupid gratuitous violence but there was no point to the film. Other than for Harmony Korrine's lame attempt to show how decadent college age, brain dead, party people have become. The premise wasn't all that bad. Nice girls get corrupted on spring break and have to deal with it. But the way the premise was handled was more like an adolescent male's wet dream of what could be. Watching porn makes way more sense than this junk. And the shoot out? Two girls in bikinis who just can't miss against ten or fifteen guys who just killed their friendly pimp wannabe with a single shot? Just plain dumb and a bit nauseating. Expand
  33. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    Dang was this a weird movie,but enjoyable. It was missing a lot of detail I felt when it was over there was a lot missing,but over all a nice movie to chill down to watch.
  34. Jul 6, 2013
    1
    Spring Breakers starts with a good idea. The result though is awful. It has no sense this film and there is not something going on. It is boring ,lame and the storyline is dull. You will easily get bored in that film and you will waste a huge amount of time. The trailer seemed an extraordinary film and I though at first that Spring Breakers is going to be one of my favorite films. However, I was disappointed by the result. The actors and the characters were not interesting I liked the direction though and while i was watching that film i was waiting for something to happen but nothing happened at all. This movie is a huge waste of time and I don't recommend it. I watched it with friends and they all didn't like it. Why did it have even one good review is a strange mystery for me Do a favour to yourselfs and don't watch Spring Breakers. If you want watch the trailer three or four times.* I was expecting for some sexual scenes as I read about that film and it had not a great amount of them but even that couldn't make the film better* Expand
  35. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Spring Breakers is a 2012 film directed by Harmony Korine. Film politically incorrect, Spring Breakers can send us a biting social commentary about young people and what they are becoming. The cast was very good but among all the absolute best is definitely James Franco. The only flaw was the ending that was supposed to be different.
  36. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    This was a hard film to rate for me mainly because the first half was getting repetitive and boring, but the second half of this film after they introduce James Franco's character was really interesting. Franco is the best part of this film putting on a really strange and funny performance. I was stuck between a 7 and an 8, but the style and the fact that there are some very memorable scenes give this film a very low 8. Expand
  37. Jul 1, 2013
    3
    Seriously, what was the point of this terrible movie? First half of the film was mildly interesting while the second half was one long horrible boring tangent. With all the provocative material you would think that would keep things amusing, but it was so tiresome to watch. It was pointless. It went from lets enjoy spring break to lets kill people. Utterly stupid.
  38. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    Spring Breakers is a pleasant surprise despite being uneven, in some parts silly and outrageous, but most of Spring Breakers being first rate art-direction with charming performances especially coming from James Franco, it isn't everyone's cup of tea, but still it is worth checking out.
  39. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It could have been literally no better than garbage, but it's artfully told and James Franco gives an Oscar-worthy performance. The ending rings a little false, but the film contains the greatest use of a Britney Spears song, so all is forgiven.
  40. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Spring Breakers is a must see flick, it reminds me and almost playbacks "Thirteen" which is a masterpiece, it is not only "party till dawn" type of movie (Project X & 21 and Over) no, it is way more than that. The acting, I thought was good, especially coming from these types of actors (Disney Princesses) and as always, James Franco gives an outstanding performance, the plot is clever and twisty, some fight scenes are chilling, but dialogue is somewhat repetitive in one point, but still, Spring Breakers is a BLAST! Expand
  41. Jun 23, 2013
    1
    Spring Breakers is one of the worst movies so far this year. It actually isn't a film other then showing continuous naked women, complete overuse of drugs and people committing crime like its fun. It not only comes across as boring and repetitive but ridiculous the way the movie unfolds.
  42. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    This thing swings from totally brilliant to uneven, sometimes in the same scene. At the end, I can't wrap my brain around it completely. I appreciate the visual artistry but the story telling suffers from the flash and never fully takes off. I actually think there is an iconic movie in there somewhere that either got lost in the edit(s) or just died along the way during the writing process.
