User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 59
  2. Negative: 7 out of 59
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ClaireB.
    Dec 1, 2002
    10
    It was an awesome movie i thought that Mathew was a HOTTIE!
  2. RossW.
    Aug 8, 2002
    10
    Dear god! its beautiful.
  3. JessicaS.
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    This is a cool movie very very cool.
  4. DAVIDY.
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    I thought the stunts they did were awesome.
  5. ChrisW.
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    Sam b lost his mind.i liked the movie.alexa is pretty in sk2.
  6. HS
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Best moive ever!!!!
  7. AnnieS.
    Dec 20, 2002
    10
    I absolutely loved it! Matt O'Leary is such a hottie! I liked it much more than the original. Great Movie! *for anyone that might wonder, it comes out on video/dvd on feb. 18, u can bet i'll buy it on the first day.*
  8. Richard
    Aug 14, 2002
    8
    Surprisingly enjoyable, not only for the Ray Harryhausen homage but also for the sly performances all around. Colorful, witty, and good-natured fun.
  9. Oct 24, 2010
    8
    wasn't as good as the original, but its very entertaining
  10. [Anonymous]
    Aug 16, 2005
    7
    More kid fluff, but the people sure know how to do effects.
  11. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    the is like unexplained to me . but there in a deserted island risking there jobs is 9 % worthless and 80 % suckish . Watch Robert Rodriguez's other action pack films
  12. ChadS.
    Aug 10, 2002
    5
    By enlisting Alan Cummings and Tony Shalhoub for cameo duty, the filmmakers seem to be conceeding that their current story isn't interesting enough to stand by itself. What made the original "Spy Kids" so winning was how Mr. Rodriguez gave equal play to both, the special effects and a childhood neurosis we could reflect back and relate with. Juni's lack of self-esteem, and how By enlisting Alan Cummings and Tony Shalhoub for cameo duty, the filmmakers seem to be conceeding that their current story isn't interesting enough to stand by itself. What made the original "Spy Kids" so winning was how Mr. Rodriguez gave equal play to both, the special effects and a childhood neurosis we could reflect back and relate with. Juni's lack of self-esteem, and how being a secret agent gave him confidence was the film's soul. In "Island of Lost Dreams", the writers had their neurosis; puberty, a goldmine of humor and pathos, which they deal with only briefly. Instead of having a rival brother and sister team, the writers should've lost the little girl and have the boy fly solo and allowed him to camp it up as a heartthrob. Carmon could've switched sides and create some welcome tension since they get along too well in this sequel. Alexa Vega should've shouldered the load here, not the men (and women) in charge of the miniature animals. Expand
  13. Jan 26, 2011
    5
    The movie was meh. I don't feel like doing a full review, but the special effects deserve a mention. A guy who's not really into computers could do a better job. It looked SO fake and there was still green around the characters. Not nearly as good as the original where the special effects were actually GOOD. So, yeah. Spy Kids 2 A la Meh.
  14. Oct 17, 2011
    5
    Nothing's really changed in "Spy Kids 2" compared to its predecessor. In other words, its manageable.
  15. Jan 12, 2013
    5
    I did not like as much as the previous one.
  16. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    It still is fun however it wasn't as visually entertaining and the creatures looked idiotic. On the bring side it had a better plot than the first.
  17. Apr 22, 2014
    5
    It's lost a little bit of energy and fun from the original, but Spy Kids 2: The Island of Lost Dreams will be a welcome summer treat for kids of all ages and their families.
  18. TomB.
    Sep 20, 2002
    4
    How can Antonio Banderas act in this goofy movie! He should quit, the action sequence was terrible, kids shouldn't act anymore. Waste of time and money.
  19. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    Spy Kids 2 is way crazier than the first one. That's it. One word describes this film. CRAZIER. Alexa Vega was better in this sequel but the whole island thing- I didn't appreciate. Everything was gross out and weird, with horrible CGI, that makes it works. Fun but corny, Spy Kids 2 is just a step down from the excellent film itself.
  20. SamB.
    Mar 1, 2003
    3
    This movie sucks.end of story.
  21. NateM.
    Aug 7, 2002
    3
    Just took my little brother and sister to see this movie. It was less than painful, but certainly a poor waste of time. The mutants, and grandparents stole the show from the main characters. How could this movie get so many good reviews? The jokes were poorly-written.
  22. B.S.
    Feb 27, 2003
    0
    This is what happens when writers get a good idea but runoutof bear and write something pothic while sobber.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. 70
    The action is so relentless that after a while things start to feel hollow, but Rodriguez still seems to believe the moral articulated at the end of the first film -- that keeping a family together is the real adventure.
  2. 80
    The Cortez family flies into action with the same testy family dynamics, silly humor and cool gadgetry that animated the first Spy Kids.
  3. Eye-catching and entertaining but less inspired than the original.