Spring Breakers

  • Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 352 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 14, 2013
    100
    In Spring Breakers [Mr. Korine] bores into a contested, deeply American topic — the pursuit of happiness taken to nihilistic extremes — but turns his exploration into such a gonzo, outrageously funny party that it takes a while to appreciate that this is more of a horror film than a comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 18, 2013
    88
    A candy-colored fever dream is the most unforgettable movie of the year so far.
  3. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Full credit to Korine, who sustains this act of creative vandalism right through to the finish. Spring Breakers unfolds as a fever dream of teenage kicks, a high-concept heist movie with mescal in the fuel tank.
  4. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Midnight movie programmers of the future will undoubtedly give it a long life years after it’s gone from first-run theaters.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 14, 2013
    63
    As Alien, a gun-crazy Florida drug dealer with tats, beaded cornrows and a grill any rapper would envy, Franco is a bug-f--k blast. Too bad the movie itself is rarely as outrageous as he is.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Am I crazy, or are Spring Breakers and "Oz the Great and Powerful" essentially the same movie? James Franco stars in both - a tattooed, gun-totin' gangsta in one, a charlatan magician in the other (you figure out which is which), and, in both, he's encircled by a bevy of Hollywood babes determined either to get witchy on him, or get that other witchy-rhyming word on him.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Mar 22, 2013
    12
    How on earth is it possible for one film to be so tiresome? Spring Breakers isn’t deadly dull despite all the nudity and violence, but because of it.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 103
  2. Negative: 39 out of 103
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. TheI've been lucky enough to see Spring Breakers in a film festival, before it was released and I have to say: the movie is one of a kind. The contrast between it's art-house narrative and it's trashy Miami theme is what makes the movie special, and James Franco's performance here is astonishing. The movie is odd and disturbing, but it's equally fun and entertaining in a way you have never seen before. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Enjoyable movie I really liked most of it, I would be interested to see a follow up maybe with Miley Cyrus. James Franco made the experienceEnjoyable movie I really liked most of it, I would be interested to see a follow up maybe with Miley Cyrus. James Franco made the experience that much greater it really shows how diverse his acting skills are. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    Springbreakers starts like an MTV pop video complete with quick cutting and busy visuals and my first reactions were in the negative. The filmSpringbreakers starts like an MTV pop video complete with quick cutting and busy visuals and my first reactions were in the negative. The film is full of unlikeable characters and, along with prison, spring break seems like an activity that most rational people would wish to avoid. The voice over narration from the girls' point of view presents it as a kind of utopia that the accompanying visuals deny. There is no denying the technical package, though. Stylised direction, eye catching cinematography and skillful editing help to ensure that the film looks slick and professional and yes, after abandoning my initial misgivings, the film does become hypnotically compelling. James Franco, in another 'out there' performance, is just great as the rapper/gangster Alien and the music by Cliff Martinez adds a whole other dimension to the proceedings. One of the best scenes has James Franco playing piano and the three remaining girls singing a sweet Britney Spears song whilst inter cuts show the violence they have perpetrated. Surprisingly good! Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    5
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story
    This movie was a total disappointment.
    The narrative of the story is confusing, adding flashback scenes and real-time scenes makes the story a bit confusing.
    The misuse of the song 'Everytime' by Britney Spears is brutally unforgiving. I don't know how Britney allowed this song to be played during a violent scene.
    The violence is not that gory, however, because that's not the major point in the movie.
    But, I like how the movie was realistic. You see the movie that you already know that they are people like that in the world.
    I also like James Franco's performance, but I am not sure whether to laugh or be amazed because it's true.
    Despite showing its consequences of having 'spring break', being involved in gangster fights and the realistic performance from the cast, the movie is the total 'WTF' fest.
    Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2013
    4
    A movie about crazy college girls who want to party hard starring former Disney-stars.

    Spring Breakers is one of the movies I saw a trailer
    A movie about crazy college girls who want to party hard starring former Disney-stars.

    Spring Breakers is one of the movies I saw a trailer of and I thought to myself, this honestly could be good…if done right. After reading all the reviews of the film, it seemed I was right and it made it to my list of movies I had to see. So that said, when I started watching this movie I had fair expectations that this would be at least a pretty good movie. I was wrong. The film stars Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson, and Rachel Korine as four college girls who just want to go to Florida to party all day and all night during spring break. Faith (Selena Gomez) seems like the only one with a little moral value because she doesn’t go with the others to rob a chain of stores for money to get to Florida. When the girls get to Florida, they all go crazy doing hard drugs and recklessly partying. The girls soon meet Alien (James Franco) who is basically just a gangster, “hustling” to get his money. The movie focuses quite a lot on Faith in the beginning of the movie and I felt she was the main character but after everything gets out of hand, she takes the bus and goes back to her home town around halfway through the movie. Now the only ones left are Cotty (Rachel Korine), Candy (Vanessa Hudgens), and Brit (Ashley Benson) and they all decide to take upon the life of crime with Alien for no apparent reason and after Faith leaves, there really isn’t a main character any more but the movie starts to focus more on Alien than the girls. The movie tries to be very stylish but ends up getting annoying since it just starts to repeat the same lines over and over again four or five times while they show what the girls and Alien are up to. This happens several times in the movie. The movie honestly has no substance and I felt the story can be condensed into one sentence: “A bunch of college girls go to Florida for Spring Break and then they meet a random gangster and start doing crimes.” It just sounds ridiculous. None of the girls have any moral values whatsoever and they all feel the same, other than Faith but the writers decided to get rid of her for some reason. The only actor I can commend here is Franco who actually does a great job of portraying this crazy hustler who doesn’t care what he does as long as he gets his money. The movie is already just a blur to me and it really isn’t anything now that I actually think about it. There are scenes of nudity and strong sexual content in the film and I think the only reason this movie was made was for all these former Disney-stars prove that they aren’t little babies anymore. I understand that but there are so many ways of doing that than making a crappy movie.
    Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    Not one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. TheNot one character in this movie came off as anything other than a contrived caricature, with the exception of maybe Selena Gomez. The directing was very showy, and very style over substance. The dialogue didn't give any depth to the characters, nor did it allow any sort of connection between the audience, and the situations the characters were going through. Some of the writing was pretentious, without any sort reason to be so based on merit. People who want to see it for mindless fun and partying will be disappointed, and people who want to see a psychological depiction of the demise into a life of crime will be disappointed as well. It attempts to be both, and the attempts are very obvious. I don't want to see a director or a writer trying. It was like something you'd see in a high school's literary magazine, trying to be deeper than it actually is. Expand
  7. May 5, 2013
    0
    Probably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say,Probably the worst movie I've seen in the last decade. No story, bad, no, horrible script. No character development. What more can I say, don't spend money on this one, you will regret it. I have no idea why some think James Franco's performance is astonishing other then to try and rate this terrible movie higher then it should be.

    I'd like to give this a 3, maybe 4 but some give it a 10, in order to counter that it'll be 0
    Expand

See all 103 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2013
    Get a look at all of the films coming to theaters in March and April, including the latest Stephenie Meyer adaptation, a G.I. Joe sequel, a Tom Cruise sci-fi film, and new movies from Danny Boyle, Terrence Malick, Derek Cianfrance, and Shane Carruth.