  43. May 16, 2013
    10
    Spring break is getting to be like prom night or Thanksgiving: an alien American institution we've consumed so much in pop culture that it's almost as if we Brits have experienced it in our rainy Brit lives. Anyway, we're expected to be in on the cultural reference in this case, lithe, young college kids partying super hard in sunny Florida during the March vacation. The Glasgow comic Kevin Bridges famously took a stand against this Americanisation, dourly recalling watching high school movies with "spring break" scenes: "We didn't have 'spring break'; we had the Easter holidays." Like a Christmas movie in December, this film has actually been released at the correct seasonal time, although it means less in the shivering UK than in the US. James Franco's creepy gangsta character in this film is always intoning the words: "Spring Breeeeaaak in a state of bleary ecstasy, as if invoking, or desecrating, a quasi-religious icon.Harmony Korine has given us a violent pulp true romance that could be renamed A Pre-Summer's Night's Wet Dream. Like the exploitation films by Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez, it's the kind of movie that looks as if it was created to fit the poster. The difference is that those films signalled that they were faux-trash. This is more like the real thing. Spring Breakers is Korine's most technically competent and fluent movie; probably his most commercial, his funniest, perhaps even his least irritating. The plot concerns college students who are bored with their course and their lives: they zone out and pass rude notes to each other during lectures on African-American experiences in the postwar US; this academic subject is a deadpan touch of insolence on Korine's part, considering the overtly racial aspect of what is finally to happen. These badass girls are Brit (Ashley Benson), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens) and Cotty, played by the director's wife, Rachel Korine. From their kindergarten days, they are friendly with Faith (Selena Gomez), a modest Christian girl. Our heroines are desperate to go on spring break, but have no money so with daring, masks and a fake gun, they knock over a fast-food restaurant and gloatingly exult in their cash ("It makes my look bigger!"). Taking Faith with them, they head for party central in the Sunshine State, falling there under the dangerous spell of the drug dealer, rapper and automatic-weapons-enthusiast Alien. He is played with tattoos, metal teeth and cornrows by Franco. Alien conceives a kind of passion for these women, like a non-pimp pimp who doesn't intend them to have sex with anyone but him. All too clearly, Korine is ventriloquising himself with this character. He creates four lissome heroines who appear in their bikinis pretty much all the time. Even in court. After a while, you have to wonder where the heck they are keeping their hotel-room keys, cash and phones etc. Korine became notorious with the script he wrote for Larry Clark's Kids in the 1990s and now, at 40, he has achieved well, not maturity exactly, but a kind of seniority, bordering on the maestro-perviness of the great Clark himself. Like that other spring-break classic, Piranha 3D, Spring Breakers is naturally an excuse to show lots of semi-naked women and men but mostly women with in-your-face/in-their-swimsuit-area shots. Alien is always gasping at how pretty his foursome are: giggling, they pose for the imaginary photo he frames with his fingers and yet all the women and indeed men on camera are pretty. Korine is giving us a preselected, pre-auditioned representation of youth and beauty. For all its absurdity and voyeurism, Korine brings to it a real authorial style. He shapes the pulp. He leches over the women, but he is also on their side. It is a world away from his (interesting) experimental piece Trash Humpers, and also, thankfully, from his excruciatingly annoying drama Mister Lonely. The colossal party scenes in the pool, on the beach, in the hotel room, on the balcony are coolly choreographed in montage, and the more desolate "reportage" shots outside all-night convenience stores look good. There is an undeniable directorial strut in Spring Breakers. Where, precisely, he is strutting to is another question. As for Faith, the good girl, her role is unexpected. Much is made of her attendance in Christian prayer groups, which sometimes convene in front of a huge stained-glass window. Given Faith's background, I wondered if there would be some reference, ironic or otherwise, to Good Friday or Easter Sunday the events that license the holiday. But no. I suspect the idea never occurred to Harmony Korine for a moment. It is an entirely pagan entertainment. Expand
  44. May 13, 2013
    0
    Worst movie I've ever seen. The movie is literally a 2 hours music video with boobs, drugs and asses everywhere. I left the the Theater after 30 minutes of this
  45. May 5, 2013
    0
    Probably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say, don't spend money on this one, you will regret it. I have no idea why some think James Franco's performance is astonishing other then to try and rate this terrible movie higher then it should be.

    I'd like to give this a 3, maybe 4 but some give it a
    10, in order to counter that it'll be 0 Expand
  46. May 4, 2013
    7
    This movie is definitelly one of a kind, but not in a good way. I did like James Franco's performance, and I loved the cinematography. That being said, the rest of this movie is just a bunch of ex disney girls being converted into whores by none other than Harmony Korrine. Honestly, this movie was so bad, it was good. Still, I walked out of the theater with a headache.
  47. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. According to Merritt, a WASP-wanna-be from the Midwest, Angie possesses "a criminal mind"(a subtle dig at her friend's Italian heritage), and indeed, all her talk about "cutting corners" to save money on their Florida trip in Where the Boys Are, does evoke Goodfellas, when Henry Hill gives us the nuts and bolts of mafia life. Far from hijacking trucks, the caper that Angie proposes is a "steak-out", described by the brunette as follows: you order the meat, you eat half, and then you bring the other half back to the $22/a night motel room that they share with two other girls. Thoroughly modern Merritt, despite being the class spokesperson for "playing house before marriage", antagonizing her professor in the process after a lecture on "random dating among college freshmen", is in actuality, a virgin, but the blond is progressive, therefore corruptible, so the girl goes "wild", allowing herself to be Angie's partner-in-crime. At a local hangout, we see the Italian on her latest job(with Merritt in-tow), masquerading as paying customers, in which the broke girls nurse complimentary cups of hot water flavored with contraband teabags, while nibbling on bring-your-own-saltines that they shuttle to and fro below the diner countertop in their attempt to escape detection from the greasy spoon's proprietor. For this, hijinks which seem tame compared to, say, armed robbery and first-degree murder, Merritt half-jokingly tells Angie that her scheme will land them in San Quentin. For its era, they were loose, because good girls, as portrayed in the movies, thought about going steady, not going all the way, or "backseat bingo" as Merritt puts it. Whereas Tuggle asks a male hitchhiker, "How big are your feet?" Candy, in Spring Breakers, is less coy, holding up a sign for Brit in a darkened lecture hall that reads: I want penis. More than no guilt sex, or to borrow the professor's formal terminology: premature emotional involvement on a first date, what Brit and her friends really lust after is money. No cutting corners for these toxic princesses; this is a new breed of "kids". To procure a bankroll for their booze-and-drug fueled vacation, they rob a chicken shack, intimidating the customers with squirt guns, hammers, and 'tude. Safe to say, when Brit, sensing apprehension from her partners concerning their felonious plot, tells them to "act like you're in a movie," that movie isn't Where the Boys Are. Although the girls are no angels; they drink and smoke(Tuggle shows a fake I.D. to the barkeep, while Merritt and Melanie puff on cigarettes), and have sex(Melanie has multiple partners, the last one ending in date rape), their debauchery is no match for all the bong hits and alcohol that find passage through the half-naked bodies of these libertine sociopaths. Quite pointedly, the girls in Where the Boys Are dig jazz, dialectic jazz, played by white musicians, akin to Spring Breakers, where Alien, a rapper/drug kingpin, plays hip hop to the sunburnt party people; a white rapper, whose antecedent, Basil, the white leader of a bebop trio, are homologous entities in their appropriation of what is considered to be a black music form. Given the seamless diversity among Larry Clark's Kids, the fluidity in which the contravening cultural group manipulates the expropriated genre on the beachfront stage would seem to be an intentional ploy on the filmmaker's part, since the diegetic music performed by the co-opting musicians in Spring Breakers, accentuates the unexpressed but readily apparent segregation laws that keeps the Ft. Lauderdale of Where the Boys Are uniform with one single skin color. At the outset of the 1960 film, the university campus that the girls attend is inundated with snow, and more importantly, a strong gust; an unintentional, but nevertheless, pointed metaphor about a change in the wind that would beget the Civil Rights Movement. Faced with a remodeling of the social stratum, the girls, conspicuously, head south. Back at the aforementioned diner, a male patron seated next to Merritt, spreads ketchup over a slice of white bread. Contextually speaking, the innocuous act now reads as her indifference to shed blood, the fallout from racial strife. Although Brit and Candy gun down numerous young black men at Alien's arch-rival's compound, their skin color, arguably, is a matter of sheer happenstance. They're post-colonial. The victims could easily have been white. Granted, at a seminar, the BFFs ignore a murder scene photograph of Emmitt Till, the 14-year-old boy whose death spearheaded an activism for social change. And yet, the same girls seem at ease with Alien's crowd, primarily black, at a run-down pool hall. It's Faith, the innocent and sheltered one, cut more from the same cloth as Merritt and her pals, who feels anxious and uneasy in mixed company. Faith is a proxy, a throwback, the good girl interested only in where the white boys are. Expand
  48. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    One word: Cliche. We've already have seen movies where girls are on a trip to enjoy themselves, but get caught in the wrong hands. All this is cliche melodrama. 5/10
  49. Apr 17, 2013
    6
    This is not a bad movie but it is also not the 10's or even 9's people give it. The movie is a social commentary about the current generation but also a comedy, in fact, it is a mix of many different genres but that is all subjective. The audience it targets seems to be your average college student and teenager. The actors do a great job of portraying their characters. The director does a pretty good job of allowing you to know what's going on but the script is a little confusing, although that could have just been me. There will be parts during which you will be wondering "WTF" and it can be pretty funny if you are with friends who also react the same way. Overall, it is a pretty entertaining movie and isn't the worst or the best but is enjoyable and speaks to the audience it is directed towards. Expand
  50. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    Pretty much exactly what I would expect from a "Mainstream" Harmony Korine film. Not much going on in the film. Painfully slow. Only thing saving this one is James Franco's fantastic performance.
  51. Apr 13, 2013
    6
    Spring breakers directed by Harmony Korine, very cute, I did not expect much from this movie, but it managed to entertain me, good direction, some scenes I did not like, however, the filmwould recommend to everyone to spend a pleasant day is fun.
  52. Apr 11, 2013
    6
    It has occurred to me that the majority of those watching this movie are really only watching it for one of two reasons (or both). To see Disney starlets prance around on drugs and alcohol, all in bikini's wielding assault rifles. That, or a chance to see one of them topless (which by the way, they are; at least two of them...if only for a brief couple of seconds). A good 80 percent of them will have absolutely no idea who Harmony Korine is, nor any clue to his style of filmmaking. Granted, either you like it or you don't you have to understand that Korine is in fact an art-house director, and rarely follows conventional film standards. Having said that, for those who've never witnessed films like 'Kids', 'Gummo' and 'Ken Park' expect to see something different.

    .........now the review.

    Not the greatest of narratives, though writer Harmony Korine has a knack for delving into the psychology of characters and atmosphere by hard contrast visuals and tropes pertaining to the stories theme. Whether it's spoiled skateboard kids on the upper west side of Manhattan, or socially disfigured freakazoids urinating off the overpass of a highway like it or not, these visuals will stay with you forever. These have been the timeless images tattoo'ed to our film going history and continue to stand out among the rest as the proverbial middle finger to contemporary cinema. This is what Korine has been able to do well for over two decades, as pretentious as he comes and just as pretentious as he so lovingly admits to being. There are several moments in 'Spring Breakers' that will stain your brain (like it or not) and keep you interested. Newcomer Selena Gomez never strays far enough from her good-girl image, though has earned a second chance at Hollywood-life-post-Disney. Also worth noting is a strangely tender moment when the other former Disney darlings (Vanessa Hudgens and Ashley Benson) are serenading a "blinged-out" James Franco (who gives the performance of his career) with a rendition of some Britney Spears' song, standing poolside, bikini clad and gripping onto semi-automatic assault rifles. Bikini girls with machine guns...Lux Interior would've been proud. Granted, Hudgens, Benson and Rachel Korine (wife and ingenue of Harmony) may come across as trite and flat, they are still fun to watch in many ways. An often-times obnoxious though mesmerizing valley of decadence and debauchery journey'd, the viewer will have felt closer than ever to spring break (or at least beholden of vivid flashbacks). More than that, it dares to take you farther. As ostentatious as it seems, it never apologizes for how far it goes. A different kind of Korine movie, with all of the stuff you've come to love about him since the inception of his career nearly 20 years ago. I recommend for it's strange art house meets 'Jersey Shore' aesthetic, if only to witness James Franco at his best. *3 out of 5 stars*
    Expand
  53. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    This has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. There is nothing in the movie to recommend. The movie is only about an hour long, but it keeps showing the same scene over and over. The story is completely ridiculous and unbelievable. The acting in universally bad, and you do not feel for any character. Just awful.
  54. Xax
    Apr 10, 2013
    0
    It really seems like the movie is a vehicle for Harmony Korine to shamelessly get his rocks off of starlet T&A. The dialog induces cringing and eye-rolling throughout, and the movie makes a rock-solid case against putting James Franco in movies.
  55. Apr 7, 2013
    2
    This movie had such great potential. If it just followed the compelling short description of the movie, instead of making that short description nearly EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS IN THE MOVIE, it would be intriguing. This was the most tedious, redundant and gratuitous movie I've seen in a very long time. I expected the gratuitous it opened with an extended "Girls Gone Wild" sequence. But then it showed that sequence
    again, and again and again, then again, and again and again!

    This would be a "one-star" without James Franco. Once he is introduced
    you are captivated by his transformation into a wannabe gangsta rapper,
    especially given his tame, Disney-esque acting in "Oz, the Great and
    Powerful."

    But then the tedious redundancy corrupted even his performance. The
    cinematography is interesting but with little plot and the unrelenting
    repetitiveness, even that became another irritant. If they removed all
    of the redundant scenes I think the movie would have been 30 minutes
    long.
    Expand
  56. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    It's a polarizing film, but it's also brilliant. A new age Taxi Driver on drugs, with multitudes of themes, original cinematography and a commanding performance from James Franco. Don't miss this.

    If you hate this film you're missing the point.
  57. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    This film is awful the main thing it relies on is half naked girls and even though there hot there still annoying and it does not make up for the lack of story or poor acting and the end scene is just a joke don't waste your time with the piece of trash no wonder America as problems with guns.
  58. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    Springbreakers starts like an MTV pop video complete with quick cutting and busy visuals and my first reactions were in the negative. The film is full of unlikeable characters and, along with prison, spring break seems like an activity that most rational people would wish to avoid. The voice over narration from the girls' point of view presents it as a kind of utopia that the accompanying visuals deny. There is no denying the technical package, though. Stylised direction, eye catching cinematography and skillful editing help to ensure that the film looks slick and professional and yes, after abandoning my initial misgivings, the film does become hypnotically compelling. James Franco, in another 'out there' performance, is just great as the rapper/gangster Alien and the music by Cliff Martinez adds a whole other dimension to the proceedings. One of the best scenes has James Franco playing piano and the three remaining girls singing a sweet Britney Spears song whilst inter cuts show the violence they have perpetrated. Surprisingly good! Expand
  59. Apr 4, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was a huge disappointment to me. As a college girl the same age as the characters in the movie, I could not relate to these characters at all. Yes, we all want to have a wild crazy spring break, but these girls didn't just want to have fun, they wanted to hurt people. They robbed a fast food joint to get there for crying out loud. This movie had potential to build a very strong storyline, but it was never developed. The only character we personally got to know a little bit was Selena's Gomez's Faith. I would've liked to know more about the other three girls and why they acted they way the did. I enjoy movies where I can feel the characters, this whole movie I was just dizzy because of the mixture of the weird dialogue and camera angles. I did enjoy James Franco's performance and Alien was probably the best performance I have ever seen him portray but there is no way it is Oscar worthy. I did not like this movie and I'm thankful I went during matinee hours and only payed five dollars. Expand
  60. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    I haven't yet seen it, but I do work at the concession stand at a move theater. In a period of 3 hours 4 customers told me the movie was terrible (one of those 4 was a friend). Not only terrible, but so much so that 3 of those 4 customers didn't even stay to finish the movie.
  61. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    It has the joy of guns, love, comedy, and thriller but looses the hope to have a usual plot that discovers the joy of the film people want to see, in any sort of way.
  62. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    "Spring Breakers" is in many way a revelation. Harmony Korine has decided to turn away from the pretentious "shock" of earlier films and has created a moody, hypnotic treatise on youth. It evokes Soderbergh's brilliant "The Limey" in structure and tone, and the acting is terrific. The less you know the better, but there is a scene that is as uncomfortable and riveting as "Cape Fear"'s scene with Robert DeNiro and Juliette Lewis. In fact, Franco could be channeling DeNiro's performance, but he is uniquely original as well. Collapse
  63. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    Tl;dr Debunking "the grass is always greener" myth with the help of sex, drugs, money, and violence. It's awesome.

    Let's start with the bad: This movie is a fantasy, or a narrative if that's your preference, but in either case it is not a story as it clearly has no thoughtful ending. I tried justifying this lack of a true story ark as "stream of consciousness" but the movie has no idea
    who the real narrator is. Additionally, no single actor gives a great performance, not even James Franco. However, that is largely a product of the difficulties that accompany former Disney stardom. Instead of envisioning Vanessa and Selena as "average college girls," the movie posits the two as a couple of Catholic schoolgirls recently released from Our Lady of Disney Academy. That is to say it is impossible to divorce their former roles as emissaries of all things chaste and tasteful from their outrageous portrayals in this movie.

    Now for the good:

    The soundtrack. With the heavy electronic and dubstep influences, the soundtrack denotes this movie as the first outrageous party movie to be firmly, inextricably grounded in the 2010-2019 decade (and yes, I have seen Project X). The soundtrack perfectly mirrors the movie, its highs are outrageous and its lows are hallowing. Next, the editing. People can bash the repetition of lines and shots all they want, but the cinematography in this movie was damn good. The devotion to an "artistic" vibe made the beginning a little dizzying and difficult to comprehend, but it was justified by moments of intense clarity later on in the movie. Finally, the girls in this movie are just plain gorgeous, there's no way around it. If as a girl that makes you feel threatened, I must advise you to see something else. Disclaimer: I love outrageous movies, because I see them for what they are: movies. If you hated Django Unchained for its unrealistic depictions of violence and red-eyed fantasies of revenge, then you won't like this movie either. If you do go see this movie, I urge you to give the director the benefit of the doubt that underneath tantalizing images and violent fantasies lies a very real, accessible message.
    Expand
  64. Mar 31, 2013
    5
    This film is an enigma. There is so much exploitive female pulchritude that it at times offensive. But there is a compelling story underneath and a quite good performance by Franco as a scumbag trailer trash hood. Also a surprising end
  65. Mar 31, 2013
    6
    One of the most talked about movies of the early spring season is a polarizing one. The cinematography is beautiful, and the film is painted in a flashy surrealism that carries on throughout giving a dreamy feel. Acting and writing are sub par for the most part, though James Franco gives an electric performance when he appears half way through. The film is indulgent and could have done with some sharper editing at times. Still, it is an original experience at the cinema, and that is very rare in these times. Expand
  66. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the first and will most likely be the only time that I experience anything so horrifically bad that I am compelled to write a user review of it. This is literally the worst movie that I have ever seen. This movie is actually so atrociously bad that showing it to detainees ranks as torture under the Geneva Conventions.
    A far more apt title for this movie would be “Stupid Sluts Meet Weird James Franco and Play with Guns”. The movie is 94 minutes long but probably only contains about 45 minutes of original scenes while the rest of the movie is a repeat of these scenes with different filters and effects. The audio is even more unoriginal, with the same words being repeated for 5 minute stretches before the voice-over “actor” gets bored and switches to a different, unrelated phrase. There is no coherent plot to speak of, and any scenes that have a semblance of contiguity are ultimately ruined by piss-poor acting and glaring plot holes. I like to think that the big-name actors associated with this movie were tricked into participating by bizarre psychological techniques, because there is no possible way that anybody could read the screenplay and “script” (same 10 phrases repeated for the whole movie) and say “Yes, this is something that I would like to be involved in and have my name and reputation associated with.”
    This movie was reviewed as “stinging social commentary”, but there is no moral to be seen, no attempt at a real resolution and absolutely no positive characteristics. It is superficial and it is wrong that people are actually making money from creating this atrocity. All the beautiful eye candy in the world could not bring this movie to anywhere close to watchable, but it feels like the director tries to bribe the audience into watching more of his cruel social experiment with naked, writhing women.
    I would do anything, except watch “Springbreakers” a second time, to get these 94 minutes and $9.75 of real currency, which could be spent on something infinitely more worthwhile, like jawbreakers, a puppy or bamboo splinters to shove under my fingernails, back. I genuinely feel like I have made a terrible mistake in my life because I was convinced to go see this movie and sat through the whole thing. Please, please, please do not go see this movie and instead do something more meaningful like watch grass grow or beat your head against a wall or even just burn the cash you would spend on seeing “Springbreakers”.
    Expand
  67. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    Not one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. The directing was very showy, and very style over substance. The dialogue didn't give any depth to the characters, nor did it allow any sort of connection between the audience, and the situations the characters were going through. Some of the writing was pretentious, without any sort reason to be so based on merit. People who want to see it for mindless fun and partying will be disappointed, and people who want to see a psychological depiction of the demise into a life of crime will be disappointed as well. It attempts to be both, and the attempts are very obvious. I don't want to see a director or a writer trying. It was like something you'd see in a high school's literary magazine, trying to be deeper than it actually is. Expand
  68. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Don't be skeptical of Spring Breakers simply because you find its subject matter unworthy. Instead, let Harmony Korine's breathtaking, surreal, and confounding work of art wash over you. This is not a film. It's an experience. Spring Breakers is unlike any movie you've ever seen. It's electric, vibrant, artistic, beautiful, and, most importantly, it has something to say.
  69. Mar 29, 2013
    4
    Four chicks go to Fla for vaca and end up involved with a very funky gangster (James Franco with braids and gold teeth). There's about 20 minutes of total narrative here. The rest is a montage of college partying (tons of T&A, blunts, booze and blow) and bad arty montages with repetitive VO. Franco is fun to watch as he chews the scenery with those goldies and even goes down on two guns, literally. I don't understand how today's short-attention-span audiences can enjoy this, because it's one long, slow Girls Gone Wild music video. I might have enjoyed it as a short, but found it painfully dull and pretentious. Expand
  70. Mar 28, 2013
    2
    The plot was very poorly drawn out. The characters were very hard to relate to. There were a few interesting camera angles and sequences on occasion, but most of it was the same, slow motion sequences of people drinking and partying.
  71. Mar 27, 2013
    0
    I'm not criticize this thing from its terrible story telling skill, bad acting, pointless character, useless movement, annoying sound effect and discrimination on female. I'm not criticize this movie from its continuous display of naked body, drug use, crime for no reason. I just want everyone to ask themselves a simple question after they finish watching this thing, and that question is "what actually is this movie want to told me?". Is this movie, or thing because I do not think it is a movie, want to tell me that being a student is boring because you go to the same place everyday and do the same thing? Or it just want to tell me that to be myself, I need to kill others who just hurt my friend and the reason is we mess up with them first? Or it just want to tell me if your religion or body against you to become yourself then you should give up yourself? Or it just want to tell me that the reason of common people become to criminals is because they get kick out of school? Or it just want to tell me that money rocks because it can get anything you want and make your dream come true? Or it just tell me NOTHING because the director does not want to tell me ANYTHING! Maybe he is filming some weird homemade sex tape but somebody saw it so the director said "Oh no, we are actually making a movie". Then he get some jerks who look cool but actually are cowards and then copy some stories from those emo kids on the Internet and then we get this thing call Spring Breakers. I wish the true meaning of this thing is NOTHING or then I will curse the director and I might fight him on the street. Seriously, I swear that other people are laughing from begin to end when I am watching this movie because it is ridiculous! If you believe that this movie is trying to help people find their real identity and the truth of the world around them, and you like it. Then you need to watch The Truman Show for damn sure. Expand
  72. MPB
    Mar 26, 2013
    10
    To be honest, I think, that it should be played in every school to show young teenagers, what can happen at simple spring break. This movie is revolutionary, visionary... and I can't wait to see it again.
  73. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This film contained visually enticing cinematography with a oddly hypnotic aura. Seeing the neon glows fused with the gritty score of Cliff Martinez and Skrillex's party anthems made Spring Breakers that much better. If that does not hook you on, then James Franco's entertaining performance will.
  74. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    The only thing that kept this movie from being a disaster of a party move? James Franco. His performance was highly entertaining that made me wish the movie was about him in an intriguing storyline instead of a wasteful, crappy, party movie. Seriously, how many more party movies are we going to see? Ever since The Hangover, party movies have been coming out at an extreme rate. None of them, except The Hangover, were any good, and you can throw this one in the box that is labeled, "Horrible party movie". Expand
  75. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This was easily the worst movie I have ever seen in my life. It had zero plot, horrible acting, and was a glorified cinemax porno. What an absolutely trash film. I even got my money back after putting up a huge stink to the manager after leaving the movie, luckily I wasn't alone and they afforded everyone their money back. What an absolute joke of a film and WITHOUT A DOUBT the worst movie I've ever seen in a theater. Watching someone take a dump would have been better and more entertaining than this film, if you can even call it that. Expand
  76. Mar 24, 2013
    6
    This movie was nothing I had expected. I find it very hard to come up with a clear black/white answer about how good the movie was because it was so abstract. Very intense movie made possible by abstract lighting, camera angles, flashbacks, and editing. The pace of the movie was very fast leading up to where the girls went on spring break, which made sense, yet it the pace was constantly fast for the rest of the movie, adding to the insanity of the movie. It was definitely more psychologically involved then I could have ever thought, but not necessarily in a good way, just an interesting way that made you uneasy of how messed up these girls are. I don't think it's fair to give this movie a score lower than 3, just because it was quite interesting. However, this movie did have very terrible moments. I'd give James Franco's performance a 4/10. He was mostly convincing, but was playing a terrible character. I'm not bashing his acting, I'm just surprised that he degraded himself to such a stupid character. Too many unneeded raunchy scenes and other party scenes that were repeated through the whole movie really made the movie worse. There is no connection to any character whatsoever. The ending is mixed. While it was too unrealistic, abrupt and should have explained more, the out-of-the-blue effect it has makes it interesting. When you leave this movie you will have a "What did I just watch?" feeling. All in all, I liked it, but just barely. It kept my attention for the most part and was interesting. However, you might not want to waste your money at the movies seeing it. Expand
  77. Mar 24, 2013
    6
    Full review at http://moviesandsean.blogspot.com/2013/03/review-spring-breakers.html

    Love it, hate it, get confused by it, it's a movie that's going to stick with you. That, at least, makes it worth watching!
  78. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    Lets glorify criminal activities by putting good looking girls in bikinis and Mr. Franco to the movie. Lets add some cool music too...Yeah because crime is fun and cool right? No it is not....
  79. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I didn't just watch this movie. I experienced it. I did not want it to end. Everybody in this movie was so nice. I just wanted to stay there forever and have fun. All the other movies out there are all the same compared to this music videostory. Nobody could ever figure out how it will unfold. They just know that somebody has to eventually have consequences in a fantasy land where responsibility does not exist... The only question is who and how. For that answer you have to watch this alternative treat. Just be sure to leave the kiddos at home this movie should be rated nc-17. Expand
  80. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The worst “movie” I have ever seen. This movie was a pile of terrible directing, bad editing, average acting, and worst of all screen play. This movie could have been an average short movie, since most of the movie consisted of repeating the same shot over and over again in slow motion with gun voice effects in between each shot, At the same time topping it off with completely useless shots with no relation to the story of the movie. As far as acting goes, it was average and it was more because of terrible screen play that it looked terrible. In general, this movie is consisted of 70 minutes of girls in bikini jumping around in slow motion, really bad softporn, and slow motion of shots where the actors were posing for the camera. The other 20 percent is each character’s two line that keeps repeating over and over and over again, and jumping between scenes that somehow manage to tell the week story of this movie. Expand
  81. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    For a full review go to: http://youngthespian42films.blogspot.com/2013/03/spring-breakers.html I highly recommend this movie to anyone passionate about gender politics. This movie is somewhat cerebral in its technique and the meaning and message are both up to interpretation. If you are looking for the next Miami Vice or Fast and the Furious this is not the movie for you. This movie uses so many art house techniques to tell this story that I never had the space to discuss. This movie is just another strong signifier in my mind that we are entering a new New Hollywood era. I can't wait to keep having new and exciting experiences at the cinema. No matter what you think about this movie it is definitely a unique experience and something really different than usual Hollywood schlock. Expand
  82. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    the thing about Springbreakers against any prediction of how the cast make it bad in a harmony korine movie is that actually the cast gives to it a whole new level. For one, James Franco is amazing, is not just his transformation is the whole sense he gives to it, he actually is so mesmerizing there that he can convince you of everything, and then Vanessa and Ashley are so badass that you do get some kind of empathy, you do empathize with them and the whole free sense, empowering sense, isnt just about craziness, is about the sense that you can eat the world, that nothing is gonna stop you, but at the end there is smth that stops you, being it your self consciousness but at the end they also are self contradictory and that shows what this age is about, ok we arent gonna go rob a shop or kill someone but we go under a stage where we believe we can do whatever and its not, at the end we all are tamed, and even if that means we are hypocrite because we go back to society rules, this is a sort of analogy that needs to be read with open mind, enjoy the art and enjoy the act. Expand
  83. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    I can honestly say worst movie I have ever seen in my life. Dragged on way too long and im still confused as to what the plot even was. I've never walked out on a movie before until i seen this one, too bad to finish.
  84. Mar 22, 2013
    3
    Horrible! I was expecting more but was so turned off by the lack of depth and gratuitous soft porn type shots. I was bored and wanted to leave half way into it (a couple sitting in front of me did). I only stayed to see if it could redeem itself ....unfortunately it did not. Can't believe this was actually made!....this is a definite insult to my intelligence. Completely unbelievable .......these college girls could suddenly turn into killers, robbers....no big reaction to getting thrown in jail?....don't waste your money! Expand
  85. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My friends and I saw this movie at a film festival and that was extremely grateful for us. But I must say this film shocked me. I've never seen a film by Harmony but after this I must check out his work. Selena sheds her good girl image and gets a little bad in her sadly SPOILER ALERT, she left when things got real bad so she was only in a very small amount of the film. Other then that she really stepped up in this. Vanessa since her movie Bandslam, Beastly, and Sucker Punch I have no longer looked at her as the cheesy High School Musical character I see her as a young, beautiful, and talented actress. In this she got really down and dirty, and some might think its slutty. But there all playing college girls on Spring Break they wont sit around and watch TV they will party there asses off. The pairing of Ashley and Vanessa was a good combo. Rachel the directors wife I believe I think made her acting debut superb. James eh. Just James a good actor came in on his A-Game. Skrillex scored the amazing soundtrack. And when I say amazing I mean it. The film is stylish from pink-blue-neon-glow in the dark everything colorful. To the fans who write comments like 'This is slutty or bad for them', you are one of the main reasons they do it. If I were on Disney what 4-6 years and Im 24 I wouldn't want people saying stop your a Disney Robot go back to HSM. No I want to be seen as more then that an actress (Baby V Shines). This is a movie ment for the 16-29 year old target.
    Amazing film only thing missing was a few more scenes to show more Selena.
    If you love movies with great parties, music, entertaining, takes you on a ride, dark, little comedy, good acting, near-exceptional writing, Xceptional FILMING. Then this is a must see.
    Expand
  86. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    Easily one of the worst films I had ever seen, one might ask on why talents such as James Franco decided on a disastrous film like this? Had high hopes for the film and found it extremely trashy, disgraceful and just terrible. The main marketing for the film are the star actresses in the film but other than that, the film is terrible.
  87. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    If your a Harmony Korine fan you will not be disappointed. Spring Breakers brings performances that are out of this world by actresses you would have never of guessed be so good. James Franco in my opinion had an oscar-worthy performance. The beauty of this will was how fun the party is and how amazing the violence can get. SPRING BREAK!
  88. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Apr 1, 2013
    80
    A lurid, luminous teen-bender movie, as ludicrous as it is stylish, and Harmony Korine’s best film in years.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 28, 2013
    75
    Whether the film is uniquely brilliant or dismissively dumb is not the issue here. Either choice can (and will) be offered – it’s the choosing that counts.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 26, 2013
    91
    Atmospherically, Spring Breakers is an elegant evocation of noir storytelling, littered with misdeeds with girls and guns at every turn.